PM: Mahathir harmed the judiciary PDF Print
Monday, 07 April 2008 17:43

(THE EDGE) - Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi yesterday broke his “elegant silence” on his predecessor, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, and blamed him for the judicial crisis facing Malaysia.

He said the crisis in the judiciary did not start with the current administration but he had to address the issue since the business community did not have a favourable impression of the Malaysian judiciary.

“They don’t want any contract disputes to be brought to the Malaysian courts. They would rather go to Singapore or other countries such as Australia, Switzerland or Hong Kong.”

“They don’t have confidence and it’s bad. I have to do something and the people are hoping for a reform in the judiciary,” Abdullah told a press conference after a closed-door meeting with 1,000 party members at the Putra World Trade Centre here.

He was responding to a question on whether his decision to allow for a royal commission of inquiry into the Datuk VK Lingam video controversy recently had cast his government in a bad light and contributed to the poor performance of Barisan Nasional (BN) in the recent general election.

Indirectly referring to Dr Mahathir, Abdullah said “certain people” had continuously attacked the current administration by implying as if all of the Cabinet ministers were stupid while Abdullah’s son-in-law and Umno Youth deputy president Khairy Jamaluddin was the only clever one.

He also said these people also complained there was no media freedom in Malaysia now but such restrictions also existed under the previous administration.

“During Dr Mahathir’s time, reporters were told to block out stories and photos of (former prime minister) Tun Hussein Onn and not give coverage to certain people. As for Operasi Lalang, who is responsible?” he said.

At the height of Umno leadership struggle in 1987, the Mahathir administration launched Operasi Lalang by arresting over 100 people under the Internal Security Act (ISA) and closing down several newspapers.

Former prime ministers Tunku Abdul Rahman and Hussein were among those critical of Dr Mahathir.

On whether he would order an investigation against Dr Mahathir, Abdullah said the government would act according to evidence.

“We cannot just close our eyes. If there is evidence, the government, via certain agencies will consider the matter. If necessary, we will investigate,” he said.

In a letter to various newspapers last week, former United Nations special rapporteur on the independence of judges and lawyers Datuk Param Cumaraswamy called for an investigation into Dr Mahathir’s alleged abuse of power.

Among others, Param provided a transcript of former Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) director-general Datuk Shafee Yahya’s testimony in court, who, among other things, said that he felt disillusioned with Dr Mahathir’s interference with his duty.

Pressed on whether he would open an investigation file into the matter, Abdullah stressed: “I won’t open files. It is not my business to open files on anybody.”

However, he said it was up to ACA or any other agencies to investigate the matter if there was enough evidence.

The prime minister also said he had nothing to do with PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s early release from prison.

“He was released following a court decision. I don’t tell the court to do this or that. Whether other people will do such thing, I don’t know,” he said.

Abdullah was responding to criticism of him releasing Anwar from jail and allowing the former deputy prime minister to be emboldened in his mission to topple Umno from the government.

Not long after Abdullah won a landslide victory in the 2004 general election, Anwar was released from jail after the Federal Court overturned his sodomy conviction in September 2004.

On the other hand, Dr Mahathir is widely perceived to be instrumental in putting Anwar behind bars in 1999.

On whether Dr Mahathir’s constant criticisms of Umno could eventually destroy the party, Abdullah said Dr Mahathir was a strong leader but he abused his strength.

“When we win, he (Dr Mahathir) said the government is too strong and there should be an opposition. It was as if he tolerates the opposition all the time.”

“When the opposition gains ground, I thought he would celebrate but he hentam (whack) us instead. He asked why this happened? Menang banyak tak boleh. Menang sikit pun tak boleh. Jadi, apa yang boleh? (Win a lot cannot, win less cannot, so what can?)”

When asked why he was more vocal against his predecessor now, he said: “I will say what is needed to be said. I will not say what is not required.”

Abdullah said he spoke up to regain the confidence of Umno members in the party and to ensure their support for its leadership.

