Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysian PM admits his “biggest mistake”

Malaysian PM admits his “biggest mistake” PDF Print
Thursday, 03 April 2008 14:51

(The Asian Pacific Post) - Ignored by government-linked mainstream media, Malaysia’s opposition waged an aggressive online election campaign using blogs and news websites.

For example, 67-year-old opposition Democratic Action Party chairman Lim Kit Siang ran three blogs, which were meticulously updated with multiple posts every day. Like many other opposition leaders, he was able to reach out to young urban and educated people, many who were voting for the first time. Lim won a parliamentary seat in Ipoh Timor.

Last week Malaysia’s Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, whose position has been considerably weakened after his coalition’s drubbing at the polls, admitted that his ruling coalition made a blunder by underestimating the power of the Internet.

“We made the biggest mistake in thinking that it was not important,” he said. The coalition suffered its worst results ever in March 8 polls that left five states and a third of parliamentary seats in opposition hands.

“We certainly lost the Internet war, the cyber war,” Abdullah said in a speech to an investment conference. “It was a serious misjudgement. We thought that the newspapers, the print media and the television were supposed to be important, but the young people were looking at SMSes and blogs.”

His comments constitute a major about-face for the government, which had vilified bloggers, calling them liars and threatening them with detention without trial under draconian internal security laws.

Even as he spoke, his critics in the United Malays National Organisation (Umno), his power base, were moving to force him out of office. To make matters worse, Umno’s 3.2 million members have also received a poison-pen letter listing his faults. It is not known if he was aware of these moves when he was making his speech.

The poison-pen letter, which hopes to ignite hatred against  Abdullah, talks about the manipulations of the government by his son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin and his associates, the PM’s alleged willingness to appease Singapore and his inability to fight rising crime in the country.

But in his speech,  Abdullah said that in line with reform promises after the humiliating election results, the government would “respond effectively” and move to empower young Malaysians. “It was painful . . . but it came at the right time, not too late,” he said. The PM admitted that it was also his inability to push through reforms that earned voters’ ire.

The government, he said, had been given one last chance to prove itself and is ready to change to address the people’s concerns. He promised to implement bold agendas to restore public and investor confidence.

The impact of young voters on the electoral results was particularly underscored in Selangor, which fell to the opposition. The state has about 143,000 new voters out of a total electorate of more than 1.5 million.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by billykbk, April 03, 2008 14:58:12
At least this Bodowi admits his mistakes. There are other dimwits who will never admit theirs. No need to mention their names la, it gets my BP high up!
written by FFT, April 03, 2008 14:58:25
Here's your 2nd biggest mistake.

agree 153
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 03, 2008 14:59:11
ISA TDM and show them who is the boss.
written by heavenwrites, April 03, 2008 15:09:57
It is in fact a mistake for 50 years. Another 50 years is everything hancur by UMNO/BN. I don't understand why Malays must continue to be powerfull politically??? Without that power, are Malays going to die??? Or without that power, Malays can be looked stupid??? Or without that power, Malaysa are without house, job and future????

I certainly like to know who developed this ideology that Malays must have the power of the politic!!!!

Can anyone please tell me if the Malays were living without power for the past 50 years, would they have been a stronger race? successful race? determined race? entirely independent race? capable race? smart race? and more muslim race?

Please debate the above issues and get down to the roots of the problems Malays are facing today.

I strongly beleive that Malays are being fooled by UMNO/BN not the Indians and Chinese or any other races found in Malaysia.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 03, 2008 15:14:42
Singapore Malays = World class
Malaysian Malays = No class
disagree 27
written by Ken Liew, April 03, 2008 15:33:30
HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH,

UMNO Malays = No class..............

Please dont mix the whole Malaysia Malay with Umno Malays...... THey are 2 different area.

Work hard to gain a living and work less gain mega wealth. Are 2 different issue as well...... I do respect some of my Malay friends....
written by AsamLaksa, April 03, 2008 15:37:32
Biggest mistake by ignoring the blogs??? Still haven't woken up!

The biggest mistake is horrendously bad BN governance! Bad governance in carrying out business without any concern for the citizens. Look, the citizens can forgive if you made honest mistakes but they won't forgive if you made mistakes, decide to downplay it, ignore the outcry and then plan to repeat the same mistakes.

BN shot themselves in the foot. you think the rakyat would believe HINDRAF had LTTE links as reported in the MSM even if they didn't go online? What of the ridiculous attempted murder charges? BN practically made more people turn to the internet for news. You can fool some people some time, but you can't fool everyone all the time.

So here AAB trying to downplay the faults of the BN again. Already did bad and still won't have an honest look at the failings. Still politicking over it want to look not as bad as it really is.
written by Eujuin, April 03, 2008 15:41:01
Mr Badawi, what do you mean by "We certainly lost the Internet war, the cyber war" ? The oppositions and BN all fought in an extremely unfair war!

Your gov had control over all the main stream media! What did the opposition have? They had nothing but the REAL Malaysians' support!

Whether it was cyber war or mainstream media war, in the REAL WAR, the result showed the MALAYSIANS VICTORIOUS = PAKATAN VICTORIOUS!

And by the way, why is it so that we never get to hear those "comforting" words coming out from the very mouth of our PM? All the messages conveyed to us is always via quotations made by journalists of news articles..

