Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar to mark end of political exile with rally

Anwar to mark end of political exile with rally PDF Print
Thursday, 10 April 2008 15:07

(STAR) KUALA LUMPUR: Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) is organising a "people's rally" at 8pm on April 14 at the Kelab Sultan Sulaiman in Kampung Baru here to mark the final day of party adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's exile from active politics.

Anwar is expected to speak on his role in PKR as well as the future of the party at the event, said PKR vice-president Mohd Azmin Ali.

"We are expecting a crowd of at least 10,000. It is a private club owned by the state of Selangor, so we do not have to apply for a police permit to hold a private function," Azmin said.

Anwar was convicted of corruption and abuse of power in 1999, and under Malaysian law was barred from politics until April 14, 2008.

written by picadilly, April 10, 2008 15:22:10
HAIL Anwar! Next PM of Malaysia!!!
written by farah, April 10, 2008 15:29:20
Welcome to RAKYATS DSAI!. We should expect more than 10,000 and we should make it happen. BN UMNO, it's time to tighten-up your seat belt!

DSAI, my humble request, your 1st priority : Show the BN UMNO what is all about Human Rigts. Abolish ISA and get release ALL detainees of ISA. 2nd chase off one by one Badawi Team. 3rd listen to the VOICES of RAKYAT the much awaited RAKYATS for you PRESENCE AT BR.
written by malsia1206, April 10, 2008 15:40:27
Not necessarily a paticularly good idea. Anwar should make his grand entrance in a low key manner and from there create a tsunami. Instead we all know a tsunami coming in strong at the beginning would end up with mere ripples only. So use the correct strategy. All pomp and splendour are the hallmarks of Barisan. Stay away from that course.
written by Chuang Tze, April 10, 2008 16:33:36

Chill out, malsia !! It's a rally, not a black tie event or dinner party.

My humble request is for DSAI to show BN/ UMNO/ MCA/ MIC/ Gerac*nt to their Opposition seats in the Dewan RAKYAT, and to wrest the Federal Govt. seats for Pakatan RAKYAT soonest possible to put an immediate stop to BN's plundering of Malaysia. We need to badly staunch this free flow of the RAKYAT's blood, and bind all the deep open wounds that the Barisan Najis has inflicted on Malaysia and its RAKYAT !!

Once PR has taken over the Govt., work towards a 2/3 majority (if you can achieve a 2/3 majority in 1 fell stroke, so much the better !!), and pass all the amendments necessary to the Constitution to get rid of the ISA (human rights violation monstrosity), PPPA (muzzle for free press), Seditions Act (muzzle for free speech), free all ISA detainees, re-vamp the Election Commission and re-designate the voting territories in a fair manner, install a Judicial Commission with the highest integrity to pick the best Judges to helm the Judiciary, set up an Ombudsman for basic human rights, end apartheid by ending the NEP in its present form and start the Malaysian Economic Agenda to benefit all the RAKYAT ... not asking for much, I am not !!!

Then, once all the infrastructure for a civil and truly democratic society is in place, we should then hound the plunderers and take back what is rightly the RAKYAT's. Enact Laws that will place these despots behind bars, if necessary, and getting Interpol to arrest them overseas (those that have run away), and getting the best financial minds to track down all that they own that should be returned to Malaysia.

Not much to do surely, DSAI, a walk in the park for a man of your accomplishments !! Let's Do It !! If you commit to all these, I will volunteer to assist !!

written by FFT, April 10, 2008 16:38:48
Beware of Mahathir's and Mukhriz's supporters, who have already demonstrated their capacity for mindless violence (oh the irony! he who heads the Perdana Peace Forum), and neo-Nazi gestapo tactics for silencing their opponents, as detailed here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irkV3UwpMhg

Any misbehavior by Mahathir, or his stormtroopers, should be dealt with by throwing Mahathir into the ISA.
written by technoboy, April 10, 2008 16:55:57
GOD is great, you are still in one piece and kicking around, AAB might have forgotten you and to TDM the moment of truth is fast arriving and his wish that your dream to be PM will remain a dream forever shall be shattered soon. For those UMNO morons who feared your return, the day of reckoning is around the corner. The wrong must be right and we hope you would take the lead to start changing the rotten system and culture brought about by BN government over the last 50 years.
written by Nick Chong, April 10, 2008 17:02:44
Malaysian have waited for this moment long ago, is time the refomasi take charge. Reform for the benefit of ALL MALAYSIAN. Show BN how to run the country.
written by bikerzon, April 10, 2008 17:04:49
Leader by example. If we have a good leader, then I'm sure that the Cabinet, all the ministers will propagate the correct message to all their subordinates. But if the leader are corrupt, well, I rest my case then.

