Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow April 19 — Khairy should mark down this day

April 19 — Khairy should mark down this day PDF Print
Friday, 11 April 2008 09:21

By Debra Chong, THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

It's bad enough being the son-in-law of the prime minister who is being blamed for his party's and the entire national coalition's abject performance at the 12th General Elections.

It's worse when your very name incites normally placid people to gob out great balls of spit after each mention. But Khairy Jamaluddin's seat is going to get hotter than hot in the next 2 weeks.

Come April 19, the beleaguered Umno Youth deputy chief, already under fire from within his own ranks, will face a new threat to his tenuous position as MP for Rembau.

Why April 19?

Because that is the day his 30-year-old political rival for the parliamentary seat, Badrul Hisham

Shaharin from Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) will finally be able to file a petition in court to nullify the results of the general election.

Since polling night on March 8, Badrul Hisham, fondly known as Chegu Bard, has claimed that the counting of votes was not done according to procedure.

“There were irregularities in the vote counting procedure. The Election Commission (EC) did not issue the Form 14 to us when it was compulsory to do so,” he is reported to have said back then.

Form 14 lists out the number of total voters for a particular polling station and once the vote counting has been finalised, the form will be the official indicator of the number of votes designated for each candidate.

Without this form, the results cannot be considered official. It opens up the way for figure manipulation as votes may be added later to favour a particular candidate.

The initial results on the night showed a tight contest between the two, with Badrul Hisham edging Khairy by only 141 votes.

On the recount however, Khairy scored 26,525 votes against Badrul Hisham's 20,779 votes; a majority of over 5,000 votes.

There have been several counter allegations to the contrary from the EC officials on the isuance of Form 14 in Rembau. One official claimed that the form was issued, but the PKR candidate did not see it. Another claimed that they had run out of Forms 14 in Rembau that night.

As it stands, the court can only entertain such protests after the results have been gazetted by the Election Commission, said Faisal Mustaffa, 37, a PKR member since 2004.

Faisal is also the secretary for the Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (Bersih), an independent human rights organisation that has been closely following the proceedings of the recently concluded general elections.

And word is that the results will be gazetted on April 19. Those who wish to contest can do so within 21 days of the results being gazetted, added Faisal.

Badrul Hisham's petition will be presented by William Leong, a practising lawyer who is also PKR's supreme treasurer.

The Rembau case is not the only one, said Faisal, but it is the one with the most clear-cut evidence. There are several that the PKR would like to take up, including at least one in Sabah, for the Pensiangan parliamentary seat.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by colorsinlife, April 11, 2008 09:33:54
Everything we can go to court ...
BUT for KJ (after so much exposure on abuses by MT) ....
I think a Mafia Style arrangement, send one of the button .....

This guy is a man without a soul ..... becuase he sold it top the devil for money ...

Talks to much ..... can even smell the foul air from his mouth ...

I admire Sufiah from Oxford, honest and bold and gutsy .... this guy is nothing compared to Sufiah .... PURE hypocrite ..
written by mypanida, April 11, 2008 09:37:23
Hoi KJ....

Have you told your mom about 19th of April ???
agree 117
written by cinabuta, April 11, 2008 09:41:21
Khairy gagal mengatur strategi untuk diri nya, dia juga akan gagal dalam mengemudi pemuda UMNO. Gagal dan kantoi, will be and always in Bodohwee family.

Dimana jatuhnya kuah kalau tidak ke nasi.

cinabuta
written by Rundukon, April 11, 2008 09:55:54
'And word is that the results will be gazetted on April 19'.

All the election results? I thought some were gazetted earlier like the Kalabakan and Pensiangan constituencies in Sabah. If I am not mistaken PKR filed their petition for Pensiangan yesterday.

