To write comment, please LOGIN at content-page.

Spring Bed
Chambers Translation
 Laser Comb Treatment
London sentry misssion under fire PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Monday, 07 April 2008 19:44

(The Sun) PETALING JAYA (April 7, 2008): The government’s decision to spend about RM2 million to send 122 members of the Royal Malay Regiment (RMR) to serve "London public duties" for two months has come under fire.

It is a waste of taxpayers’ money,” Federation of Consumers Association vice president K. Koris said today.

We should be looking at protecting our country instead of thinking about sending our troops to guard Buckingham Palace,” he told theSun.

We have more pressing issues here and they could use our army to look at guarding our borders from illegal immigrants instead of spending money to send them to guard Queen Elizabeth.”

He said the illegal immigrant problems in Malaysia is a growing one which should be handled and resolved by guarding the borders.

There is no logic at all for them to go over there and waste so much money,” he said, adding the whole idea is a joke as there is no need for the team to go all the way to England to learn when they can do it locally.

This is another example of the government wasting taxpayers’ money, when daily expenditures are rising for the people,” he said.

He said the government could have used the money to subsidise certain goods or help the poor.

He was responding to an announcement by Malaysian Armed Forces public relations acting director Kol Fadzlette Othman Merican that the 122-member team will leave on April 16 for a two-month tour of duty at a cost of RM1.9 million to cover the insurance, attire and flight tickets.

The team will be guarding Buckingham Palace, St James’s Palace, the Tower of London and also Windsor Castle.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, who is also the defence minister, defended the decision to send the team as a recognition for Malaysian soldiers.

He said it was a recognition for the soldiers’ credibility, as the Chief of General Staff of the United Kingdom, Sir Richard Dannat, had been impressed with them during a visit here recently.

He saw our capability, the way our soldiers marched, so he proposed that we be given this honour. I take it as an honour for our Malay Regiment. It is not about guarding the palace but about the recognition. That is important,” he said.

Comments (68)Add Comment
written by PaulineL, April 07, 2008 19:49:37
EH?? I thought we have thrown away the shackles of colonialism? I thought the reason why we changed all the names of the roads to local names is because we want to forget that part of history when we were a British colony? Then why are we sending our troops to guard the British Queen? Doesn't make sense.
agree 117
Votes: +116
written by krepot, April 07, 2008 19:52:09
These Tanjung Rambutan runaways all think alike, from the officers to its minister, all the same! What do you expect.

Pray tell us, what is it going to cost us, the taxpayers for this exercise?

Also, could you please tell us the OBJECTIVES of the said proposal, so that we can gauge the RESULTS.
Votes: +69
written by LACOBRA, April 07, 2008 19:53:37
Our foremost priority is to protect the citizens of Mongolia! Worth the money invested.
Votes: +33
written by MasterYoda, April 07, 2008 19:54:04
The BN gomen wants to protect the Queen's backside.

That's RM 2 Million for the rear-end alone!!

smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
Votes: +59
written by krising1, April 07, 2008 19:54:17
I do not believe this! Royal Malay Regiment to perform guard duties at Buckingham Palace? I will slit my throat if that happens.
Votes: +37
written by nothing less, April 07, 2008 19:55:16
Where were the fellows (Federation of Consumers Association) when our so called angkasawan went to space as a a tourist wasting more than 25 million US dollars.
Votes: +54
written by Iliyas, April 07, 2008 19:58:46
Najib says"It is not about guarding the palace but the recognition"

In Kota Kinabalu,the main hospital is proudly known as Queen Elizabeth Hospital,this is recognition enough.The other recognition that Sabah is globally recognized for is having the most number of illegal immigrants in the country,we proudly call Malaysia.Is that recognition enough for you Mr.Najib?
Votes: +58
written by badam2007, April 07, 2008 19:59:09
If it is an honour/recognition from the British Gomen, let them pay for it. Why use our money..Saya tak halalkan dunia-akhirat..
Votes: +47
written by Awaken64, April 07, 2008 19:59:42
If you government officials need to reward some of these Malaysian soldiers please send them to Zimbabwe it will be noble. Kalau setakat nak pergi London on this ticket sounds like our administrators and politician are at loss for innovative ideas.

Please think harder and you would not want them to be shivering as the unpredictable British weather can take some getting used to.

Probably need to send them to Buckingshire one week earlier to acclimatise smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +17
written by seek justice, April 07, 2008 20:16:26
Folks,

If they are already leaving on April 16th, we are already way to late to try and stop them...or, maybe halfway too late. By now, their uniforms and some form of preparations would have been commissioned.

How come we didn't know about this earlier? This is wastage to the max. To think that they are still poor people in this country who do not even know what and when the next meal is going to be? We're doomed with this corrupt BN Government.
Votes: +34
written by Commonsenses, April 07, 2008 20:17:20
waste of taxpayers money !!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is BN government. Eklan banyak, sementara rakyat pahpa kedana.
Votes: +15
written by Harbinger, April 07, 2008 20:17:28
What do you expect from a government who has their brains in the butt ? Nothing but S*** ! It's a holiday at our expense !At the end of it all,they can still come up with doctored reports on what they've gained from the experience!
Votes: +25
written by The dragonheart, April 07, 2008 20:22:12
I think najib is look to be knighted by the Queen... To be Lord/ sir Dato seri Najib... the price? 2 million ringgit
Votes: +26
written by Jun Jan, April 07, 2008 20:23:15
2 mil for 2 mths ????? WTF?! i tot the party that hires would pay for their expenses and salaries, apa pulak Malaysia have to pay?! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
Votes: +18
written by mypanida, April 07, 2008 20:24:47
unseen hands at work......

kementerian pertahanan's first **** up after the election.

Najib as its menteri will have to shoulder the fallouts.
Votes: +10
written by alpha100, April 07, 2008 20:28:33
See no reason for M'sia to send RMR to guard Buckingham Palace! We can't even assure our homes here of reduce crime rate. Better utilise the RMR who probably identified to have nothing better to do to stand guard on our high crime streets to help reduce crime!
Votes: +29
written by sickofitall, April 07, 2008 20:36:31
Dei Najib, either:
1. Get UK or that sir chap who is so impressed, to foot the bill; or
2. You go there (alone) see that sir chap, say you are impressed with the Londoners' boobies I mean bobbies, then invite 10,000 of them to come over at THEIR govt's expense. Bobbies, ya, not boobies!
Votes: +20
written by loko Ono, April 07, 2008 20:38:27
You morons are too much! Dont ****ing mess with the military...they have done so much for the country and sacrificed for country, unlike you wankers sitting behind your pc condeming every god damn thing just because your supposed higher than thou attitude...u think u r the cream of society...who the hell u think you are? our brave soldiers fought n died in somalia, they were in the frontlines in bosnia, congo and many other...and we will go to Zimbabwe if we get the call from UN becoz thats who we are. Its about honour stupid. Serving the Queen (although we r independent) is part of the military roots. We, after all spilled the same blood in the same mud in the jungle protecting Malaya. In a way, this is part of us honoring the british soldiers that died defending the japs and against the freaking communist. You wankers better get a clue...RM2 million is nothing compared to the recognition. Its one thing to be against BN, is another when you wankers insult the Malaysian Army. ARMY Vet. (Served in Somalia)
disagree 51
Votes: -40
written by krepot, April 07, 2008 20:47:36
Instead of getting paid to be a jaga, it is going to COST us RM2 million to be a jaga in London!

How much more moronic can you get?
Votes: +38
written by klantikj, April 07, 2008 20:48:42
I'm with loko ono. Do not equal the army and UMNO!!
Who giving the order at the first place?
disagree 22
Votes: -17
written by Food Thought, April 07, 2008 20:50:45
What a waste of taxpayers money! I'm so curious why these people are so keen on UK like Dr Mashitah. Oh I forgot. Then they'll have more excuses going to UK for err..business trips with their whole family and suku sakat? Then, we rakyat as usual will sing the TIGHTEN our belt song again and again!
Votes: +18
written by chanatak, April 07, 2008 20:51:07
Enough is enough. BN people are so habitually corrupt in their ways that it is like 2nd nature to them. Despite the attention of the rakyat upon them, old habits cannot go away. Every little opportunity to scam the rakyat's money is not wasted. They do not know what is shame anymore.
Votes: +14
written by krepot, April 07, 2008 20:51:57
We are paying (not getting paid, mind you) RM260.56 per person a day to jaga the palace in London. You add in their daily salary and it goes up further. Najib Mongolia - go do the math, you moron!
written by KKchan, April 07, 2008 20:55:04
Dear Loko Ono,
None of the comments I read talks bad about the miltary. They question the rationale of sending our troops to guard a foreign sovereign. Should we get British troops to guard Istana Negara? Better to spend the money to help the soldiers directly! Buy books, shoes, uniforms etc for their children. Or give it to Ex-Services Association to help them fund their programmes. I read previously that there are ex-servicemen in ulu Sabah and Sarawak barely making ends meet.
Votes: +28
written by MasterYoda, April 07, 2008 21:10:32
Cis bedebah loko Ono (MasterYoda opening his silat move like Hang Tuah, tired of light saber)

Although our soldiers went somalia,bosnia, congo and else where...
they were only serviing in the pantry. or support corps NOT, NEVER FRONTLINES!!!...

If FRONTLINES...them some would have died...like other the other nationalities therer... our soldiers only served food and did the dish washing for the other countries.

When UN called for the 1st Gulf War 1990's, our 'heroes' didn't go.

During 13th May 1969, the Malay Regiment simply stood by and watched UMNO GOONS murder the chinese. they were under orders to allow the riot to continue.

Dei, what are you talking about?... who brainwashed you da? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
Votes: +30
written by budakindia, April 07, 2008 21:11:49
and they said we are already indepedent for the last 50 years? smilies/tongue.gif Why serving the Queen? smilies/grin.gif Our own national interests needed to be protected and they sent them to guard the Queen with the tax payers money? It's all about honour serving in a foreign land which was previously our master? I don't get it! Shouldn't they be honoured servinh this country on this soil? smilies/angry.gif
Votes: +13
written by Sidq, April 07, 2008 21:17:36
Isu ini adalah disebabkan kita punyai stupid incompetent KSU kementerian Pertahanan yang hanya menganguk -"saya yang menurut perintah". Apa yang menteri pertahanan kata semuanya OK -tiada kata ini seamua membuang duit pembayar cukai. Takut kena tindakn "ingkar perintah". This is the problem if we have stupid incompetent civil service. Penyakit ini berlaku disemua peringkat civil service.
Votes: +8
written by bensam, April 07, 2008 21:21:03
Guys, do you know that the World's best soldiers are gurkhas?? Why dont we send them to Nepal and learn from them? isnt it cheaper and lessons well learnt?? This DPM studied in London, so he wants to show the English people, he hasnt forgotten his Alma Mater!!!! Sudah la!!!smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +8
written by ahmisk, April 07, 2008 21:21:59
hahahahahahahahah! Bodoh punye defence minister!

The whole country is laughing at you again!

And our poor soldiers for being dragged into this stupid debacle.
Votes: +12
written by uncleleow, April 07, 2008 21:25:21
Hello Puki*** Najis. What are you doing? Wasting cool 2 mil for nothing. I know to you 2 mil is nothing. But there are million of people in the world that live on less than RM1 a day. Is that what your religion or your father teaches you?
By the way, does our brave soldiers get to stay at Castle de Malaysian Sport Complex??

