EGM Must Go On, Says Dr M PDF Print
Friday, 04 April 2008 01:27

(Bernama) HULU LANGAT, April 3 -- Former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad Thursday reiterated his call for Umno to hold an extra-ordinary general meeting (EGM) for the well-being of the party as well as to discuss the party's poor performance during the last general election.

He said among others, the EGM could discuss amendments to the party constitution, including the matter of abolishing its nomination quota system, which would permit members to contest top party posts at the Annual General meeting (AGM) in December without having to secure the minimum nominations as stipulated at present.

"If we disregard Umno members views and arrogantly dismiss their demands it might lead to a total rejection of Umno especially if the opposition alliance show they can provide better governance. If something is not done, my fear is that Umno may lose out completely.

"If we believe in the well-being of the people and being transparent, there is nothing better we can do than to respond to their demands," he told reporters in response to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi Wednesday denying speculation that he would step down as prime minister.

Dr Mahathir had earlier launched the Rotary Youth Club Awards (RYCA) here Thursday.

Speculation on the matter arose following calls by some leaders, including Mahathir, that Abdullah should step down to assume responsibility for the Barisan Nasional's poor showing in the March 8 general election.

Mahathir said the EGM could be held if the majority of Umno's Supreme Council (MT) members supported it and could serve as a platform for members to voice their views.

He said that contrary to what people said about him, when he was prime minister he always gave people the opportunity to voice their views even if they were opposed to his.

"An example was when Datuk Musa Hitam (now Tun) quit as the deputy prime minister. I gave everyone a chance to speak on it and though I did not favour it, they proposed to send a delegation to meet him in London to try and persuade him to change his mind.

"When he (Musa) decided he wanted to become deputy president (of Umno), he got the post. I did not try to prevent it because it was the wish of the MT for him to take up the post, not mine," he said.

He did not deny there had been "yes men" during his time but said those who were vehemently against him never got thrown out of Umno or were stopped from speaking.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 04, 2008 01:36:04
"....my fear is that UMNO may lose out completely"
The earlier UMNO-Baru close shop, the better.

written by red1, April 04, 2008 01:46:27
>never got thrown out of Umno or were stopped from speaking.

Well, that pemuda chap got thrown out and also stopped from speaking. (Still cannot accept such lowliness of our character been shown in youtube for the whole world to see. Shameful.)
written by Spear Bing, April 04, 2008 03:41:44
Even an "insignifcant" Rotary Youth Club Awards event he has to go and launch. Perhaps he has given notice to his croonies and die-hard supporters to spread the news that he is available to be the 'guest of honour' of whatever events that the public may want him to grace the occasions - all for the purpose of using this opportunity to take pot shots at AAB and raise the fear of UMNO's deathknell if nothing is done to kick AAB out.

Such is his immensed passion to extend his smokescreens and cover-ups. He knows the opposition parties will after his neck and bring him to court for his past misdeeds. He thinks he can divert and play 'tai-chi' so that the public will view him to be the 'hero' and saviour of UMNO's existence.

Every day the MSM and other news media will focus on him because any commentary by him will help sell the papers. Time is running out. If any NGO that is keen to invite him, he will make a dash for it - he will be available anytime, any where.

Poor TDM - from a 'Statesman' to a desperado trying to atone for his past mis-deeds. At his age, he still feels the need to justify the existence of his mortal ego. His wisdom has run AMOK.
written by mypanida, April 04, 2008 05:16:21
In a nutshell, Mahathir is just very,very afraid that Abdullah's going will drag the Umno along with him.He might be right and this is the real reason that he is endorsing anyone who are going in to fight against Abdullah.Somehow Umno needs to be preserved to protect his ill gotten gains.His HARI KIAMAT will be the day that the once mighty Umno tumble.We will gladly await that day.

zzzz
written by R Hum, April 04, 2008 05:51:56
Paul Keating, former PM of Australia had a word for him, "Recalcitrant" the English dictionary has the following meaning " headstrong, obstinate, non compliant, intractable, wayward".

Yes, this is Mahathir legacy.
written by artchan, April 04, 2008 06:18:49
Mahathir,,shaddup...You have 22 years to screw up..give AAB a few more years lah.
Put your money where your mouth is..Why don't you challenge Dollah? Don't use KU LI..etc

Go for it yourself..baru lah jantan
written by Bigjoe99, April 04, 2008 07:10:41
After thinking about it, I think its a mistake for Badawi to avoid this EGM. Because he will have to go all out during the UMNO GA by doing so. Already its clear that Mukhriz is going to be in Supreme Council on way or other. Should others also fall because Dr. M and Ku Li got together, he will have a supreme council that will turn against him should tough conditions comes along and the chances are there will be.

Parliament may not be able to pass a no-confidence vote on him but UMNO supreme council can. Even if he keeps the presidency and VP after the GA, if he does not get the Supreme Council he needs, he will be finished eventually.

If he is deserving of his job, he should see the EGM as an opportunity to stamp out opposition to him. Hold the EGM but make sure it comes out in his favour like keeping the qouta and he will go into the GA with guarantee that he will have the supreme council that he can control.

But this PM is way to unimaginative to pull off something like this...
written by emirateswenger, April 04, 2008 08:34:18
While we are casting stones, I pray we may receive mercies when our turn comes. I am not condoning or justifying wrongdoing. Certainly there must be accountability and restitution. Eventually there is will justice even if its only delayed. Only God knows the heart of man and I for one welcomes a second, third ....chance in life.
written by siti, April 04, 2008 08:58:19
I'm uncomfortable with some of the words used in the comments posted in blogs - hence my contribution below:

Dengar khabar begini ceritanya:

Kesemua pemimpin umno memang ada salahlaku masing2. Bezanya, mungkin mereka pandai control orang umno, maka mereka pun terus berkuasa. Mungkin sememangnya TDM berharap Pak Lah menjadi Presiden umno bagi satu penggal sahaja. Tetapi, apabila projek2 TDM dibatalkan, Anwar Ibrahim dibebaskan, timbullah kemarahan yang amat sangat. Mulalah kempen memburuk2kan Pak Lah, korek segala kesalahan orang2nya, tidak bekerjasama dalam pilihan raya 12, malah mereka menunggu BN kalah teruk supaya Pak Lah didesak berundur. Apa yang berlaku sekarang ini, memang dirancang.

Janganlah kita tertipu: Apa yang kita nampak sekarang adalah perebutan kuasa dalam umno – scenario biasa dalam politik. Cuma satu, dalam hangat berkempen sekarang, janganlah sampai menggunakan kata2 kesat – dimanakah letak harga diri kita? Esok, lusa kita mungkin berpindah alam, ke alam barzakh, kemudian ke alam Masyar. Sebarang kelakuan kita, walau sebesar zarah sekali pun, akan ditimbang.

Sekadar mengingatkan……..siti.
written by taufan, April 04, 2008 11:25:06
TDM, please move out to an Old Folks Home and spare your wife and children some peace and quiet.

I can't imagine what a hell-hole your house must look and feel like!

Don't you care about your heart? Or were pretending all this while about having a heart problem!

Peace man!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 04, 2008 12:15:17
The old man has become a pest. "It" should be terminated by burning.
written by sonofman0, April 04, 2008 23:19:09
Is it so difficult to cut the umbilical cord to the corridors of power?