KL mayor: Show us evidence of corruption PDF Print
Monday, 07 April 2008 19:42

Pauline Puah

(The Sun) KUALA LUMPUR (April 7, 2008): Pakatan Rakyat (PR)'s 10 Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur Members of Parliament (MPs) today accused Kuala Lumpur City Hall officers as being "corrupt to the core".

KL mayor Datuk Ab. Hakim Borhan immediately responded by challenging the MPs to "substantiate their claims with evidence".

We have many workers. We also outsource some of work to contractors. Sometimes, we don’t really know what is happening on the ground. If they (the MPs) have any evidence that our officers are involved (in corruption), they can show us proof (for action to be taken)," he said in a press conference after a meeting with the PR MPs.

PR won 10 of the 11 parliamentary seats in FTKL.

Hakim said to avoid confusion, City Hall has made it compulsory for all contractors to wear clothes stating that they were City Hall’s contractors.

"This is to differentiate who are actually working in that area and who are our officers,” he added.

He said the Federal Territories Ministry was monitoring all work in progress and that City Hall also held briefings on integrity for its officers.

In a separate press conference earlier, Titiwangsa MP Dr Lo’lo Mohd Ghazali and Wangsa Maju MP Wee Choo Keong said one of the issues raised in the meeting was that City Hall has been seen as "synonymous with corruption".

"There have been calls over the years to hold local council elections to wipe out alleged corruption and misuse of power in the local councils."

Asked whether City Hall was under "siege" following the overwhelming victor of PR, Hakim said: "City Hall has to face all kinds of challenge. As government officers, we have procedurse and guidelines to follow ... if we don’t follow (the procedures and guidelines), then that is a different story."

On the MPs' demand that City Hall should cancel the development project on Federal Hill, he said it has yet to decide on the project as the local plan would be displayed for residents for objection on May 15.

On a proposal to set up a secretariat in City Hall and in all the MPs' service centres, Hakim said he would raise the matter with the ministry.

The MPs also suggsted that City Hall appoint more assistant managers in the respective constituencies to reduce bureaucracy but Hakim said "it's not necessary to have more officers".

"We already have managers stationed in all the constituencies,” he added.

Other at the meeting were Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim  (Bandar Tun Razak), Dr Tan Seng Giaw (Kepong), Teresa Kok (Seputeh), Fong Kui Lun (Bukit Bintang), Tan Kok Wai (Cheras), Tian Chua (Batu), Lim Lip Eng (Segambut) and Nurul Izzah Anwar (Lembah Pantai).

Chua said the MPs also hoped to be involved directly in KL's urban planning.

"We are here to involve ourselves directly in the development of KL, not merely criticising the policies,” he said, adding that the MPs would gather in a retreat from April 17 to 19 with Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Zulhasnan Rafique, who is also Barisan Nasional's sole MP in KL.

written by krepot, April 07, 2008 19:47:21
Proof?

Every time a DBKL officer walks into a business premises, every KL Citizen knows exectly why he has entered the premises. If the minister needs proof, then he must be the most ignorant idiot in Kuala Lumpur!

That is the very reason, why BN was totally rejected by the rakyat in Kuala Lumpur. We don't need to give him proof. Come GE13, he will still be asking for proof, when he has to go back practicing in the humble law firm!

An in Khairy's words: "Don't talk cock!"
written by justice, April 07, 2008 19:50:45
Hakim Borhan,

Would you support that we make ACA totally independent and clean like Hong Kong's ICAC before we investigate you? If yes, please propose this to Bodohwi, else stop claming that you are clean.
written by nothing less, April 07, 2008 19:56:12
Deeeeh!!!!!
written by MasterYoda, April 07, 2008 19:57:17
Aiyah,...

very simple.