Votes: +15
written by riboak, April 07, 2008 21:31:30
These guys @ the top are really hopeless. I wanna puke!
Votes: +4
written by KC Chew, April 07, 2008 21:41:22
Why not send them to guard our street for one year against Mat rempit and snatch thieves. Think everyone will agree and even support Najib Mongolia to be PM
Votes: +16
written by uncleleow, April 07, 2008 21:50:20
Ai ya..When the Queen become so poor. Until cannot afford sentry service. Hello..Queen. (Hope your British Diplomat is reading), I know your pound is devalue but allowing a third world country to guard your palace...dont you think something is wrong.
Are you not afraid that the third world jaga(sentry) might just go crazy and start doing funny thing with the rifle....
If the queen think it is acceptable risk..then by all means we can spend the 2 mil. Anyway it is not najis money...it is Malaysian people money. There are more from where it come from. So dont worry.
Votes: +5
written by thumb, April 07, 2008 21:50:59
I remember RPK firing HINDRAF chaps for carrying portrait of QE instead of our AGONG. Maybe RPK might have something to say now when the GOvernment itself is doing better the HINDRAF.
written by Daryl, April 07, 2008 21:58:27
Recognition for doing what? Tell us how they will learn if you are so insistence on sending them. Guarding will not help you with anything. You can send your officers to FBI, Scotland Yard or some other highly respected police unit around the world that will help Malaysia. Not to be a guard dog. What can you really learn out of this.....
Votes: +9
written by Experienced, April 07, 2008 22:07:36
smilies/grin.gif They are trying to outdo HINDRAF. We protect the Queen, and the Brits will forget the Indians. HAHAHAHAHAAH. Wayang Kulit. smilies/cool.gif
Votes: +7
written by temenggong, April 07, 2008 22:11:50
Bagui!!

Melayu jaga ogang putih!!
Votes: +3
written by smalluncle, April 07, 2008 22:18:27
soon SIR Badawi, like that simple also cannot figure out. smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +1
written by Wan Lin, April 07, 2008 22:32:07
Where were the fellows (Federation of Consumers Association) when our so called angkasawan went to space as a a tourist wasting more than 25 million US dollars.
written by nothing less, April 07, 2008 | 19:55:16

Federation of Consumers Association must have thought the arses of Russian Astranauts were more valuable than the Queen's, well at least 12.5 times higher (2m x 12.5 = 25m). Thats why they send him to protect them arses, we, Malaysian armies got some heavy responsibility on our shoulder you know...... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by loosecannon, April 07, 2008 22:32:34
This is another reason why Najib is not fit to be the next PM. Is the British government so poor that we have to help protect Queen E? First the multi-million sports complex in England and now this. All grandiose schemes which have little benefits to the country.

Better send our arm forces to Sabah and Sarawak to get rid of violent criminals from a neighbouring coutry. Sarawak Deputy CM George Chan was robbed by armed robbers last week. If people like him is not spared, how about hapless people like us?
written by teckkuan, April 07, 2008 22:34:45
the British must be laughing their ass off at us man.

having free soldiers guarding their place, who doesnt want that?!

recognition my foot! the only thing they recognise us Malaysians is that we have leaders who spents millions to serve them but their own nations. when there are still many people who struggles for basic necessities in our country the Minister spends our money this way. i am disgusted
written by SamYap, April 07, 2008 22:45:48
(NOTE to webmaster: if this is inappropriate, please remove it)

Hey! Assss sole, *******...
A soldier I will be,
To fffff....,to fight, to fight
Fight for my kunt..kunt...countreeeee
With a pis...a pis..a pistol on my knee
And Guard, to guard...to guard the Queen

I will bend, for the Prince
For the Prince when he wishes to bugger me!

SELAMAT JALAN KE LONDON! ENJOI! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Thomas47, April 07, 2008 22:46:24
All you guys got so worked up, do you pay your tax or tried every scheme known there is to avoid paying? If so, just shut up. We will be calling each other Bapa or Mas or worse, Comrades, if not for the help from our former colonial masters. So maybe this what the recognition DNAB was talking about.

On the bright side of it, at least none of our soldiers will die in battle. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Votes: -8
written by ylchee, April 07, 2008 22:48:57
I suggest that Najib goes round the world and give good commendation to their army and invite their army to come guard Malaysia. This way, the country only needs to pay for one person to travel round the world and in return get free Army to protect Malaysia. Maybe after 1 year of effort, we will see Malaysian Army be filled by Mongolians because Najib will spend a lot of time there officially recruiting free army smilies/smiley.gif
written by joeawk, April 07, 2008 22:52:21
How stupid can they get. Whose idea is that? KJ's?

