Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Johor Umno Supports Abdullah

Johor Umno Supports Abdullah PDF Print
Friday, 11 April 2008 21:20

(Bernama) JOHOR BAHARU, April 11 -- The Johor Umno Friday expressed its support to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as the prime minister and Umno president.

Johor Umno liaison chairman Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman said the support expressed to Abdullah today was the same as what had been expressed by the Johor Umno during a meeting on April 5.

"We want to express our support to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in his effort to consolidate Barisan Nasional and Umno.

"Our stand is this... that Johor Umno supports him as the prime minister and Umno president," he told reporters after attending a meeting between Johor Umno and Abdullah here Friday.

Among those who attended the meeting was International Trade and Industry Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin who is also Umno vice-president.

Three supreme council members -- Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad and Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar -- also attended the meeting.

Abdul Ghani said Johor Umno wanted Abdullah to lead the party in the efforts to regain the people's support and to face the next election.

When asked whether he had expected that he would get the support from the state Umno amid talks that Johor Umno would ask him to step down, Abdullah said: "I came here with an open mind."

Meanwhile, Syed Hamid, when met by reporters, said meeting went on smoothly where they discuss openly about various issues.

"The Johor Umno supports Pak Lah and we will support him in the coming party assembly to continue as the president of the party and as prime minister," he said.

Johor Puteri Umno chief Norhaslina Zainal Abidin said at the meeting Abdul Ghani conveyed to Abdullah the state Umno's decision at their meeting on April 5.

"At the same time we also hope that the prime minister would address weaknesses in the BN," she said.

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by Kal El, April 11, 2008 21:34:23
useless fools!
u guys deserves to lose next time around losers!
No balls in the skrotum!
written by deemah, April 11, 2008 21:53:05
when you have the chance face to face, say it out loud lah. Semua takut. Semua nak jaga periok nasi.
written by Jengking, April 11, 2008 21:55:30
Johor, kalau letak tunggul kayu sebagai calon BN pun dia orang pangkah.
Kah kah kah.
written by power2u, April 11, 2008 21:56:14
Wow,its good news that PM is still UMNO president.At least we get to see all the fighting going on daily among UMNO leaders....it will open more eyes among the rakyat that they are all a bunch of useless people and we should throw them out asap.
written by nothing less, April 11, 2008 23:36:01
The rot has started kah kah kah..........
written by miwaki, April 12, 2008 13:59:49
????????
My dogs also support him !