Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Come hell or high water

Come hell or high water PDF Print
Wednesday, 09 April 2008 15:13

Will we emulate the Kelantanese, come hell or high water? Or will we do what the Terengganu people did: give the state back to Barisan Nasional after just one term because tak boleh tahan takde pembangunan?

My good friend, Zaharin Yasin of Sang Kelembai, has ‘crossed over to the other side’. No, I don’t mean he is now a devil-worshiper or has joined a satanic cult. He has joined the ranks of the Abdullah Ahmad Badawi hand-kissing brigade -- literally as well as figure of speech.

That does not mean Zaharin is no longer my friend. I have many friends in Umno, MCA, MIC, PPP, etc., some of them leaders of these parties. But as long as we share a common vision and mission, then we can share the same political ‘platform’. And even if we don’t share a common vision and mission that still does not make us enemies.

Understandably, many in the opposition ranks, as can be demonstrated by the comments in Malaysia Today’s blogs, do not share these same sentiments. You are either with me or you are against me, will be the view they hold. And that is the main thing that is wrong with this world in general and Malaysia in particular.

If I believe in Muhammad, and you in Jesus, Moses, Buddha, Sai Baba, or whatever, does that make me your enemy or you mine? We scream about religious ‘tolerance’, although I for the life of me do not really understand why we need to ‘tolerate’ one another just because we believe in ‘different Gods’. Furthermore, Islam and most of the main religions believe that there is only One God, so this means we can’t be having different Gods to start of with.

Anyway, whether ‘different Gods’ and ‘tolerance are the politically-correct words to use or not, one thing that is clear is that we are diverse in religious beliefs and we have agreed to disagree when it comes to religion. And the same appears to be emerging for diversity of race as well, as the recent general election has proven.

Okay, religion and race are certainly very difficult and sensitive issues to grapple with. But we appear to be making inroads in bridging that divide and in reducing the very dangerous chasm. That is a sign of maturity and proof of Malaysians coming of age. But the political ‘tolerance’ still eludes us and I have personally witnessed husbands and wives getting divorced and fathers disowning their sons because of differences in political leaning.

Let us get one thing very clear. We, Pakatan Rakyat, are not the government. It is true we rule five states, but we are still not the government. The government is Barisan Nasional. Even in Kuala Lumpur, where Pakatan Rakyat ‘owns’ ten of the 11 Parliament seats, it is Barisan Nasional that decides and we are powerless to even collect the rubbish if the government refuses to send the trucks round to empty the dustbins.

When Bush won the US Presidency, he appointed his ‘mortal enemy’, Senator McCain, as the Chairman of the International Republican Institute (IRI). In Malaysia, ‘Bush’ would have jailed ‘McCain’ on trumped-up charges of sodomy. Awhile back in Australia, ‘Barisan Nasional’ formed the federal government while every single state was under opposition control. Things worked out very well and none of the states suffered sabotage by the federal government.

That is what we call political maturity but this political maturity is absent in Malaysia. In Malaysia’s case, the federal government is currently going all out to sabotage the five state governments so that, in about six months or so from now, Barisan Nasional can grab back the states, in particular Penang, Perak and Selangor.

We must understand that all the states are running at a deficit. None of the states are self-sufficient and all depend on federal government funding. If these funds are not forthcoming, then expect the states to fall within six months, as predicted by Barisan Nasional. And this is a promise, not a threat.

Barisan Nasional is not having wet dreams or fantasizing. They know what they are talking about. Pakatan Rakyat is in control of the steering wheel but the car has only a gallon of petrol and soon it will run out of fuel. And rest assured Pakatan Rakyat will be denied petrol, which is under the control of Barisan Nasional. How, therefore, do we continue with our journey once the car is stalled beside the road with a totally empty fuel tank?

That is the crux of the matter. To add to Pakatan Rakyat’s problems, all the members of the government such as ketua kampong, JKKK, etc., are being told to resign en bloc. This will not only cripple the government right down to the grassroots, but even if the state governments replace all these people there would be a serious continuity problem and it would take a long time for them to pick up the pieces. And that fact that the offices have been stripped off everything, including computers, furniture and fittings, means that picking up the pieces will be like looking for a needle in a haystack.

Yes, the great sabotage has begun. They are now also looking at the ‘Terengganu Wang Ehsan’ model to implement in all states. This would mean federal funds would bypass the state and end up in the hands of the de facto Menteri Besar or Chief Minister like what happened in Kelantan in 1990 and Terengganu in 2000.

The federal government has 18 years experience doing this so they know exactly how to do it. The Rakyat of Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor can only stand by helplessly and watch their money go straight into the pockets of the ‘shadow government’ like how the Kelantanese have been doing since 1990 (into Anuar Musa’s pocket) and the Terengganians since 2000 (into Idris Jusoh’s pocket -- and which is still going on in spite of Terengganu falling back to Barisan Nasional in 2004).

There are two ways to solve this. One would be for Pakatan Rakyat to form the federal government. To do this Pakatan Rakyat would need no less than 112 seats in Parliament. It currently has only 82 so it is short of 30. The second would be for an ‘agreement’ to be reached between Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional.

Of course, both options are difficult. To get another 30 Parliament seats or more would mean a few Barisan Nasional MPs would have to cross over. But will they really be crossing over or are they Pakatan Rakyat candidates ‘planted’ in Barisan Nasional to start off with (sort of like Trojan Horses)? Were these so-called Barisan Nasional candidates actually people who wanted to resign from their party before the recent general election with a view to contest the election under the opposition banner but Anwar Ibrahim told them to stay in Barisan Nasional and ‘cross-over’ later once they have won their seats?

Yes, that is certainly a most-interesting question. If they were ‘sleepers’ or Trojan Horses to start off with, then they would not be crossing-over as such. They could be considered ‘opposition candidates’ sent to infiltrate Barisan Nasional with an objective to weaken the ruling party once the time is ripe. And, knowing Anwar Ibrahim, I would not put it pass him to come up with such a grand scheme. After all, do they not say: all is fair in love and war? And is not politics, in a way, the art of war?

The second option would be to come up with a truce with Barisan Nasional. Pakatan Rakyat will not ‘sabotage’ Barisan Nasional at federal level by ‘stealing’ 30 or 40 of their Parliamentarians while Barisan Nasional will reciprocate by not sabotaging the five states by denying it federal money. Then, maybe, one or two Federal Minister posts with, maybe, a couple more Deputy Minister posts will be offered to Pakatan Rakyat so that the opposition can now be part of the federal government. The numbers and ministries concerned will certainly be subject to negotiations but the concept must first be agreed before we can get down to the arithmetic and mechanics.

Too revolutionary and idealistic, you may say? Not if we want to get down to the business of running the governments. Today, we have just crossed the first month anniversary of the 8 March 2008 general election and we are still politicking. Pakatan Rakyat is focused on how to grab the federal government while Barisan Nasional is focused on how to grab back the five states. One of the two may succeed or both could still be trying without success six months from now. The politics needs to end some time and the business of running the government needs to start some time. But this can’t happen while both Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional are on war alert.

