Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Why the Rakyat has no choice but to change the Federal Government now!

Why the Rakyat has no choice but to change the Federal Government now! PDF Print
Saturday, 12 April 2008 18:11

Under normal circumstances, it is immoral and unacceptable for the rakyat to accept party- hopping. But the turn of events lately shows that the present Umno leadership has not changed. They have just temporarily suspended their hegemony due to their internal problems.

Post-March 8 events such as the proposed Syariah court extension of khalwat punishments for non-Muslims, immigration ban on Indian temple priests and craftsmen, the refusal of release of 5 innocent ISA Hindraf detainees, Azalina’s withdrawal of tourism MOUs and state tourism funding are some of the examples that Umno has no intention of changing of their old ways.

Based on these recent developments and for the greater good of the rakyat, we should accept genuine party-hopping from BN to PR for the following reasons:

1. Recent events have shown that the federal BN government intends to frustrate the efforts of the new state government in the five states through all means – bias reporting in all the mainstream media, diversion of federal funds, baseless fault-finding, accusation of sedition on open tenders, etc. The opposition-led states cannot function freely and realise their full potential if the federal government is bent on frustrating their efforts.

If the federal government is not changed now, there isn’t going to be much progress in the next five years. The rakyat is going to be in a stalemate until the next election.

2. We have seen attempts of withholding state funding starting with tourism projects. We can be very certain that this will extend to other divisions and other projects. The example in Terengganu has clearly shown that the BN government cannot be trusted with the rakyat’s monies. The wang ehsan in Terengganu was virtually swiped away by a few Umno cronies.

Even more billions of ringgit will be involved this time. What is there to stop the wang ehsan of the five states from being squandered away by the BN cronies especially when some have come to realise this time it may be their last opportunities?

3. Disbursing federal funds to a parallel body only result in unnecessary duplication of efforts and monies as shown previously in Sabah, Sarawak and Kelantan. You can see for yourself how so much monies are wasted on the salaries paid to JKKK, the BN crony village headmen, duplicate tourism agencies, etc. If these are stopped now, the savings over the next five years will amount to billions of ringgit for the rakyat.

4. There’s still time to frustrate or stop corruption-gained monies from flowing to Umno and their cronies on recent projects. We have already heard in the news of massive and major land scams in Selangor, Penang, Perak and Kedah, the Port Klang Free Zone debacle ($4.6 billion), the Putrajaya government staff quarters (RM5.8billion), PGCC project ($25 billion) and many, many more in the pipeline.

There may still be time to salvage, maybe not all, but part of the corruption-gained monies if the federal government changes hand now.

5. There are many MPs in the present BN fold that do not subscribe to the ideology of the present regime. These are the forward and independent-thinking MPs. But they are shackled by the present BN administration in all ways in presenting their thoughts and ideas in Parliament.

In principle, these MPs are more likely to flourish and be more useful to their rakyat if they were to be in PR. So what’s wrong if they were to defect to PR where they can be more effective for those people who elected them?

6. Umno has merely suspended its hegemony for the time being because of its own internal strifes. You can bet your last ringgit that when it regains its concentration, their strength will increase many fold and they will be even more powerful in thwarting the new state governments in the five states.

They will spare no efforts in rolling back the New Dawn. The small window of opportunity to strike at Umno is only now when they are in the state of shock, denial and disorganised. It’s now or never.

Party hopping is immoral. But the rakyat has no choice if it wants to save billions and get on with progress. It’s a no brainier that the federal government must be changed - not five years down the road but now.

BY LJ Wong

[LJ Wong is a chartered accountant by profession and has worked in a public listed company before he retired recently. Every now and then, he contributes his ideas and opinion for a just and free Malaysia.]

written by sitiawan, April 12, 2008 18:23:42
PR,Strike when it is hot, This is the best opportunity.

It's do or die later!!!
written by babakl, April 12, 2008 18:25:59
Yes,i agree for the good of the nation. Btw we only need quality and not position fighting rep. As for umno n bn now, they r busy inventing ways to frustrate n making PR goverment to fail to run those state well. This is what bn n umno BUSY NOW.
written by LACOBRA, April 12, 2008 18:30:06
May BN have a Sudden death and but a long everlasting life in jail.
written by cinatmanis, April 12, 2008 18:36:12
the umno kris will rise again when they settle their internal blood shed, we must act fast....
written by StevenO, April 12, 2008 19:20:52
Yes, you definitely have my vote. Situation on the ground is getting more and more desperate now, coz the federal government led by UMno is playing dirty/holding back fund and sabotage.
written by PangurBan, April 12, 2008 19:47:00
After all these years of misrule and squandering of the nation's wealth, I think the priority now is for us the electorate and the people of this country to do what we can to support efforts to reestablish the rule of law, restore the integrity of our Constitution and rebuild all the key institutions of a functioning democracy. If this means we're going to have frogs hopping about, so be it. I'd rather have frogspawn in my garden than ravenous wolves.
written by Khan, April 12, 2008 19:52:02
I have been saying this for sometime. Yes, PR Go for It!!! Stop the looting of this country and salvage whatever we have!!!
written by asguard, April 12, 2008 19:55:10
Do take all necessary steps of courting BN..parties ...to ensure that we..have enough majority to formed the next government....
written by hiro, April 12, 2008 20:00:48
Initially, I worry about party hopping as being immoral. Given the circumstances, any BN MPs worth his salt should seriously consider abandoning the hopeless BN mired in continued aggrandisation, playing with racial and religious issues to get back their lost support. It's not only dangerous for the minorities in this country, but dangerous to entire Malaysia as well. I say PR, it's time to actively encourage cross over. Now.
written by legaleagle, April 12, 2008 21:32:15
During Abdullah's recent visit last Monday to Sabah to 'listen to what Sabah wants', the 24 MP's from the 7 BN component parties in Sabah requested that Jabatan Pembangunan Persekutuan Sabah (JPPS) be abolished so as to smoothen implementation of projects. Abdullah said the matter would be discussed in the Wednesday Cabinet meeting.

