Khairy gets support from an unlikely source PDF Print
Saturday, 12 April 2008 14:45

Anwar says PM's son-in-law being made a scapegoat for Umno's poor poll showing

(The Malaysian Insider) KUALA LUMPUR, April 12 — Khairy Jamaludin has received support from an unlikely source — Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

The beleaguered son-in-law of the Prime Minister has attracted blame for Umno’s poor performance in the recent general election and has reached a level of toxicity in party circles that he was not considered for a position in the government and looks set to play a peripheral role in the party polls in December.

But the man who he has attacked savagely in the past came to his defence in an interview with The Star.

Anwar said: “I don’t share this very personal venom and viciousness that is thrown towards him by many others.

“I follow Umno politics quite closely but I don’t share this personal venom against him. It’s not a popular thing to say these days. It may be perceived as my defending him, but I am not defending him. But I don’t share the view that people are attributing the entire blame for the disastrous defeat on him. I think people either over-generalise or apportion blame.

“I think he is a very convenient scapegoat although he deserves it to an extent — but not to be blamed for the entire defeat. There are many faults and many problems. You can see the many issues that are raised.  It’s not just him. It’s the entire system.’’

Anwar’s words of support could be a kiss of death for a politician who has been trying to live down the perception that he is close to the former deputy prime minister  — a perception that was created after he paid a late-night visit to Anwar’s home in 2004, sat down with him for a chat  and then handed over a passport to enable him to travel overseas for medical treatment.

Khairy was told off for making that visit, saying that it would create the perception among Umno players that he was preparing the stage for Anwar’s return to the party.

His friends told him that though the visit was innocent, it would be viewed by supporters of Datuk Seri Najib Razak, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Datuk Hishammuddin Hussein suspiciously.

To compensate, Khairy started attacking Anwar publicly. When parallels between him and Anwar started gaining currency, he attacked the latter at every opportunity, making it a point to say that Umno was better off without the former deputy prime minister.

During a ceramah in Lembah Pantai before the election, he attacked Anwar viciously and is now being sued RM10 million for defamation.

Anwar remember that late-night visit to his old home in Damansara well.

“He sounded reasonably intelligent to me and he was very polite in that meeting.’’  But Anwar said that he thought that some of Khairy’s later statements appeared to be rather arrogant. In contrast, Anwar said that he was always firm and tough, but never arrogant.

His assuring comments will spark a new round of speculation that Khairy may have a political future with the Pakatan Rakyat now that his value in Umno seems to have plummeted.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, April 12, 2008 14:57:02
Anwar, we don't need him. You want me to lead a fresh reformasi movemet at Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman?
written by medicshan, April 12, 2008 14:57:46
There was an early theory that Anwar-Khairy planned (BERSIH, HINDRAF, KHAIRY's antics, etc) to put an end to Badawi/UMNO. Far-fetched but anything goes in politics and this recent overture by DSAI is interesting.
written by ibabonma, April 12, 2008 14:58:17
typo - movement
written by teohsh, April 12, 2008 15:01:30
I wouldn't call it "support"; Anwar makes it clear he is NOT defending Khairy; Anwar makes it clear that there are MANY causes of defeat, and Khairy is ONE of the MANY causes; Anwar is a Gentleman - he doesn't have a personal venom against anyone of them.

Instead, what I see is a worrying tendency that The Malaysian Insider is misreporting and sensationalizing this. Mislabelling it as a "Support" when it is obvious Anwar does NOT support Khairy. If Anwar has a choice to have Khairy becomes his Deputy, would Anwar choose Khairy over existing leaders of Pakatan Rakyat? The answer is obviously NOT. So, Anwar does NOT support Khairy. The Malaysian Insider MISREPORTED this to show support for Khairy from Anwar.

Malaysian Insider - this is my Yellow Card for sensationalizing and misreporting this ... when you get my Red Card, I will delete your blog from My Favorites ...
agree 135
written by taufan, April 12, 2008 15:01:50
Relax fellas...it's not what you think....DSAI was only being polite as a senior person to a budak hingus.

