PKFZ details to be released at minister's pace PDF Print
Thursday, 10 April 2008 15:11

By ROYCE CHEAH

(STAR) PETALING JAYA: Transport Minister Datuk Ong Tee Keat refuses to be put under duress by anyone in relation to when he would reveal how the RM4.6bil soft loan to the Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) was spent.

"When I pledged to keep the public informed, I did it voluntarily. We all want to see PKFZ moving forward.

"I stand to be guided but I will not be put under duress. It will be at my own pace," he said.

Ong said he was mindful of the pressure coming from the Opposition and what Ipoh Timur MP Lim Kit Siang had been saying even up till Wednesday when Lim posed five questions about the PKFZ issue for Ong to answer.

Ong said Lim calling the PKFZ a scandal or a white elephant was equal to passing judgment on it without evidence and that Lim was taking the moral high ground by only criticising but not doing anything about the issue.

"He is entitled to his say but as a taxpayer I would be keen to know what he has been doing other than raising concerns.

"If it is in public interest - he should have lodged complaints or reports with the Anti-Corruption Agency and the police. Lim owes the public an explanation."

Ong added that it appeared as if Lim wanted the best of both worlds - with Lim reaching his own conclusion about the PKFZ while also asking for the ministry to explain.

He said his ministry would not interfere and that Lim had the liberty to try and prove that the PKFZ was really a scandal.

"When I said we are open about things, I really mean it."

Ong gave the example of PKFZ inviting both Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim and state executive councillor Teresa Kok on separate occasions.

"Khalid pledged that the state was keen to takeover - yet no proposal has been submitted - while Teresa said she wanted to bring in Chinese investors - I am still waiting."

On Monday, Ong had said that he would reveal to the public the true situation of the PKFZ with regards to how the money was spent.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by LTn, April 10, 2008 15:21:14
Aiyyaa!! Ah Ong ahhh why you still wana lie to all your fellow Malaysian.... you know what the goverment doing you still wana lick thr ass... dumb ass man you.
written by alan cheong, April 10, 2008 15:21:37
minister's pace is definitely slower than snail's pace.
molasses would be good, since even glaciers are picking up the pace.
or perhaps reincarnation(metaphoric)-for-a-few-cycles pace?
written by KwongCK, April 10, 2008 15:28:18
I used to have a regard for this Ong that is slightly higher than that of the Ong brothers which is zilt. Now these statements have completely demolished my vision of this Ong being slightly more intelligent. Or is it the MSM is so clueless to report such idiotic statements.
What is there to explain? The money has just disappeared. But hang on, he's going to explain how the money had been spent on contracts (which will not be specified)and on other expenses that he try to justify. Anyway, it's going to be another exercise to lie to the people again.
Still trying to be arrogant.
"If it is in public interest - he should have lodged complaints or reports with the Anti-Corruption Agency and the police. Lim owes the public an explanation."
"Khalid pledged that the state was keen to takeover - yet no proposal has been submitted - while Teresa said she wanted to bring in Chinese investors - I am still waiting."

Can you imagine such arrogance.
written by malaysia4malaysian, April 10, 2008 15:32:23
At his PACE, it think BN wil be wipe out of Malaysia's politics by then.

We know by defination of his pace, it means that nothing whatsoever will come out.
Better still OTK keep your mouth SHUT!! maybe we rakyat wont be so pissed offwith you.

You can continue to LICK OMNOputras' balls.
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
.we the rakyat already forseen nothing wil come out from your mouth about the truth.(I know only pubic hair will come out from your mouth as a result of licking UMNOputras' balls)

STOP being so stupid and being used by UMNOputras!
Gather whatever assets u hv now and leave the country (Go to CHINA).. cause we malaysian dont want u anymore. Now GET LOST
written by chanatak, April 10, 2008 15:33:31
Do you know how difficult it is to finally become a full Minister? A full Minister, mind you. Not a tag-you-around deputy minister! So Ong Tee Keat has to show some form of gratitude to his superiors so that he can sit there a little longer. Birds of a feather flock together. We can see he is protecting his own kind, so that sometime later he can count on another successor to protect him in turn, and so on.
written by anban, April 10, 2008 15:34:30
Ong said he was mindful of the pressure coming from the Opposition and what Ipoh Timur MP Lim Kit Siang had been saying even up till Wednesday when Lim posed five questions about the PKFZ issue for Ong to answer.

Ong said Lim calling the PKFZ a scandal or a white elephant was equal to passing judgment on it without evidence and that Lim was taking the moral high ground by only criticising but not doing anything about the issue.

