Terminating tourism MoUs with non-BN-led states a 'big mistake' PDF Print
Friday, 04 April 2008 01:15
(The Sun) PETALING JAYA (April 3, 2008): The Tourism Ministry's callous move in terminating its memorandum of understanding (MoUs) on tourism with opposition-led states may have adverse impact on the economy. 

In a press statement, Selangor Tourism, Consumer Affairs and Environment executive committee chairman Elizabeth Wong said the state had been looking forward to work together with the ministry.

"The decision by Tourism Minister Azalina Othman to terminate all tourism MoUs and the state tourism council in Selangor is regrettable," she said. Wong said Selangor accounted for some 30% of the national GDP and the move could jeopardise the national economy as well as the industry.

"Selangor is one of the top destinations in the nation and the first stop for most international tourists. It would be foolhardy for the central government to continue sidelining Selangor as well as Penang, Perak, Kelantan and Kedah, which are all premier destinations."

Azalina had, yesterday, said all funds for tourism in the five opposition ruled states would be directly channelled into the accounts of the states' Tourism Action Councils which will no longer be chaired by the State Executive Councillors in charge of tourism.

The RM1mil annual budget for each state which used to be channelled to the state financial officers when the states were ruled by the Barisan Nasional (BN), will from now on be channelled through federal funds. Despite being cut off by the ministry, Wong said the Selangor state government would persevere in supporting the industry.

"This in fact gives us a better opportunity to work even more closely with the private sector. We are committed to improve and to develop the tourism industry in the state in several new initiatives in eco-tourism and heritage tourism," she added.

Penang Tourism Development, Culture, Arts and Heritage Committee chairman Law Heng Kiang described the move by the Tourism Ministry to terminate its MoU on tourism with opposition-led states as "unwise".

In urging the ministry to seriously reconsider the decision, he said it would bring about a spiral-effect causing losses to the people and the whole industry in the country, including Barisan Nasional (BN) supporters. "In the short term, it may affect Penang's tourism industry but in the long-term it will defnitely affect the Malaysia's tourism industry," said Law.

He said the Penang Tourism Action Council (PTAC) could face operational problems because it is organising and managing touirm events in the state. "We may have to expand the Penang Development Corporation (PDC)'s tourism division to take over the organisation of tourism events here since PTAC may not help us organise events in future," he said.

Speaking to reporters after a cheque presentation ceremony in conjunction with International Meatless Day Carnival 2007 in Komtar, Law said the announcement by the ministry may not affect most of the planned tourism events for this year. "The Penang International Dragon Boat Competition in July and World Music Festival in May will still go on as the funding has already been released," he said.

The major projects lined up under the Ninth Malaysian Plan (9MP) such as the RM40 million expansion project for Penang Hill, RM7 million expansion project for the Botanic Gardens, RM5 million expansion project for Penang War Museum and a few million for the Batu Ferringhi clean-up project will still go on.

"The funding for these are already there so, they probably won't withdraw it now. The only affected events could be the Penang Island Jazz Festival which is slotted for November. It was a highly successful event last year so I hope they will not drop this event this year," he said.

However, Law said the state government is not solely dependent on the federal government as it has already drawn up several "good projects". "We are getting tremendously good support from the private sector, so wait for the good news soon," he said, adding he had spoken to the Penang Hoteliers and the Penang branch of the Malaysian Association of Tour and Travel Agents on this issue.

"They were not overly concerned as they also have confidence in the state government to continue promoting the tourism industry here," he added. On the funding being channelled direct to PTAC instead of through the state, Law said the state may have to get sponsorships from the private sector for state tourism events.

"We will still need funding for major projects such as expansion and upgrading of tourism products from the federal government but for tourism events such as the Flora Fest, Chingay, Bon Odori and International Meatless Day Carnival, it has always been funded by the state government with the help of the private sector," he said.

