Pakatan Rakyat PDF Print
Thursday, 03 April 2008 15:00

The leaders of KeADILan, DAP and PAS met today, 1 April 2008, in furtherance of the meeting held on the 18th of March 2008.

Today’s meeting was attended by, among others, Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim, YB Lim Kit Siang, YB Dato’ Seri Tuan Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang and YB Datin Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail.

In today’s meeting, we have proposed to consolidate the cooperation between the three parties under the name “PAKATAN RAKYAT.” This name has been proposed pending confirmation by the respective parties.

Pakatan Rakyat pledges to uphold the rights and interests of all Malaysians, regardless of religion or race, as enshrined in the Constitution.

With the results of the recent elections, the state governments of Kelantan, Kedah, Pulau Pinang, Perak and Selangor will be known as Pakatan Rakyat state governments. The policies of these governments will be conducted in accordance with the policies of Pakatan Rakyat.

To further mutual understanding regarding such policies, a convention of all Pakatan Rakyat elected representatives of Parliament and State Assemblies will be held the 27th of April, 2008.

We have developed and strengthened the structure of Pakatan Rakyat by creating under the Leadership Council, consisting of the leaders of the three parties, a Joint Secretariat consisting of three leaders each from each of the three parties. This Joint Secretariat will be tasked with building the foundation and framework of the Pakatan Rakyat for ratification by the Leadership Council.

YB Datin Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail
Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim
YB Lim Kit Siang
YB Dato’ Seri Tuan Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang

written by FFT, April 03, 2008 15:08:52
Everyone in support of our new Prime Minister to be, say AYE and vote this comment up into the sky!

agree 312
written by clangan, April 03, 2008 15:12:52
Aye x 1,000,000 times!!! Malaysian rakyat celebrates... ya hoooo!! We love Pakatan Rakyat, true Malaysian Idol!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by rajaphillips, April 03, 2008 15:16:26
Our next leader! He has gone through shit and now understands the ordinary rakyat's pains and needs better - the cheaper petrol is one good example
written by almurady, April 03, 2008 15:16:33
Adakah DAP sanggup mengenepikan semangat Malaysia Malaysia dan PAS sanggup mengenepikan objektif Negara Islam dan PKR membebaskan diri dari bayang2 & sifat keUMNOan ?? Sama2lah kita lihat. Bersatu dan berpakat dalam perkara keadilan, ketelusan dan 'good governance' sesungguhnya dapat menjayakan Pakatan Rakyat. Sama2lah kita berdoa.... smilies/smiley.gif

Baruka Bordal
http://barukabordal.********.com/
written by R Hum, April 03, 2008 15:58:14
I am concerned about the PR convention on 27th April. All PR leaders in one room and what happen if there are cynical work of those who would like to see the demise of PR.

Risk Management strategies must be complied so that the safety of the delegates are protected. I don't trust those in BN.
written by Alpha, April 03, 2008 16:32:49
To the incoming PM DSAI, the following comments best describe you:
1. Everytime DSAI gets interviewed by international TV stations, he speaks clearly from his mind that shows how he plans to run this country in a fair and just way unlike some sleepy head who stuttered when he got interviewed by CNN for once.
2. DSAI is able to capture the atterntion of the interviewer and audience. I dare not say everybody supports his ideas, but he definitely gets a huge majority of support. This is the type of competenet and hardworking leader that we want.
3. DSAI is an articulate person and commands the respect of the people. I have seen him in just a few talks and I started to admire this person and feel that only him can lead Malaysia currently.

Well, anyone agrees? I do not think anyone would disagree with that.
written by rayfire, April 03, 2008 16:36:43
Pakatan Rakyat, you have our trust and support for as long that you stay true to your cause and work relentlessly to restore pride and dignity of this nation which has eroded to an irrepairable state under BN.
Please live up to our expectation and don't indulge in any misconduct that will contradict what was promised as in being fair to all Malaysian alike.
DSAI, I sincerely hope your intentions to lead this nation is to reform it and take it to greater heights rather than for personal gains or to seek vengeance for the injustice done unto you.
We hope you will be able to keep the team intact and go on to prove that this team is worthy of leading this nation to greater heights globally and all of us will be able to survive the test of time.
God Bless Pakatan Rakyat and all Malaysian who love this nation and have chosen to reform to rise up to the demands of the increasingly competitive world.
written by kent chong, April 03, 2008 17:06:42
I support... i want to be member!
written by chaiksyn, April 03, 2008 17:26:11
AYE, AYE, AYE!!!!!! smilies/wink.gif
written by kent chong, April 03, 2008 17:29:53
Hi MALAYSIAN... it's time for you to voice out. Now our voice being hear!

Send email to Tony Phua - MP for PJU
http://tonypua.********.com/

There are now 82 opposition parliamentarians as opposed to 140 from Barisan Nasional. What is more interesting however, is that there are 67 front benchers (i.e., Ministers & Deputy Ministers), which leaves 73 backbenchers for the Government. That means that excluding the Ministers, who are often absent from Parliament, you may end up with opposition parliamentarians outnumbers those from Barisan Nasional. That should certainly be interesting ;-)

The first session of the 12th Parliament will officially commence on the 28th April (Monday) with the swearing in of the new MPs. The session will last for a month til 27th May.