"He is entitled to his say but as a taxpayer I would be keen to know what he has been doing other than raising concerns.

-----------------------------------------------------------

My dear Ong, as an Opposition MP it is LKS job to raise concerns. As a Minister of a Ruling Government its your job to answer them. Thats is why we taxpayers have elected you to do.

LKS is doing his job alright...to raise concern and to demand an answer that you owe us. Its you who have not been doing your work right.
written by Jun Jan, April 10, 2008 15:40:24
WOW! got to give credit to this guy for learning damn fast. He must have took queue from the PM's I WILL RESIGN ONE DAY...ONE FINE DAY. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by temenggong, April 10, 2008 16:19:40
Take you time Tee Keat. Better still let the incoming Pakatan minister reveal it on your behalf. Another month or so only what!!
written by bushfire, April 10, 2008 16:21:26
At his own pace? That would probably be after next GE or upon his defection to PR! Both are improbabilities?
written by riboak, April 10, 2008 16:30:24
Wah, so cool... even after a daylight robbery,... right under our noses.
written by Hakim Abdullah, April 10, 2008 16:33:44
WTF?....How arrogant are you Ong?, reveal the details first than talk about receiving proposal for take overs or investments...how stupid are you that you don't know what instigates an offer?..why are you holding a position where you don't know what you are doing?..indeed you don't know priorities, you are just a sad excuse for a minister...
written by wood, April 10, 2008 16:42:45
Datuk OTK, If you want to say something then do it quickly and do not waste other
peoples' time. If you intend to " slow talk " at your own pace, that is fine too !
You may also choose to wait another "five" years for the next election and that is fine too and perhaps during that time nobody wants to hear you anymore!!!!

If you want to do something , then do it fast or Keep Quiet ! NEXT !
written by Goliverpool, April 10, 2008 16:46:23
LKS and the RAKYAT questions the rational of the humungous investment spent on PKFZ and yet OTK gratifically with recalcitrant ego questions back ? . Hoi OTK are u a moron ! I guess u r !
written by technoboy, April 10, 2008 16:49:31
These morons needed more time to cook the numbers and story, PR version sudah keluar, the problem now is how to counter PR's version and convince the rakyat who are getting smarter by the day, susah lah, headache for Ong TK, good luck!
written by sampalee, April 10, 2008 16:50:09
Such arrogance as to let the rakyat wait at his pace[leisure]when he should try to meet the rakyat expectation by giving a reasonalble time frame or at least appeal to the rakyat patience,while as Wakil try his professional best to provide the needed answer.MCA members never learn,even after the recent trashing.
written by joejoe, April 10, 2008 17:01:20
This is the type of arrogance that we have voted against, and will continue to vote against. If the minister wants to behave this way, we'll vote out MCA altogether by PRU13. Keep up the sh*tty job!
written by cwy, April 10, 2008 17:09:00
This man from from MCA is quite trustworthy up to date.

I dont think he can expose any malpractice of those from BN
cos those corrupt people are sure to be good in concealing
their wrong doings.
written by bodohland_citizen, April 10, 2008 17:10:46
smilies/angry.gifHey Tee Keat, its our money blindly spent by the *******s elected by us you want to reveal at your own pace ? Tell you what, you liars in BN are good for nothing, crooks to the highest order !
written by babakl, April 10, 2008 17:13:12
Do ot expect much. He take his pace cos need umno, mca and others corrupt partners to cover up those glaring evidence. So, i will not even belive him on his report. If you don't belive, just hear what he coment even before he release his report. Better to read on PR work report.
written by hiro, April 10, 2008 17:20:36
Aiyoh, it's backpaddling by any other name. His pace could mean never since it's a matter of time before PR takes over.
written by densemy, April 10, 2008 17:32:20
written by taufan, April 10, 2008 17:35:23
His promise is already written in his Will. When he dies, his family will carry on with the investigation for him.

2020 will pass, we will still have nothing on this issue.
written by rayden chan, April 10, 2008 17:39:18
Aiya, RM4.6bil too big an amount le..
I think the best accountant in this world also dont know how to make the account...
Forget it lar Mr.Ong...
Just keep quite for a while, lay like a dog..and eventually pray that the people with forget about it... smilies/grin.gif
written by smalluncle, April 10, 2008 17:52:11
"I stand to be guided but I will not be put under duress. It will be at my own pace,"
Wel you need to be clear here that you have to accept being put under duress for THE EXPIRY OF YOUR OWN PACE is April 30 2008.
written by johanssm, April 10, 2008 18:07:37
There is no need for ong to be so overly arrogant to LKS just because ong is a minister.( for now)
LKS did no wrong as he represents the opposition ( for now ) and LKS have been asking the same question but without any answer/s as the previous dog i mean minister kong choy left in a puff.
And we all have been waiting like fools for any answer/s.