Come to think of it, TDM, eventhough he was evil, he was actually a nice person i.e. to his wife and kids (no more!).

By DSAI's statement, KJ have two choices. One to admit his blunders and apologise to everybody. Next, to continue being arrogant and lead all the apes to conquer this nation (as Urko, the leader).

It goes without saying that all and sundry in UMNO were the main cause of the debacle, and Gerakan, MIC plus MCA became the victims. In the light of all these, I am calling these jokers to quit BN now and save your credibility. Behave well and maybe in the next few years, PR will consider your candidacy.
Have to start as coffee boys you know!
written by cwy, April 12, 2008 15:04:36
The title is misleading and the conclusion ( perhaps a personal guess )
is just absurd.
Anwar could be grateful for Khairy 's concern and politeness ( as he was directed by Abdullah to do so. But, he is not likely to bring in Khairy
to PR or supporting Khairy with the latter's struggle in UMNO.
Some people just like to talk political jargons and make ludicurous
inference.
written by Biawak, April 12, 2008 15:07:49
Anwar:

If you accept Khairy into PR or even consider him as a part of your government, I assure you that YOUR DAYS WILL BE NUMBERED AND IT WILL PROVE YOU ARE A LIAR OF HIGHEST MAGNITUDE. Take heed.
written by Atheist, April 12, 2008 15:08:43
What has Khairy got that Anwar needs ???

All of AAB and Government secrets needed to bring down the ENTIRE system !!!!

DSAI is indeed a brilliant politician .... sue him for 100 million, get all the secrets out of him and kill a possible future threat !!!
written by Evol, April 12, 2008 15:16:42
We can put this KJ into Zoo NEgara. He derserve to stay with those monkey.
Another guy will acompnay this KJ is Patrick Badawi who may need a new shelter to take care of himself after loosing out of favourite from AAB family.
written by Commonsenses, April 12, 2008 15:22:42
I think wat anwar say is right, it was TDM who accused him at every instance. The lost by BN is not attributablre to KJ alone. I think one was copounded by many factors.
written by SYXL, April 12, 2008 15:24:34
Another way to read what Anwar said.
Don't lose sight of the bigger crooks (e.g. Najib, etc). KJ is is just a poisonous little weed that will die eventually. Potong the real big lallang.

Kasee, don't confuse things please - how can Anwar ever 'support' KJ?
written by Amir, April 12, 2008 15:25:50
If Khairy is allowed to join PKR/Pakatan Rakyat, DSAI will have lost all credibility. It will further confirm my long held belief that politicians are always in it for themselves and its up to the public/rakyat to be ever vigilant and hold them up to account regardless of whether its BN or Pakatan.
written by seek justice, April 12, 2008 15:27:47
I really hope Anwar is just being polite about Khairy. I hope there is no conspiracy between Anwar and Khairy. Khairy is an opportunist, a greedy, power-crazy opportunist and he will do anything to get his ambitions realised and that is to be the most powerful person in Malaysia.

I do not know how far the story about Khairy wooing Nurul Izzah when Anwar was the DPM is true, but he certainly played his cards right when he married Nori.