Just find those DBKL Officials who voted for the opposition or the businessmen who didn't get thier contract after so much ball carrying...

they are your witnesses!! smilies/wink.gif
written by miwaki, April 07, 2008 20:01:08
Another idiot is asking for proof of corruption.Hello Bolhan,I will be pleased if they can prove you are corrupted as well.
written by Littlebird, April 07, 2008 20:10:32
Want proof? here it is - go to the restaurant near masjid jamik station. formely known as Restaurant Maju now I think Al Maju. Why they can place tables wherever they like? Or go to Leboh Ampang..see cars parked along the road and if you see anyone issuing ticket watch carefully which vehicles he issue summons.

Also see the bus parked there sometimes blocking the road and causing jam but seen JPJ, DBKL tapi nothing also happening. Lagi mau... see yhe exit of Ahlek Highway behind Dang Wangi LRT station. Restaurant/rumah operate, cars parked haphazardly that too near the new Dang Wangi temporary police station but nothing happening.
written by The dragonheart, April 07, 2008 20:40:42
Go and visit to some of the DBKL enforcement officers home... i ment those who wears one pip on the shoulders or even a sargent... they can affort to build bungalows or have 2-3 double stories houses, 3-4 cars... but how much do they earn?

i saw one lady DBKL clerk ... people look at her as if she is very poor.. because her house was never renovated as compare to the rest of her neighborhoods.. her house seems so dirty...with lots of junks dump in the compund... but she has 2 houses... I lorry, one car, one van, 2 motor cycles... her lorry does all the Delivery of DBKL projects...

People would say... ahhhh may be they were rich before the joined DBKL...

Does DBKL recruit only rich people to be their staff?

written by chanatak, April 07, 2008 20:47:49
Attention PR reps, for one, go do a survey with the coffeeshops, mamak stalls, especially those who place stalls, table and chairs on the 5 footway and roadside. Ask them and they will tell you the true story.
written by exzonerator, April 07, 2008 20:54:13
If the mayor doesn't know what is happening on the ground, then he is not fit to be the mayor. Claiming ignorance only shows that he acknowledges corruption is rampant.
written by batsman, April 07, 2008 21:00:19
KL parliamentarians - just start an office for business men and citizens to report on corruption by DBKL. Hire investigators to follow up every report. Encourage businesses and ordinary citizens to use video recorders, cameras and voice recorders as much as possible. Don't let the KL mayor's arrogance go unchallenged.
written by budakindia, April 07, 2008 21:15:41
Aha, and you did nothing to curb the corruption. At least the police has the button badger. You need proof? Just take a stroll on your own KL city and see for yourself! Or is it just that you are that big comfortable air-cond room too busy with the next suck-up or making a good deal out for yourself? smilies/angry.gif Typical UMNO denial man. smilies/angry.gif
written by wongnoball, April 07, 2008 21:29:30
The owners of the mamak stalls said they have to pay money to DBKL officers every month. Is that legal or illegal ???? Can the mayor clarify where is the money gone to ??? If the mamak stalls don't pay anything, is that fair to those nearby shopowners ????
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by supplier, April 07, 2008 21:40:07
Just go to Petaling Street and watch how the Cityhall enforcement behave!!!
taking whatever they like without paying.
written by rayden chan, April 07, 2008 21:58:43
Mana ada evidence?
All bakar already..
written by KetamPadang, April 07, 2008 22:15:16
Oh boy ... then show these spoiled Civil Servants (Hamba Awam) the evidences YB....
written by Wisdom above, April 07, 2008 22:27:38
Proof?

That is, if all 10 BR MPs want to take up the Mayor's challenge.

Use ' entrapment' to nap ,very time a DBKL officer walks into a business premises.

Make sure the ' Rnggit Malaysia' is "marked notes "supplied by ACA for use in the entrapment. Evidential proof as admissible trial evidences.

You can legally 'entrap' at least 70% percent of all DBKL licensing & enforcement staff .

Quite easy to clean up if all business persons & owners cooperate with ACA.

I think BPR is only waiting for complainants to come forward.

Remember the phrase,'Do not put sand into our rice bowl'.

Remember, they catch only small fish .

Who want to throw the first stone & get momentum moving.

