2008: same shit, different days PDF Print
Tuesday, 01 January 2008 17:50

I just heard, however, today, Soi Lek called a press conference and confessed to the porno movie and said he had met the Prime Minister who forgave him and told him he need not resign from his Cabinet post. I am yet to confirm this story though.

I was asked what I thought 2008 is going to look like. My reply was: no change over 2007. It will be more of the same shit, just different days, that's all.

In fact, there was more shit in 2007 than what Malaysia Today reported. I know, you thought you had seen and heard everything. Well, you did not, really. There was much more which Malaysia Today did not report. And the reason we did not report all these things is because although we trust the source of this information immensely, nevertheless, in the event we are dragged to court and made to prove what we wrote, we would be hard-pressed to do so. And that is why Malaysia Today decided not to publish all those many stories that we heard -- in spite of the fact those relating the stories are absolutely reliable and I have no qualms about trusting them.

Let's take the newest shit of all to hit the fan, the porno movie currently circulating the country. It seems this 'home' movie shows shots of Chua Soi Lek doing what all of us do all the time. The only thing is, most us do it with one whom we are 'legally' allowed to do it with and we very, very seldom record it on camera.

Don't these politicians ever learn? 15 or 20 years ago another politician, unmarried though, shared this same passion of recording his sexploits on video and, invariably, it fell into the wrong hands. However, instead of it ending his political career, the video just made him more popular with the women who went, “Mmmmmm,” and started asking around for his phone number. I suppose it worked like a sort of PR video for him.

Someone contacted me yesterday and asked whether I want a copy of the latest porno movie. He said this would help prove that the man in the video is Soi Lek. I turned down the offer though. The last time someone sent me a video of that Vijendran chap and promised that it was in colour and very clear, I found he had lied. I called him up and complained that not only was it not clear but it was also in black and white and not in colour like what he promised. He gave me this very lame excuse that it is in black and white because it was Vijendran in the video but I felt it was not a convincing enough explanation.

Anyway, I decided that the Chua Soi Lek porno movie story may be quite hard to prove so I decided not to run the story. So that is one story Malaysia Today did not carry in 2007 and I feel, unless it can be proven that it is really him in that porno movie, we will not be running it in 2008 as well. I just heard, however, today, Soi Lek called a press conference and confessed to the porno movie and said he had met the Prime Minister who forgave him and told him he need not resign from his Cabinet post. I am yet to confirm this story though.

Earlier that same week was the story about the 72 year old woman in Rembau, Negeri Sembilan, who was found dead in her home. According to the mainstream newspapers, the woman, who is unmarried, lived alone since her mother died five years ago. The newspapers also said that 18 suspects had been rounded up to 'assist' the police in the investigation behind her death.

I actually got the story a day before it hit the mainstream newspapers but decided not to carry it. What this source told me was that the woman was Khairy Jamaluddin's cousin. But if she was a victim of a break-in and was killed in a robbery, what makes this story so special? Many break-ins and murders occur in Malaysia. In fact, Malaysia is suffering a crime wave. And Malaysia Today never carries such stories even if the victims are related to someone important. And Khairy is not quite someone important in that sense. He is merely the son-in-law of the Prime Minister.

The 'special' part of this story, my source told me, is that this woman was living alone and she died without anyone realising it -- and she could have been dead for some time before they realised she had died. Okay, so what? I still do not see this as an interesting or important story. Look, my source argued, she is 72 years old, has been living alone for the last five years, is the cousin of Khairy Jamaluddin, and died without anyone realising it. Okay, so what? I still could not see what was so important about this story. Look, my exasperated source continued, this means she had been neglected for five years. Can you imagine what people would say if they knew that Khairy's cousin had been neglected for the last five years and died a lonely death, murdered, without anyone being aware of it?

I did not share my source's enthusiasm for linking the death of this woman to Khairy and blaming him for neglecting her. Hey, I got thousands of nephews and nieces from hundreds of cousins merely because my grandfather had ten wives and 44 children. I don't even know the names of many of them or know where they live or even whether they are dead or still alive.

My source gave up. He couldn't convince me that the death of this lonely and abandoned 72 year old woman could be linked to Khairy and that the man who would be Prime Minister at the age of 40 could be discredited for what happened. I never ran the story in 2007 and would probably not even talk about it in 2008 either. Anyway, the mainstream newspapers never said that she was Khairy's cousin so it would be very risky to mention Khairy's name unless it had been reported so.