If is ok if ong requires more time to comes out with some answers but dont be so arrogant.
LKS did not make any aca or polis reports as we all knew the AG is also a dog.( dog ate the reports and there will be NO charge )
LKS is smart this time, from his experience lah.

Dear all , sooner or later this year , we will need to change the government.
PR commanded the majority popular votes, so the question of morality using "frogs" jumping in to PR cant be problem.
Just change the government lah please.
I cant wait to celebrate

written by POPEYE, April 10, 2008 18:11:53
Mr Ong. YOU are under scrutiny. NOT LKS. Your pace is snails pace. You yourself are taking the moral highground when you speculate on the intentions of the honorable gentleman. Please dont. I doubt your worm ridden cheese brain can possibly fathom what Honesty, Transparency, Expediency is all about.
written by Leroycharlie, April 10, 2008 18:35:55
Ong,
You are now a full Minister, take advantage of your position and open this can of worms without fear or favour, after all you are doing what rakyat is expected from you.
As long as you do what is right, come what may in the future, there is always a place for you either in BN or BR.
written by SL Chan, April 10, 2008 19:49:46
YB Ong.. It seems you still dont learn eh??
written by Commonsenses, April 10, 2008 21:25:20
Ong wat the hell are you talking about? The port shit was created by MCA minister and was disclosed by nades The sun years ago. Everybody knows the every time LKS asked in parliament about this issue Chan kong choy is nowhere to be seen. MCA reps are all full of chicken shits, that's wat the chinese think of them. Irresponsible idoits. NOw you want to take your sweet time to answer. How much longer time do you need? another 50 years. Stupid mionister.
written by malsia1206, April 10, 2008 21:29:06
The Transport Minister has to be reminded the PKFZ was created during the tenure of the Barisan Government. As such it is incumbant upon the Government to reveal and explain the details in a full transparent manner. There is no duty or obligation on LKS's part to come up with any solution because it was not his doing. If this Minister does not know where or how to draw the line who has what duty, then he has 2 options -
1. either he keeps mum or
2. if he has to say anything, make sure it makes sense.
written by joeyhuang, April 10, 2008 21:40:42
ONG TEE KEAT is starting to behave LIKE SAMY VELOO and ONG KA TING in the MAKING!
Total LET DOWN and STARTING TO TELL LIES thorough through self justification.
They way he talk is already in tune with Samy Veloo, LACK HUMILITY!!!

written by joeyhuang, April 10, 2008 21:47:30
Its Time PAKATAN OFFICIALS LEARN LEARN LEARN How to MAKE PRESS STATEMENTS and NOT shoot fro tm the HIPS!!! Teresa got lots to learn and BIG JOKE (if its true) of getting CHINA INVESTORS to come over PKFZ. I had been in industries in ASIA and started operations in CHINA for over 25 years, better THINK many times before getting The Chinese industrialists over.
written by omarkhayyam, April 10, 2008 21:47:54
good attempt ....

but no one is believing u except urself

u won't last the mile man ..... better start looking for a new job

written by artchan, April 10, 2008 22:59:55
OTK,,your own pace? my foot..i even show you my backside. You must have been warned by your political masters to shut up..after you came out like a hero..wanting to spill the story. At your own pace means at the next elections? You are not any better. You are just a minister to fill the MCA quota.
written by mikewang, April 10, 2008 23:19:35
"He is entitled to his say but as a taxpayer I would be keen to know what he has been doing other than raising concerns..."

Stupid MCA minister.
Firstly it's the past MCA minister which got the government in such a situation.
Secondly Mr Lim KS is an opposition politician at the federal level. It is his job to raise concern. Malaysia pays him to raise concern.
If you want him to do something other than raising concern, you resign from you job, get AAB to surrender the federal government to PR and make Lim KS the Minister of Transport.

Then only you have the ground to ask him to do more than raising concern.
written by mykantree, April 10, 2008 23:54:27
That's a pretty pretty lame excuse to give -to tell the truth.That only mean one thing. We're not going the truth out of this prostitute Otak Tak Kena fella.Nothing changes.
written by karyeowl, April 10, 2008 23:57:30

I guess the reasons are not being vetted by UMNO, so that YB Ong can't reveal just yet.

UMNO must approved the "official" reasoning, before releasing to the rakyat.

What a great suckers, WE MALAYSIAN! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif