Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Many apples in a barrel

Many apples in a barrel PDF Print
Sunday, 13 April 2008 11:11

The Sultan of Selangor once joked that if I assemble all our relatives and register them as voters in the same constituency, I could win the elections hands down just from the votes of our relatives alone.

RPK, your articles are too long. RPK, you talk about too many things in one article and that is why the readers can’t comprehend your real message. RPK, you write too often, take a break. RPK, get to the point, don’t beat around the bush.

Okaylah, today I will do what you want me to do.

My great-grandfather, Sultan Suleiman, had ten wives that we know of. He might have had more that we are not aware of but I am not about to confirm or deny this. My grandfather had three wives (he remarried when the first one died and again when the second one died, so it was not three at one time). I have 44 grandparents (from Sultan Suleiman’s ten wives).

So, can you imagine how many Tengkus and Rajas are currently running around this entire world? The Sultan of Selangor once joked that if I assemble all our relatives and register them as voters in the same constituency, I could win the elections hands down just from the votes of our relatives alone.

And this same scenario applies to the other states as well. There are many royals, min-royals, mini-mini-royals, and whatnot running around, some close to the throne, and some very remote from the throne. Therefore, when you have that many blue-blood and slightly-not-too-blue-blood populating this earth, expect them to come in many shapes, sizes, sentiments, persuasions, leanings, characters, etc.

Yes, some are left-leaning, some right-leaning, and some follow the ‘middle of the road’ path. Some support Barisan Nasional, some support Pakatan Rakyat, and some support no one because they think that all politicians are fakes, hypocrites and nincompoops. Some believe in democracy, some are republicans, some want to maintain the feudal system, and some uphold Ketuanan Melayu.

In short, in every barrel of 100,000 apples, there are bound to be a couple of bad ones.

Okay, that is my article for today. The end.

Oh, by the way, before I sign off, read the following piece from Malaysiakini -- which is totally unrelated and has nothing to do with what I have written above:

Tengku Faris: Non-Malays should not seek equality

Kelantan Crown Prince Tengku Faris Petra said today that Malays had given into granting non-Malays citizenship and the latter should therefore not seek equality or special treatment.

He said this during his keynote speech at a forum titled “Malay unity is the core of national unity” organised by the newly formed Barisan Bertindak Perpaduan Melayu in Kuala Lumpur today.

Speaking to a crowd of about 1,000 people, Tengku Faris said the Malay rulers would be an umbrella to foster unity among all Malaysians, based on the Federal Constitution and the Rukun Negara.

bbpm tengku faris 120408 tengku faris“Therefore, the rakyat must unite and never raise issues regarding Malay rights and special privileges because it is a quid pro quo in gratitude for the giving in of citizenship (beri-paksa kerakyatan) to 2.7 million non-Malays into the Tanah Melayu federation.

“Thus, it is not appropriate for these other ethnic groups to have citizenship, only (later) to seek equality and privileges,” said Tengku Faris, who read from a 11-page prepared text.

However, the crown prince stressed that in an effort to unite the Malays, non-Malays also have rights that must be protected, such as in areas of religion.

As an example, Tengku Faris said non-Malays are allowed to practice their respective religions in peace. They must however do so in accordance with the law and “not be provocative towards Islam”.

“The Malay rulers are the head of the Islamic religion and Malaysia is a Islamic country (negara Islam), not secular. We have our own formula (as a country) which is different from others,” he added, drawing thunderous applause from the crowd.

‘Dominance’

He added that the effort to instil Malay unity and defend Malay special rights does not mean that other races would be ignored.

“In fact, if Malay rights and special privileges are taken care of and is not disturbed, it would ensure national harmony. It does not just benefit the Malays but all ethnic groups,” he said.

bbpm tengku faris 120408 crowdIn his speech, Tengku Faris said the 12th General Election results have shown that the Malays are being “challenged” and thus Malays unity is of the outmost priority.

“The election results have shown that the Malays are disunited and facing other ethnic groups who are more dominant politically and economically,” he said.

As the constitution provides that the Malays are the natives (penduduk asal) of Malaysia, Tengku Faris said every Malay must defend the constitution and Islam and this can only be achieved through Malay unity.

“We have to make an effort to unite. Don’t spilt up. Avoid polemics that can distance us. Ideology (and) having different interpretations does not contribute to Malay unity.

“Discussing about polemics such as Islamic state, secular state, welfare state... confuses the people... Resulting from this confusion, Malays are becoming more disillusioned,” he added. - Malaysiakini, 12 April 2008

Comments (243)Add Comment
written by backs, April 13, 2008 11:53:34
RPK...u sure know how to make a point. hahah...
agree 275
written by MCA4dogs, April 13, 2008 11:54:31
Tengku Faris is a disgrace to Malaysian Royalty with luminaries such as RPK, Raja Nazrin, our Agong & my beloved Sultan of Selangor who are forward thinkers and true leaders who keep the best interest of the rakyat at heart. Since he chose to live with the moronic ways of the UMNO dogs, may he die by the way of the sword (or the kris). You do not deserve the daulat tuanku!
disagree 40
agree 637
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 13, 2008 11:56:21
That was really short!

By the way, we all owe you, a member of the Royalty, many thanks for allowing us to post our views, letters, comments et al. in Malaysia Today.

Yep. Royalties come in many shapes and colours.

We'll just have to accept them as they come.
agree 232
written by rpkfan, April 13, 2008 11:58:30
I agree with this article of apples.

The BN basket of 1000 apples, may be 900 are bad ones.

PR basket wise, we still yet to find.

So better buy apples from the PR basket and not BN.

Faris is not qualified to name as Tengku, may be he is non educated natang. His speech must be prepared by BN or the running dog MCA and approved by the SIL, then passed on by the sleeping idiot PM.

Faris type of royal family should be put on a boat leading to Zimbabwe with TDM, along with the killer & rapist Najib KJ gang OKT family Semi Value.

Only then all baskets will be full with good apples.

Forever PR, Steve
disagree 31
agree 365
written by mypanida, April 13, 2008 11:58:42
A single ROTTEN APPLE will spoil the whole barrel.
agree 245
written by singam, April 13, 2008 11:59:10

Brilliantly not said. Tabik!
agree 151
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 12:02:06
Aiyah, MCA4dogs and rpkfan, you want to get me arrested or what? What you just said is a crime under the Sedition Act and you can get me arrested for that.
agree 219
written by FFT, April 13, 2008 12:02:26
In short, in every barrel of 100,000 apples, there are bound to be a couple of bad ones.

And with that many apples, one could reasonably expect a higher probability that some apples may not have flowered from cross-pollination.
written by glock17, April 13, 2008 12:05:22
As the our nation is moving progressively away from Umnoputras racist-corruptive-chauvisnistic blind religious nationalism ideologies.....suddenly the light in the tunnel is splash by some smelly 'budu' that stink again the cycle of past fear of threat and sheer jealousy.

We indeed are living in the thin red line.

Glock17
written by malsia1206, April 13, 2008 12:08:06
The Kelantan Crown Prince played the wrong card and made a wrong call. His "we must make an effort to unite. Don't split up" pleas should instead be directed at the rakyat and all Malaysians in priority. Not the other way round where he placed wrong emphasis on racial grounds (here we go again). Have we not got enough of all these public nonsensical sentiments coming out from them? Yesterday from politicians. Today from some royalty family. Tomorrow from some hotshots in UMNO, MCA, PAS , DAP or whoever. Gosh, do we not ever get to learn anything in this country at all?
agree 227
written by legaleagle, April 13, 2008 12:13:03
Well put, RPK. But this Faris guy is not just any mini-mini, mini, or even any Royalty! He is the Crown Prince, next in line to be Sultan, and in line to be Agong!

We have moved 2 steps forward with PR, but been put 1 big step backward by a puppet prince. Recent events have already raised tremendous respects from the Rakyat for Malaysian Royals. Fairs has single-handedly in one stroke erased a lot of the perceived greatness the Rakyat has seen surfacing in Malaysian Royalty.

Shouldn't the other Rulers at least have a quiet talk with this guy, if not outright tell him off?
agree 262
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 12:13:47
Dear malsia1206 and legaleagle, please note this part that says: "said Tengku Faris, who read from a 11-page prepared text." That should throw some light on the matter.
agree 140
written by rpkfan, April 13, 2008 12:17:56
Dear Raja Petra,

In the contract Law, there is an offer and acceptance. In democratic law, you cannot charge anyone if he/she is not defending. We are by your side on the high court case against you.

On this Faris statement, he is stirring up the complete issue on pendatang asing. I was born in Malaysia and I am a Malaysian only I am not Muslim.

Does that mean I cannot vote for my right?

Faris must be born in 10 century where all Malays now-a-days are modernised and with more and just approach. Let him stay in stone age for this Faris, he is not gaining any of my respect.

From, Steve
agree 192
written by cwy, April 13, 2008 12:19:40
I have heard many funny stories (cerita2 lucu) about people of royal family from Kelantan.
This apple is not only rotten and it is just half-ripe ( tengah masak )!
agree 137
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 12:21:56
Dear rpkfan, I don't mind paying the price and going to jail for what I write. You want me to go to jail for what you write as well?
agree 122
written by Everbright, April 13, 2008 12:25:28
Pete, nice article, crisp and delightful. I think everyone caught your point about the young crown prince to the throne. He may have been "used" by the newly formed group to forward a chauvinist viewpoint, much like what Hitler did in his early days. Anyway, he got his 15-minute fame and now everyone in Malaysia knows who he is. I only hope that he reads the Constitution 101 and gets tutored by people like Raja Nazrin and like yourselves, otherwise, he will really be out of touched with the Rakyat. Young people should be idealistic, not bigoted. Wonder which University he went to and whether he ever work in the real world?
agree 132
written by usurper, April 13, 2008 12:27:51
Cleverly said. Tengku Faris is definitely one of the many bad apples that good people like you would have to deal with. It has always been hard to trust the royalties who had sold the country in the past to the colonial masters for their own protection and comfort. The Sultan of Selangor of the past should have realised that even if he had all his reletives registered in one constituency, it is very unlikely that they would all vote for him. Many would be among the bad apples in the barrel. Life stinks with these nincompoops!
written by little dragon, April 13, 2008 12:28:58
pete

surely now u can't grumble about ppl not getting ur message anymore. hahaha.

it is becoming more obvious umno is trying to raise d political temperature in preparation for some sinister event. i wud urge everybody to remain calm n not become to agitated, handing them a good excuse to start something.

v hv to remember dat they control d msm n is now using it to d hilt to play up malay sentiments.

for d non-malays, as long as v remember dat v still hv a constitution dat clearly guarantees equal rights for all citizens, nothing's changed n dat such provocative statements r meant to only do one thing, n dat is to provoke.

so, just ignore them.
written by PaulineL, April 13, 2008 12:31:39
Dear RPK - Ahhh....I was looking forward to having a "long meal" of your articles but found a McDonald's burger instead!! Good point tho.

I think that you should just write what you want - be it long or short. After all, this is your blog/column. It's not in the papers (to be dictated by the powers to be & the readers). You needn't to worry about catering to populist demands - be true to your principles and the voice of your heart. smilies/kiss.gif
written by Spear Bing, April 13, 2008 12:31:55
That's the problem with some of the MT bloggers here like MCA4dogs and rpkfan who have yet to master the art of semantic subtleties.

Some of you may not appreciate the generous bandwith space extended by MT, not until MT will be closed down and the owner arrested for sedition.

Cleanse your stream of thoughts and mental chatter, chart the course of sobriety and refined diplomacy.

Sometimes the message is clearly undestood and you don't need to rant. Singam's comment " Brilliantly not said. Tabik!" is sufficient, period.
written by alarcarte, April 13, 2008 12:32:16
WOW! UMNO has a Royal supporter in Kelantan. May be UMNO should consider creating another Puta Jaya on the outskirt of Kota Bharu and move the Federal Government Administration there. May be also drag along TDM there to make life more interesting to him.
written by rpkfan, April 13, 2008 12:32:17
Dear Raja Petra,

My username is rpkfan which means the Fan of Raja Petra RPK. I definitely do not want you to be in jail or else where is justice for our country.

We will then be in total darkness surrounded by full of evils.

Justice will prevail very soon and those evil should go to hell forever.

From, Steve
written by FFT, April 13, 2008 12:32:29
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 | 12:13:47
Dear malsia1206 and legaleagle, please note this part that says: "said Tengku Faris, who read from a 11-page prepared text." That should throw some light on the matter.

You took the words right out of my keyboard.

And in reference to the previous comment on the possible lack of cross-pollination, it is highly likely that one may read but not comprehend what was being read.
written by mikewang, April 13, 2008 12:32:38
Haha Yang Mulia... you liar. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by apasalahku, April 13, 2008 12:32:47
Just how screwed-up Malaysia can be?
In our constitutional monarchy, there are:

The legislature - picked from a flawed electoral system
The bureaucrats - completely corrupted from the core, choice pickings from the wrongly elected
The judges - incompetent, corrupted and extract no confidence from the public
The royalty - see above article
written by doggone, April 13, 2008 12:34:51
'Okay, that is my article for today. The end.'

Ooiiii RPK. You holding the short end of the stick or are we one this one? Ok, ok, it is Sunday here and we need to read on feathered wings or if you like, on a lighter note. Laughter is the best medicine only if you can cut the wire before the current reaches the light bulb figurative speaking. Just hope the intended message will be read by the one who likes to read without reading it first (this only applies to people who can cause a stir when they open their mouth in public).
written by MrHot, April 13, 2008 12:35:47
Domo arigato gozaimashita RPK !!!! At last you say something for all Malaysian ( Non-Malay in particular)!!! RPK Sir,my suggestion is you banned those posting you think is not helping MT & its reader for Malaysia to move forward so as those GUGGER from UMNO would not quest you for another 8 hour or worst.
Dear MT reader (including myself) "Think before you post" Don't fall into the DEVIL's (BN/UMNO) traps coz no one is a winner then...!!!

