Magic, sheer magic PDF Print
Wednesday, 09 April 2008 17:51

Last Sunday, Umno organised an assembly at its headquarters in the PWTC. More than 1,000 ‘top division leaders’ were said to have attended this assembly that was called to conduct a postmortem on Umno’s and Barisan Nasional’s poor showing in the recent general election.

Well, the entire ‘gathering’ was actually a smoke-and-mirrors stunt meant to create an impression that everything is under control and that Umno has still got its act together. The man who engineered the ‘show’ is none other than Muhammad son of Muhammad. Does that now answer your question as to why in heaven’s name Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would want to recycle ‘damaged goods’ and bring him back into the party and then give him the most important job in the party, that of Information Chief?

The man with two Muhammad’s in his name is actually very good at performing magic tricks. In fact, he is better than even Houdini and David Copperfield. These two can only make pigeons and Boeings disappear. The man with two Muhammad’s in his name can make billions of Ringgit and millions of acres of state land disappear. If that does not make him the magician of the millennium then I don’t know what will.

Muhammad son of Muhammad’s other clever trick is to steal the Sultan of Selangor’s daughter from under the very nose of His Highness and then look the Sultan in the eyes and innocently proclaim that the ‘rumours’ are malicious and are being spun by his enemies to discredit him.  Of course, when he paid off the Sultan’s daughter with a RM12 million cheque as divorce settlement, and the marriage certificate from Thailand mysteriously landed on His Highness’ lap, Muhammad son of Muhammad did not panic like you and me would have. He just coolly wrote the Sultan a letter and put the blame entirely on Allah.

Now, who but someone as clever as Muhammad son of Muhammad would be able to commit a crime and then shift the blame to God? Of course, the Sultan did not dare pick a fight with or scold God. So His Highness let the whole thing pass -- though His Highness was not exactly too pleased about the whole matter. To lepas geram, His Highness showed the Prime Minister the RM12 million cheque and demanded that the Menteri Besar be removed and replaced.

Yes, Muhammad son of Muhammad is more than just a magician. He is a wizard as well. When he got caught leaving Australia with millions in cash, he just innocently looked the judge in the eye and said, “No speakee Inglish,” and the judge let him go home without having to spend any time in jail.

Make no bones about it. If there is one man who can perform tricks that would be the man with two Muhammad’s in his name. When he resigned his teaching post to contest the general election, the government sent him a claim for RM80,000, which he had to pay for breaching the terms of his employment contract. You and I would have panicked. But Muhammad son of Muhammad managed to get the government to exempt him from paying back even one Sen. Then he went on to become Menteri Besar of Selangor and made RM80,000 per minute for many, many years till the day he retired.

Yes, this is that special person who organised the assembly of 1,000 Umno division and information heads who were not even Umno members. And he managed to get Umno, Barisan Nasional, the media, and the entire country to believe that the assembly really took place. But one thing this man did not anticipate is that Malaysia Today has spies everywhere and what our spies reported was a far departure from what actually was. And get a load of this report from our spy who had me rolling on the floor laughing when he told me the story of the so-called assembly of 1,000 Umno leaders last Sunday.

Dear Raja Petra Kamarudin,

Abdullah Badawi and Muhammad son of Muhammad claimed that they had a gathering of over 1,000 party members at the PWTC on Sunday, comprising mostly of Ketua Penerangan Bahagian (Divisional Information folks) and Ketua Bahagian. Here is a report from The Star:

"Several Umno leaders have welcomed Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s frank explanation on issues affecting Barisan Nasional and Umno’s poor showing in the general election. Umno Information chief Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib said the party president had given a comprehensive speech touching on all factors that caused losses in certain parliamentary and state constituencies.

“With the sincere explanation by the party president we can understand the main factors which caused the losses in certain areas and the steps that should be carried out by Umno,” he said after the closed-door briefing session by Abdullah to at least 1,000 grassroots leaders at PWTC here yesterday.  Umno supreme council member Datuk Khaled Nordin said Abdullah had given a clear explanation about the position of the party and the problems it faced."

Or so it might seem. The purpose of the gathering was to conduct a postmortem on the worst electoral performance by UMNO since 1955. But there are only 193 UMNO Divisions yielding 386 Ketua Bahagian and Ketua Penerangan. Who were the remaining 600 plus attendees?

