No More Tender Through Direct Negotiation, Says Abdul Khalid PDF Print
Saturday, 12 April 2008 18:31

(Bernama) SHAH ALAM, April 12 -- The state government will no longer award tender to Bumiputera companies through direct negotiation to avoid the tender being monopolised by certain group.

Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said the move was necessary as 98 per cent of the state government-funded projects in the previous administration were awarded to certain group.

"I've analysed all and found that certain projects were given to certain group.

"Even though the name of the companies are different but the shareholders are the same," he told reporters after opening the 22nd annual general meeting the Gabungan Ikhtisas dan Usahawan Bumiputera Anak Selangor here Saturday.

The government would however continue to give assistance to Bumiputera contractors in obtaining projects but it would be based on their ability and experience, he said.

Abdul Khalid said the list of contractors awarded with state projects would be announced but the process might take time.

He assured contractors awarded with government projects through direct negotiation that they would not be blacklisted except in cases when they failed to carry out the projects according to schedule.

"We will study and evaluate the projects given to the contractors involved," he said.

Earlier in his speech Abdul Khalid said he would not use what was known as the "magic pen" of the menteri besar to sign and approve projects.

As such, he said, there was no need for contractors to come to his office for the magic pen.

"I've thrown away the magic pen," he said.

He said all decisions would have to be agreed upon by the state executive council members and the officers involved.

"Previously, the menteri besar need only write `agree' and the officers would abide by the decision..

"I want to change that attitude; I don't want the menteri besar to be the sole decision maker... the executive council members and the officers should also be involved in the process," he said.
Comments (21)Add Comment
written by babakl, April 12, 2008 18:37:58
Wah, this is what we call good govenence. umno style is giveing same people but only different clothing. That is what the people r very angry about. Good MR.MB. DO IT AND SHOW TO umno what good it will bring to all when no corruptionis involved.
written by harryo, April 12, 2008 18:53:19
Mr MB, make sure there is transparency in the process of considering, awarding, monitoring and reporting contracts and also the accountability aspects in place. Open tenders without any exemptions are way forward and finally ensure that proper information is fed to your board for rational decision making. This will make you the best State.
written by StevenO, April 12, 2008 19:15:30
This is music to our ears. Thanks you Pakatan Rakyat!
written by backs, April 12, 2008 19:26:44
a toyol's magic pen....is poison to the rakyat!
written by Rozlan, April 12, 2008 19:31:26
No wonder some UMNO ADUNs can built palace..
written by uncleleow, April 12, 2008 19:35:10
Previous contractors that won tender through direct nego need to come clean, they need to list and clarify how much kickback is given to who and how it was given. We the Rakyat need to know. If they can come clean, then they will not be blacklisted. Or else no more dealing.

State gomen should put up huge sign board to discourge "BODEK RUNNER" inthe state office. Thses ae agent of corruption.
written by JaguhKampung, April 12, 2008 20:36:17
Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said the move was necessary as 98 per cent of the state government-funded projects in the previous administration were awarded to certain group.

It proved the rakyat was right. It's UMNOputra and not Bumiputra rights all this while. I hope the Malays wake up and not to be fooled by BN again. Give Pakatan a chance to prove their worth.

written by omarkhayyam, April 12, 2008 20:42:24
when will see that happen at Federal Level, especially with the billions of petro-dollar in the form of "wang ehsan"

never with the present regime ..... i guess

written by donplay, April 12, 2008 20:57:12
Let it come out in the open. Who is this '98%' Group? Toyota? The Water Monopolizer, Roz or Ju Ju who is HRH biz partner?

Why hide it? Open government means the crooks should be exposed so we know whose company to avoid and not do biz with. The 98% Group should be charged in court, its directors and shareholders put away behind bars and made to return every cent it has embezzled from the state and people.

Come on new MB, don't sweep anything under the carpet. The Rakyat have a right to know the truth!!
written by Clive, April 12, 2008 21:08:37
One thing that I wanted to see was "Open Tender". Do the tender is being offer to public regardless of bumi or not, or 30% reserved for bumi, 70% open tennder, or only Bumiputera shj in the tender? In the statement I hardly see those statement. Do I miss out? smilies/sad.gif
written by Msian 2, April 12, 2008 21:29:01
Hey Khalid, a big thank you for "DARE TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE". You are on the right track for both the state & people's welfare. Keep it up & set good examples for the rest of the country rakyat to see.
written by rpkfan, April 12, 2008 21:49:04
Salute Khalid, this will hence eliminate all those evils of the BN gang. Too long they live in heaven and made fool of the nation.

Please exercise the open tender system and to get the most economical and effective way for all projects, direct nego is a biased system which will invite unfair policy.

Like the Penang 2nd bridge which is direct nego project of 4.3b, may be halfway of construction the price will go up to 5b or 6b of endless problems. Is Malaysia only has UEM, Peremba, Equine, Ranhill, Ahmad Zaki? What the joke of the century and shame on BN.

Long Live PR, Steve
written by messrs_stieh, April 12, 2008 22:22:34
Bravo, my dear MB for Selangor. It's a great day indeed. Fantastic, just fantastic! Keep up the good work! By the way, make sure that this is just not talk only. If not, some BN people might want to take advantage of that.
written by kent chong, April 12, 2008 23:14:43
YB Khalid... you done a very good jobs for past few week, pls take some rest and relax yourself.. dont overwork as we Rakyat need your leadership in Selangor
written by temenggong, April 12, 2008 23:15:29
One thing that I wanted to see was "Open Tender". Do the tender is being offer to public regardless of bumi or not, or 30% reserved for bumi, 70% open tender, or only Bumiputera shj in the tender?

The first part of open tenders has been achieved.

On the second part I suggest that all F Class bumi contractors, about 150,000 of them nationwide, be revoked! About 2,500 or so of them with genuine businesses can be upgraded to D Class contractors. (The rest 147,000 are umno cronies with no actual businesses but just a paper license and no place of businesses.)

This will clear the field and leave only the serious businessesmen behind - all of whom can participate in the open tenders.
written by mikewang, April 12, 2008 23:41:24
Congratulations Negeri Selangor !
written by nk1881, April 13, 2008 00:14:27
"Even though the name of the companies are different but the shareholders are the same," he told reporters"
_______________________________________________________ _
Who are these shareholders? Are they related to the person with the power to award? Pls expose them. Thank you.
written by ahmadbadrul40, April 13, 2008 04:55:31
Abdul Khalid, please don't throw away the magic pen. Please use the magic pen and stuff it up Toyo's ass.
written by rockli, April 13, 2008 09:19:28
Let's hope this is ALWAYS the case period.
written by ekt tan, April 13, 2008 10:40:22
Khalid, this is music to the ears. You must now have mechanisms in place to ensure that those who make the award decisions are not corruptable and severe actions must be taken against them if they are involved. Names of succesful tenders must be published and make known to the Rakyat.
written by temanmu, April 13, 2008 16:11:34
"Magic Pen" ... can make state land disappear, RM2 companies taking on mega projects, and money appear in bank accounts.

It is like the RING in "Lord of the Rings".

Better thwow it into the fire before it destroys everyone!

RPK is the smart wizard!