Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow ACA, Police Probe DAP's Money Politics Allegations

ACA, Police Probe DAP's Money Politics Allegations PDF Print
Tuesday, 08 April 2008 20:32

(Bernama) IPOH, April 8 -- The Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) and police have commenced investigations into allegations by the DAP that one of its elected representatives was offered between RM10 million and RM65 million to join the Barisan Nasional (BN).

DAP vice chairman M. Kulasegaran said he had given a statement to the ACA regarding the matter Monday.

"ACA officers came to question me after they were informed by the police about the case. I gave them my full cooperation," he told a press conference at the Perak DAP's office here Tuesday.

Kulasegaran said police also recorded a statement from Tronoh Assemblyman V. Sivakumar yesterday and that he (Sivakumar) would be interviewed by the ACA today.

Sivakumar lodged a police report at the Ipoh police headquarters regarding the alleged buy-over attempts yesterday.

According to him, the offer was made through telephone calls and the short-messaging-service (SMS) after the BN lost the state in the March 8 election.

When the offers became to frequent, he was stressed by it and lodged the police report.

An ACA spokesman, when contacted, declined to comment on the matter.

Another Perak DAP assemblyman, A. Sivasubramaniam (Buntong) is also due to make a police report about alleged attempts to buy him over.

"I have been receiving offer after offer through telephone calls and SMS to join the BN. I am being offered up to RM80 million to jump ship," he said.

Sivasubramaniam said he would be making the police report at the Buntong police station Wednesday.

written by PaulineL, April 08, 2008 20:36:53
Heh - there they are blaming PKR for trying to buy over MPs from Sabah & Sarawak while they're trying to do the same thing in Semanjung. Pot calling the kettle black!
written by sataysticks, April 08, 2008 20:45:02
10 million,65 million, 80 million!!! smilies/angry.gif
Makes my head to spin and spin! If it's true, those people over THERE must be hellva rich! can you or I ever think, let alone have a chance to count such big money!!! smilies/grin.gif

Brovo ...Honesty pays ....at the end!!! smilies/wink.gif
written by TruthSayer, April 08, 2008 20:45:33
The truth will always surface.

RM80 million is a lot of money and to finally say no takes moral courage and self denial that is commendable.

The affected DUNs should now provide the names of those who made the bribes public so the Rakyat will know who to watch out for.

PR DUNS must form accountability groups among themselves to help each other keep on fighting corruption on all fronts.

Syabas to those who have said TAK NAK and may you be highly regarded for your stand.
written by Wisdom above, April 08, 2008 20:49:39
This is BERNAMA report.

Difficult to confirm until it appeared in DAP rocket report.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

Malaysia Bersatu.
written by zanie, April 08, 2008 20:50:27
PR doesn't have access to the fund but BN does. Have you ever heard of BN representatives begging for donation from the people during GE? Nope? At least two PKR representative did. Y? Because they didn't have the money! With the fund running dry, do you PKR is able to buy MPs? And compare it to BN..it doesn't take a genius to know all about this scam...so those MPs from Sabah and Sarawak are not offered money by DSAI but a brilliant future ahead for the people. That's not wrong, is it? smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by smeagrooo, April 08, 2008 20:51:49
With SIM cards registration so messy, it wouldnt come as a surprise one day BN will say PR fellas trying to bribe their MPs.
written by cubi76, April 08, 2008 20:59:02
Please, Please, Please bring the culprits to justice.

Money politics is the root of all corruption. Hence cronyism that's plaguing this country.

ACA is an independent and one of the most important agencies in country governence.

Show us your worthiness! smilies/shocked.gif
written by Commonsenses, April 08, 2008 21:16:27
So BN WR have 80 million to give away. Wow! they must be damned rich personally. Corruption in Perak must be real bad under BN.
written by miwaki, April 08, 2008 21:34:33
It's a joke to offer RM10 millions just to cross over.BN thought PR MPs are stupid,ini skim cepat kaya kot ? When money is too huge,it becomes "skim cepat kaya so police report will be lodged.Next time if you want to offer,just give RM 100,000.00-lah.Then it sounds genuine.
written by Spear Bing, April 08, 2008 22:15:28
With modern communication technologies, all these telephone conversations can be taped and their sources identified.

Have you done the necessary steps to record the conversations?
written by Bill Gates, April 08, 2008 23:08:36
Aiyoh Apah, Aiyoh Amah RM65 million ah .... podah .... 10 slaps I give you.
written by cubi76, April 08, 2008 23:10:27
fireduck. please change your nick to lameduck. or corruptduck. or UMNOduck or swim with all the sharks and buayas.

Sell your soul for money?
written by fireduck, April 08, 2008 23:26:28
cubi76, that's supposed to be tongue-in-cheek, ok?
written by Mark C, April 08, 2008 23:40:15
i am relieved as i thought previously that some of the PR MPs will jump ship when being dangled with such a huge carrot. Thank god that they at least have the decency to remember why they were voted in the first place.
written by MasterYoda, April 08, 2008 23:40:30
eisham,

ever heard of Reload numbers. easy to get. easy to use. easy to dispose.

The allegations are true.

If UMNO had collection RM 22 billion for the Election, what is a RM 80 mil give away.
I'll bet the Sabahan MP got a big windfall too...
smilies/wink.gif
written by MasterYoda, April 08, 2008 23:42:15
Fireduck,

Great joke! you've got me thinking too...

After all isn't making money is what BN is all about? smilies/wink.gif
written by kent chong, April 08, 2008 23:53:20
I think PDRM an ACA try to find fault to DAP leader, end of the day ACA or PDRM might say the allegation no proof and DAP leader will be detain for make making false statement!
written by tikuih, April 09, 2008 00:24:55
make sure the sms messages are authentic and coming from bn. don't sensationalise possible prank calls unnecessarily. otherwise you will be just crying wolf for nothing and give pkr a bad name... just like the chap who cried 'i resign!' but changed his mind even before sunset. please don't spoil the show, ok? why stop short of naming the person's identity who sent the sms? you make me suspicious of your integrity..
written by Mike lawood, April 09, 2008 01:13:02
Mr. Sivasubramaniam.
Why did you quit and retract 6 hours later??
We the rakyat voted you, not BN $$$.
Don't play play with the RAKYAT, Okay?
written by fairnessforall, April 09, 2008 13:26:04
The amount offered seems quite unbelievable. The DAP members who claimed to have received the offer should publish the numbers from which he received the SMS. It should not take the ACA more than a day to trace the number as all numbers are registered. Maybe its a hoax SMS, but I hope the ACA will not take 3 years to trace the owner of the number.

Meanwhile please publish the number for all the rakyat to know.