It is simply too hard to stomach such stupidity. What kind of stunt is it? When will the govt ever stop all this nonsense. 2 million is sufficient scholarship for 10 students to complete their curse in Malaysia.
My, my, my. Nak meludah.
Votes: +2
written by qitaro, April 07, 2008 22:55:38
Recognition my ass!

The RMR will be recognized as Number One SOR HAI in London!
Votes: +6
written by Power5492, April 07, 2008 23:03:23
“He saw our capability, the way our soldiers marched, so he proposed that we be given this honour. I take it as an honour for our Malay Regiment. It is not about guarding the palace but about the recognition. That is important,” he said

Najib,
What crap just because a white man tells you man can march, you want to send them to be a door man with tax payer money? Come on and you are the next inline to be our PM. GOD SAVE MALAYSIA
Power
written by Dominic, April 07, 2008 23:37:38
I wonder who would Najib send if the visiting Chief Of General Staff is from France instead of from UK ? Whole Royal Regiment on how to handle the sumarine ! Just because the comment is positive, he gave the blessing to proceed. What about those negative aspect coming from within the country and from abroad ? Arn`t those more important and urgent to tackle ? Cheap skang ! Typical orang lima kaki !
written by loko Ono, April 07, 2008 23:38:38
How much $$$ have the British army contributed to the Malaysian Army (people) in the form of training, equipment, joint military exercise, and other goodwill initiatives over the years since independence? For that matter, US Navy and army personnel too come to our shores on goodwill trips in a bid to foster relations with the Malaysian army (and the Malaysian people). They come here onboard their nuclear powered aircraft carrier and destroyer vessels -- surely this cost more than RM2 million over the years in their military spending. This is a goodwill trip on behalf of the Malaysian Army, our turn to reciprocate. Why is this so difficult for most to comprehend? Its a matter of diplomatic relations..but I guess those who only know how to criticise see the world in their way and other opinions do not matter...and thats just sad. ARMY VET
Votes: -4
written by loko Ono, April 07, 2008 23:45:57
Master Yoda, I guess you forgot that one of our soldiers died and a few others injured as their Armored Vehicle was hit by mortar and other forms of assault rifle and grenades in Somalia rescuing the US Marines who were trapped in Mogadeishu..I guess a person of your intelligence only watch Blackhawk Down on pirated DVD..dig up the stuff on wikipedia and find the truth. Our brave armed forces rescued US Marines (together with a few other Pakistani troops for that matter)..take a minute to comprehend that...not so much pantry work for our army is it now? Fact of the matter was, when it was time for action, our soldiers were ready. Learn your facts so that you dont sound like a dumb ass moron.
Votes: -1
written by dinsmann, April 08, 2008 00:12:28
Its all-expenses-paid holidays to the lowly-paid RMR soldiers who never dream of setting foot on english soil. Better still, that Sir Dick Donat double-up their allowances, so that the soldiers can save some money. After all what is RM2 millions compared with RM100 billion of Petronas revenue, that the rakyat never seem to know its whereabouts. Please return Petronas to the rakyat, you AMNO mongrels! (oops, sowwy pete)
written by MasterYoda, April 08, 2008 00:23:05
loko Ono,

There you have it. you said it yourself... they were rescuing the wounded when they attacked by mortae etc... this is the function of support corps. there is risk of attack but it is not FRONTLINES...tch tch!!
written by MasterYoda, April 08, 2008 00:24:57
loko ono,

now you are behaving like the wanker you called the rest of us. cursing from behind the PC.

I am not a dumb as moron. that is very hurtful! you have no regard. End.
smilies/sad.gif
Votes: +0
written by sttb08, April 08, 2008 01:04:26
Let's not get the soldiers into this. They are not the decision makers. They follow orders.
Problem is with the idiot who is sending them. If he thinks it is an honour, then it must also be an honour for him to clean the Queen's behind after her work on the private throne! A@@hole
written by FFT, April 08, 2008 01:56:32
50 Years of independence only to go back to your colonial masters and be a "jaga pintu" for them?

