Terminating tourism MOUs not in rakyat's interest PDF Print
Monday, 07 April 2008 20:23

By WANI MUTHIAH

(STAR) SHAH ALAM: Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim and Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng both criticised the Tourism Ministry’s decision to terminate tourism MOUs with Pakatan Rakyat-led states.

Lim said the move was contradictory to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s assurance that all federal programmes would continue as planned in all states.

We feel this action is not good for national interest as well as the rakyat’s interest,” said Lim Monday in a joint press conference at the state government building here.

Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said announced recently that all tourism MOUs with Pakatan Rakyat-led states would be terminated due to the change in leadership.

She had added that the decision was in line with the termination of Tourism Action Councils in the Pakatan Rakyat states, which were previously chaired by Barisan Nasional exco members in charge of tourism in each state.

Lim said it was not fair of Azalina to take it out on tourists simply because she was unhappy with the recent general election results.

We hope that (the decision) can be re-considered so that it doesn’t give the wrong impression that this was done because of what had happened when the people made their choice,” said Lim.

Meanwhile, Khalid said a minister cannot discriminate in such a manner because certain states had different political leaderships.

He said it was time for all to know how to differentiate between political funding and state funding.

The most important part is the need to distinguish between money for political activity and money through the consolidated funds of the federal government for the benefit of all states,” he said.

On his part as the Mentri Besar, Khalid said he would be answerable to all Selangorians irrespective of their political affiliation.

He said state funds would also be channelled to all regardless of their political association.

I think this standard of thinking must be applied to the whole country,” he added.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by strupper2003, April 07, 2008 20:27:53
Azalina,

Come next elections, don't bother to ask non-BN supporters for votes okay. You only serve BN supporters right?
written by Commonsenses, April 07, 2008 20:34:02
Satu lagi tujuan BN menindaskan rakyat.
written by rajven72, April 07, 2008 20:37:05
Boy Lina,

Why you're doing this? just because we made our choice you want to punich us.

You have child right, will you punish the child if the child made her own choice not to become a "TOMBOY" ???

Pikiq dulu jangan jadi emosi bila buat desicion.
written by KKchan, April 07, 2008 20:39:12
Any action taken that affects the tourism industry in the 5 PR states affect all involve in the industry, including the Federal Government. In also affects BN supporters who are in this industry. Azalina didn't think through. Maybe she'll organise a migration of BN people out of the PR states and then she can really punish those ingrates? I can see Lat doing a carton of tourists travelling along the North-South Highway from Seremba to Selangor. Approaching the state border it a big billboard - "You are now entering Opposition Territory. Level of service may be affected". Azalina, what an asinine idea!
written by sickofitall, April 07, 2008 20:40:37
Since when was the Bn govt interested in doing things in the rakyat's interest?
written by exzonerator, April 07, 2008 20:47:43
Typical behaviour of an UMNO minister, sore loser.
written by krepot, April 07, 2008 20:56:44
It is quite clear, the foolish minister does not know how to differentiate her federal government duties.

Taking Azlina Lesbian's way of thinking, in future, expect to see hospitals having signage which reads:

"We only accept patients who voted for Barisan Nasional"
written by budakindia, April 07, 2008 21:01:40
and you're talking sabotaging the election results in Perak & Kedah? Look's who's doing it now! You are very own hand picked minister! smilies/grin.gif
written by krising1, April 07, 2008 21:15:47
What do you call this act? Honourable? BN does not get it yet. Punishing voters for excercising their constitutional rights is not an honourable act. The states also have your supporters. You are punishing them too. Do you think they will support you in the next election. HOw stupid do people get when they are angry and vengeful!
written by densemy, April 07, 2008 21:16:04
Childish... and guaranteed to lose more votes
written by donplay, April 07, 2008 21:19:01
Why is the PR not suing the Minister & Govt. Take them to court. Azalina's and other BN minister's actions are unconstitutional since they are using all taxpayers' money and not just BN supporters tax funds.

Anyway, Azalina's moves are stupid to say the least. Tourists (other than S'poreans looking for cheap sex, food & petrol)are not flocking to JB & Seremban. Ask any tour operator and they will tell you the top tourist destinations are Penang, Langkawi, KL, Melaka, Genting, Batu Caves, Cherating & and E. Coast beaches.

So, as is typical, of Azalina & BN shortsightedness, they will succeed in shooting their own foot and in the process destroy the tourism income dollars we are very dependent upon. Talk about cutting your nose to spite your face!

Stupi!Stupid!Stupid!
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 07, 2008 21:20:30
An attempt to financially by-pass the Pakatan Rakyat State Governments AND to enrich the pockets of UMNO F**KH**DS. To MBs and EXCOs concerned at those States, keep your COOL and 'Turun Padang' to explain to the Rakyat that the UMNO Federal Government is TRYING TO PUNISH THEM FOR VOTING PAKATAN. The Rakyat is not STUPID and do not like VINDICTIVENESS and PETTY MINDEDNESS ala UMNO.