If, for the sake of the ‘bigger picture’, the voters are not too worried about the economy and about whether development in the states grind to a halt, then well and good, then let’s keep the war going. But we, the Rakyat, must be prepared to first accept the fact that a prolonged war will certainly result in adverse conditions and we must be prepared to tighten our belts and take the lumps and bruises with our heads held high and without any whining, grumbling and bitching. The Kelantanese have been doing so for 18 years. Will we emulate the Kelantanese, come hell or high water? Or will we do what the Terengganu people did: give the state back to Barisan Nasional after just one term because tak boleh tahan takde pembangunan?

Comments (95)Add Comment
written by PaulineL, April 09, 2008 15:23:48
Good analysis. The issue is whether the voters are prepared to stick fast to their principles and sacrifice a little for the good of the country.

agree 122
written by Umar Rentaka, April 09, 2008 15:26:04
With the kind of mentality the "enemy" has, it is better the Pakatan Rakyat move to form the next Government. Thats all. Check mate.
agree 220
written by Wisdom above, April 09, 2008 15:31:33
A good proposal to be considered. Under this model, will we get a new PM ,a completely new Cabinet line-ups? I can accept that as a 'Wise Soldier'.
written by Heikal, April 09, 2008 15:31:38
On the morning of 9 March I witnessed that a non-muslim understood islam better than muslims. If you are a muslim you have to accept whatever happens to you and accept hard times as a challenge. I saw on the telivision Koh TSU Kun accepted defeat and even let Guan Eng visited his office at KOMTAR. But meanwhile, UMNO folks were carrying out sabotage such as destroy official documents and vandalise amenities in places PR won.
agree 223
written by Knight, April 09, 2008 15:34:06
If they want to play such amateurish politics, then come the next G.E., they can bungkus and go back. But in the meantime, Pakatan Rakyat will leave no stones unturned in Perak, Penang, Selangor & Kedah. We will go after the wrongdoers and demand restitution from them! Maybe the recovered monies are enough to fund the States. I won't be surprised.
written by ONGJJJ, April 09, 2008 15:36:00
Interesting interim idea for democrasy to mature in our country, lacking or retarded all these years. JKKK is considered civil service right, and should serve the Rakyat regardless of who is in power.
written by malaysianohope, April 09, 2008 15:36:49
Abang Pete,

I respect your view but I would rather take the Kelantan option coz despite mortally wounded Barisan is still very powerful with the money, army, police and government machinery under its control. I believe we are in a once in a lifetime position to press full court to banish Barisan forever while it is down and this is the time. I'm of the view that the truce option is a dangerous play since I don't trust them an iota.
agree 127
written by kent chong, April 09, 2008 15:38:53
I support changed and let PR rule...long term basis it;s still good for our future and children..
written by picadilly, April 09, 2008 15:43:54
Furthermore, Islam and most of the main religions believe that there is only One God, so this means we can’t be having different Gods to start of with.

Only a very wise person will say such statements. RPK is enlightened in this issue and very clear about it. Thank God for that.

Even the Hindu's who believe in forms (many) & formless aspect of God know that GOD is one but manifestations are many. Like the 99 names of Allah swt, Many Names does not mean many Gods. Each of us wear Many Caps and Names and positions at work, home, with friends. Alas we are the same person.

As such, Lets be united and enlightened as God as he is has given un intellect to distingush Human compassion and Religious fanatism
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 09, 2008 15:52:39
"The Kelantanese have been doing so for 18 years."

Dear YM RPK. This is not really true. Many Kelate folks WORK OUTSIDE of Kelantan in Penang, Perak, and Selangor.

The income they earn from these now Pakatan States was sent back home to sustain the folks who stayed back there.

Go to Restoran Nelayan at Bangi if you do not believe me.

Kelate folks, like us, are as suspectible to lumps and bruises. Now with the Feds strangling the five Pakatan states, I can only speculate as to whether this will hold TRUE any longer.

As for me, I hope Pakatan has got the neccessary defectors to to form the next Federal Govn and return PETRONAS back to the Rakyat; instead of it being UMNO's Personal Piggy Bank!
written by Ckchew, April 09, 2008 15:53:23
"That is the crux of the matter. To add to Pakatan Rakyat’s problems, all the members of the government such as ketua kampong, JKKKK, etc., are being told to resign en bloc. This will not only cripple the government right down to the grassroots, but even if the state governments replace all these people there would be a serious continuity problem and it would take a long time for them to pick up the pieces. And that fact that the offices have been stripped off everything, including computers, furniture and fittings, means that picking up the pieces will be like looking for a needle in a haystack."

if the 5 state government were to appoint their own JKKK & village heads, again they have to fork out some fund & that will cause another blow.

for a start, we should help as much as possible to shore up the coffer of the 5 states & REMEMBER, stop paying income tax (pay zakat instead), road tax, traffic summon & visit any of the outlets (4D, McD etc) that the fed gomen imposed tax. We must unite & take up the real challenge, not just boycotting the mamak stalls.
written by Mr Smith, April 09, 2008 15:54:23
Here's my take on this matter. http://mrsmith2.********.com
PR must hang its ethics and lure BN reps to crossover to form the Federal Government. We cannot afford to wait 5 more years.
BN is a predator. If you don't kill it, they will kill you.
written by rhyder, April 09, 2008 15:55:36

i'll join the choir singing praise on this one.

i hope that what will happen is ALL the datuks and tan sris (on both "sides") somehow miraculously find it in their hearts to cooperate for the benefit of the country and its people. take a huge salary if you want la, but do your job and take care of us. too much to hope for?
written by Rundukon, April 09, 2008 15:57:45
Come hell or high water, we WILL emulate the Kelantanese!

Alang2 menyeluk pekasam, biar sampai ke pengkal lengan!
Alang2 mandi biar sampai basah!
Alang2 berjuang, biar ketitisan darah terakhir!
Biar putih tulang, jangan putih mata!
written by Ckchew, April 09, 2008 16:01:23
how to help the state government?

pay promptly your quit rent, land premium, business license & if possible pay for the next 5 years. if you don't have that, then every now & then, for once, park your car or bike without paying the ticket instead pay the parking summon.

that's the little things that we can do but hopefully it will help.
written by usurper, April 09, 2008 16:03:57
I see no alternative for the Pakatan Rakyat except to form the government by hook or by crook. After the government is formed the crooks can be dealt with. Pakatan needs the 30 scumbags from BN for now or else the 140 BN scumbags would destroy the wishes of Barisan Rakyat and all our efforts would be in vain. Its easier to remould the 30 scumbags then to destroy the rakyats dreams.
written by Hope4all, April 09, 2008 16:04:40
With this funding stranglehold from federal to the states, should we then give in to BN's to prevent a Terengganu repeat. In view of this, I see all the more reason for PR to take over the parliament and fix the situation.

