Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Gerakan Urges Government To Review Manoharan's ISA Detention

Gerakan Urges Government To Review Manoharan's ISA Detention PDF Print
Saturday, 12 April 2008 09:28

(Bernama) KUALA LUMPUR, April 11 -- Gerakan has urged the home minister to review the decision to continue holding lawyer M. Manoharan under the Internal Security Act (ISA).

Its vice-president, Datuk Dr S. Vijayaratnam said that as Manoharan was given the mandate by the people of Kota Alam Shah to represent them, the decision to detain him under the ISA should be reviewed.

"He received more than 12,600 votes, a 7,000 plus majority, which indicates they (the people) have faith in him.

"Continued detention is tantamount to ignoring the wishes of the people. At least, he should be sworn in as a state assemblyman," he said in a statement Friday.

Last December, Manoharan was detained for alleged involvement in organising illegal gatherings on Nov 25, and making seditious statements against the government.

He is the third ISA detainee to contest on a DAP ticket in a general election.

Chan Kok Kit and Chian Heng Khai contested on a DAP ticket in 1978 in Sungai Besi (Selangor) and Batu Gajah (Perak), respectively, when they were under detention.

Both won.

written by Dhaanik, April 12, 2008 09:36:54
hey u mother***er Umnos,

listen here... if we klang people voted Manoharan..tats mean they endorsed him as our Leader...y u cant understand this simple message!!!!!
Are u waitin for Oxford,4th floor bastard to advise u...
written by temenggong, April 12, 2008 09:46:15
BN compnonent parties must realise that it is umno that destroyed their parties, not the Pakatan or the voters.

Unless the BN component parties threaten to pull out of the coalition, unmo is not going to wake up to the gravity of the situation they are in.

There is no way BN can be resurrected unless umno resurrects the BN component parties in the eyes of the people. If there is not going to be an MCA or MIC First Deputy PM right away in this cabinet, they might as well not waste the effort.
written by apasalahku, April 12, 2008 09:54:31
hey isn't that Chia Kwang Chye dude; Deputy Home Minister, from Gerakan?
written by krising1, April 12, 2008 10:13:22
OK Gerakan. First rigfht thing you are doing after March 8. Now close down Gerkan and join PR en masse.
written by IbnAbdHalim, April 12, 2008 10:20:12
The most right thing to now is to abandon the sinking ship. The options are to revert to pre-BN Gerakan as a standalone or join forces with PR, which is the best.
written by chanatak, April 12, 2008 10:44:01
Well AAB, over to you.

Have you heard the people's voice as you claim? Have you speaking with al taqqiya sanctioned forked tongue as you always have, or are we seeing the usual UMNO disdain for usually docile Gerakan dog for speaking out this time?
written by Areka, April 12, 2008 10:55:30
You are right, apasalahku. Chia Kwang Chye is the Deputy Home Minister...but what can he do ? Just like MCA, MIC, they can do nothing without their damned master's nod, the UMNO guys.
written by fireduck, April 12, 2008 10:56:22
Actually, I AM willing to give Gerakan a chance to redeem itself and reform, rejuvenate, reinvent and whatever 're' they want to, to stay relevant as a political party. Their original constitution was ok, until it got raped along the way by some running dogs, followed by the shameless leadership of Keng Yaik. So, first, they have to ..... and this is the FIRST IMPORTANT STEP ... RE-ALIGN your organization. Get out of the BN!

Then, get rid of all the 'old sticks' or 'lou chai' smilies/wink.gif especially that Keng Yaik and that Kwang Chye. Tsu Koon may be a weak leader, but I respect him for his fair play and maganimity in defeat. His handover of the govt to LGE was all done very professionally, as what we would expect from a democracy. That part I salute him.

Then, start to reach out to other races too ..... you guys are in the same situation as the DAP, as far as racial makeup in your membership is concerned. In fact, you guys were worse this past GE, where you could not even find a 'qualified Indian candidate' among your members. That is shameful.
written by Anthony, April 12, 2008 11:19:52
Dr Koh of Gerakan, you are a wise man. Be wise and join the opposition. Those who remain in BN are bunch of ignorant fools who does not understand good governance. Every tear from those persecuted by this BN hypocrites will see the wrath of God upon the lives of the prosecuters and their families. For God is just.
written by cwy, April 12, 2008 11:23:13
Party Gerakan! Your call is simply useless!

You didn't change UN government and yet you wanted to
'reinvent' , and now you end end in frustraction, losing the chief
minister post in Penang and the only ministership in the cabinet!