We really can do without Khairy Jamaluddin, he is too toxic and wouldn't do the rakyats any good.
written by Highway Engineer, April 12, 2008 15:29:18
The title of reporting in Malaysian Insider is misleading. Trust DSAI, he knows what to do best for us. FYI, I had told my friends around some 8 years ago that DSAI would be out next best PM. AAB is transitional.
written by Highway Engineer, April 12, 2008 15:31:19
sorry not 'out ..., should be 'our next....
written by Highway Engineer, April 12, 2008 15:42:37
I salute RPK. He would be the greatest man in our Malaysian history in years to come. He is the one who makes
1. the two party politics possible;
2. race and religious issues not sensitive;
3. Malaysia great.
written by padhma, April 12, 2008 15:50:47
Thus far DSAI has done a good job and we hope he would continue doing a good job. But please say to to KJ. KJ is bad news. He is public enemy No.1.Hope DSAI would not dig his own grave by bringing in KJ. He is one of those character that Malaysia does not need. We have alot of capable people in the country who are yet to be seen. KJ will never be a loss to the country. The country has alot to gain without KJ.
written by Mr Smith, April 12, 2008 15:52:17
Why are some readers, here are acting as though they had seen a ghost. Its just a commentary in Malaysian Insider. It means nothing more.
Moreover I would not consider Anwar's comments as lending support to Khairy. It a very balance observation by Anwar that Khairy cannot be solely blamed for UMNO dismal showing in the GE.
written by cruzeiro, April 12, 2008 15:52:54
Khairy gets "support" from an unlikely source
===================

That is a very high end MI (Malaysian Insider) spin for a comments on the reasons for UMNO's defeat!
written by Lim Lim, April 12, 2008 16:00:00
for whom the bell really tolls??
written by Jilo, April 12, 2008 16:01:55
Oh!How mystical is this Khairy?Can you imagine even Tun also underestimate him at one time?Surely someone like him of this age are very real in form and substance if he really is the agent for Anwar seeing a bigger picture which we don't know about this game plan.Who knows he might be forming a strong foundation to become the next PM after Anwar.
Unless someone has the wisdom of a saint, he cannot use agent.He cannot use spy unless he is benevolent and righteous.-Sun Tzu
written by informalaysia, April 12, 2008 16:11:51
I don't like this article as it can easily mislead someone to believe that Anwar has something to do with Khairy.

I read that whole article from The Star. The mood that Anwar was talking in was just relaxing, and he was just trying not to be too rough on other politicians. He also commented about Pak Lah in the same way. He just doesn't talk bad things about people.

That's why we need to read the text as a whole, so that we understand what the real context was.

Cheers.
written by FFT, April 12, 2008 16:13:17
All the venom against Khairy from within UMNO is primarily coming from the Mahathir camp who are trying to distract everyone from reality.

And the reality is that the MAIN reason for BN's collapse is the 22-years of Mahathir's rule and his dismantling of democracy and every independent institution under the Malaysian constitution.

Khairy is an ass, but he's not the lead donkey. He is merely a by-product of Mahathir's corrupt era.
written by lynn, April 12, 2008 16:15:53
The heading & the first sentence by Malaysian Insider is deliberately misleading & obviously intended to breed suspicion & doubts abt Anwar - by using the word "support". Umno's defeat is due to 1,000 reasons, not merely contempt for KJ & his mat rempits... however, we reiterate, KJ is not in the least welcome in the new federal govt-in-waiting by PR!
written by willwin, April 12, 2008 16:38:13
go read the wholse article of star interview with DSAI...this malaysia insider very misleading lah....
written by komen66, April 12, 2008 16:58:14
DSAI , what malaysia need is something totally new either in governing or managing ,you do have quite a big gang of Adilist beside you to give you a helping hands and like we all here...for KJ we dont need him neither you or pakatan.It will be a big disaster if any of tiny help to him from pakatan will cause chaos in pakatan i
strongly think.thanks

