Like Siamese twins PDF Print
Monday, 07 April 2008 15:04

It is like two people in a lifeboat. The ship has sunk and you and your enemy both end up in the same lifeboat. You would like to throw your enemy over the side, especially, in the first place, since it is his fault that the ship sank. But then the lifeboat needs two people to row to reach dry land.

My first face-to-face experience with Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was soon after he became Prime Minister. That was about 26 years or so ago and Anwar Ibrahim had just joined Umno and had hardly one year under his belt as a Member of Parliament.

I must admit my ‘relationship’ with Mahathir can be classified as love-hate. By then I was already ‘moving’ with PAS so Mahathir would have to be considered ‘the enemy’. But he was also Prime Minister. So while I may have ‘rejected’ him as the Umno President, I still had to give him due respect as the Prime Minister. That was how I had been ‘indoctrinated’ from young.

This was probably the ‘Malay palace protocol’ acting up on me. Malays are indoctrinated with the dogma that authority must be respected, regardless of whether the authority is just or cruel. That is why for generations Malays looked up to Hang Tuah as the hero and Hang Jebat as the villain. Of course, much of that has now changed, especially since the internet and globalisation has shrunk the world to one small borderless village. But it was not until quite recent, say 25 years or so ago, when leaders like Musa Hitam declared that Malays must now become kurang ajar before they dared face an unjust authority with defiance.

If I had said what Musa said I would have been showered with verbal diarrhoea. But because it was the Deputy Prime Minister who made this statement, then it has to be the gospel and nothing short of that. Musa, however, did not clarify what he meant by kurang ajar or whether he meant this literally or metaphorically speaking.

Kurang ajar is something Malays can never tolerate. The May 13 disaster, though many believe was the result of the ruling party losing some states and its two-thirds majority in Parliament in the 11 May 1969 general election, was actually because of what happened on 12 May rather than 11 May.

On 12 May, a group of Chinese and Indians paraded in convoys in the predominantly Malay sections of Kuala Lumpur and started taunting the Malays. It was bad enough the Malays felt that the Chinese and Indians had defeated them and had ‘taken over Malay territory’. But to add insult to injury by calling the Malays names and then shouting at the Malays to get out of Kuala Lumpur and go back to the kampongs because Kuala Lumpur is now owned by the Chinese and Indians was pushing it a bit too far.

The Malays decided to balas dendam (get revenge) and a counter-parade was planned for the following day. The rest, as they say, is now history and water under the bridge. There is probably not a single Malaysian who does not know what happened the following day on 13 May 1969 so I really need not go on further.

As much as many may believe that May 13 was the result of the bad performance of the Alliance Party in the 11 May 1969 general election, the truth of the matter is the Malays were outraged by the insults from the Chinese and Indians on 12 May 1969. No doubt the Malays were still in shock. But the shock of the 11 May 1969 humiliation was overshadowed by the insults of 12 May 1969. And that was the main reason for the following day’s retaliation, though of course there are other ‘hidden’ reasons, which I have already talked about at great length in the past and do not really need to repeat here.

The Malays are not really that poor a sport. Sure, Malays understand defeat and can accept defeat just like any other race. But what Malays can’t accept, which probably differentiates Malays from other races, are insults. You insult a Malay and he will run amok. And is not amok a Malay word that is not found in any other language?

Anyway, enough digressing. Allow me to get back to the subject of my first face-to-face with Mahathir. This was a meeting cum dinner held at the Equatorial Hotel in Kuala Lumpur. Mahathir was the host and the Malay Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce were the guests.

It was a Chinese dinner, a normal table for ten, but each table was marked with five Malay Chamber members and five Chinese Chamber members and we had to sit selang-seli (alternate). It was not free seating and we had to sit where we had been slotted to sit. So each Chinese ended up with Malays on his left and right and vice versa for the Malays. This was to ensure that the Malays do not all sit on one table or bunch up on one side of the table, the same for the Chinese of course. It never occurred to me, then, that the Indians were not included in this whole thing. Or could it be because the Indians were not as organised as the Malays and Chinese and the government did not know which Indian business grouping to contact?

Mahathir, who was Prime Minister for only a year or so, kicked off by saying that the New Economic Policy was already more than halfway through. As we had promised the non-Malays, said Mahahir, the NEP must end in 1990 as scheduled. It would be unfair and a breach of ‘agreement’ to extend the NEP beyond 1990. So the Malays must be prepared to see it end, come eight years or so. Mahathir then whacked the Malays and the bad attitude they had, right there and then, in front of the Chinese. But then he is the Prime Minister and he could get away with something like that.

Mahathir then turned to the Chinese. It is the moral duty of the Chinese to help the Malays, argued Mahathir. The Malays can’t be left to die. The Malays are the majority race in Malaysia and any race that is unhappy is not good for the peace and stability of the nation, especially if they form the majority race in that country.

Mahathir then insulted the Malays further. Malays like to spend money, said Mahathir. If they have money they spend. Even if they don’t have money they will still spend and end up heavily in debt. So what is wrong if the Chinese help the Malays become rich? Invariably, the Malays will spend all their money and it will be spent in Chinese shops since it is the Chinese and not Malays who own all these shops.

Therefore, said Mahathir, in his usual Mahanomics manner, rich Malays would ensure that the Chinese become even richer -- because at the end of the day the Malays would spend all their money and it would end up in the pockets of the Chinese.

Hmm….this does not say much for the Malays. And they were being insulted in front of the Chinese. In short, Mahathir was telling the Chinese to help make the Malays ‘fat’ so that the Chinese can ‘slaughter’ the Malays later. And does it not make sense that you fatten the animal before slaughtering it?

As I said, Mahathir was ‘the enemy’. I was PAS and he was Umno. But he is still my Prime Minister. So I gave him due respect because he was Prime Minister and not because he was my party President. And I listened to what the Prime Minister said. That would be very hard for many to reconcile, especially if you are non-Malay. ‘Old’ Chinese culture would be, if you oppose the Emperor, then not only you but your entire family for seven levels would be put to death -- wife, children, parents, uncles, aunties, brothers, sisters, in-laws, cousins, second-cousins, third-cousins, cousins-in-law, plus your chickens, pigs, dogs and cats included.

My next meeting was a private meeting in his office. I was there to suggest that Mahathir abandon the Bakun hydro power plant and instead embark upon a gas powered one. This would certainly save much valuable forest. Furthermore, Malaysia has ample gas so it would not be that costly to run -- plus gas turbine plants would be cheaper to build than a hydro plant.

I could see from the look on Mahathir’s face that he was not too pleased with my unsolicited advice. He mumbled something about water costs nothing and you never run out of water like you would gas -- so in the long run a hydro plant is better and cheaper. I may not be that smart but I was smart enough to know when to drop the subject and we moved on to talk about the weather and all such mundane stuff.

The third meeting was a closed-door session to discuss what to do with the Malays. This was at the height of the 1985-1987 recession when Malays, Chinese and Indians were losing their pants due to the worldwide economic downturn. Our mission was to explore how to solve the ‘new Malay dilemma’.

The Chinese are in worse trouble than the Malays, argued Mahathir. But the Chinese sort out their problems on their own. They do not come running to the government. The Malays, however, throw the problem to the government and expect the government to bail them out. Maybe we should just allow the weak Malays to die so that the strong can survive.

We reminded Mahathir that this is not just about race or the economy. The backbone of Umno are the Malays. If Umno allows the Malays to die, then Umno too would die. The Malays would abandon Umno and would swing to the opposition. So this is not just about helping the Malays ride out the bad economic patch. This is also about ensuring that Umno would remain in power. I was PAS so why the hell do I care if Umno dies? Would that not be better for PAS? No, not from where I was sitting. An Umno in trouble would mean the country in trouble, at least until one day when an alternative to Umno emerges.

Mahathir sighed and asked why can’t the Malays be like the Chinese. We knew the answer to that one but did not think Mahathir would like to hear it. So we just kept quiet. Mahathir gave us an ‘aiyah’ look and said, “Okaylah, I will set up a Tabung Pemulihan Usahawan (TPU) and will put aside RM500 million for it.”

RM500 million is not enough. We want RM1 billion. “Aiyah, if I give you RM1 billion what will the Chinese say? We have to be fair to the Chinese as well. Work with RM500 million first and if it is not enough I will consider more later.”

In the end the tabung touched RM560 million and many a Malay businessman was salvaged out of his financial dilemma (some women as well). They have mostly all paid the money back by now and some I met are still in business. One chap I met a year ago rushed up to me and hugged me.

“Can you remember me?” he asked. “Twenty years ago you helped me with my RM1.3 million TPU application.”

Yes, I remembered him. He was Semangat 46 and they had rejected his application on grounds of politics but I ‘banged table’ and managed to get it approved. In fact, I got quite a few applications approved -- which were rejected because the applicants were Semangat 46 -- and that got me labelled as ‘Tengku Razaleigh’s man’. Subsequently, Wan Mokhtar and Umno Terengganu blacklisted me and life became hell thereafter, resulting in me leaving the state and migrating back to Kuala Lumpur in 1994.

“Oh, okay, have you paid back all the money?” I asked.

“Dah bayar lama dah.”

He was about 75 or so but looked younger than me. Could it be because of his three wives? I pointed him out to my wife and asked her to guess his age. I then tried convincing my wife that he looked 20 years younger than his age because he had three wives but my wife was not convinced that that was the reason. Sigh…….

Well, there were a couple of other face-to-face meetings I had with the Grand Old Man of Malaysian politics which I do not need to go into. Suffice to say, the ‘private’ Mahathir and the ‘public’ Mahathir are two different animals. You can’t really get to know Mahathir by observing him in public. Ten public appearances will still not reveal the true Mahathir. But one private meeting reveals a lot.

My love-hate relationship with Mahathir lasted only about ten years or so. After that I began to despise him mainly because he had been around too long. I felt that a prime minister should stay in office for only two terms or ten years, never mind how good he may be. More than that and he would have overstayed his welcome.

But now Mahathir has retired and I no longer despise him as such. I give him due respect as a retired Prime Minister, as a Tun (Sir), and as a man who is 83 or 84 years old. I am 57 and I must give due respect to a man much senior to me. Doing otherwise would make me ‘un-Malay’. Even at the height of the Reformasi Movement I whacked Mahathir for what he had done to Anwar and to the country. But I did not label him as Mamak, Keling, Mahazalim, Mahafiraun, and all those other names that the Reformasi websites were so fond of calling him.

During my ISA detention I was made to write a thesis on why I oppose Mahathir. I ‘spoke’ from my heart and told it as it is, no holds barred. My Special Branch minders were quite surprised. They had assumed that my opposition to Mahathir was all about Anwar. They did not think that it was the principle of a prime minister should not hold office for more than ten years and then leave the scene, even if he is the best Prime Minister Malaysia ever had.

On Mahathir’s misdeeds as Prime Minister, I listed them down in detail and offered my reasons as to why I thought Mahathir was wrong and therefore why I should oppose him. I spoke as the Rakyat and argued about the loss to the Rakyat if these misdeeds were not checked. It was nothing personal. If Mahahir resigns and then repents and then takes steps to rectify his mistakes, I could forgive him for what he had done, even what he had done to me personally. The Special Branch officers responded by saying that if they were me, instead of Special Branch officers, they would not disagree with my opinions.

All the great religions, in particular the religions of the book, speak about repentance, forgiveness and redemption. Even God possesses forgiving qualities. But forgiveness can only be forthcoming with repentance and redemption. Yes, there is much Mahathir must redeem before forgiveness can be given. And has Mahathir truly repented? For if he has not then forgiving would be impossible.

But first things first. Let us first solve the problem of the burning house before we talk about who started the fire. Standing around arguing about whose fault it is that the house is burning would not save the house. We will still be arguing long after the house has burned to the ground and still not settle the blaming and finger-pointing.

The foreign fund managers are pulling out of Malaysia. The Chinese investors are moving their money to Vietnam, Cambodia, China and Thailand. The Singaporeans are adopting a wait-and-see stance. Qualified Malaysians are queuing up in front of the foreign embassies to apply for PR status in other countries -- a serious brain drain for this country.

The question is not whether Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat will be the federal government come Christmas Day. It is whether there will still be a country, as we know it, in existence by then. This is the dilemma ahead of us and which is the house burning down I am talking about. The impending collapse of the world economy expected later this year adds to the problem and this is no less a doomsday scenario in the making.

The political uncertainty is of course one reason, in particular the internal war in Umno. But the overriding reason is the loss of confidence in the Abdullah Ahmad Badawi government.

The President of MIC, MCA, Gerakan, etc., is not our concern. That is the concern of the members of each respective party. But the President of Umno is our concern and not just the concern of the party members. Whomsoever becomes the Umno President becomes the Prime Minister. So while the Umno President is merely the leader of that party, the Prime Minister will decide the fate of the entire country and of 26 million or 27 million Malaysians.

It is like two people in a lifeboat. The ship has sunk and you and your enemy both end up in the same lifeboat. You would like to throw your enemy over the side, especially, in the first place, since it is his fault that the ship sank. But then the lifeboat needs two people to row to reach dry land. You can throw your enemy into the sea and, with glee, watch him drown -- after which the lifeboat would drift aimlessly and you would be dead in a week as well. Then again, you can make a deal with your enemy and the both of you row the lifeboat in the direction that you suspect dry land would be waiting for you.

Yes, Umno is the Prime Minister. Umno can choose to retain the present Prime Minister or it can choose to change the Prime Minister. Umno’s decision will decide what happens to all of us. If they retain the Prime Minister, will that be the best thing for Malaysia? Or would the better alternative be to change the Prime Minister? And what happens if Umno makes the wrong choice? What happens if they change for the worse rather than for the better? Yes, those are questions that should trouble us because Umno’s decision is about our future.

Umno politics, therefore, does not belong to Umno. Umno politics belongs to all Malaysians. And we have a right to know who is going to be the Prime Minister for the next five years or so until the next general election. And if the present Prime Minister is wrong, then Mahathir committed that wrong and he should therefore be the one to put it right. Forgiveness, redemption and repentance must go hand-in-hand.

But Mahathir must not decide who the next Prime Minister should be. He already made a mistake with Abdullah. Let us not allow him to make a second mistake with Abdullah’s successor. Unfortunately, the choice of successor lies in the hands of Umno and its members and we are not Umno members. But that does not prevent us from urging our friends and comrades in Umno to think of all 26 million or 27 million Malaysians in making that choice and not just the interest of three million or so Umno members.

And to those of us not in Umno and who have no say in the matter, let us assure our Umno friends and comrades that if they change the Prime Minister then we shall ‘suspend’ all opposition for the next two years. We shall give the new Prime Minister time to sort out the country’s problems. If he fails to do so, like how Abdullah failed to do so, then come two years we will re-launch opposition with the fury of a lover scorned.

Maybe a form of ‘unity government’ can be proposed. The opposition will support the federal government for a period of two years. The opposition will help the federal government sort out the mess left by the previous administrations. But if the ruling party demonstrates insincerity and reverts to the abuses and excesses of the previous administrations, rest assured we will return to the opposition with a fierce vengeance never before experienced in the history of this country.

But the opposition must remain an opposition. Pakatan Rakyat must not only be retained but must also be strengthened. PKR, DAP, PAS, MDP, PSM, PRM and PASOK must not join Barisan Nasional. But it can be part of the federal government while remaining an opposition in the states in the interest of pulling this country out of the economic quagmire the present and previous administrations have got us into.

That should be the game plan until the next general election.

Comments (193)Add Comment
written by malsia1206, April 07, 2008 15:23:24
Just 1 point of clarification on the subject content. You mentioned if the Malays are rich they would spend in the Chinese shops and make the Chinese richer still. So the ball keeps rolling for a win-win situation. Unfortunately, that is not how it turns out. The super-duper rich Malays, with their millions and billions, are now stashing away their wealth OVERSEAS. Yes, in foreign accounts with foreign banks. They would not want Lembaga Hasil to catch up with them to investigate their ill-gotten wealth. Or the ACA to knock on their doors asking questions. Or they would not want to risk keeping it all in Malaysia, our very own country, which many do not even trust so their wealth could be kept safe. So, in a nutshell, only a tiny proportion is spent locally. And how much can you earn with this small percentage? They amassed this filthy wealth at the expense of the rakyat and give back little in return. And yet they demand more and more. By any sense of human decency, it's just not morally right. Is this how the system is supposed to work in Malaysia?
disagree 20
agree 400
written by Bunda, April 07, 2008 15:25:06

Good game plan. But, I don't think anyone will bite.

For it to work, things have to get worse first. And, things will get worse. The economy will really tank this year and next, and rampant inflation and shortages will be the flavour of the year.

There is no one governing the country now. And, the auto pilot is also malfunctioning. This can only mean worse things for the rakyat, as our system is based on a strong leader governing well.

Anyway, things are always darkest before the dawn. So, there is hope after we all suffer a little more, for a little longer.

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by harrbm, April 07, 2008 15:33:10
Two Malaysians, one is State Govt. and the Other Federal Govt. in a boat in the middle of the sea they need each other to row to dry land but they are enemies.

What a dilemma
written by Heikal, April 07, 2008 15:41:26
Yes there is infighting in UMNO, really critical but the media play it down. See how the last few days BedoLah had been making visits to countless UMNO divisions. And the grassroots opinion of BedoLah is not favourable. Let's just all sit back and wait for UMNO to collapse on its own. AnD i neither want BedoLah to resign now, if he does, UMNO will be saved, and new PM elected. Even if KU lI becomes PM I dont want him to, his an UMNO member, he will continue the NEP and think that Malays have more rights than others. We need to remember that we cannot solve people's problems if we camoflage it with the issue of race.
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 15:42:34
Dear malsia1206, here we go again. Balek-balek bangkit isu yang lama. Why must you comment for the sake of commenting? I talk about Malays and you talk about Umnoputeras. Can I also say that the Indians should stop complaining about being left behind because Ananda Krishnan is much richer than 10 million Malays put together? And the same for the Chinese if we take Lim Goh Tong into consideration. Aiyah, kenapa kayu sangat ni?
disagree 62
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 15:45:51
Dear Bunda, that's even a better plan. Let the country become like Angola and then we pick up the pieces and rebuild from there.
disagree 51
written by malaysianohope, April 07, 2008 15:47:35
Brother Pete,

My dilemma with your message is that we should leave it to umno to sort out their problems by first removing the present PM. What if in doing so they become stronger and hit us twice as hard (they are into revenge mode now) until there is no chance of getting rid of them ever? That will be the day when I may have to pack my family to leave this beautiful country of ours and never to turn back.

Isn't the third option is a better bet with PKR leading us to take government and if in 5 years time say they do not perform to expectation, will get rid of them the same way you and us did on 8 March 2008.
written by Knight, April 07, 2008 15:48:17

Are you saying that we should give UMNO a second chance to pick a new President to "steer" us out of this imminent disaster? We have give UMNO 50 years and 5 PMs. I don't think 2 wrongs will make a right. The time has come for us to move on. The majority of Malaysians have spoken and if not for the postal votes and rigging, Dr Wan Azizah would have commanded the majority of the confidence of our MPs and be the first M'sian woman PM until her husband DSAI is qualified to take over.