In the meantime, Saudara Anwar, whatever 30 rabbits that you and Azmin were going to pull out of your hats, I and many Malaysians pray to GOD ALMIGHTY that those rabbits DO EXIST. Otherwise Mohd Nizar, LGE, and Khalid's tenure will be very, very SHORT. We, the Rakyat say, the wealth of the nation should be shared with the Rakyat.

Kekayaan PETRONAS sepatutnya diraih bagi rakyat jelata dan bukannya segolongan insan korup dan munafik yang bernaung dibawah payung keji UMNO! KEMBALIKAN PETRONAS KEPADA RAKYAT!

HIDUP PAKATAN! Jangan sia-siakan undi Rakyat!

In this time of confusion whereby UMNO is a war with itself, PAKATAN must take the initiative and lure as many MPs from BN and call for a Vote of No Confidence against BN.

Otherwise, the Financial Might of Petronas will be used against Pakatan. I urge all Bloggers who are pro-PR to write up on this and to appeal to MPs from BN to thow their support behind Saudara Anwar.

Make no mistake, this latest move is an attempt to stifle Pakatan's State Governments. As YM RPK, in his article (Siamese Twins) pointed out, it is all about 'MONEY, MONEY, MONEY'.

As much as Nizar, Khalid, and LGE want to show good intentions, it can only go so far. They need MONEY in order to ensure they can deliver t the Rakyat a corrupt free, fair, and transparent administration.

PAKATAN must form a GOVERNMENT by AMBUSH A.S.A.P. in Parliament. Do you morons want to see the Mongolian Yak come to power and blow Pakatan out of the water with C4?! I SAY NO! DENY HIM!

Saudara Anwar. Please do not waste the Rakyat's Vote! Free us from UMNO and return PETRONAS to the Rakyat! GOD BLESS!

SONIA GANDHI DID IT. WHY NOT YOU, SAUDARA ANWAR?
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 07, 2008 21:26:13
"His" action also affects the BN supporters in the 5 states.
written by backs, April 07, 2008 21:29:20
come next election...the Pakatan Rakyat should field someone to actually oppose her in the election. she's been getting a free pass as MP for 2 terms already! enough is enough! that's hardly a sign of support from the Rakyat. smilies/angry.gif
written by fireduck, April 07, 2008 21:33:16
Let's wage war on the Net. Let us just forward the Asslina statement out to the whole world for them to see the kind of shallow Ministers we have. Tell them that tourists are NOT welcome into Malaysia by this new Minister. When the tourists stop coming, then her Ministry is not needed and PR can demand that the Minsitry be closed down.

And the Pakatan Rakyat should follow up by making sure that she accounts for every sen spent by her Ministry. Question her on how she spends the millions, where, when, how it was spent. Let's target her Ministry. Together we can do it, and give it back to her.
written by Watchdog, April 07, 2008 21:43:58
For someone who won a seaat uncontested, what do you expect? After cocking up the Sports Ministry even further, this vulture is preying on whatever she can in the short time she has left.

Shithead!
written by u chen, April 07, 2008 21:55:11
Come on Miss Azalina, what were you thinking? If your statement was made in moment of rage, perhaps it's still not too late to retract it.
written by bushfire, April 07, 2008 22:01:35
“We feel this action is not good for national interest as well as the rakyat’s interest,” said Lim.
The Federal Government is the government for ALL Malaysian regardless of their political inclinations and any action that is to the detriment of the rakyat will also affect those who voted in the BN to power, albeit without the 2/3 majority. But this is not the first time that BN, notably UMNO, has cut off its nose to spite the face. The next time around, even those who supported them will remember BN for its spitefulness and small-mindedness. The inevitable political demise of BN will be a finality, assuming they are still in control at Federal level when that time comes.
written by PaulineL, April 07, 2008 22:09:55
She is unable to differentiate her role as Tourism Minister which entails responsibility to the rakyat vs her role as a political party leader. Can someone pls give her a quick lesson on politics & government?
written by IbnAbdHalim, April 07, 2008 22:19:28
It's sure a vindictive approach. It seems that UMNO politicians are not smart. Can't they figure that in so doing it will erode whatever is left of the people's confidence in UMNO. Come next GE perhaps UMNO will be totally wiped out from the political scene. Is that what they are asking for? So be it.
written by fencesitter, April 07, 2008 22:30:29
Hello encik azalina! I hope u r listening here! Dont forget 1/2 of Perakians voted for BN and the other 1/2 for PR (based on the close contest results). Do u want to anger those who voted BN?? Think first silly!
written by joeawk, April 07, 2008 22:36:18
Check to see if she can be made persona non grata in all the PR states. See if the palace would support such action.