Well, first of all there were very few Ketua Bahagian or UMNO MPs in attendance. Rafidah was not there, Mukhriz was not there. And neither were Tengku Razaleigh and about 170 other Ketua Bahagian. They were all just not there. There were only a handful of Ketua Bahagian like Idris Jusoh, Shahidan Kassim, Tajol Rosli, Mustapa Mohamad, Najib, and a few others.

Please see this picture:

http://thestar.com.my/archives/2008/4/7/nation/n_4tajol.jpg

So who were those in attendance? I really don’t know. But there were many teenaged girls there. You can see some of the teenagers in this picture in The Star:

http://thestar.com.my/archives/2008/4/7/nation/n_6umno.jpg

They were definitely not Ketua Bahagian or Ketua Penerangan Bahagian or any kind of grassroots leaders. Look at the four women in the first row of this picture. The first two girls from the left were some of the teenagers who did not seem to know where they were or what they were doing. There were many women, like the woman in the blue  blouse, who looked like they were forced to sacrifice their Sunday shopping to attend this gathering. Dear Raja Petra, this gathering was staged. It was a fake. It was not a gathering of 1,000 UMNO grassroots leaders for the purpose of conducting any postmortem.

The bulk of the 1,000 people were just props (actors or extras) -- possibly Civil Servants, ordinary UMNO members and Puteri representatives -- who were given some pocket money to attend so that they could fill up the seats at the PWTC. They may not even have been UMNO members -- the teenaged girls all looked like students. Being an UMNO member let me tell you that bussing people to make the numbers at events is typically UMNO.

Then, the next day, all the mainstream papers carried Badawi’s 'blustering' accusations in his speech to the gathering. It came across that Badawi had had some vitamin booster shots or had consumed steroids laced with Viagra (or vice versa). But the fact is Abdullah was NOT addressing the gathering. If you look at the picture here, you can see that Badawi is not talking to the gathering of 1,000 people. Najib is standing behind him 

http://thestar.com.my/archives/2008/4/7/nation/n_p1paklah.jpg

This was Badawi speaking to the Press after the gathering was over and done with. During the meeting, there were some hecklers who booed Muhammad son of Muhammad and who was actually the main speaker. Badawi took the stage and mumbled his way through. Then, most strange for an election postmortem, Muhammad son of Muhammad said no questions were allowed. People booed again. So Muhammad son of Muhammad asked for a vote by show of hands and, as can be expected, Muhammad son of Muhammad said the nays outvoted the ayes so was no need for the Q&A.

Umno has suffered the worst losses since 1955 yet no questions were allowed. And they call this a postmortem.

Badawi had earlier said he would convene an independent committee to study why the ruling coalition performed so badly. Well, nothing has been heard about this independent committee since. Then Badawi said that the BN lost the cyber war and that is why they lost so many votes. Well, since Badawi has identified the reason for their losses, does this mean that there is no longer any need for the independent committee?

Then Badawi said Dr Mahathir is the one to blame for Barisan Nasional’s poor performance in the recant general election -- and so were Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar Ibrahim. Since Anwar is already an Opposition figure, I am surprised that he did not include Lim Kit Siang, Wan Azizah, Nik Aziz, PAS, DAP and PKR. He also said that UMNO saboteurs are the reason why UMNO lost 14 Parliamentary seats and 22 State seats.

This means that the independent committee will not be formed after all. Badawi has already successfully identified all the reasons for their debacle. Even if the committee is formed, its job will be just to confirm what Badawi has already said. I can’t imagine the independent committee studying the reason for the BN losses and saying something different from Badawi. That would make Badawi look like an idiot, again.

When the Press asked Badawi how he would punish these mysterious saboteurs, he stumbled again. He seemed like he never expected this question. Muhammad son of Muhammad said they would think about that later as they need to handle matters 'one at a time'.

Najib says, since there were no official complaints of saboteurs, no action could be taken.

Badawi must explain why he thinks there are so many saboteurs in the party, which caused the loss of 14 Parliamentary and 22 State seats. Even during the 1987 Team A and Team B crisis, when Badawi joined Tengku Razaleigh, there were not this many saboteurs. When Anwar was fired in 1998 there were only saboteurs in Permatang Pauh.

