Keep Ketuanan Melayu out of East Malaysia PDF Print
Sunday, 13 April 2008 11:02

Once harmonious social fabric of Sabah torn to pieces by BN

Dear Pakatan Rakyat and all concerned citizens,

I would like to convey my deep frustration with what is going in the state of Sabah, my home.

I was born and raised in Kota Kinabalu. I am a half KDM guy, but I mainly identify myself as a Malaysian and a Sabahan, however I still am a very proud of both halves of my ethnicity. My dissatisfaction arose beginning 1994 when Sabah fell to BN in the most dirtiest disgusting manner: when BN bought over elected MPs from PBS to cross over to BN following their loss in the election. Thus began the UMNO chapter in the political history of Sabah. Or if you like, the Sabah chapter of UMNO.

At that time, the BN coalition consisted a number of parties. I do not recall all the parties or the number of seats they obtained in the election. Then came the rotation system. Every 2 years a representative from 3 communities, namely, the non-Muslim Bumis, Muslim Bumis and the Chinese take turn to govern the state. Soon, UMNO began taking most seats in the states. Finally, it was decided that the rotation system would end, with Musa Aman conveniently at the helm of the government. He has been the CM for 5 years already, with unbelievably, no apparent dissent at all. Even ex-CM Chong Kah Kiat seem to have endorsed this idea.

There are actually many issues bugging me right now, but shall only express one that has been bugging me the most. We all know the central ideology of UMNO is 'Ketuanan Melayu', the racialist belief that the Malays are the boss in this land. Historically, this idea seemed to apply only in Peninsula Malaysia in tandem with the Social Contract. However it seems this idealogy has appeared to have reached our shores in East Malaysia. As you might know, there are not many ethnic Malays in East Malaysia, and they are not normally regarded as being indigenous to Borneo. However pockets of so called Malay communities does appear in southern Sarawak, who are often linked to, or associated with the Melanaus, and also in Sabah, who typically identify themselves as Brunei Malays.

Before I carry on, I strongly believe that Ketuanan Melayu (KM) is an egotistical propaganda created to further the agenda of UMNO to suppress the non-Bumis, in many aspect of life. This is the UMNO version of KM. However, I do also believe in the existence of an alternative and milder definition of "Ketuanan Melayu", whereby the special rights of the Malays, such as having a Malay Agong and sultans in Malay states, the supremacy of Bahasa Malaysia, and perhaps also having a Malay PM, are protected. The UMNO version of this ideology is more extreme, in that, it seeks to extend Malay supremacy in almost every arena of governance and even social life. For example, that the head of judiciary, head of police, head of military, head of major corporate companies, even principals of secondary schools, et al, has to be Malay. I can subscribe to the milder version of KM (at a national level, not state level) but I cannot subscribe to UMNO's version of it.

Going back to Sabah, I have actually witnessed that many Muslim Sabahans are beginning to identify themselves as Malays. These Sabahans could either be Bajaus, Bugis, Suluk, Malay, even Kadazan Muslims, etc. How it all started I'm not sure, whether certain Malays from Peninsula wanted to extend their sphere of influence by proposing that they are also Malays and that they should begin seeing themselves as Malays, or whether the Muslim community themselves who thought it is the next logical thing to do. I think it is the former which is the more plausible explanation. My question is WHY? They already have so many 'identities' to hold for themselves: a Sabahan, a Bajau, a Muslim, a Malaysian, a Human. Why must they also be a Malay? Its not really a big problem for me if they want to call themselves "Malays", by all means go ahead. But when they begin to shout 'Ketuanan Melayu' here, then it shows an ulterior motive in the adoption of this new identity, which I am against.

As if this is not enough, they have also begun acknowledging immigrants from Indonesia and perhaps also Philippines as "Malays". I have heard a lot about this 'conspiracy' called "Project IC" a.k.a "Project M", but I never brought myself to 100% believe in its truth since most of the things I heard about it is just hearsay. But attitudes of UMNO members of late made me believed more in the existence of Project M. But a statement floated in by one Malay forummer in an online forum recently, where he suggested we embrace these immigrants as our brothers provided they adopt Islam and Malay, is the one that confirmed my suspicion on both counts. That is, that Project M exists, and Ketuanan Melayu is a racist propaganda that has reached Sabah and has been entrenched in the minds of some Sabahans here. (for more information please read "When States Prefer Non-Citizens Over Citizens: Conflict Over Illegal Immigration into Malaysia" written by Professor Kamal Sadiq of University of California - Irvine)

Malay is clearly defined in the constitution as a person who habitually speaks Malay, practices Malay customs and professes Islam. Clearly as a KDM, I am not a Malay. Though UMNO sometimes insists that we are also Malays which is plain bullshit. Seriously, who are they trying to bluff. So what is the result of this? Soon, the Muslims in Sabah may unite under the Malay banner and we are no longer seen as brothers in this land of ours. KM is slowly turning the Muslim against the non-Muslims. A clear example of this is the 1986 riots around Sabah. The rioters were seeking to oust the appointment of Pairin Kitingan. Why? Did he cheat in the elections? No. The only reason this riot happened in my opinion is that because Pairin is a Christian. Of course, upon being provoked by certain leaders.

We have always been multiracial yet united society in Sabah. That is why since our independence we have had KDMs, Bajaus, Chinese, Suluks, Malays, etc. (or Muslim, Buddhist, and Christian) as Chief Minister in this state. Compare this to, say, Johor, Terengganu, or Penang, which only had a CM from one particular race only. But ideologies such as KM is destroying our unique open social mentality. We could have been a role model on how racial relations should work in Malaysia. Sadly, communal mentality has seeped into the mainstream society of Sabah. We never cared much about race, but now it seems we must bow down only to Malays. We are also told to fear the Chinese as they are only interested in stealing our money and exploiting us. Is it a coincidence that both Sabah and Sarawak have Muslims and somewhat "Malay" person as the CM? When in fact there is a significant population of non-Muslims (mainly Dayaks) here? I seriously don't care if Malays (from Sabah) get to be the CM of Sabah, but when they are impliedly telling us that from now on only "Malays" can be the CM, then you are no longer welcomed in Sabah. Sabahans should not bow to anyone. If one day a KDM leader should declare that from now only a KDM can be a CM, and that central ideology of the state is "Ketuanan KDM", I would strongly oppose this as well, even though I am a KDM, because this is bullshit.