Yes, those were two stories, so-called shit that hit the fan in 2007, that Malaysia Today never carried in 2007 and would probably never carry in 2008 as well. Then there was this story from a most reliable source whom I had known for 20 years or so, a one-time big man in Malaysian politics who has since retired. This source told me the story as follows:

One day, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi called the head honcho of Gerbang Perdana, the company that was supposed to build the 'Crooked Bridge' to Singapore, for a meeting in his home. When the man arrived, Abdullah asked him whether anyone had seen him or followed him. Abdullah was relieved when told that the Gerbang Perdana head honcho had sneaked in unseen.

Abdullah told the Gerbang Perdana head honcho that he (Abdullah) wants to help him (Gerbang Perdana head honcho) to get the Cabinet to approve the plan to build the 'Crooked Bridge'. Abdullah explained that the Cabinet is opposed to the bridge and would probably block it at the Cabinet meeting scheduled for the following day. But he (Abdullah) would push it through and try to get the Cabinet to reverse its stand.

As they were talking, Abdullah's secretary came in to announce that the Foreign Minister, Syed Hamid Albar, had arrived. On hearing this, Abdullah panicked and asked the head honcho of Gerbang Perdana to jump out the window. Abdullah did not want Syed Hamid to know that he was in a meeting with the head honcho of Gerbang Perdana.

The Gerbang Perdana head honcho did as instructed but unfortunately when he jumped out the window he came face-to-face with Syed Hamid. He quickly ran off and pretended he did not see Syed Hamid but he knew he had been seen and he felt quite silly for jumping out of the Prime Minister's window and then stumble into the very man he was supposed to avoid.

I almost fell off my chair laughing when my source related this story. If anyone else had told me this story I would never have believed it. But this is one man I have absolutely no doubts about. I told my source I would never be able to run this story because no one in Malaysia would ever believe such a stupid thing. I mean, stories about the Prime Minister sleeping during meetings, dinners, functions, etc., even sleeping standing up, are all supported by mountains of photographs. But how can we prove this story? So I did not run this story in 2007, not because I did not trust my source (so I hope he will not take offense and will still invite me to dinner), but because I just do not know how to convince Malaysia Today's readers that this really happened.

The story does not end there though. It seems, after the Gerbang Perdana head honcho left, Abdullah told Syed Hamid to raise an objection at the following day's Cabinet meeting and oppose the 'Crooked Bridge'. Syed Hamid did just that and immediately after the Cabinet meeting Abdullah phoned the Gerbang Perdana head honcho and told him that he (Abdullah) had fought hard to get the Cabinet to agree to the bridge but it was fiercely opposed by the Cabinet, in particular the Johor members of the Cabinet such as Syed Hamid. Nevertheless, said Abdullah, he will compensate Gerbang Perdana by awarding them another contract for the maintenance of all government assets. Since this will be a negotiated contract and at a lucrative price, the profit they will make will more than compensate the losses incurred in the infrastructure work on the now abandoned 'Crooked Bridge'.

Another source, however, told me that this story is not true. He said that Syed Hamid was actually in support of the 'Crooked Bridge' because the deal had been packaged with the contract to supply sand to Singapore. Syed Hamid's brother stands to make billions from the supply of sand to Singapore if the 'Crooked Bridge' proceeds, said this second source. In fact, my source reiterated, everyone in Johor knows this and one day, when Syed Hamid had an audience with the Sultan of Johor, His Highness asked him (Syed Hamid) to remove his songkok (black cap). And when Syed Hamid removed his songkok, the Sultan uttered, “Penuh pasir (full of sand).”

This contradiction about whether Syed Hamid supports or opposes the 'Crooked Bridge' is the second reason why I did not dare run this story in 2007. Okay, even without this part I would still find it difficult to convince Malaysia Today's readers that the jumping out the Prime Minister's window episode is true. But the contradiction concerning Syed Hamid opposing or supporting the 'Crooked Bridge' and the tie-up to the billions of Ringgit in supply of sand makes the story even more difficult to fathom.

Many stories from reliable sources ended up in my rubbish-bin in 2007, not because I did not trust my sources, actually I do, but because I was hard-pressed in offering the proof to support these stories. Malaysia Today's readers are a very critical and skeptical lot. They will not simply swallow any story hook, line and sinker unless you can prove it. So better I just ignore all these stories than face the risk of losing our credibility by publishing stories that can't be proven.

For example, I was told that Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak is behind K.S. Nallakarupan and is financing the setting up of his new Indian party. In case any of you may have forgotten, Nallakarupan was the one-time tennis partner of one-time Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim and was initially slotted to contest the Ijok by-election until Parti Keadilan Rakyat dropped him in favour of Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim. He then left in a huff and soon after launched his own Indian-based political party.

Anyway, it seems Najib is behind Nallakarupan's new party, but then I did not see why Najib would want to back a new Indian party so I decided not to run the story even though it was told to me by someone high-up in Umno. The only reason why Najib would want to back a new Indian party would be because they want to kill off MIC, the leading Indian party in the Barisan Nasional coalition.

Then the Chief Minister of Melaka, Ali Rustam, whacked the Indians at the PPP state convention in Melaka. He practically told PPP to get the hell out of Barisan Nasional. Umno has ruled Malaysia for 50 years, argued Ali, and it can rule for another 50 years without the help or support of any of the other races, or even Sabah and Sarawak. And his tirade against PPP and the Indians lasted more than an hour and each time he interjected with the statement that he had met Najib the day before. He repeated this over and over again for reasons best known only to him. Was he trying to say that Najib was behind the tirade?

It was all beginning to make sense until another very reliable source told me that Khairy was behind HINDRAF and that Abdullah had found out and took his son-in-law to task for it. It seems Abdullah really lost his temper and gave Khairy a piece of his mind. Then it began to get all cloudy again. If Najib is behind Nallakarupan, Ali (meaning Najib again) is behind the tirade against PPP, and Khairy is behind HINDRAF, how could the stories reconcile? I mean, this can only mean that Umno is trying to kill PPP and MIC in favour of a new Indian party headed by Nallakarupan. But then there is no way Najib and Khairy would work in concert and wouldn't Najib suspect that Nallakarupan is actually still Anwar Ibrahim's man and that the 'fallout' was staged, sandiwara, merely to mislead and confuse?

I was very confused by the different stories that I decided there were too many gaps which made the story far-fetched. And it got even more confusing when yet another source told me that Khairy was not behind HINDRAF but behind the move to link HINDRAF to the LTTE that I decided not to run this story in 2007.

Well, those are but some of the stories about the goings-on by those who walk in the corridors of power which Malaysia Today did not run in 2007. There were of course many more but maybe not worth a mention at this point of time. Anyway, if somehow some of these stories are later proven true, then Malaysia Today would of course run them. Suffice, for the meantime, we just regard all these stories as unconfirmed and hard to prove which Malaysia Today received in 2007 and which we did not run.

Happy New Year and may 2008 be another year full of untold stories of those who walk in the corridors of power. And forgive us if this year we again decide not to run some stories and allow the untold stories to remain untold in 2008 just like what we did on the above stories in 2007.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by WT Seow, January 01, 2008 18:27:55
Best wishes and God bless.
written by mwaalib, January 01, 2008 18:34:30
"Happy New Year" to you too. Good to hear from you and looking forward to catch up on the current scene.
written by bluetorquise, January 01, 2008 18:36:30
As a senior Minister in Malaysia and vice president of a componet party of Barisan Nasional, Chua should make a public apology over this incident and tender his resignation. The Prime Minister should accept this decision.

It is not the Primie Minister's decision if Chua should resign or not, because he was elected by the Malaysian public.By saying Chua do not have to resign, The Prime Minister is indirectly promoting immoral activities among Malaysian, if a Senior Minister is doing then why shoudn't rest of the country do the same.

At a time when the world is struggling with Aids apedemic, the Health Minister is definitly not setting a good example to the future generation.

But then again...all kind of shit is possible in Malaysia -- The Boleh Land

written by Motherchell, January 01, 2008 18:59:02
Thanks for the wishes Pete! same to you ,A good and wonderful Mew year to all ;

But how can we stop the bleed in the country's wounds? Well this is the quality of a PM we have who wields the ISA in his pocket to cover his tracks.
My question to the Umnoputras is, how much is ENOUGH? they will choke very soon in their own vomit!
written by RichPoon, January 01, 2008 19:02:00
the only avenue left for csl is to resign from all public offices to save the government from further embarrassment and secondly to save his family and girl friend from further anguish from the media circus that is bound to follow in the days to come
written by Vineeth Menon, January 01, 2008 19:25:13
Wishing RPK and other MT Members a Very Happy & Prosperous Year ahead.
Happy New Year !!!!!!!!!
written by Saint, January 01, 2008 19:27:45
Thanks, Wishing you a Fruitful and Happy 2008, and may God bless us all.
written by mikewang, January 01, 2008 19:57:49
We have a man of principle in Sabah resigning from a deputy CM post to fight a cause and we have an amorous MCA man dragging the party and country down by staying on, hoping to be exonerated by the electorate in the next general election.