Cool man !!!
Hidup Pakatan Rakyat
Hidup Malaysia!!!
Hidup RPK!!!
written by temenggong, April 13, 2008 12:38:16
It occurs to be that he may be signalling that he wants to abdicate. He could be a republican at heart and he is finding grounds to bring about changes!
written by Krazee, April 13, 2008 12:42:39
Well well, a Prince for the Malays unlike RPK, Raja Nazrin and other real Royalties who are the Royalty for all MALAYSIANS.
A prepared speech that shows he can go so low as to hijack the constitution and change it's meaning...either he don't know the constitution or the one who prepared it for him should be hung.... together with six generations too.
A crown prince who goes so low as to become the tool for sore loosers.
RPK, can I suggest that he be referred to the royal tribunal for spoiling the name of our esteemed Royalties.
Anyway it goes to show how and why our royalties should keep their protocol and no allow themselves to be used by any politician
written by Uncorruptible, April 13, 2008 12:42:44
Tengku Faris is living in the past. And he has stooped low to play racial politics. And he is next in line to be Kelantan sultan ??
He gives me the impression that he, singlehandly, is going to stand facing the sea, with his hands held up, thinking that he can stop globalisation.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 13, 2008 12:46:24
Malaysia should be re-mnmed "Malas-sia" or "Nepsia"
written by adzera, April 13, 2008 12:46:27
"It is worth repeating that the Federal Constitution is the highest law of the land. It is not only the law to which everyone is subject but also the authority from which power comes. Every judge, Member of Parliament, Cabinet minister, Prime Minister and, indeed, the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong himself, has taken a solemn oath to defend the Constitution. THEY ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO SERVE THE INTERESTS OF A PARTICULAR COMMUNITY ALONE. They are supposed to uphold the Constitution in its totality. The Constitution was specially crafted to cater to the pluralistic character of this country" HRH RAJA NAZRIN @ Conference of Malaysian Judges, April 2008.

Notice the gap in knowledge and wisdom between the 2 princes.
written by teo siew chin, April 13, 2008 12:48:29
I think the rakyat is all grown-up to be able to distinguish between the bad apples and the good - though having the few bad ones rule us dont quite jar well with most.
100,000 good apples can't be that good to be unable to overcome a few bad ones smilies/wink.gif.

and somebody really gets a kick sticking his finger in a live-socket - this article is begging, begging for a 1000kw bolt!
written by cwy, April 13, 2008 12:51:27
If all the non-Mays leave this country, Malaysia will turn into a country like Republican Indonesia, where the Rakyat threw the Sultans away, without regret!
written by Badaksumbu, April 13, 2008 12:52:37
sure we find a few bad apples are-not too worry-we always have friends
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 12:57:12
I suggest you read all your own comments again and tell me what you see. You get very vocal and seditious when someone expresses an opinion that is opposite to yours. You mean to say only YOU have the right to your opinions while others, even if he is a Crown Prince, have no right to theirs? Why can't you respect other's opinions even if they differ from yours? Disagree and debate by all means. But maki hamun is NOT debating.

Also go read my earlier postings in THE CORRIDORS OF POWER and see some of the comments below to get an idea on how people respond to views that they don't share.

written by clangan, April 08, 2008 | 04:22:22
Raja Petra, The man...............,
Today with what we read we may deem him zero,

written by Camillus, April 08, 2008 | 08:41:29
Raja Petra,
Are you that thick? Clangan's point is obvious! You are not in agreement with him/her and the masses on MT. That makes you the 'enemy' now. UMNO is evil and nothing else - must have nothing to do with them. Anything that deviates from this is wrong! PR and DAP in particular is the way forward. I don't need to go on, do I?

written by Birdbrain, April 08, 2008 | 09:59:48
It's just incredible how bloggers spin you around!
Now, they are insulting my intelligence!
Summary is that RPK do not give a damn to the non-malays, now that he's gotten what he wanted in March 8 election.
What a turnaround!

written by SUV, April 08, 2008 | 14:55:16
minta maaf ya..baleh tak kasi say siki tips for nombor ekor?

written by ASICIT, April 09, 2008 | 18:17:28
Petra Idiot,
They should have lock you up and throw away the keys while you are in ISA.

written by freeman, April 11, 2008 | 03:53:56
Dear ASICIT, I agree with you 100%! Bravo!!
written by Argonaut, April 13, 2008 13:02:33
Barisan Bertindak Perpaduan Melayu

Who are these guys? What are their goals? How did they get a Tengku to give a speech?
What does citizenship for non-malays mean? The right to not get kicked out, but everything else is secondary and subordinated?
Although I am an Atheist, I'd like to refer my ired brothers to a particular quote: "Blessed are the meek: For they shall inherit the Earth".
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 13:04:47
Dear strupper2003, you hypocrite. I write under my own name and risk arrest. You hide under false names and you demand the right to post seditious comments. Reveal your true identity first. Then you can demand to post what you like with absolutely NO HOLDS BARRED. Ini sorok tangan, baling batu. Porah! No balls, no talk. Simple!
agree 117
written by cruzeiro, April 13, 2008 13:05:11
"............who read from a 11-page prepared text." That should throw some light on the matter."

======================

.....and they wanna save foreign prostitutes!!!!
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 13:08:08
Dear teo siew chin, agreed, just like the Ong Brothers speaking on behalf of ALL the Chinese and 100,000 'good Chinese apples' not being able to overcome just TWO bad ones.
written by cklife, April 13, 2008 13:10:30
Are you talking about Tengku Faris?
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 13, 2008 13:10:37
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 | 12:57:12
"I suggest you read all your own comments again and tell me what you see...Why can't you respect other's opinions even if they differ from yours? Disagree and debate by all means. But maki hamun is NOT debating."

YM RPK, while I agree with your statement, may I just interject and state that this is the result of 22 years of Mahathirism followed by 4 years of Neo-Mahathirism under Pak Lah.

I suppose it could be said to be a case of Monkey See, Monkey Do. Even I do admit, on occasion, have indulged in it. It gives a mental high, you know what I mean?

I mean, after having to shut one's mouth this 26 years and watch even civil minded opposition trounced up and thrown into the jail by Mahathir for merely speaking up politely can only further irritate and inflame any right thinking person.

I can only imagine how Mahathir feels every time he "get very vocal and seditious when someone expresses an opinion that is opposite to" to his.

I can also imagine how he loves to "respect other's opinions even if they differ from" his.

By no means is this a criticism of your comments, but merely to put light into why some characters here behave and why they spout irrational comments, sundry and all, for the world to see.

We have got a LONG WAY TO GO before all of us can speak civilly and AGREE TO DISAGREE POLITELY.
written by johanssm, April 13, 2008 13:15:54
Who prepared his speech.And did he understand what he was reading?
I did commented that we do not need a racist prince or royalty in another article.
Anyway. lets not be too concern with one rotten apple.
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 13:16:05
People, allow me to relate a story about one Ruler who was given his 'speech' to read. He opened the yellow binder and said, "menu". That was when they realised they had given him the menu by mistake and someone ran up to the rostrum to give Tuanku the correct binder containing his speech.

Another Ruler was given his speech to read. Halfway through he uttered, "Siapa yang tulis ni?" He then threw it aside and continued with his 'unprepared' speech, much to the horror of the palace officials.

I trust this explains the issue better.
agree 134
written by orangmsia, April 13, 2008 13:18:19
Dear Raja Petra

Indeed it is very sad that this Tengku Faris kept saying about ketuan melayu, Islamic country etc. Royal families should lead by example to promote integration among all the citizens (I believe they receives allowances from taxpayers money, don't they?). What he did was almost same like Hishamuddin who waved keris.
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 13:21:29
Dear cklife, no. My piece has nothing to do with the Malaysiakini piece just like the racy pictures in 'Prostitutes galore' has no connection with my piece on political prostitutes.
written by johanssm, April 13, 2008 13:21:47
I like the "MENU' part.
Nest time will make it a point to attend palace functions.
written by Jan, April 13, 2008 13:22:47
If the prince wants to unite the malays that's fine nobody is going to argue about that but why make it as though the non malays will benefit from your disunity? This is an absolute racist statement! Let me tell you Tuanku we are all Malaysians, even if we benefit in any way it's Malaysia who benefit. Moreover we are not the cause of the Malays' disunity nor are we interested but please don't play racial games you are just dividing the people like those UMNO goons.
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 13:23:32
Dear Robin Goodfellow, speak for yourself. The way I speak now is exactly the same way I spoke during the time of Mahathir.
written by mypanida, April 13, 2008 13:24:46
Okay, YM RPK....Royalty is out of bound and wish that all the other commentators will respect that, sincerely.

On the other hand, Umno, MCA and their ilks are still fair game.

Cheers....
written by megahyper, April 13, 2008 13:25:16
My only take is why is he jumped out all of sudden and out of the blue and fire his water pistol?

I haven't heard of him before this.

Maybe he's trying to save the situation for UMNO? You know divert attention sort of things to divert some spotlight off UMNO.

Bravo vested interest
written by Spear Bing, April 13, 2008 13:26:51

Looks like some of the bloggers here still don't get your message in their heads.

Yep... Robin Goodfellow is right.... we have still have LONG WAY TO GO before all of us can speak civilly..... and INTELLIGENTLY... and agree to disagree politely.

Perhaps on hindsight, you should not have hosted the article by Tengku Farish... just your aritcle "MANY APPLES IN A BARREL" will suffice.
written by Bosan, April 13, 2008 13:26:55
It doesn't matter who wrote the speech, the person who read it should be held responsibility for causing chaos to the country. Next time, I write a speech and state that he/she owe me rm1 million, was it ok?
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 13:28:16
People, calm down, don't get too excited. Now go back and read some of my earlier articles in this column as well as in THE CORRIDORS OF POWER. Plus, of course, read some of the comments you made. Sebab itulah. Lain kali jangan melatah cepat sangat. What you want me to do? You want me to say 'I told you so'?
written by asianguy, April 13, 2008 13:31:10
We are all humans, as is the prince, and as humans, we make mistakes. However, as mistakes go, this is a pretty big one! It is therefore imperative, if this is indeed a mistake, that he apologises to the rakyat soon. If no apology is forthcoming, either his ego will not allow him to do so, or you can bet that it was not a mistake...
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 13, 2008 13:31:24
Look folks. Why not all of just lay off the Crown Prince, OK?

He was, after all, READING FROM A PREPARED SPEECH. YM RPK has been trying to tell us that over and over again. So give His Highness a break, huh?

It's not like he was all Gung-Ho about it like Kerismudin or the Mongolian Yak. And at least His Highness is not using it as a cover to plunder PETRONAS money for ashoping trip to Paris.

In fact, I'll bet His Highness, realising the crux of the speech, probably delivered the speech in such a monotonous done half he audience actually fell asleep before it as finished. You never know. smilies/wink.gif
written by Jan, April 13, 2008 13:33:06
How to calm down? A future king talking like this scares me. This royalty actually suscribes to Ketuanaan Melayu(KM) and we all know KM is one of the reasons why the Malays are lagging behind. KM is also the reason why there's racial polarisation.
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 13:33:43
Dear mypanida, royalty is NOT out of bounds. Tapi kena pandai-pandai lah main silat. Malays play silat, not kong fu. So don't charge. Dance. But in that 'dancing' ada juga bisanya.

Aiyah, you Chinese and Indians got a lot to learn about the many ways to skin a cat. That is why Malays will always be the political masters while the non-Malays will just play the running dog role.

Go speak to Ling Liong Sik. One day he told me that the Malays will always lead in the political arena while the Chinese will remain the followers. Chinese kasar, he told me, while Malays halus.

Go figure that one out.
written by FuLinYu, April 13, 2008 13:34:13
unrelated = NOT related, NOThing

Very subtle. Reminds me of what my NLP guru taught about influence & "NOT".
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 13, 2008 13:34:21
Ooops. Typo error.

"PETRONAS money for ashoping trip to Paris" should read as
"PETRONAS money for a shopping trip to Paris"

"delivered the speech in such a monotonous done half he audience actually fell asleep before it as finished" should read as
"delivered the speech in such a monotonous tone that half of the audience actually fell asleep before it was finished"
written by rpkfan, April 13, 2008 13:41:09
Absolutely correct for wise Malaysian, I do not generally classify you as Malay, Chinese, Indian, Singh etc.

We should be well-educated enough not to believe this Faris type of speech which is putting all of us in embarrass situation.

The main problem here he was speaking to 2,000 people? The news in SinChew has a full coverage on this.

Agenda behind this could be political plot by BN to stir up uneasiness among non-Bumi society so we do not trust PAS typically and to divert the attention to Islamic state later. Believe me, all these BN politicians have agenda but too bad, we grew too much after being sabotaged on few past elections.

Unite Malaysian only we have better tomorrow.

Forever PR & RPK, Steve
written by malaysianohope, April 13, 2008 13:44:36
Greetings Pete!

Democracy is alive and well!

Regardless of whether he is aware of what he is reading the Tengku is entitle to his opinion and so do we and since I'm one of the 2.7 million Malaysian he has mentioned I would say that I deserved to be treated like equals and not like a second or third Citizen, unless I am allowed to reduce my tax contributions proportionately to the way I'm treated.
written by asianguy, April 13, 2008 13:46:47
By the way, just to continue the metaphor, this is not just one bad apple in a million apples of the garden variety type; this is one bad apple from a well-cultivated Golden Delicious lineage, and that is why this is significant. smilies/sad.gif
written by Spear Bing, April 13, 2008 13:47:54
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 | 13:16:05

People, allow me to relate a story about one Ruler who was given his 'speech' to read. He opened the yellow binder and said, "menu". That was when they realised they had given him the menu by mistake and someone ran up to the rostrum to give Tuanku the correct binder containing his speech.