The recent election is strongly influenced by money politics, desperate need for development, poverty, lack of education, lack of exposure to the alternative media, loss of hope, weak opposition, and phantom voters. Sabahans also easily fall for superficial developments which does not even bring in much benefits. Intangible developments in the form of education, moral, and ethics, are often overlooked. I do not believe that the true people of Sabah have freely sanctioned Barisan Nasional to govern this state.

I hope you get the message I am trying to convey, and not dismiss me as a racist. It is the KDM who are on the receiving end of racism. Even the Bajaus are feeling the heat and are fearing that their identity would soon be usurped by another "Malay" identity. The KDM are too soft and scared. The leaders are only interested in their own personal gains. UMNO is dividing  and destroying Sabahans. They are flooding the state with immigrants and christening them as Malays and Bumis to distort our demography in their favor. So my appeal to Pakatan Rakyat is: PLEASE SAVE SABAH BEFORE ITS TOO LATE. Put your differences aside for the sake of the rakyat in Sabah. For now, we need a strong viable opposition which is currently non-existent in Sabah. Even though you are a Peninsular-based coalition, we are putting our faith and trust in you. We need CAPABLE and GENUINE Sabahans regardless of race to lead this state. Give us back our autonomy and other rights enshrined in the 20-point agreement. The 20% oil royalty would be a great icing on the cake. God bless Sabah. God bless Malaysia. God bless Pakatan Rakyat.

Dissatisfied Malaysian
Comments (69)Add Comment
written by strupper2003, April 13, 2008 11:16:30
Too late mate.

The day Umno enters Sabah, you are doomed.
written by mypanida, April 13, 2008 11:17:07
in a nutshell, whatever the damned Umno touches, they turned to cancer.

to euthanase that cancerous growth and in the Semenanjung the Pakatan Rakyat seemed to have found the solution. It is up to our East Malaysian's brethren whether to swallow the bitter pill and take up the extermination process.
agree 121
written by sampalee, April 13, 2008 11:21:01
There is only ketuanan Tuhan,any party,including umno try to usurp this will face the warth of God.Have no fear,all is in the hand of Allah.
written by Jilo, April 13, 2008 11:30:32
I was having a chat earlier this morning that we should get rid of UMNO administrative power the sooner ,the better.Anwar is the better choice compared with Mongolian connection N or already old Tengku.Mongolian connection PM will become the laughing stock for the world.Maybe it is a good therapy at this moment of time in such uncertain times but it would be really embarrassing for Malaysian.At the chit chat,we agreed that Mahathir is the main cause of these recent political chaos.So let not waste time anymore on useless leaders which we had perceived to be so it the first place.Be daring in our judgement.
written by macanhitam, April 13, 2008 11:34:03
To my sabahans bros & sis,
PR cant do much if they ain't runnin the Fed. The solution is to break away & be a sovereign autonomous country just like singapore & brunei. Civil war is inevitable. Call for arms is imminent. Arise Sabahans, take arms and launch a revolt!
written by hitam had, April 13, 2008 11:34:59
Sabah was a partner in the formation of Malaysia. Too bad it did not have leaders who can defend the rights of the citizens of Sabah.

They thought that treating Malaysians from other States as foreigners ( you need a passport to enter the State and a work permit to work there) was sufficient to safeguard the interests of the State. Was it enough?

Why ask PK to save Sabah when Sabahans do not have the will to save themselves?? Are their leaders in the BN not Sabahans??

Pax.
written by KKchan, April 13, 2008 11:35:41
I share the views of Disappointed Malaysian. Keep Ketuanan Melayu from crossing the South China Sea. Malays are a minority in both Sabah and Sarawak (even worse in Sarawak where the Malay pretenders -Melanaus have a strong grip on the levels of power. There is now a category called Malay-Melanau!). The indigenous tribes are the majority but through money politics, divide and rule or blissful ignorance, they have beend sidelined. See how many parties claim to represent them- even Chinese ones like SUPP! See how many "native" parties have been destroyed in Sarawak or absorbed into BN like PBS, once looked at with pride and admiration by Sabahans and Sarawakians. Sabah is now UNMO territory, TYT is Malay Muslim, CM is likewise and another DCM too! Will there ever be another KDM CM? Unlikely unless all KDM dissolve their parties and join UMNO en masse and capture it from within. Sabah UMNO has non-Malays and even Chinese as memebrs! UMNO politics is divisive. Get rid of it, and the sooner the better.
written by justice61, April 13, 2008 11:37:24
There are at least 2 milion illegal immigrants who benefitted from the project M for the past 20 years. The whole idea was to balance if not to tilt the demograhy make up in favour of the Muslims in general.
The KM was then injected into the politics of Sabah by TDM in the grand scheme of things, ie spreading the UMNO hegemony. I was in Sabah during the crisis and we saw the end of Sabahan leading Sabahans. Till today I vividly remember the bomb blast at the petrol kiosk near the market and the poor newspaper delivery boy who had his brain blown off and splattered on the walls.
Blame it on the greedy Harris Salleh for losing Labuan. Blame it on the people of Sabah for voting the BN. Blame it on the politician frogs who jumped ship in exchance for a few million.
Take heart the ship had not sunk yet, just listing to one side. Get rid of the Captain, First mate, engineer, in fact all the crew and you may right the ship. Its in the hands of the people of Sabah and Sarawak to return the state to its rightful owner, the people of Sabah and Sarawak..
written by FFT, April 13, 2008 11:38:01
I believe if you dig deeper into history, you may find that certain factions within UMNO originated as an offshoot of the Nazi party of Germany during the occupation of Malaya by the Nazi's ally, Japan.