I agree that the economic tidal wave will hit us sometime this year, but it will also hit other countries in the region. But we the people have a bigger stake for the long term, for us, for our families, for our future generation.

I don't want to sound ideal but can we trust BN folks?
written by usurper, April 09, 2008 16:05:44
should read " It is easier to remould the 30 scumbags then to rebuild the rakyats dream.
written by micon02, April 09, 2008 16:06:57
because tak boleh tahan takde pembangunan

Do Kelantan have sufficient fund for the pembangunan in the past 18 years?
Do Federal Government support Kelantan?
Kelantan is the only state without corruption or may be the lowest in Malaysia.
BN is no longer relevant to govern Malaysia
Kelantan is being protected by........soul searching
written by ONGJJJ, April 09, 2008 16:17:29
Pete
Sadly, most Rakyat are "uninformed" on the workings of state/federal governments, in particular the sources and uses of fund at state level. Would be good if you could write an article to "educate", which can be used as a framework for all bloggers to provide ideas/suggestions, rather than wasting our grey matter venting our frustrations all the time.
Further, a bit of insight into how our federal system actually work, i.e. separation and check & balance amongst the 3 institutions Agong/Parliament (selection of PM-the person who enjoys the confidence of the Dewan Rakyat not just UMNO), Cabinet/Executive (civil service continues to operate regardless of who forms the Government) and independent Judiciary etc, so that all the misconceptions or propaganda of the incumbent over all these years could be clarified, empowering the Rakyat to understand and focus on relevant issues rather than "hentaming" like a loose cannon all the while.
You write as well as you think. Go the extra mile, lead us to concentrate our energy to build our nation. Help democracy to mature.
written by mykantree, April 09, 2008 16:17:47
You sure can't run on empty.

1.If there really are genuine PR sleepers in the present BN goverment, what are they waiting for?.Now should be the time to show their hands!.
2.To much is at stake for the UMNOputras to share power with one or two Federal Minister posts with PR. As you have so stated, Malaysian political maturity is still at the "crying every 2 hours for milk" stage to do so.The current infighting in UMNO proves that beyond a shadow of doubt.
3.Perhaps we have to seriously consider more drastic methods to revolutionise the current political landscape to address this dilemma.What can the citizens do to forcefeed the goverment some growth hormones so that they will grow up faster? Just let me throw in some "wild" thoughts;

@ Organise peaceful protest gatherings to let the goverment know that the citizens will not take it lying down?
@ Citizen's petitions to the goverment to stop such acts of financial sabotage of opposition ruled states?
@ Citizens to stop paying taxes to federal goverments?
@ Temporarily increase some local goverment taxes to alleviate the states' financial burden?
@ Every PR supporter to contribute RM$1.00 per week to the PR run states?

Can other followers of this blog please also add to the above list of ideas to help out.I am sure thare are practical solutions to the problem.
written by Hope4all, April 09, 2008 16:18:54

One additional "unimportant" point... Sai Baba is not without controversy...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/pro...813469.stm
written by ONGJJJ, April 09, 2008 16:27:29
Adversity is the mother of creation...Spore was forced out in 1965 with nothing, but look at them today. I believe..I have faith...we Rakyat in the 5 States also can...will prevail. Let's put our heads together at this crossroad for our nation.
written by temenggong, April 09, 2008 16:28:05
We don't need federal money. Many useless money redistribution programs can be scaled back. They cannot hurt Selangor, Perak, Penang and Kedah without hurting their own malay memebers. F class malay contractors will revolt against umno.

We will huddle in the trenches till the nangka falls.
written by cwy, April 09, 2008 16:32:13
Those high-handed and egoistic are not going to negotiate
and share with PR in managing the country! They just want to RULE!

PR has to form the federal government by all means, and the give some ministrial post to those trustworthy MPs in BN.
written by Rundukon, April 09, 2008 16:37:05
Without Petronas, Malaysia is running on deficit budget. Malaysia is actually bankrupt. With Petronas under the Federal govt, all states in the country is under the Federal govt mercy. e.g. Sabah being the 2nd poorest state have to rely on federal funding to pay the state's civil servant salaries.

The BN govt is surely putting extreme pressure on PR led states as far as funding is concerned. Do they have enough funds to pay their civil servants lets alone development?

I dread to think that the pressure led to more street protest which may led to bloodshed as happened in some African counyries.

God Bless us.

written by Chuang Tze, April 09, 2008 16:40:12
RPK, the answer is if Anwar has got his strategy right, and PR takes over the reins of the Federal Govt. (and he should know that being the Opposition in M'sia even with 5 States, the Bn Govt. can still choke off all the funds for devt. etc), then we don't have to make either the Kelantan or the Terengganu choice !!

If he fails to do it, then I would personally plump for the Kelantan choice. To us non-bumis, it doesn't make that much difference whether federal funds come in or not. We have lived at a disadvantage for more than 39 years, and have played football against the slope, so my choice is clear. Go with my Principles and survive and survive long enough to see BN's downfall !! Injustice's downfall !! The final downfall of Apartheid !! That alone is enough to keep people like me going, hence the non-bumis in Kelantan are very happy living there and voting for PAS/ PR !! Same here, if that is what I must do !!

written by skc, April 09, 2008 16:44:22
Dear YM RPK,
I will be in the camp of come hell and high water. Those BN goons has to know that when you have nothing left to lose, is when they should fear you.
written by deekay, April 09, 2008 16:48:40
On moral basis, we can only condemn crossovers when the game is conducted fairly for both team. However, is the game conducted fairly?

For this one, I would say "Come over lads, welcome to Pakatan Rakyat". From the attitude and action taken by BN ministers last month since GE, there is no sign of the Federal Government in bringing reform but instead they embarked on a revenge mission. It seems that they don't care whether will they win our hearts back to them by employing good policies or come up with a grand plan to compete for the global cake. Looks like they just want the 5 states back it seems, by hook or by crook. Don't they know if they just shown some magnanimity by cooperating with the PR state government, they have taken the first step in winning Rakyat's heart back? Instead of wrestle the state from Rakyat, why not let the Rakyat hand the states back to them willingly?

It's just too bad why some still condemn on the crossovers looking at it as a case of cheating but who is cheating at the first place? Remember postal votes, gerrymandering, vote buying & phantom votes? Is it not cheating, when Rakyat assumes power by voting them out, they punish the rakyat for not voting for them? Then what's the point in having the GE? Rakyat votes for you, suffer and rakyat votes against you also suffer.

I say go for it, Pakatan Rakyat. Get the 30 BN candidates to crossover.
written by Tampinboy, April 09, 2008 17:09:06
We are doing this change not for the sake our own ...
But for the sake of our children, grand children....

Rundukon quote,
Alang2 menyeluk pekasam, biar sampai ke pengkal lengan!
Alang2 mandi biar sampai basah!
Alang2 berjuang, biar ketitisan darah terakhir!
Biar putih tulang, jangan putih mata!