Lets put an end to the UMNO hegemony.
agree 136
written by Umar Rentaka, April 07, 2008 15:50:19
Dear YM RPK,
well thought out plan. Well meaning and win win situation.

But, honestly speaking, while I buy your game plan for the economy, my heart says no.

Why, you ask?
Economy is not everything dear Sir. If, YM wants us to work with the enemy, then it must surely follow that the "enemy" must also work with us, right?

The new UMNO leadership must rectify all those religious persecution issues, Hindraf 5, and most important, practice corrupt free governance, cooperate with the 5 enemy states, etc etc.

Game on???
written by astina, April 07, 2008 15:55:13
YM RPK

Idea is great and thoughts are pure ..but to let umNO off the hook easily is a folly ..
Past and present must be brought to book for their arrogance and excesses..period!
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 16:03:59
All points considered. But also consider that the voters might swing back to BN the next election and that the next election might be called in three year's time in March 2011. Don't assume that the only direction from hereon is up.
disagree 38
written by East Highlander, April 07, 2008 16:05:44
I agree that PR must be strengthened. That must be done first. A unity government will augur well for a better Malaysia as things stand today. However, PR's participation therein must be from a stronger position that it is in now.
written by JustinCH, April 07, 2008 16:06:17
This is interesting indeed. Although I have to disagree with Pete's last few lines.

I feel that for the rakyat to win out of this one, we must forget who is at fault. In particular, the point he makes where the opposition must remain an opposition. To be honest, I can't see how the rakyat will benefit from this game plan.

Did we not vote for Pakatan Rakyat to give them a chance to play the government?
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 16:09:34
Dear JustinCH, when I said that the opposition must remain an opposition I meant that it should not become a member of BN (assuming BN is still the federal government). But if BN is no longer the federal government then the opposition would certainly no longer be an opposition.
disagree 26
written by batsman, April 07, 2008 16:11:01
The message is that we are all in the same boat together. The message is that we are all in the same boat together. Still don't get it? OK, one more time ... The message is that we are all in the same boat together.
written by SYXL, April 07, 2008 16:12:12
Dear RPK, for all your sense of fairness which is appreciated by many Malaysians, you sometimes tend to look down instead of up.

If the point of your piece here is that the ordinary Malay does not enjoy being aggressive, perhaps a lot of non-Malays would agree, with qualification. But you picked on the wrong examples.

Firstly, you mentioned Musa’s kurang ajar exhortation as evidence of Malay reticence and respect for authority. Given Musa’s personality (I have encountered his aggressiveness when I was a student and he an UMNO big-shot), I would say that that was a call to be aggressive and violent. Unlike TDM who does not pretend to be what he is not, Musa is a confused contradiction of inherent aggressive and trying-to-be-nice reasonableness.

Secondly, you ascribe the May 13 killings to retaliation for extreme provocation. I don’t doubt that the May 12 insults happened and would have led to serious turmoil. But is it a fairy tale that the May 13 attackers were pre-armed and ready with headbands for identification, and fanned out in attack formations from the MB’s house.

Touching on this tragic episode cannot be justified as using it merely to prove your point about Malay non-aggressiveness. I am sure you are sensitive to the sentiments and emotionally-charged debate that will be revived, and I am responding to you on this with great reluctance.

The taunts are unfortunate and inexcusable outbreaks from sections of the non-Malay populace – that’s looking down at the ground. The riots were a pre-planned and evil political exploitation of those incidents by UMNO politicians who were at risk of losing control of Selangor – but you can choose to continue to deny that, despite your personal knowledge and experience of the unthinkable depths of evil practised by the powers that be – that’s looking up at who’s pulling the strings and who’s doing the killing and dying. Are such tactics of the ruling class something new or something that happens only in Malaysia?
agree 119
written by toolan, April 07, 2008 16:14:00
RPK

Salute you for your persistence in this third attempt to clarify and try to awake everyone of the "burning house" issue. However, it is still evident by the first few comments that many of us are still preoccupied with each of our own personal line of thought and thus wont to look into the grave big picture of perils.

Even though blessed with the benefits of the guidance/warnings by the history of past errors of governments of the world, it seems fated that Malaysia too would have to go through the same painful route in the future.
written by batsman, April 07, 2008 16:15:36
Still - corruption just be expunged first. Otherwise all the best efforts will be in vain.
written by JaguhKampung, April 07, 2008 16:15:54
One month on after the GE, I think the country is not managed at all and it is on autopilot.

At at 10.00am today, 1,033 counters out of 1,400 counters available in the market were untraded. Only RM81 million worth of shares were traded. Bursa Malaysia is deserted and it's like a ghost town!

See the news : http://biz.thestar.com.my/news...c=business

In fighting in UMNO is bad. AAB and his has no time to manage the country's economy as he is busy defending himself from being booted out. Any decision has to be fast eventhough it is painful. If members of UMNO want to let AAB to lead until the next party election, stop making noise in the papers and everybody must go back to work. If they want to change leader, it also better be fast.

One month of running on autopilot is too long! 2008 will be the start of economic downturn of Malaysia if this situation is left to degenerate.
written by tbsbidayuh, April 07, 2008 16:17:49
The time has come for the Malay to think of NEP and supremacy issue. The other Bumi's are suffering especially those Sabah and Sarawak bumi's. If you have to look at logging area in Sabah, all those fallen threes are not tagged and the Environment Department just close their eyes. NEP is not a right to the Malay. It is a discrimination to the Bumi's (non-Malay). Look at Sarawak, the aborigines has less place in the government departments due to the NEP TSUNAMI.

All citizen are required to pay tax. KFC charged us 5% from their meal and that is the truth. Somehow, the NEP used the collected taxes to feed the Malay. Same goes to the scholarship issue, home loan issue and so forth. I like your previous article regarding on the NEP as a bottle of Milk to the Malay. In fact, these bottle of milk must be shared among all the Bumis and not only the Malay. I do not know why Kelantanese (Malay) are excluded for the spill over milk. Now, NEP is not for Malay but for Barisan Nasional. I do not know much money does Aziz has but I know how much money Abdullah and Mahathir have. Billion!! Oil for Food lah, Food for sugar cane lah, coconut for cows lah and so forth. This ideology came form the Malay them self to ruin the country.
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 16:25:37
Dear SYXL, I already said I have written at great length about the matter and you can read it on the Free Anwar Campaign website. Read all those pieces first and then come back here and comment. Don't assume you know what I am thinking and start putting words in my mouth.

The point I am trying to make here is: many in Umno voted opposition on 8 March 2008. But if we attack Umno, rather than certain leaders in Umno, we will just be sending our Umno 'suporters' back into the arms of Umno.

It may surprise you to know that many Umno people, top leaders included, rejoiced when the five states fell and BN lost its two-thirds majority in Parliament. Don't spoil this. In fact, we should thank our Umno 'comrades' who gave their votes to the opposition just so that Umno will wake up. They gave us the 'knife'. Now we want to use that same knife to slaughter them?

Wake up people. Umno is not the enemy. Some people in Umno are. And Umno too wants these people out. And they are hoping we will help them.

What is so wrong to see a new Umno emerge if that new Umno understands that ultimately the people are the boss and the new political culture is they must share power with the opposition?
disagree 51
written by RitchieLow, April 07, 2008 16:27:16

Do you think it is "democratically" correct for any One party wholely based on One RACE to lead the country ? You painted a picture where there's just no alternatives despite the recent showing that there is. In 2004, there weren't any alternatives, so people voted along a candidate's integrity (maybe race too)

There are all these races too, Ibans, Bidayuhs, Kenyahs, Kayans, Lun Bawangs, Kelabits and other minority orang ulus that is just seeing some limelight, do not snuff it out for them so soon please.

Reading in the "Republic of Virtue" site opens up my mind to be more univeral in outlook for Malaysia. Being a "univeralist" might just be the 1st thing we have to do to ensure an enduring civil society for Malaysia. From Noir Gasman, Develop towards a healthy, culturally rich nation using economic developement and proper education as fuel and catalyst with proper safeguard towards the environment.

God Bless Malaysia
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 16:36:13
Dear RitchieLow, Umno, alone, got more seats than the three opposition parties combined. That makes them top dog. And with all BN seats combined they got 140 seats against the opposition's 82. Until that changes we are still number two. The day the figures are reversed then we can 'talk big'. But will the 13th GE see the opposition figures increase or reduce? We do not know yet, today.
disagree 53
written by densemy, April 07, 2008 16:37:39
"And to those of us not in Umno and who have no say in the matter, let us assure our Umno friends and comrades that if they change the Prime Minister then we shall ‘suspend’ all opposition for the next two years. We shall give the new Prime Minister time to sort out the country’s problems. If he fails to do so, like how Abdullah failed to do so, then come two years we will re-launch opposition with the fury of a lover scorned."

That is the most nonsensical waffle you have ever committed to paper

After 50 yrs Malaysian now has an opposition who are strong enough to keep the government on track. To suggest that the government be given a 2 yr "no opposition" window is simply perpetuating the dictatorships that have ruled and ruined Malaysia over the past 50 yrs. And what's worse it will give UMNO et al the freedom to continue as they have in the past... riding rough shod over the people

Sheesh Pete... what's got into you??
written by siti, April 07, 2008 16:37:42
Dear Raja Petra,
I like your suggestion, but just to add another point:
Why cant we let Pak Lah continue and let umno assembly in dec07 decides if he should go, or who should replace him?

My reason:
Bukankah setiap pemimpin ada kelemahan dan kekuatan sendiri?
Many have said, if Pak Lah had ruled with an iron hand like TDM, we would not have seen or heard the freedom of expression in Malaysia. Ada hikmahnya disebalik the recent tsunami election: Almost every political party has evolved…….. or is evolving……for the better: PAS has opened its eyes to be more sensitive to nonMuslims, DAP has realized that they regardless of the tsunami, Malaysia is still a malay country, after the debacle on appointment of MB in perak and terengganu. Thus, working together in harmony is the answer. UMNO hopefully, has started to muhasabah diri, PKR and all political parties are reminded of People Power – therefore, all politicians, they better measure up.

In times of crisis like this, shouldn’t umno members close ranks and rejuvenate the party? Every political party experience power struggle every now and then………. Shouldn’t this be done cara tertutup among members – not washing dirty linen in public? If umno members really want to get Pak Lah to step down, shouldn’t this be done at the umno assembly in Dec? Now is the time to help him get on with the business of running the country.

I had expected to see all responsible citizens, especially those with influence, journalists, intellectuals, to help steer the rakyat, and the country towards the right direction, not more upheavals.
written by Visinic, April 07, 2008 16:39:32
Nice plan rpk........the problem is....from where i'm sitting, i don't think there will be any changes for the good in the near future even if when the shit really hits the fan for Malaysia due to the selfish attitude of many leaders both government and opposition.....unless they start to change and think about the country and citizens rather than themselves....we'll all be in for a hard time.....
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 16:50:21
Dear densemy, read again what I wrote, and maybe slowly this time. The unity government would be the key to the whole thing. Do you know what type of unity government is being proposed?
disagree 60
written by megahyper, April 07, 2008 16:56:47
Unity Government my dear? Siamese twin?

Its ideal...but nothing else but idealism.

The old "BN" twin would take every single opportunity to kill off the younger twin. choke off their lifeline (ie: azalina Othman: no federal fund for tour office. Ali Rustam will slow development fund to PR controlled area.). ZERO opposition.

As far as I like the 2 opposing force concept, we need to strengthen PR before going full swing with the twin concept. The big brother will not tolerate contention, not even now.

But as of now, PR is treating all area under PR and BN fair and equal. So over time, BN still need a jolt for it to awake from its slumber.

So If it is PR commanding majority of seats...maybe we can dream for a unity government, but if its BN big brother hold the upper hand now, it will be just a "dream".

RPK, UMNO/MCA/MIC's feudelism culture is too entrenched, a tight slap will not wake them up fully. They need a constant and continuous spanking (controlled manner) for a prolong period to fully wake them up to play the role of the elder twin.

Or else, they might just use whatever resources they have to kill off the younger twin, and severed Rakyat's "ilham" and wellbeing in the process.

Then we just go back to square 1.
written by Knight, April 07, 2008 16:57:57
Mr Lee Kuan Yew, father of modern Singapore said this in the Malaysian Parliament :
"According to history, Malays began to migrate to Malaysia in noticeable numbers only about 700 years ago. Of the 39% Malays in Malaysia today, about one-third are comparatively new immigrants like the secretary-general of UMNO, Dato' Syed Ja'afar Albar, who came to Malaya from Indonesia just before the war at the age of more than thirty. Therefore it is wrong and illogical for a particular racial group to think that they are more justified to be called Malaysians and that the others can become Malaysian only through their favour."

Lee also criticised the government's policies by stating that "[t]hey, the Malay, have the right as Malaysian citizens to go up to the level of training and education that the more competitive societies, the non-Malay society, has produced. That is what must be done, isn't it? Not to feed them with this obscurantist doctrine that all they have got to do is to get Malay rights for the few special Malays and their problem has been resolved." He also lamented "Malaysia — to whom does it belong? To Malaysians. But who are Malaysians? I hope I am, Mr Speaker, Sir. But sometimes, sitting in this chamber, I doubt whether I am allowed to be a Malaysian."

We are tired of the UMNO hegemony, and at their incompetence in bringing their brethren or the race that they are defending so furiously to be up to speed with the rest of the Malaysians. Based on the recommendation by the Reid Commission, the special rights were supposed to last only for 15 years. It became 50 years because UMNO was not able to do their job properly.

Lets give the opportunity to help the Malay race to another party. Whether PKR or PAS, I don't really care. But not UMNO.
agree 144
written by densemy, April 07, 2008 16:58:42
UMNO IS the enermy... its UMNO who have raped this country, its UMNO who has neglected the people of Malaysia, its UMNO who have reigned with a divide and rule policy, its UMNO who has perpetuated racism, its UMNO who have fostered a climate of corruption lies and manipulation, its UMNO who have slowly killed democracy in this country

UMNO stands for everything that will kill Malaysia's future
written by Raymond, April 07, 2008 17:00:40
By the term Siamese Twins, I assume that you mean that 1 of the part is UMNO/BN and the other part.. is the Rakyat. Sorry Pete, I cant buy into the fact that Malaysia's fate is dependant on UMNO/BN survival. I believe that that UMNO/BN as political party and ideology that they practice is comepletly counter productive to our nation. Each policy and plan are ennacted with the main purpose of enriching the UMNO/BN members. One may point to the many infrastructure projects that has benefitted the nation. But I must point out that there has been so little transparency in all our projects. Good projects they may be, but undertaken with nepotism and corruption... this is a price too high to pay. If to have Malaysia progress is to continue to have UMNO (taking as much) from the projects, then the price is too high to pay. Accepting UMNO is to accept that Malaysia needs corruption to progress. One may point out that corruption exists everywhere (eg. China/India.. just look at their progress).. hell u may even say that it's necessary as it's the "incentive" for the politician to develop the country.. But that's the worse kind of resignation to have. Very little thing move in Malaysia moves without corruption. I just built my house, and the building inspector come over before the CF, and wanted changes after the plans were approved. What he is actually asking is for 200 bucks to get it done faster. Corruption is everywhere in Malaysia. And it's UMNO/BN style of government that create it. Mahathir is they chief culprit. Just look at the Bumiputera and Pewaja steel cases. It doesn't matter if it's chinese, indian or malays... corruption is not limited to any race. So.. I dont buy that UMNO is indispensable for Malaysia. It has to be destroyed. And I for one will be happy to hasten it's destruction.
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 07, 2008 17:01:23
Dear YM RPK,

By your article and comments, can I infer that you think that race-based politics still has relevance in M'sia?

It is a question; not an accusation.

P.S.: I do not believe for once UMNO will be willing to accept any input from any party outside of it in regards to the choosing or nominee for President. Your reasoning that we 'co-operate' with UMNO in this regard, IMHO, is FLAWED and DELUDED, at best. I can already hear cries of 'Ketuanan Melayu' in the background...
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 17:06:47
Dear Robin Goodfellow, Chinese DAP leaders boycott the swearing in ceremony, Indian DAP leaders resign from the party - all because their 'race' did not get the 'proper' quota. Is that not about race?
disagree 70
written by Raymond, April 07, 2008 17:08:42
UMNO is the enemy... the reason why folks in UMNO wants AB out is becasue they did not get their share of the booty. They figure, if AB loses job, then the next PM promited will spit of AB supporters & SIL, and have a new "members".. then it will be their turn to make it rich. There was Mahathir's gang (Diam, AK, Vincent Tan, etc), now AB's gang (SIL, Tony F, Patrick T, etc), and god know's who's gang is next. This is a country damn it.. people live here. .it's not a playground for UMNO/BN to enrich themselves. We expect to govern, but they lavish themselves with riches and luxury.
written by SYXL, April 07, 2008 17:10:37
RPK, if I may sum up your argument.

The rakyat is the bank that lent $1 million to UMNO who can’t pay and faces the shit. Or the rakyat lent $1 billion to UMNO who can’t pay and the rakyat faces the shit. So, we can’t afford to let UMNO die but must lend more money to revive it. So, you say let’s use good money to chase after the bad.
Capital flight and brain-drains are the bogeymen but you exaggerate. Recessions come and go though we will suffer. Unless the house is burnt down, you cannot rebuild. Ask the communists in China.

Don’t forget the PR has a chance to lift confidence, though not easy amidst a recession. What about the morale of the rakyat who made March 8 happen? You’re going to betray them by arguing that if UMNO goes down, we will all sink together? If you want real change and revolution, you can’t have your cake and eat it.

And revolution is Malaysia’s only hope. Do you think a thoroughly termite-infested house can be renovated? Who is the next Mahathir, please tell? For despite his sins and end-justifies-the-means approach and crimes, he was a true nationalist and his ‘end’ was a national agenda that believed in, so he scolds the Malays and threatens the Chinese. In driving at break-neck speed, he burnt the engine and wrecked the chassis beyond repair, not unlike a certain Mao who left no successor.

What saved the Chinese in China was that they had in the CCP’s ranks those patriots who had suffered and passed on their experience of suffering to the next generation – humiliation by 22 Western powers and Japanese butchery. And the CCP remained relevant despite widespread corruption in their ranks, and worthy successors arose generation after generation, mindful forever of external enemies from the rapacious West.

I say to my friends: If three out of 10,000 CCP members or leaders are truly capable AND true patriots, China has hope for the future despite turning to capitalism and its attendant dog-eat-dog evils – such leaders will at least strive to give true meaning to a “socialist market economy with Chinese characteristics”.