Once they got rid of the noble men like Tunku Abdul Rahman, the Nazis of UMNO accelerated their ascendancy. And it culminated with the dissolution of UMNO and the formation of UMNO Baru which is a purely Nazi outfit.

Since UMNO Baru, it has been the primary goal for all UMNO leaders to strive to be the mirror image of their idol and god, Adolf. Those that refuse to worship and mould themselves in the image of Adolf, are discarded in the most distasteful manner, like Anwar Ibrahim was.

For now, leading the charge of the new generation of Young Nazis, is the blade-wielding Hishamuddin.

Malaysia needs to have the equivalent of the Nuremberg trials to ensure all these neo-Nazis are dealt with by a heavy dose of justice.
written by exzxr, April 13, 2008 11:38:03
Sabahans, you should see this coming a long time ago and yet you vote for BN to win convincingly this GE.Don't you know UMNO has always been the supreme TUAN for all the component parties?Vote carefully in future and now convince your wakil rakyat to do the right honorable thing that is switch to PR!
written by wgang20, April 13, 2008 11:51:12
I am 100% agree with you. Please let UMNO get off from Sabah land & never into Sarawak land. I respect what the prince has said about Ketuanan Melayu. But it is only applicable in Peninsular M'sia. Not at all in East M'sia. Those who are Bajau in Sabah or Melanau in Sarawak (who are Muslim), do not claim yourself as Melayu. Because you are not. Not at all. You seem to be forgoten your own culture. I respect whatever your religion, but it doesn't mean you are Melayu. Peace to all of you.
written by chanatak, April 13, 2008 11:51:20
Absolute right. UMNO is destructive to the hilth. Sabah used to be so harmonious. I used to remark how I feel I am in a different country the moment I step down the plane. But I have seen how Sabah is gradually turning racist ever since PBS was destroyed by UMNO. UMNO has an insidious way of pushing Malay superiority such that the gradually the Malay mind becomes obssessed with rights, rights and rights at the expense of others. The worst thing we can see is how Malays gradually withdraw themselves from others. just look at the eating stalls and the market stalls. They unwittingly become drawn by UMNO policies to keep to themselves and at the same time, they pick up UMNO forked tongue nature by saying we are all same and united. This is how wicked UMNO has been and is.

Let the Malay community come to this realization. My father used to drink coffee with malay friends. I never used to see Malays as Malays when i was in school. We were just friends. If we are enemies in school, we were just enemies. We were never friends because of race, nor enemies because of race.

Great awakening article. Do the same for Sarawak. Turn back the tides of racial segregation in the Peninsula. I don't want my children to refer any of their friends as "Malai chai" or "keling chai". If he is Hamid, let him be Hamid. If he is Sugumaran, then he is Sugumaran. Not malay chai or keling chai
written by chanatak, April 13, 2008 11:56:20
One more point.

"We are also told to fear the Chinese as they are only interested in stealing our money and exploiting us"

Which race stole RM42 billion from the nation? Which party squirrelled away the RM42b in the first place, to be robbed by a person of their own race?
There are no thieves and robbers more blatant than UMNO. UMNO appears to be worse than those Filipino presidents added together.

Enough of racism.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 13, 2008 11:57:47
Wait for TDM and UMNO-baru to die, and stage a revolution for PBS to be back in power.
written by ngiuchap, April 13, 2008 12:06:01
UMNO came, UMNO conquered. DO you know that the person who opened the gate for UMNO to come to Sabah died regretting it? That's history.

Now, what we need to do is to get rid of this "ketuanan" thing. As soon as BN took over Sabah in 2004, by hook and by crook, the tide has changed. Almost all the KDM officers were sidelined from day one.

When the issue of population explosion was raised during high-level meetings, the leaders seemed to just brushed it aside and even made jokes about it. Now, for a true Malaysian, wouldn't one be alarmed over such explosion? Even undeveloped countries in the African continent do not have such high birth rates. And it is obvious what had caused the explosion, yet no one bothers! Why?

It is no longer an issue of illegal immigrants, but illegals holding Mykad and becoming "Malays" along the way, which entitles them to enjoy all the benefits the non-Muslim Bumiputeras can only watch with dismay. We can forget about the Chinese, despite the self-declared "king" around.

However, we must all unite and fight this together. We need another credible leader to come to the fore. Who can that be?
written by megahyper, April 13, 2008 12:18:20
This is what happen when you have a dictator or mahazalim at the helm.

Everybody has had to bow! Judiciary, Kesultanan, AG chambers, enforcement, parliament, party (his own/others).....what is sabah?

That time he is so fed-up of losing Sabah and from thereon a solution is found. And now Sabah is UMNO fixed deposit state.

What a great Tun. He can even manipulate the sun to circle earth.
written by nesen, April 13, 2008 12:22:48
Dear dissappointed malaysian

As a west malaysian senior citizen regular visitor and with numerous newly 'acquired' sabahan relatives by way of a nephew's marriage to a sabahan
I can only say truly a case of Paradise Lost...
written by LACOBRA, April 13, 2008 12:27:25
That is why UMNO misuses Islam as the way of defining Muslims as Malays. No one questions this poor logic as it is deemed too sensitive to raise this issue even as I write.

