SPCA ACTION ALERT PDF Print
Friday, 04 April 2008 13:36

“Dying To Be Rescued”

Scenes of starvation and death greeted tourists who signed up for horse riding on the beach while enjoying their holiday in Sabah, Malaysia. 

The tourists had visited the Melinsung ranch located 20 mins South of Kota Kinabalu to sign up for the activity. What they found left them sickened. Starving and weak horses, some unable to stand, were kept in dirty paddocks and stables in and around the ranch. The horses had skin diseases, open wounds and infected sores, and there were reports of many dead and dying horses.

The tourists reported the distressing scenes to the World Society for the Protection of Animals (WSPA) in June 2007. Photos of the sick animals, posted on a forum in New Zealand, also reached WSPA, which quickly contacted its member society, the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA), Selangor, based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia to pressure the authorities to do something about the situation.

The SPCA reported the problem to the Department of Veterinary Services (DVS) in Sabah through the central DVS in Kuala Lumpur. The DVS enforces Malaysia’s animal protection law, and visited the horrific site in June 2007 (and a follow up visit January 2008), and decided it would simply monitor the case and work with the owner to improve the conditions of the horses. The owner of the Ranch is Datuk Abdul Ghani Rashid, ex-Mayor of Kota Kinabalu. When the DVS visited the ranch in June there were 70 horses. Now latest reports from SPCA Representative Sue Quek, state that “There are only around 30 left and animals are still suffering and dying.”

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by oknyua, April 04, 2008 13:49:00
"The owner of the Ranch is Datuk Abdul Ghani Rashid, ex-Mayor of Kota Kinabalu."

1. Is he still alive, or is he also dying like the animals there?
2. Has the police searched for him, maybe he had disappeared?
3. IKIM, what is the Syriah penalty for cruelty, inhumane, sinister treatment towards animals?
4. The State Gov't, is it still functioning?

I come from the old school that firmly believes retribution can still occur while the cruel owner is still alive. The pain the animals feel would be suffered by the cruel master. I just hope he is NOT the one responsible.

written by SamYap, April 04, 2008 13:49:48
Welcome to Malaysia! The country currently ruled by Barisan Nasional aka UMNO, where no one needs to be responsible or accountable!

A thousand apologies, but the citizens are trying to correct the situation. Do visit us again in another year or two, we'll try to put things right. We might even get the Veterinary Services assistance to put the ANIMAL called Barisan Nasional aka UMNO, to sleep.
written by Mr Smith, April 04, 2008 13:55:33
We can only call ourselves human beings if we can extend love to animals. However in this Islam hadhari country we are more concerned with holding hands and kissing in public or committing khalwat than showing love to animals.
Perhaps IKIM and the Syariah Department or some Mufti can come out with a fatwa on treatment of animals.
written by RudyD, April 04, 2008 13:55:33

written by humanist, April 04, 2008 13:56:11
I think we need also.. RSPCU = "Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to UMNO",
now they are facing crisis of their own, let alone taking care of the horses they owned.

Al See
written by Mathavan, April 04, 2008 14:00:25
Dear SPCA.....You guys need to pressure DVS officers for solutions. This is cruelty to animals and you are responsible to the closure of this case.
written by zonefinder, April 04, 2008 14:03:54
The Sabah State authorities should immediately look into this together with SPCA to take custody of these poor animals. Shame on all of us if we cannot even look after a few horses!
I will contribute if SPCA were to start a fund raising campaign.
As for this Abdul Ghani, we should have laws to throw these kind of despicable characters into Jail. This is so shameful to the country.
written by Iliyas, April 04, 2008 14:13:16
As an animal lover myself,I'm disgruntled to view such horror of total cruelty to these beautiful animals.Devastating as it maybe,what in God's name is the Sabah Ministry of Tourism doing?Masidi Manjun demands for more representation at Federal Level,but is unable to resolved pressing issues such as this.

Somebody must take the blame for this,as the conditions of these animals clearly were not self inflicted.I humbly and respectfully call upon DYMM YANG DIERTUAN AGONG,an avid Equestrian and a horse loving person to intervene,so that the perpetrators will be prosecuted.A dark day for tourism in Sabah.
written by StanleyS, April 04, 2008 14:26:15
Oh god...
This is sickening to watch! What kinds of beast will do such cruelty to these animals? Respective authorities need to punish this.. this... monster... put his ass in jail for animal cruelty...!!!
written by Tlau, April 04, 2008 14:51:51
I think we ought to chain this abdul gunny rashit and treat him like the way he treated the horses, with not enough food, rotting flesh and skin disease. Baru di sedar. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Firaza, April 04, 2008 14:57:50
SUBAHANALLAH !!! This is an extreme case of ill treatment and if this case was in US, the ******* would have been immediately handcuffed & arrested.

I urge the authorities to immediately look into this plight and get the expected remedy to these dying horses.

INSYA ALLAH..
written by Tompios, April 04, 2008 15:05:26
Simpan perempuan pintar dia. Hari2 pakai bom kuda untuk mengkudakan wanita2 simpanan!! Simpan kuda tua sepertinya bukan hobi!!