Malaysia’s UMNO is not China’s CCP. Where’s the next (and less cruel) Mahathir, say, like a Deng Xiao Peng? UNMO must be left to die.
written by densemy, April 07, 2008 17:11:25
I did get your message about the unity government to get Malaysia through the tough times you foresee. But let me give you another rowboat analogy

PR has a long oar and rows hard for the future of Malaysia and its people. BN broke their oar and anyway have forgotten how to row in a forward direction

The result your rowboat goes around in circles and nobody gets saved. I'd opt for one strong oar and try punting (... and that was definitely meant to be a pun)
written by Knight, April 07, 2008 17:13:24
Memoirs of Lee Kuan Yew. The Singapore Story.(Excerpts from pages 325-328 of the Abridged Edition)

The next day, I made my most important speech in the federal parliament to a hostile and tense audience, including a large number of Malay MPs who had been fed daily with anti-PAP, anti-Lee Kuan Yew and anti-Chinese propaganda by the Utusan over the past year. I moved an amendment to express regret that the King's address did not reassure the nation that it would continue to progress in accordance with its democratic constitution towards a Malaysian Malaysia.

But Dr Mahathir’s speech implied that this could never happen. I quoted what he had said the day before about the Chinese in Singapore. "They have never known Malay rule and couldn’t bear the idea that the people they have so long kept under their heels should now be in a position to rule them". To rule them? I drew a distinction between political equality and the special rights for the economic and social uplift of the Malays. I accepted the special rights, but if the other peoples of Malaysia were denied political equality with the Malays, we would not need Sukarno and the Confrontation to crush us.

Having reached the most sensitive part of my speech, in which I would expose the inadequacy of UMNO's policies, I decided to speak in Malay. Although my Malay was not as good as my English, I was fluent compared with other non-Malay MPs. I said that while I accepted Malay as the sole official language, I did not see how it could raise the economic position of the people. Would it mean that the produce of the Malay farmer would increase in price, that he would get better prices? Would he get improved facilities from the government?

I said that the Tunku had frequently said in public and in private that the Chinese were rich and the Malays poor, but I used some simple examples to highlight a few points, still speaking in Malay. "Special rights and Malay as the national language were not the answer to this economic problem. If out of 4 and a ½ million Malays and another 3/4s of a million Ibans, Kadazans and others, we made 0.3% of them company shareholders, would we solve the problem of Malay poverty?"

"How does a Malay in the kampong find his way out into this modernized civil society? By becoming servants of the 0.3% who would have the money to hire them to clean their shoes, open their motorcar doors? Of course there are Chinese millionaires in big cars and big houses. Is it the answer to make a few Malay millionaires with big cars and big houses? How does telling a Malay bus driver that he should support the party of his Malay director (UMNO) and the Chinese bus conductor to join another party of his Chinese director (MCA) - how does that improve the standards of the Malay bus driver and the Chinese bus conductor who are both workers in the same company?"

"If we delude people into believing that they are poor because there are no Malay rights or because opposition members oppose Malay rights, where are we going to end up? You let people in the kampongs believe that they are poor because we don’t speak Malay, because the government does not write in Malay, so he expects a miracle to take place in 1967 (the year Malay would become the national and sole official language). The moment we all start speaking Malay, he is going to have an uplift in the standard of living, and if it doesn’t happen, what happens then?"

"Meanwhile , whenever there is a failure of economic, social and educational policies, you come back and say, oh, these wicked Chinese, Indians and others opposing Malay rights. They don’t oppose Malay rights. They, the Malays, have the right as Malaysian citizens to go up to the level of training and education that the more competitive societies, the non-Malay society, has produced. That is what must be done, isn’t it? Not feed them with this obscurantist doctrine that all they have got to do is get Malay rights for a few special Malays and their problem has been resolved…"
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 17:15:32
Dear Knight, this is not the place to whack Malays.
disagree 74
written by miwaki, April 07, 2008 17:15:36
This plan will only work if our government under Pak Lah or Najib is competent and with intedrity.Just take a look at our current cabinet ministers and Najib,I rather have PR as our new government.PR is yet to show they are incompetent but BN has alrady failed us many time but still asking for opportunity to continue their failoures.
written by renoir, April 07, 2008 17:18:34
siti wrote:
>I had expected to see all responsible citizens, especially those with influence, journalists, intellectuals, to help steer the rakyat, and the country towards the right direction, not more upheavals. ]]

Siti, you're so right. No reason why we can tolerate 22 years of Dr.M but not two terms of AAB. If AAB had clamped down our democratic rights like the Tun, the 2008 results would not have been possible. As you say, let every Malaysian help AAB with constructive criticism and suggestions to make this country better. If it does not improve by the next GE, PR can always take over. That's the beauty of a two-party democratic system.

BTW, most other listers here have also made great comments. I'm surprised, and delighted.

written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 17:29:39
Dear SYXL, jangan cakap besar sangat lah. Baru menang 5 negeri dah nak cakap besar. Do you know all the states have no money and Umno can kill the opposition easily like it did Terengganu in 2000 which resulted in the state going back to Umno? When everything grinds to a halt let us see if the voters still want the present government or they go back to BN. Even if investors want to go to the states they still need federal government approval. Cut out your arrogance, all of you. The states are living on borrowed time, as is the entire country. Sure, semangat tinggi. But when the pockets are empty the semangat disappears very fast. Economy not important, you say. Not from 100% of the Chinese I have spoken to. Economy is everything, they tell me. If the opposition fails to develop the states then the Chinese will swing back to BN.

Wah, kalau dengar mereka cakap bukan main gagah lagi. Come back in five years and let's see whether you still gagah after being out of work and have no home or car.

What's wrong with humility, even more so if we imagine we have won? But we really never won you know. We are still an opposition. And if you think the voters will stick with us never mind what happens to them, then you all have a lot of growing up to do.

Let me explain our problem in three simple words. Money, money, money. And that is exactly what we don't have. Chinese are the most capitalistic people in this world. I have absolutely zero confidence that the Chinese will stick with the opposition when the pockets run dry.
disagree 56
written by Knight, April 07, 2008 17:35:14

Sorry, it wasn't my intention to whack the Malays. I was trying to point out that UMNO has failed to deliver on its promise to improve the plight of the Malays for the past 50 years and I am suggesting that someone else takes over.

It is strange that by virtue of the policies which UMNO is championing, my Indonesian maid in my house may one day get a blue IC and become superior to me in this country. Does it make sense to you all?

This divide and rule policy by UMNO must stop. The way to stop it, is to stop UMNO altogether.
written by ahmisk, April 07, 2008 17:45:15
Malaysia is to some degree reminiscent of the SOVIET UNION.

Very large portions of our economy are controlled by the government. We pretend to call ourselves a capitalistic country, but we actually have a planned economy.

I'm sure you all remember what happened to Russia in the wake of the Soviet breakup. The economy went into freefall.

Personally i doubt we'll come anywhere close to the Soviet Union experience, but RPK does have a very valid point. We're now in unchartered waters, and we should err on the side of the nation. If its a unity government that's required, so be it. Vengeance against UMNO can wait.
written by malaysianohope, April 07, 2008 17:45:28
Abang Pete,

I can't help saying this...

Why is it so difficult to put UMNO to sleep as suggested by you or is it the case of only UMNO only capable and entitle to govern the country and nobody else? They have already gone pass their use by date and others should be given the chance to take Government, regardless of doubts as to their abilities.
written by Chaptokam, April 07, 2008 17:47:00
Dear YM RPK ,

You said it right , if you keep condemning UMNO instead of certain leaders , you will find those who voted for the opposition this time will run back to UMNO simply for the fact that they voted in protest !!. Similarly I find it disgusting from some of those who commented who chose to bash all MCA members instead of Ong Ka Ting or Ong Ka Chuan . A lot of MCA members voted for the opposition in tandem with the general populations protest against the arrogance of UMNO and against the ONGs . The more you keep bashing MCA as a whole instead of the ONGs will see a reversal of the voting and support given to DAP,PKR and PAS . The general population has been supporting the DAP candidates even thru the last few general elections , except that they couldn't get enough votes to win , even with issues or no issues , simply because the MCA members voted for their own candidates . So here you can see that they have played their role of protest voting.

Coming back to your article , to give super confidence to the foreign investors , local investors and to pull the country back from the brink of economic disaster , I wish to propose to this UMNO .

a) recommend that a Chinese Second Deputy Prime minister be appointed as in many Asian countries where they have more than one Deputy Prime Minister .

b) the Finance Ministers post be given back to a Chinese to fill that position . I personally feel that a Chinese would be able to handle this position better than someone who nearly cause Bank Negara to go bankrupt .The last Chinese Finance Minister was Tun Tan Siew Sin .

c) the Minister of International Trade and Industry formerly known as ministry of commerce , the last Chinese to hold a minister in that porfolio was Khaw Kai Boh , to be given back to be filled by a Chinese .

While I think that UMNO will reject this proposal of mine outright without even considering it , I still think that these would be the right solutions to the present economic problems .
disagree 21
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 17:51:37
Dear malaysianohope, aiayah, malas nak jawab lah. Berapa kali nak cakap benda yang sama? Umno has more seats than the three opposition parties combined plus they control the police and army. Tak paham-paham lagi ke? Alamak, I thought MT readers are educated and highly intelligent. Semua kayu juga.
disagree 57
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 07, 2008 17:51:43
"I have absolutely zero confidence that the Chinese will stick with the opposition when the pockets run dry. "

How true. The largest swing voters for Pakatan Rakyat also happens to be its weakest link. So it is either PR controls Parliament ASAP;

OR

DAP big guns can kiss their dreams of sitting as Federal Ministers.

To DAP; Please stop reacting to every piece of reactionary article from Utusan Dayus. The Lion of Jelutong, or any DAP fellas, should seek clarification first from their ertswhile allies before making combative comments. You are so close, but yet so far from ousting BN. DO NOT SCREW IT UP.

To DAP; Please learn from PAS. See how such Cool Cucumbers they were when they assumed power in Kedah; and how they deftly dealt with the MB issue in Perak and Selangor. You DAP fellas look so amateurish and foolish in comparison. PLEASE GROW UP.

To DAP; Being a KINGMAKER is more rewarding than being a KING, GEDDIT?

NOW GO AND GET 'EM, PAKATAN RAKYAT!
written by Argonaut, April 07, 2008 18:14:25
I am a PR supporter and I am also a realist. Sure I'd like PR to be the federal government. But I'd like them to win the necessary seats. Winning by having other 'jump' over is disgraceful. We need to be Umno's worst fear. And that is by being a better uplifter of Malays in the 5 states than they were. If we can do that, we'd win the federal position easy next time around. What we have to do now is make sure Umno doesn't go crazy. At the same time we must have an Umno that is acceptable to us. Abdullah is unacceptable because he is a pilferer of state coffers. Najib is unacceptable because he wants Chinese blood and he carries his own share of questionable baggage. Kuli is acceptable. He is somebody non threatening who can be worked with. At least that is the message that he is putting out, We ought to give him the benefit of the doubt. In the meantime the 5 states must be run well so that the support for PR will be so great that come next GE, PR can win without really having to fight. In the meantime if Umno wants to purge all their corrupt and tainted members, we ought to be so happy to help them.
written by Jack Teh, April 07, 2008 18:18:24
This is one of Raja’s weakest posts. I don’t think giving BN a two-year honeymoon period is going to do anything good to the country. Does it mean they can still take part in the loot of the country while the opposition chooses to remain dormant for two years?

I don’t think so. The drama of UMNO will unfold itself and for better or worse, the country will be a witness to the ongoing process. The top echelon of the party may elect a competent but far right nationalist for the president post, but that will only accelerate the demise of UMNO.

I am still amazed at the amount of self-denial prevalent in all the component parties of BN. They still do not know what hit them.

written by SYXL, April 07, 2008 18:19:59
RPK, thank you for clarifying.

RPK replied: “Dear SYXL, I already said I have written at great length about the matter and you can read it on the Free Anwar Campaign website. Read all those pieces first and then come back here and comment. Don't assume you know what I am thinking and start putting words in my mouth.”

Dear RPK
I did note that you said you have written about May 13 at great length elsewhere. But surely then you should still put what you say in this piece in the right context – an important qualification of a line or two – is that not warranted? It IS a subject deserving of care and qualification because many innocent non-Malays including babies were slaughtered. Referring your readers (not just me) to what you had written elsewhere is, pardon me, not good enough especially for those whose loved ones were killed or maimed.

RPK also replied: ”It may surprise you to know that many Umno people, top leaders included, rejoiced when the five states fell and BN lost its two-thirds majority in Parliament. Don't spoil this. In fact, we should thank our Umno 'comrades' who gave their votes to the opposition just so that Umno will wake up. They gave us the 'knife'. Now we want to use that same knife to slaughter them?

Wake up people. Umno is not the enemy. Some people in Umno are. And Umno too wants these people out. And they are hoping we will help them.”

Dear RPK
No, why should I be surprised that there are ordinary UMNO members angry enough to vote opposition? Your analogy is not correct, they didn’t give us the knife – we used our own and they used theirs. Again, another misleading analogy - no one wants to ‘slaughter’ individuals – only the termite-infested institution of UMNO. Granted, we shouldn’t blame such UMNO members for their strong emotional ties to their party, but that’s part of the brain-washing perpetuated through racial and fear politics by UMNO – that the Malays have no home other than UMNO. Shouldn’t we urge them to join PAS, if PKR seems not Malay enough for them in the present state of Malaysian society?

You may be surprised that many non-Malays don’t ‘blame’ the ordinary Malay for being an UMNO member in the first place – many people are more understanding than what others may think.

We should always distinguish between Keris-waving fanatics and reasonable, peace-loving people, between organisations and individuals, especially in political and religious matters.

Many Chinese are angry (including me) at the insensitive, arrogant fool of a Lim Guan Eng for shouting (yes, more like bloody baying) about the NEP first thing he became CM – and that’s not so much because we are worried about a back-lash. There’s a time and a place, and the right person(s) to put forward the demise of the NEP – when a new disadvantaged-based economic agenda has been fully debated, formulated and ‘offered’ to the rakyat. Many are sensitive to the feelings of the ordinary Malays, and respect and admire the many attractive traits of their character and culture.
written by AsamLaksa, April 07, 2008 18:25:47
UMNO is fighting for survival. UMNO presidency is also the PM. Tough situation.
I also hold no delusions that BN cannot turn the tables in the next election. I repeat they are wounded but not dead. It's up to PR to keep their posts.

I still won't call for AAB's resignation and would let UMNO play it's course at their AGM. I still have not seen much of Ku Li as a good replacement. So far he hasn't made much scandals to tarnish his name but I wonder if he's big enough to reform the unproductive practices in UMNO. Again I stress the reform is not about one man, but the whole party. Get rid of the warlords which are influencing UMNO based on their personal agendas. Concentration of so much power in the few is dangerous. Get members to think not of Malays or Islam but of Malaysia and all the religions. What I have said is for UMNO members to wake up and reform themselves. Don't just fall for hype, but the more external pressure they get, they risk turning defensive and rally behind AAB for the sake of defending UMNO's dignity.

Look, I don't underestimate the UMNO members. End of the day they still want a better life for themselves and their community. I can only urge them bangun, bangunlah dan sedar diri. Jangan dengar cakap orang besar sahaja. Tanya isi hati apa yang penting dan apa yang telus. Jangan beri sokongan membuta kepada agenda Melayu yang mongkongkong fikiranmu. Fikirlah sebagai insan dunia supaya kamu dapat mencari jawapan yang dapat manfaatkan semua rakyat Malaysia tak kira kaum. Islam tidak mengajar hanya untuk fikir untuk kepentingan umat Islam sahaja. Islam mengajar semua insan adalah berkat Allah. Kepentingan orang bukan Islam adalah tanggungjawab orang Islam dan sebaliknya kepentingan orang Islam adalah tanggungjawab orang bukan Islam. Pertalian ini tidak dapat dinafikan.

Jadi ahli-ahli UMNO baliklah berfikir dahulu. Masih ada sedikit masa untuk mencari jawapn. Jangan ikut gelombang Mahthir ke, Ku Li ke atau AAB. Ikut gelombang isi hati yang telus seperti Hang Jebat yang berani melawan kezaliman. Beranilah bersuara isi hati macam pemuda yang ditendang keluar dari forum UMNO baru-baru ini. Pemuda itu tidak menghina UMNO tapi ditendang keluar manakala orang besar yang nakkan darah orang bukan Melayu masih disanjung. Ingat, jangan ikut membuta, beranilah untuk melihat kebenaran.

Dulu sewaktu Musa Hitam mancabar Mahathir untuk menjadi ketua UMNO, bapaku bertanya kepada sekumpulan orang Melayu siapa yang mereka sokong. Mereka menjawab dengan spontan mereka sokong Mahathir tanpa memberi sebab. Bapaku bertanya siapa mereka akan sokong jika Musa Hitam menang. Mereka menjawab Musa Hitamlah. Mereka tidak pedulikan agenda kudua-dua pemimpin tetapi memberi sokongan membuta. Inilah yang akan melemahkan orang Melayu.

Punca UMNO lemah kali ini bukanlah semata-mata Barisan Rakyat bertambah kuat, atau bloggers, atau pemimpin lembik dan segalanya. Kuasa UMNO adalah ahlinya. Ahli-ahli UMNOlah yang sepatutnya bekerja keras untuk membina UMNO dan menghalang kerosakan yang di buat oleh pemimpin UMNO sendiri. Jadi sekarang sedar dirilah dan mulakan perubahan dari bawah sebelum menjering untuk perubahan di atas. Bawah kuat, atas yang reput dapat ditumbang dan seluruhnya masih dapat berkembang. Bawah lemah, yang di atas tak dapat berdiri lama tak kira betapa kuat di atas. Pepatah orang Cina, nak dirikan rumah, asas sokongannya haruslah kuat.
written by SYXL, April 07, 2008 18:31:40
It's time. ALL race-based parties should be bashed . Isn't that the real gain to be extracted from March 8?
written by little dragon, April 07, 2008 18:36:24
pete. interesting hypothesis. but still a hypothesis nonetheless. one predicated by many assumptions dat many of us r not yet willing to assume.

forgive my confusion fm ur last 3 outings "smokescreens", "coming of age", dis one n ur responses in d blogs dat has left me wit a vague sense dat ur core conviction on this matter is still undergoing refinement.

i generally hv a feel where u want to take me. but ur directions so far hv been all over d place.
written by cruzeiro, April 07, 2008 18:39:02

Yeah - lets work with the devil to keep heaven afloat!
I'm sure the devil will agree to work with a new set of rules - hopefully the gravy train will convince the angels that the devils alternative is very sweet and worth it!

Who knows ... the devil might "mengamok" if he feels insulted when his game-plan is rejected - The devil doesn't take insults lightly.

Yep - 5.13 happened becos the devil was insulted - not becos some guy wanted the head honchos head!
(Remember "Pantang dicabar and The Dagger" story?)
We better live in fear of the devils threats!

So we better fall in line for the money ......

================

Very sweet game plan .....
I'm so sure it's for the good of the country that the PR "needs to join the Unity Govt" - yeah, how else can one get money unless one is willing to fall in line for the gravy train ......
You want the money be prepared to get your hands dirty as well, you angels!

Unity govt with UMNO Baru/ BN?????
That's a damn good one .......
That will be as good as "being BN" - might as well kiss the balance of powers goodbye for good, and start kissing UMNO Baru's axe!

Just don't ask who started the fire .... and if you do know, just "close one eye", STFU and move on or "tak suka keluar" - persecuting the vandals (who cleaned out the house) isn't gonna rebuilt the house.