Another Ruler was given his speech to read. Halfway through he uttered, "Siapa yang tulis ni?" He then threw it aside and continued with his 'unprepared' speech, much to the horror of the palace officials.

I trust this explains the issue better.

To all MT Bloggers,

Got the message? Got it? Have you all got it? Still need to rant? Sometimes SILENCE is the most powerful force in the world.
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 13, 2008 13:48:30
"written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 | 13:28:16
People, calm down, don't get too excited. Now go back and read some of my earlier articles in this column as well as in THE CORRIDORS OF POWER. Plus, of course, read some of the comments you made. Sebab itulah. Lain kali jangan melatah cepat sangat. What you want me to do? You want me to say 'I told you so'?"

YM RPK IS RIGHT. CALM DOWN FOLKS. PLEASE CALM DOWN.
written by Fist of Asia, April 13, 2008 13:51:40
Dear Raja..
please BO LAYAN all the cow dungs..
written by Eskay Lim, April 13, 2008 13:57:28
Dear Raja Petra,
I would like very much to buy the RM10 hand-book "Malaysian Constitution" and have it couriered to TF for his reference with regards to Malaysia being an "Islamic country", that is if he can read. Or maybe his palace-advisors are not doing a good job.
written by Spear Bing, April 13, 2008 13:59:30
Fist of Asia wrote,

"Dear Raja..
please BO LAYAN all the cow dungs.. "

You could not have said better than the rest of MT bloggers here.Ha...ha...
written by teo siew chin, April 13, 2008 13:59:39
Ahhh Yang Mulia Raja Petra - i totally agree that the malays are expert at silat-ting. and you are the Master Silat-er smilies/grin.gif.

And the chinese definitely am no expert at skinning cats - we boil em. WHOLE.
written by sampalee, April 13, 2008 14:04:23
Can one judge without thoughts?Go find out how thoughts arise and we will all laugh ourselve silly.RPK is exhorting us to give this place of silence[no thought] a visit.RPK,a mordern day wali ,not to politicise,but to awake the masses through his writing.
written by Hope4all, April 13, 2008 14:17:05
Obviously, the crown prince has forgotten about the non-Malays Bumi in Sabah, Sarawak and still certain parts of Peninsular Malaysia.

That's not very smart because Malaysia includes Sabah and Sarawak and these states brought BN 54 seats in the current election.

As I've said many times, Sabah and Sarawak continue to be treated a slaps in their faces and yet are required or even ordered) to perform to the songs in the choir written by the Semenanjung UMNO, MCA and MIC.

You guys have better options. Join Saudara Anwar and his PR team.
written by SYXL, April 13, 2008 14:24:34
Facts or not?

This blog belongs to RPK.

The popularity or otherwise of this blog also belongs to RPK and the leeway he allows for all sorts of comments, including insults, etc.

This blog also belongs to censorship by RPK (and he has removed quite a few postings according to his discretion).

The risk of allowing 'dangerous' bloggers and postings in the blog belongs to RPK.

Whether RPK's words in this blog meet up to a fair standard of fairness belongs to the bloggers.

RPK is entitled to get angry (I'm not saying he is), or just chuckle (I'm not saying he is chuckling either).

The raction to insults by 'stupid' bloggers belong to everybody.
written by temenggong, April 13, 2008 14:30:08
Just for laffs, I was wondering what would have happened if that speech was given to a crowd of chinese and indians.

It would be like a KKK speech in a US prison!
written by tsuchong, April 13, 2008 14:33:55
Article too short. Read tak shiok. Can write longer ? smilies/grin.gif
written by densemy, April 13, 2008 14:37:28
Intelligence is not a highly heritable characteristic.

But Royalty is
written by micon02, April 13, 2008 14:44:29
Dear RPK
Can anyone judge without thought?

Food For Thought

Do not dispute anyone in any matter as far as possible. For in argumentation lies much harm and its evil is greater than its benefit.

We can change our lives simply by changing the way we think! We do not need to go through the cumbersome and impossible work of fighting, struggling and attempting to manipulate the conditions in our lives. We need only to begin to think in new and more productive ways, and the conditions will----must-----reflect our way of thought. The principle seems hidden or secret because most people do not believe that thoughts are real, or that what we think has an effect on the way our lives work. If people really believed in the power of thought, our world would be a picture of harmony and perfection

Choice is in our hands, as always it has been. We may hesitate to accept power, for we have been taught to believe that there is a world out there bigger and more powerful than who we are, but the irony of this view is that the world "out there" is who we are. Align your thoughts with the Truth, and all that is True will be attracted to you. Believe in illusion, and your life will be clouded with experiences that confirm lawlessness, only because you refuse to see reality in your original thought. Life blossoms for those who see the flowers in their experiences. We are free to draw to us the life of our own choosing. Indeed, all that we see is the offspring of chosen thoughts.

If one can put aside his/her pride, set down the arrogance & remember his/her grave, shall be able to see the truth.

written by fromamovingtrain, April 13, 2008 14:45:33
RPK:

_______________________________________________________ ___________________________________

I think i know who they were. The first one was the current sultan of kelantan's dad. I heard something like that in my 6 years in kelantan in the 70's. The second one is even simpler, it was the sultan of johor.

Put them together with sultan Azlan Shah, his son, Sultan of selangor, the Yamtuan of ns and we have a truly mixed bag of apples indeed!
written by Kaneeneh, April 13, 2008 14:48:37
RPK:
You said, "You get very vocal and seditious when someone expresses an opinion that is opposite to yours. You mean to say only YOU have the right to your opinions while others, even if he is a Crown Prince, have no right to theirs? Why can't you respect other's opinions even if they differ from yours?"

It is one thing for a Ah Leng, Ali, Anji-kah, and whatever his name may be to utter China Babi, Melayu Butoh. But it is totally different for the Royalty, or statemans to say "don't question Malay rights!" They each carry a different weight so you cannot say we must accept other opinions if we want to voice our opinions. It's different for Mahathir to say soemthing now compared to Pak Lah to say something. Who cares what Mahathir says! But, Pak Lah, his words people care...
written by Ujang, April 13, 2008 14:56:25
Aku agak kesal kerana ada kumpulan yang gunakan Raja untuk tujuan politik. Kumpulan ini telah memainkan isu perkauman. Adalah tidak sesuai berbuat demikian pada waktu ini. Raja sepatutnya menyokong membaiki keadaan yang agak kreatif sekarang ini. Raja sepatutnya mencontohi Sultan Selangor dan Sultan Perak untuk menstabilkan keadaan politik selepas PRU ke 12. Tetapi aku tidak salahkan orang Melayu kerana mereka terkejut beruk. Mereka telah begitu lama tinggal bawah payung UMNO sehingga tidak lagi dapat berfikir dengan bijaksana.
Harapan aku RPK dan Melayu Baru dapat memberi panduan kepada mereka ini. UMNO telah bergolak sesama sendiri. Mereka telah hilang kepimpinan. Pemimpin yang dilantik tidak lagi boleh mengemudi "kapal layar" yang dibina dalam tahun 50an.
written by megahyper, April 13, 2008 14:58:56
ahem,

now now banana. I want to see MCA outspoken on front page on this. haha.
written by Tompios, April 13, 2008 15:04:42
"the Malay rulers would be an umbrella to foster unity among all Malaysians, based on the Federal Constitution and the Rukun Negara."

smilies/angry.gif I think this Prince is not represent the whole views of Malays in Malaysia. What this Prince think he is? A great umbrella? A wide and cool umbrella? Wake up man! Malaysian most probably in 2070 do not need your umbrella brother Prince.

Being as king you are contradict your people with Quranic doctrin. Only Allah need to be glorified.
written by Motherchell, April 13, 2008 15:04:45
The Eagle has landed!!!

Oh pete !, my pete ! i love the way you walked with the basket of apples and shot all above the forehead with just one bullet, thats our RPK , we had been waiting for you for so long at the edge of the forest . We knew you would come with a double barrel, BUT the beauty is you PAUSED , Looked up to the sky . looked at us and BANG!!!!!!!just finished it with a Mattel pistol.

Thank you for the silent landing PETE! so another issue that has a pallete; if we need to grow in maturity to build the Nation into the future, before we are caste to the ends of the world here is ------

reform the Seditios ACT too . Let this not be a open chequebook for misuse. as it is now.
written by SYXL, April 13, 2008 15:06:17
RPK replied: Dear mypanida, royalty is NOT out of bounds. Tapi kena pandai-pandai lah main silat. Malays play silat, not kong fu. So don't charge. Dance. But in that 'dancing' ada juga bisanya.
------------------------------
Ah, too much silating may end up fighting shadows.
written by Intoxicat, April 13, 2008 15:07:11
Out of 27,000,000 apples in this country, only a handful, and mostly non-malays have recognised that the world is getting flatter and flatter by the days. 99% of the population are still arguing who is the master of this tiny country whilst the majority of the world has already moved on to another plateau. A good example will be Singapore and South Korea, both countries have per capita lower than the then Malaya, but today?

People need to look at the bigger picure, that we live in a fast changing world today and there is no point to fight within when the enemies are without. This is tantamount to a few villagers trying to kill each other so that one of them can be a Ketua Kampung of a vilage of 500 population in one of our remote areas. The winner then realises that even the Indon maids in KL are making more than him when he happens to come to a big city.

That's right, let the malays continue to play all these racist games and in 20 years time, they will wake up when some of the malays in this country have to end up working as export labourers in China, India and even to a certain extent, Indonesia.
written by SYXL, April 13, 2008 15:09:16
Now, if we look north, we see a king who is respected and revered by his people.
Few words, a life-time of good deeds.

Some Malays must wake up a bit.
written by SYXL, April 13, 2008 15:14:14
"Go speak to Ling Liong Sik. One day he told me that the Malays will always lead in the political arena while the Chinese will remain the followers. Chinese kasar, he told me, while Malays halus."
-------------------------------------
I tried, but Mr Sik (or Ling?) was busy counting money. I then suggested putting him on the panel of advisors for MT. He didn't say anything.
written by Kaneeneh, April 13, 2008 15:18:44
Intoxicat wrote:
Out of 27,000,000 apples in this country, only a handful, and mostly non-malays have recognised that the world is getting flatter and flatter by the days. 99% of the population are still arguing who is the master of this tiny country whilst the majority of the world has already moved on to another plateau.
written by Motherchell, April 13, 2008 15:30:22
At the moment we have 3 sets of The Seditious ACT, one for the advantaged, one for the UMNOPUTRAS, and one for the half baked Constituent Napoleans. I wonder if they are above the Law, or are we in the journey to a second phase of FASISTS Rule????

The reason; in time it has to be reworked before it is damed ---to destroy every Institution we work hard to build. The Law beholders dont know a damn except for its magical words to ring a BELL for excesses. LET NO ONE HIDE BEHIND THE SHADOWS OF THIS ACT TO USE IT TO THEIR ADVANTAGES.... period!
written by dragonheart, April 13, 2008 15:31:52
Sometimes the cucumber is so brainless tying to fight over Durian... If the cucumber hits the Durian, the cucumber will get injured... and if the Durian hit the cucumber, we call it as the end of the story...

Sometimes i wonder why some educated people are so damn stupid... fighting a losing battle ... if they lose they become ashes and if they win they become charcoal...

choosing not to fight is better to win but be burnt to charcoal... the last GE was a smart move... but people are move back to their old paradigm... nanti yang di kejar tak dapat, yang di kendung bertaburan...

Your right Engku.. being "kasar" cannot perform a good silat dance... and they ended up being running dogs...Too bad..
written by miracle, April 13, 2008 15:38:30
cool man ....
"“Thus, it is not appropriate for these other ethnic groups to have citizenship, only (later) to seek equality and privileges,” said Tengku Faris, who read from a 11-page prepared text. "

See... definitely our prince is one of the victim by the "drama minggu ini" team

everywhere there will be 1 or more bad apples in a barrel ... even in a family .. we just have to educate and show these bad apples the correct way and the facts ... if not just throw away the bad apple soonest possible before the whole barrel get spoilt...
written by Wisdom above, April 13, 2008 15:38:59
To YM RPK,

I immediately refer to Federal Constitution Article 3(1) after I read this article in Malaysiakini. Read on & off for last 28 years.

I prayed for you to respond & you handle it with tact & diplomacy.

Where was the 'digital' Federal Constitution link on MT ?

Syabas. Barisan Ralkyat.
written by mgeo, April 13, 2008 15:40:37
Only a Ruler acting in his official capacity cannot be sued. Race-based BN parties (including East Malaysia ones), what do you say?
written by Commonsenses, April 13, 2008 15:52:13
The kelantan crown prince is right in propounding Ketuanan melayu 50 years ago. But the KT as enshrined in the constitution were hijacked by UMNO and BN as a licensed to rape the country of its resources and to enriched themselves. The crown Prince should looked at the scandals of BN government for the last 50 years and take a look at Kelantan under Pas rule. The degree of corruption under BN and Pas are as different between the earth and the sky. Billions of ringgit were lost due to misappropriation by BN. None of the culprits were arrested. Now that the power of BN were threathened, the BN putras sought the royal families to drumed up support for them so that they can continue to rape the country to kingdom come. Will the educated malays be sucked up to this shadow play, time will only tell.
written by andywongkch, April 13, 2008 16:00:30
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 | 12:57:12
I suggest you read all your own comments again and tell me what you see. You get very vocal and seditious when someone expresses an opinion that is opposite to yours. You mean to say only YOU have the right to your opinions while others, even if he is a Crown Prince, have no right to theirs? Why can't you respect other's opinions even if they differ from yours? Disagree and debate by all means. But maki hamun is NOT debating.

Also go read my earlier postings in THE CORRIDORS OF POWER and see some of the comments below to get an idea on how people respond to views that they don't share.

Hi Pete, always enjoy your writing!