The prime minister also stressed that he had no problem with his deputy, Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

“He sees himself as the person who will replace me, not an alternative leader, unlike Anwar, who saw himself as an alternative leader to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.”

“Anwar calls himself the leader-in-waiting. He forgets I am the leader today,” he said.

written by colorsinlife, April 07, 2008 17:58:58
delayed justice ....

BUT Dollah why you keep quiet all these while ....
You scratch my back, I scratched your bag ....
What is your agenda??
You are not sincere, uh??? Lousy guy....
So if Mahathir keep quiet...you also keep quiet....
Is this your Islam Hadhari, more like Jaga Diri Sendiri only ..

You should be detained under ISA with Mahathir .... 2x5=8 ?
3x3=7, 1 1=4, 3x5=7, 1-1=5, 10/5=3, etc?????

BTW - Anwar may not be the best, but he is the the better one ... among all the scoundrels ... Who knows Anwar has changed for good ...?
written by shock, April 07, 2008 18:18:01
pak lah, if you know what sort of image our judiciary has,
what the hell have you been doing the last 4 years about it
you have done nohting
in fact, you even tried our level best to extend the contract of the previous 'lord presidnet' but luckily you failed
do not talk as if you are a saint
you are worse than dr. m if you knew of the rot and you did nothing about it
so pak lah, the lesser you say, the lesse people will condemn you
written by laksa maner, April 07, 2008 18:20:49
whatever F**kLah...if u knew that TDM has his wrongdoing, why don't you take any action against him? Prove that you are right. I challenge you. And if he did it, what is your corrective and preventive action that you had taken?

So far as rakyat knows, you make it worse. Your SIL action is disgusting whereas you are always denial and irrespect your former boss. If both of you are working together or at less seek and follow TDM certain advice, UMNO and BN will not facing the trouble so much. You cannot make changes too drastic. However, you should be smart enough to handle most of the issues.

You as a PM cannot also let your minister to make decision as what they want. If they still make final decision without your concern, then your not leading them. That's why rakyat see you not performing your tasks.

Again, you as a PM should show the good example to rakyat. You should able to handle your son-in-law as well.

You can claim whatever you want in term of Malaysia's economic scenario. However, you must also remember, there is so many Malaysians are also expert in economics and know how to analyse the data. You cannot simply says the economic is OK.

Back to who fire who and who started the fire. From my experience dealing with your guys included brokers, there are a lot of words and reminder to us to not giving any project to the company who got the project during TDM time. What this mean to you? You also keep mentioning that previous administration wasting a lot of money on mega projects. But now, your mega projects is much more than TDM time if you compare with your 5 yrs as a PM and TDM. What is this mean? After all those messages deliver to your cronies and brokers, at the end it comes to TDM's ear. I want to ask you a question, I your successor do this to you, will you going to keep quiet?.

Now, who attack who first.

As a PM you should able to evaluate "yang mana intan dan yang mata permata".

Your report card is scam report card. Rakyat measure you based on your credibility and performances. Not report card like a school kids' attendance. That's nonsense.

written by malsia1206, April 07, 2008 18:22:45
So someone has to take the lead and the initiative to commence the investigation on whether the former PM manipulates the Judiciary. The ACA would not do it unless it involves an element of corruption. This may not be the situation in those circumstances. The Police would not act unless and until a report has been lodged to warrant an investigation. And the AG would not pursue the matter unless the Police investigation papers are ready and forwarded to him. Even then, he has the discretion to decide whether to prosecute or otherwise. Which means all go back to nowhere. Which is exactly what's happening for 20 years. So the rot in the Judiciary continues. Malaysia is really one country that holds such high esteem in the international community for not doing anything when the situation calls for something to be done dratically. Meanwhile, all the slurs and accusation fly around and the correct x3 incident compounds the rot. What does it take for more rot to continue until our Judiciary no longer deserves to have it's rightful place under our Federal Constitution? We may as well retire all the Judges and let them collect their pensions now. Close down all our Courts and turn them into Polyclinics to serve the medical needs of the rakyat.
written by atsanee, April 07, 2008 18:28:22
Correct correct correct,
TDM responsible for a Mickey Mouse Judiciary.