Then we can all happily do the war dance around the fire when the house burns down again - that would be real fun!

Whatever said and done - just don't bring up the vandals' stories lest he gets insulted and mengamok - we all know who pulled the strings for 5/13.
Looks like he's got allies in the most unlikely places .........

Everybody (including me) shall STFU about the fire, okay - scouts honor!

Thanks for the pointers & game-plan, RPK!
I'm sure everybody will sleep soundly from now on ......
=======================

"Hegel was right when he said that we learn from history that man can never learn anything from history."
- George Bernard Shaw
written by cruzeiro, April 07, 2008 18:46:04
This is one of Raja’s weakest posts.

======================

RPK's playing the tango, while many wanna salsa .... that's all!
Some people say that if you're intelligent, you gotta tango.
Not that it is weak or strong by any measure ....
written by Chuang Tze, April 07, 2008 18:48:47

RPK, RPK, your intentions are noble indeed, but too idealistic, and perhaps based too much on expediency rather than what will really work, and what won't work.

If Malalysia were to be invaded by foreign forces, whether we are BN, UMNO, PKR, PAS, DAP, MCA, MIC, etc. etc. we should and will unite to fight to the very patriotic end, shoulder to shoulder.

And if the coming recession is as bad as the 1990's currency crisis, or the recession of the 1980's oil crisis, or worse, you will see Malaysians helping one another without asking whether they support BN or PR, and this is the right direction in which to move ... not continuing to feed a cancer (UMNO/ BN) that has almost consumed its host in the hope that by continually feeding its consumption, it will somehow adjust its diet and from a melanoma become a benign growth ?? No way, Jose !!

You are correct to say that it is not UMNO that is destroying Malaysia but a few UMNOputras in UMNO. However, UMNO and MCA, and MIC all stand for race politics of the past which has seen the RAKYAT reject most forcefully during the last GE, and we should not condone race politics any more. If UMNO has to sink, so be it, but let us put out life rafts and life boats to all the patriotic UMNO members to partake in the PR Govt. by joining any of the PR parties. The PR parties have to also realize their stupid mistakes in some of their race-based actions.

We are not expecting PR to be perfect, but we the RAKYAT, expect the PR to work towards perfection, which the present UMNO (under control of the UMNOputras) and the BN, will never strife for, as they will only strife for their personal benefits and the lining of their pockets.

Idealistic as perfection can never be attained ?? Let me tell you that to strife for perfection is the only way for Malaysia to survive this recession and to progress forward, because when our Govt-to-be, the PR strives for perfection, even if it falls short, Malaysia would have achieved much in the process. It's like sitting for an exam and some one working for an "A" which is 80 marks and someone going for 100%. If the first guy falls short, his report card is a "B", but if the second guy falls short of 100 marks, and gets 92, it is still a high "A"!! The culture in UMNO and BN is not thus ... We must ensure that the culture of the PR after waiting for 50 years and more to govern will be thus !!! And this is where your MT can be a really effective watchdog to evaluate PR's report card from time to time.

To compare the BN and the PR as siamese twins is an insult to the latter. More like Malaysia is the patient with BN the cancer that has to be removed with PR being the new cancer treatment using nanotechnology (nanoneedles an atom thick able to inject medication into each and every cell individually) that directs the oncology drugs to only kill off the affected cancerous cells (BN) while leaving all other healthy cells alone.

This is what needs to be done instead of parleying with the cancer (BN) whose only aim is to swallow up Malaysia, and threaten to destroy Malaysia along with its demise. We have to call their bluff and proceed with the RAKYAT's revolution full speed ahead !! No time to waste as we become less and less competitive in the world as we waste our efforts and time trying to find a less traumatic path. Support and form a CIVIL SOCIETY and support PAKATAN RAKYAT !!

written by SYXL, April 07, 2008 18:48:59
Dear RPK
Jangan merasa marah lah. Tiada siapa2 disini arrogant juga. Semua rajin rajin-nya membaca apa yang saudara bertulis. Tetapi adalah juga yang tidaklah bersetuju dengan opinion awak.
written by clangan, April 07, 2008 18:49:47
Raja Petra,

I read your write up to much disbelieve. I am saddened. There is a sudden uncertainty felt. Maybe I have always thought you are bold and possesses leadership quality but today, the write up above lost me... smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif

I hope the May 13 issue should never be brought up ever again. It is not about Malay running amok or insulted, during that time, it was a genious psycho from UMNO and became PM that planned the unthinkable to get the Chinese swallow their pride and to rid off Tunku TAR. Everytime a Malay utter the May 13 event, it gets to my nerves, if Chinese and Indian were given arms, let see if the score is even. So, lets not play with sensitive issues ever again. For your info, Chinese and Indians take insult to heart too liek Malays but they don't run amok. Once my Indian friend told me, pen is mightier than the sword, that's why you see the PRU12 Tsunami. Furthermore, today's Malays are richer and more internet savy, I doubt they are going to bandana themselves and wave their parang. More likely to do so are our Indian friends because when one is poor, he becomes dangerous.

Anyway, I felt that we should throw ur support to PAKATAN RAKYAT and support Amwar Ibrahim instead of the UMNO goons. We need a new generation intellectuals and one that is not only deemed fair but must be seen fair. Thank you.
written by cruzeiro, April 07, 2008 18:51:25
Little dragon writes,
"forgive my confusion fm ur last 3 outings "smokescreens", "coming of age", dis one n ur responses in d blogs dat has left me wit a vague sense dat ur core conviction on this matter is still undergoing refinement."

=======================

Somebody must have had a "teh tarik" with "somebody". smilies/grin.gif
written by Hanzo, April 07, 2008 18:53:40
Raja Petra,

Money is indeed the WHOLE issue. But are you confident enough that UMNO can provide for us, Malaysians? With UMNO still alive, would there be people running around shouting "HIDUP MELAYU"?? Would the NEP still be around to help those who doesn't need help? Would the non-Malays be singled out? Would they still be fighting for Ketuanan Melayu? Whould they play God to the other humble Non-Malay citizens calling Malaysia home?

Totally agree, if the fact that the results from the past PRU12 was largely influenced by the UMNO supporters voting for opposition and that the same ppl could switch votes in the next election if they see us condeming or challenging their race and rights. However, why would the non-Malays condemn UMNO but yet live in Malaysia, if don't like ciow la right?

How else can we express our feelings when we do not get the same benefits and treatments as the Malays? We too pay taxes. We too contribute blood and sweat to the country. We too chose to stay back in Malaysia to help the country prosper instead of just leaving and bringing a few of our friends away to another country. We deserve equal rights as people who are born here in Malaysia. The Indonesian and other Malays who are not born here do not deserve such benefits.

Correct me if I am wrong. Please look at the ratio of Malays and non Malays working in top international firms in Malaysia (the mere staff level, the workers) and compare it to the ratio of Malay citizens in Malaysia.

We are still busting our A*# until today following our ancestors efforts for the country. Why do we still hear people shouting "Hidup Melayu"?? what about us who has also worked hard for the country? Aren't we Malaysian too? Telling us non-Malay to support UMNO at the current moment is to some out of the question.

UMNO may even say, if dun like F#$! off from the country la. Well, if you know the workers ratio above, it would definitely be a very risky thing to do for the country today. UMNO at the moment is so poluted that even their own race do not want to come back to Malaysia after their tertiary education. But why as a chinese do i come back? Simple because I am Malaysian, I grew up here, my life began here.

But when i am home, i hear people shouting HIDUP MELAYU and not HIDUP MALAYSIA. Hey put urself in my shoes, won't you be afraid/ scared? Feeling Sad is no more an emotion that I consider feeling when it comes to situations like this. its has already been 50 years when UMNO played God to people like me. I am just asking for equal treatment. To be someone who can also 1 fine day contribute to the country without feeling afraid or confuse with my skin colour.

Nevertheless, this comment is more targetted to certain group of people, not Raja Petra. Pete, please also correct me if I am wrong from making such comments.

Raja Petra has also gone through hardship even with his Bumi status. Just that there are alot of uncertainties surrounding our country at the moment. Things need to be done before the company that creates Titanic sinks. Pete as through all his previous articles has already shown us that he is with the Rakyat. He is merely asking for support to contain the country's economy steep downfall. Where else can we turn to if not the current government which until today is still being held by BN (UMNO). Get the economy done first. Then worry about the equality along the years. No money how to fight?

Be patient. It has been 50 years since. It wont be surpring if it takes another 50 years to undo racial inequality in Malaysia. Lets work towards a better future together. Sacrifing a lil more would not hurt would it?
written by Ranulaw, April 07, 2008 19:02:22
RPK
When I first read ur article, my first thought was "ridiculous". However, from ur past postings, most were very logical so I decided to give let ur idea sink in a little & have an open mind as to how this situation of "saving" UMNO is even possible. It sounds to me u have an idea but u really have no strategy within UMNO. Yes, in theory u can go tell UMNO that PR would leave it alone for 2 yrs if there are certain conditions (which u also have not elaborated) fulfilled.

However, who specifically are u going to tell that to? UMNO is fragmented. Before we can go into a negotiation, it's only logical we know who we are negotiating with. In this aspect, perhaps u r holding back important information from us. Perhaps a pact is being made with one of the contenders or even the incumbent PM and u r testing out the waters here.

I believe no true Malaysian will want to see M'sia sink and if a stable situation is required to avoid this, even if it means another couple of years of UMNO leaders, then so be it. However the question tat still bugs me is, who??
written by SYXL, April 07, 2008 19:02:35
It's one thing to help revive UMNO (mind you, from outside UMNO).
It's another thing to let it die.
It's yet another thing to 'slaughter' it.

I've not seen anyone here proposing #3 because we are all quite sane.
written by mimag2005, April 07, 2008 19:03:05

......." The wise man does not expose himself needlessly to danger, since there are few things for which he cares sufficiently; but he is willing, in great crises, to give even his life ---- knowing that under certain conditions it is not worthwhile to live " ......Aristotle

written by letsbefair, April 07, 2008 19:09:28
We have suffered long enough under the arrogance of UMNO. For as long as they are in power they will continue to rule with apatheid laws.

The results are disasterous for Malaysia. Our education level was once of high repute is now third world level. Good and capable people migrated due to the blatant discriminations. Even our national football standard is now probably poorer than the world women champions! What they did with all those money supposedly meant for the sport went to waste.
Due to horrendous corruptions Proton lost more than 400 million ringgit selling an asset for one Euro. What about BMF, MAS and Perwaja? Just a few examples. I am sure there are many more...

UMNO only slogan is their usual rhetorics of "Untuk bangsa, agama dan tanah air". They are so complacent and having a care less attitude due to over confidence that they are just lazy, greedy and do not gave a damn how the people suffers.

The 2/3 majority they enjoy gave them the liberty to amend the country's constitutions until every thing is turned topsy turvy. MPs from BN just absent themselves from parliament sittings as though parliament is owned by them.

Now things are begining to change! With PR denying the arrogant UMNO this two third majority they are awaken from their slumber.

Are we stupid enough to support another person to succeed Pak Lah so that UMNO gets back its 2/3 majority and the bad old times returns to haunt us all? smilies/shocked.gif

I will only support BN if UMNO changes its apatheid principles: if UMNO now becomes "United Malaysians National Organisation". Or if UMNO, MCA, MIC ect. merge into one party whereby anyone irrespective of race or creed can lead if he or she is capable and charismatic enough.

I dream that one day we will have only two major non-race based parties ie PR and BN with both having roughly equal support from the people. That way gerrymandering would not be so effective.
written by andywongkch, April 07, 2008 19:14:37
written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 | 16:25:37
The point I am trying to make here is: many in Umno voted opposition on 8 March 2008. But if we attack Umno, rather than certain leaders in Umno, we will just be sending our Umno 'suporters' back into the arms of Umno.

It may surprise you to know that many Umno people, top leaders included, rejoiced when the five states fell and BN lost its two-thirds majority in Parliament. Don't spoil this. In fact, we should thank our Umno 'comrades' who gave their votes to the opposition just so that Umno will wake up. They gave us the 'knife'. Now we want to use that same knife to slaughter them?

Wake up people. Umno is not the enemy. Some people in Umno are. And Umno too wants these people out. And they are hoping we will help them.

What is so wrong to see a new Umno emerge if that new Umno understands that ultimately the people are the boss and the new political culture is they must share power with the opposition?

well I just dont think the logic above holds water. Listen, if that is the case, the so-called "good" umno members would have joined the PR tp form the new government. Simple as that. I strongly believe that certain prcentage (20-25%, as relected from the concluded poll esults) of UMNO members have grown up and matured enough to say "Enough is enough" on March 8 2008 election. There is NO question in my mind that majoity o them are still waiting for their chance to get a piece of the pie.

May 13 1969 didnt happen by accident. It was PRE-Planned and staged by UMNO leadership and that is the FACTS!
written by mimag2005, April 07, 2008 19:20:47

...Is it... “ First of May “...Bee Gees or

...“ Ides of March “...Julius Ceaser

...Is it..” water water everywhere, not a drop to drink?? “..AncientMariner..or

...“ Helter Skelter “...( Beatles/Charles Manson )

...God , God.....please help us.....please help us......!!!!

...The wailing cries of the...” Dazed and Confused..!!! “...Led zeppelin vol II

Good Luck, Fellow Malaysians...

written by Thomas47, April 07, 2008 19:23:56

You are suggesting an idea which is revolutionary. However, it's people perception and mindset which will be your biggest obstacles. Just reading through all the commentaries here tells a lot.
written by Anthony, April 07, 2008 19:28:27
Hi Pete,

What most Malaysians dont realise is that if the current goverment collapse and PR takes over, it is not going to instill confidence in the eyes of fund managers and investors. The mkts will definitely collapse and worse still the Ringgit is going to weaken further. The only answer in the current impasse is to have a unity goverment for the sake of all Malaysians and correct all the wrongs of the past. We need each other to prevent the unthinkable happening before our face. The future definitely looks freigtening.
written by mountainking, April 07, 2008 19:30:33
"We reminded Mahathir that this is not just about race or the economy. The backbone of Umno are the Malays. If Umno allows the Malays to die, then Umno too would die. The Malays would abandon Umno and would swing to the opposition. So this is not just about helping the Malays ride out the bad economic patch. This is also about ensuring that Umno would remain in power. I was PAS so why the hell do I care if Umno dies? Would that not be better for PAS? No, not from
where I was sitting. An Umno in trouble would mean the country in trouble, at least until one day when an alternative to Umno emerges."

Raja Petra, if yu have been talking about a country that should look beyond race, then this comment of yours are nullifying your belief of a multi-racial society. Why can't the Malays abandon the UMNO and swing to opposition? Aren't the chinese (and many other races too) also abandoned MCA and swinged to the opposition? if we know race based party is not progressive, why did you support earlier on?

"Umno politics, therefore, does not belong to Umno. Umno politics belongs to all Malaysians. And we have a right to know who is going to be the Prime Minister for the next five years or so until the next general election. And if the present Prime Minister is wrong, then Mahathir committed that wrong and he should therefore be the one to put it right. Forgiveness, redemption and repentance must go hand-in-hand."

if you (RPK) truly believe that malaysia is a multi-racial country, then perhaps you could explain to all your UMNO frens to believe in meritocracy. period. i have no qualms about malay to be the PM is he/she is capable. if kadazan is more capable than any other ppl, so be it. let the kadazan holds the office.

to sum it all up, i am not hoping you RPK to staunchly support UMNO , PAS or any opposition and specific race. i hope you could continue to champion for freedom of choice in religion and leaders of the country irrespective of race and religion.

written by mimag2005, April 07, 2008 19:48:22

...."Am I not destroying my enemies when I make friends of them? "... Abraham Lincoln

written by rajven72, April 07, 2008 20:08:27
YM RPK...

Nice plan but to hear, but why must we keep on having UNMO people rule the country, myself lets find away to bring PKR with PR to rule by Christmas Day, let's give DSAI a chance to run the country.
I rather let PR to rule Federal and BN rule th state, by that way the Rakyat
will not be betrayed and some been marginalised.
written by talk3talk4, April 07, 2008 20:14:19
Chinese DAP leaders boycott the swearing in ceremony,

DAP boycott because of race? I don't think so!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by JaguhKampung, April 07, 2008 20:23:09

It’s not surprising. Without the help of some UMNO members, 8 Mar 2008 election result is not possible.

The cancer within UMNO is already very serious. The rakyat is sending UMNO to a very painful therapy to cure its cancer. UMNO now is like a patient undergoing the painful therapy crying and struggling through the painful therapy.

UMNO is a party that represents the Malays for half a century. I don’t think it would be an exaggeration to say that all Malays in this country have a heart for UMNO and no Malays in this country would want UMNO to die. Just like any parents who see their loved ones crying in pain undergoing a painful but necessary therapy, I believe RPK, like a lot of other Malays have similar feeling seeing the turmoil UMNO is going through now.

UMNO may really die one day it its cancer is left to spread. But presently I don’t see how UMNO could die. UMNO is too strong to die.

I do agree with RPK it is not UMNO that the people should ‘attack’.

But the fact that all UMNO leaders have to go through the process of being an extreme Islamist or Malay champion to rise up the ranks underscores how deep is this unhealthy state UMNO is in. The fact that aspiring leaders have to waive the keris, bath it in Chinese blood, etc etc proves that the core of UMNO sees other communities in the country as enemies instead of compatriot who help build the country. How many RPK, M. Bakri Musa, Harris Ibrahim, Farish Noor we have in this country? They are not even UMNO members (or are they?).

Is there any leader inside or outside UMNO capable of changing this characteristic so deeply ingrained in UMNO? Maybe Tengku Razaleigh could be the one but can he make it as the President? I doubt it. Until that ugly characteristic is eliminated, non Malays take comfort that we have another Malay party in PKR and PAS to take refuge (or could it be worse?). Or we choose the less evil between the two (i.e BN or PR).

We hope from this election, UMNO will take heart and change for the better. Yes, they will fight for the betterment of the Malays, make the Malays more successful, world class, more competitive but they will also make the Malays see other communities are compatriots, as Malaysians and treat everyone as equal.

written by apasalahku, April 07, 2008 20:35:22
RPK is getting as senile as the man he has a love/hate relationship with.
UMNO is not acceptable for Malaysia in the 21st century because it admits only MALAYS. (likewise for MCA and MIC; but who cares about them now).
That is called discrimnation anywhere on the face of the earth, out of Bolehland's shores. Any support or form of excuse for this sort of primitive tribalism will doom the country to a ignored backward ditchwater nation.

Refer to the breakdown of trade talks between Rafidah and US. No other country in will support the fatty's argument for a affirmative action towards the majority.
written by Malaysiaku, April 07, 2008 20:42:54
For me UMNO should never be given a chance to revive. They are a racist party not a race party. Many non Malays have been marginalised that even the foreigners can see and comment. UMNO/BN is also super corrupted and full of cronyism. I am not saying that other parties in the Opposition are saints but up to this point, they have been pretty saintly and have been pushing all the right buttons.