I don’t know what else to say. The party is being led by an incompetent leader and the party appears frozen in concrete and is not able to do anything about it.

Comments (54)Add Comment
written by crusaderofrock, April 09, 2008 17:56:33
Again, an informative piece, dissecting issues, dispelling myths and exposing inconsistencies. Syabas! Always an eye-opener.
agree 188
written by East Highlander, April 09, 2008 18:02:16
I dont know what had me laughing more - the US of A's fake lunar landing or this fake UMNO gathering. smilies/grin.gif
written by malaysianohope, April 09, 2008 18:11:14
"Magic, magic on the wall who is the idiot who tried to hookwink the public???"

Woo Wee!!!!!

Its M & M!!

You know, the one and the only one who pulled a magic on the Sultan of Selangor!

Abang Pete, think you should give up on Barisan's (of clowns)pro bono arrangement.
written by Democrats, April 09, 2008 18:18:09
MM2 can become the greatest magician by disappearing from the face of this planet permenantly. Preferably, he can do this act together with Pak Lah, KJ, Hishamuddin, Najib, Nazri and gang. Or even better, make the UMNO building and PWTC disappear with all the people there gathered at the same this.
written by defendermalaysia, April 09, 2008 18:19:14
So that is the reason why we should not read any news in the newspaper media. All that is written on the newspaper are all lies. Please tell ABB not to engage any independent serveyor to ask what is the reason for Bn to loose so badly in the recent GE.Just sent anybody to any teh tarik stall and interview any people there as why they vote against BN. That is the real story and fact if you want to know the truth. Unfortunately until now UMNO still did not want to listen the truth from the ordinary people but instead put the blame on TDM. No problem in the next GE, AAB will bring the complete BN to Holland, that is the land of no return.
written by malsia1206, April 09, 2008 18:20:29
This clown with 2 Muhammads in his name is giving us the humour. We need this humour now and then for the indigestion caused from reading all the other serious atricles appearing in MT. This Muhammad- is he a bird? Is he a plane? Goodness no, he's the superclown of UMNO. Ooops, I mean he's the superclown of the main component Party that is supposed to represent the Malaysian Government. With this Muhammad around, who needs Mr. Bean or Dolly Parton around to cheer us up?
written by joejoe, April 09, 2008 18:22:08
Great article Pete !

Btw, did everyone not hear Najib say the next day that the news of the sabotage were only "hearsay" , and asked the people to submit evidence? Ha ha .. Can't even make up believable stories.
written by Anti Jihadist, April 09, 2008 18:33:06
A brilliant dissertation of UMNO's usual smoke-and-mirror, 'pay no heed to the man behind the curtain' antics. It'd be hilarious if it weren't so spot-on accurate, not to mention damaging to the rakyat. For the party that's dominated Malaysian politics for so many decades, they act like a bunch of village idiots coming to the big city for the first time. Maybe that metaphor is an unfair comparison to village idiots, who can only harm themselves, while UMNO can and does harm the well-being of everyone in the country. How have these people managed to cling to power for so long?

Perhaps the real question that should be asked is, not why UMNO got a shellacking at the polls last month, but why that didn't happen years earlier.

Celine Dion is coming to town next weekend. When you watch her perform, even if you're not musically inclined, you at least know you're in the presence of greatness, someone who is very very good at her chosen profession. Watching UMNO perform like they did at PWTC is the political equivalent of a failed act being done for a high school talent show.

Other than the distilled pure corruption of Mohammed Squared, a charlatan and thief of nonpareil skill, UMNO is a club for buffoons.
written by Thomas47, April 09, 2008 18:42:22

Bravo! Hope to see more of this type of expose in the future.
written by Heikal, April 09, 2008 18:45:45
Even if they dont have people paid to fill seats at UMNO gathering, and there is no people there, do not be fooled, there are people there, they are phantom voters.
written by miracle, April 09, 2008 18:46:05
"the drama minggu ini" happened again ... they should be at bollywood... or "ummnowood" far far away from using the rakyat $$ to hire extras to be in their "stupid" show...

written by bikerzon, April 09, 2008 19:02:31
Dear all,

I didn't even read thru the article above when I posted this comments : Its magical!!!