I beg to differ on the comment above. The viewers as just voicing out what they feel and I respectfully submit to you that they have as much right to comment on than you have for writing your articles.

Keep the articles coming Pete!
written by Lim Lim, April 13, 2008 16:01:19
it seems that the people of Bhutan are much more lucky n god blessed than Malaysian!they may be poorer in term of materials n money comparatively;but undenialbly,they are blessed with a supreme royal who loves n want to make his subjects happy with life which is sure to be a course for envy.
written by bn haramjadah, April 13, 2008 16:01:51
Having a day to think about this and reading this article again and the comments, I think there is more to this statement than what is being said, this is the preemptive speach, waiting for comments, knowing us, next will be police reports and rpk another 15 hour interrogation. like what you have said about the statement by lee liong sek, the OTHER RACES all speak straight (kasar) whereas the malays (HALUS) they have been educated well by the likes of mahathir and his ilk, the art of beating around the bush akin to "THE YES MINISTER tv series" can be seen here, the sandiwara. ok regarding the malay rights, like I said before, IN KELANTAN there are not that many non-muslims, so the idea of the nons taking away the rice bowl away from the malays does not arise, the problem with this prince is look at his own backyard of the poverty and suffering of the Kelantan people, while he lives in luxury, his people live in squalor. so he should help his people first. this is what i wrote yesterday and stand by it.ONE question how much were you paid tengku by umno to make this statement, we have such contrasts in the royal families, on one end you have RAJA NAZRIN and on the other end you have this ???, ARE YOU ANOTHER UMNO LAP DOG like your saudara ku li. please lah who wants to take away malay rights, we want just equality, after 50 years of ketuanan and abuses under the name of deb and direct tenders, what malay rights are you talking about, growing up in luxury and privelages you must be either very stupid or very blind to what is happening around you in your own backyard in kelantan, which other race has taken the rice away from the kelantanese people, who are responsible, I DON'T SAY IT IS PAS, NOPE ITS NOT THEM ITS UMNO, The abject poverty you people are living under, puts you to shame, you are a fool if you cannot see this, GO HELP STRENGTHEN THE LIVELEHOOD OF THE MALAYS IN KELANTAN WHO ARE YOUR SUBJECTS BEFORE MOUTHING OFF ABOUT RIGHTS, WE DONT STEAL THE FOOD FROM THE KELANTANESE YOU DO.
On another note I would advise this young prince to go down to the tugu kebangsaan, look at the name of our warriors engraved in stone, than answer this question, those are names of people who fought and died defending this country and what it stands for, quite a number of the names are of "the other races", now my family can trace back its roots to 1846. after that my ancestors have continued to live,fight,toil, work in the govt servise, and given our all for this nation, the question of citizenship does not arise, because if this was not granted, independance would have been a pipe dream, we would still be under british rule today, and our armed forces would be fighting against fellow muslims in IRAQ AND AFGHANISTAN. Now I am recalling this from tunku's statements a long time ago, THE MALAYS ARE THE GUARDIANS OF THE NON-MALAYS, AND WILL SAFE GUARD THEIR RIGHTS, which includes citizenship, freedom of worship etc among other things, now I ask this young prince how would he explain the freedom of worship by the non-malays if their places of worship are being demolished, how to pray, should they go to the royal palace in kelantan to pray? how does he answer the rights of his wife, does she have a mykad, since she is from thailand, does she need to visit the immigration office and pay for visa, dont forget you are only royalty in kelantan, visa is a federal requirement, so how would his chidren be treated aren't they half foreign, will they get red i.c., by making this statement the prince not only is discriminating against his wife and children but also against his mother who is of THAI DESCENT, SO WHAT DOES THAT MAKE HIM, HE IS HALF FOREIGN, SO HIS STATEMENT IS HYPOCRITICAL, WHETHER ROYALTY OR NOT, HE SHOULD THINK BEFORE HE MAKES SEDITIOUS STATEMENTS, HE DOES NOT ENDEAR HIMSELF TO THE RAKYAT. WHO by being born here as stated in the federal constitution makes them MLAYSIANS, AS MUCH RIGHT AS ANYBODY ELSE.SO TODAY, according to him, I SHOULD not ask too much, so if I convert tomorrow, will I get the same rights, don't forget in Malaysia when you convert you masuk melayu!!!!!!!
written by bn haramjadah, April 13, 2008 16:04:13
"mgeo said Only a Ruler acting in his official capacity cannot be sued. Race-based BN parties (including East Malaysia ones), what do you say?" IF i were you I wouldn't want to go there, wouldn't want to touch that with a ten foot pole
written by taxi90, April 13, 2008 16:07:55
His majesty, who will be the next sultan of Kelantan should be heedful that:
1) The people of Malaysia has lost faith in the judiciary
2) The people have also lost faith in the legislation and
3) Most definitely lost all faith in the executive.
4) Heaps(at least 33% at the last head count) are a hairbreadth from losing faith in the monarchy.
Kindly do NOT disillusion us, the people, thank you.
written by bn haramjadah, April 13, 2008 16:15:45
ON the press statement of ' "the prepared speach" doesn't hold water because he read it in his capacity as the furure heir aparent to the kelantan throne, so by making the speach he has opened himself to a lot of comments, if he is brave enough to make the statement, than he should be brave enough to face the response from the rakyat. this statement is so bloody funny, so if the Malaysian badminton players of non malay status win the thomas cup should they go and except the trophy or let a malay official grab it what about their medals should they give the medals to umno to wear around ther necks, because the speach makes the non malays just slaves, anything they acheive should be given to the malays, shame on you faris. RESPECT IS EARNED, YOU JUST LOST YOURS and with that your whole Kelantan rayalty, as said in hindhi,(taking up clases) naam mitthi meh dolta he.
written by strupper2003, April 13, 2008 16:16:55
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 | 13:04:47
Dear strupper2003, you hypocrite. I write under my own name and risk arrest. You hide under false names and you demand the right to post seditious comments.
Reveal your true identity first. Then you can demand to post what you like with absolutely NO HOLDS BARRED. Ini sorok tangan, baling batu. Porah! No balls, no talk. Simple.

Hang on a sec, did i demand u write seditious articles? I know u r on a roll and have legions of adoring fans but here is what i wrote.

written by strupper2003, April 13, 2008 | 12:42:03
Republicans among royals? I dont think so.
RPK, are u not writing under the No Holds Barred column? Why being wishy washy and self-censor?

If you should consider my comment above as prodding u to write seditious comment, u r sadly mistaken. Perhaps u have grown to expect arrest for ur articles under this column but as a regular visitor of Malaysia Today (and to be honest, a fan of yours), I enjoyed your writings.

No Holds Barred has built a reputation among readers for being fearless, hard hitting and taking no prisoners, and u deserved every credit.

But in this articles "Many apples in a barrel", i sensed u have uncharacteristically held back. I know it is absolutely your right but calling me hypocrite for pointing out the inconsistency reveals a streak common among tyrants.

You asked me to revealed my identity first before making demands to post whatever I like. Well, I have been careful in what I write even though I choose to remain anonymous. I HAVE on more than a few occasions revealed my identity and I have had the occasional compliments/brickbats.

I understand criticising the royals, more so your relative, is to be treaded with with care and there are more than one way to skin a cat (Hence the way u wrote the above article).

Maybe I should hold my tongue and not point out the obvious. But having received the reaction from you as it did, I am glad I raised the question about why u should be wishy washy because now know a bit more about your character.
written by smalluncle, April 13, 2008 16:17:17
My Dear RPK,

Ha ha ha haha, he hehehehe, huhuhuhuh hahahaha.

I guest there must be a bad taffic around your house that quarantine you at home. So you post this article knowng very well it will trigger the fire alarm. And You, You already standby to react. Main Pin-Pong, ping, pong, ping, pong goes your responses to some of the comments.

Well, it lights up the boring Sunday afternoon.

However, readers must again refrain from Seditious comments which can get others (themselve included) into trouble.

As RPK mentioned, its unfortunate someone has been make use of by the SORE LOSERS.

written by Chaptokam, April 13, 2008 16:19:01
Dear Tuanku,

I have to say that you are wrong , very wrong , you know why , for those of us born in the Straits Settlements ie either in Penang or Malacca that is before independence 31st August 1957 are exempted from having to apply for a citizenship certificate , which means our citizenship is automatic . So where's the logic that that Malays have been coerced into giving non-malays citizenship ? Tiada make sense lah TanKu .

If your logic is that 2.7 million citizenship were given to non-malays in the Federated Malay States , again it does not make sense lah .

In the run up to independence the Unfederated Malay States were brought into the Federation along with the Federated Malay States and the Straits Settlements. Three 'nations' were brought together to form Malaya. When we got our Independence and Malaya was formed , the binding agreement in the form of the Constitution superceded all other agreements , treaties , laws that were in place . In other words everyone became citizens of the new nation , Malaya with one exception ,those born in Penang and Malacca need not apply for a citizenship certificate , however those born in the other states ie Federated and Unfederated need to apply for a citizenship certificate . So where does it show that Malays have been coerced into giving Non-Malays citizenship ?? The non malays had no dealings with the Malays. All dealings were with the British.

So Tuanku , jangan buat BODOH , jangan di peralatkan oleh Barisan Bertindak Perpaduan Melayu , ini NGO di tubuhkan oleh UMNO sebab UMNO sekarang mau isu , isu sensitive ini di mainkan oleh NGO ini dan mereka sudah realise kalau mereka main dengan api , saperti isu ,isu sensitive ini , tangan mereka akan di bakar lagi saperti di March 8th 2008 ini .

So Tuanku I ingat Tuanku lebeh baik minta Ma Af kepada semua . Sekian .
written by RitchieLow, April 13, 2008 16:19:24
written by Raja Petra, April 13, 2008 | 13:04:47
Dear strupper2003, you hypocrite. I write under my own name and risk arrest. You hide under false names and you demand the right to post seditious comments. Reveal your true identity first. Then you can demand to post what you like with absolutely NO HOLDS BARRED. Ini sorok tangan, baling batu. Porah! No balls, no talk. Simple!

Yup, anonymity allows one to talk like a drunkard, without using gray matter. Politicians though had to tread carefully less their words are taken out of context. Seriously, how many of us can write a good piece on pertinent issues, commenting is easy enough.
written by taxi90, April 13, 2008 16:20:29
And may I also remind the crown price that using history (or rather clinging to the past)to model the future is a recipe for disaster. He stated that we should not forget the SOCIAL CONTRACT. I have this to say:

500 years ago, there were laws and regulation for slavery
60 years ago, there were laws for eradication of Jews and to uphold Aryan supremacy
50 years ago, there were laws for Apatheid
50 years ago, there were rules for Malay supremacy

All EXCEPT one of the stated laws were found wanting and abolished in the name of humanity. 50 years is a long time to be wallowing in fixation of the past. It is time to move on.
written by legaleagle, April 13, 2008 16:21:10
you are right, taxi90. Malaysians began to regain faith in the Monarchy recently with actions by the likes of the Agong, Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Selangor, not to mention our Raja Petra Kamarudin. They all showed their calibre in not fearing UMNO, let alone being a puppet of UMNO.

Such hopes should not need to be dashed, by a Crown Prince no less.
written by kksam, April 13, 2008 16:31:54
No worries Pete, get your message right. We just need to remember one thing, BN will do whatever that they can to deceive the crowd to gain back their political power and continue rape us dry.
written by CariJalan, April 13, 2008 16:44:18

'Perhaps on hindsight, you should not have hosted the article by Tengku Farish... just your aritcle "MANY APPLES IN A BARREL" will suffice'.

Spear Bing, I disagree with you. RPK is a very creative writer and his ability to bring out truth in a manner accessible by the masses, will go down in history as one of the influence that led to present change in the political scene. I would like to suggest to RPK to continue to write in whatsoever length he wants. IT IS HELPFUL AND NEEDED. (Just try to control on the vulgarity a bit).
written by The_Russian_Brothers, April 13, 2008 16:52:47
Duke Faris is entirely wrong in his speech. If he refers o the Malays what about the non Malay Bumiputera? Aren't they deserve the specialities equal to the Malays? What are his motives in firing the speech about malay supremacy? Bear in mind, the so called supremacy will not propelled any race further but it will remain backyards
written by legaleagle, April 13, 2008 17:04:35
With reference to the comments about this aricle by RPK being too long or too short, or should include the Malaysiakini report on Farish or not, with due respect I think you are missing the subtlety of RPK's writings.

A short, concise, to the point aricle, with the Malaysiakini report at the end cleverly disguised as a "by the way" piece, and sarcastically stated as "totally unrelated and has nothing to do with what I have written above:" showed the work of a master. I do hope some of you people are not missing the point.
written by cody8177, April 13, 2008 17:14:09
Bawa bertenang. Cakap aje. Itu pun tak boleh tahan ? Only desperate people do desperate things. Go with the flow, lah, brothers. PRU 12 says it all. We do our part (vote) & PR theirs (reform).

Sebab mulut badan binasa. When u r getting fired up or provoked means u r losing the mental war. An unstable mind cannot think reasonably, thus destroy own self and friends too.

Take MT as a hobby, something to start the engine so that wont berkarat. Direct sangat also cannot. Too soft , no ummmph. Be moderate, pro sikitlah just like bro RPK. If dont know silat, tai chi also never mind, but never kungfu or muay thai.

Remember, sendiri susah tak pe tapi HIDUP JANGAN SUSAHKAN ORANG.

Peace.
written by micon02, April 13, 2008 17:21:11

Mere connection with what is known as a superior race will not permanently carry an individual forward unless the individual has worth.

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body. Reading is a basic tool in the living of a good life.

Read the best books first, or you may not have a chance to read them all.