I agree with some comments here on why do we need to save UMNO? Why can't PKR be the champion for all races? Net, we will support all parties that will treat all its citizens as equal and as Malaysians - not some second class citizens as what UMNO and BN have done. How many have suffered during the UMNO and BN reign in lost opportunities and a chance of making it in life. I am not just talking about the non-Malays but also Bumiputras with no connections politically where the 'loot' from the Rakyat never really filter down to beneift them. This is also one of the reasons why the NEP has been extended longer than promised at the expense of the non-Malays.

Sorry RPK, UMNO in my book should be dead and never be allowed to rise again to cause further suffering and torture (yes, suffering and torture) to the people ever again. There are just too many cancer cells in UMNO now. Better to start another party with a new name as the name UMNO and BN brings too many nightmares.
written by Tlau, April 07, 2008 21:12:04
Just as RPK is trying to woo support to keep UMNO cancerous cells from dying, the non cancerous cells are at work again. Latest being to spent 2 million !!! to send some army troops to jaga pintu at the buckingham palace.

Corruption and wastage of fund seems to be like the movie ' carry on ' series. How to trust UMNO again?? Old habits die hard.
Interestingly another blogger ' what a lulu ' said in her blogsite.

Lulu knows anything Dutch is not in fashion now, but this song based on the life of Vincent Van Gogh crossed Lulu's mind as she continues to watch and read the finger pointing by the PM and those from his camp.

In each chorus, McLean says
They would not listen
they did not know how
perhaps they'll listen now
except in the final verse, McLean says
They would not listen
They're not listening still
Perhaps they never will.

Lulu thinks, many of us are hoping that the PM and his camp would understand and listen to the message sent out on March 8th.
But as the days pass, Lulu thinks, perhaps they never will.
Has our country reached "the final verse"?

Sad isnt it?
written by lynn, April 07, 2008 21:17:09
Back to the future: the fall of Saigon revisited

.........."Of special interest is the New Straits Times report below about Maybank buying over Temasek’s interest in an Indonesian bank at RM3 billion more than what they should be paying. The interesting part, of course, is about who brokered this deal with Singapore and why Maybank was made to pay RM3 billion over-value.

Yes, the rats are deserting the sinking ship. And they are cashing out quickly so that they can take with them as much money as they can when they desert the ship. If the ship sinks on 30 April 2008, as may be the case….well, never mind, because by then billions will have been transferred out of the country.

Daim took RM42 billion with him when he bailed out just before Tun Dr Mahathir left the scene. Expect the present figure to be close to that when Abdullah Ahmad Badawi leaves the scene. RM21 billion has already been moved just before the last general election. They only need another RM21 billion to match Daim’s RM42 billion. And the Maybank deal just reduced that RM21 billion to RM18 billion so there is not that far to go. If the new government is formed on 30 April 2008 there may be nothing left in the kitty. I, for one, would not want to be in that new government."

44444444444444444444444444444444444444!!!

***But if the ruling party demonstrates insincerity and reverts to the abuses and excesses of the previous administrations, rest assured we will return to the opposition with a fierce vengeance never before experienced in the history of this country.***

RPK, Why don't you list out all the wrongdoings of this BN led gov't since 1982 & ask yourself, will anything ever change? I think corruption is now like, a way of life, ..... biasa lor. Most of us have come to a point whereby, we are resigned to it. There is nothing any of us can do to change this, ie, until March 8, 2008, cos all power was (and still is) in Umno's hands. I don't even want to talk abt corruption in the private sector yet. This country is going down, in every possible way, can't even begin to articulate & form a list of everything that is wrong in bolehland that has not been addressed, and never will.
written by KC Chew, April 07, 2008 21:17:51

Perhaps what you say is true that the scenario you so described can help tide us through the bad days to come.

My question is, is there anybody in UMNO's top echelon that fits your criteria of a "right candidate" to lead Malaysia? I fear not.

Who you'd pick, given the choice?
written by mgeo, April 07, 2008 21:20:38
UMNO is Malaysia? The main driver of the evolution of ideas is contention. Ensuring unity (meaning the suppression of contention) is the way to extinction. The suppression and lack of effective contention was the main reason for these:
(1) the problems of USSR and China under Mao; actually, problems for the citizens.
(2) the interference of the USA that propped up dictators and held back local democracy in various countries.
(3) the current hegemony of the USA that is important in ruining the financial system and the global climate.
(4) our own mediocrity and corruption.
Whether PR or BN rules, there must be viable opposition to guide the ship of state through the coming challenges of the world economy and climate.
written by R020998, April 07, 2008 21:22:41
MT Readers,

The non-malays (especially the Chinese) need to understand the malays. If you fail to understand the malays and continue to act as the Taliban of the Chinese, the Malay vote will swing back to BN/UMNO. You have to accept the fact that UMNO gets more seats and Malays make up slightly more than 50% of Malaysian population.

On the other hand, the malays must understand the non-malays; the Chinese in particular. You can talk about having equal transparent governments and all that shit, but if the new government PR turn into power and economy plunge to its worse state and the fact that most of the Chinese population earn their living through small-medium businesses, rest assured that their vote will also swing back to BN.

written by Rhan, April 07, 2008 21:23:25
What a great piece of trilogy.

First, we must acknowledge that the current administration is bad, to cure this, we need to forget the pass and challenge the present, therefore should welcome the return of Mahathir.

Second, Umno no problem, the problem is with bad administrator, this mean Badawi is the problem, therefore we must make sure Badawi step down.

Third, who is daring enough to challenge Badawi? To Najib, it is a matter of timing therefore he may not interested, to the rest, not qualify enough, so our Ku Li come foward to save Malaysian from another May 13 lah, the collapse of economy lah, no good two party system lah and all the bad bad thing that will come if Badawi continue to rule, but who is Ku Li and what he can do after all this years? He can’t do much but if he has the support of Mahathir and our respected RPK, he might have a chance.

I am anxiously waiting for the forth part of the game plan.

So KC Chew, now you know who fits the criteria?
written by KC Chew, April 07, 2008 21:33:39
written by Rhan, April 07, 2008 | 21:23:25

I am anxiously waiting for the forth part of the game plan.

So KC Chew, now you know who fits the criteria?
-----------------------------------------------
You mean Ku Li with the support of TDM? Must be kidding. Don't scare me please lah, I might have to pack my bags tomorrow and migrate to Timbuktu
written by ahmisk, April 07, 2008 21:35:36
Actually RPK I just thought of something.

In 2004 when pak lah took over he cancelled all the mega projects, like the double track, crooked singapore bridge etc.. And yet the nation seemed to do just fine. Of course, this was partly aided by the rocketing oil and palm oil prices.

But my point is, even if Pakatan takes over the government and sends a lot of BN companies packing, this may not necessarily mean that the economy will dramatically shrink.

Its all a question of proportions and some data crunching, of course. Unfortunately I'm not really qualified to do that.

As said earlier, however, I'm more interested in keeping the people of this country in their jobs and homes, especially the poor. Kicking out BN is secondary.
written by SUV, April 07, 2008 21:37:46
got any hints,indication frm UMNO which suggets dat they r willing to be more pro rakyat?..will they bcome like the buddhists bikkus,or saints like tok guru?..apasai masih mengekalkan nama UMNO?(United Malays bla bla bla)..got aah any indication dat these ali babas and 10% forty thives willing to work hard,be more ethical,things like dat?so far langsung talak..in fact,kuli himself seems to be borrowing anwars ideas!!! smilies/grin.gif..

ok..indians kicked out ppp,mic leaders,even supported pas candidates..asking 4 one extra exco for an indian dun big crime aah?sheesh...

country bankrupt so waht?man,history shows,once u got notin,u have a big oppourtunity 2 fill the vacuum..people,gomen,will b more determined to overcome obstacles,more determined 2 succed..man,in dis world,some of the richest economies r corportionslah which began from frm nothin..wal mart bigger then some european nations..wal mart started as what?got soooo many exampleslah company ,nation,dat lost everything,started with nothin,later bcame great,giants...makkals r used to sufferinglah woi..we face so many hardhsips,so many problems in our daily lives,yet we continue to live,govern our families,much much better then those who for decades misused,abused,their privileages,authority,n power
written by SUV, April 07, 2008 21:54:02
Rome is a case in point. It took seven centuries of dedicated work to transform a village on the Tiber into the capital of the world. Perhaps two centuries passed while Romans could enjoy the proceeds of the achievements and conquests of their forefathers - a period during which they came to rely more and more on others to do their work for them, in return for sharing in the wealth and status of Rome. Mercenaries fought Rome's battles and maintained the Pax Romana; the provinces grew the food and provided the other essentials required to keep the Roman populace fed, tame and obedient; and also the slaves to do the work and the men for the spectacles of the circuses.

Romans themselves first grew fat and lazy and, later, decadent, confident in the belief that they were the elite of the world and that they could have and enjoy anything they wanted. Intrigue and pursuit of fleeting pleasures became the daily routine of the wealthy; the daily issue of bread and the regular fun and games of the Coliseum were high points for ordinary citizens of Rome.

http://www.gold-eagle.com/editorials_01/mbutler122101.html

written by SUV, April 07, 2008 21:56:57
i say man,why our hero didnt ask che det regarding sex trade n sex crime @ bakun which started in 1996?ummm..
written by SUV, April 07, 2008 22:02:08
By STEPHEN THEN
MIRI: The sex trade in Bakun involves an intricate network of urban gangsters, mobile vice syndicates and insiders at the mammoth hydroelectric dam in central Sarawak.

Sources told The Star that villagers living in and around the 60,000ha site in Belaga district had known about the sex trade since 1996 when the Bakun project started.

“No one dared to speak up openly because there are gangsters involved and because the sex trade involved a complicated network that originates from outside Bakun.

The source added that gangsters from urban centres, like Bintulu and Miri, would find local and foreign girls to be used as prostitutes.

written by Navigator, April 07, 2008 22:02:33

You have set many Malaysians thinking from what I can see in the comments. They are well thought ideas, not the usual racial remarks.

There is no one of substance in UMNO. The party has gone to far down the line to save itself. Using your analogy of the boat, there comes a time when we must abandon it.

I am not convinced Mahathir is ultruistic in his approach. He just wants to get rid of Badawi and replace him with one who has an even worse track record of corruption and murder links. I keep repeating - this does not indicate he wants a good leader for UMNO, just someone who licks his boots.

He played the same game with MCA and chose Ong Kah Ting who looks like an office boy. He did not want a strong Chinese leader. Look at Tan Koon Swan and Chua Jui Meng. He does not want any credible leader to outshine him. I find it difficult to give him the high marks that you do. Sorry but the facts just do not fit in.
written by talk3talk4, April 07, 2008 22:13:46
Why all these messages of fear, doom and gloom?
May 13
(lately, seem to be guest starring pretty often in your shows/articles)
plus they control the police and army

economy/stock market crash....

Am I in Malaysia Today?
written by talk3talk4, April 07, 2008 22:21:20
It is like two people in a lifeboat. The ship has sunk and you and your enemy both end up in the same lifeboat. You would like to throw your enemy over the side, especially, in the first place, since it is his fault that the ship sank. But then the lifeboat needs two people to row to reach dry land.

Because, I am convince this enemy, will rape and pillage my village (again) once he have regained his strength on land, I will chuck him overboard and face the impossible OR SINK THE LIFEBOAT AND BECOME SHARK BAIT FOR THE SAKE OF MY VILLAGE.
written by kooiseng, April 07, 2008 22:29:38
LKY was right when he said that the ordinary malay is lied to. After 50 years, LKY has proved right. Telling the ordinary malay that special malay rights will bring untold success has been proven a failure. Only a few malays are filthy rich and they hoard their money overseas. How many of them put back their money in businesses and educational institutions in Malaysia? There are so many Malay billionaires but hardly any big Malay companies. All the money they have is stashed overseas with Rothchild, Goldman Sachs etc. Yes, Malays prefer to invest with Jews. But in Malaysia, they condemn the Jews - of course this is just sandiwara. Typical of Malay culture. Mahathir is also performing his sandiwara very well. First he tells Malaysians not to vote BN and then condemns Abdullah for BN's failure. Very snaky of him. RPK, you should write a piece on why UMNO leaders, after retirement, start to condemn the governmnent as though they were not part of it. Years of the NEP "milk bottle" have produced no national leader now. All of them need the NEP "milk bottle" all the time. This must certainly be the end of UMNO. Destroyed by too much easy wealth.
written by mikewang, April 07, 2008 22:32:37
‘Old’ Chinese culture would be, if you oppose the Emperor, then not only you but your entire family for seven levels would be put to death...

YM RPK,
It's not 7 levels but 9. smilies/smiley.gif
written by mikewang, April 07, 2008 22:44:52
you people watch the TV series "Yes, Prime Minister" ?

It's the same in Malaysia.
AAB doesn't run the country.
The Chief Secretary to the cabinet does.
He controls the civil service and they, in turn, run the country.

So even if AAB sleeps, the government does not.
Just make sure no more UMNOPUTRA hands are in that honey pot.
For that we need a strong ICAC (an independent commission against corrupt) responsible only to the sovereign and parliament.
written by ahmisk, April 07, 2008 23:03:09
Maybe if the economy gets into trouble the government should just send a RM 1,000 cheque to every working class Malaysian family.

I suspect that would be money better spent than building lots of ugly white elephants.

The Americans are doing it! (tax rebate)

written by cheekhiaw, April 07, 2008 23:05:04
ENGLISH LESSON ON ROWING CAPTAIN AMOK TO SAFETY

If the other fella in that sinking ship thinks that he is a captain by birth-right and therefore need not be rowing the boat no matter what happens, only a fool would not consider throwing that lazy megalomaniac over board.

After all, the boat may not really need 2 to row if it is lightened of its dead weight.

It would of course be silly and pointless to openly insult that self-declared captain by birth-right fella.

Not with his history of taking or calling for your blood on the slightest taunt (like May 13) or hint of your non-submission to his predatory domination (like that led by an education minister with a crooked knife).

There is indeed lessons to be learnt from the English who draw so much from the thousand years old Greek and Roman cultures but found no term appropriate enough for the kind of senseless behavior epitomised by the 'captain' that the more sensible of their own call amok.

But rowing that captain amok and the boat he call his own to safety is unlikely to be one lesson the English would preach.

Come to think about it, the English may also not have a word for one who would describe the 2 occupants of the boat above as siamese twins too.

written by Daryl, April 07, 2008 23:34:27
This is a difficult situation politically but not economically. I would rather have two parties to rub against each other to make Malaysia a better place for everyone not just to save the behind of one party.

We as Malaysian must hold politicians to higher level just because they are leaders. For maybe 50 years they took us for granted along religion and race lines. Why not let them figure out how to work this out instead of us having to make the decisions for them. These group of BN politicians thinks rakyats money is their own. Unless they change their narrow minded it would be wrong for anyone to work with them. So, give us a blue print for the whole country and let them try to convince the PR not us having to let put it down on silver plate for them.

It is about time they become leader of a open socienty instead of governing society that are closed and narrow minded.
written by malgal, April 07, 2008 23:41:45
Let's distill this information. What's a rakyat to do then? fingers crossed and hope to die while the infighting kills off the weakest/most disadvantaged? So when a particular one emerges perhaps cut and bruised from a bedraggled feuding, we hail him the PM? Why a PM? Why must a PM be elected from only one party? Supposing the sides were turned, and a PM came from only the Pakatan Rakyat coalition, does this mean all future PMs must come from only the PR party? The best man for the job no? Regardless which party he represents.
written by Milo, April 08, 2008 00:03:09
It all boils down to a guessing game on what is best for the country, on:

1. What will happen if there is a change in UMNO leadership and BN remained in power?
2. What will happen if PR takes over the government?

There are multiple possibilities of course, but much as I loathe the UMNO-led BN, what RPK put forward is not totally without basis. Consider that PR is still new and has a lack of experienced leaders to run the country, plus if there is a change of leadership in UMNO with a leader who have expressly state his willingness to fundamentally change the approach of UMNO and BN more in tuned with the wish of the majority, it may be a middle ground outcome we can consider before really placing our bet. At least, such an arrangement would be less disruptive in term of administration of the affairs of the country, and furthermore, the PR is still settling down on governing the 5 states they have just won.

However, the new leader of UMNO and BN must be willing to purge these few fellas, like MM the illiterate, Nazri the big mouth, Hisham the Kris kisser and KJ the hantu adviser to show his sincerity. Otherwise, I am afraid the majority would rather place their bet on the PR, as it is less risky to support "inexperience" (which is only speculative) vs a team of known UMNO vultures devoid of human compassion.
written by harrbm, April 08, 2008 00:49:04

>

Two Malaysians in a boat

in the middle of the vast ocean

land is not in sight

for heaven sake . . .

please do NOT destroy the BOAT !

What is happening today in Malaysia is TERRIBLY UNIQUE !

What we need is a CLEAR Government.

Both Federal and States.

Siamese twins, with two heads, must somehow agrees on many things.

Mind boggling .............

>

written by minime, April 08, 2008 00:54:04
Malaysia has no new big FDI.Nothing new is coming in.I know.After 10 years working in the manufacturing sector, I found it very difficult to find a higher paying job.I've just started working in Singapore.For this tiny country, they had 200,000 new job openings last year and expect 150,000 new jobs this year and they dont have enough manpower to support the vacancies.Eventhough their exchange rate is higher compared to Malaysia, but MNC's want to expand/open in Singapore rather than Malaysia.I wonder why.

Mahathir is to blame..just look at the auto industry.because of Proton, so many auto makers setup in Thailand.Thailand was only known for its '***' industry.But look at them now.What good has Proton done for this country.I and countless others have wasted money on Proton's again and again buy buying the next new Proton thinking that it would be better than the previous one without all the funny noises and poor build quality.Now after 10years, I still drive another Proton.When others were boasting about VTEC and DVVT, ours was still running on carbuerators and without power steering.And during this time, Tun was driving a RAV4 and a Cayenne.

Pak Lah..give me a job at EPU, i will advise you on the problems affecting the rakyat on the micro economic level.Looks like your current advisors only know to handle macro economics.

written by harrbm, April 08, 2008 01:13:12
>

and just to share with you guys what i overheard at the gym this evening.

The people who voted for PR is voting for Justice & Equality.

NOT Stability and Economic growth ! NOT for now they say.

So... Justice and Equality YOU will get.

HOUSE, CARS, MONEY IN THE BANK suddenly does not matter anymore.

Is it?

Mind boggling...

>

written by andywongkch, April 08, 2008 01:17:42
written by Anthony, April 07, 2008 | 19:28:27
Hi Pete,

What most Malaysians dont realise is that if the current goverment collapse and PR takes over, it is not going to instill confidence in the eyes of fund managers and investors. The mkts will definitely collapse and worse still the Ringgit is going to weaken further. The only answer in the current impasse is to have a unity goverment for the sake of all Malaysians and correct all the wrongs of the past. We need each other to prevent the unthinkable happening before our face. The future definitely looks freigtening.

To me, that is the weakest argument one can make for a democracy to take place. Foreign investors are a little smarter than u think who they are. Foreign investors are looking for tranparency. If the companies that are linked to the cronies collasped, so be it. Nothing to lose in the eyes of malayasians as well as the foreign investors. Rightly so, so that it will boost the confidence on investment both domestically and internationally.

