Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M's criticisms create uncertainty: Syed Hamid

Dr M's criticisms create uncertainty: Syed Hamid PDF Print
Tuesday, 08 April 2008 20:10

By V.P. SUJATA

(STAR) PUTRAJAYA: Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is no ordinary person and many Malaysians take whatever he says as gospel truth, said Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar.

Due to this, whenever Dr Mahathir criticises the Government, it creates a lot of uncertainty and raises question marks, he said.

"One-third of our independence was under his rule, therefore he has become an icon for the young group below 40 years," he said, hoping that Dr Mahathir would not say anything that would jeopardise the future of Umno and Barisan Nasional.

"The election is over; yes we have done badly in several states, but we all need to move forward, including Dr Mahathir.

"Give Pak Lah (Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi) an opportunity to build up public confidence," he said, adding that investors need to feel there is political stability in the country.

He was speaking to reporters Tuesday after visiting the National Anti-Drug Agency here.

On the issue of a change of leadership, Syed Hamid said it was a democratic process and that everyone should be patient and see the outcome of the Umno party elections in December.

written by cllim123, April 08, 2008 20:20:43
Hello Syed Hamid, Pak Lah had close to 5 years to run this country. He ran it to the ground. Zak Deros, PKFZ, Close one eye, Nude squat, Penang GCC, Monsoon Cup scandal, temple demolition, body snatching, racial tension, Hindraf, Bocor, inflation, what else you want? Give Pak Lah a chance to destroy this country for good?!! You too should resign.
written by Mike lawood, April 08, 2008 20:24:17
This half pass six old man (TDM) is so rich that made him extra ordinary.
Yang Di Pertuan Agong, please strip off (TDM) TUN
and ask ACA to investgate him from top to toe.
That wil make him super extra ordinary.
disagree 20
written by heavenwrites, April 08, 2008 20:26:28
That silly old man must be sent to jail for Judicial Problems, Corruptions, Abused of Power, Rape, Murder cases in this country smilies/angry.gif We Malaysian of all races and beliefs does not need Tukang Hatu Malaysia (TDM)opinion, voice, advice, decision, suggestions, proposals, participation, concern, involvement from all angle of the democratic Malaysian Society smilies/angry.gifTell TDM to **** off, get lost, and stayed stupid and silent with Rakyats' billion of blood monies eated by him smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
disagree 17
written by HamChak, April 08, 2008 20:31:06
No lah, You are so wrong Syed Hamid!
Nobody trust Mahathir anymore now.
Only the "DUNGUS" trust Mahathir.
Maybe, you are one of those who trust Mahathir.
I feel so sorry for you lorr.
written by hiro, April 08, 2008 20:35:07
Basically UMNO is rife with factions who are all out to make, or have previously made huge personal gains at the expense of the people. TDM caused much of the problems, but Pak Lah made the problems worse by not having leadership. The good thing is his ineptitude allowed opposition to make gains in this election, creating a real opportunity for checks and balances.

UMNO should wisen up. If they want to keep political leadership in this country, they should invest in Pak Lah rather than TDM. And if there is a truly reformist movement that could take over Pak Lah, they should take the reformist movement over Pak Lah. It is that simple.

What each and every UMNO leader must do now is to study who Razaleigh is, and who will be his inner circle should he succeed in bringing Pak Lah down.

Of course, if they are thinking about their own benefits, then they'll probably try to consolidate under Pak Lah, which is good also because eventually, BN will become the opposition coalition.

Either way, the winds of change have made it impossible for UMNO to keep the cake and eat it too. They have to eat the humble pie, bite the bullet and take the haircut to ensure their very survival. The rakyat wins, this time.
written by artchan, April 08, 2008 20:39:00
Tun is no angel..but aab with 92 percent mandate did no right...He ****ed up big time. Syed Hamid..you cannot see ah? Blind? If AAB had done well, you think PKR DAP PAS got chance?
How bloody ignorant can you be. Or you so busy ass licking..you can't see what is happening except the little orifice in the rear
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 08, 2008 21:03:22
AAB does NOT seem to be affected by the criticisms.
Others are more agitated by Dr Mad-man.
That boy who burnt US flag and shout like a monkey is still hibernating?
written by InEffective, April 08, 2008 21:29:42
Aw - just a little bit of uncertainty to disturb the rampant looting, pillaging, and plunder of the rakyat's resources - OK lah..
written by taufan, April 08, 2008 21:30:04
This 'baldy' never read Malaysia-today (probably too scared over what he would see)...