The second session will be held over 23 Jun to 15 July, while the 3rd and last session for the year will be held between 18th August til 11 December.

My first task at hand is to submit 15 questions (10 for oral replies and 5 for written) to the Parliament secretary for replies by the relevant ministries by the 8th April (next Tuesday).

So for those with key questions of national interest which you'd like me to bring up in Parliament during the question and answer sessions. (Note that the questions should be fairly specific and directed at a particular ministry) ;-)
written by justme bc, April 03, 2008 18:20:49
All Bangsa Malaysia,
Mari lah kita semua mengbankitkan satu bangsa Malaysia yang sejati untk semua rakyat, dulu kita mungkin "mengejar mimpi" tetapi sudah hampir menjadi satu kenyataan...let's not talk about Malay, Chinese, Indians, Kandazan dll anymore, bangsa Malaysia sudah dilahir and strive to make the dream come true for all our children and future generations and make them proud of us as their forefathers have created history!!!

greetings from
justme bc
written by Spiritual_soul, April 03, 2008 20:32:20
Dear Malaysians,

Firstly, AYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!

I've typed this comment earlier and forgive me for spamming another here. I really hope it will be given some thoughts and considerations in regards to the newly formed Pakatan Rakyat.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT
Since we already witnessed the formal marriage of PAKATAN RAKYAT made official, could we go a step further?

Could we dissolve PKR, DAP & PAS?
I feel it's healthier to just operate under one common name. Also we the RAKYAT will have the assurance that all candidates will not have a second agenda ie PAS on islamic sentiments or DAP and PKR trying to protect their own respective interest as seen in the allocation of exco seats lately. Positively we will have a single-minded democratic party and a single-minded objective to serve the RAKYAT. Rather than democracy within democracy itself.

In the long run perhaps religious and racial sentiments will no longer be an issue.
written by RK Sundram, April 03, 2008 22:18:03
It is so comforting to see that finally the three parties have come together for the common good of all Malaysians. This is very significant because Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was once part of the very system that the Malaysian people have now rejected, yet he has come around the full circle. I have seen with what force and commitment he was campaigning for a better Malaysia because he had the time to think and reflect during his time in prison. The very system he was part of went on to great lengths to incarcerate him. He had time to contemplate. That very act had changed him. He knew who his friends were and what was wrong with the system. Many still doubt him and I must admit that even I had doubts but my doubts is history. I have faith in the man and what he is doing. Forming PR is admirable and comforting to know that our beloved motherland Malaysia is now sailing towards a great future transcending all boundaries.

Please BN keep doing what you are doing now so that we can see the lot of you wiped out by the next election. All Malaysians will have something to compare with. These BN scoundrels and slime balls had their day. They have plundered the country, caused unnecessary tension between the peace loving Malaysians. They are bigots, racist and fanatics.

Tun Mahathir you caused all this mess in your 22 years of PMship. I am sure all Malaysians are happy to know that all what is happening is in your life time and you are living to see this. The very man you incarcerated is bringing a new dawn to this country. You created these scoundrels that plundered the nation. You have no right to say a word to any Malaysians. You punished Kelantan and took away oil royalty which rightfully belong to Trengganu just because PAS won the state before. Now look at PR and eat your heart out.
written by Robin Goodfellow, April 03, 2008 22:19:41
DSAI for PM? WHY NOT?

Hell, on the day DSAI gets sworn in, I'll bet my bottom dollar that a racist buffoon of a drama queen might even END UP AGAIN in IJN... for a long awaited QUADRUPLE BY-PASS.
written by malaysia4malaysian, April 03, 2008 23:32:40
BN adalah untuk UMNO smilies/angry.gif

Pakatan Rakyat adalah untuk seluruh rakyak MALAYSIA

AYE X 1000 times
YB Datin Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail
Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim
YB Lim Kit Siang
YB Dato’ Seri Tuan Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by fireduck, April 04, 2008 00:46:01
It's good to know that the respective leaders have been listening to the rakyat. THIS is what we want, and I am very glad that the three parties are able to find common grounds to come together and gel this into reality.

Let's work hard to sustain and nurture it. Assalina and that Madhzir guy already written PR off as marriage of convenience, giving you guys ( and obliquely meaning we rakyat) a lifespan of no more than a year. I say, always come back to the rakyat for reference if you guys have issues too difficult to iron out among yourselves. We rakyat will sustain you, and if you keep listening to our voices, you will succeed.

Now, one question. If we want to join the Pakatan as members, do we have to join ONE of the 'component' parties or can we just be a direct Pakatan member??
You guys know that it was the Rakyat's support of the loose 'yet-to-be-borned' Pakatan that won you guys the 5 states, and the denial of the BN's 2/3 majority. So, the rakyat would like to be a member of this Movement, but not necessarily to be a member of DAP, PKR or PAS. So how?