He added that 80% of the functions lined-up in the calender of events this year are already being funded by the state and the private sector. One of the good news is that 10 charter flights from Finland will be stopping over at Penang and Kuala Lumpur for the first time, between November and early 2009. "So, we will be having about 2,000 Finnish tourists coming here this year end, which will help the industry," he said.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by oster, April 04, 2008 01:38:57
Funding policy for all states should be uniform. There should be no reason for any difference based on political affinity.

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 04, 2008 01:39:49
What can a lesbian "tour-guide" do?
written by Daryl, April 04, 2008 01:42:42
So tired of this BN/UMNO politicians. Decisions after decisions to punish rakyat for their rightful choice... SO VELY TIRED.... Is there something legally we as RAKYAT CAN DO TO CONTROL ALL THIS FEDERAL GOVERMENT MONEY and on HOW IT SHOULD BE SPEND...
Thay way federal goverment should and must listen to the rakyat..... Does these UMNO politicians ever listen to themselves...

WE NEED CHANGE RIGHT NOW>>>>>> smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by red1, April 04, 2008 01:58:49
Perhaps this will make our Corruption Index remain bad for this year, when it has earlier hope of that 5 out of 14 statistical exemption. By withholding money from such states only allow more speculation where such funds flow to.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 04, 2008 02:36:44
The lesbian tour-guide can use the money to transform herself into a pondan.
written by patlu, April 04, 2008 03:58:11
Dear Azalina

Please look beyond your nose. What is your PRIORITY as the Minister of Tourism? The well-being of our country at large or BN aka UMNO first? Please keep politics out of it.

A gentle reminder, please FOCUS on your role and responsibility to promote MALAYSIA as the most-sought-after destination in the world. That is your priority.

I'd like to know your plans to achieve this within 100 days in office.

On behalf of Your Boss,
The Citizens of Malaysia

Pat Lu
written by Dominic Kok, April 04, 2008 04:02:29
Selangor, Perak, Penang, Kedah and Kelantan - Please update your government website as well as your tourism websites, they are not up to date. Kelantan - you don't have a tourism website, please invest in that. Promote Visit Kelantan via Penang International Airport, to Tasik Kenyir, Rantau Abang dll. Spend resources to advertise in ****** or travel-sites, use low flight carriers to jump from Penang. Any other ideas?
written by Dominic Kok, April 04, 2008 04:03:50
Sabah & Sarawak, get ready with your tourism site too since you'll lose that $$ tourism funding when you join Pakatan Rakyat smilies/wink.gif
written by lynn, April 04, 2008 04:06:34
This woman is so bloody unprofessional - she doesn't have the country's interests at heart. She shld just do her job well, regardless whether it's BN state or BR's, and she shld not embark on revenge & punishment. She doesn't "OWN" the tourism ministry, she cannot do as she pleases. Her boss shld bitch-slap her; but since he is keeping quiet too, we the rakyat shld sack the whole lot of them! Let's get rid of BN once & for all!
written by bumi non malay, April 04, 2008 04:42:06
ha ha ha ha....no damage to Barisan Rakyat but more to UMNO-BN cronies Business....MAS, KLIA, Train to Airport, Hotels, SHopping centre, .....etc

Thank YOu for helping me bring Financial Chaos to UMNO-BN.....I could not have done it better!!!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

p.s do not expect a drop of mercy wen ALL you UMNO-BN crooks are in jail.....win-win!! smilies/grin.gif
written by patlu, April 04, 2008 04:45:26
Dear HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH,
Her sexual orientation or sexual preference has nothing to do with her job function.

And the same applies to race, religion and other labels - irrelevant to getting the job done.

Everyone, please consciously stop the name-calling and labels. High time we saw each other as MALAYSIANS, irrespective of race, religion and even sexual preference.

Labels Limit Us.
When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be. -- Lao Tzu

We are all ONE
When one is harmed, all are harmed.
When one is healed, all are healed.

Pat Lu
written by Bigjoe99, April 04, 2008 07:17:31
I tell you why this is stupid. LKY tried this for a long time with his HDB upgrading program and it did not work. PAP has given up on this tactic ever since the internet came along because it only angered the people more everytime they did it.

It just goes to show they don't get the internet and globalization. Isn't gay people suppose to be more in tune with what is going on?
written by cble, April 04, 2008 07:31:11
Procedur ini sama seperti TUN menarik balik Royaliti Minyak kepada Wang Ikhsan di Trangganu dulu. Wbp jika penyokong Pakatan Rakyaat bertekad seperti orang kelantan, Barisan Nasional tidak akan dapatkembali memerintah di kelima2 negeri tersabut. Berkemungkinan Perlis dan Pahang pula akan jatuh pula kepada Pakatan Pembangkang di pemilu akan datang. InsyaALLAH
written by chaiksyn, April 04, 2008 07:52:02
Ini satu lagi Menteri Bodohwi....semua sama sama bodoh...lah!
written by prof, April 04, 2008 07:55:36
My countrymen in Sarawak and Sabah get ready to review the IGCC Report or what the Sabahan called the 21 Points if BN withdraws federal grants should Sarawak and Sabah join the PR government very soon. And of course we need to renegotiate the 5% OIL ROYALTY. We should allow UMNO to use the FEUDAL STICK or Hishamuddin's KRISS to blackmail us to kowtow!
written by reason, April 04, 2008 08:05:33
why should i pay taxes if the state i live and work in will not enjoy the benefits of my hard work?

if the tourism minister withholds federal funds from the five PR states, then taxpayers in these states should find a way of diverting their contributions directly to the state.

if the tourism minister insists on being petty and vindictive, we should teach her and her political masters a very expensive lesson.
written by megahyper, April 04, 2008 10:22:07
Nothing so shocking about this. That has been and always has been the behaviour of UMNO.

They used "RAKYAT"'s money and treat it as their own and used them for their benefit.

Hello Azz-O, those states are contributing the top tourism dollars for the country.

Those are our money! and you dont use it to "penalise" us, Azz-O.
written by the1, April 04, 2008 10:38:57
By looking at this issue and Penang development funding, i strongly think BN chaps have no interest for our country.
written by anniyan, April 04, 2008 10:45:37
Cik Azalina.. making the same mistake as other BN clans.

If they stop the funding now, it will be called as "Revenge" by the people of this states and they will never ever vote for Revenging party like BN anymore on coming election !

Btw,
See the list below. Who need the fed fund since the oposition gain the richest states. Its the Fed's that need to depand on us !

Penang - Silicon Valley of Malaysia
Selangor - Electronics, Heavy industries
Perak - Heavy Industries, Food Product Industries
Kedah - Paddy Field, Heavy Industries.
Kelantan - Food Product Industries
written by Umar Rentaka, April 04, 2008 10:45:45
This is the stupid BN policy of mixing up politics with administration of the nation. These idiot has no inkling of what governance is.

Pakatan Rakyat, just use the internet to promote the states. You've done it with the election now do it for the economy.
written by Lipanbara, April 04, 2008 11:08:08
Azalina thought the funds were from UMNO coffers, and NOT from tax payers..maybe that's why she is so ignorant (read: "stupid")
written by sickofitall, April 04, 2008 11:27:36
I suggest those involved in the tourism sector remember Azalina when it comes to the next election...She spit in your ricebowl you spit back in hers!
written by KC Chew, April 04, 2008 11:35:14
Azalesbo - Minister of anti-Tourism Malaysia
written by louisL, April 04, 2008 11:47:54
Another salvo from a loose BN cannon.Does she want to demarcate Malaysia into 'us' and 'them'?
Please remember the operating budget comes from the rak'yat and not from BNs pockets.
That's the problem for being in power for too long and not understanding the proper workings of a responsible and elected government.
It will do the PM tons of goodwill to prevent such ministers from uttering 'sour grapes' statements that will not go well with the people.
It may be BN's death wish to be in the opposition after GE13, if they continue to pursue such shallow thinking.
After all, I am sure the most revenue comes from these states in question.
written by FuLinYu, April 04, 2008 12:00:32
No fear. I have a suggestion.