Stick together people....this boat is sinking and we are scarifying ourselves together with BN to have a better future for our children.... or we can be a Trojan army or Sleepers for the next five years… (Sang Kelembai?)
All about patience, compromise and timing...
Let them sleep again...
But next time when we strike must be lethal.
written by JaguhKampung, April 09, 2008 17:09:09
So it looked like there is no fair game eh?

Never mind, I will subscribe to the come hell or high water. If BN think that the collateral damage (strangling the economy of the 5 states) is worth it in return for full power, lets go to for the extreme!

Most of us rakyat have not much to lose anyway. We have no money to hold shares. Just enough to get by and pay for internet access to read MT. It's the BN goons who have more to lose. Let's see who have more to lose.

If you read Bank Negara's report, RM8.5 billion has left the country in March. I believe most of the money left after 8 Mar 2008.
written by picadilly, April 09, 2008 17:11:34
Note from Mr. Uthayakumar from the General Hospital In Taiping

Tue, 08/04/2008 - Thank you all for your support. Our struggle must go on. I am OK. I have no regrets whatsoever, and am happy to make this sacrifice for the Malaysian Indians who have been permanently colonized by UMNO for the last 50 years. We all must be prepared to make sacrifices for our future generations.

The prison authorities refused to give me my medication for over one month, so my Diabetes level has gone up to 18.8. I am however still OK.

Long live Hindraf. Long Live Makkal Sakthi.

Do not worry about me.
Bye
P. Uthayakumar.
written by joeawk, April 09, 2008 17:17:25
I would not be blackmailed. BN is no longer viable. They have been screwing Malaysians for 50 years and they will have to change and stop. If not, I will definitely continue to vote against the BN even if the opposition is made up of aliens.
written by chaiksyn, April 09, 2008 17:31:46
Well said RPK! We Sabahans had gone through a rough ride during the time when PBS pulled out of BN. We managed to live through it afterall we have suffered enough during BN time!
Come on fellow Malaysians after voting anything but BN, we must face the consequences of our actions. WE CAN DO IT come hell and high water!!!!!
written by Sagaladoola, April 09, 2008 17:32:11
Too revolutionary and idealistic, you may say? Not if we want to get down to the business of running the governments. Today, we have just crossed the first month anniversary of the 8 March 2008 general election and we are still politicking.

Getting 5 states was considered too revolutionary and in fact too idealistic before 8th March ( PRU12) and it was achieved.

I think nothing is really too revolutionary or too idealistic. We just need to do our best. It is often surprising that the idea that looks the "least possible" are the ones that work in the face of extreme difficulty.

Yes, enough of politicking. US of A is sneezing big time soon and Beijing Olympics is in August. There are speculations on the after-effect of that event. Time to prepare ourselves to face any possible impending economic upheavals. It's been 10 years since 1997 and the weather does not look too good.

written by alanlee, April 09, 2008 17:34:50
Swinging back to BN is a non option, 50 years of BN rule is enough. By sabotaging the 5 opposition states ain't gonna bring them any good. This time it is different, Kelantan or PAS are not alone. It will make desperate rakyats taking it to the street.
written by panca, April 09, 2008 17:36:54
Let us get one thing very clear. We, Pakatan Rakyat, are not the government.

Just when will the government(Fed.) respect the rights of the voters of March 08 2008? Yes, the political maturity is absolutely absent in our country. In the US presidency election, they are even two last candidates of the same party vying for the post, has to prove all mettle and material what a president has to have to be belonged to their PEOPLE. Sadly, Malaysia has a different or rather political ineptness where it shows the ruling party owns the coalition and this is compounded by the paralysis syndrome with the premier post being only "reserved" for by its own party and this does not subject to the democratic process as what the US president subjects to. The PM post autocratically falls into the lap of the ruling party of the coalition and by means of just winning at his so comfy constituency. Simply put, the PM does not have to listen to the Rakyat, does not have to be in consultation with The Royal Rulers thus making him behaving stubborn and even arrogance. The vast political difference is the PM, unlike the President that relies his candidacy on the National vote consensus, do not even has to consider or respect the rights of the voters' voices as spoken in the election. This is the saddest of Malaysia's political climate after a beaten and sore losers.

How to have a check and balance instead of a vengeance venting at the voters who has chosen change for good governance?

How not to wish that the powers-to-be(the Feds) too drop their power to the Pakatan Rakyat just when we thought they(bn) will re-invent themselves to compete rather punish, sabotage the 5 new state governments? Just when will the two 'oppositions in government' play peoper host to one another for the nation starting with the Feds to show political maturity and if the cooperations are not forthcoming, we will certainly grade you the way we will convert into election votes.

The Rakyat is not blind for whatever whoever cause!
written by Democrats, April 09, 2008 17:58:30
(1) State Governments in Opposition state should start charging state gaming tax for 4D games. 5cents or 10cents per RM1 like sarawak and sabah but charged it to the Number Forecast Operators (NFOs) like MAGNUM, TOTO and PMP, but ensure the cost is not passed down to the punters or kick them out! The NFOs cannot afford not to operate in these states....

(2) Pay your parking tickets accordingly, along with all the other fees due to the state government.

(3) Get rid of unfair deals with BN goons that are currently sucking the state government dry with like Puncak Niaga, etc....

(4) Land Departnment crank up investigations on illegal deals and slap the culprits with hefty fines.

(5) State Governments to start its own trust funds to generate investments. Make it higher than EPF and bank deposits. I'm sure with good governance and efficiency, they can easily invest, spend the profits and easily pay back investors more than the stupid EPF.

The PR control states with the biggest economy. We have the brightest people in the country in these state. I'm sure we'll figure a way out.

written by 2cents, April 09, 2008 18:02:30
U guys sit in your air-conditioned offices and give recommendations..... Let's see you say to the the face of the man on the street who still cant find a job to feed his family. He comes home to face three hungry people. Ask him to keep his cool while the Opposition sort out their differences and perpare to take over the Government.

We have to act and act now.......... The opportunity costs is too high. U want to wai until the coffers are empty is it? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by panca, April 09, 2008 18:04:35
The prison authorities refused to give me my medication for over one month, so my Diabetes level has gone up to 18.8. I am however still OK

This is what we don't get to see but heard of painful cries in the middle of the night.

We are truly saddened by the BN GOMEN ABUSE against a Malaysian Brother who has sacrifice so much for the rights of fellow Malaysians.