Malaysia needs to be recolonized, as it is obvious the entire governing structure of this country has never shown that it deserves, nor can it handle, independence.
written by Baronshah, April 08, 2008 02:39:09
Najib dont you think it would be wise of you to send some of our boys to russia to guard putin's palace.
Sucks...!!! what a waste of tax payers money
written by AsamLaksa, April 08, 2008 04:50:27
My problem with this is... if the Sir Richard wants Malaysian troops to be the sentries, then UK should cover the cost as recognition of the services of RMR. But now what you have here is a cheapening of the recognition where Malaysia have to 'buy' international recognition.

Drop the Sir Richard recognition justification and just say what you really mean with the plan which is a perk for the RMR boys as recognition of their services by the Malaysian government. If you put it that way, I see no problem with the recognition by Malaysia and then the issue would be on the need of it, the size of the force sent, the service they are sent for, and cost incurred, whether they are justifiable.
written by bn haramjadah, April 08, 2008 06:25:21
HAHAHAHAHAHAH, i JUST CAN'T stop laughing, first we send our soldiers there to be jagas than instead of being paid Malaysian govertment is going to spend 2 million, hahahahah, genius, no focking brains, you pay to jaga their parks and palace, no wonder umno insists they need the NEP CRUTCHES, IF THEY DO BUSINESS LIKE THIS NO WONDER TAXPAYER MONEY HAS BEEN SPENT ON BAILOUTS, PURE STUPIDITY.what geniuses we have as leaders of our country, meanwhile will shilpa lee be entertaining the soldiers smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif maybe our boys in green can donate a bit for her fund,hahahahahaha
written by bn haramjadah, April 08, 2008 06:29:24
we have been independant for 50 years, and umno always shouts at the top of the voice that we were di jajah by the brits, why are you still jilat dia buntut, bodoooh, orang tak sedar diri smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif SATU LAGI PROJECK MEWAH DARI UMNO, YOU WILL ALWAYS BE MENTALLY ENSLAVED TO THE BRITS
written by mikewang, April 08, 2008 06:46:33
Outside buckingham palace there are pillars depicting various territorial conquest of Britainia. Persekutuan Tanah Melayu being one of them.

Perhaps Najib like those pillars so much that he is willing to spend our millions for our soldiers to be there.

I bet that those air tickets and whatever incidentals associated with this trip could be the most expensive ones, bearing in mind that, as usual, some UMNO Putra will take this opportunity to fleece the rakyat.
written by bn haramjadah, April 08, 2008 06:51:32
IOKO ONO I KNOW WHERE YOU ARE COMING FROM, but I have one question for you, why are they sending the malay regiment, ISN'T MALAYSIA A MULTI RACIAL COUNTRY, WHERE MALAYSIANS OF DIFFERENT RACES HAVE SERVED BRAVELY FOR THEIR COUNTRY, lest you forget, being an ex soldier and all, how much has the govt given to their ex-soldiers, a small plot of land?? maybe you need reminding, go to the tugu kebangsaan both, WW1 & WW2, LOOK AT THE NAMES ENGRAVED THERE, THOSE WHO DIED ON FOREIGN BATTLEFIELDS, are they only one race or multi racial, this excersise is just another ketuanan melayu pr excersise, if you want to send than send a multi racial regiment, not the malay regiment, also ex soldier.
written by bn haramjadah, April 08, 2008 06:52:07
ex ranger...WAR DIE BURN
written by gx27, April 08, 2008 07:02:59
Go to hell you NAJIS. cant even tackle our own crime issue internally and now you want jaga other people's backside. why dont you send the RMR to tackle the mat rempits and handbag snatchers since our police force are too busy with other 'more important' issues. and pay them commission for every mat rempit that they managed to arrest and send the mat rempit to do community work for 2 months or longer?

WHY GO TO LONDON WHEN HANDBAG SNATCHERS ARE RAMPANTLY AND BLATANTLY ATTACKING NOW? PAKAI YOUR OTAK LAH PUNDEK!!!!! BLOODY NAJ