We Sabahan were shocked to hear on the Wednesday evening news that JPPS would not be abolished. Why is there still a need to have a federal department in Sabah to decide which projects ahould be implemented, and which contractors shoild be awarded the contracts, if not so that UMNO from KL can continue to control the funds that are allocated to Sabah, after taxing Sabahans and taking our oil and pay us only 5% royalties?

We say go ahead PR and accept the cross-overs from BN (preferably whole components of BN; there are 5 Sabah-based BN component parties, all eager to dump this arrogant UMNO lot) and form the federal government as soon as possible. And give us the 20% royalty as promised.

Those Sabah parties, MPs, and Assemblymen, who decide to abandon UMNO will be hailed as heroes in Sabah. Even with the cheating during the 12PRU PR still got 36% of the votes then. The wind has arrived, now more than 50% are against the BN. So NOW is the time to act! Please!
written by mykantree, April 12, 2008 21:39:39
I'm changing my mind after my initial opposition to accepting BN representatives into the fold of PR.Based on the very logical and valid points raised by LJ Wong. The few incidences by BN to sabotage the PR ruled states clearly expose the true intention and recalcitrant ways of the bankrupt BN.Perhaps the party is too old and set in its way to ever change.They have not, and probably never will,learn to respect the wishes and expectations of the Malaysian citizens anyway. So PR please do consider absorbing them if they wish to hop over.Deal with any hop over renegades, if any, after you have formed the federal goverment. You have my support
written by johanssm, April 12, 2008 21:48:33
Too many injustices still going on and it is not stopping.
Abuses of power and abusing the system are still happening at a greater rate by the civil servant.
The best for the country now is a change of government.
The question of morals regarding "frogs" jumping into Pakatan Rakyat ought not to be question, if they ( the frogs ) joins in with pure conscience.PR received the most popularity votes, and therefore it is logic PR is the government.
I cant be accepting the present government which won based on number of seats.It is ridiculous and outrageous to me.
New way of doing things and system ought to be in place, but we need PR to be federal government.
Most of all wanted a change,but not willing to wait another 5 years.
I cant wait for that day to happen.
PR , please do the right thing.Just Do It !
written by ngiuchap, April 12, 2008 21:52:52
I agree with legaleagle. We have been hookwinked for too long. We don't want a PM who cannot even make a simple decision. At least if he ordered the Chief Secretary conduct a study on the abolishment of the JPPS and report back to the cabinet within 1 month or 2 months, at least there is progress. Now?
written by zanie, April 12, 2008 22:05:20
Agreed! it's now or never!! smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Daryl, April 12, 2008 22:12:41
I am not sure "khalwat" statements has any weight on it. But, on rakyat's tax money is another matter and how ministers make comments about its usage. Also, about paying people in PR states that no longer hold official states function. That to me can be use as eveidence to sue them for misappriartiation of public funds. I beleive some where this can turn into legal sues by the AG if they are seeking for recognition. This will be the best chance for the judiciary to regain respect.
written by Victory or Death, April 12, 2008 22:57:09
So far, at a glance everybody before me ,says 'aye"

Nobody has said "naye" yet.

LJ Wong's article reflect exactly what I feel inside my heart.

So I also give my 'aye"

written by cble, April 12, 2008 23:14:47
Kan saya dah bilang dulu, Lantik DSAI sebagai Senator untuk mengorak langkah. Jangan tunggu lama- lama.
written by mypanida, April 13, 2008 06:43:17
Takut dan bimbang nya Mahathir sekarang.......keringat dingin dah keluar lah.....
Kalau Umno hancur, kau pun hancur lah bersama Tun....seronok sekali kami sekalian menunggukan ajal mu.

you are like Hitler in his bunker and the PR is like the advancing Red Army.
the only thing that set you apart is that you are GUTLESS.
written by MasterYoda, April 13, 2008 10:44:30
YES fully agree.

AND... once we are in power, we must:

Arrest and hang the minister publicly,
FREEZE their funds
Banish thier families, Cronies
Trace thier monies overseas
...Make our Buku Sejarah writes the truth about them.
written by Ckchew, April 13, 2008 13:13:34
yes, it's true, the state government especially penang will be hit the hardest. they can afford to pay for the admin & salaries of the staff but there is not enough or no fund at all for the state development projects. the funding is coming thru federal gomen & do u expect this bloody goons from bn to help the state?

written by cancan, April 13, 2008 19:17:11
Why Now? Why Not Before?

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by MRDaniel LOOI, April 14, 2008 06:18:46
Pakatan Rakyat is the best choice to form the next government. This is the only choice to stop our tax payer money goes into individual pocket.

I was told that in Ipoh a BN walkil rakyat (UMNO) has apply for a piece of land used by a pomelo farmer and make 5 million out of it. The farmer has at period of time when Perak is still under BN rule,apply for a least hold, but it was rejected it. The BN walkil rakyat is seen flying around Ipoh town with his small aircraft.

Please PR publish all the name of the walkil rakyat who has apply land in Perak.

You see that is why people reject BN government.