There were many women, like the woman in the blue blouse, who looked like they were forced to sacrifice their Sunday shopping to attend this gathering.

I laughed myself out... this is too funny...
written by bikerzon, April 09, 2008 19:06:21
That would make Badawi look like an idiot, again.

This article is the funniest... now that i read thru it all... my god... i'm gonna post it in my blog

http://new-dawn-malaysia.********.com
written by bumi non malay, April 09, 2008 19:07:14
Shall we categorise MM2 as also "Well Born, Intelligent and gentle".....on par with Hisap..... I still cannot get over this statement....super!!ROFL

Perhaps we need to give M2 movie Director Role....not easy managing extras, actors, supporting actors, script to follow.

Spielberg of ASIA...."Lihatlah Dunia"...remember Arzean Irdawaty....Anugerah Actress Malaysia...Lihatlah Dunia......

I am actually curious what is the punishment in Islam for having a baby Luar Nikah(Khalwat) like Dodi and Diana and can Malaysia Syriah Law be back dated with all the evidence to convict someone? Surely with Selangor in Coalition hands, can they direct Syriah Enfocer to act upon M2? Takut? Good one to use when coalition in disarray and needing some distraction smoke screen!! Who gets punished, male, female or both or just fine $$ & Jail! or None since it is history??

Care to explain someone??
written by deekay, April 09, 2008 19:16:11
Mulut cakap "reform"
tapi Otak tak nak conform.
Tangan sign itu form
untuk menggaji pelakon perform.
Kalau dia tak nak inform
bahawa parti sudah deform
bagus juga bagi dia tidur selamanya dengan kloroform
kerana PR akan mengambil-alih dan reform.
untuk menjadi negara dalam top form

written by Chuang Tze, April 09, 2008 19:29:31
Looks like Bodohwi is at the end of his tether to try such a stunt to try to fool his fellow UMNO colleagues and BN compatriots ! Only a totally uninformed idiot who has no access to the Internet or SMSes will fall for such a sandiwara !! It is a real sorry situation when Bodohwi and his cohorts of Najis, M&M all think so lowly of their UMNO brethen, and actually believe that such a desperate trick will fool anyone at all ... so pitiful, this SleepyHead - C4 Najis leadershit !!

How can Malaysia prosper when idiots such as these abound in the leadership of the country ?!! There is only ONE solution ... get rid of them, and the cancer that is the Barisan Najis personified !!

Pakatan RAKYAT for the Govt. and Anwar for PM !!

written by BennyG, April 09, 2008 20:01:42
All the top division leaders that did not turn up were saboteurs since they no longer support BODOWI.

That means only 23 division leaders out of 193 supported BODOWI. If I were you, I'd resign before not only people are calling you stupid but also total shameless.
written by Knight, April 09, 2008 20:47:00
I think even in UMNO gatherings, they have the concept of phantom voters...
written by mikewang, April 09, 2008 21:09:06
The worst outcome of lying is that the liar believes his own lies if they are told often enough.
written by JustinCH, April 09, 2008 21:34:18
This piece is amazingly informative. I really do hope you produce more of this, RPK.

And not just about BN, but also about the Pakatan Rakyat, and what they're really up to. All this is getting so interesting, it's no wonder everyone is bitching about his/her political views.

This article gives you the guilty pleasure of reading tabloids, but at least this time we all have the excuse that "it affects our lives"!

Well done, RPK!
written by Concon, April 09, 2008 21:50:20
He already make a fool of himself the night in Penang Riffle Range Flats. The resisdence is having a good time enjoying the magic show performance. Now the whole country could enjoy the show too. This is too much for the rakyat to stomach. I am praying that Mr. PM DSAI could just take over leadership now. NOW.
A new dawn.
written by harrbm, April 09, 2008 22:11:50
>
>
M son of M . . . he he always makes me smile.
Hilarious.....

anyway, please release YB Manoharan now.

>
written by Loong, April 09, 2008 22:31:51
Look at how Najib stares at Bodowi, really SCARYYYY. Hahaha!! smilies/grin.gif
written by trublumalaysian, April 09, 2008 22:46:30
No matter what; i still do catch up with NST after dinner as, after all ..... even as an adult/parent, I still do need to read fairy-tales b4 i submit myself to slumber ... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz ....
written by Milo, April 09, 2008 22:46:45
From 2 "Ms", he is now promoted to 4 "Ms" by our PM.