PKR must get their facts right as the court can throw their petitions for not adhering to the regulations that it can only be made after the results have been gazetted.

written by rockli, April 11, 2008 09:59:39
I was a PA & CA (counting agent) in the recent polls. It was necessary to have the form 14, as it states the no of voters for each party.
Without this form which is signed by all contesting parties CA and the EC polling officer - the poll results should be considered null & void - even if one polling centre form 14 is not given.
Chegu Bard has a strong case, if EC is going to be fair.
Going to be a good SHOW to see how EC handles this case.
written by heavenwrites, April 11, 2008 10:01:30
This Kutang Ajar KJ main kotor lah dia paling pandai smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gifCakap yang bohong dia lagi pandai smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif ;Makan duit Rakyat dicabar TDM pun tidak boleh jawap smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gifapa lagi kalau nak bohong di Court denagan kelayakan Oxford punya cerita memang tidak boleh dipakailah smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gifBalik Kampong tanam Ubilah oldford boy smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Bagi brother Badrul Hisham, smilies/wink.gifBrother hatam itu Kurang Ajar sekut-kuat yang suadara boleh yah smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gifJangan kasih muka kerana itu kurang ajar mesti mahu diajar smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by treeman1957, April 11, 2008 10:13:48
Understand Shanty Chong of DAP also among many from PR waiting for results to be gazetted to file petition for Sandakan parliamentary seat results.
written by billykbk, April 11, 2008 10:24:34
This jerk doesn't deserve to be an MP. Cheaters, liars, swindlers who bamboozle the Rakyat ought to be incarcerated in gaol. That's their ultimate destination. Bye! Bye! Kera Jantan, SOB!
written by borneopeteliew, April 11, 2008 10:26:59
The election results had already been gazetted by the Election Commission on the 8th of April 2008, if I'm not mistaken.

Please Chegu Bard you better ask your lawyer to verify the dates before your petition gets thrown out of the court.
written by taufan, April 11, 2008 10:32:32
Shame to the EC! It sounds very obvious because this A-hole was contesting. So everything must either go his way, or something must screw up in the process.

I don't know why, but this A-hole's pictures in the press (if anybody noticed) don't appear consistent everytime it's published. He has that sinister look (I am not saying he's good looking) one that makes you feel like spitting on.

Budak hingusan, konon bijak sangat!
written by swee in, April 11, 2008 10:34:17
Injustice and malpractice must be corrected. EC can't cover up this clear cut case. Rules are made to ensure fairness for ALL parties. We have had enough of excuses and cover ups. Excuses do not override the law. Go for it.
written by Counterpointer, April 11, 2008 10:39:58
BADawi is now stucked between a rock and a hard place.

He now calls for judicial reforms, but if the judiciary is allowed to be reformed, his SIL will definitely be out of his shortlived MP seat in no time.

Najib, watch out for your daughters carefully, Khairy will soon want to be family.
written by Jeremy, April 11, 2008 10:48:54
Great news. Go got him Chegu Bad! It will be the icing on the cake to disqualify him as an MP.
written by Jan, April 11, 2008 10:54:41
This KJ guy is bad news wherever he goes. I hope Che'gu wins his petition and we see the last of this nasty & crooked person.
If his sil goes I am sure Pak Lah's popularity will be up at least a notch.
written by rayfire, April 11, 2008 11:04:12
Chegubard, go for it!
You have the support and the evidence to support you claim
Nail him down and force him to relinquish the MP position
He is disaster in waiting!

Please share your viewpoint with me at my new blog site, inspired by RPK and other prominent bloggers

http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com/
written by PR Msia, April 11, 2008 11:38:33
He will reap what he had sowed. Chegu Bard will haunt him until he will go crazy.
written by KC Chew, April 11, 2008 11:46:11
Bodoh will not let this happen as it will look bad on him. Anyhow, I sometimes do pity Monkey - oppositions don't like him, people in his own party don't like him, even rakyat don't like him. What a loser.
written by bumi non malay, April 11, 2008 11:48:32
ha ha ha

Itu Siti Nur sudah tak boleh pakai & jual lagi CD dia ke keh keh .....Padan Muka sokong Khairy!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Boikot Air Asia, Guna Jet Star.....Itu Tony F..Pun tak boleh Pakai....sokong UMNO-BN Kuat Kuat....Padan Muka. Biar Air Asia Pokai bila awak Boikot ..... tiada Cash Flow, Tiada Korrupsi....Macam mana bayar Faedah??? Banyak juga Boss Air Asia Pinjam.....Padan Muka
written by FFT, April 11, 2008 12:30:16
written by mypanida, April 11, 2008 | 09:37:23
Hoi KJ....