After that you can reemploy new staff to fill up the emptied vacancies .

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.
written by IbnAbdHalim, April 07, 2008 22:29:10
It's widespread, not DBKL only. It's an open secret. Why? Leadership By Example!
written by Uncorruptible, April 07, 2008 22:38:05
When a developer builds high rise homes on DBKL land, and the developer victimises purchasers, why does the DBKL not take any action against the developer when the matter is brought up to DBKL ?????? Is that not a sign of corruption in high places in DBKL ?
written by godz, April 07, 2008 22:46:27
Hakim Borhan, Are you plain ignorant or you had been working under that Bodowi government for too long until you turn Bodoh! For your information most of the food operators in KL are paying monthly fix payments to yout DBKL peoples for letting then run business in peace. Health Ministry & Penguatkuasa. For approval on the premises Perancang are also involved. You need more proofs? Go and ask them!
written by joeawk, April 07, 2008 22:58:23
Even if the mayor is blind, he should still be able to see and if he is deaf, he surely can still see. Do not tell us that you are deaf and blind. Or you have your head in between your legs.

No project, no money to make. So, just create some projects, nevermind if they benefit the people or not because it at least benefit their contractor friends and themselves.

Ask the surveyors or architect. Has there been a development order that does not involve undercounter payment?

Proof? Haha. You buta ka?
written by notsosmart, April 07, 2008 23:37:26
Proof, proof, proof..why does these damned gomen official keep asking the rakyat to prove their wrong doing and corruption.

What are these morons trying to tell the rakyat. Do they think that the rakyat are stupid enough for not able to tell the truth? Time for the rakyat to f**k those morons. Don't give them room for abuse. Not even a space for their toe. Force the gomen to get them to makes an official declaration of all their assets liabilities of themselves and their family. Including their travel plan and credit card spending for the last 5 years.

If we need to do a sit-in protest for it, we have to do it to save our nation from this evil practice.
written by benjo, April 07, 2008 23:46:37
How about allowing/empowering the PR or the Wilayah MPs to form a official committee to study/investigate/examine and report to the assets of all Cityhall officials, and all people connected with it ?
written by bn haramjadah, April 08, 2008 07:11:45
deaf, blind,retard and stupid too, on the statement by KL mayor Datuk Ab. Hakim Borhan, ask any shopkeeper who are the extortion artists, contractors- are enforcement division also contractors???, you may be blind,deaf,a retard and stupid but mr mayor we the rakyat are not
written by bn haramjadah, April 08, 2008 07:11:45
deaf, blind,retard and stupid too, on the statement by KL mayor Datuk Ab. Hakim Borhan, ask any shopkeeper who are the extortion artists, contractors- are enforcement division also contractors???, you may be blind,deaf,a retard and stupid but mr mayor we the rakyat are not
written by bn haramjadah, April 08, 2008 07:22:46
guys this clown needs proof, lets give it to him, majority of us have handphones with cameras so what else, let do a lingam on dbkl, than lets see where he puts his face, hand over the proof to theresa kok, just blog for her name under sassy mp than send her the proof,than we see whether he take any action, what about the raya stalls scandal in masjid india apa jadi,
semua settle, satu lagi projeck mewah dari dbkl...cemerlang smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Bigjoe99, April 08, 2008 08:02:41
Very simple actually. The Mayor to give full access to all document pertaining to land, development/rights to the MPs and the proof will come out a mile high. MPs are elected majority officials and no secrets should be kept from them if it pertains to their constituencies...
written by ahmadbadrul40, April 08, 2008 08:14:07
Mamak stalls are small corruptions compare to road repairing and road building projects. Not including those landscaping and cleaning bus stands contract. I know for a matter of fact, that a bumiputra contractor can earn 10k washing 1 bus stand in KL. And he doesn' even have to move a single hand. Talk about NEP? Talk about Malay empowerment. This is what you get man.

What can opposition do? UMNO controls the ACA, Judiciary, police and the army. So what the fark can the opposition do?