Minister (M) of Mis-information (M) Mohammed (M) son of Mohammed (M). And the 5 "M" will be conferred soon when he behaves like a Monkey.
written by Hope4all, April 09, 2008 22:51:04
Some people would just do anything to stay in power. What kind of a people's leader is that?
written by Milo, April 09, 2008 22:51:10
Badawi must explain why he thinks there are so many saboteurs in the party, which caused the loss of 14 Parliamentary and 22 State seats. Even during the 1987 Team A and Team B crisis, when Badawi joined Tengku Razaleigh, there were not this many saboteurs. When Anwar was fired in 1998 there were only saboteurs in Permatang Pauh.
----------------------------------------------

If BN can create phantom voters, what is so difficult for them to create phantom saboteurs?
written by cheekhiaw, April 09, 2008 22:57:32
LOYAL COMMISSION OF INQUIRY

If a Royal Commission of Inquiry like that into the Lingam case and supposedly to represent the highest independent power of the land can be made into a farce, is such a farcical Loyal Commission of Inquiry led by a double prophet of lies a surprise to us?

written by azfamy, April 09, 2008 23:39:45
No matter what; i still do catch up with NST after dinner as, after all ..... even as an adult/parent, I still do need to read fairy-tales b4 i submit myself to slumber ... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz ....

Yeah me too, luckily we have malaysia-today to check which of them are fairy-tales smilies/cheesy.gif
written by andywongkch, April 09, 2008 23:59:13
folks, this has been the UMNo tactical culture to LIE and DECEIVE commoners as they wish. And perhaps, NONE in UMNO can think of better way to do a REAL post-mortem.
written by Windchime, April 10, 2008 00:10:55

I thank you and your spies for giving us this remarkable story! And shame on the mainstream media yet again for trying to create this smokescreen.

Yes indeed, this Mike Tyson is definitely a better magician than D. Copperfield or whatever! He is stupid enough to convince himself and those bunch of has-beens and the sleepyhead that everything is cool when it actually is not. It is just pathetic. Well, the more they carry on with these kind of charade, the bigger and deeper the hole they are digging for themselves! What a bunch of losers!
written by tsuchong, April 10, 2008 00:19:17
M son of M is officially my favourite comedian now. He overtook Nazri.
written by trublumalaysian, April 10, 2008 00:29:54
Well, it's decided then. M son of M is now officially, THE VILLAGE IDIOT. Move over Nazri, this should please you as, the official list of M'sian morons has just been extended due to popular demand.
written by lampard, April 10, 2008 03:10:31
Wow, Malaysian politics are catching up with the Americans, except the actors and actresses will definitely not qualify for Oscar nomination! Badawi and Mohd Taib must be watching and mimicking farenheit 911!!
Steady lah...
written by doggone, April 10, 2008 03:43:59
There is no magician the equal of Badawi himself.

For a 'magician' who can fool himself ( into thinking that he has fulfilled the promises he made and have the audacity to think that the rakyat still loves him ) is the greatest magician of all.

written by Areyaar, April 10, 2008 03:45:04
Oh gawd! How sickeningly pathetic! That he would resort to play-acting and bogus meetings shows just how desperately weak and delusional he and his equally feeble and delusional lackeys are.

Ofcourse, even after admitting that he was unable to defeat the internet for going against him, he chooses to forget how the same internet will be used to spread word of his latest folly. So much desperation as they try this way and that to make it appear that they are still in demand! Sad, sad, sad, sad. Instead of retiring with atleast some shred of dignity, it seems they want to be completely stripped of it.
written by educationist, April 10, 2008 05:26:41
If UMNO members allow themselves ro be led to the gallows who are we to complain.
The only sad thing is that these are the people holding the reins of power in our country.
written by NickChan, April 10, 2008 09:13:44
hey i don't see an "Mkini" microphone when badawi is giving press conference!
written by ahmadnavi, April 10, 2008 10:46:12
You are so right RPK. If they had been UMNO leaders, they would have been in all their finery, most conspicous is that none of the ladies are in their reds and whites, their usual show of power.
They are probably from MMs kampong, bused here for the purpose.
written by mahkota, April 10, 2008 13:03:27
If many actual 'top division leaders' were not present, won't they know that this gathering was fake? So, this attempt to hoodwink is targetted to whom? Non-Umno members? What's the point? We, non-umno members, don't have a say if stays on as the PM!
written by Su Dhanoa, April 10, 2008 14:40:02
What a joke. Anyway it is too good to be true!! Was feeling down today, but this review really gave me a very good, good laugh. Award winning performance. Does not ABB/M2's act/performance alway involve in billions of $$$$? Nothing suprising. The only sad thing that the longer these goons are left in the office, more disaster is spealt for the country.
written by chaiksyn, April 10, 2008 15:34:25
Dollah performed magic show ..kot..that's why ramai teenager!!!
written by edmean, April 10, 2008 16:58:30
"Dollah performed magic show ..kot..that's why ramai teenager!!! "