This is a young cunt who is simply kurang ajar. After the failed UK sports complex which she cause the nation to lose million for nothing except her gains, she is again up to it.

Let her be aware that the law can come after her should she erred and should PR form the federal govt. Tell her not to be cocky. If she cannot do the nation a favour ask her to go get **** by the dogs. People such as her does not need any coutesy, just **** her. She is simply anak haram, kurang ajar.
written by JaguhKampung, April 07, 2008 22:41:22
Appointing her as a Minister is one of AAB's biggest mistake in his second term.

Her 0.5 billion sports centre in UK is already bad enough. Now she wants to punish the 5 states for voting in the opposition. She can't do anything good for the country don't she?
written by bumiku, April 07, 2008 22:48:02
Is there a way we rakyats can call for a motion for a vote of no confidence towards a Minister? There must be a way we rakyat can convey to our nation's PM or DYMM that we have no confidence in a certain minister and that we want a change in the person maning the post.

The decision if a mayor should be elected or appointed should also be decided by us rakyat, no? We are the rakyat, the government is answerable to us anyway, shouldn't it?
written by myke, April 07, 2008 23:02:16
Lesbo,

You are doing this for ur own gratification or for the country.???
Does not look like it's for the country, then must be for your own gratification.

YOU ARE A TRAITOR WHO SABOTAGE YOUR OWN COUNTRY.
written by Michael Sun, April 07, 2008 23:05:02
Azalina's cancelling of Tourism MOUs with PR-controlled states clearly shows her ignorance and arrogance.

Money in the national treasury is taxpayers' money irrepective of their political leanings and is definitely not her grandfather's money.

Badawi claimed many times he is the PM of all Malaysians. Now is the time to prove it and show your "leadership" quality, if any.
written by benjo, April 07, 2008 23:40:16
With this kind UMNO leaders, one can understand why BN did so miserably in the elections. I wonder if the rakyat from the states run by PR can protest/stop paying taxes! If Azalina wants their money for her ministry but do not want to spend on these states, why should they be paying? I think she may be too young to know what a federal minister means. Datuk AAB don't need enemies to bring him down, just his own choice and selection of Ministers, his cabinet and friends will do the job better than the opposition. What a mentality ?
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 07, 2008 23:41:46
I doubt "He" can manage the department smoothly. There are better and more qualified people to do the job. She can do a simple job as tour-guide for certain category of tourist.
written by DatoSeri, April 08, 2008 00:40:01
The BN/UMNO way... a bunch of losers. They will still enrich their cronies through backdoors, using people's hard earned money. We must pull the BN and UMNO off the federal government.
written by sttb08, April 08, 2008 01:22:50
What a great decision by the shehe. Herhis farsightedness is a wonder for all to behold. With such vision, shehe should already be considered for the next dpm, maybe even the next pm after the sleepy one. Come on umno, vote shehe as president!
written by Bee65, April 08, 2008 06:02:00
Well, this sort of Twisted Punishments will just keep coming! We have made our decision to vote for PR, we must face the consequences, don't even complaint!

On the bright side, let these be the BN's Government ways to punish us, and make us suffer! Let more Rakyat realise their true Evil Faces! We just have to stand firm, tighten our belts, and topple BN at the next election!
written by Bee65, April 08, 2008 06:04:34
The more BN punishes us, the harder the striking back will be!

Don't worry about these bunch of low breeds that can't even understand cow's sense.
written by artchan, April 08, 2008 07:09:59
next election make sure there is no walkover..make sure she is challenged...
written by bn haramjadah, April 08, 2008 07:28:47
her battery operated device has been on the blinkers since the election so not too happy with the erection results, not satisfied smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ahmadbadrul40, April 08, 2008 08:17:03
What can the opposition do about it. UMNO still controls, the ACA, judiciary, police and the army. So what the fark can opposition do?
written by libau, April 08, 2008 09:14:45
Please, other minister follow this stupid action of BN minister. Let all the Rakyat Malaysia know your BN/UMNO is only serving BN/UMNO member not all the rakyat. Please do it..who next to say that stupid action?...come on BN..
written by laksa maner, April 08, 2008 09:43:09
Mr. Lim and T.S. Khalid, it's ok. Don't get involve with lesbian and playboy ministers. That's not Kementerian Pelancungan but Pela*cu*an. F**kLah and Khairi had agreed to put Azlina and Sulaiman Taib to handle the Ministry accordingly to their own profiles.

BR must create special proposal for BR led states. Show that you are the rakyat's choice. BR states don't need UMNO and BN to get involve. Be independence to manage the BR then BR could be a coalition to replace BN.

There's a lot of ways of doing things. Don't be too stereotype.

written by sthiru, April 08, 2008 11:54:28
Hei bitch... tunggu, nanti iron lady bawa buloh dan jolot dalam itu. Baru lu tahu apa macam itu sakit. BITCH!!! BITCH!!!!! BITCH!!!!