Release him to show your repentance.
written by Chew, April 09, 2008 18:07:02
The fear will alway be there,takde pembangunan? matilah,The opposition states no money? matilah.But I have voted and there will be no turning back,At least I can tell my daughter when she grow up that Daddy show BN the finger before.Better die with the PR in six months than live forever with BN.
written by kingyakin, April 09, 2008 18:44:55
It's morally wrong to withhold the state funding back into the state since the money was initially given to the federal government thru taxes.
Since the federal government is wrong in the first place, we shall suggest the five states consider the following actions:
1) Encourage citizens and companies not to pay their taxes when due;
2) Give state protection or compensation to those who refuse to pay taxes, like make a by-law to illegalise charging a particular state citizen for not paying taxes without first obtain a state permit or give them free-hold titled land may be;
3) Set up free port in the 5 states, abolish all import duty and export permits
4) Abolish all trading permits (this way the citizens from all other states will come to trade)
5) Abolish all building regulations for all the 5 states (this will unlock all our asset value), make every inches of land commercial;
6) Give free land to Toyota, Matsushita, Honda, GM etc
7) Since the citizens are under no obligation and no longer need to pay taxes to the federal government, the state can collect a straight 10% taxes from them;
smilies/cool.gif ...to be continue
written by cruzeiro, April 09, 2008 19:01:51
You have become a prophet of doom for somebody?
The Govt want to punish the people?

Lets see how far they go ..... if they can stomach it !!
written by cruzeiro, April 09, 2008 19:12:24
I'm sure DSAI won't take it lying down ..... his power is in the disatiafaction of the people.
If BN choses to sabotage the state govts, they are digging their own graves for good - at least at present they still have a chance to come back.
It is up to DSAI to create awareness among the public of this "persecution of the people, by the Government that is supposed to be of the people", should this happen.

I don't think such persecution is gonna help the govt in any way - in fact, it will make things worse for them. It will be a big mistake politically as well as economically, should they use this cheap trick.

"Fools dare where angels fear to tread".
I don't think PR should volunteer for a unity govt.

I'm not convinced with your argument, Pete!
written by lynn, April 09, 2008 19:15:07
When the govt punishes the 5 states, BN supporters in these states become "collateral damage" - they will be affected too. Umno/BN has no right to do this to us - we the rakyat, is the boss. Umno/BN does not own this country or any of the monies that we tax-payers pay - so can some lawyer(s) out there advise us, what can we do? Come hell or high water, am in for the long haul. You cannot compromise with BN - that is not their culture. BN's style is MY WAY or MY WAY. Working w/them in the manner you suggested is not realistic. PR shld concentrate on taking over soon as the new coalition Federal Government of Malaysia. It will happen.
written by Ujang, April 09, 2008 19:24:39
Bagi orang Islam, mereka boleh bayar zakat kepada Kerajaan Negeri dan dapat pelepasan/pemotongan cukai. Tetapi bagi bukan Islam mungkin kena fikirkan satu kaedah yang sama untuk membantu Kerjaan Negeri dan tolak cukai.
written by talk3talk4, April 09, 2008 19:33:54
Kawan.

Any constitution lawyer reading this?

Could you enlighten us whether the Federal gov't withhold revenue from the Opposition State gov't?
One would think there are check and balances within the Constitution that would ensure equity in this sort of situation. Are there?

In anycase, since it is already happening, the State gov'ts must ensure all these discriminations be made known to all and sundry. This sabotage by UMNO can and will work to their disadvantage.
As long as PR is governing at the level and standard that is required notwitstanding the meagre revenue from Fed gov't, the Rakyat will know who to punish come the next GE. From this recent election, it is obvious most if not all M'sian have matured and no longer are short term opportunists as some have painted us to be.
written by hiro, April 09, 2008 19:51:14
Hmm...if 30 BN MPs cross over, there will be no need to worry about federal allocation.

Given the possibility of Trojan Horse scenario, and how Federal Government is trying to sabotage the economies of the opposition states even if that means taking down with it Malaysian economy, I think it may be justifiable for the BN MPs to cross over. But whatever price the opposition is willing to pay for the cross over, let it be a mutual agreement. We the Rakyat don't want a situation where all crossings are to PKR, resulting in PKR becoming the obvious and indisputable big brother, relegating DAP and PAS to the sidelines, denying them of key positions that could help reform the country.
written by diablo95, April 09, 2008 21:06:34
My support is for the new government. If things become drastic. Astro, maxis and celcom subcriptions will be terminated. Telekom including streamyx will be next.
If BN wants me to be like Kelate then I would be forced to work for another country and pay taxes there instead(although i never have intentions to leave).
Any more none drastic suggestions would be much appreciated.
written by ahmisk, April 09, 2008 21:18:54
5 states KL is not Kelantan. You're talking about half the population of Malaysia, about half the national economy.

Its too big to squeeze.

I'm not too worried- I think BN is gone. smilies/grin.gif
written by mikewang, April 09, 2008 21:19:24
No anarchy please.

The country needs our taxes.

Write to your wakil rakyat.
Get them to cross over to PR.
written by k loon, April 09, 2008 21:32:10
Honestly, I prefer to tighten my belt and wait for next election till the NEW government is form

I don't think PK will be any much better than BN if they are allow to rule for 50 years. However, PK does have an advantage now - They are clean. If Malaysia can form a two-party system. I don't mind to tighten my belt at all - i'll consider that as Diet smilies/grin.gif
written by choong, April 09, 2008 21:38:23
dear all,

don't just tighten your belts.

i suggest that those who wants PR-led state governments to succeed to assist by giving special donations. Individually, it may not be a lot but when you consider mass contributions, it would be quite substantial.

in their hour of need, let us not abandon them. let us instead show what the spirit of merdeka that resides in each of us can do if we channel it out in unity and one accord.

now is the time to show to BN that we are not here for ourselves. we are not here for our kind. we are here for everyone more so those living in these 5 states.
written by Milo, April 09, 2008 21:57:50
1st - Any sabotage by the leasers of the federal government of state development is treason in substance - an act of betrayal of the rakyat's trust and hence the country. And it is the duty of the affected state government to make it public and even internationalised the news if needed.

2nd.- Bring this issue up in Parliament and institute a vote of no confidence on the leaders involved in this act of treason.

3rd - PR should immediately double its efforts to get sufficient MPs over to form the next government. The rakyat in the whole nation should be mobilized to force BN MPs with a conscient of every state to defect to the opposition immediately. The basis is the leaders of the Federal Government have shown they do not care for the welbeing of the rakyat anymore, and hence deserved to be kicked out immediately. Those who do not will be considered part of this act against the rakyat.

However, if BN doesn't sabotage these PR-controlled states and show they respect the rakyat's choice, then PR and BN can still talk and co-operate in some ways. But BN being the government should initiate the move, not the opposition. RPK can be one of the mediators in the process. This is the only way to show they have the rakyat at heart.

Otherwise, PR should go all out to force a change through another round of people power! There is nothing to wait for anymore.
written by cubi76, April 09, 2008 22:00:16
So there it is finally. The deciding moment has come right right on our faces. The true election.

From the way the BN particularly UMNO handles the government, there is simply too ricky to put our country in their hands. Bow to them and let them loot this country for another 5 long years? What will happen by then? A fair election? Give opposition a level fair play? And what will happen to the contry in term of stability,economic, social, etc etc?