Maybe it's difficult for the BN leadership to punish him because it's like "let those who do not cheat on their wives cast the first stones." javascript:void(0);
laugh

Happy New Year Malaysia !
written by tuan tanah kedaung, January 01, 2008 20:11:16
Boss, just do not empty your Recycle Bin yet. In case you need to run the stories later, a simple ***** to restore is still available. smilies/grin.gif
written by idham, January 01, 2008 20:21:42
Quit/ Not to quit...Imam Hadhari ni slow sikit nak fikir apa nak buat
Dia tengok public sentimen baru buat keputusan. Nanti diam2 dia call Chua asking him to quit.
written by oceanuz, January 01, 2008 20:27:01
Happy new year to all.
Great read for the opening of the year. smilies/smiley.gif

written by kenny, January 01, 2008 20:41:05
How we admire the skills of RPK in divulging yet to be proven news to end the year for 2007. No scandal escapes the reach of M2day. No one can do better, Pete. May the crooks who walk the corridors of power be crippled.

Wishing RPK and Family together with MT members a Great and Blessed Year!!!
written by rocky, January 01, 2008 21:43:46
Happy New year rpk.

god bless.
written by teo siew chin, January 01, 2008 21:51:28
Aw geee RPK keeps all the best shit to himself! No fair!

A great laugh of an article to start the year. To Yang Mulia Raja Petra and family, all MTers and their love ones - HAPPY 2008 !
written by temanmu, January 01, 2008 22:03:18
Haha! Dear RPK,

A good light-hearted article to round off the year!

May Allah (one, only and multi-faceted) bless you, and may you be happy & free!
written by froggy, January 01, 2008 22:29:55
happy new year RPK smilies/cheesy.gif
written by infusion, January 01, 2008 23:51:24

First of all, happy new year and continue your holy works.
to all readers, continue to support this uphill battles towards a cleaner Malaysia.

RPK, may i suggest you to start another section for those "Reported but Yet to be proved". As we all know, The crooks does not always walk straight!. Well, let he/she prove them otherwise!. As what the Chinese use to say; There will be no wave without winds presence!.

Go for it.
written by GordonLim, January 02, 2008 00:45:05
LOL
Too much rumours for you to digest. Best off, Don't run those stories.
In times of doubt, drop it.
Much like the game of poker; doubting your opponent, just fold.

Chaos is what we want to avoid. RPK. You're an intelligent man. I'm sure you know what is the right story to run here. More lawsuits are closing in, and if you're really not careful, you be on a fasttrack to imprisonment.
written by doggone, January 02, 2008 01:56:34
We really gotta call in the MYTHBUSTERS.

2008 BUSTED !!!
written by lokenpal, January 02, 2008 03:19:45
The SHIT is going to stink more in 2008 unless people like RPK has the balls to continue reporting the corrupt and unethical behaviour of Malaysian politicians.
written by jedyoong, January 02, 2008 03:54:22
happee new year..it's election time....woo hoo hooo
written by krepot, January 02, 2008 07:51:01
Hahahahahahaha - RPK, I like your style!

I can see the dudes at BA and SB scratching their heads asking each other "macam mana nie?"
written by Nochan, January 02, 2008 08:04:26
My uncontroled laughter made me stop reading this article for a while. Thank you Yang Mulia for giving me a good morning reading. Happy New Year and may Allah give you the ability to continue giving us more hillarious stories.
written by bexe, January 02, 2008 08:24:49
Pete
Somehow you make your shit smell different! javascript:void(0);hahaha! Good read but it begs the question. How do we rid ourselves of these terrible smell that plagues our nation apart from voting them out?
written by PHUKETBOY, January 02, 2008 08:59:26
Sawasdee Pee Mai Khrap RPK and all MT readers !
Happy New Year !
In most countries, any ministers or politicans caught in these videos immediate resigns but I guess we here in Malaysia does things differently. Chua in the Health Ministry definately have free supply of Viagra for him to put up such a performance !
Watdee Khrap !
written by krising1, January 02, 2008 09:51:24
It makes me feel great that there are people in this country who can write and speak English in such great style. Probably we all could have been speaking such high standard English if not for a mamak who became education minister 30 years ago. Sad! Sad! Sad!
written by Bukit Chandan, January 02, 2008 10:40:37

The organized crime syndicates have made their moves. We would like them to 'hand over' all the corrupted politicians, policemen and government servants to the public before these people 'hand over' the organized crimes syndicates to the public. It is a matter of who wins the race now.