Question: Why are we SO SLOW in tapping the Chinese (China) market?

With their new prosperity, travel freedom and strong RMB this is where Malaysia must (at least the 5-PR States can) explore. The market for the tourist-RM is colossal!

Let's junk the prejudice and old mentality. Singapore, Thailand, even Hong Kong & Macau, and some have seen the potential. They are ahead of the game. We must remove our blinkers and think out of the box. Fast!

China has her "oohs and aahs". Malaysia has so, so, so much to offer - many the Chinese will be delighted to visit and tell their friends about. I know.

Think - our advantages: Malaysia - our beautiful, blessed land & islands - have it all for them. The potpourri of traditions, culture and ethnic groups...the food, the traditional & modernity, the sunshine. There will be some challenges however - just a need for us to fine-tune/adjust our attitude for tolerance. (HK-ers did that well and had reaped tremendously.)

Compared to the rest of the world, Malaysia has what it takes to make them comfortable & welcome - sign(board)s and people speaking their lingo, dialects and all. They are very curious about their 'sons & daughters' of old, living & calling it home in this wonderful land. There's more I can tell...

We have many Malaysians working & living here to facilitate. Let me know.

PS: [Besides, some of our traders (esp Malay traders) might like to buy direct from China wholesale centers or manufacturers. MITI or Trade Commissioners in the M'sian consulate-generals are usually in position to assist them, or Malaysian bodies (e.g. M.A.G. - visit www.magchina.org) can help organize such exploratory Buying Trips (with BM interpreters) and all the logistics. This could be an initial step to help our abang dan adik wean-off NEP dependence.]
written by Dominic Kok, April 04, 2008 12:16:50
FuLinYu,
Your points of attracting tourism from China and the region is good but buying whole sale stuff from China... not too sure. Not all things (in bulk or not) from China is trust-worthy. Traders & businessmen ought to do a thorough research before leaping. Lets start being moral as well, we don't what to pass on substandard products to our fellow brother and sister malaysians simply in the name of capitalism, namely tainted products that can cause harm.
my 2 sen..
written by joeawk, April 04, 2008 13:43:48
The way this lesbian play politics is shameless. That is typical of UMNO politics. Cannot differentiate between politics and government.

Just as what happened to the losers in Kedah. JKKK resigned but continued to be paid by us but work for UMNO. Why not all govt servant also resign? Idiots./

UMNO politics is a sham. More akin to communism. What kind of a person would still support UMNO. It certainly tell on the person's moral value and system.

As it is, let us hope that UMNO die a permanent death.
written by maverick, April 04, 2008 17:25:49
so what now? next new tourism destination will be terengganu? so tourist will be taugh how to swim & row the boat during the flood?

what a stupid decision, but i guess this actually came from the top and this poor loyal dog is just getting all the blame
written by backs, April 04, 2008 21:48:01
the next general election cant come fast enough... azalina needs to lose her parliamentary seat.. lose bad! she hardly deserves it right now.. come on, winning by default hardly shows any rakyat support at all! smilies/angry.gif
written by backs, April 04, 2008 22:47:32
so immature of her....guess maturity doesn't come with age..
haha...sorry. couldn't help it!
written by periasa, April 04, 2008 22:54:37
Dear All,
Since the UMNO Ministers go on selective persecution, can we as residents of the states controlled by Opposition DO NOT PAY INCOME TAX. Since Income Tax is a federal matter it has to be managed properly and NOT to the whims and fancies of Minister of the day! Maybe, some kind of mechanism ought to be drawn by the States controlled by BR that residents of these States contribute directly to the coffers of State Treasury rather than allowing it to be manipulated by the Federal Government.
Rgds.