Be a good leader and think of all the rakyat.
written by rpkfan, April 10, 2008 17:10:42
Anwar, you are most welcome back to politics after the best drama set up by TDM who is the great grand father of evil. You should never even go near to this evil as his brains are full with evil cells.

Work had to bring up the PR coalition, just like the leader in PKR, DAP & PAS are doing. Serve the nation well.

There are many evils to be eliminated from BN, please stay strong and we will support you forever.

From, Steve
written by singam, April 10, 2008 17:18:28
April 14 is the Tamil New Year. Many other societies (Thai - Songkran, Sikh - Vasakhi etc) also celebrate this event when the earth completes an orbit around the sun. It is taken as a reset point.

Astrologers believe that the birth of a New Year is often accompanied by some significant transition event in one's life. It looks like, finally, Anwar's bad times are over.

Of course, if astrology is all BS, then this is merely an insignificant coincidence of events.
written by Kcc, April 10, 2008 17:27:31
Gee... i don't think a rally is necessary, Sdr. Anwar. We welcome you back with open arms, but for security reasons, and to avoid any backwash effect as a result of the rally, it's wise to join the pack silently. Perhaps a news conference to all supporters would suffice.

So, no rallies, pls. Show BN that we're more mature by NOT having rallies.
written by malaysia4malaysian, April 10, 2008 17:50:30
DSAI is back!!!.. Barisan Najis BEWARE. We see a new government in the making.

Personally I there will be like 100, 000 people attending the rally. People will go out to show support for DSAI and in way to show Barisan Najis the r obsolete.

The rakyats wants change!.. we want BN out!.. we want PR to be goverment.

DSAI can be our next PM, i'm sure he wil do much better than sleepy head and Barisan Najis.
written by Harbinger, April 10, 2008 18:29:10
I wish you good luck but I agree with koo.So soon after the elections too.The results speak for itself.This rally is totally unnecessary
written by omarkhayyam, April 10, 2008 21:01:24
well .... u deserve this "reincarnation" after all we owe it to you

written by Kyle, April 10, 2008 21:17:45
It is a private club owned by the state of Selangor, so we do not have to apply for a police permit to hold a private function," Azmin said.

Ha ha ha .......
Welcome back, Mr Anwar.
Hope you'll be fair to all Malaysians !
Together, PR will be better than BN !
written by ahmisk, April 10, 2008 21:36:49
10 years ago I was in Masjid Negara to be part of Anwar's protests.

10 years ago I was at a DAP rally to support the jailed Lim Guan Eng.

I have been waiting 10 YEARS for this moment and my heart is in my throat.

I am happy beyond words.
written by temenggong, April 10, 2008 22:20:37
What street (IOW, WTF) is the Sultan Sulaiman Club in? Got parking, ah?
written by Countach, April 11, 2008 00:25:52
Anwar, after the Rally, please order Mahathir and Mukhriz to sweep the floor of the stadium as a form of punishment for putting you in Jail.

written by mykantree, April 11, 2008 00:38:24
Hey KLites and people nearby, BE THERE OR BE SQUARE.
written by talkingback79, April 11, 2008 02:00:08
Now that Mukhriz is in the political scene, the old familiar classic Mahathirian ball game will be flagged off. He will create fear among the common Malay that Anwar will 'colonise' this and that and this.....
As I see it, UMNO's condition is his doing over the years. He bred those cut throats and opened the cash till for them to take as much as they liked during his days.
written by renoir, April 11, 2008 03:10:31
Will try to make the crowd just to celebrate the event, though I'm not a PKR member.