Scenario 1: Truce with BN
1. Corruption continues
2. Judiciary system break-down
3. Effficiency at record low
4. Freedom of media remains a dream
5. Manipulation of constitutions
6. More Istana Zakaria
7. More Patrick Badawi
8. More Lingam and Fair Justice
9. More Keris waving around
10. More corrupted police practices leading to crime at record high
11. More bodies get exploded by Najob Mongolia
12. No More Petrol money
13. No More Investment
14. No More Top 300 University
15. More this and No More That

Benefits: The opposition-run states get some blood pumped in

Cost and Benefit Analysis shows the costs will be much higher than benefits gained.

Conclusion: NO TRUCE! LET THEM COME...!!!

IT'S ALL OR NOTHING!!!

LET'S MAKE HISTORY!!! smilies/shocked.gif
written by Thursday, April 09, 2008 22:06:20
I am quite baffled with this kind of behavior, sure Kelantan has gone by quite a few years without this kind of support, but excluding all 5 PR states is ridicules! We pay taxes and if the largest bulk of it goes to federal government, WE BETTER SEE RETURNS! Not only in tourism mind you. WE CANNOT ALLOW THIS TO HAPPEN!!! Remember, PR represents US (Rakyat) hence their strength comes from the RAKYAT. If they fail to amend this injustice, it is we the RAKYAT that has failed.
written by batsman, April 09, 2008 22:21:21
I am no expert on constitutional law, but the BN no longer has 2/3 majority. It cannot cover up any loopholes. To deny 5 states of federal funding must amount to a breach of constitutional law.

Secondly, the Malay rulers agreed to the formation of Federation. They must have protection built into the constitution. Are the rakyat once again dependant on the Malay rulers to protect their subjects and states from Federal bullying?
written by harrbm, April 09, 2008 22:27:18
>
>
My people and I expect PAKATAN to form the government.

How ? They have several ways. its mind boggling but PAKATAN must do it since they are holding the ace card.

meanwhile, rakyat must be ready to take a step or two backward for a giant leap forward.

YM RPK, I hope u know what i am talking about.

and please release YB Manoharan now !

>
written by cubi76, April 09, 2008 22:29:29
They cut off the bloodline to the nation most industrialized states, and the state governments get crippled, it's LOSE-LOSE situation to the federal government. Be confident. The stake is too high to them to impose more penalties to state government.

Think about it, no more federal-funded projects? What's there for the UMNO big-shots to earn? Punish the states with all the MNCs are in? The cost will run too high for the government as well.

Be firm.
written by kent chong, April 09, 2008 22:44:26
Hi all,

I will attend gathering countdown Black 14 for Anuar Ibrahim... this is to show the support from Rakyat.
written by cubi76, April 09, 2008 22:46:09
Regarding the bloodline thingy. Firstly, state government can look into issuing government-backed trusts to fund the projects that need big amount of capital.

Government bonds could be issued as well. Isnt it?

I understand there're some local-councils issue government bonds in the US. Can it be done in Malaysia?
written by Toyolbuster, April 09, 2008 22:52:12
I would say, lets send in the Trojan horses and take over the Fed government, then we can get on with our economy. screw the corrupt umnoputras and send them to simpang renggam and lose the keys. if we merge with the corrupt, we will get infected like Ebola. Are we saying we should compromise with the corrupt.
written by Kampong, April 09, 2008 22:52:22
The turnout for the last election has given me much confidence that we Malaysians are ready for a mature two-party political system. The "Asian-value" myth has been totally debunked; we after-all crave for the same freedom that all humans do.

So will the BN "cut off its nose to spite its face" and create turmoil in the five states that are among the most industrialized in the country? Well I won't be surprised if it does, which will only hasten its demise. Keep in mind that it's pretty much an even-matched game now; anytime in the next five years the BR could call a no-confidence vote and topple the PM. With Anwar at its helm, we can all but be assured of the utmost manifestation of "the Art of the possible"
written by novrising, April 09, 2008 23:37:42
FCUK TOLERANCE

RPK words...."We scream about religious ‘tolerance’, although I for the life of me do not really understand why we need to ‘tolerate’ one another just because we believe in ‘different Gods’."

This word, TOLERATE, has been bugging me for a long time. At least in the context of some of us uses it. So much so, I have started to hate it. Why should anyone "tolerate" anyone else?

To begin with, who do we normally tolerate with? Noisy neighbours, Stubborn brother, ignorant fools, inefficient government, anyone or any situation which causes some level of nuisance. "Tolerating" from this context makes the subjects potrayed NEGATIVELY. We don't tolerate "positive" subjects, there is no need to,there won't be a situation to tolerate something or someone we like.

But every Ministers that I can think of, starts of their "Unity" speeches with the word "Tolerant". Who the fcuk are you to tolerate me? Why do you want to potray me negatively? What is my "wrong" for you to tolerate me? Just because I do not look, behave or think like you does not mean you need to tolerate me.

"UNDERSTAND" thats the keyword. FCUK TOLERANCY AND START UNDERSTANDING. The better we understand each other, the lesser need to tolerate happens. Remember no one is below anyone for tolerating.

AGAIN, STOP TOLERATING AND START UNDERSTANDING, ONLY THEN HARMONY SETS IN.

RPK, SLAP ME IF I AM WRONG.
Peace,
NovRising
written by andywongkch, April 09, 2008 23:38:49
federal laws normally carry more weight and can supercede state laws. Please note that I am not legally trained.

written by batsman, April 09, 2008 | 22:21:21
I am no expert on constitutional law, but the BN no longer has 2/3 majority. It cannot cover up any loopholes. To deny 5 states of federal funding must amount to a breach of constitutional law.

Secondly, the Malay rulers agreed to the formation of Federation. They must have protection built into the constitution. Are the rakyat once again dependant on the Malay rulers to protect their subjects and states from Federal bullying?

History has taught us that you should not put too much hope on the part of the rulers to defend the commoners. just my 2 cents
written by lancs77, April 09, 2008 23:49:37
Every cloud there is a silver lining. By their actions BN is giving the 5 PK states the mandate not to perform. So come 4-5years time guess the fall of BN will be for real.

4-5 years is a relatively short time and if Kelantanese can survive for 18 years albeit the young and capable earning a living from the other states let us emulate that and bite the bullet.

For the future generations..., sacrifices need to be made! I expected this when I voted against BN. So BN what's new??!!!!?
written by karenleehs, April 10, 2008 00:46:17
Just a side track to this,

Regarding the money needed by Pakatan Rakyat government, can i suggest this?

All citizens of PR states do not pay your 2007 income tax to the LHDN.

Pakatan Rakyat state government, please open an account under Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri Selangor (for Selangor),Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri Perak (for Perak) and etc respectively.