If Muslims are Malays then this would include all countries that embrace the faith to be defined as Malays instead of Muslim. However in reality of the privileges accorded it seems different thereafter as the Mamaks & other immediate converts do not receive the preferential treatment, it is only their kids who are privileged.
written by blacknight220, April 13, 2008 12:31:18
UMNO. I hate and dispise this damn word to my bone. Pls go to hell and rot and hell UMNO. Pergi jahanam!!!
written by padhma, April 13, 2008 12:35:13
1994 was the year Sabahans sold themselves out. It was really disgusting the way things went on in Sabah after the 1994 elections. It was the greed of the politicians that sold the souls of the Sabahans. Sabahans should wake up and realise that they are a partner in the Federation of Malaysia. Sabah is not a state like the states in Peninsular Malaysia. Sabah has the same rights as Peninsular Malaysia in the Malaysian Federation. Why are the Sabah leaders not doing anything about it. It is time for a true Sabahan leader to emerge and set things straight. Why do Sabahans need a Peninsular party to run Sabah. Doesn't Sabah have and capable leader in its land? Wake up Sabahans. Its about time that people in Sabah are educated in such matters. Get back your status that you have sold to the Peninsular. I am not a Sabahan but I myself don't like what is happening in Sabah.
written by cwy, April 13, 2008 12:36:43
Those 'UMNO-dogs' Parties ( including those of East Malaysia ) are
indulged in treating UMNO people as bosses. So the UMNO Malays will naturally behave as bosses!
'Ketuanan Melayu' is anti-constitutional! Those non-Malays in BN just stupid. Most of them are already swept away by recent Tsunami.
PR is th redeemer of the people in Malaysia! Our future should be bright if BN crumples.
written by hitam had, April 13, 2008 12:48:44
UMNO are neo-Nazis?? Sure or not.

Next people will be saying that even our currency, short form written as RM is also derived from Germany during Herr Hitler's time which is also denoted as RM.

Pax
written by chanatak, April 13, 2008 12:49:27
Padma, you are right. The Sabahan did sell themselves out. They continue to do so. But we can't blame them. The Sabahan politicians then were also so corrupt that the state never saw any development, while individuals become famous for their fabulous wealth. So when UMNO offered development, they jumped at it. and UMNO being the insidious wickedness that it is brought this segregation culture into Sabah.

But that doesn't mean they won't awaken. Let the PR state governments show them what can be done. Let the local politicians also start waking up.
written by asianguy, April 13, 2008 12:49:46
Why is a concept such as "Ketuanan Melayu" even acceptable in Malaysia when a similar concept in the West, such as White Supremacy, is utterly rejected by any right-thinking person because of its blatant racist connotations?
written by glock17, April 13, 2008 12:52:18
Dear Sabahan...

Amnoputras regimes are the most dirtiest regimes that thrive in rakyat suffering,weakness and disunity. I kid you guys not, if their Ketuanan agenda is spread to Sabah/Sarawak (which is progressing as I am typing), you guys are guys will be the worst lot of classs ..and I mean 4t or 5th class race...lower than the Indians, Chinese, Banglas, Pakis or Indons.

Amnoputras = Racist-corruptive-chavisnistic-egoistic-blind ethno religious nationalist. This are formulas for a country governing judicial system going into the sewers. It only promised you people misery, frustrations,inequality,discrimination,extreme prejudice,oppresssions,totalitarian,poverty,lies,crimes ,explotations, sufferings, etc.

God save us all.

Glock17
written by wangchung, April 13, 2008 13:14:06
Enough of this Ketuanan Melayu thing. The prince must have seen too much old movies. KM is only an import to East Malaysia and if he keep acting like a Nazi cloon then Sabah and Sarawak might as well leave Malaysia. After all Sabahan and Sarawakian never really belong to any Ketuanan Melayu or whatever. Let's see how your belly feel without the wealth of this two states.
written by alienz, April 13, 2008 13:16:26
Well said my fellow Sabahan...

For the malay hypocrites in Peninsular Malaysia who endorses Ketuanan Melayu, there were NO melayus in Sabah before you guys come out with the Malay Definition... that's right...

"Malay is clearly defined in the constitution as a person who habitually speaks Malay, practices Malay customs and professes Islam"

So you see... you are NOT a race after all... you are just a DEFINITION... nothing to be proud of...

The so-called melayu like the ol' goat Mamak love to sow seeds of hatred to the new generation of Malaysians that the Europeans came to Malaya and beyond for the 3 G's namely Gold Glory and Gospel... but this I say to Mamak's face...you hypocrites from malaya came to Sabah for the 3 K's that is Kekayaan Kuas dan Koran... so, what's the bloody difference?

If that Keris-shit-face-Din wants to wield his little dagger and threaten the non-malays during their annual assembly again... I would like to remind him and the rest of his stoopid followers that their daggers are no match for our bakakuks!!
written by cruzeiro, April 13, 2008 13:40:27
Soon, UMNO began taking most seats in the states. Finally, it was decided that the rotation system would end, ....

====================

It is very sad that the allies of UMNO don't seem to understand the "modus oprandi" of these pirates.
They are parasites.
They woo their allies bearing gifts, stirring up ideas of greed and sekfishness.
They then slowly emasculate the allies by introducing its divisive policies that stir up hatred and suspicion.
And all this is done while they keep the neutered party smiling in public for posterity.
UMNO's strength is actually its ability to bribe, drug, and neutralise its "enemies" while making them think that they are allies. Once the allies are victims of the "seven deadly sins" promoted by UMNO, everything is fair game - and they all become party to the game of deception.

Take a good look at BN - study its history/ideology, and you'll see what I mean.

Sabah/ Sarawak is a testament to UMNO's ability to fracture a people with a common heritage.

Funny how these moronic politicians who are supposed to be enemies of racists, fall for the same trick all the time and become racists themselves.
written by orangutan, April 13, 2008 14:02:04
Keep Ketuanan Melayu out of Malaysia !!!!
written by Iliyas, April 13, 2008 14:24:37
Kudos to Sabahans,but there again,where were Sabahan votes for changes during the 12GE?For generations,Sabahans has had the perception for speaking aloud after damage has already been done.We have become prostitutes to the highest bidder,but complain only after we discover that we were rape and short paid.An intelligent prostitute would have negotiated all terms and collected her fees before spreading her legs.Penang,Perak,Selangor,Kedah and Kelantan showed UMNO and BN the exit door and said enough is enough.What didn't Sabahans do this?

