Steep learning curve for Lim Guan Eng & Co PDF Print
Tuesday, 08 April 2008 19:29

After 1 month: Penang CM admits to Leslie Lau he's shocked by past government deeds

Leslie Lau, The Malaysian Insider

APRIL 8 — Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng stopped short of accusing the previous state government of mismanagement today but said he remained shocked at the financial position he had inherited.

“I am not going to accuse them of anything directly, but people can judge for themselves,” he told The Malaysian Insider in an interview to mark one month since what was arguably Malaysia’s most significant and landmark elections.

Lim also spoke about how the vote had resulted in less arrogant Umno MPs, and how racial barriers had perhaps been broken down.

But among the significant things he has learned after he and his team spent the past month poring through the books at the state government headquarters in Komtar was how far rules were bent previously.

“There are certain things we have started to understand and that is the extent of the malaise which has been inflicted on Penang. Rules can be bent, and how far the gravy train goes. It is something for which even though you have been expecting you, nonetheless, are still shocked.”

He would not give details about any kind of misdeed or mismanagement his government had discovered of the previous administration. His government is already preparing to appoint external independent auditors to look at the books.

After the initial euphoria of winning power for the first time since the party’s formation in 1965, Mr Lim says the DAP is learning now that governing is tough.

And the state government’s financial accounts have been the most sobering read for Lim, who is a trained accountant. Initial estimates are that the Penang budget deficit could be as high as RM70 million, mostly because the state government had not provided for contingent liabilities like damages awarded against the government in legal suits.

The state government has already started investigations into alleged land scams, which may or may not involve state officials, but has already cost Penang millions of ringgit in revenue because of alleged improprieties.

“Our liabilities have become very large. This is putting huge strains on the state’s coffers,” said Lim.

The Chief Minister, who is also the secretary-general of DAP, has spent the past month meeting a host of potential investors and businessmen with various proposals for the state.

But it has been a steep learning curve to be part of the country’s changing political landscape.

“I am saying the same things which I said before the elections but now when I say it, various pressures are exerted. Even the Prime Minister himself expressed his unhappiness about our policy of having open tender.

“Because of all these pressures, I have been touched by the fact that some people are concerned about my personal safety.”

Still, he is glad to be part of the change.

“We denied the BN two-thirds. Umno MPs are not so arrogant, they are more courteous and not so cocky. That shows how important it is to have some competition.”

But looking back at the election results, he says the most striking thing for him was the willingness of voters to break racial barriers.

By this, he means the fact that Malays were willing to vote for DAP and the Chinese were willing to vote for PAS.

Looking forward, the challenge is to entrench this change, he said.

Also, he adds: “You know, winning power is tough. Retaining power is tougher. We’ll just have to perform.”

written by Taikohtai, April 08, 2008 19:53:12
Damn it LGE. Please get cracking and start building a bigger jail now! You're not going let them get away with all these criminal offences, are you? And them criminals didn't let you get away with upholding justice in Malacca, did they?
Damn it!
agree 132
written by DatoSeri, April 08, 2008 20:00:45
With BN/UMNO, it is expected how corrupt it is. MCA, MIC, and Gearkan are no different and play along. Wait till PR take over the federal government, it will be worse, I believe, that it is either so clean or so messy that there probably no way to trace. Disappointing...
written by omarkhayyam, April 08, 2008 20:09:46
dear YB ...... u have the blessing of the people and we will be patience long enough to ensure u succeed in taking Penang to greater heights...

so far u have proved urself well ..... kip it up man

written by ahmisk, April 08, 2008 20:25:44
Just watched news showing various statements by Guan Eng, Khalid and Nizar. Followed by Mat Taib. The contrast couldnt be greater! Its so obvious who is more intelligent and more driven.

You guys really make us proud.
written by cubi76, April 08, 2008 20:41:18
Dear YB Lim,

We rakyat understand the mess that you guys need to clear. The burden upon you guys is unimaginable to most of us. Every job needs time, and we fully understand that.

In fact, you guys are in the process of making history, whom will be remembered by generations.

We believe in a better tommorrow for Malaysia.

Be firm in what you believe.

written by Eskay Lim, April 08, 2008 20:46:38
Mr. Lim GE,
Go for it. Continue with your investigation "without fear or favour" because we are all behind you. Dig up all the dirt of the previous state govt. & throw some of them corrupted ones into jail.
The people of Penang have long ago suspected serious mismanagement of the state govt. agencies like the PDC in the development of some many projects for the 20-30 years. The profits accrued was astronomical but the balance-sheets showed otherwise. What happened t all those money? Who took them? Please investigate.
written by exzxr, April 08, 2008 20:47:48
Guan Eng,the people has given PR the mandate to run Penang and we are proud that you are handling the onslaught from BN very well.We have the confidence in your administration and handling of matters pertaining to the well being on Penang.Govern with confidence,the people are backing you all the way!
written by smeagrooo, April 08, 2008 20:48:44
YB LGE,