Now tell us something new.

Tell us what you are doing to right the situation.

Dont just rely on Zaid Ibrahim.
Bring in others who can advice without fear or favour.
As a start,consider working with expert lawyers from BR like Karpal Singh.
written by colorsinlife, April 07, 2008 18:28:56
SAME-SAME LAH ... 2X5=8
MAHATHIR HARMED THE JUDICIARY
ABDULLAH DESTROYED THE JUDICIARY
NAJIB CAN SWEEP THE MSS UNDER THE CARPET...

WHAT IS THE ISSUE.??? SAP-SAP SUAH..
written by sonofman0, April 07, 2008 18:29:10
Eyes closed, ears wide open. There appears to be no throwing in of the towel!

Instead the gloves have been put on. The first jab has been thrown:
"We cannot just close our eyes."

The tension mounts.

What is the real reason so many want this man out so quickly?
written by delCapo, April 07, 2008 18:32:17
What a bunch of Bollocks, Lah!
U still cannot show u r a man capable of standing on your own... every speech, sentence, statement is in reference to other people!!

For the past few days... u dig dig dig... whine, whine whine about the past... you have been PM for how long? In government for how much longer before??
So you did NOTHING!.. now u highlight to all of us what we already know.... AND THEN!?!?!??!

"Former prime ministers Tunku Abdul Rahman and Hussein were among those critical of Dr Mahathir."
- Errr.... yes??? your point being....

"On whether he would order an investigation against Dr Mahathir, Abdullah said the government would act according to evidence. "
- damn weak....

“We cannot just close our eyes." he said.
- AHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!.... you should really be a stand-up... your comedy timing is impeccable...

"The prime minister also said he had nothing to do with PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s early release from prison."
- LIAR!!! It was a trade-off to save "someone's" ass that now comes back to bite yours 100 times harder !! smilies/grin.gif

written by Iliyas, April 07, 2008 18:33:49
Malaysians in general over the past month,have been hurling abusive names at the PM.Calling him names such as,idiot,sleeping PM and so on,but the one consolation is he's not suffering from amnesia.He's recollection on the judicial crisis was due to his predecessor.Perhaps the PM would like to explain,then why is the judiciary still a crisis after taking over as PM from TDM?Malaysians from all walks of life have known that the judiciary badly needs a complete overhaul.

One wonders,had the overall election results been the same as 2004,the question of reforming the judiciary would not have surface.Pak Lah and TDM...pot calling the kettle black.
written by krising1, April 07, 2008 18:44:27
1. When Anwar made public the Lingam tape, you did nothing to start an investigation. The lawyers had a march to Putrajaya remember. And the police investigated the lawyers for unlawful assembly. Does not show tghat you cared to right the wrongs in the judiciary.

Soon the RC will send you their report. Many people can be charged for perverting the course of justice. Let us see how soon you will bring them to court!!!!
written by ukaymelaka, April 07, 2008 18:52:01
Now that AAB has openly said that TDM harmed the judiciary while he was PM, was he or was he not in the cabinet at that time and what did he do about it. He was one of the conspirators, so were all the others in the cabinet. But AAB may have like Brutus looked away as he plunged his dagger into Tun Salleh Abbas. If AAB and the others had any honour they would have not allowed TDM to do what he did, and if they were too stupid or weak to do so, they should have resigned collectively from the cabinet. He has another chance now to do something right. Take up Zaid's suggestion and make an apology on behalf of the government to the victims of the conspiracy. If he cannot or won't do it he should forever remain silent over what TDM did or did not with reg to the conspiracy.
ukaymelaka
written by Harbinger, April 07, 2008 18:59:45
Pak Lah,this is what what I found on wikipedia on " sins of omission "

IT IS THE FAILURE TO DO SOMETHING ONE CAN AND OUGHT TO DO !!

You could have one so much good with the powers given to you in 2004-the year we voted for you ,put our hopes on you and believed in you, YOU who WERE supposed to be Mr.Clean when you said " TRUST ME!"
It is now 2008 and ask yourself what have you done for the country that we can be proud of?
Your flame is flickering and your time is almost up.If you want to do something good while you still can, then release the HINDRAF 5 !!

written by ekt tan, April 07, 2008 19:53:32
Pak Lah, the Rakyat as well as yourself knew that many political opponents were jailed under the ISA to protect your party interest. Why you did nothing ? Your party has balantly abused the ISA for your own political gains. Operasi Lalang intiated by TDM was aimed at silencing those who spoke out against your government. Now you have used the same draconian instrument to put the five from HINDRAF in jail. Since it is now all out in the open, you must do the right thing by releasing all the HINDRAF five without conditions. You are no better as Mahatir. As for the judiciary, you are equally to be blamed as you are partners with TDM. So please put it back to your ex- boss.
written by sitiawan, April 07, 2008 20:10:30
This is called 'Elegant Silence' of a SLEEPY IDIOT!!!
written by MasterYoda, April 07, 2008 20:14:00
hey PAK LAH,

I have a suggestion for you. This will really work! TRUST me (don't worry i am not Khairy)

Just ARREST Mahathir!!!! Put him in ISA. Let him squat every morning like LGE

it will work like magic. your gomen will win points!!!

smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by ttwangsa, April 07, 2008 20:45:18
Pak Lah, if you have to do something to redeem yourself , now is the right time to do before it is too late. No more talk or giving empty promises . The people want real commitment which will be translated into real action. Not just half-cook lip services.

Do not be like Mahathir either, when he is not in power suddenly everything is not right.Everything is wrong.
Forget about him , he is history, past, expired and forgone conclusion. And you will be like him too if you do not correct the mistakes he had committed.

The right thing is to do your self analysis and act like a true responsible leader. If not might as well pass the baton to someone else.
written by Compassion_Seeker, April 07, 2008 21:20:55
PM: Mahathir harmed the judiciary then you harm the Rakyat
written by budakindia, April 07, 2008 21:22:37
“They don’t want any contract disputes to be brought to the Malaysian courts. They would rather go to Singapore or other countries such as Australia, Switzerland or Hong Kong.”
======================================================= ======================

Err Abdullah, then how come the Arabs are shying away from our country? They don't want to invest the new WPI, ECER, RICODA err I don't know what you call others. I'm at a lost here. smilies/tongue.gif

You are the distinguished leader of Islam and the chairman of OIC right? Why they shy away? This happens in your 5 years of administration.

Blame to Tun Mahathir also? smilies/grin.gif
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 07, 2008 21:34:02
Augustine Poh = paid by TDM to destroy DSAI
written by teckkuan, April 07, 2008 22:40:50
playing the blame game again. when are they gonna stop all this and focus on matters which are more important? i'm really worried, if this doesnt end soon we people are going to suffer for these political instability

UMNO have to sort their own problems behind their own doors and minimize the buzz and rumours going around about them.
written by mgeo, April 07, 2008 23:02:25
AAB should have started work on making the judiciary more autonomous as soon as the Tun (given the title on the last day of work by a man beholden to him) started attacking him (breaking his promise to control his verbal diarrhoea). Instead, just before the next election, he delegated it to Najib to set up a very limited commission on a very limited topic on the judiciary.
This is one of many TDM legacies he failed to undo.
written by HamChak, April 07, 2008 23:34:05
Koret, Koret, Koret,
It is time to bring the MaMak to face the judicial.
Yes, Yes, Yes
ISA that MaMak
All Gomen Agencies to check on his family's affairs.
Why are they so RICH ahh?
Mana dapat ini macham banyak DUIT ka?