UMNO came to Sabah,because Sabahans allowed them,where was the patriotism then?Have we been so blind to realize that we the people are the the ones that decide our destiny?Why talk about national integration,freedom of religion and fairness to all races if one does not practice what it preaches?Has Sabahans finally woken up to realize this?For the sake of the present and future generations,we can only assume that this is happening.

Let us not forget,that the light at the end of the tunnel is getting brighter by the day.Should a new Federal Government emerge within the next month or so,Sabah will be an Opposition State.While the new Government will be an effective and dynamic Government,the people of Sabah will have to live as an opposition state until the next general election.
written by Commonsenses, April 13, 2008 14:40:09
Too late dissatisfied malaysian, when Pairin took over Sabah, he did not dicommunalised the people of Sabah, instead, he went hunting and the spoils of the party was not shared with the general population of sabah. To expect a new sabah, you must have a non UMNO leader controlling the state government.
written by zanie, April 13, 2008 14:40:52
The day UMNO entered Sabah, you are doomed but the day Pakatan rakyat rules, god willing, we'll fix the damage done.I'm positive of it. smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Tompios, April 13, 2008 14:46:27
Some people in this site still asking where I am come from? I already been here in MT almost 2 years and shouting like crazy on behalf of Sabahan of how ridiculous many Sabahan want to identify theirselves as Malay.

What is good things being called as Malay? Once someone convert to Islam it seems that it is an obligation to them to change their ethnic or tribal group as Malay. Look here! God create human being in colourful. You should one group ethnic want to change their identity for other people race? Sabahan2!! Do not be a stupido man!

I met one person from Sandakan about three years ago, during my vacation in Sabah. We talk for a while and I notice that his slang is Philippinos. And, I ask what is his race? Then, he said--"well, I am Malay"!! What? It just like a thunder crossing my head! A Malay man? Slang Philippinos "ulal nah bah" but claim as a Malay man!! Forget it! Being a Malay in Sabah more on protection (particulary for illegal people who get project ICs) and Islam.

Sabah2! UMNO penjajah.
written by Tompios, April 13, 2008 14:50:17
Why should one ethnic group need want to change their identity for other people race?
written by CVL, April 13, 2008 14:54:08
Heres a small challenge - a blog Revival Sabah or to that effect. Or start a Sunday Sabah article in the Forum Section of the Daily Express.

Can't even start a blog or a Sunday article? You really have no telur...you deserve to let Sabah idle on as she does now.

Malaysia owes you Sabahan no favor....just look at your favorite UMNO...they have steel for nerves... thats why they can rob you naked broad daylight in front of your nenk moyang. No telur lah...

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 13, 2008 15:01:06
Sabah and Sarawak should pull out of the federation before it is too late.
written by zanie, April 13, 2008 15:21:22
If Sabah pulls out, the oil will become hers per se. If that's the case, am I too much to ask terengganu to get out of malaysia too? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by carlitos, April 13, 2008 15:25:02
Sabah, Sarawak and Terengganu should get out of Malaysia. Why share oil revenues when Sabah and Terengganu is the poorest 2 in the country and Sarawak will soon too as soon as UMNO entered there.
written by LabRat, April 13, 2008 15:44:28
I hate it so much when people from West Malaysia (who may never even set foot in Sabah) branded all Sabahans as so stupid to sell out to BN. How many times do we need to keep on reminding that the majority of the votes garnered by BN during the recent and all previous elections were from immigrants who were given citizenship through what the writer above termed as "Project IC" aka "Project M (no prize for guessing what "M" stands for)". These "Malaysianised" immigrants may number in the millions.

And you CVL, what do you mean by "Malaysia owes you Sabahan no favor". You are talking as if Sabah is not part of Malaysia (which I wish is true). I strongly remind you that without Sabah (and Sarawak together with Singapore), there will not even be a Malaysia. You will instead be living in Malay land of Persekutuan Tanah Melayu. Go figure.....
written by Agahdemo, April 13, 2008 15:50:00
UMNO is liken to cancer. If you don't remove it totally, when it spreads, it will kill you.
UMNO's agenda is to dominate the rest. There is no equality in UMNO. They are power craze. They will do whatever necessary including changing history book just to stay dominant. The most obvious of which is to increase their population by whatever means to stay majority... They somehow think others are stupid and do not see what they are doing in secret......I began to see it coming to Sabah in particular in the last 15 years....
Don't trust UMNO.... like I say... they are cancerous....
Sabahan, your future is in your hand...... smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by tbsbidayuh, April 13, 2008 15:50:48
First, they (UMNO) killed Donald Stephen at Sembulan because he is not Malay. There came poor Salleh, a Bajau or Suluk I do not know but he is“Malay”. They (UMNO) bought Pairin from PBS for RM .020 and the Sabahan dignity was bought and not demolished as they did to Donald Stephen.

Last two years, I made a secret trip to Nabawan, the Korup Illegal Logging sanctuary. Sad to see the river was polluted and no deer to hunt because of the bulldozers and chain saws voices. That is Musa Aman artwork to the Murut Timogun in Nabawan. The ACA had gone to Keningau but Mutbishi Corporation still receives the illegal timber from Sabah. Put the Blame 20-point memorandum agreed by Datu Harun.

Sabah is better than Sarawak. You see how long Taib (half-breed Malay) choked the Sarawakian.

more at http://tbsbidayuh.********.com
written by aryn, April 13, 2008 15:59:39
All the more reason why Sabah must kick out Umno.
Eversince Umno stepped into Sabah, the party and its leaders especially under Tun Mahathir, turned the state into a racist community, always forcing us Sabahans to accept the 'ketuanan Melayu' and 'ketuanan semenanjung'.