When dealing with people, remember you are not dealing with creatures of logic, but with creatures of emotion, creatures bristling with prejudice and motivated with pride and vanity

Men are born with two eyes and two ears, but with one tongure, in order that they should see and hear twice as much as they say.

written by Racheljansz, April 13, 2008 17:24:25
Just checking
Is he the one driving the Lamborghini Diablo with the registration plate TM parked in front of night spots in KL?
written by junjun40, April 13, 2008 17:39:31
RPK Sir,

I smell a rat here. Will this speech be a prelude to the events leading to Operasi Lallang in 1987?

I remember Musa Hitam started it by calling the Chinese "pendatang"... on the grounds of the Johor Istana... to start a fire where many seditious speeches reported by UMNO leaders to instigate the non Malay politicians to the fray and create political and racial tensions. We know that Musa used it to create a situation to destabilise the Mahathir govt when on hindsight it was due to internal squabbles amongst UMNO which later escalated to the Team "A" Team "B"

RPK you could do justice if you could write a story on this part of the era of Mahathirism. I can do it but might lack clarity as well as facts.
written by gwtay, April 13, 2008 17:39:46
RPK your article is too short. smilies/grin.gif I don't think Tengku Faris know what he is reading. We Chinese do respect Malay right but not UMNO Malay right. I believe if Non-Malay gather together and make comment about Malaysian's right surely these people will be under ISA.
written by dieselngan, April 13, 2008 17:43:18
Just checking too.

Anyone knows of any country in the world with such ruling as Malaysia where the majority has special privileges while the minority could not even seek for equal rights?

So what are these minority group of "citizen"(if they are still the citizen) know as?

Just curious if there is such a country in this world.

Thanks.
written by Thomas47, April 13, 2008 17:45:38

Long article or short article, what's the difference? You have that effect on ppl. Just look at all the comments here. Better continue writing in you usual style.

And guys, rant all you may, just remember not to be seditious and land our dear RPK into 'hot soup'.

Talking about apple reminded me of a song in the 70's by the Osmond Brothers. The first verse goes something like, " One bad apple don't spoil the whole bunch, girl... yeah, something like that, forgotten about the rest. smilies/grin.gif

That goes to RPK's article this time, to my understanding, is one person opinion doesn't necessarily represent the masses. Heck, everyone's entitled to their own opinion. Just keep an open mind and take everything with a pinch of salt.

written by Umar Rentaka, April 13, 2008 17:51:27
Dearest YM RPK,
ampun Yang Mulia, pardon if I may offer an advise to someone like your good self please.

This article is too short for my daily shot of RPK drug.

A good article should not be too long nor too short, just like a girl's skirt, they say. It should short enough to create interest and long enough to over the "subject". smilies/grin.gif
written by Lim Lim, April 13, 2008 17:52:58
jus back track into umno political memory lane n u would realise that this is nothing "fresh"...whenever umno is in crisis or dilemma,racial card stackings procedure would be activated to its fullest extent!!twisting n turning on racial issues seems to be the basic foundamental course work for the so called umno curriculum on "statemanship" graduation programe!n that is jus about it all for umno on nation building!pathetic,really pathetic!!
written by Motherchell, April 13, 2008 17:55:11
RitchieLow, --- strupper2003 has explained his stand so well and i dont agree what you say , that being anonymous is a transgression. Give me one political speech of any egg head in position that makes it of any oratory excellence for the theme of what ever position one holds in Govt.!!!

Being untouchables don't give them rights to play fire on planet Earth-- more so in this era . Do we need to become Africa or the Russian Republics ! If you agree -- we just have come to Zimbabwe's status!!!!!!

Our reactions testify the maturity of the Nation!!!
written by legaleagle, April 13, 2008 17:55:25
No, dieselngan, there is NO Country in the world that fits the exact above description. Malaysia is unique in that sense, so Malaysia Boleh!

The former South Africa's apartheid policy was probably the closest cousin to the Malaysian racial discriminating policy. And Malaysia joined the rest of the world in boycotting South Africa for that policy.

"Seek equal rights"? You can't even appeal for some more rights! Look what happened to Suqiu (which means 'appeal')!

Nelson Mandela fought for rights and went to prison for a long long time. Malaysians have been, and are still being, prisoned, for seeking some human rights. Our RPK was a victim, as are the Hindraf's.
written by Thomas47, April 13, 2008 17:56:49
Dear Umar Rentaka,

Agreed whole heartedly with your comment. Is our dear RPK 'tengah merajuk'? smilies/grin.gif

Reading his short article is like taking a shower with the rain coat on. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by power2u, April 13, 2008 18:00:37
HAHAHAHA...Wah RPK..now your style change -eh??Got maksud tersirat and maksud tersurat.
Are u sure the article below is totally unrelated and has nothing to do with what you hav written above?
It sounds related to me.R U saying that Faris is a bad apple??
written by nasilemak, April 13, 2008 18:06:59
As 1 can see, sometimes there just wasn't enuff cross pollination

If non-malay Msians were not to be given "equal" rights; for what reason should they be granted citizenship?

To pay tax?
To work like coolies?
To be "grateful" they were even granted a passport?

And we thought we were in the 22nd century!
written by Lim Lim, April 13, 2008 18:07:01
RPK jus told us that he has many many cousins until he himself also lost track on them,that's about it!!
written by mgeo, April 13, 2008 18:17:05
What is to be the fate of our aborigines, who consider land to be an asset that can only be communal, and do not share our materialism? The Australian govt. has apologised to its own natives.
written by SYXL, April 13, 2008 18:20:58
Commercial newspapers never openly declare their FUNDAMENTAL platform. They may lean (heavily or not so heavily) in one direction or another but they will always pretend to be neutral, not only for getting readership and profits, but often to hoodwink the public.

When their tricks become too obvious, some people will stop buying these newspapers, such as NST, Star, Sin Chew, Berita Harian, etc.

Other newspapers are openly the organs of political parties, so their fundamental platform is known to one and all.

What about political blogs?
Some may 'masquerade' their leanings to appear as an open forum.
Others 'declare' their basic stands.
For yet others (blogs of party politicians), their identity speaks for itself.
written by diehard, April 13, 2008 18:22:22
has u all read the full 11 pages
written by coolandy, April 13, 2008 18:23:41
RPK is learning from TDM. Sarc of the highest order but straight to the point.

Menarik rambut dalam tepung, rambut tak putus, tepung tak berselerak.

Good on you RPK. I hope that Prince receives your message.
written by MikeChen, April 13, 2008 18:24:28
Thanks Pete for the insights. I am now better assured. Hopefully more royals are middle of the roaders like you.
written by tomyamkong, April 13, 2008 18:25:34
Wow wee, so many outbursts. When we mention some numbers from the Constitution like Article 11, we sounded so educated even tho we may have caused grieve on other's hearts. Now, Tengku Faris did quote some Perkara's from the Constitution, ie. Perkara 153(1), 160(2), 3(1),152, 32, 35(1) and 38(1). He is after all a constitutional sultan, not an absolute one. Just because we are angry with BN, it should not make us behave like them. Just as we have rallied people to REASON when we invoke Article 11, now we have to use REASON in discussing the above Perkara's. Why dont we grab a copy of the whole speech. And maybe we have to remind ourself again that a substantial count of voters of PR do not love PR more but rather they love BN less. Our emotional outburts can only drive them away.

And RPK, i trust you 100% when you say that your comment has nothing to do with the accompanying Malaysiakini article.
written by Loh, April 13, 2008 18:45:19
In Thailand the descendents of royal families have clearer indication of their relationship to the King. The sons, grand sons, great grand sons will have the title of Prince and MC, MR and ML respectively, if they are not directly the children of the reigning King, in line to the throne. The children of ML are commoner without any title.

In Malaysia, the descendents of the Sultans are titled Tunku, or Raja, no matter how many times remove. The title of Tunku and Raja is thus ‘diluted’, and it put the Palaces in bad light when a Tunku is known to misbehave. Will Malay culture allow the practice of Thailand adopted here?
written by Camillus, April 13, 2008 18:59:37
Maybe... just maybe... MT readers and writers ought to go back to school and learn proper English???

Wait a minute!!! The schools and school teachers are none the better!!! Talk about check mate!!!

smilies/tongue.gif
written by East Highlander, April 13, 2008 19:19:05
It's amazing how certain individuals have been emboldened after the rakyat denied BN the 2/3 in Parliment.
written by dassky2000, April 13, 2008 19:20:59
Just for Tengku Faris. 27 million non malays given citizenships under the Tanah Melayu Federation, yes okay I agree and will not ask for more. But first Tengku Faris should put a STOP to issueing of citizen ship to all illegals muslims coming into Malaysia, especially from the Filipins, Indonesia, Pakistan, Thailand and many more everyday.

When a new commer get privilages to stay in this country without shedding any sweat building this nation, why shouldn't I who have served this country for 35 years ask for equality and special treatment?

Jangan di jangkiti virus abdullahtitis Tengku. Look at reality first before uttering such words.
written by peace lover, April 13, 2008 19:21:16
Yes, Kung fu is too rough... That's why current Chinese prefer to Tai-Chi.... LOL....
written by apa jadi, April 13, 2008 19:37:29
Hahaha....rpk...I enjoy your replies...and the terse article of course. smilies/cheesy.gif

Sometimes I just pity those who read a "menu" text and half way through the text mutter "siapa yang tulis ni?" smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif I don't not need to elaborate the consequences...a dart board smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Eem, April 13, 2008 19:46:12
ONG KAH TING,WHERE R U? THIS IS YOUR TIME TO OPEN YOUR MOUTH FOR CHINESE.
WHY SO SILENT???U MEAN U ALSO AGREE THAT CHINESE SHOULD NOT BE GIVEN EQUAL RIGHTS???IS THAT MCA STAND?
written by Negarakuku, April 13, 2008 19:46:57
Uncle Pete! you are the best. smilies/grin.gif

Tengku Faris wanted to be Raja Nazrin popular but the level is very different.

My friend of another friends friend friend told his friend the other day...Keep quiet is the best so people don´t know you are stupid !!!!! hahaha... smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by Eem, April 13, 2008 19:50:03
TO UMNO.PLEASE BRING FARIS FOR ALL YOUR CERAMAH POLITIK IN THE NEXT ELECTION AND U CAN BE SURE U WILL BE BLASTED OFF INTO OBLIVION.
written by adam, April 13, 2008 20:00:09
When God ( for those who believe that there is a God ), created us, human, started with adam, God made adam's head with two eyes , two ears , one nose and one mouth.

two eyes for the purpose that we can sometimes "closed" one eye and pretnd not to see all , for things that we may not like to see.

two ears for the purpose, that what goes in one can goes out by the other one. so we may not bother about what we dont need to bother to hear.

one mouth, so that what is spoken can never be withdrawn and be denied and find an alibi to make an excuse.

one nose - thats when we have our last breath.

God is smart.

Now, i read before about certain states that were actually under the rule of the SIAM KINGDOM , many years ago and the Bunga mas. and the sembah to the King Of SIAM. is it historical facts or mere legends ? i think it was a legend.
like the monkey goes west story with the monk.
written by Victory or Death, April 13, 2008 20:02:49
RPK DEFAMATION SUIT DEFENCE FUND

What happened to your defamation case?

I pledged RM 1000/- to your defence fund and stated that it will be banked in within 48 hours of you letting known your bank account no.

So far, have not heard from you.
written by shamadz72, April 13, 2008 20:26:07
I believed that Kelantan prince is just trying to help his relative in Gua Musang smilies/smiley.gif
written by rakyatmalaysia, April 13, 2008 20:30:27
RPK said " In short, in every barrel of 100,000 apples, there are bound to be a couple of bad ones."

He begin with the story about his great grandfather with 10 wifes or more, and he have 44 grandparents

hmmm.. if royal families = hundreds of apples the royal, so there are also few bad apples, and this where the article of Kelantan Crown Prince Tengku Faris Petra came to picture.

interesting..

and rpk claims that the article is nothing to do with his writeup..

lol..

anyway we undestood your so-called hidden message

smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Victory or Death, April 13, 2008 20:33:31
RPK is smarter than most of you.

He knows what is the meaning of sedition.
written by Sagaladoola, April 13, 2008 20:37:02
smilies/grin.gif Prepared text speech ... hehehe ... prepared you-know-who. It is not hard to guess especially in every speech that has got the context of so-called "racial representation". I get what you mean ... That is why I didn't even bother to quote Tengku Faris in my blog ... hehehe ...

written by eastmalaysian, April 13, 2008 21:06:10
Maybe all the Malays who are now citizens of whatever foreign country they have migrated to should also forgo their privileges and benefits and live like 2nd or 3rd class citizens...

If anything adverse does happen(due to his speech), let us hang Kelantan Crown Prince Tengku Faris Petra and his entire clan from the highest trees and leave their bodies to rot in the sun.
written by fairnessforall, April 13, 2008 21:11:56
RPK...Ive always enjoyed reading your articles even the long ones. In fact they are better as you go into so much of details and give examples. I have no problem understanding your long articles and am aware sometimes we need to read between the lines and not just take it literally. Anyway I like the way you made your point here...hehehe.
written by CTSG, April 13, 2008 21:33:21
RPK, not saying much is saying a lot! Unfortunately, not many readers know how to read between the lines (look at how the Tengku is being hentam with all the comments). Furthermore, I think we Malaysians have not mature into a society where we can agree to disagree, especially when it comes to race and religion. We are still an emotional lot and see things mostly at face value without critically thinking (just look at some of the responses to all of RPK's write-ups). Moreover, when we critize, we don't know how to do it constructively. We just hentam left, right and center. We, Malaysians, have a lot of growing up to do.
written by dieselngan, April 13, 2008 21:33:27
No, dieselngan, there is NO Country in the world that fits the exact above description. Malaysia is unique in that sense, so Malaysia Boleh!

-----------------------------------------------------------

Thanks legaleagle for sharing.