With new government, we expect everyone to play by the rules without artificial quota set for priviledge few. Granted that, there need to be funds set aside for those who are really in needs and make sure that the delivery system is being monitored, measured, and reported.

written by andywongkch, April 08, 2008 01:27:54
MT Readers,

The non-malays (especially the Chinese) need to understand the malays. If you fail to understand the malays and continue to act as the Taliban of the Chinese, the Malay vote will swing back to BN/UMNO. You have to accept the fact that UMNO gets more seats and Malays make up slightly more than 50% of Malaysian population.

On the other hand, the malays must understand the non-malays; the Chinese in particular. You can talk about having equal transparent governments and all that shit, but if the new government PR turn into power and economy plunge to its worse state and the fact that most of the Chinese population earn their living through small-medium businesses, rest assured that their vote will also swing back to BN.

Another nonsene! Which school of thought are u coming from? why would stock market automatically collapse if BN lose power? Listen folks, we are still trying to receover from the 1997 downturn. Given the current global financial news, I agree that the economics outlook doesnt not look good in the near future. I would argue that if there is an overhelming support to PR, it could just help Malaysia to avoid sliding into recession with the collapsed of UMNO.

Foreign investors are NOT worried about the collapsed of govt linked corrupt comapanies, period!

written by tsuchong, April 08, 2008 01:32:38

A question. Notwithstanding the fact/argument that "UMNO has more seats than all the oppositions combined", and if Pakatan Rakyat is of equal strength to BN, which will you vote into power? Why?

Thanks
written by FFT, April 08, 2008 01:34:01
Bloody hell!!

You know the world is going upside down when even RPK's comments are voted down into oblivion.

written by Raja Petra, April 08, 2008 01:44:17
Phew....okay, you all win. I admit defeat. I abandon the idea of a unity government and delete the concept of make peace with the vanquished. Anyway, just for your information, if the GE were to be held again, today, the 82 Parliament seats would drop to about half that, and the five states would be reduced to two at the most.

You see, many who voted for the opposition, in particular the Umno Malays, just wanted to cast protest votes to send a message to Umno-BN. They really did not think that the result would be the loss of the two-thirds majority in Parliament plus five states (in particular Penang, Perak and Selangor).

Now they regret doing so. They just wanted to give Umno-BN a slap, not lob the head off the shoulders. Imagine their shock when they discovered they overdid things and instead of just a slap they ended up cracking the skull.

But now that it has been done, it can't be undone until the next election. But if they find that voting for the opposition was not so bad after all, then they might say, what the hell, and do it again. But if they feel threatened, then rest assured they will swing back to Umno-BN.

We have to be very careful what we do from hereon. Yes, WE, and I mean WE the opposition supporters, voted opposition because of the Umno-BN arrogance. The Umno Malays however did not vote opposition for that same reason. But if we display arrogance as well, then we shall frighten the shit out of the protest voters who did not really want to kill Umno but just teach it a lesson.

Vengeance should be the last thing on our agenda. We are not that strong yet to afford the luxury of being arrogant. Punishing corrupt officials of the past regime is another thing though. Even Umno people would support that. But screaming about an agenda of killing off Umno would undo all that we have gained on 8 March 2008.

No, I do not believe that the opposition will do better the next election, at least going by today's sentiments. My worry is that the opposition would not even be able to maintain what it has won thus far and will instead see a slide. And whether we see it slide, maintained, or increased, will all depend on how we conduct ourselves. Our performance, and only that, will decide where the opposition goes from here.
written by fireduck, April 08, 2008 01:56:44
Pete helped unleashed the fury of the rakyat right up to March 8th, but now he seems afraid of the shadow that he has helped cast. There will be many takes on this, but somehow I find it hard to buy the argument that the Malays will flock back to support umno, if they are whacked. Wasn't it brought up over and over again that a big majority of ordinary Malays do not benefit much from the govt or NEP policies unless they are umno members? How many members is that? Isn't that culture of patronage something that we all wish to demolish?

And who says only umno can represent the Malays? Let's say there is no umno. Does that mean the Malays will not be interested in politics or will not survive? Heck no! We have kicked communal politics in the behind, and we must continue to kick it hard. No more MCA, MIC and UMNO. But they are welcome to have a party that strive to represent all Malaysians and give PKR/DAP/PAS a good fight. I will never vote for a communal based party ever again, no matter how badly the economy is doing. To paraphase, we are all in this together. So, voting any parties other than UMNO (or BN) will not sink our nation. Because if we, who voted for the Pakatan, sink then ALL of Malaysia will sink along too. The important thing is that we will not have another 50 continuous years of the same crap.

And after arguing, and even convincing some pro-republic advocates to bring the Royalty back into the equation of power, Pete seems overly simplistic in arguing that the Rulers will allow UMNO to threaten the nation ('control the police and army'?) with doom, and just sit back and watch. And that the Rakyat will let that happen without any fight back?

And I say that the squeezing of the 5 state govts will not go without protest by the rakyat. After all, remember how democracy was borned on the premise of NO TAXATION WITHOUT REPRESENTATION? Pete has even called for civil disobedience to effect change. That would be as good a time as any to do so, in support of the respective state govts if the states are victimised by the federal govt.

I say no to a overwhelmingly strong UMNO, but try to give its current members assurance that they will do just as well ex-UMNO, by joining PKR or another party.

And see how this whole discussion and the recent brouhaha are centred on UMNO and UMNO alone. Not BN, but UMNO. So, the Barisan Nasional is not relevant anymore, is that right? Then, I suggest that Gerakan, MCA, MIC (without Semi), and other component parties take this opportunity to quit and join the Pakatan Rakyat.
written by fireduck, April 08, 2008 02:00:56
Pete, your last post gives a much clearer picture of what you are trying to push for. I have no qualms about making peace with the 'vanquished', but everyone must get down from their high horses to do that. Look at the recent pronouncments from Azalina, Mahdzir, etc. .... still arrogant ah hell. Be a little bit more humble lah, especially since some of them are Ministers looking after the interests of ALL rakyat.
written by andywongkch, April 08, 2008 02:11:08
written by Raja Petra, April 08, 2008 | 01:44:17
No, I do not believe that the opposition will do better the next election, at least going by today's sentiments. My worry is that the opposition would not even be able to maintain what it has won thus far and will instead see a slide. And whether we see it slide, maintained, or increased, will all depend on how we conduct ourselves. Our performance, and only that, will decide where the opposition goes from here.

Hi RPK, I have utmost respect for what u have done to right thewrong about BN wrong doing. For every chat channel i went to, I NEVER orgot to remind chatters that RPK played a significant part for the victory on March 8 2008 result. And I still carry the respect for you no matter what.

In term of your remark above, I am a little disturbed about the conclusion you have reached for the next GE.

What "todays' sentiments" would be so incompatible for the next GE from the PR standpoint? I would love to have you to elaborate on that. Thanks
written by toolan, April 08, 2008 02:18:33
As usual,

There are too much said for the sake of argument and too little for the sake of agreement.

written by RitchieLow, April 08, 2008 02:41:38

As in V for Vendetta ? Nah, else we would have blown up the parliament building smilies/smiley.gif

Dr Dzulkifli Ahmad had written “The Time for Parochial Interest is Over” in The Other Malaysia site shows a leader with Vision, never mind from which party, I'll vote for him anytime any day. That piece echoed the sentiments presented here much more eloquently and that was in Nov 2007. So the writing was on the wall. Individual within umno would have seen it, maybe not so for the party as a whole as it was blinded by arrogance and headiness of power. Wind in the head some people say.

UMNO won't die any time soon. An internal (we can't do anything, can we ?) revolution of sort maybe, to discard all that parochial mindset and be more encompassing as they are not just the rulers of the Malays alone but the whole of Bolehland. Who knows, maybe they can open up and induct members to be more like PKR which really does appeal to modern day bolehlanders. We do have a whole generation of returning students that were taught critical thinking in the recent electorate.

Look at Rwanda for the lesson on race/affinity based politics and Darfur for what religion can do to a country if mislead. TDM did admit he had failed in his 22 year quest stemming from his silly book based on race. So why not look towards the new dawn and follow on the heels of those icons of Bolehland who had done jail time for just such a worthy cause. You are one of them. You lead, we follow. smilies/smiley.gif

God Bless Bolehland
written by Chuang Tze, April 08, 2008 02:55:12
That is more like the RPK that we have come to know ! Sure, PR now has a chance of a lifetime to perofrm and they must shoot for the perfect score so as not to disappoint all their supporters, including those in UMNO who voted for them as a sign of protest to UMNO.

PR needs to make sure that far from being arrogant, they must work hard and work sincerely for all the RAKYAT. That is the only way PR can win the next GE hands down. Never underestimate the power of sincerity, as Malaysians can sense whether the Adun serving them is sincere or self-serving. We, Malaysians are capable of recognizing true virtue in people whether they are from UMNO, BN, PR wherever, as long as they are sincere in promoting the Malaysian agenda and working towards a brighter Malaysian future.

We have matured as an Electorate and are no longer going to let wily politicians pull the wool over our eyes so easily any more. Long Live Malaysia !! Long Live Malaysians !! Let us welcome our good UMNO brothers into the PR and work for a better tomorrow for ALL Malaysians !!

written by Argonaut, April 08, 2008 03:47:11
Most Chinese and Indians are willing to let MCA and MIC die. And that is good because as a percentage of the population, the Chinese are shrinking, and thus our representation under race based parties will only further shrink with time. Under non race based parties, we can leverage our influence way beyond our numbers. The Malays have a deeper emotional connection to UMNO that MCA and MIC does not enjoy.
As much as I dislike Mahathir, I concede that he is a brilliant strategist. He has hinted that the threat to UMNO is not PR finding enough people to jump over. The Threat is if PR governs too well. With MCA and MIC dead, UMNO stands alone. It is at a crossroads. We have a unique opportunity to determine if UMNO becomes ultra Malay , corrupt, fascist etc or we can try to influence them into becoming a more liberal progressive party. We need to nurture those elements within UMNO. Abdullah and Najib will try to hinder PR from running effectively and efficiently. I am willing to give Ku Li a chance if he doesn't resort to that. Come next GE with MCA and MIC dead, UMNO cannot just run on a supremacist platform anymore. They will be forced to be all inclusive in order to win the non-Malays. It might even have to become the United Malaysian National Organization, something very akin in spirit to what its original founding leaders had in mind. Maybe, its taken 50 years to come full cycle.
written by mimag2005, April 08, 2008 04:00:51

Aaahhhhh!..... Mosquitoes........Mosquitoes..........

That tinnie winnie of God’s creation........

Very determined......Very confident......

Zoom here.....Zoom there......Zoom everywhere......

With blinkers on.....see......how they dare........

Along comes Lizardo.......

A swipe of the tongue.....

Zoom here..Zoom there....ended somewhere....

Aaaahhhh!.....Mosquitoes.......Mosquitoes....

That tinnie winnie of God’s creation...!

Good night.!

written by mimag2005, April 08, 2008 05:02:44

HEY FELLAS,

FIND DIFFICULT TO SLEEP WITH THIS ARTICLE.

WUD ANY OF YOU DARE TO GUARANTEE WITH YOUR LIFE THAT IN THIS FIRST TERM...PR WILL WALK THRU THE STRAIGHT AND NARROW COURSE ON A 3-PARTY UNITY, AND WITH GOOD, HONEST GOVERNANCE..?

C’MON..LETS GIVE RPK BENEFIT OF DOUBT FOR HIS SUDDEN CHANGE IN DIRECTION...THERE MAY BE OTHER FACTORS WHICH CANNOT BE REVEALED AT THIS POINT IN TIME..

I FOR ONE TRUST HIS COUNSEL

NO.!! I AM NOT RPK's YES MAN....I’M BEING SENSIBLE....THAT’S ALL!!!

written by Navigator, April 08, 2008 05:44:58

I could not help noticing that when the Lingam tape matter came up, your website did not cover it, unlike Malaysiakini. Are you partial to Mahathir?
written by mimag2005, April 08, 2008 05:45:26

HEY FELLAS,

FOUND THE CAUSE OF MY INSOMNIA……READ WHAT RPK POSTED…..

written by Raja Petra, April 07, 2008 | 17:51:37
Dear malaysianohope, aiayah, malas nak jawab lah. Berapa kali nak cakap benda yang sama? Umno has more seats than the three opposition parties combined plus they control the police and army. Tak paham-paham lagi ke? Alamak, I thought MT readers are educated and highly intelligent. Semua kayu juga.

Tell me is RPK noted for GAS TALK....????

Please listen to the " angin "

written by lynn, April 08, 2008 05:59:42
Argonaut,
No one & nothing can force Umno to reform; their leaders are too arrogant & too 'full of themselves'. They have been having it so good all these decades. If MCA, MIC & Gerakan die, and Umno is stand-alone, wouldn't that give voters the obvious choice in the next GE, ie. to pick PR? Thanks for pointing this out, obviously we must hope for the demise of the 3 "musketeers".
written by AsamLaksa, April 08, 2008 06:07:07
After posting my first post under this article to encourage UMNO members to wisen up and take charge, something else was still bugging me about RPK's article. While making dinner it hit me - May 13 and not wanting to provoke UMNO. Why is RPK propogating fear? Does he have strong basis for it?

Perhaps it's because of the generation gap where RPK was of the generation that witnessed May 13. However, many of the younger generation do recall the atrocities post-Suharto Indonesia.

It is dangerous to be swayed by fear as it will be more likely to make less principled decisions. Here we have a GE which finally put to rest the notion that the country would go into chaos and violence if the government does not have 2/3 majority. The credit goes to all parties be it BN or BR in ensuring continued safety of the country.

Is there a strong basis for a repeat of May 13? Have we not seen enough what happened to countries like Pakistan and Kenya? Win or lose, violence do not benefit the rakyat. As much as I want to see unity in the country, the first step is to dispel the mistrust between both sides I applaud PAS in fostering trust between the communities as can be seen from their actions). As one who supported BR/PR during the GE, I place my trust in the UMNO Malays to put the interest of the country above racial politics. I trust them to sort out their mess in UMNO. I trust Malays, Indians and Chinese to work for harmony. I may not be in Malaysia but my dear parents are (some Chinese friends were stocking up on goods before the GE in case of trouble but my parents didn't bother). I trust all Malaysians to keep my parents safe.

If my trust proved wrong, we all suffer regardless. If my trust is right, we progress. Please don't fail my trust.

We have not seen the snubbing that have occured on May 12 this time round. Let May 13 rest in peace and let's sit back and think rationally of what to do next. Everyone should develop more socio-political awareness and maturity so that you won't have repeat of violence.
written by AsamLaksa, April 08, 2008 06:14:18
Lynn, it's true that no one can force UMNO to reform only from the point of view of non-UMNO members. Only members can reform a party, not outsiders. UMNO members are not from another world. They are like you and me, all want good things in life. If you can reform, then so can they.

I used to be like you saying UMNO can't reform before 08/03/2008 but I based it on their pre-GE 2008 attitude. After all, if they did well in GE 2008, the less likely they would reform. Perhaps this is where RPK is right in saying it was UMNO members who helped BR do well as it's a sign where UMNO members themselves are trying to force UMNO to reform. If that is so, it's a good sign. Now let's wait for the next stage.
written by AsamLaksa, April 08, 2008 06:25:19
Malaysiaku, it's not a matter of reviving UMNO. They are not dead to begin with. Are they irrelevant? Not when they still hold the largest number of seats in parliament and happens to be the largest political party in Malaysia.

You ask why can't PKR represent the country. Why, they can, of course. So can UMNO. I have no problem with race based parties like UMNO, MCA, MIC, PAS per se. What I disagree with is racial politics. If PAS would put non-Muslim interests and concerns equal with the Muslim's, I have no qualms if they form the federal government. Same goes for UMNO. There is no point in having a non-race based party which in reality appear to cater to the interests of specific races only.

As much as I dislike UMNO and their policies, I can't sign a death certificate on a living person.
written by Camillus, April 08, 2008 06:38:23
Thank you for this article!

I hope a lot of people take note. Both BN and PR need to work together to weather what's potentially the worst crisis wince WWII - and the first truly global one at that.

As mentioned many times before, foreign and domestic players are rather sidelined - negative even. The only fund/organisation in Malaysia with a big enough capital base is the EPF. The three legs of what I term to be the 'economic tripod' are inflation, the availability of cheap credit and public spending.

Inflation is on the up due to global factors such as high oil and commodity prices. It's the general rule of supply and demand. The credit crunch has starved the global financial markets of liquidity. Malaysia is no exception. Many UK banks have withdrawn mortgage and loan offerings or put up their interest charges. That leaves us with public spending.

I am not going to comment on the state of Malaysia's finances and its Treasury. I just believe that there needs to be a continuation or even a managed expansion of public spending to keep our economy chugging and not tipping over. Both BN and PR need to come into play here. If the Treasury and GLCs combined still cannot weather the storm, there's the EPF - our biggest fund. We just cannot even consider stealth taxes and burden individuals and businesses further - not now at least!

We need to accept lower interests from EPF for a bit. We need both BN and PR to map out a strategy for public spending, for managed investments, etc.

Dear Raja Petra, if you can indeed get BN and PR to work together, that would be brilliant! I firmly believe that the EPF will have a part to play in the coming months. If this is so, it needs to be conveyed to the public in a correct and re-assuring manner.

I am going to get abusive now. A big portion of the posts and comments above are of UMNO, PR, infighting and the likes. Bloody stupid Malaysians!!! Stupid idiots!!! Wake up!!! There's more at stake!!!
written by mei yen, April 08, 2008 07:09:42
Assamlaksa, you're the wisest thing so far.

Sigh!! Better than all the rest.
written by cubi76, April 08, 2008 07:11:44
"Dengan nama Allah, Persekutuan Tanah Melayu untuk selamanya sebuah negara yang demokratik dan Merdeka". Acapkali suaranya tenggelam dan pekikan Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! oleh rakyat sebuah negara baru yang lahir dari suatu perjuangan yang suci.

Seorang anak bangsa yang menyaksikan segalanya di depan mata, menghuraikan pengalamannya, Hujan renyai-renyai menghiasi pagi. Tanpa disedari linangan air mata membasahi pipi. Stadium Merdeka dibanjiri oleh anak-anak bangsa yang datang dari setiap pelusuk negeri. Masing-masing hadir dengan harapan yang tinggi. Menjadi saksi, satu peristiwa yang penuh bererti, yang tidak akan dilupai tersemat disanubari sampai mati. Merdeka telah kita miliki 'Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!

Grew up together. Living in the same place together. Fighting the invasion together. Fighting for independence together. Build the country together. Contribute together. Yet, I am called pendatang. Yet I am being viewed as a threat. My love for my country is still a doubt to them.

What is Malaysia? My home country.

Who am I? I am a Malaysian.

Do I love Malaysia? I do. But, does Malaysia love me?
written by SYXL, April 08, 2008 07:32:47
RPK says: “We have to be very careful what we do from hereon. Yes, WE, and I mean WE the opposition supporters, voted opposition because of the Umno-BN arrogance. The Umno Malays however did not vote opposition for that same reason. But if we display arrogance as well, then we shall frighten the shit out of the protest voters who did not really want to kill Umno but just teach it a lesson.”

Dear RPK
Your warning is timely – especially for DAP leaders and supporters. Nonetheless, DAP has done a good job, bravely sticking to their guns thru high and low, and should be appreciated as the real core of the Opposition (PAS aside). Their core support is the Chinese working class, new villagers and petty traders who suffer marginalisation in the most tangible terms. They cling to DAP just as many of the poor Malays (who bashed UMNO this time) cling to UMNO.

The challenge is to for the DAP leadership to move away from both real and perceived racial appeal without losing this solid opposition support base – it takes a monumental leader to do that - and the Chinese middleclass to play a leading role to KILL OFF MCA ONCE AND FOR ALL. The conditions will be then be set for DAP TO MOVE AWAY FROM BEING A RACE-BASED PARTY.

Equally, the challenge is for the PKR leadership to win over the absolute confidence of UMNO Malays who FEEL that UMNO is their only protector, WITHOUT ITSELF TURNING INTO A RACE-BASED PARTY.

Both the above are enormous challenges, almost but not impossible. The PR has to come up with an agenda for poor and middleclass Malays and marginalised non-Malays.

We bloggers and the alternative media must focus on and relentlessly hammer home ONE CONSISTENT MESSAGE – NO MORE RACE-BASED PARTIES - whatever the cost to the economy – starting with killing off MCA, MIC and the pariah GERAKAN (the time is really ripe and they are easier to kill off than UMNO) to show the way for the Malays to let UMNO die a natural death.

Isn’t the death of race-based parties the real gain to be extracted from March 8?
Focus, focus, focus! Long live ONN JAAFAR!
written by SYXL, April 08, 2008 08:02:16
Mikewang wrote: "Old’ Chinese culture would be, if you oppose the Emperor, then not only you but your entire family for seven levels would be put to death...
YM RPK, It's not 7 levels but 9."

Dear Mike & RPK
That was FEUDAL OPPRESSION for "crimes" real or framed or at the emperor's whim, not for "opposing" the emperor .
This barbaric practice of oppression was certainly not culture - culture means something embraced or accepted by society generally. Chinese people didn't accept that shit which was forced upon them. We are not that stupid to regard oppression as a part of our culture.
written by Raja Petra, April 08, 2008 08:09:42
Dear clangan, do you have a point to make or are you just mocking me?
written by Camillus, April 08, 2008 08:26:25
We bloggers and the alternative media must focus on and relentlessly hammer home ONE CONSISTENT MESSAGE – NO MORE RACE-BASED PARTIES - whatever the cost to the economy – starting with killing off MCA, MIC and the pariah GERAKAN (the time is really ripe and they are easier to kill off than UMNO) to show the way for the Malays to let UMNO die a natural death.

Dear SYXL,

At the end of the day, economic stability equates to political stability. Why... Prof. Yunus was awarded the Nobel Prize in acknowledgement of this.

This is the very reason why I was against Raja Petra's call for boycott. This is also why I cannot agree with your statement above. We baby boomers are old-fashioned and useless. We only grew up in the 40's and 50's, enjoyed the swinging 60's, suffered through the oil issues of the 70's, engrossed in the the initial decadence and excesses followed by the crash of the 80's, 'alternativeness' of the 90's and now the xenophobia and uncertainties of the Noughties!

But you are right! All that does not matter. I was wrong. RPK's tone in this article is also wrong. We should screw Malaysia, let it go to the dogs, left with nothing but cinder and ashes, then rebuild.
written by lynn, April 08, 2008 08:40:51
"""Dear SYXL, jangan cakap besar sangat lah. Baru menang 5 negeri dah nak cakap besar. Do you know all the states have no money and Umno can kill the opposition easily like it did Terengganu in 2000 which resulted in the state going back to Umno? When everything grinds to a halt let us see if the voters still want the present government or they go back to BN. Even if investors want to go to the states they still need federal government approval. Cut out your arrogance, all of you. The states are living on borrowed time, as is the entire country. Sure, semangat tinggi. But when the pockets are empty the semangat disappears very fast. Economy not important, you say. Not from 100% of the Chinese I have spoken to. Economy is everything, they tell me. If the opposition fails to develop the states then the Chinese will swing back to BN.

Wah, kalau dengar mereka cakap bukan main gagah lagi. Come back in five years and let's see whether you still gagah after being out of work and have no home or car.

What's wrong with humility, even more so if we imagine we have won? But we really never won you know. We are still an opposition. And if you think the voters will stick with us never mind what happens to them, then you all have a lot of growing up to do.

Let me explain our problem in three simple words. Money, money, money. And that is exactly what we don't have. Chinese are the most capitalistic people in this world. I have absolutely zero confidence that the Chinese will stick with the opposition when the pockets run dry. """

This country was a very rich country but after 513, the non-Malays were afraid to speak out & a certain race/party held power forever, but unfortunately this "elite" group severely, badly managed for decades. Msia sells water to Singapore; it has ample resources of crude oil, natural gas, timber, we have land to grow oil palm, rubber, fruits, etc. but YET why do we need to pay RM2.30 for one Singapore Dollar? Singapore got nothing, only human resources and a government who is geniune, sincere & professional. We don't have ANY of that here. We have a bunch of monkeys who govern the country, who put personal interests above all else. Ever ask yourself, why not the Singaporeans pay S$2.30 for our one Ringgit Malaysia? What do the Singaporeans had and still have that we don't have? (professionalism, meritocracy, first class education (NUS world ranking top 20), transparency, accountability, zero corruption, fairness, my gawd, they live in such a clean environment!!!! Their tap water is potable.) Our tap water is brown, smelly & semi no value once said this water, boleh di minum!

Instead of the tallest these, longest this & longest that, first "so-called astronaut" in SE Asia, first whatever around the world, why can't we have the cleanest rivers, the most beautifully landscaped greenery in all our cities, the most well-planned & efficient public transport, the world's no. 1 super efficient civil service, potable water straight from the taps ... and so on. The emphasis & pride is all misplaced. Stupid, narrow-minded and shallow.

We are not cakap besar, most of us are still savoring the 5 1 states WIN & BN's loss of 2/3 majority, long overdue. In fact, we are very very disillusioned by Umno-led gov't. where the boss are the bad guys while the rest of BN partners are just 'floppy dicks'!!!!!!!!!!!

If this country’s economy crashes along with the rest of the world in the 2nd half of 2008, so be it. In fact, I hope it happens, let the stock mkt crash too, like Sept 1998!
written by Camillus, April 08, 2008 08:43:01
And yes, if you repent and renounce your ways, they will welcome you back into the fold - with open arms!
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 08, 2008 09:09:53
Dear MT Readers.

We may discount or pooh-pooh YM RPK's idea of a unity government; BUT DO NOT DISCOUNT or POOH-POOH his view that "Anyway, just for your information, if the GE were to be held again, today, the 82 Parliament seats would drop to about half that, and the five states would be reduced to two at the most."

IMHO, YM RPK is RIGHT. Let us not get too euphoric about PR victory. State Governments are still dependent on Federal Governemnt funding. So SEIZURE BY AMBUSH of PArliament is the MOST IMPORTANT TASK right now.

Forget about Mamak Kutty, PAtrick Badawi, or even Kera Jadian. That would all be for nothing if the D-DAY that begin in 8 March 2008 ended up as Dunkirk in WWII. Remember, who holds PETRONAS, controls Malaysia.

SONIA GANDHI DID IT. WHY NOT YOU, SAUDARA ANWAR?
written by Milo, April 08, 2008 09:13:29
The tag we put on voters like PAS supporters, UMNO sympatisers, PKR champions or DAP diehards are but a temporary description of their current stand. The fact is all stand can be shifted with a changed of environment. For all the political parties, it would be useful to ask these questions:

1. What had made them side with a party? This would indicate what has motivated them to vote.

2. What would make them stay loyal with a party in the next election? This will provide clue on what to do next to keep these supporters.

3. What will make them shift to the opposite side? This will indicate the incentive for them to change camp.

RPK is probably correct in assessing the mood of many of those UMNO members who has voted the opposition in the last election. But the analysis is incomplete. There are at least three more major factors that should be considered to provide a clearer picture of what are the profiles of voters who made their decision that day.

1. Many who voted for the BN (but didn't like them)held the belief that the BN will win anyway, and hence may have been afraid to take the side of the opposition. This seems to be the situation in East Malaysia. However, the result of the March 8 election could have changed their mind. With a real change that is perceived to be better (and for some, anything could have been better than the last!) possible, they may decide to shift side to the increasingly more organised PR in the next election. With so many dissatisfied rakyat and the new found courage to change, this scenario is highly probable.

2. There will be also UMNO members who are in the 'wrong camp' and see value in the emergence of a more competitive PRK or PAS, who may benefit them more by spreading out the cake instead of only benefiting the cronies.

3. The performance of PR during the term will be a key factor in swinging votes in the coming election. Considering that most of the rakyat are simply disillusioned by the BN, in particular UMNO, the swing back to BN will not happen if the PR can show they have the capability to run the country and the resolve to be fair to all. For these people, it will be like receiving a breath of fresh air after being trapped in a suffocating environment for many years.

4. The gravy trains in the 5 states provided by UMNO have stopped. If the PR can create an alternate source of gravy to these people and does it in a fair manner, those who were 'loyal' to UMNO, including even those who voted for UMNO in the last election may shift camp and prefer a more refreshing environment than the stale one of the past.

5. UMNO has created a hard to dislodge image of arrogance, corruption and religious intolerance which those affected hated, and many of their supporters are not proud of. The PR does not have this baggage to carry, and only need to maintain their fair stand on matters of all kinds that are close to the heart of the rakyat.

6. In the next few years, it is logical to believe that the party (BN or PR) who can demonstrate fairness, religious tolerance and still provide sufficiently for the rakyat's bread and butter will give hope and win the majority over. With many of the UMNO-led BN leaders still heavily tarnished will almost unwashable stain of corruption, racial fanatism and/or religious intolerance, they will have an uphill task to change the rakyat's mindset.

Unless there is a change of leadership in UMNO for the better (such as Tengku Razaleigh taking over or Pak Lah change his style of leadership to one that is more winning) and burdensome leaders are rid off, the BN will remained vulnerable and may even fall before the next election (even though, this is not necessary better for the country).
written by Milo, April 08, 2008 09:15:10
Correction: ...six major factors...
written by Milo, April 08, 2008 09:26:35
Camel-ius, is obviously only trying to instigate RPK to react. The majority are with RPK even if they differ in views of one or two matters. In any case, RPK does provide quality reasoning even when there are disagreement, which is why we respect him. At the end of the day, it is the reasoning we are looking forward to in order for us to assess the reality. No one is definitely right for sure, and here is not about who is more superior, good or ban just because he is right on some matters.
written by emg385, April 08, 2008 09:32:23
I am sorry but I disagree with your thinking. Firstly, during the recent GE, the war cry was "Say No to UMNO & BN " and yes to Barisan Rakyat.The Rakyat bravely rose to the occasion .Now after the GE,Barisan/Pakatan Rakyat owe it to the Rakyat to do their solemn duty that is to be a formidable Opposition in Parliament and credible State Governments in the 5 Pakatan Rakyat Governments.No way will the Rakyat allow them to be soft for 2 years because of a new PM. Going soft will be considered as ultimate betrayal to the Rakyat who voted for the BR!!Anyway UMNO is not planning to be soft on the Pakatan Rakyat State Governments so why should they(BR/PR) asked to be soft against the PM who is from UMNO??

UMNO is in the present situation because it had never really learnt the lessons from the 1969 elections. Instead following the 1969 riots, the NEP policy and subsequent forming of Barisan Nasional allowed UMNO to sweep them under the carpet and instead grow more & more arrogant by the day for the past 50 years!!! Now let them learn from this bitter lesson or else the Rakyat will wait to deliver the killer blow in the next GE if UMNO is not able to Rejuvenate itself into a party that respects all Malaysians! All the wolves and sharks in the leadership ranks must be purged from the party. Leaders of UMNO must learn to serve the people first instead of enriching themselves and their cronies at the People’s expense!! No more theatrics with the Keris! UMNO wants Malays to continue to be weak so that they will forever be dependent on it to survive.The sooner the Malays realize it,the better the future will be for them. The NEP is also to be blamed when Malays choose to “get rich quickly” instead of slowly working their way to lasting financial success!! The Non-Malays have conveniently been blamed for too long by UMNO-puteras for the poverty of some Malays while UMNO has quietly been robbing them of their priviledges!!

I don't subscribe to the view that the future of Malaysia is so dependent to the strength of UMNO!!It is time for a new Malaysia !!No more old school politics and threats of May 13!! If UMNO cannot survive this challenge, then the Rakyat do not owe them anything! !The Rakyat cannot be asked to rescue UMNO!!
written by Camillus, April 08, 2008 09:36:54
Dear Milo,

I do apologise. As I said previusly, Malaysians are just too darn thick to unerstand sarcasm. It's my bad!

Read your last post. Then, read this comment thread from the start. If you still do not get it, then you justify my "bloody stupid Malaysians" remark!
written by emg385, April 08, 2008 09:40:59
Sorry to say this RPK,but this column/article seems to be written like an UMNO apologist would!!!It is so different from the tone of your ceramahs in the recent GE. Is it due to "Buyer's remorse" RPK ?
written by Birdbrain, April 08, 2008 09:59:48
My interpretation of this article:

1. RPK is creating the fear factor that non-malays have to kow tow to the Rulers and the Malay.

2. RPK is saying that a strong opposition is just here for window dressing and that UMNO members are still the supreme beings in Malaysia.

3. RPK is saying that we should still give UMNO another 50 years despite the fact that they have misused their power for the last 50 years. Unless, the bad organs had being pulled out the body and replaced with new body parts.

4. RPK is saying don't provoke the Malays but the Malays can provoke the rest.

5. RPK is saying Malays are a good sport, the rest of us are not.

Summary is that RPK do not give a damn to the non-malays, now that he's gotten what he wanted in March 8 election.

What a turnaround!
written by OrdinaryMan, April 08, 2008 10:10:15

This 'unity government' already exist. It's called Parliament. Unfortunately, like the saying in Animal Farm - some people are more equal than others - absolute unity led to arrogance, corruption and contempt for others.

Because of that you advocated for a stronger voice. You wanted to deny BN the 2/3 majority in Parliament. Now we got it. Not only that the opposition now got a chance to show the rakyat a sample of what they can do in about 1/3 of the country's states. Everything you wanted for happened.

Why the 'two years'? Don't tell me now you have regrets?
written by skc, April 08, 2008 10:28:52
Dear YM RPK,
You are trying to walk on a very thin line, What you have propose is an ideal case scenario. I still think things will get very ugly before it can get better.
I will still support your suggestion fully, if there are sane people in power who would do as you suggest, but don’t blame me if I am not holding my breath, while waiting for sanity to break out.
written by Camillus, April 08, 2008 11:08:47

written by Birdbrain, April 08, 2008 | 09:59:48

My interpretation of this article:

1. RPK is creating the fear factor that non-malays have to kow tow to the Rulers and the Malay.

2. RPK is saying that a strong opposition is just here for window dressing and that UMNO members are still the supreme beings in Malaysia.

3. RPK is saying that we should still give UMNO another 50 years despite the fact that they have misused their power for the last 50 years. Unless, the bad organs had being pulled out the body and replaced with new body parts.

4. RPK is saying don't provoke the Malays but the Malays can provoke the rest.

5. RPK is saying Malays are a good sport, the rest of us are not.

Summary is that RPK do not give a damn to the non-malays, now that he's gotten what he wanted in March 8 election.

What a turnaround!

Dear Birdbrain,

Other ways of looking at your Point 4:
- Non-Malays are more tolerant than the Malays.
- Non-Malays are less emotional, and hence more rational, than the Malays.

Thank you though - you lend weight to my perception of Malaysians as idiots! In particular, MT posters!
written by cruzeiro, April 08, 2008 11:09:37
But screaming about an agenda of killing off Umno would undo all that we have gained on 8 March 2008.

Yes- that's better .....
It should never be about killing off UMNO Baru (although somebody did speak of it, in an interview once).
UMNO Baru/ BN is still relevant, and should remain around for some more time- lest the Malays are "made feel vulnerable & threatened" unneccesarily (with the racist sentiments still prevalent & provoked in Malaysia).
But MCA, Gerakan, PPP & MIC are definitely dead (or at least neutered). They serve only as poster-boys/ court eunuchs for the "coalition" called BN.

It is about good governance.
It is not for PR to compromise their role & work with UMNO Baru as it is, for the sake of Money, stability or anything else - to do that would be a betrayal of trust, as it would involve working with a degenerate system, and dirtying their hands.
It is how the systems works with its allies at present.
The ball is in UMNO Baru's court, and they have to decide if they want to reinvent themselves & remain relevant.

We on the outside can only give them some food for thought.
As of now, they are intellectually bankrupt, and depend on racist ideas to keep them afloat. New/ fresh ideas are seen as "threats" to Malay supremacy.

It would be a sad day indeed should the Malays decide that they need to regard the non-Malays as "orang asing" (did Coolie say that?) perpetually, and fall in line with these bankrupt ideas - as is being attempted by some "leaders".
The siege mentality that they perpetuate in Malays cannot go on forever, unless they believe surrendering their liberties in the name of ethnic/religious hegemony. They can always look to Somalia, Sudan, Iraq, Pakistan and Rwanda should they need reference.

I for one have no problems with UMNO Baru as long as they stop being the "mindless Taliban-like extremists" boiling over with ethnic/religious hegemony and hatred to maintain their relevance.
Should they decide to hold on to their detrimental ways, and as a result inflict death upon themselves, it is their choice.
Nobody suggested or handed them the Kris - they can choose to pick & shove it up themselves .....

The non-UMNO Baru Malays on the other hand, should be able to provide an alternative to UMNO TerBaru and reflect independence of thought, instead of living in mental slavery, fearing for the loss of UMNO Baru.

I'm sure they are good enough for that - but UMNO Baru wouldn't want them to believe that, or do they?

They should also acknowledge the past, should they want to move forward - despite all the immoral denials by some wise guys who go around bashing others ......
written by FFT, April 08, 2008 11:29:45
Just recalled that RPK's columns do not always reflect his independent opinion....he does give a "voice" to the other camp on occasion, if you were all to recollect a previous article, sometime earlier this year about the bridge to Singapore and Israeli agents running around Malaysia. After getting flayed for that, he admitted as much that he was merely giving "airtime" to the opinions of certain factions within UMNO Johor who want to get their view out.

These last few columns now make more sense.
written by Birdbrain, April 08, 2008 11:39:02
The issue of race supremacy should stop in Malaysia-Today!

Where's the promise by PR to reduce the ppl's burden on their daily lives? Take toll for example! It's a everyday affair, there's no escaping and we are being taxed by this BN govt., who until today still wants use OSA to protect themselves. I think we have petrol ringgit to pay off these toll operators. BN is still defiant!