We have many semenanjung malaysians who live in Sabah before Umno set foot and these people were happy to interact with us because of our hospitality and the fact that we Sabahans were once a TRULY BANGSA MALAYSIA until Umno destroyed that with its 'ketuanan melayu'.

Get the hell out of Sabah, Umno. We don't want you racist people!!!
written by mgeo, April 13, 2008 16:02:37
This is the only land where you can change your race.

Our salvation depends on Malay awakening. They need to consider why their farmers, fishermen and taxi drivers are still eking a living after half a century of self-rule (unlike the farmers od EU, fishermen of Japan and foreighner taxi-drivers of USA), while the rest scrabble daily to pay their hire-purchase loans.
written by dexter, April 13, 2008 16:05:04
The recent general election is the awakening of the rakyat in Peninsular Malaysia!

It is NOW time for Sabah and Sarawak to awaken to the realities of UMNO BN so called "power sharing" style politics where they remain dominant and other remains subservient.

The power in Sabah and Sarawak lies in their resources and their divesity of cultures! Elect officials which would safeguard your treasures instead of imposing "Ketuanan", sowing fear and discord in the guise of promoting unity.

written by wag the dog, April 13, 2008 16:23:16
Secularism is not our enemy: A Muslim’s open letter

Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by RitchieLow, April 13, 2008 16:41:55
Read Ethnocide Malaysian Style: Turning Aborigines into Malays
by Kirk Endicott and Robert Knox Dentan http://www.magickriver.net/ethnocide.htm

This is TDM's affirmative action with a political twiest as practiced all these years
written by Kathy, April 13, 2008 16:54:41
Interesting issue which should be given in-depth study by both Sarawakians and Sabahans, as we are in the same boat. I knew a Chinese opportunist who converted to Islam and claimed to be a bumiputra!! How's that!
written by orangutan, April 13, 2008 17:33:18
hi all,
thanks for all the encouragements,insults and advice to us (suffering?)Sabahans.
Sabah is no different from Terengganu,Johore and the other states under BN
rule.
written by Youngrakyat, April 13, 2008 17:33:52
Dear PBS, UPKO, PBRS, SAPP, LDP. Leave your party ASAP and join any of Pakatan Rakyat party en masse.
If Ketuanan Melayu practise in Sabah has become irreversible, these parties should be held responsible.
They(BN component in sabah) know that UMNO will never listen to them and yet they still support UMNO. Maybe they wanted to beat MCA as the best dog in the country.
It is for the good of Sabahan to have UMNO out of Sabah.They can always call up Dr. Jeffrey Kitingan if they want to join Parti Keadilan RAkyat in Sabah and we will ensure that all sabahan will get their identity and dignity and not a mere ' Lain-lain' bangsa.
written by RitchieLow, April 13, 2008 18:10:06
"Ketuanan Melayu" is what psychologists call inferiority complex
written by nescafe tarik, April 13, 2008 18:35:39
youngrakyat, we have to keep these people, the froggie, out from pakatan rakyat.

Sabah need young and dynamic leaders. I personally do not like these leaders who destroy the image of Sabah, the hardwork of Tun Fuad Stephen, etc.

I have enough of them!
written by magen, April 13, 2008 19:09:47
You damb fool Voted for this F---ers So face it stupid Face it, you leave no options for you Sabaans and Sarawakians, Go tell the UMNO ball licking leaders of yours. Its to late
written by Victory or Death, April 13, 2008 20:36:13
Dear RPK and bloggers,(especially RPK)

I believe I read somewhere in one of the articles in Malaysia Today sometime ago, that the constitutional definition of a Malay is that he speaks the Malay language ,practices the customs and culture of the Malays habitually and is a muslim.

However,it was stated in the article, that is one more requirement under our Constitution for a person to be defined as a Malay ie he/she must be domiciled in Malaya/Sabah and Sarawak before independance day ie 31st August 1957 or are descendants of such persons.

If this is true ,all those muslims from Phillippines, Indonesia, Pakistan, India, Arab, etc countries who have obtained citizenship after merdeka day are not and cannot be defined as Malays.

Even if their ancestors were muslims and domiciled in Malaysia before Merdeka
day,the descendants cannot be considered as Malays unless their ancestors habitually speak the Malay language as well as practise the Malay customs and culture.

Raja Petra, is my recollection correct?

Is this true, Raja Petra?
written by Tompios, April 13, 2008 21:00:40
written by CVL, April 13, 2008 | 14:54:08

Heres a small challenge - a blog Revival Sabah or to that effect. Or start a Sunday Sabah article in the Forum Section of the Daily Express.

Can't even start a blog or a Sunday article? You really have no telur...you deserve to let Sabah idle on as she does now.

Malaysia owes you Sabahan no favor....just look at your favorite UMNO...they have steel for nerves... thats why they can rob you naked broad daylight in front of your nenk moyang. No telur lah...

CVL,

You do not know what you are talking about. Are you using your brain to think or using our arse to think? Yes, we have no 'telors' like you have! You have much smallest than any monkey in Borneo. Do you think all genuine Sabahan willing to sell their souls for Malaya? UMNO is just like European who destroying peaceful people in America. Sabahan is a peaceful people and please beware "air yang tenang jangan disangka tiada pirahna or buaya"!

Fasis Islamic destroying Sabahan.
written by Sabahfan, April 13, 2008 22:41:35
First of all, I agree and support the main points from this letter writer, being a Sabahan native myself.
There is no racial TUAN in Sabah until USNO and then BN came into power.
Racial harmony is still prominent in Sabah as compared to Semenanjung. Even west malaysians who come to work in Sabah can immediately be seen to share lunch with all of his colleagues no matter what race. Ask any ordinary rank officer who were posted to Sabah. Only a few higher ranking Malays from semenanjung are despised when they start introducing Kelantanese rules such as
"Lelaki duduk sebelah kiri, perempuan duduk sebelah kanan" and that sorts of crap.
However, since the formation of Malaysia, non moslem CM have always been under siege, starting with Donald Stephens who had to convert to Islam to survive in politics.