Best Regards.........
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by cruzeiro, January 02, 2008 11:04:30
What a kick-start for the year!
Mr. Chua can now boast of his virility and refuse to resign, despite learning about "infamous conduct" in Medical School - so much for the ethics that he preaches to Doctors!
This is definitely gonna hold top spot among nominees for a long time, for the Malaysia Bollocks Awards 2008!
written by malaysianohope, January 02, 2008 11:20:44
Greetings Pete,

A very Happy New Year to you and your beloved family!

I envy you for being a priviledged few who received tips from anonymous parties about scandals, rumours, events and what not.

But on the other hand, for these so called 'hot potatoes' on your hand you have to run the gaunlet of risking it as to whether to publish them in MT. Perhaps for these categories of questionable tips you can post in Asia Sentinels:

http://asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=956&Itemid=35
written by borneopeteliew, January 03, 2008 11:11:12
Pete, who is behind this Dr Chua Soi Lek's porno video? Hear this is also to do with his sister-in-law. Is this another sister-in-law episode?
written by teo siew chin, January 03, 2008 16:39:36
Oh4gottsake - it's not a porno video! It is an invasion of privacy - a video of a PRIVATE act taped without permission. That hotel should be sued left and right and criminal charges levied against it.

Any person who uses a hotel room is at risk - think about that!!!!!!!
written by Angela Ooi, January 04, 2008 01:38:48
Calling for movie producers.. we have so many interesting 'going-ons', bizarre plots, intrigues which should enable scriptwriters provide blockbuster movie hits. Always something idiotic, unbeliveable hilarious in this Bodowi bolehland
written by citizenmy, January 04, 2008 01:52:35
Happy New year Pete.

Malaysia Today did well in 2007 , and I loved the Crime Syndicate stuff.

The sad part is, most of us just read, have a talk in coffee shop, and continue the life routine as normal. We forget things very fast..thats including me.

And for those who dont even read Malaysia Today, these reported stuff never happens.

My hope for 2008 is to see someone somehow get this stuff reach all mass. At least every one can able to see what is the other side of the happenings.
written by asguard, January 05, 2008 01:13:03
They haven't finishes their sandiwara dramas that why they are continued it into new year for public to see and hear their stories... perhaps bedtime stories...
written by Century Patriot, January 05, 2008 01:45:06
Dear RPK, I like your style. You don't post unconfirmed info bcos it is not right and unfair but the message is delivered some how! Right? Can't be incriminated. Crafty old chap and well done. Thank you.
written by hiro, January 05, 2008 01:48:17
Happy New Year to you, RPK, may you have the best of health this year and carry on with your incredible exposes.
written by Dreamlander, January 05, 2008 05:42:55
It is fortunate that Chua Soi Lek has resigned voluntarily. If he were a Muslim, the Sharia Court will invoke a more severe punishment than merely accepting his resignation. The reputation of Islam Hadhari has been salvaged.
written by Alan Tan, January 05, 2008 19:42:57
Happy New Year to you, RPK, at least BN reputation is damaged smilies/cool.gif
written by Tengku Kaya, January 05, 2008 20:51:09
Seriously, did Soi Lek think he was Bill Clinton? At least Clinton apologized to the public, and showed remorse to his family. What did Soi Lek do? What on earth did he mean "my only mistake is checking into the same hotel and same room"; "I feel very sorry for my girlfriend"...This shows this shameless ex-minister seriously thinks he is doing the right thing and "the mistake all men would make". We'd agree that this is very personal matter, and those who have created the DVD seriously has illegally invaded privacy. HOWEVER, shouldn't we Malaysian be happy to see the true color of someone who was supposed to present the clean image of the Ministry of Health? If you have seen the video, you'd agree that if he had denied to the rock bottom, no one would believe he did it anyways. Insyallah it's God's will to punish him...Sadly, he's still been cocky and shameless about the whole situation.
written by kodoktua, January 10, 2008 16:52:40
It was very 'considerate' of you for 'not running' those stories without solid proofs, RPK. But please publish them once your sources are confirmed, ok! Personally I'm dying to konw more of them.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by alee, January 29, 2008 03:43:30
Election is imminent. We as Malaysian who love this country must do something to save this country from destruction by the corrupt politicians.

CAllING ALL READERS OF MT,let's use SMS to spread the education. We should take the important points from MT articles, condense them into SMS and send out chain SMS. We should have all all language versions. Encourage everyone to send to everyone else.

We must reach out to all Malaysians, especially the people in the kampongs and new villages !! Let's start today !! Can anyone start posting those SMS in MT so everyone can use ?