ANything less than a jail sentence for these scumbags is UNACCEPTABLE! Find the best of the best auditors and PI to dig dig dig until the entire Putrajaya's red carpet wont be able to cover it up.
written by hiro, April 08, 2008 20:55:49
hi taikohtai, no point asking LGE to build bigger jails now. Police is under federal government. Can wait lar, until the opposition forms federal government.
written by tbsbidayuh, April 08, 2008 21:25:59
Dear LGE,
It's tmie to rebuild the ruined Penang. Put those who were corrupted into jail and that the way it has to be. Jail is for those who exploited the land and practiced corruption during the previous governance.
written by miwaki, April 08, 2008 21:26:19
Saudara Guan Eng,
Corruption is our BN's culture and what your team has discovered so far is just the tip of the iceberg.You will slowly discover more dirt in previous administration.We understand the difficulty of managing the state because your team has to do two things at the same time.One is to manage and the other is to uncover the fraud committed by your predecessor.

The people of Penang will stand by your team and we trust Pakatan Rakyat under your leadership will turn Penang into model state envious by BN-controlled states.
written by malsia1206, April 08, 2008 21:29:34
I can bet the new CM would be 10 or more times shocked if he were to know how the State finances were handled in Selangor and all the other States where the Umnoputras are having the politcal control in the past years. Dear Mr Lim Guan Eng, if you had been shocked in Penang, you would probably get electrocuted in those other Umnoputra States.
written by Harbinger, April 08, 2008 21:50:43
Go ahead and dig up more dirt.You can then rest assured that DAP will be in control for many many more years to come.You have our blessings !
written by malaysia4malaysian, April 09, 2008 00:10:31
Well, I think we should all stop paying taxes from nor to the federal goverment. They r all corrupted to the core.. always sapu all our rakyat's hard earn $$$$$$, they r money grobbing arsehole, dont care about the wellbeing of rakyat.

We should instead pay our taxes to the state goverment. I bet they wil be able to use it wisely for benefit of rakyats under their governance.

I DONT WANT MY $$$ TO GO INTO POCKETS OF THOSE BLLODY CORRUPT BN GOONS.. smilies/angry.gif
I SAY DONT PAY TAXES TO THEM
written by uncleleow, April 09, 2008 00:11:09
Dear CM Lim,

I think you should take back and develop Pulau Jerajak into maximum jail facility. Maybe reclaim some land around the island cause have to fill lot of BN blood suckers and their cronies.
written by Iliyas, April 09, 2008 01:07:31
Dear YB Lim,

Greetings from the Land Below The Wind.It takes a man with magnanimous values to manifest it into greater frontiers.
written by tipletoe, April 09, 2008 08:14:21
Koh Tsu Koon has a lot of explaining to do. He should be man enough to admit that he had allowed the state to be plundered by the corrupt UMNO MPs. Badawi really stinks. Instead of tacking corruption, he is full bent on protecting his cronies. The BN betrays Malays, Chinese, Indians and everyone else except its arse licking followers. The new government should just do the best it can. We won't blame you if you are hampered by lack of funds. Just be honest and efficient and think of the rakyat.
written by Michael Pg, April 09, 2008 08:28:19
i believe they Umno already started to clean up their tracks and suck in money thru every ministry department as they know that anwar will form the government soon. secondly it might looks like they are creating a minor diversion of rakyat to focus on their disagreement with the leadership. but they are prepare something big for Pakatan Rakyat. so lets see what will happen within one month time. smilies/shocked.gif
written by pengembara, April 09, 2008 11:05:18

Most of the readers are howling for blood and it is totally understandable. However it looks like the situation is more serious than LGE and co. thought therefore it might be better to stay focus and true to the course and rebuild Penang. After all, a day consist only of 24 hours.

If the State Government publish the misdeeds after preliminary investigations it will put BN on the defensive as well as giving the MSM some extras to write about. I understand The Star publishes more BR news these days and they (the Star / MCA) are no friend of Gerakan.
written by Lipanbara, April 09, 2008 11:58:29
“We denied the BN two-thirds. Umno MPs are not so arrogant, they are more courteous and not so cocky. That shows how important it is to have some competition.”

Yet Pak Lah blamed others for the result...cocky and bodoh sombong..
written by joeawk, April 09, 2008 14:21:21
Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. i leant that from Limsenior. haha.

Don't we all know that the BN adminstration is bad, bad, bad. In Penang, Koh Tsu Koon was only a spokeman for UMNO. Why do you think Penang people voted him out?

LGE, you must be right and don't be nice.

If things are bad in Penang, wonder what is it like in other states, especially Selangor.
written by PR Msia, April 11, 2008 08:01:40
YAB Lim Guan Eng,

I could imagine how tough to govern with so much constraints. I believe it is just a matter of time when PR come into power at federal level. All will be well. Rakyat will prosper. Malaysia will progress.

Just bear with it and do the best you can. Rakyat will bear the same burdens like you for the next 4-5 years.

You will never walk alone.