Better keep quite quiet and do your 'soul-searching' and spend sometime
in 'new reseach'since you have lost alot of 'Qi'.
written by LTn, April 12, 2008 11:46:43
What to do, this UMNO BN PIG BRAIN doest not get the people massege... thats why they cant MAJU coz they have PIG BRAIN...
written by PakPandir, April 12, 2008 11:50:17
Let fairness prevail to those who suffered under the AAB evil government .......
written by padhma, April 12, 2008 12:00:31
For a goverment to review its decision, it should be a government that listens to the voice of the people. Unfortunately we do not have such a mature government. They never learned and I doubt they ever will. Some of the decisions they have made thus far is more of retaliation due to their defeat. I guess those who are in BN has no whatsoever interest to work for the people and the country. There are there for themselves. People should see these and reject BN completely for the better future of this country. Malaysians should start thinking. Enough damage has been done.
written by heavenwrites, April 12, 2008 12:27:07
Wah that fellow stupid Gerakan without brain is so so so so so sooooooooooo late in calling for release. Kalau sakit, sudah jadi bususk balu bilang mahu pangil Dr. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Francis, April 12, 2008 12:35:51
Hei BN elites, we assure you that in PRU13 you become a reality of the past.
You think you can fabricate and detain anyone without hearing. You have made a big mistake and keep making the mistake over and over again.
written by qitaro, April 12, 2008 12:42:51
We Telok Gadong residents are proud we voted for M. Manoharan!

Yes, we shook hands with Ching Su Chen when he asked us to vote for him and yes, we also attended his ceramah (oh, what lousy and boring ceramah) at Jalan Mempelam ... but at the end, we still voted for M. Manoharan.

We have known Ching Su Chen for years from the Hwee Ann Association and we don't even know who is this ISA detainee Manoharan. In fact, most of us can't even pronounce Manoharan's name properly (we only refer him as Mano or "the ISA guy") and honestly, we don't even know how he looks like (we know he's an Indian, thats all). Hey, remember Manoharan has never step foot here during the campaign period, right? We only saw his pictures from the few roadside posters ... but at the end, we still voted for him.

Ok, lets get straight to the point. Even if DAP put someone who is deaf, mute and blind as a candidate instead of Manoharan ... Ching Su Chen will still lose.

Why?

Because we are SEE PEH TOO LAN (Hokkien for DAMN PISSED OFF) with BN. Period.
written by glojokumar, April 12, 2008 13:21:59
wah suddenly theres a call from Gerakan, why now? hey u Gerakan, MIC and MCA(oops PPP)u have been sleeping and being yes-man too long, now when all is lost, u all suddenly come to realisation, in the first place, can u fellas ask the gomen to open more coverage for what PAKATAN is doing, the damn gomen media are not covering enuf of what the PR is doing, the more they block, I am damn bloody sure, next election will see PR taking over the country, and at that time, TV3 and Utusan, u better plan to run away big time....hmmm i wonder the big bungalow in australia can accomodate u fellas....
written by potblack, April 12, 2008 13:59:18
Yes, you are doing the what you should have done long long time ago.Continue to speak up on issues which is against the wishes of the rakyat.

Well done,Gerakan.
written by Evol, April 12, 2008 16:14:20
we don need ISA after 50years of independent! ISA only been used on NON-BN personnel.

many been detain without any valid reason.

look at Semi Value, finally he need to kowtou to UMNO to beg them to release the Hindraf gang who was detain under ISA. I don like to guess whether this semi value is sincere or not on this matter.....

Of all, I only want the ISA/OSA or whatever devil act we have to be demolished!
written by harrbm, April 12, 2008 16:18:26
>
<

Harrbm urges the same.

<
>
written by technoboy, April 12, 2008 17:17:23
The alcohol effect seems to have subsided and Gerakan is sober now, if only you guys have not indulged yourselves with UMNO's rotten political culture, Gerakan would not be in the sorry state like now, LKY should have realized this long time ago. As the saying goes, better late than never!
written by johanssm, April 12, 2008 17:24:36
It is morally wrong for gerakan and mic "helping" HINDRAF now.
They should have done this before 8th.March.
However mic and gerakan are still blind and myopic and still failed to look at the bigger picture, that is too abolish ISA.
Still hiding behind the ISA and using ISA as their safety net.
If mic and gerakan really for the people, they should disband their party and merges with PR for common cause.
Just by calling for the release of 1 person aint gonna save gerakan from dying.Again bn failed to understand feelings of the people.

written by FuLinYu, April 12, 2008 18:24:22
Yes, you are doing the what you should have done long long time ago.Continue to speak up on issues which is against the wishes of the rakyat.

Well done,Gerakan.

Agreed - I applaud Gerakan's move. Let's hear from MCA, MIC (again), PPP, SUPP, PBS, PBRS, etc... If you are just-thinking, we need your collective voices too. Let's move UMNO's self-righteous obstinacy together. The ball at your feet - your call.
written by harryo, April 12, 2008 18:25:07
I am astonished to see an Indian Datuk appearing when Gerakan indicated before PRU12 that there is no eligible Indian to stand as Gerakan candidate. smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by macaufan, April 13, 2008 00:46:04
Umno/bn regime is running out of time. GERAKAN b4 is opposition but d moment it join BN & rule by UMNO...... GERAKAN is commiting suicide as u can see now ! GERAKAN, pls jump ship b4 it's too late !
if umno insist not to release 5 HINDRAF HEROES, it's fine ! PR will do it very soon d moment when >30 BN's MP jump ship ! hahahhaaaaaa......