All citizens of Pr States then pay your 2007 tax to these accounts. After all, if we don't pay tax to LHDN for a year, we will just get fine

But if everyone of us staying in PR states pay taxes to the states government, then the PR government can use the money as a bargaining collateral against the BN Federal government. Show them how co - operative the rakyat are and what the rakyat's wishes are.
written by malgal, April 10, 2008 00:50:26
it gets worse before it gets better. in the old days, sick people went through bloodletting as a treatment. sounds heinous but it worked. like medicine right, take the bitter pill to recover. i say, grit our teeth bros, and come hell or high water, rock or hard place, devil and deep blue sea etc etc go through the baptism by fire,water,monsoon whatever and when the storm clears, and bn has been purged, pakatan rakyat sails out, guns firing. what do you think ppl?
written by Argonaut, April 10, 2008 03:38:27
I suppose its time for Husam Musa to teach us the art of PAS's Islamic Finance.
Should be better than Umno's Hadhari, wheres my money?
written by teo siew chin, April 10, 2008 09:52:22
how's about the scenario that the federal gomen will pour funds into the 'lost' 5 states as THE way to win back the rakyat and not let the rakyat suffer like poor Temenggong who should get out of the trenches cos it's monsoon season and these initial retaliations are merely slaps on the wrist but now its bygones and the real win-back strategy is about to unfold.
written by alan cheong, April 10, 2008 10:09:59
no retreat, no surrender.

many, if not most animals, especially insects and creepy-crawlies, squirm big time as they are consumed by fire. but it is FUTILE.

So, too, this animal called bn/umno. WE may not return unscathed, but it IS worth it to ensure this contagion DIES. Forever. So that any stragglers will not be able to resurrect this beast.
written by alan cheong, April 10, 2008 10:16:34
sharing the same vision but using different methods do NOT ever justify the end.

the means do NOT justify the end.

that is compromise. that is shortchanging others/yourself.
that is treachery. that is making a deal with the devil, which is almost as good as being a devil worshipper.
that is how many LIE to themselves AND others, and fall, and FAIL.

friends? sooner or later, the demands and principles of our chosen paths will force one to choose, and choose you must.

CHOOSE! good or evil, right or left, to stand or not, to give in or not, to be true to yourself and your principles (to your God) OR not. Friends do not remain forever, but God lives forever: choose your investment.
written by cubi76, April 10, 2008 11:01:07
Dear NancyL

I understand your concern on the stability of the country.

First your must understand the costs to this country if it remains in the hand of BN/UMNO. Consider the problems that are plaguing this country, do you see any possibility of improvement with the current government? How's the cabinet line-up? What has the newly elected federal government done to the opposition states?

Regarding the sharemarket and investment. There are ups and downs in the share market. Stability of government is one of the factors in decsion making. Too, curruption, redtape, cost of investment (visible and hidden), security, human capital (talent pool), etc etc.

Dont you notice that in past few years there has been virtually none new investment coming into the country? In fact more and more investors are pulling their investment out of the country. That's reality. The investors do not have confidence with the BN government anymore.

Look at Vietnam, Indonesia, China, India, UAE, Singapore, Ireland, Czech, etc etc.

We are actually losing our competitive advantage. Our talents are migrating out of the country like flowing water! See yourself at the foreign embassies! There are hundreds of people queing outside all the US, UK, Australia, Canada, Singapore, India, China etc etc embassies just to apply for PR, Work Permits, Investor Migration, or whatever status to get out of the country.

If we do not push for a drastic change now, i'm afraid we will miss the golden chance for the betterment of our country.

And all the Malaysians overseas might go back to Malaysia, for a 2-week holiday to eat some laksa and nasi lemak, and go back to their 'ADOPTED' country.

Face it. smilies/cry.gif
written by mountainking, April 10, 2008 11:10:36
Will we emulate the Kelantanese, come hell or high water?

We will. We will tighten our belts for the sake of the nation and our future generations. If we want it the easy way now, we will continue to see our future generations suffer. We will bite our tongue, swallow the hardship, and is time to overhaul the past 50 years of corrupted ruling.
i am willing to spend lesser, stay in an apartment and to give my money to state govt. if i am looking at pure economic terms, might as well migrate/work overseas. the reason why i still want to be in malaysia now is to see change. Absolute change.....
written by adam, April 10, 2008 11:50:23
This Nation ( Malaysia ) has waited 50 years for a change in the direction that a two party system evolved. For any reasons to compromise that change , is a setback to true democracy.
There are always resistance and fear of changes. BUT it is necessary that PR and BN are kept apart not so much for the sake of immaturity, but offer the raayat a choice, and a check and balance.
As much as there are Bn supporters, there will be Br supporters, but the federal government is answerable to all Malaysians. Regardless who rules the day. Unless otherwise , each state collects its own taxes for revenue. Impossible !!
Anyway, the internal disputes within BN and BR are acute enough and keeping these two parties busy to look into PAKAT PAKAT.
written by HeeHaw, April 10, 2008 12:07:04
In this day and age, for the BN to use economic sanctions in an attempt to blackmail us? Much easier for us to just decimate BN in the next GE!

These old tactics will not hold water in this day and age lah, first to collapse would actually be UMNO itself cos their own members are also living in these states, yes? Pampered lot that they are, they are ill-equipped for a war of attrition.

Seems like UMNO will do everything except the correct thing, i.e. form a clean and efficient government. Too rotten to mend, I suppose?

Anyway, bring it on, I'm with the Hell or High Water group. Never give in to blackmail, and never be a coward. Biar putih tulang, jangan putih mata.
written by tmf, April 10, 2008 13:01:14

Why must there be this presumption that the PR states will certainly face financial difficulty? It will only be so, if PR is incompetent and our Rakyat are immature.

Be reminded that the old BN had committed too many wrong doings to all our Rakyat and consequently, in many areas, productivity has been curtailed for a long time. The PR states must start identify these issues, reverse the negative policies or practices to liberate all productive forces within areas under its control.

For example, the granting of land titles to all productive squatter farmers, squatter cottage workshops, squatter aqua culture operators etc in Perak is a very smart move that immediately creates huge amount of bankable wealth which in turn will enable those appreciative recipients investing more and working harder on their now legally owned land; the multiplier effect will be tremendous.

There are many other areas that the PR states can look into to liberate those long-withheld productive forces and many experts can offer advice on how to even retain the consequential revenue within the states to develop the states instead of being taxed by the Federal, which is proper only if the Federal do allocate operational and development fund on a fair basis.

Judging from Azalina's interpretation over Federal allocation and management of funds for tourism development, we can safely write her off as a political hopeless. The Rakyat will punish her in due course, but meanwhile, our PR states must start to plan and carry out PR states agenda of tourism promotion on a self financing way.

Call upon the Rakyat to boycott all Federal tourism promotion programs and switch their support towards states programs! If our Rakyat had decided to cast their ballot papers to PR, surely they will be willing to support PR tourism programs instead of letting a silly arrogant Minister threatening our PR states.