Dollah is incapable of doing that I supposed. if he really did that, then I'd say he was replaced by a brand new man from the sky because, all I know is he was not more that a joker, or if I may, a modernized Pak Pandir. and that was not a compliment, Dollah, if you are reading this.
written by The One, April 10, 2008 17:08:28
Thank you Raja Petra!
written by Intoxicat, April 10, 2008 17:37:58
If anyone still has any doubt, it is now proven beyond any reasonable doubt and there is no longer any doubt!
written by ahmadbadrul40, April 10, 2008 19:56:59
What can you say? Mahathir hate people who are smarter than him while he was in power, so he promoted donkeys and monkeys to the power. And until this day, the UMNO leaders are stupid than stupid and are leading the Malays down the drain.
written by tamanani, April 10, 2008 22:53:39
I used to go to school in front of PWTC behind maxwell from 1986 to 1990. I guess i know this extras-and-props business too well..

The only thing i cant seem to remember was why i was there in the PWTC halls so often. Ah yes.. at one time it was tilawah. the other time was a perhimpunan of some sort and we, the school orchestra, which I was in, had to perform. I remember that was the first time I saw Dr Mahathir. I also remember being an audience for a few more perhimpunan in PWTC. In that dewan merdeka i think. I remember I enjoyed the food at tea break. I was so mesmerized by the soft music that came out of the ceiling. So cool, i thought.

Somehow my memory of those days are rather scanty. There seem to be limited space in my brain. when i push in new informations, the old ones seem to seep out, much to my despair.

I guess i could have been one of the clueless girls that had appeared in the star.
written by Don Corleone, April 11, 2008 04:56:52
Badawi actually thinks he got a strong mandate from the people, so let's just let it be. Let the 4th floor boys tell the emperor that he has fine clothes on.
written by AT2008, April 11, 2008 19:32:09
YM Raja Petra, no wonder you like your 'job' so well, you get stories that keep you rolling on the floor everyday. smilies/cheesy.gif

Not a surprise, it showed how 'clever' the double M and AAB are. smilies/smiley.gif I enjoy the pieace!
written by teohchye, April 12, 2008 00:09:14
"The man with two Muhammad’s in his name is actually very good at performing magic tricks." I think the biggest magician is still Idiot himself; he just closes his eyes (and goes to sleep as usual) and the whole country disappears.
written by Bennyloh, April 12, 2008 08:25:47
So many saboteurs..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...usion.html
written by anallu, April 12, 2008 14:18:12

The information you have obtained through your intelligence agents seems to show that UMNO has reached its nadir of popularity and has to resort "rent a crowd" for its meetings! UMNO being more than 50 years old is naturally reaching a state of degeneration like most other political parties in many parts of the world. No political party remained in power in perpetuity anywhere in the world.

written by Lim Lim, April 12, 2008 16:29:24
how the hell he could get hold of rm 12million to pay off his hoowink marriage??n he got off scotfree with that kind of evidence??why didn't mahathir do the right thing then?but he is making all the "vocals" nowadays?sailing in same boat 'korek' the same hole then??well,this is the question!!
written by bugisman, April 13, 2008 04:22:04
hahaha.....wayang kulit! cucuk once bocor!

hmm...what happen to their advertising agency? public relation agency? event & roadshow agency? they should sack them too...ops...patrick's punya? hmm...ok..simpan aja....for as long as you wish.