Open the can of worms! The toll is hurting the rakyat every single second!

written by DontPlayGod, April 08, 2008 11:39:29
As I wrote earlier, whoever leads UMNO does not make any wee bit of difference to the non-Malays, especially the Chinese. Whoever comes into power in UMNO, it has been the same for the Chinese, i.e. racism, discrimination, and marginalising the Chinese in terms of their culture, language, religon, education, and business opportunities(you can't lead UMNO if you are not a pure racist). The Chinese have been reduced to begging for crumbs. But do you see the Chinese holding any demonstrations and shouting?

The silent majortiy of the Chinese just packed their bags and leave, like what UMNO wants the Chinese to do.
written by cheekhiaw, April 08, 2008 11:59:25
MAHATHIR'S SIAMESE TWIN LESSON

A dog would not bite the hand that feeds it, but a man would. For there is no limit to man's greed.

Especially one that thinks he owns everything around him.

For such people, even his own siamese-like twin is game.

Just look at Mahathir and his deputies.

So you believe in rowing these people to safety with you?

The biting man would.

written by cubi76, April 08, 2008 12:28:18
Dontplaygod:
It is very true in your observation. There was in fact a wave of migration among non-Malays out of Malaysia.

Official numbers show that about twenty thousands migrated out of Malaysia(meaning giving up Malaysia citizenship). The truth is, there are tens of thousands more living overseas on permanent residency status, or on student status, or whatever status.

This is in fact a very worrying trend. The effect is already starting to show -- braindrain, losing competitiveness, falling education quality, outflow of capital, etc.

This must stopped. But how? If there's a solution, when to implement it? Why must they stay on? Why must Malaysians staying overseas go back? Is there a future in Malaysia for them, or their generation?

Btw, are you in Scotland?
written by Conan Chung, April 08, 2008 13:28:45
Haix, Mr. RPK,

Point taken. I understand what u mean by having both the opposition and UMNO fight together instead of fighting against each other. It makes sense to save the country instead of squabbling for power, especially in these desperate times. But u must understand one thing... for your plan to work, u not only need the opposition's cooperation but also UMNO's as well. And the way i see it, UMNO is still in a state of disillusionment and denial. Denial that the fact they lost was because of the decades of mismanagement, mistreatment, and misleading the country and its people. They blame it instead of the former PM. They blame it on the in-fighting and sabotage by party members.

UMNO, the way i see it is that it has been taken over by a bunch of corrupt, incompetent and overly proud bunch that would care less whether the country rise or fall. They would rather rule over a third-world country than sharing power in a 1st world one (if Malaysia could be one). So if half the country walk up to them and say "Let us help you rebuilt the country together." The reply would be "Sure, but you have to listen what we say and follow exactly what we plan to do."

Sad as it may seem, UMNO is indeed beyond salvation. A salvation means they would need to wipe out old thinking, their old practices, their established heirarchy of power. Even if the party's top brass recognizes the need to do so, would they have the power to undertake such a major, painful overhaul which would potentially destroy the entire party? The answer is quite obvious. Therefore, any sane and reasonable man would conclude that the best thing is to leave the party as it is. Does this means UMNO would keep silent and face another possible loss in the coming elections? No.

If the change cannot come from within the party (there will be minor changes, but key issues will be left alone), they will instead try to change the people's thinking. This would probably mean new marketing campaign, new ways to do thing and of course, new promises for a better Malaysia. Even better for them, they would do all they can to sabotage the new Pakatan Rakyat. If Pakatan falls, there will be no one to oppose them, so who else can the 'people' complain to? "The people will be stuck with them, whether they like it or not." will most probably be their best reasoning. (whether they consciously or inconsciously think so is another matter)

Well, if i haven't lost u yet, we conclude the most logical act for UMNO's leader to do is to undergo minor changes like blaming it on renegade members and past administration. A minor restructure will follow. Are key issues resolved? No. Are they going to change what Mahathir has built during his 22 year dictatorship? No. They would try to change people's perspective instead and it is much easier to discredit the new Pakatan Rakyat. If Pakatan turns out to be a toothless tiger, then 8th March 2008 elections would be nothing more than a minor setback to UMNO. So in the end, what i'm saying is although your ideas are very exciting and idealistic, it will remain as it is: idealistic.
written by truegrid, April 08, 2008 13:30:48
SYXL's intervention is superb. A humane, judicious voice of a sort we rarely see. You should write a longer piece rather than post ephemeral comments.
written by Ayoyo, April 08, 2008 13:31:03
For the first time, I don't agree with you, RPK

Giving UMNO another chance is a BIG mistake. We need a total change of Government!!!
written by Conan Chung, April 08, 2008 13:35:44
Btw, i was thinking whether the good Raja would really take the time to read all these comments... btw, let me comment on the negative views by other readers. Seems like they cannot appreciate that yr article is indeed the "best possible" scenario but it is also the "most unlikely" one.
written by TheMessenger, April 08, 2008 14:39:49
Dear all..

Did you guyz realize that we are merging toward the united malaysian? that we are truly will become one nation? we have taken the first step.

I saw it before, when and after the 838. i'm proud of all of you guyz who stand for PR, regardless of what we are before, fight for what we believe alongside our comrades, ignoring each other differences. yes we struggle and yes we have prove it. we are THE BAND OF BROTHERS. we are the new breed of malaysian. the colour blind type. and yet the battle has just begun.

I (and should we all) swear to stand against racist and prejudice, to fight for the right of all and swear to make it happen.

our name have been called, my fellow countryman. i feel everyone of us heard it. we are the force of change that this nation cry for.
let we embrace the dawn of our new nation, and let we be proud of it..
written by SUV, April 08, 2008 14:40:17
You see, many who voted for the opposition, in particular the Umno Malays, just wanted to cast protest votes to send a message to Umno-BN. They really did not think that the result would be the loss of the two-thirds majority in Parliament plus five states (in particular Penang, Perak and Selangor).
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Ummm...dis is true..3 jalur fellas themselves told me this,1 month b4 d election

written by SUV, April 08, 2008 14:41:50
umno fellas didnt factor in the "magnitude" of makkal's anger/frustrations/fed upness,and the degree of vote swing favouring pr
written by SUV, April 08, 2008 14:50:07
i aah,actually wanted asatu ratuih barisan rakyat poster frm mt(Rm satu ringgi/poster)..but talak mali..so,me n indian makkals created one BIG posterlah,when campaigning 4 pkr,pas,dap.. smilies/grin.gif
written by SUV, April 08, 2008 14:55:16
"Anyway, just for your information, if the GE were to be held again, today, the 82 Parliament seats would drop to about half that, and the five states would be reduced to two at the most."
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
minta maaf ya..baleh tak kasi say siki tips for nombor ekor? smilies/grin.gif

written by chin, April 08, 2008 17:14:08
Its is sad to hear from RPK that the Malays only voted for the Pakatan Rakyat because they wanted to protest against UMNO. (Correction: Pakatan Rakyat is not the opposition but the alternative coalition)

UMNO stands for racism, corruption and incompetence, it appears that the Malays are happy to vote for UMNO again as long as they are less arrogance. And that is sad.

I would like to think the Malays that voted for Pakatan Rakyat are more fair minded and they want the country to grow from a kampong to a nation. And they also see that UMNO’s iron grip on power, their abuse of power and their ketuanan will destroy the country.

I suggest to these fair minded Malays that PAS stands for an uncorrupted political party that will rule with the wisdom of Islam. And PKR represents the multi-racial growth biased party that will rule for the benefit of the country. DAP will always stand up against the corrupt and stand besides the downtrodden. They are a better choice than UMNO, every one of these parties has championed the cause of the Malays and they will always do so. Even DAP have stand up for Malays who were persecuted by UMNO.

I say we voted for Pakatan Rakyat because we want a fair government that is incorruptible and because it will bring progress to the country.

If Pakatan Rakyat joins BN then we have voted for the wrong party. Let’s not follow the example of Gerakan, for we cannot change the monster from within but will only be corrupted by it.

We talked about the lost of investment and brain drain, the only way to reverse this is to create a fair and transparent environment for business and all its citizens.

Stop the UMNOputras from stealing the country wealth and depositing it in some foreign nation. Tell the successful and the intelligent among the non-Malays that this is their homeland and that they have a future in this country.
written by zaman maklumat, April 08, 2008 19:04:13
Agree with RPK. UMNO is not the enemy but certain UMNO leaders are and we must help them, our "comrades" to get rid of these enemies
written by cody8177, April 08, 2008 19:17:11

Why not PR come up with a Strategic Action Plan to counter the negative effects of the impending economic slowdown in the 5 opposition states and FT and submit a proposal to BN ? After all, PR has control over all the main economic states in Malaysia plus the capital as well ? If all goes well, BN will be more willing to co-operate with PR on a nationwide scale which could save the economy.

After all, PR has the cream of the crop, the best of the best, right ? Yes, both are in the same boat, but one is
in economy class while the other in is business class.
I think it will work to the advantage of PR in the next general election when Rakyat in BN states see how well-managed the PR-ruled states are !
written by zaman maklumat, April 08, 2008 19:20:11
I think what RPK is trying to do with this article is to inject a good dose of reality check. And I kinda agree with him. Yes election 2008 is great but let's look at the reality. As RPK put's it, UMNO alone got more seats than the three opposition parties combined. so let's not get too carried away. we still get more work to do and we can't afford to slaughter UMNO "comrades" who help us in the recent election by giving us their protest votes.
written by fireduck, April 08, 2008 21:34:42
We must understand that RPK has a lot of friends IN umno. After all, his articles here were fed by deepthroats from within UMNO. So, understandably, he 'owes' them something in return. The 'friends' in umno has helped delivered the votes to the Pakatan, but the magnitude of loss by BN was really unexpected.

These 'friends' just wanted a change of guards in UMNO, not the annihilation of the proud institution. And probably with a change of guards come new opportunities for these 'friends'. See how cronies etc., were re-aligned after TDM stepped down?

RPK is probably trying to soften the impact and trying to help his 'friends' get back into the picture, for without UMNO, they will be nowhere in terms of power (...and you know what they say about Power.... and absolute power, right? ).

The damage is done, and the wrath released. It will be hard for the rakyat to turn back to status quo of the past 50 years. It will make all the past year's efforts a waste. It will so disillusion the many good citizens that they will probably never again give a hoot to the electoral process. It will be a deep insult to the rakyat who helped realize that defining moment in our nation's history. We rallied for the betterment of our society, for the good of our future and our kid's and their kid's after that.

So, how can we renege now on our promise to tha rakyat that the better future is just over the horizon? Definitely, not another 50 years away.

I am not talking about obliterating UMNO. Not necessarily. But I am talking about getting rid of communal politics. If the members of UMNO wish to regain the 5 states, overhaul the organization.

Be sincere in the fight against corruption, money politics, bias towards the other half of the citizenry (the popular vote the BN received was only slightly more than 50%, wasn't it?). Don't just do lip service. Learn to be leaders with humility. Respect is earned, not demanded. You are elected to serve, so be careful how you talk to your boss, the rakyat.

Leave your arrogance at home. If I have to choose one particular fault of UMNO, I would say their ARROGANCE. Malays are supposed to be very gentle, very amicable, and very humble people. And Malaysians in general, are known for our friendliness. So, why do the public faces of UMNO the organization display so much arrogance (eg., Zam, Nazri, Muhd2 Taib, KJ, Azalina, and so many others).

Maybe UMNO and the rest of the BN should be made to play the opposition for at least one term to appreciate what humility is. And if they are smart and sincere, they will work harder to earn the rakyats' support for the next election instead of bitching about the losses. As they bitch further along , the significance of the lesson that was graciously granted upon them on March 08, will be lost. So, we can only expect more of the same from them.

No, we cannot help them. They will have to sort things out themselves. The 'friends' of RPK in UMNO, if they are good guys, they should now stand up and be counted. With sincerity, work to reject all those rotten baggages of the past, and put good people in place. Change UMNO's Consitution/Charter if need be to accomodate the new paradigm. After all, didn't BN change OUR Malaysian Constitution[] countless times? Surely that is more sacred than UMNO's Constitution.
written by SUV, April 08, 2008 22:16:58
pipul will b smilies/shocked.gif if they know the true meaning of deep throat..aiskalim smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Raymond, April 08, 2008 22:24:05
1st PR needs to find a way to get rid of BN.. it has to do it even if it means some shady deals with East Mal MPs.
2nd Once in power, the new government needs to set thiing in order, (1) put an independant judiciary. (2) Launch review of ACA organization (sack many of them if necessary retain the honest ones if they exists)... then make ACA independant permanantly, under the justice department. (2) separate the powers of the PM and Finance Minister.. to ensure no more future abuse. (3) Appoint the consultation of an inpendant auditor (eg. PWC, etc) to instill audit and accounting compliance standards for the government (ie. AUDITOR general, and accountant general). (4) Make sure that state level audit are done on all finances. (5) Macro & micro economics and policies to help the "defined" poor regardless of race. (6) reduce foreign workers... less graduates.. more trades people.. look at NZ and Australia, these are the highest sought after folks.. they also earns the most..
written by lynn, April 09, 2008 10:04:23
Raymond,
Fully agree with you - IMHO, BN would have lost if not for 1 mil or so of phantom votes, postal votes & gerrymandering. In fact, fully agree with you on all your suggestions & in particular, your pick of PWC - this one is truly independent & professional.
written by Milo, April 09, 2008 12:44:22
fireduck, what you commented make a lot of sense. The result did shock everyone, and that would include RPK. A lot of what is going to happen in the next few months are out of our hand. The momentum could just brought about the downfall of BN and lift the PR to federal government status. Good or bad, we can only guess. It would however be pridictable that in the short-term the situation will be littered with chaos. The long-term may be good if the PR can sustain and kept to their objectives. This will also definitely force the BN parties, in particular UMNO to reform, thus giving us a truely two-party system. With two good parties in competition for our votes, that would be the best. If this is the outcome, it may be well worth the risk to accelerate the status of PR from opposition to government. if UMNO-led BN can reform to our satisfaction, then letting them stay in Government is also an option. But will they change with leaders like MM, KJ and Hisham, etc. still in the band wagon?
written by Camillus, April 09, 2008 13:45:24
more trades people.. look at NZ and Australia, these are the highest sought after folks.. they also earns the most..

Tradespeople in demand in Oz are hairdressers, plumbers, mechanics and the likes. For example, electricians and plumbers in the UK do charge a lot. The demand is a result of an expanding economy (Oz's case)- Malaysia's is not. Also, the Malaysian economy is not 'consumerism' based.

What we do need are entrepreneurs. People with blue-sky thinking, who think out of the box. People who can take an idea into fruition. People who can provide us with Microsofts, Facebooks, ******s and more.

Apologies I understood wrongly and if this is what you meant.
written by lampard, April 10, 2008 03:30:12
Dear All of the above,
I think Raja Petra is asleep now and when he wakes up, he may ban your posting and you may have to create a new username. I know many who did not agree with him are barred from posting their comments! Those names you don't see again that is in disagreement can be ban! No Hold Barred...he claimed!! But for all fairness, this blog belongs to him, so, he rules!!! If you don't see Lampard again, well, simply means I have been barred! heee....
smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by lampard, April 10, 2008 03:48:51
By the way, can someone tell me how to give a vote on comments, i am an ignorant young girl who are new in Malayisian political landscape and Malaysia Today! I also hope if there are other similar sites like MT taht I can go to? You can send e mails to me at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it Thanks. I do agree UMNO should not be arrogant and I admot UMNO are racist and rule with many personal agenda. SOme chosen ministers with records of corrution are still ministers and still utter threats to everyone taht disagree with them...Malaysia tak boleh!!!
written by azfamy, April 10, 2008 13:22:32
written by lampard,
But for all fairness, this blog belongs to him, so, he rules!!! If you don't see Lampard again, well, simply means I have been barred! heee....

With your comments, I'm quite sure you won't be barred smilies/wink.gif
BTW, from this site, there are many many many links to other similar sites. In fact, in time, you might eventually get information overload. So many things to read, yet so little time. smilies/grin.gif
written by freeman, April 11, 2008 03:53:56
Petra Idiot,
They should have lock you up and throw away the keys while you are in ISA.
You have the audacity to blame the non malays for May 13 , and now want another 2 years of umnoputras rule !!!!
Calling you an idiot is acutally treating you kindly.

Dear ASICIT, I agree with you 100%! Bravo!!
written by freeman, April 11, 2008 03:57:04
Raja Petra,
Are you that thick? Clangan's point is obvious! You are not in agreement with him/her and the masses on MT. That makes you the 'enemy' now. UMNO is evil and nothing else - must have nothing to do with them. Anything that deviates from this is wrong! PR and DAP in particular is the way forward. I don't need to go on, do I?

Dear Camillus,
Agree with you 2!!
written by lynn, April 12, 2008 12:17:43
West Msia, umno won only 66 seats out of 166, Pakatan Rakyat won 80. MCA/MIC/others won the remaining 20 seats. If MCA/MIC deserted BN, Umno cannot form the federal gov't in Peninsula msia assuming there is no east malaysia! During the run-up to the elections, I recalled RPK at SS2 Ceramah echoed most of our sentiments: I think he said by giving your votes to MCA or MIC, you are keeping Umno in power. It is true, isn't it? Unfortunately, PR only one P. seat in Sabah & one in Sarawak.
written by Raymond, April 13, 2008 23:18:55
I dont think the chinese today will go back to MCA and BN. 1st.. there really isn't much left for chinese. The majority are salary earners or professionals which are not very dependant on the government. The few capitalistic Chinese tow-kays who gets the handouts from the BN government as few, and I do not think that their votes counts for much as shown in the last election. And the remaining chinese business folks are SMB and manufacturer who are supply domestic or exports. They will go on with their business with our without the government. The venom of this government will HURT the Malays a whole lot more than the Chinese or Indian. They never git much in the first place. So... I dont buy your (RPK) prediction (if I may call it that) that Chinese will swing back to BN as soon as money runs out... Shit, we never got any in the first place. Do your worse BN... U will be hurting your Malay voters before us.
written by edmean, April 14, 2008 10:05:03
Too many talking sticks here, I supposed, who talked as if they are representing something other than his/herself. Maybe I did not read all the cumments from every cummentators but I do read comments in the bright yellow box for me to say so. And be informed that I am commenting here just for the sake of commenting. No hard feeling I hope. I hope.
written by bukitkuda, April 14, 2008 11:20:57
RPK is right, we should not become arrogance , we must be humble. We shall not lump every umno member as one just because we hate so much their corrupt ans arrogance leaders. I am one of the guilty one also...let look at bigger picture for once.
written by lynn, April 14, 2008 14:44:48
RPK, only those really dumb Chinese will run back to MCA! MCA can offer the Chinese nothing, before or after EC12, their status quo unchanged. On day of polling for Subang seats, I was asked by BN-wearing T-shirt people manning BN's booth "make sure you cast your vote for BN", they said to me. I gave them a nasty look & said loudly, "I will NEVER vote for BN, MCA! Even if I have to cast my vote for PAS!" However the candidates were Sivarasa & Elizabeth Wong, both won! You see, inspite of what that kelantan Petra prince has said abt non-Malays, I will still vote for PR in the next GE! He may be planted to talk this way to psyche the non-malays to run back to BN. Not all of us are frigging stupid, ok?