Hmm...please Mr. Awang you should do something!! I put all responsibilities on your shoulder!!
written by malsia1206, April 04, 2008 15:37:13
You can bet while all these poor underfed horses are getting sicker with each passing day, the owner/operator and all parties involved are getting so well fed probably with rich bank accounts spreading all over in Asia and Switzerland. The problem is these horse do not qualify for the NEP, unlike their masters. That is the BIG difference.
written by loosecannon, April 04, 2008 15:49:16
Sabah SPCA must bring the bastard to court. How can this type of cruelty be allowed? And waht action has the Sabah DVS taken? He should be tied naked to the ground and let the horses walk trample over him. Shithead.
written by Goliverpool, April 04, 2008 16:10:30
My heart now bleeds with uncontrollable sadness and despair !. Such despicitable act are still rampantly and blantantly allowed by the authorities. Why there were no concrete action by the DVS department ?. Dato ****er Abdul Ghani ******* ! U r a disgrace to human race. I would not call u a human . I would call u a binatang ,a pure binatang, not even that I would prefer to call u parasite. Really a bloody pighead. Very very inhumane. Make sure the bastard is bring brought up to justice.
written by thegodfather, April 04, 2008 16:19:52
It really breaks my heart to see this. The lowlife scum should be charged and locked up for cruelty to animals. When the police can act on an individual for ill trating hsi pet dog, for example, why are they not doing anything about this ##**&??? Is it because he is a big shot who is above the law??
Welcome to Malaysia!
written by chaiksyn, April 04, 2008 16:21:27
Indak malu punya Ghani...tu lah kaki temberang! Pigi mampuslah kau Ghani! Sampai hati you do this to your poor horses! You worst than the horse dung. Menjijikkan punya manusia. Ex-mayor konon..lah inilah orang BN...binatang pun indak bulih jaga...apakan pulak satu negara malaysia!!
written by PaulineL, April 04, 2008 16:33:28
“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated” - Mahatma Gandhi

Shows how much progress that Malaysia has made over the past 50 years. I am deeply appalled and saddened. How can such owners sleep at night knowing that they're causing such suffering? I remember a saying about animals - To us, animals are just pets, but to animals, we're everything.
written by AsamLaksa, April 04, 2008 17:02:11
I am outraged and I have tears forming in my eyes at the same time. How could anyone do such things???
written by sathianatoleo, April 04, 2008 17:13:25
i cannot express enough my pain at seeing this poor creatures sufferings. may god all powerful inflict the same suffering on those who did this.

I WANT ACTION!!! I dont care if we need to storm the place to save them but we need to do it.
written by Lim Lim, April 04, 2008 17:30:57
these goons do that to the fellow malaysian,so what do u expect how those poor animals hav been treated??
written by Sean E, April 04, 2008 17:54:36
Shame on you Datuk Abdul Ghani Rashid to allow such things to happen in your ranch. Have you fallen on hard time now that you can't afford to feed the horses? This is not the first time the newspaper reports on the appalling condition of your ranch. If you have no interest in running a ranch, don't let the poor horses suffer!

You must still command some clout that the Department of Veterinary Services Sabah Director Datuk Awang Sahak Salleh try to defend you and denied that the horses are maltreated as reported in the Daily Express (Sabah newspaper) yesterday.

However, this is the year 2008, not 1988, in which the public beleive whatever was reported in the paper. Now with internet, the pictures above is worth more than a thousand words. Pictures don't lied, people do.

For you information, Datuk Abdul Ghani Rashid, is the former mayor of Kota Kinabalu.
written by MasterYoda, April 04, 2008 19:14:20
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by MasterYoda, April 04, 2008 19:14:55
This is a HOLOCOUST for animals!
This is a HOLOCOUST 4 animals!
This is a HOLOCOUST for animals!
This is a HOLOCOUST fo animals!
This is a HOLOCOUST fur animals!
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by mrgoh, April 04, 2008 19:36:22
I am sorry but it looks like they have to be
Euthanized.
written by glock17, April 04, 2008 20:34:18
UMNOPUTRA BANGSAT !!! YOU MOTHA FUxxKERS DON'T EVEN SPARE THE LIFE OF AN INNOCENT ANIMAL!!!

FOR GD, SAKE PLEASE PUT TAT POOR ANIMAL TO SLEEP HUMANELY....PAK LAH DOES YUR HADHARI HAS ANY CLAUSE AGAINST ANIMAL CRUELTY????

MAY THE ALMIGHTY CREATOR OF HEAVEN AND EARTH LAY A THOUSAND CURSES UPON UMNOPUTRA'S ANIMAL ABUSERS.

GLOCK17
written by budakindia, April 04, 2008 20:36:47
that will happen to us also if we let abdullah and khairy running the country! better strike them out now! They are starting with the rice supplies now! smilies/tongue.gif
written by notsosmart, April 04, 2008 22:02:21

Hey Sabahan!! What the hell are all of you rakyat in Sabah going to do with this two rascal Datuk Awang Sahak Salleh and Datuk Abdul Ghani Rashid( ex-Mayor of Kota Kinabalu ). Suggest that all of you go to their house or office and throw them into the jungle. They are destroying the good image of Sabah.

Hope the Sabahan won't be like an Ostrich hiding from problem ( can you imagine this.........Sabahan? ).

The Peninsulars' are watching, so hope the Sabahan won't chicken out this time.
written by clangan, April 04, 2008 22:31:24
This BN animal has no feeling for its kind, another animal.... what more for his people of Sabah. This bastard's head should be given a shot of ivermectin and then euthanize...! There will be 40 virgin devils waiting to play his ass! dispicable!!!
written by A MI, April 04, 2008 22:52:37
smilies/angry.gif inhumane!!!!!!! How can DVS be so lukewarm about this????
written by gundohing, April 04, 2008 23:00:54
I have been there 7 or 8 years ago for riding. Datuk Rashid was active in the Sabah Polo Club and Cross Country competition. It was very good then. What happenned???
written by mypanida, April 05, 2008 05:47:27
THIS IS JUST SO PATHETIC..... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

ANOTHER PROJECT BY THE BARISAN NASIONAL GOVERMENT..... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

SOMEBODY SHOULD PAY FOR THIS !!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif