Hisham makes way PDF Print
Friday, 04 April 2008 01:18

Husna Yusop

(The Sun) PUTRAJAYA (April 3, 2008): Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein declared today he will not defend his post in the party election in December, refusing to openly endorse a possible successor.

We have to look forward. We have to do changes and reforms, re-build the party and the wing. And if the Youth is still in a situation where they don’t know what my plans are come December, that becomes a barrier for us to move forward.

I feel today might be the right time for me to tell them about my plans after 10 years of building the Youth from the time when it was split to where it is now,” he said when asked why he is making the announcement early.

Hishammuddin, who is also Education Minister, was speaking to reporters after announcing the ministry’s second report card for the Education Development
Master Plan (2006-2010). His announcement fuels speculation that he is going for a higher post.

But when asked whether he was going for the deputy president or vice-president posts, he said it was something for the delegates to decide.

Umno has three vice-presidential seats, one of which became vacant after Tan Sri Isa Samad was suspended after he was found to have been involved in money politics. The other two elected vice-presidents are Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam and Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

On whether Youth members are courageous and mature enough to choose a new leader, he said "yes" and he welcomes a contest.

Previously, what had hindered the two who had offered themselves was my own position. So now I am making it clear. Let there be no hindrance and those who feel they are qualified, they should offer themselves according to the normal process and let the delegates decide,” he said.

It was reported yesterday that Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir and Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo had said they would offer themselves as candidates for the Youth chief post if Hishammuddin declined to defend it.

Asked whether his vice chief Khairy Jamaluddin agreed with his decision not to contest, Hishammuddin said it is his right to do so.

When I make a decision, it is usually in the interest of the party. Not for the posts, material or money,” he said, adding he was not pressured to let go of the post.

Asked whether he wants Khairy to contest for the Youth chief post, Hishammuddin said: “It is not for me to decide. I can only answer what is within my control.”

On whether he has any personal preference of a successor, he said he has his own favourite but he would rather keep it to himself.

When suggested that it is a tradition for the vice chief to move up the ladder once the seat is vacated, he said it is not necessarily so, as “(listening to) the voices from the ground, clearly they are in power”.

On whether he would accept any nomination for the top two posts, he said he would not respond to that as it did not matter at this point of time.

Our duty now is to rebuild the party, look at how we have fared (in the election) and listen to the grassroot. We have no time to think of certain posts or chase after this or that. Our task is to rebuild the spirit of our members in certain states,” he said.

He also said he did not expect a tough fight for the Youth chief post, “unless people are not sincere and honest in offering themselves”.

When contacted for a response, Khairy said he did not have any comments for the time being while Mukhriz could not be contacted on his mobile phone.

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 04, 2008 01:37:41
End of His-ham and his kris ?
written by Mike lawood, April 04, 2008 02:12:51
Hisham should makes way and and become Tukang Keris or jaga museum (bahagian keris). Apa 2nd report card. Mark sendiri punya. Jika berani kasi rakyat mark your report card. Goodbye Tukang keris.
written by seek justice, April 04, 2008 02:15:59
End of His-ham and his kris, said HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH.

But, it will be the beginning of KJ and his poison potions. UMNO needs to be vapourised into oblivion.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 04, 2008 02:33:40
KJ = Kris Jamban?
written by lynn, April 04, 2008 04:00:28
This guy is definitely unfit for the post of Education Minister or any posts! By his keris wielding acts, he has caused a lot of anger & resentment. This guy shld be tried for inciting hatred & bloodshed, but in bolehland, he walked off scot-free! Of course, his keris also caused BN to lose. Thank you, pls continue your threats! Voters will never forget your threats!
written by doggone, April 04, 2008 04:09:15
In a conundrum.

To wave it again would harvest unmitigated vexation from the people. To refrain would show cowardice among his peers.

Good decision and riddance.
written by Negarakuku, April 04, 2008 05:11:19
ACA should go after him although he resign from politic.

Police should go after him for sedition.
written by artchan, April 04, 2008 06:25:13
To refrain would show cowardice among his peers.
======================================================

Whether or not he raise the kris..it no longer matters. His antics pissed of many non malays. If he still wants to do it...let him be. Tis is free country...but it shows how bloody insensitive he is..and more so, it show how bloody f8cking stupid and brainless he can be.

Don't know if his father is turning in his grave..
written by Bigjoe99, April 04, 2008 07:00:27
There is no contest for UMNO Youth chief post. Its Mukhriz's to take that is for sure. No way SIL can take the post. Those guys at mykmu.net seminar would tear and burn up PWTC if SIL win the post. Those guys are the same kind of guys that started May 13, 1969 and they are also the same guys that SIL behaved like a monyet to with his rhetorics.

Hissamuddin, if he did not move on, would have suffered the same fate as SIL. He has no choice but to move on...
written by Atheist, April 04, 2008 07:45:28
I always said ... those who live by the sword .. die by the sword !!!! I guess he just slipped and fell on his sword !!!! Now .... is KJ going to pull out the sword as well !!!!!
written by adzera, April 04, 2008 07:56:40
You can do us all a big favour, go take your family and enjoy the all the stolen money and don't come back into politics. So we dont have to listen to your stupid rhetorical statements and policies. Its about time you listen to your wife, who has been telling you that you are not good at being a minister and that your are lousy in politics. You are nobody, if not because of your family name. Your grandfather was a great man, your father was not to shabby but you....ermm? all the good things they had done is now history. Look at yourself in the mirror and say 'dad, you are right i am a moron'
As for mukhriz, i say 'fark off' to another dynasty. You are a racist pig just like your dad, to gain political mileage. For all the education you have, your mentality is still 'dibawah tempurung' thats why you only fight for the malays whom you think are stupid as the rest of umno monkeys.
written by Kang Mas, April 04, 2008 08:03:39
'.....adding he was not pressured to let go of the post'.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If I remember correctly Kerismuddin was made the election chief of Penang with a mission to capture the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat from PKR. Kerismuddin failed miserably. His role as an election chief in Penang was a complete wash-out.

It was a history in Malaysian politics that Pak Lah was a stateless PM. Pak Lah lost his cool and pressured Kerismuddin to to give up Ketua Pemuda Ameno post to make way for SIL to contest?
written by KwongCK, April 04, 2008 10:03:07
Good riddance but none too soon. He should resign as minister too. Can't trust the future of my children's education to this guy. He is clueless during the last election to say the least. Did he claim or did some Johanians claimed that he is a Johanian. What a disgrace to the alma mater. When some UMNO idiot threatened to destroy historical structures of missionary schools, what did he do? He should have said, "if you touch my school, I'll string you up by the balls." It has got nothing to do with religion, it's history. He might have got at least some of the votes from the thousands of Johanians. Instead he chose to hold on to his own balls, if he had any. The Johanian with real balls are Raja Bahrain and Tengku Petra Ibrahim. When Raja Bahrain wanted his children back from Australia, he didn't wave his keris in Terengganu.The rest is history.
written by Mark C, April 04, 2008 10:05:51
very clearly that this krismuddin is not endorsing KJ. Be prepared for a power struggle...it's a beginning to an end.
written by Jan, April 04, 2008 11:55:31
Good riddance to old ugly face.