So sad so sad smilies/cry.gif

written by SUV, April 13, 2008 21:36:21
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif..ym pate,kasilah nombor smilies/cheesy.gif

written by SUV, April 13, 2008 21:38:41
the crown prince should have reviewed the prepared text...yes?

written by Sabahfan, April 13, 2008 21:46:11
Can anyone assist me witg the Malay quotation, or is it from the Hang Tuah Movie, that says...

"Raja yang..... akan di sanjung tinggi...." or something like that. Apologies, my memories not so good in malay literature.

Thanks
written by Jan, April 13, 2008 21:51:33
If an UMNOputra said what Tengku said most of us wouldn't give 2 hoots.(Biasa lah)
But we are talking about a crown prince, a future king of Malaysia. This royalty will be king to all Malaysians but apparently this tengku only wants to be king to the Malays the way he gave that speech. The non Malays seems to be excluded even though they probably paid most of the taxes that paid the Tengku's allowances. I don't see how the non Malays can stay loyal to king and country the way they continue to be treated.
This is troubling, very troubling. I am most afraid he wouldn't make a wise sovereign.
written by Victory or Death, April 13, 2008 21:56:11
Dear YM Raja Petra,

I remember at one time you were chiding the Chinese for having no "balls' - not wearing yellow and not putting up MT stickers on their cars.

The Chinese were hiding their balls till 8th March ,2008 when they dangled their "balls" all over Malaysia!!!!!

They acted when it counted most!!!!!
written by Camillus, April 13, 2008 22:26:45
written by Victory or Death, April 13, 2008 | 21:56:11

Dear YM Raja Petra,

I remember at one time you were chiding the Chinese for having no "balls' - not wearing yellow and not putting up MT stickers on their cars.

The Chinese were hiding their balls till 8th March ,2008 when they dangled their "balls" all over Malaysia!!!!!

Dear Victory or Death,

Is there any sarcasm, cynicism, wit, etc. in your post? If yes, please use smileys ( such as smilies/wink.gif and smilies/tongue.gif ) to indicate. Unfortunately, writers and readers of MT alike are incapable of such nuances and might/will misunderstand!

Thanks.
written by Elijah Kok, April 13, 2008 22:39:37
Dear Yang Mulia RPK,
Sedition of Not - am I wrong to remind this Crown Prince, Faris that the natives of country are not the Malays? they are the - Orang Asli, period, or does he need to be educated in the History of Malaya?

Oh yes, I am born in Malaysia too, not a Muslim - and I use my realname. My "crown jewels" are as native as anyone of this nation, or does he need to be educated in English too?
written by gundohing, April 13, 2008 22:53:23
Malay and UMNO are two saperate things. Malays can be united under the Sultan or Agong but not necessary they have to be with UMNO. Most PAS members are Malays and so are Keadilan members too. UMNO has not been fair to the Malays because they only take care of the UMNO elites. UMNO has betrayed the Malays by masquarading themselves to be the protector of Malays. They are nothing more than a bunch of cheats and fine crooks honed into perfection over 50 years.
written by TWOG, April 13, 2008 22:57:27
/// In short, in every barrel of 100,000 apples, there are bound to be a couple of bad ones.

Oh, by the way, before I sign off, read the following piece from Malaysiakini -- which is totally unrelated and has nothing to do with what I have written above: ///

Nice juxtaposition. Of course the article from Malaysiakini got nothing to do with rotten apples. And of course I am not saying what you are not saying.

There are no 200 taels of silver buried under my bed...
written by Camillus, April 13, 2008 23:17:03
The BN basket of 1000 apples, may be 900 are bad ones.
PR basket wise, we still yet to find.
So better buy apples from the PR basket and not BN.

Given that the 'Pied Piper' is Raja Petra, it's no wonder the posts on MT are as such.

I gleefully anticipate Anwar Ibrahim (AI) becoming PM. He is the best person to bring Malaysia forward! He has nothing but the best interest of Malaysia and Malaysians at heart! He and PR (i.e. PKR, DAP and PAS) are the exceptions - and exceptional politicians. AI has no hatred for the years of (arguably wrongful) imprisonment. He is only out for justice. Look at him! You will not see any hatred in his eyes.

smilies/tongue.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Edward C, April 13, 2008 23:20:26
My fellow Malaysian, This person Raja whatishisname is so right. But he is barking up the wrong tree. The reason for this disunity is because there is a new race in town and that race is called "Umnoputra".

The problem is not the chinese or the Indians. It is the Umnoputras. This uneducated fellow from Kelatan, who probably does not even understands what he is reading must be thanked for highlighting this matter.
written by trublumalaysian, April 13, 2008 23:40:22
Excellent angle to the article dear RPK. but, real sad to read that dear little Prince from Kelantan is being brainwashed by the dark dark-forces of umnoputras and their merrymen of racial-bigots.

written by 1eyecls, April 13, 2008 23:40:27
my dear tengku faris,special rights are only given to minority like red indians in USA,oborogines in Australia,santi ren in Taiwan,not the 20 milion Malayslah tuanku,like tat we will have 20 million sultans in Malaysia,who is going to feed them? smilies/cool.gif
written by PakPandir, April 14, 2008 00:00:51
The Prince need to focus on real problems and issues the Malaysian rakyat is facing - Corrupted politicial leaders, plundering billions, submarine commission that is allowed for cronies, BN governemnt lavishly spend tax payer's money, no accountability in in tender awards at exorbitant prices to fill own pocket, think that the rakyat is beslaved to UMNO. Do not listen to tp the sufferings of the people, do not bother about the country except for own pocket.
The rakyat today is no more talking about Malay, Chinese or Indians ethnics boundary. The rakyat ahs a common enemy in the Barisan Nasional Government who " eats" away the Malaysian coffers. Malaysia is way behind its neighbours in FDI's and is going backwards under the BN/UMNO government. Is'nt that clear ?????

Did'nt the Prince see what the normal people in the Street is facing ?
If the Prince love its rakyat, help the rakyat to solve the real issue ... Please, please , please..........
written by Victory or Death, April 14, 2008 00:01:18
written by Camillus, April 13, 2008 | 22:26:45

Dear Victory or Death,

Is there any sarcasm, cynicism, wit, etc. in your post? If yes, please use smileys ( such as and ) to indicate. Unfortunately, writers and readers of MT alike are incapable of such nuances and might/will misunderstand!

Thanks.

Dear Camillus,

Honest to frankness - if there is such a phrase , I really do not know how to use smileys and their meanings.Though I have seen many, I have yet tou use any.
written by Homeyasu, April 14, 2008 00:15:05
I will not be suspended in Malaysia if I say this: “Thus, it is not appropriate for these other ethnic groups to have citizenship, only (later) to seek equality and privileges,”

I will be suspended in Malaysia if I say this: “Thus, it is not appropriate for Malay to have citizenship, only (later) to seek equality and privileges,”

What the hell is this? Great. Human rights in Malaysia. I think we are all more deprived of that compared to the Tibetans in China.

It doesn't seem to correspond to the Barisan slogan offered in last election. Oh, great. Racism is a BIG issue. At least America agrees on that.
written by Taiping60, April 14, 2008 00:18:56
I wrote my comment on Tengku Faris' remarks in the RPK's earlier article known as "The brain sees what it is told to see"

Agree with you that everyone is entitle to express their opinion. But it is different if you are comparing with an influential person from a royal family talking to more than a 1,000 people and his speech may be captured by many major newspapers. It is no the same level playing field. No Mr RPK respectfully, I disagree with you on this. What Tengku said carry more weight than all of us in this blogger added. It capture wider audiences than all of us. Being a designated successor for the Sultan of Kelantan, he should be more careful and responsible for what he said. If he wants to be active in the politic than he should join any of the political party and waive his right to the throne. As long as he is designated to be the successor for the Kelantan ruler, he should behave neutral to all the citizen of Malaysia. To start with, he should be neutral to all the Kelantanese regardless of their race and religion. This is where he will gain respect. My nick is Taiping60. Needless to say, I am from Taiping and Taiping is a town in Perak. So besides being a Malaysian I am also a Perakian. I use to feel ashame of what the previous Perak ruler did. Gambling became legal during his birthday and nobody can do anything. Since Sultan Azlan took over, everything changed. He has brought the state dignity and pride. I once remember I was playing a golf game in one of the golf courses in the country. On that day, I was informed by the marshal that Sultan of Perak together with his delegates has just tee-off a few holes behind us. We were warned that we might have to make way for them to pass through later but the marshal will inform us when the time come. We went on playing several more holes and when the Sultan and his flight were just behind us, we were informed so we willingly move aside for him and his flight to pass through. To our surprise, the Sultan himself waive to us showing gesture of "thank you" for allowing them to pass through. We all know, he don't have to do that but for him to do that, it means alot of the people. It goes to show the type of person the Sultan is. Now this Sultan has brought us a wonderful prince and he has demonstrated many times to us the type of royal family we love to have. Yes, both the Sultan and Regent are malay origin but we love them, have great respect for them and we feel very proud of them.

It does not matter what race and what religion we practise. All of us want our country to be peaceful, progress into developed country, safe to stay and safe to go out anytime we want and anywhere in Malaysia we wish, freedom of speech, easy and affordable to enjoy good medical care, easy and affordable good education, easy and affordable to watch any movie and entertainment shows we want, free to choose whatever religion we want, affordable and efficient transaportation, affordable and readily available variety of food, etc etc etc. It does not whether who are in the government or whether they are run by one race or mixture of races. WHat is important is we will continue to vote for them as long as they delivered. We want the Police to do their job if anyone get out of the line, we want the anti-corruption to do their job if any one of the government officers including polices are corrupted, we want to government to do their job if any govenment agency is ineffective, we want the press to highlight if any of the politician and government is not do their job. We want every citizen to vote every five years carefully and objectively to ensure that we keep good politicians in and bad one out. We put the right people in the government and the wrong people out of government. If evertythings get out of order and chaotic, our rulers (respected and impartial) to step in. Just like the good and bad apples, we believe we have many good rulers and most of us know who are they. Lets prey, the good one will live longer and influence the others to change to good. Let also prey the bad one will one day change to good one.

So Tengku Faris, I do not know you and in fact this is the first time I have heard of you talking publicly. Yes some of your content is fair but generally many are wrong. Have you ever put yourself on the shoe of non malay before you gave such speech. Do you know what you are advocating? Do you know the implication if majority of the Malay responded to your call? I do not know all the answers but I know you are asking us to move backward after we have moved forward since the last election. We wish you for good health and we also wish you will realize your mistake and move on to do more good for all Malaysian regardless of race and religion.

written by zhugeliang, April 14, 2008 00:19:14
Hmmm...always it is this issue of who come first to this land? Those animals and insects and trees and the orang asli right? What did Parameswara first see when he came to Malacca? A kancil right? If my history that I learn is true as I was taught. So sang kancil should be the bumiputera lor in this case...When the global warming come wiping out humanity, this ketuanan Melayu can't do anything to save Malays. Everyone on this planet Earth will be affected. Those who has a lot of money will probably pay NASA or Russia and fly off to the Moon or Mars...
written by Homeyasu, April 14, 2008 01:04:41
In the 1800, NO IMMIGRANT, NO FLOW OF CURRENCY. When net flow of currency is ZERO, Malaysia = replica of Burma.

Our ancestors, the immigrants, were the one who came in and brought the money in and out. We are asking to be treated as BANGSA MALAYSIA and not just barely an IMMIGRANT with paksa-ed nationality. Are you trying to imply that being born a non-malay in Malaysia is a curse of our faith? It seems to be apartheid in a furtive way. The people who take considerations based on an issue are the extremists. I tell you, Malays are no dodo. It's those leaders who represent the race the one who give the wrong impressions to others that they are the dimwits. Wrong decisions. Again and again. Provocative speech. When would it stop? That's why the non-Malays keep moving out of Malaysia. Stop corrupting your race, stop corrupting Malaysia.
written by talkingback79, April 14, 2008 01:04:55

Inspite of all the political awareness you have helped to nurture malaysians, living a life of denied sleep, and grossly responsible for charting a new course for democracy in this country as evident in the last election, what would be yr opinion if someone from a royal family from some state makes a horrendous racial laced speech that practically dismantles all the positive strides the country had taken recently?
written by bugisman, April 14, 2008 01:06:18
hey pete,

haha...i was waiting for your piece "ralated" to faris, and hmm...i must say your short "unrelated" article carry strong "relevant message".

good one....haha

written by Spear Bing, April 14, 2008 01:51:19
Dear Taiping60,

Your viewpoint is very succinct and candid. My one vote up for you.

MT bloggers afterall do have have intelligent readers like Taiping60,able to put across the views with sobriety, but without profanity.

It's about time MT bloggers need to take their views to the next higher level of intelligent commentary.
written by aiyomanaboleh, April 14, 2008 02:05:54
I enjoyed the monikers of the posters more than their postings but I must say the following is the best so far -

totally unrelated -
written by SUV, April 13, 2008 | 21:36:21

..ym pate,kasilah nombor

and related -
written by Victory or Death, April 13, 2008 | 21:56:11

Dear YM Raja Petra,

written by flyer168, April 14, 2008 02:53:14
Dear Pete, Well said in your article, you are a PRO !

As a Malay Mislim, I am saddened by what is happening.

Haven't the Umnoputras done enough damage to this nation, our nation's assets,its peaceloving but downtrodden citizens & insulted their own race & Islam ?????

We have to remind them that everytime they point their finger at anyone, three fingers are pointing at themself. Islam is about being a tolerant & understanding "Role model" to your fellow beings - a balance between fardhu Ain (one's relationship with God) & Fardhu Kifayyah (one's relationship with God's beings).

Instead of reorganising themselves to work with their new partners to better govern this nation, they want to find faults & create more disharmony.....May God show them the truth !

They do not need any foreign enemies to destroy their oganisation, as they are their own worst enemies with their Autopilot set on a "Self-destruct" mode !

We just sit back, cool off & continue to do our own thing & walk our talk....& watch the show !
written by lampard, April 14, 2008 03:11:45
Dear MT reader,
Like you, this blog do have some effect like opium, my french b'friend has to wait for me in bed while I read this blog every night up till wee hours in the morning. I tend to come back to MT whenever I have the time...but 1 thing I found out, I need to kick this addiction;

1.)This is not a blog for you to voice your disagreement, frustration...
2.)It is not as if your well written comments matters...
3.)RPK is a wise man but I can tell he is a quick tempered man and do not come on well with disagreement and challenges pointed at him
4.) Majority Chinese & Indians in this blog must realize taht no UMNOputras will ever visit this blog and teh PM is still zzzz

Final analysis, go back to your wife, husband, kids, cats, dogs, friends rather than bitching around like grumpy oldman & desperate housewives...

Thank you Pete for allowing us a place to vent our frustration...
written by coolandy, April 14, 2008 03:19:10

It is actually a good sign of the times. After the unexpected windfall, many people including YM Kelantan are trying to do a Raja Nazrin. They have been embolded to speak up. Unfortunately the act is the same but the CLASS differs!

Yhe sad thing is many MT readers have grown cocky and probaly think that they can walk on water. They think that UMNO is already dead, not realising that the injured animal is capable of rising from the ashes especially when led by mastermind TDM.

I do recommment them to further study Sun Tzu.
written by lampard, April 14, 2008 03:30:50
Dear Coolandy,
RPK & you are very smart, thank you for the pointers given to the stupid MT readers like me, hail the smart one!!! smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by rayfire, April 14, 2008 07:35:50
Short and Simple, but nailed the points straight in smilies/smiley.gif

I am quite taken aback by the comments given by the Tengku Faris, but then 11 pages of prepared text ,explains it all. I wonder if he even had the time to review the contents. Probably did the same as what AAB would, just mumble it out without thinking!

I hope the people will be smart enough to reject such ideas and understand that we need to be able achieve things together as Malaysians and not talk about race supremacy anymore. That will ensure we survive together.

Do visit my blog
http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com
written by Counterpointer, April 14, 2008 08:33:58
Well that fella is most entitled to his opinions. As they always say, opinions are like arseholes, everybody has one. Then again it may not even be his opinions, since someone else may have wrote his speech.

But he should not feel slighted when people criticise his opinions, as he most certainly is most entitled to the loss of public respect for him, for not thinking properly first of the consequences before speaking.

It certainly shows his feudal days-like upbringing.

Grow up !. These are the days of the 21st century. These are not the backward days when even if you fart, people will say it smelt nice.
written by batsman, April 14, 2008 08:52:22
Camillus - You need smileys to show your wit? You are pathetic! Half-wit claiming to be great wit! Something wrong with you? - always claiming to be someone great and intelligent and so on.
written by batsman, April 14, 2008 08:53:52
bogeyman - I see you have been officially appointed Camillus's fart-sniffer
written by letsbefair, April 14, 2008 08:59:50
Looks like the regent of Perak is smarter than this crown prince from Kelantan. Kelantan....????! smilies/shocked.gif Isn't Ku Li from Kelantan? He is also in the running for the top UMNO post.
written by Mangan, April 14, 2008 09:20:44
Do correct me if I got it wrong. There has been “family disputes” in the past over the K-throne… If this is correct, then that guy is just like one of us – a commoner – even though he retains his earthly title!

May I suggest that he should learn to write his own text and improve his public speaking, too! What a lousy guy is he…?

Being a “price of royalty”, he got the “privilege” studying abroad and brainwashed with the western-style education system, which is always considered as “secular”, “yellow pop culture”, etc. And yet he … arrrggghhh, “brilliantly not said!” Full stop!
written by Raja Petra, April 14, 2008 09:24:53
Dear lampard, you disagree with me and you are not banned in spite of that very stupid comment. Your assumption demolished.
written by Raja Petra, April 14, 2008 09:29:52
written by lampard, April 14, 2008 | 03:30:50
Dear Coolandy,
RPK & you are very smart, thank you for the pointers given to the stupid MT readers like me, hail the smart one!!!

Dear lampard, if you have a point to make, make it. That is your right. But if all you want to do is to mock (hina) me, then I would rather you not post any comments. I admit I have many weaknesses and one of them is that I get very violent when mocked. But since I do not know who you are and can't get physical with you so the next alternative would be to shut you out.
written by JohnQ, April 14, 2008 10:07:12
Aged retarded thoughts and comment from the racist. Dont you remember your livelihood and luxury are all paid by the hardworking tax payers that only expect their contributions be governed justly and democratically ?

written by pillars, April 14, 2008 10:13:57
I could be wrong, but I think the prince looked uncomfortable when he read his speech. I saw him touching his nose few times. Not the same way Bill Clinton touched his nose though (when he said he has no relationship with Miss Lewinsky). But its obvious he was feeling uncomfie.

RPK could be rite, the prince perhaps taking the wrong 'Menu'.

written by SUV, April 14, 2008 10:29:04
ini perlu diberitau loud n clear!!!! smilies/angry.gif

ketuanan melayu,india,china,dll..blue blood,yelo blood ke,semua ni tak wujud in brahman/allah kingdom!!ini semua falsehood!!!dats whylah,time 2 time,"intervention" happens to raise these falsehood and thrash them out!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by SUV, April 14, 2008 10:41:57
corrupt man suka distort ini itu to fulfil thier asuric egos..but falshood tak tahan lama..mesti kena sepak kelar!!!
written by Mark C, April 14, 2008 11:42:07
it's because of people like this that sow discord and tension in the community.
written by Hockchew, April 14, 2008 11:44:57
What's the difference between a "Crown Prince" and a Clown Prince"?
Its the "r" and "l". The chinese educated ppl have problem pronouncing the "r" as they cannot roll their tongue. I think they have pronounced it correctly.
written by khongja, April 14, 2008 11:45:10
I dread the day when this racist Prince becomes King!that is when his turn comes!
written by nguikb, April 14, 2008 12:09:22
RPK
Why nowadays UMNO always talking about 'Ketuanan Melayu'? Why don't they talk 'Ketuanan Dayak' in S'wak? Dayaks (iban,bidayuh,org ulu) in S'wak treated as 2nd class Bumi in M'sia. Anyone here can explain this situation?
So, stop talking about 'ketuanan melayu'. smilies/angry.gif
written by Capt Siva, April 14, 2008 12:13:26
His Highness needs to clarify which part of the constitution specifies the "qui Pro Quo" and where the "malays were forced to grant citizenship to foreigners" clause is located in the constitution.
His Highness is part of the royalty and it behooves His Mighness to unite the people of Malaysia with His benevolence.
In His Highness's eyes, there vshould be no Malay or Chinese or Indian. There should only be Rakyat.
It is possible that the Prince has been misled by UMNO politicians.

We should remember always :
This country was built by not one race of people but by all Malaysians.
My God is not better than anybody else's God and my religion is not better than anybody else's religion.
I am a Malaysian of Sri Lankan Tamil descent but I am Malaysia first and last.
The King is the protector of all the Rakyat, thus is the God given duty of the King.
We shall not discuss where politicians come from here.

Long Live Malaysia
Daulat Tuanku
written by Capt Siva, April 14, 2008 12:18:32
Raja Petra
You have my humblest admiration.
A dirty job worth doing and soething i would be afraid to do.
if you ever want to run for office, count me as a henchman.
thank you, sir, for a service well done.
written by galadriel, April 14, 2008 12:25:01
Dear RPK, that was subtle yet pedas. Sometimes what is not said is very loud. You do with class.
smilies/wink.gif

As to Tengku Faris, the more intelligent among u can digest what's said and not said.
written by coolandy, April 14, 2008 13:05:20
RPK is Cepat, Tepat dan Hebat! smilies/wink.gif
written by malgal, April 14, 2008 13:57:30
Now that i have picked myself up from the floor from laughing, chuckling, chortling, holding my sides to hold in the rest of me etc etc to cut a long story short (ahem), my 2 sen worth in the apple barrel is this: DON'T FORGET SOME BASKET CASES IN THE BASKET TOO. In Bolehland it is wise and prudent to keep one's sense of humour in all matters. Excuse me while i laugh some more and return to the floor ....
written by batsman, April 14, 2008 14:12:30
Camillus - For your info, those little yellow icons are properly called emoticons, not smileys. Smileys just show 2 main emotions - smiling foolishly and smiling like a smart ass. Since these are the only 2 in your repertoire, I guess you have a good reason to call them smileys. Don't claim great wit when you are only a half wit lar!
written by NRR, April 14, 2008 14:40:04
Guys, don't get too excited. Just read the different opinions and be wiser for it. Anyone who can read can understand the constitution and what it says. Be cool.
written by lampard, April 14, 2008 14:56:30
Dear Raja Petra,

Please do forgive my blunt english. I do have points to make, I need to know the whole (true, wholesome) intention of Malaysia Today;

1.) DO we actually have total freedom to write our opinion even if it is against your thoughts?

2.) Is this blog a place where we vent our frustration about the injustice and corrupt practices in our country...? When even UMNO members laud their frustration and the powers that be do not heed their advice, can we bloggers make a change?

3.)Is there an avenue for us to really make a change in our country's political landscape and our points brought forward to greater good? Makkhal Sakti has prevail and the ruling government has not change...?!?

4.) Do you support the "Malay Supremacy" and NEP or do you think every citizens should be given equal opportunity and rights?

5.) Most Malaysian citizen are either the 3rd or 4th or even 5th generation born in Malaysia, should they not be given an equal opportunity (say you disagree with the above)

6.) Why not be direct, do you think Tengku Faris is the rotten apple in the basket full of royal blue blood as per your topic? Or are you blaming some unseen hands behind the veil that is controlling him as a puppet therefore he is not to be blame?

Lastly, I do not wish to get into a fist fight with you and I have never mock(hina) you, sincerely, I have too much respect for a man like you, you are my true Malaysian Idol! I am sure if I have the chance to see your balls, I am sure they are one of the biggest known to mankind.... smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Raja Petra, April 14, 2008 15:32:20
Dear lampard, my replies as below:

1) Yes, the fact that you are still posting your comments, yet we don't agree, is proof of that. Nevertheless, there is no such thing as TOTAL freedom to write your opinion. If you write that my mother was a whore and my wife is a slut then I will whack you silly and ban you from further posting even though that IS your opinion.

2) NO! This is not a blog where you vent your frustrations. Go get professional help if that is your problem. This is a place where we teach Malaysians how to agree to disagree in a civil, matured and educated manner and yet still love each other in spite of our disagreements.

3) Yes, while you were sleeping we did just that on 8 March 2008.

4) You must be stupid to ask me that question. How old are you anyway?

5) Please go buy a gun, put it to your head, and then pull the trigger. The fact you need to ask me that means you do not deserve to live.

6) Oh, did he tell you I did not?

Lastly, I come from the 'old school' - people who defend their dignity and that of their family to the death. Humility is repaid with humility and arrogance with arrogance. Death is a better option than penghinaan.

Sorry, but I am an old man of 57 with 4 cucu so I am very old fashioned. What I am doing with Malaysia Today is merely to uphold the dignity of the rakyat and to try to teach the rakyat that death is better than life as a dog. And if the government treats us like dogs then we must rise and restore our dignity. We partially achieved that on 8 March 2008. Now I feel human again after 10 years since 1998 feeling like a sub-human. And I want the rest of Malaysians to feel that as well.

I will scream, provoke, whack and do everything within my power to make Malaysians feel ashamed with themselves until they rise and scream "NO MORE!" like they did on 8 March 2008. No, I am not anti-government. I am pro-rakyat.
written by confuseus, April 14, 2008 15:41:03
“Discussing about polemics such as Islamic state, secular state, welfare state... confuses the people... Resulting from this confusion, Malays are becoming more disillusioned,” he added. - Malaysiakini, 12 April 2008
He, he ,he … that is why my name is Confuseus, to shield myself from all these confusion.
I totally agree with Tengku Faris that majority are confused. Based on the above comments and votings, I would say 90% are confused.
Another clue to ponder – Do you know that the “Social Contract” is not a contract?
Confuseus says “Democracy is secularism” because being animals, majority cannot rules and can easily be misguided.

DAULAT TUANKU – TUANKU PAYUNG RAKYAT

P.s Pet, any news on the Ombudsman yet ? If not, I told you so.
written by Chuang Tze, April 14, 2008 15:41:20
You have to know where this "Mushroom" Faris is coming from ... he is Royalty, but royalty means that you need peasants to lord over, and the only ones who can be this Mushroom's peasants are the people of his own race, so he has to keep alive this Ketuanan Melayu or the Royalty in Malaysia will be extinct and obsolete.

Yes, it his for their own selfish survival that the Royalty wants to perpetuate Malay superiority in this day and age. Not because they are in any way superior, but mesti-lah conceptually benefit the peasants otherwise mana ada raja lagi ?? Anyway, concepts and ideas cost nothing whereas if Malaysia was to really come of Age and everyone realizes that no one is or should be born a King and "Kulification" should have gone the same way as apartheid a long time ago, a Republic of Virtue with a President is at least someone the RAKYAT can choose, and not someone THRUST upon the RAKYAT just because he or she was born in a particular family !!

I will bide my time to see the day where the best are voted in without fear or favour, without "Kulitfication", without "Birthright", and strictly on merit ! I would much rather have an Indian President with a Negro VP if they are men/ women of integrity and do the best for Malaysia. This is the ideal and Malaysia although having taken its first step in the right direction still has a long way to go if many more Malays want to be Mushroom Faris' "Hamba" instead of striding out fearlessly in the world and earning their place amongst the ranks of Tunku Abdul Rahman and Tun Hussein Onn.

written by confuseus, April 14, 2008 15:43:43
Confuseus is also not anti government, just anti INCOMPETENT government and will fight incompetence till death !!!
written by aryn, April 14, 2008 16:21:15
I am NATIVE but not Malay. I am native of east Malaysia so my native rights is at par with the Malays. Not even a court of law can overran my native rights which - thanks to the colonial British govt - ensure that my native rights is uphold by law.