Remember when the first Christian was elected CM in the form of Pairin? They locked the Istana gate to prevent him from swearing and instead these so-called ketuanan usurp power by swearing in Mustapha even though they were losers.

And worst still, Pairin and his PBS leaders failed to understand the situation when they took power by being too arrogant, when they failed to share power in order to face reality that UMNO leaders simply dont want non-moslems to be in power. So they planned to oust PBS using the project IC in order to increase ketuanan votes.
PBS shares the blame for bringing ketuanan melayu to Sabah by pulling out from BN at the eleventh hour prompting Mahathir to take revenge by promoting more projek IC.
Illegal philipino voting in Sabah is already a proven fact with the Judge Kamil decision in KK High court, yet UMNO is trying to sweep this fact under the carpet.

Now to the rest of the forummers here who blamed Sabahans for not voting out BN in the PR12, dont just talk without seeing the reality.
The wind of change was in Sabah, I can feel it strongly during the last election but Sadly it was not enough. smilies/angry.gif

Here are the reasons for Pakatans poor showing in Sabah.

1, UMNOs addition votes from the Project IC.. lots of proofs but who gonna take action?

2. Postal votes from the uniformed units who had no choice but to vote BN

3.` PKR candidates not seen campaigning very much unlike those of Jeff Oii, Loh Guo Burn and all the rest ....
The sabahan opposition candidates were all hoping that the belief "even a dog who stand against BN can win" does not work when Musa AMAN has plenty of money to cheat in election. This is also proven with Joseph Kurup declared winner "unopposed". Lets hope the election petition will shed more light on this.

4. Lack of coorperation between the pakatan candidates...for example, for Putatan state seat, MCA Khoo "tiau" Hai only won because DAPs Jimabangan also faced PKR Chau chin Tang, and ex PBS YB who onces jumped to BN.
Meaning Ex frogs also were candidates for opposition which is not liked very much by original sabahan voters.
Still the combined votes obtained by PKR and DAP candidate would have easily ousted the BN guys.

5. Also, some Sabahan still voted for BN because voting the opposition candidates does not guarantee that guy will not frog into BN if BN won by a simple majority, as history has proven.

So unless something really drastic is taken, the corrupted UMNO leadership will continue in Sabah.

The only hope is for Sabahan in the correct positions to remain vigilant and expose all the dirty tactics of BN in forums like MT and other internet resources.

Starting with the election petitions...

written by bugisman, April 14, 2008 00:53:17
i for one, always have this question in my mind...why did sabah & sarawak join Malaya in the first place? it beats me till now.

these 2 states full of natural resources and should be able to sustain on its own. perhaps during that era, there were no capable heads...but it only seems like it got worse after joining malaya. i strong agree that should sabah & sarawak fight for its independence...if they think they need to.

and i also wonder why do the CM for sabah & sarawak are muslim? when these 2 states are christian majority? and im sure, it's also umno's plot to "sanitize" the states. and i think, the CM for sabah & sarawak behave more malay than they should as a native.

let me say it once more, muslim is a religion and it's not a race.
a malay is a muslim; a muslim is not a malay.
so if you're muslim doesn't mean you're a malay.
this applies to all the mamaks and chinese converts who married a muslim/malay wifes. your children should be known as chinese or indian not malay or bumi.

there are 5 major races in this country not just malay & non-malays. get it into your head!

so pls. so stop robbing the wealth of non-muslims in your convenience.
written by mimi76, April 14, 2008 03:39:43
Can someone tell me what kind country we live in? Just because the Malaysian citizen exercise their right and voted against UMNO and Barisan Nasional, here's UMNO trying to hide behind NGO's while making racist remarks. This kind of gathering is threat to the national security. I am a malay but I sincerely feel that this type of gatherings is not the answer if UMNO wants to win back the people's trust. These NGO's must understand that we live in a multi racial country, thus we should respect the sensitivity of other races too. We should not practice double standard when enforcing the law. If Lim Guan Eng is investigated for making seditious comments regarding the NEP policy, I fail to understand why the organizers of this gathering is not investigated under the same offence. I guess we do practice double standard.
written by Malaysiaputra, April 14, 2008 08:48:23
In Malaysia, the slogan of Ketuanan Melayu does not fit well, It is only Peninsular Malaysia that is Tanah Melayu from the early days but not Sabah and Sarawak.

To push the Ketuanan Melayu in Malaysia which is made up of Tanah Melayu, Sabah and Sarawak is not right.

Sabah and Sarawak could have , if given independance separately by the British then, be a separate country like Brunei.

To push the concept of Ketuanan Melayu in Malaysia would mean that the Malays are colonising Sabah and Sarawak.

We have to remember that Sabah and Sarawak joined Malaya to form Malaysia. Sabah and Sarawak is not similar in status to any of the states in Malaya then. Togather with Singapore they join as equal partners to form Malaysia didn't they.

So the Malays should wake up and realise that all Malaysians are equal in Malaysia .
written by Ken Liew, April 14, 2008 08:52:42
Well, the west side are IT-ed mind. Meaning, internet is already running wild.

Only East side, where technology are not so advance, and there only Umnos can sneak in and TIPU those unupdate informationed west side.
written by Ken Liew, April 14, 2008 09:11:29
And you can see the pollution wave of UMNO. As Sabah and Sarawak are once a peacefull place. But when UMNO put their dirty hands there..... look what happen.