written by smalluncle, April 12, 2008 17:03:29
Well, I guess we can accomodate KJ for awhile. Get him to campion Bersih rally II under NGO banner as he do not need a permit for that. Once we get what we wanted. Send him to guard the Railway Gate in Klang. I think the job vacancy still there.
written by technoboy, April 12, 2008 17:04:03
Yeah, where is the guy who brandish the keris, he bears a major portion of the responsibility for the dismay performance of UMNO/BN, sudah lari kah, useless pondan, dare not even say a word to own up that he has been partly responsible for the defeat. This is the type of people who will eventually go up the ladder in UMNO and hope to be PM one day, habis lah Malaysia. Never have second thought about supporting BN/UMNO if these rotten guys are still around, obviously including KJ, C4 guy, MMT, Toyo, Rustam, etc.
written by babakl, April 12, 2008 17:05:57
Anwar is right. This bloody kj is only one of the factor. There are other reasons such as arrogrance of umno, kriss, sleeping on the job, corruption and many issues. But as for PR, bloody kj is a problematic bastard. It will do real damage to PR if Anwar accepts him. This is one idot we can have without cos he is a pain in the bloody ass.
written by Oyster, April 12, 2008 17:32:35
keep your friends close and your enemy closer.
Maybe this is what is going on, but don't let KJ into PR.Let him and his fourth floor kaki find their own way out of the wilderness.
written by cinatmanis, April 12, 2008 18:03:19
In politics, no one is forever foe, and no one is forever friend.... brace for the reality...
written by Limang, April 12, 2008 18:15:34
Yo, never trust this half-closed eye monkey one bit. He is a viper waiting to strike. PR, keep your distance from him or you will pay the price for sleeping with this no-conscioent enemy. Anwar is just being poluite to everyone, now that PR has won. A victor can afford to be nice, not the loser like MCA.
written by yy88, April 12, 2008 18:19:13
Khairy is nothing without Badawi, Badawi without Khairy and the 4th storey boys is also nothing. Let all this scums die a natural death. The more you give them attention, the more you talk about them, the more arrogant the become. These idiots are true opportunists, exploiting on racialism to divide and rule, for their own benefits.
written by rahzabob, April 12, 2008 19:14:16
I think the deputy PM won't be K-Ree. Might be Husam or someone equivalent. Whoever he will be, he must be endorsed by the Rakyat. Not individuals.
written by power2u, April 12, 2008 19:40:49
Aiyah you people,don't u see the wisdom of DSAI?If DSAI can get Khairy to bring his UMNO members over to PR, its good for us.Then the Mahathir gang under Najib will be left without half of UMNO members.
But pls Khairy,don't bring Azalina to PR..We do not welcome scums.
written by asguard, April 12, 2008 19:48:46
Don't worry about monyet thing... he won't be accept into PA... no matter what... for me.. he is an outcast...
written by BennyG, April 12, 2008 20:04:32
XOXOXO sealed with a kiss of death. KJ will really have to dart a lot of knives till Dec 08.

Then again with RM21bil in hand, anything could be settled. Even Johor was settled. Actually come to think of it, BN should have announced a windfall for all citizens i.e. everyone get a million Ringgit, then BN would retain 95% votes. Well, you know what happened to greedy A*R*EH**E!
written by miwaki, April 12, 2008 20:17:23
I don't mind if Khairy is made the Meteri Besar of Perlis as he would not be able to do anything there since Perlis is a ghost town.He can visit Bukit Kayu Hitam or Hatyai daily.
written by CVL, April 12, 2008 21:18:42
Of Anwar and Khairy – prepare to take Khairy on board ye all Anwarist fans.

Anwar did have had a number of meetings with Khairy when the latter was doing his Oxford during the former influential days as Finance Minister, in a mentor menthe relationship. Recall those were NEP heyday when thoughts were racing for the towering personality, albeit unsaid as such at that point of time.
Proof this mentoring was in place? Well, Khairy asked Mahathir when he would step down as PM in one of those PM/students meetings in UK. This taking at a time when Anwar was oft taking to the media explaining the best of relationship he had with the PM [ as fact has it, such period was high treachery time for Anwar plotting against his boss]. It was no Oxford acquired intelligence that popped that question; was plain effective mentoring by Anwar. You want proof on this – ask Khairy and his answer would be that he did not know Anwar at the time, and that he was capable enough to ask the question himself. Confirmations on such mentoring will take this form or another. There are more from those Anwar halcyon days, but let look at the very recent past.

During the election campaign, Khairy almost left Anwar untouched, when almost all other BN leaders was doing double time to heap discredit on Anwar. And for the one event Khairy did, Anwar filed legal recourse instead of a broadside. The legal choice is an elegant way to be economical with electioneering words lest more skeletons come out. So, Anwar is seen mentoring Khairy even at this stage.
Many Anwarist fans exhibit dislike, nay even hatred, for Khairy and whatever the so called SIL is evoked to be.

So, it is indeed expected Anwar will progressively provide kinder words for Khairy. They are certainly no strange bedfellow.
written by damarwulan, April 12, 2008 21:31:57
In politics semua boleh jadi. Kawan jadi lawan dan jadi kawan semula. Hantu jadi orang jadi malaikat jadi orang jadi hantu semula. So jangan terperanjat Khairy akan panjat tangga politik melalui PKR. Dari renungan saya, Pak Lah and Khairy did us Malaysian a big favour. Do you think PR will deny BN the 2/3 majority if the previous administration is still in power? Pak Lah tried so much to better the administration and undo what the previous administration has done, however he did not gain much support from the Cabinets and the grassroots. If the previous administration is still around, many of us will camp at Kamunting and it will be Ops Lallang II.
written by PakPandir, April 12, 2008 23:36:10
All we know is we want to get rid of this Oxford Monyet, he is one of the bloody UMNOPUTRA that rakyat want to see him buried for good.
written by EYFF, April 13, 2008 01:48:10
Well once again we are reminded that AAB is a very fair person and treated Anwar properly. He let Anwar out of the cage that TDM put him in. For that BR should be grateful!
written by Baronshah, April 13, 2008 05:47:22
DSAI please hear the rakyat's voice. KEEP KJ OUT of PR or next you will find yourself without votes. This is a promise and NOT a threat. Take heed...
written by Jan, April 13, 2008 13:54:11
So many people are so angry with this monkey they would love to chop him into millions of pieces and feed it to the shark. That's how angry they are and I am sure a large part of these people are from UMNO.
written by sthiru, April 13, 2008 14:21:23
I don't think Anwar will betray the trust we the rakyat have given him. Bringing Khairy (Kurang aJar) into Pakatan Rakyat would be a punch in all our noses. I believe in Anwar and hope he will respect what we have given him.
written by Yacob, April 13, 2008 18:11:19
Nampak sangat penyokong PR adalah mereka yang bencikan BN sahaja. Mereka sokong PR bukan disebabkan perjuangan PR tetapi hanya kerana mereka bencikan BN. Malah kadang-kadang sikap tidak matang mereka terhadap perjuangan berparti kelihatan begitu bodoh.

Setakat KJ seorang tentunya tidak akan menjadi kudis pada PR. Kita mesti bersikap terbuka kerana fahaman demokrasi yang kita perjuangkan. Waima jika Mahathir pun mahu jadi ahli PR, apa salahnya asalkan kehadirannya boleh menguntungkan. Menjadi ahli pada mana-mana parti komponan PR tidak semestnya dia secara otomatis akan jadi pemimpin. Bukankah kita boleh mengundi mereka. Entah-entah mereka yang buat bising pasal KJ itu adalah mereka yang ada dendam pada Anwar secara peribadi. Janganlah semudah itu kita hendak mengungut sesaorang pemimpin hanya disebabkan satu undi yang kita berikan kepadanya. Kalaulah itu caranya, orang seperti itulah yang tidak layak diberikan perhatian kerana sikap tidak demokratik mereka dalam menentukan arah pembinaan negara ini.

Cuba belajar berfikiran terbuka dan berdemokrasi dalam berhujah agar kita nampak lebih matang dan bijak.
written by Harbinger, April 13, 2008 18:40:27
AIYOH !!! Just because the headlines says " SUPPORT " everyone jumps ! What the problem ? It's the truth ! KJ is one of the MAIN reasons but I too think he's not to be blamed for the entire defeat (maybe 70% lah !) but there are a host of other reasons why they lost ! So what's wrong with the comment? Read again ! Does his comments constitute support ? DSAI is not daft!