But we native don't go around and boast or canang kan our native rights like this Tengku Faris, Umno and Malay leaders.

We native prefer to move with the times and keep abreast with the development around us so we can 'berdiri sama tinggi....' AND NOT HARP ON OUR RIGHTS!

I am glad many of my Malay friends now aware that they must compete and excel in education so they will not lag behind other.

So Tengku, Umno and Malay leaders who are actually afraid of losing their power and authority under the 'ketuanan Melayu' and abusing the words Malay rights to gain Malay support, why don't you just come out from your 'tempurung'.

Be like many of my Malay friends who work hard, became resilient and prosper without abusing their Malay rights like my native rights.
written by R020998, April 14, 2008 16:36:38

When I gave 110% support and voted for the Opposition during the last election, and watched many UMNO leaders toppled, I was contemplating as to whether I did the right thing.

Reading through many comments posted by MT readers challenging RPK's article shown that this battle is no more against the UMNO, corruption, injustice, etc etc, but rather becoming against the Malays, their constitutional rights, supremacy, so on and so forth.

Thank you bloggers, you helped me see the light.

Nevertheless, I still hold high respect to my heros Encik Lim Kit Siang and Encik Lim Guan Eng. ( I loved it when Guan Eng, told the Umnoputras in Penang during their meeting that he will run the state like "Umar Abdul Aziz"...God…I love this new CM)

Nevertheless, I will now scrutinize the Father-and-Son statements and actions and if they bow to every request of "demanding" supporters, then.....................

and lastly.... DAULAT TUANKU!!!!!!!!!!!
written by Goliverpool, April 14, 2008 17:03:14
I have not known him personally but I do worked before with a company affiliated with the Tengku Faris. We did a project in Kelantan in 2005-2007 which has been completed under the federal allocation (JKR). The reason he is involved is because of his connection with UMNO and his ability to secure projects by using his name. I would not name the project but it is in KELANTAN. Sad to say whatever he said is BULLSHIT. He never fights for any of malay rights. NEVER i can attest to that. He is more like a leech. Means he takes money for his contribution. Money in terms of car (Harrier for that matter starting with DAS .. ), cash, let me tell you lots of cash. I had enough of this company and i quit in 2005 as i find it too repulsing of continuing for my services there. His is bascially a puppet by UMNO, as u can c from the photographs. Its all just a politically gimmick. Imagine even Kelantan which ruled by PAS, there;s even greater corruption by the Fed government in states not ruled by the BN cos all funds are being channelled to an organisation or individuals. I find it totally repulsing and sick to my stomach having hear that Faris has the cheek to give a speech about malay supremacy. What a hyprocrite !
written by aryn, April 14, 2008 17:04:25
Come to think of it, perhaps we better find out again whether Tengku Faris delivered his own re-written speech while the prepared text was distributed to the press like the one we read it.

Certainly, Tengku Faris has something to say or should the press clarify?
written by mei yen, April 14, 2008 17:33:02
confuseus???

The spelling is - C O N F U C I U S.
written by Camillus, April 14, 2008 20:08:01
R020998,
Interesting sentiments!
written by SL Chan, April 14, 2008 20:31:04
Dear YAM RPK..

Brilliantly written and a clear message....hahaha
written by educationist, April 14, 2008 20:55:11
I believe that it is written into our constitution that all Malaysians are equal under the law. So the question of non-Malays asking for equality is a non issue.
That there had been the need for affirmative actions to help disadvantaged groups I believe were well accepted by all Malaysians. What is the point of contention now is that those programmes have been abused to benefit the priveleged few.
The need for such affirmative action programmes today will also not be contested if all needy Malaysians are in the target group.
written by angfaulith, April 14, 2008 21:12:45
askm,
i may not entirely agree with tengku faris but i respect the institution he represents. he will be a future king. he must have reason for what he said.
we in pas have had our differences with the royalty but we respect the institutions that they represent.
their recent decisions in perak,perlis and trengganu augur well for the country.
nik aziz nik mat and haji hadi awang have always had good and meaningfull relationships with the royal families.
daulat tuanku!

hidup pas! hidup malaysia!
written by batsman, April 14, 2008 21:28:30
Camillus is just a fraud who claims to have balls of steel, incredible great wit, consultant in finance, macho Italian, etc. Everything about him is fraudulent. Those who want to test him out with his claims please feel free to do so. Even if you don't succeed to prove he is a fraud, at least you prove I am. So, take the challenge, guys!
written by mikewang, April 14, 2008 22:31:04
Before you people go on making yourself irrelevant, go read what Patrick Teoh had blogged about this....

http://niamah.********.com/2008/04/more-dastardly-deeds-by-sore-losers.html
written by apa jadi, April 14, 2008 23:34:24
written by mei yen, April 14, 2008 | 17:33:02
confuseus???

The spelling is - C O N F U C I U S.

Soli lah! You don't try to CONFUSE US smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif OK?? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Never mind about names, argue on points.
written by labisman, April 15, 2008 00:38:31
...... While I respect the fact that people have a right to their own opinions ,I draw the line when those opinions cross the boundaries of taste or legality. What i have seen in the comments from the no holds barred column titled "many apples in the basket" makes me shiver as some of those comments border on sedition .....

HARD5179
written by kinistau, April 15, 2008 01:51:49
Hopeless.

Shell we ask RPK, how many Blue blood has migrated and living in other country?
If I have money, I would consider joining them. At least my children get to be 1st class citizen some day.

Over the years many Indonesians who came swimming into our country has been given IC by UMNO for the sake of winning the election (Filipinos in the case of Sabah).

their children would be tuan to the Chinese's and Indian's children in the future. I would not rule out that there is possibility that they would be tuan to the Malay's children. and the Malay has not realize that.

UMNO has betray The Malay.

Ya.. Should have told our grand father not to fight the Japanese the British and pay tax, coz there is no appreciation for your loyalty and sacrifice.

Come to think of it... 30 April is near, have you paid your tax?

Tell me I am wrong.
written by cody8177, April 15, 2008 03:56:37
By Raja Petra :
I will scream, provoke, whack and do everything within my power to make Malaysians feel ashamed with themselves until they rise and scream "NO MORE!" like they did on 8 March 2008. No, I am not anti-government. I am pro-rakyat.
_______________________________________________________ ___

My dear Raja, I am with you all the way. Just that I don't have the same courage as you to do the things that you do.
I pray that you be successful in all that you do. Malaysia needs that and more courageous people like you.

Daulat Tuanku ! Hidup RPK !
written by panca, April 15, 2008 18:58:03
Dear Pete, here's the 'silat' catch.....a real story behind the casket(coffin) owner's pet, a hill myna.

On every ocassion it would 'belt out' to anyone that passes by the undertaker shop. The opening phrase it crows is "time to get one for yourself" and everyone would get bloody annoyed with the bird and the owner. The bird though not a parrot specie but "parrot" that phrase diligently the shopowner taught it.

Surely it is a bird but whether it understand or not what it spewed, we can wildly imagine it has a limited knowledge of the content, or perhaps it does, over the years the reactions it gets from passers-bys "@"%@ f"##:@#!!!

Blind by eyes but not deaf to the ears!
written by panca, April 15, 2008 19:18:38
carmen if you are addicted to MT then you should know why you are one of the addicts!

Because it's Malaysia Today and it is news you don't get to read in msm and all about confronting the truths, agreements of disagreements, so on so forth!

Stay tuned or perhaps bash too. Cest la vie!
written by dmh1871, April 16, 2008 12:48:19
Bravo to you RPK for impliedly/indirectly raising the Tengku Faris speech issue in the first place and yet try to dissociate yourself with it when thing got out of hand when rude, @#$%&%, seditious and vicious comment is levy on Tengku Faris just because he has a different opinion or see thing differently. So where is the freedom of speech and expression that you all been talking about. But at least from all the “biadap”comment we can see the true colour and intention of majority of the reader of MT.
written by legaleagle, April 16, 2008 14:12:15
What lampard has written below seems to make sense now. The addiction,, the need to kick it, not a blog to voice your frustration, well-wrtten comments don't matter, etc.

written by lampard, April 14, 2008 | 03:11:45

Dear MT reader,
Like you, this blog do have some effect like opium, my french b'friend has to wait for me in bed while I read this blog every night up till wee hours in the morning. I tend to come back to MT whenever I have the time...but 1 thing I found out, I need to kick this addiction;

1.)This is not a blog for you to voice your disagreement, frustration...
2.)It is not as if your well written comments matters...
3.)RPK is a wise man but I can tell he is a quick tempered man and do not come on well with disagreement and challenges pointed at him
4.) Majority Chinese & Indians in this blog must realize taht no UMNOputras will ever visit this blog and teh PM is still zzzz

Final analysis, go back to your wife, husband, kids, cats, dogs, friends rather than bitching around like grumpy oldman & desperate housewives...

Thank you Pete for allowing us a place to vent our frustration...
written by mijoan, April 16, 2008 14:34:52
Dear YM RPK,
Good that you have posted this article here in MT. Thank you. People's comments too were filled with pros and cons. Just like what HRH had expressed himself from a prepared text, we the Rakyat also expressed ourselves. Unfortunately though, some were written without much understanding and forethought. In one of your comments above, you have stated a fact (or a joke)quote: "Menu" & "Siapa yang tulis ni?" however, brings out a very important fact. It is sad and disappointing too that Royalties are being made use of. The cookoo bird told me that the speech was prepared in Gua Musang??!!
written by harrbm, April 17, 2008 01:11:22
>
<

YM RPK have 44 grandparents ! WOW !

who are related to who?

for I know, some of you guys are related to YM RPK !

maybe we are all related in some way or another.

P/S

quote:

Until ALL the Malaysian Chinese and Malaysia Indians etc identify themselves as MALAYS, racial politics in Malaysia will go on...

unquote.

<
>
written by bknight, April 17, 2008 01:29:43
Dear Wisdom

"To YM RPK,

I immediately refer to Federal Constitution Article 3(1) after I read this article in Malaysiakini. Read on & off for last 28 years.

I prayed for you to respond & you handle it with tact & diplomacy.

Where was the 'digital' Federal Constitution link on MT ?

Syabas. Barisan Ralkyat. "

are you looking for this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C...f_Malaysia by saying digital FC ??

written by tcng, April 17, 2008 17:33:35
>

A daughter devastated, a mother with no answers
A Schoolteacher | Apr 17, 08 3:27pm
I am a teacher by profession. I am teaching in a government school. Being a teacher, I am expected to inculcate moral values in my teachings. I have memorised all the sixteen values ‘Nilai-nilai Murni’ as a result of twenty-five years of teaching – values that transcend curriculum. Day in day out, all the students are exposed to all the values which are expected to cultivate good thinking and moral values among our young citizens. Examples of some of the moral values are being kind-hearted, respecting each other, fairness, honesty, and moderation.

In the recent SPM examination, many of my students did very well, some scoring straight As. We, teachers of all races, felt so very proud seeing the achievements of our students. We had ‘Hari Anugerah Cemerlang’ in my school. Parents, regardless of race or religion were there to lend support for the programme and at the same time to motivate the children. One such student is my own daughter, who scored 12 As, best student of the school. She used to wake as early as 4 o’clock in the morning to start preparing for her SPM.

When I asked her why she has to take up 12 subjects and ‘torture ‘ herself, she told me, ‘I am not a bumiputera like many of my friends.’ So the need to take up two extra subjects (not offered in her school) in order to be on par with her Malay friends.

She applied for the Progran Matrikulasi well before SPM itself. Yesterday was the day she was eagerly waiting since obtaining her SPM results because all the applicants will get their reply from the matriculation office. While I was in school, my handphone rang. It was a call from my daughter. When I answered the call she was already sobbing, and I am so silly to think that it was tears of joy.

The sobs turn to cries after she heard my voice - she was devastated, depressed and very disappointed because she failed to get entry into this government-sponsored programme. She is the eldest in my family. I have another three school going children. May be I am to be blamed because it was me who asked her to study hard, get good results because being an ordinary teacher I can not afford to send her to private colleges.

When I came back after school yesterday afternoon, again I saw tears in her eyes. She asked several questions. ‘Is it wrong to get 12 As in SPM? My Malay friends who got 2As and 3 As got to do the matriculation programme, I am denied. What’s wrong? You are also a teacher just like uncle, (my Malay college in school) his son was offered a place although he scored only 5As. Why?’ I don’t have answers.

Being a teacher (I teach History and Moral Education), I teach my students to be loyal to the country, to respect the leaders, to obey the laws of the nation, to promote goodwill and so on. I encourage them to participate in ‘Rimup’ (a race integration programme among students of various races).

I do not know what to say to my daughter. I feel guilty because what I teach in school is actually rubbish, perhaps I need to tell them the reality being a non-Malay citizen of our beloved nation. For that I need to resign. Please Mr. Prime Minister, may be you have something to tell us.

written by tcng, April 17, 2008 17:34:53
Above letter is from MalaysiaKini.....
written by antiilluminati, April 18, 2008 16:04:10
Sometimes i wonder why can't we begin to realize that partisanship never contributes to the greater good. Despite different political ideologies, people can come together to make real progress in advancing the country's best interests. A political party is a pretty big branch, but we're all part of an even bigger branch called "nation."

We may begin to understand the evil of racism. Take this analogy, despite somewhat different coloring, the leaves on another branch grow from the same source as we do. The water that feeds them is the same water that feeds us. The motives that propel them are the same ones that move us. We are, in a very real sense, members of the same family. A race or ethnicity is a fairly sizable branch, but all the big racial branches are but part of a major branch of life called "humanity."

Someone pls enlighten this prince on how to carry himself. http//malaysia-at-crossroad.********.com