Another fact that UMNOs are good for nothing, and bad in everything.
written by bukitkuda, April 14, 2008 10:21:17
FOR SABAHAN TOO LATE....NASI SUDAH JADI BUBUH....UMNO RACIST WILL RUBBER STAMP EVERYTHING VALUABLE AS KETUANAN MELAYU.....THERE IS STILL HOPE FOR SARAWAKIAN...
written by bukitkuda, April 14, 2008 10:26:21
CORRECTION: BUBUR NOT BUBUH
written by JJ Kuyong, April 14, 2008 10:46:00
TO ALL SABAHAN,

I agreed and fully supported what has been written by Disatisfied Malaysian. Why this UMNO ideology be spread to SABAH.....Not enough with the ISLAM HADHARI of trying to punish non-muslim for juz having an affair with a muslim NOW they wanted all to subscribe an enforced upon the KETUANAN MELAYU. I call on all SABAHAN to wake up, send UMNO packing from Sabah, they are not deserved to be in Sabah. My Advise to those Sabahan who are clinging to be associated with UMNO please leave Sabah and move to Semananjung Malaysia.

written by Raja Gasper, April 14, 2008 13:13:42
Umno and the "Ketuanan Melayu" days are numbered and the empire will fall soon.
written by CVL, April 14, 2008 13:41:58
UMNO so nauseates many Sabahan, but Malaysia does not owe Sabah any favors. Why should UMNO not plunder Sabah as much as it likes, as it does in many other states, when Sabahan themselves extend their large helping hands, much seen as an act of spineless-ness and ball-ess-ness.

I am repeating it - No telur lah.

Many Sabahan consider three main issues as scourge in Sabah:
. Project M / Project IC
. Filipinos / Indon illegals
. UMNO, of course

Sure, many Sabahan say they are fed up with all these, and that their political leaders intervention brought exactly nothing. Stonewalled. But, what else Sabahan do about the impasse?

Well, this letter and defensive Sabahan readers’ comments are all about what they do, as they do in their coffee shops, billiard saloons talks – talks only but no action. Rightfully - no telur. But some will insist the other way round.

Weeell,if you have telur – why Sabahan can do at least a few things:
. peaceful mass memorandum submission and petition, term it mass rally if you like, just make it peaceful;
. Likas sport stadium is a fit place to hold and indoor rally in case traffic police disallow you permit on grounds of public disorder such as causing traffic jams etc;
. mass reception at the airport to welcome and submit peaceful notes to incoming UMNO officials; choose the UMNO President and his many deputies and vices;
. do a Mt Kinabalu climb and spread the news at the summit, if nothing else.

And there are many other peaceful actions that befit the meaning of Ada Telur.

Done these yet?

Until such time, - no telur lah.
written by TRUCOLYN, April 14, 2008 14:20:15
Anything, be it religion, politics or economy that does not aligned itself with the mind of god (compassion,freewill,unity,equality) will soon or later have to go.

Namaste.
written by TRUCOLYN, April 14, 2008 14:21:46
correction smilies/grin.gif aligned=align
written by Tompios, April 14, 2008 14:40:08
written by Sabahfan, April 13, 2008 | 22:41:35

First of all, I agree and support the main points from this letter writer, being a Sabahan native myself.
There is no racial TUAN in Sabah until USNO and then BN came into power.

Dear Sabahfan,

I'm not going to go against Islam leaders as general. But, due to the fact most Moslem leaders past and present Chief Minister of Sabah selling their soul to Malaya and taking advantage from their position to gain wealth as much as they can. I have no respect to any Moslem leaders in Sabah. No respect at all! TYT of Sabah is nothing that benefiting the entire Sabahan. I am sick to remember Mustapa (the Moro middle man), Haris (Selling all things in Sabah and force people to convert Islam), Sakaran (Wasting time), (Ghapur (nothing) Osu (Gambler), Musa Aman (the great coruptor and womenizer). Hmm! but most of them have something in common. Wealth seekers!

I think KDM community more capable to run this country then any Pakistanist, Phillipinos, Indonesian descendants breeds. Now, KDM communities are very colourful. You can find Moslem, Christian, Freethinker, many more among KDM.

Give back to Sabah what belong to Sabahan.

Patriotic Sabahan.
written by Tompios, April 14, 2008 22:05:31
Now, it’s time for some Malaya states feel what we felt long time ago as Opposition State (Sabah). Government will not let you Opposition to touch money from Government pocket bank. You will suffered and ‘putih mata’ to see only BN people and her territory will wetted by Taxpayers money.

Malaysia is just like most African Countries who are very racist with bloody hands. What is the root of this problem? It is not 100% about religion issues and also it is not about extremist but because of racism among Malaya people as whole. Mostly federal people are Malayanists. Malayanists are very racist compare to Sabahan. That is why, the Malayanist especially UMNO people spreading the racist sporadic to Sabah and Sarawak to get majority vote for UMNO racist doctrine and able to rule this country with UMNO agendas.

Now, this UMNO playing many issues card such Islamic state, Pigs, Developments issues to get sympathy from short sighted taxpayers over the nation. I do not agree with UMNO agenda since it is only benefiting one race (UMNO-Malay) as 1st class and 2nd class for other races, 4th class for any aborigines and 7th class for Bumis in Sabah.

Someday, Sabah will stand up for her rights! Just wait and see. The new generation will come up! Just wait and see. We have some dedicated persons who are willing to stand-up for Sabah after graduate from oversea school. We are ready to mark the new history of Sabah. Wait and see. Dying for Sabah is our main target. Malaysia will never exist without Malaya x Sarawak x Sabah x Singapore = Malaysia. Mathematically, Malaysia is no longer exist since Malaya (1) x Sarawak (1) x Sabah ((1) x (0) Singapore = 0 (Zero) NIL. Malaysia government please loves Sabah as your partner. The only one who can prevent Sabah out from Malaysia is PKR groups. We are preparing for the worst things happen to us and Sabahan if possible.