The above are just some illustrations, there are many, many other ways to counter BN unjust allocation and management of Federal funds. Moreover, the more unjust they are, the more remote the chance for the return of our PR states to BN

Many businesses survive and even thrive without any support from Government agencies, I think our Rakyat are more resilient that expected by BN. Our freedom is hard earned and we should protect this new found spirit of hope by standing firm.
written by marcusg, April 10, 2008 19:34:14
Malaysia is really an infant in terms of political maturity. In Germany, the Vice President IS ELECTED from the opposition party, and funds are provided for by their constitution for the opposition so that they don't die a natural death (due to lack of funds)...

Somehow i don't foresee that in malaysia, not for another 50 years... smilies/cry.gif
written by educationist, April 10, 2008 21:49:37
A milestone in our nation's history come to naught!
Granted the scenario painted, I'll pray that PR will be able to overthrow the present government.
BN is not playing by the rules in sabotaging the 5 opposition run states.
This is no longer a time for idealism!
written by angfaulith, April 10, 2008 23:33:16
askm,
please stand fast people of malaysia.
please emulate our struggle in kelantan.
we are so close to our goal now!
in an islamic state we will right all the wrongs that you have suffered under umno!!
we will be free and fair.
with haji hadi awang as our prime minister and nik aziz nik mat as the spiritual leader of malaysia.
allah will provide!!
stand fast!
hidup pas! hidup malaysia!
written by NancyL, April 11, 2008 01:29:12
Dear CUBI76,

First of all....if I was one of the leaders in PKR...I will call all my most trusted and efficient think tanks....yeah basically these people must atleast be mathematics genius....its a pity...if only Suffiah was not like that...PKR might have appointed her...hehheh....just a joke okay!!....and tell them to sit in a room....to press their brains dry....and find out the smartest way to make money between these 5 states......thinking what should be the next smartest plan....PKR should make these 5 states to be the topic of their "THESIS"....from that then they can make an intellectual conclusion or decision....

PKR cannot compare their situation like Kelantan and Terengganu.....these two countries maybe rich in natural resources...but have to admit that in development they were abit behind....come on ...Penang,Selangor and Perak are different ...these states are also rich in development and technology and commercial resources....can't they think of using the internal business between these 5 "Countries"....make business deal with one another...try to figure out how to make money with one another.........thinking of how to keep the money rolling in.....not hoping for federal fund

I know it takes time....but it is better than nothing.....

Well who are we anyway CUBI76, these are just our ideas.....they will say to us..."Who are you for telling us this..".....they will say..."You dont have a clue of what you are saying!" ......and maybe even if they ask us.....we might answer....eeerrr...eeerrr...eeer...er....Butthead!!!..hehehhe...anyway as people said "Easy said than done"....

I know my ideas sound stupid but I still consider that PKR is lucky for having these states and inturns have easier way in making opposition states compare to Kelantan...who was a loner ....

Cheers Cubi76
written by nguikb, April 11, 2008 15:28:54
RPK
i'm sarawakian .I just don't understand why voters in this state so stupid. They still voted BN even though BN did nothing for them for the past 45 years.
Like the long house peoples especially in kapit division, and marudi/ baram in Miri division, they have to buy a petrol/diesel/gasoline with a high price. In Belaga, the price for 1 litre petrol is about RM 2.60 now but MP or ADUN or gvt still doing nothing to help them. I don't understand and i will never understand why this poor long house folks still vote for BN. MP or ADUN from s'wak also never raise this issue in Parlimen. Are they coward? or they are really useless MP! smilies/tongue.gif
written by NancyL, April 11, 2008 17:38:42
Hi Nguikb....

You want to know one of the reasons why?....if you are from Sarawak...you know most of the houses here have satellites ....and we can watch alot of foreign channels...especially from Indonesia....tell you one thing...my mum she is about 60 yrs old and all of my family were really angry with Taib...as all you know he is really really PRO chinese....he did nothing to Malays there are rumours even saying that his fanily borrowed money from the world bank and from that they were in deep trouble in 1997...and thats why they would grab any projects even as small as government catering works!!!!!....

So my family intend to vote Keadilan...but until one day my parents saw the interview of Anwar which was chanelled thru an Indonesian Channel...he blurted it about Malysians politics which supposedly an internal matter...and you know what my mum said....she said..."If you want to fight or not satisfied with the governments yeah by all means do but dont tell Indonesia"....and she said..."Didnt he know the history of Inodnesia by which one time they tried to take over Malaysia"...I remember she told me about it ...once Indonesia tried to take over Sarawak....and she told me...why did he has to tell these people of his dissatisfaction towards the govt!!!...well...I am not in Malaysia....ok!!!...my mum told me...and this is the fact...and so from that she decided to vote BN....

Here in Sarawak...even people in Longhouse have access of the satellite...they can just ask an indonesian to install it at a very cheap price....and you can watch hundreds of channel....evn up to China and Russia

Tell me guys...have you watched the interview of Anwar that was chanlled in the Indonesian Channel?....honestly I havent...old people are wise people...maybe they are not as educated as we are...but they went through more than we did...maybe we can read books to get knowledge....but if you havent experience them....dont expect you to have better understanding of that knowledge...if you know what I mean....

Thats one thing I like the Chinese culture...no matter how much you fight in politics or business...when it comes a time you guys will unite...you guys dont mix "work" with "personal"...Malays are different...they mix them...when they angry at your work....they will dislike you personally or when they disagree with your decision...they will dislike you personally...I mean not all though...sometimes...I begin to wonder...to Anwar....is this politics that he involve in....is it just politics or is it also personal?.....

Vote me down I dont care becus thats my opinion and cheers smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif

written by JohnQ, April 14, 2008 10:16:16
NOW my Guess that BN gov would not last 100 days is becoming a rea;oty, well done RPK and MT. TABIK
written by Tom n Jerry, May 22, 2008 15:53:12
hi JohnQ lets bless our new government - in -waiting!Avera hontu,abypaja hontu,aniga hontu,sukhiatanang pariharangtu!(For the benefit of malaysians who dont understand Pali or Sanskrit,the quote means may you be well,happy, peaceful,free from enmity,Sadhu3!)and take care!
written by Tom n Jerry, June 16, 2008 08:52:30
Malaysia is movingon in the right direction!Latest news is a BN component leving before end of month!Syabas to that party for making that bold first step!Others will follow!The longest journey always begin with the first step!Gradually we will see light at the end of the tunnel! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 16, 2008 09:58:08
All PR supporters and conscientious Malaysians should give undivided support to ensure the smooth transition of government in the immediate future!We have to stand up for our rights,be uncompromising,proactive but resilient inthe current scenario where everything and everyone is unstable!Most urgent andimportant qualities include a sense or urgency to solve this teething problem once and for all!Its now or never!If we dont do it today,perhaps maybe we wait anothe 50 years! smilies/cry.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 23, 2008 05:53:15
PR supporters,please pray for the vote of *no confidence* to be submitted today at the Dewan Rakyat!without fear or favour! smilies/smiley.gif