Please make an effort (your late father was known as "The Lion of UMNO") surely you cannot be "The Chicken of UMNO!)... then you will know what people really think of Mahadey.
written by cubi76, April 08, 2008 21:37:42
As always, UMNO is best at finding excuses for its failure.

This time the scapegoat target is, TDM the ex-boss.

Anyway, dont let them carry us away from all the wrong-doings done in their time.

Both TDM and AAB deserve a lesson. Who should first learn the lesson? The answer lies in the one remains in power.

SMOKESCREEN...
written by Jengking, April 08, 2008 21:41:02
Syed Hamid says: Give Pak Lah (Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi) an opportunity to build up public confidence,"

Why Pak Lah? Why can't it be someone better?
written by Harbinger, April 08, 2008 21:44:30
Adoi ! Tak habis habis ! Fed up of the war of words ! All of them are selfish ruthless idiots who plundered the nation.This schemer with an over inflated ego thinks he has done no wrong and will never admit to any wrongdoings.
Syed Hamid still thinks he is an icon to the youth below 40 ??? He may have been 'I CON' to the UMNO members for years but there were many who were not fooled by his hypocrisy!!
Anyway,this Syed Hamid Albar idiot has deliberately made this comment so that we can all shell TDM making it better for AAB !All hypocrites !
written by sufc, April 08, 2008 21:52:13
at least tdm managed to wake up aab from the sleep, alas, when he woke up he blamed others for not managing the country well while he was sleeping! he, he
written by tano, April 08, 2008 22:32:31
All these kutuk-mengutuk telah melenyapkan nama Khairy dari sesi kutuk-mengutuk ini....
written by Countach, April 08, 2008 22:51:52
Syed , come lah, Mahathir speaks the gospel Truth?

Remember Paul Keating calling Mahathir an congenital liar and recalcitrant?

In Malaysia Mahathir is more known for twisting and turning.

More famously Mahathir is aka as Father of Corruption.

Also known as the Father of all things wrong in Malaysia.
written by harrbm, April 08, 2008 23:57:04
>
>

Great grandmaster Tun Dr.Mahathir
In power for a record 22 years
Undisputed Malaysian greatest leader ever

whacked all you want
named him all you want
accused him all you want
but nothing shakes this great grandmaster

>
>
written by coolandy, April 09, 2008 00:00:06
Syed Hamid, you are just one of the bunch of tikus cuba membaiki labu.

TDM is far from perfect, who is? AAB and his team is the worst. If he is the CEO of a company, he would not have lasted even a year. So are the Board of Directors. AAB, quit A.S.A.P.
written by tikuih, April 09, 2008 00:41:58
another typical bodoh comment by a umno incompetent fool. mmt does it, nazri does it, kerismudin does it, tengku adnan does it, azalina does it, najis does it, they all do it all the time, but the worse is aab with his i'm here, i'm here, i'm here self-proclaimation. aab please stop dreaming. everybody knows you're NOT here!
written by doggone, April 09, 2008 02:21:12
Mr. HardTalk Albar is talking just the way he did on TV. Rattling off his chewer without facts. Don't you know that investors are NOT investing BECAUSE of the instability caused by R.V.Winkle? The list of his incompetence just does not warrant the wastage of bandwidth at this site anymore.
written by InEffective, April 09, 2008 07:44:18
Someone should tell this current minister to start spending some time and effort delivering some benefits to the rakyat. Enough of blowing your own trumpet - we are sick of it.

Why do we always land-up with ministers simply shooting their mouth? No accomplishments, no achievements that are meaningful and relevant to the rakyat.
written by chaiksyn, April 09, 2008 08:50:54
Yo!En.Syed Hamid oiiiiii? WE DO NOT WANT DOLLAH FOR A PM! CAN'T YOU UNDERSTAND!