Have you told your mom about 19th of April ???

Careful now. You don't want to get a phone call from Mummy Beruk scolding you for picking on her little chimp.
written by Malaysiaku, April 11, 2008 13:00:40
If the EC said that the forms were indeed issued, then let the EC proof that it was acknowledged by the candidates. Otherwise, they can say anything.

Oi! pariah sil of aab, better dont get too used to the Rembau seat so much, you would not be there for long.
written by omarkhayyam, April 11, 2008 13:25:59
lets get him nailed this time around ...... and see what other dirty tactics they are gonna throw this time ........

written by Mr Smith, April 11, 2008 13:57:13
Just bring back Fairus Ahmad to sit as election judge and he will declare Khairy disqualified and make Badrul the new MP.
Ask Wee Choo Kiong how it happened in Bukit Bintang. Or ask Lingam for more clarification on how its done.
written by artchan, April 11, 2008 14:15:18
KJ...have you told your father in law? Maybe you should tell your mum to tell Chegubard to get lost. I don't think you have the guts to fight your own battle.

Or you can call the mamak azeez with his rempit gang..if not you can borrow hisham kris...sorry..I heard he is carrying a dildo nowadays. The kris is too sensitive.
written by mypugaloo, April 11, 2008 14:24:50
Dear all,

From MatSamanKati, he got information that KJ might be joining PKR as he was reported to 'join' Azmin Ali in Jakarta last few days....

Can imagine, what would be Chegu Bard reaction and plan should he is...

POLITIK=Permainan Orang Lemah Iman Tapi Ingin Kuasa.....
written by densemy, April 11, 2008 14:39:16
"One official claimed that the form was issued, but the PKR candidate did not see it. Another claimed that they had run out of Forms 14 in Rembau that night."

Only in Malaysia can people lie so badly and still think they will be believed
Only in Malaysia could it be possible for an important part of the election process be overlooked
written by smalluncle, April 11, 2008 15:13:50
What about Rafida who did not sign her form?
written by ORIENT, April 11, 2008 15:17:45
KHAIRY, u are still young. u do hv the brains-and you know how to choose yr parents(TDM used to say" one must know how to choose his/her parents"), u know where POWER IS ...u married Nori- and u moved up fast- it shows yr inherent intelligence. So if u hv cheated at REMBAU- pls admit it...if u are gentleman enough in which u should coz u hv the confidence as an intelligent person, and educated - u should confess and then resign...by doing so - people will respect you and u will do well in future. time is on yr side. u should go thro the path of DSAI...ISA FOR 20 MTHS, AND SEVERAL YRS IN JAIL...try these experiences and u will hv a GREAT FUTURE....
written by Fart Fart Wah, April 11, 2008 15:24:02
if umno youth elect him or the toyol...that is the end...of the youth wing...KHAIRY WANTS TO BE BUDAK PM AT 40 AND THE TOYOL WANTS TO TRANSFER SOME MORE LAND TO HIS THIRD WIFE...
written by qwerty, April 11, 2008 15:30:50
taufan,
100% agree with your observation.KJ gives off bad vibes. Feels like spitting everytime seeing his face in print!

To quote Desiderata:

Avoid loud & agressive people, they are a vexation to the spirit.
written by Bawal, April 11, 2008 18:22:52
i have heard so much about SIL, how about SOB (Son Of Badawi) ? Badawi can be change to any other word deems fit.
written by Angela Ooi, April 11, 2008 21:33:51
CheguBard go get that sob. On nomination day, I was fuming cos on the way from Sban to Rembau to give my support to Chegu, the monkey had his mat rempits and convoy of vehicles holding up traffic along the old trunk Tmpin/Sban road. I cursed him all the way to the District Office, yet he still win...many toyols helped him out???
written by maverick, April 12, 2008 00:11:47
i dont think there will be any change of result as the EC are BN dogs after all. smilies/sad.gif