Badawi is just a puppet! He can't even speak his own words!! (heneeds to read scripts! ) YET ALONE RUN THE COUNTRY!!!!!!!
written by Victory or Death, April 03, 2008 15:52:37
Mistake? What mistake?

Would it have made any differnce if Bn had engaged in the internet and blogs?

Would the Rakyat believe them even if BN had blogged?

BN just had too many "scandals", purported abuses of powers and bad governance.

Wake up ,PM and face the real resons for BN's poor showing.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 03, 2008 15:59:45
"If you rule the country fairly, maybe you can continue to sleep for as long as you like".
Do it now, before they throw you out. Use your power to ISA the former PM, arrest all the trouble-makers, and release the 5 Hindraf detainees.
written by gungadin, April 03, 2008 16:03:09
I thought that the biggest mistake was that he didn't do a good job, didn't act in the best interests of the people and that all the internet did was finally let the cat out of the bag to enough people to give them a boot up the pants.

If they think that the biggest mistake was underestimating the internet what are their plans for the next election? Clamp down on the internet or flood it with crap like the MSM, and try to fool the people as they have always done?

What was it that Lincoln said you can't fool all of the people all of the time, statements like this prove that they can fool themselves all of the time.

written by LACOBRA, April 03, 2008 16:38:58
Singapore PAP Malays = World Class
Brunei Govt Malays = World Class
Thailand Muslim General = First Class Military General to overthrow Government
Indonesia Govt = Unique Class
UMNO Malays = Indon Class
written by Sagaladoola, April 03, 2008 16:39:32
heavenwrites, HARIMAU

Please, please .. here ...

UMNO Malays is not the Malay Representation for all Malays in Malaysia
MCA Malays is not the Chinese Representation for all Chinese in Malaysia
MIC Malays is not the Indian Representation for all Indians in Malaysia

It is merely rhetoric and propaganda. We take care of ourselves.

written by rayfire, April 03, 2008 17:05:08
Emmm, I don't think that qualifies as the BIGGEST MISTAKE!
He has done more than just that, in fact a whole lot more than just this.
Besides, they did try to use Internet for propaganda, but only screen campaign video and banners.
Which was annoying by the way.
I don't understand, after all this has happened, he still haven't woke up to clearly see, what went wrong.
The longer he stays in power, more closer we will be to be doomed.
written by joeawk, April 03, 2008 17:26:08
Appease Singapore and UMNO wants him out? What's wrong with S'pore? S'pore is mahatir's propblem, malaysians generally do not have propblem with singporeans even though we are sometimes jealous about them but Singaporeans also are sometimes jealous about us.

Just as there are malays who hated Pak Lah,there are also maays who hated mahtir.

i dare bet that no royalty likes mahatir.

written by Ranulaw, April 03, 2008 17:47:11
This "mistake" is a true revelation of the strategic minds of our leaders! I wonder how they plan their strategies. It was well published that this website, Malaysia Today, gets over a million hits on some days. Hello! Doesn't that ring a bell? If they can make this kind of mistake, wow, u can bet there are lots more........
written by aiyomanaboleh, April 03, 2008 18:02:18
Just say the administration is screwed up and that is why you got "hatam" this time round.

If only you could make use of the 4 years to undo what your predessor has done rather than riding on it, this "mistake" may not have occured.

Now, even your position is threathened. So sad.
written by bodohland_citizen, April 03, 2008 19:01:12
2 caste of Malays in Malaysia

1) UMNO Malays
2) Malays

High time to include "UMNO Malays" in Oxford Dictionary.
written by Taikohtai, April 03, 2008 19:34:09
I prefer to think that it was the INTERNET that exposed Malaysia's biggest mistake ie the BN gomen headed by a most incompetent PM!
BN hid under ISA and FEAR to cover up their ugly deals.
The INTERNET blew away that cover. Thank goodness for technology!
written by maverick, April 03, 2008 19:37:07
finally bodowi looks into the mirror and sees his real self
written by keel, April 03, 2008 20:10:28
Remember what they say about internet is for booking cheap airline tickets????
written by Commonsenses, April 03, 2008 20:50:41
guys are u sure he realises his mistakes. I don't think so. The way he appointed tainted cabinet ministers does not reflect at all his realisation of his mistakes. Neither did he take any action to abolish AP, nor taken any action to address the concerns of the NEP, where cronies still getting richer or is he connected to the biggest crony in malaysia, raiding the Trengganu royalties. If so, he should know wat to do then.
written by exzonerator, April 03, 2008 20:52:42
Blaming their loss on the internet only proves that the BN owned MSM is not effective at all in influecing voters. Don't they know that the MSM's biased and one sided reporting only make the Rakyat feel more and more insulted?
written by Patek1472, April 03, 2008 21:26:25
His biggest mistake is remarrying so soon after. I think he forgot the wrath of the women of Malaysia who makes up about 51% of the voters.
Next biggest mistake is to always sleep and can't concentrate cos too much honeymoon activity.
In Bahasa Malaysia, it is called mual dengan perangai dia.
written by jokerman, April 03, 2008 21:38:13
Darn it, it is YOUR party, you are the LEADER and you called the SHOTS. You hold the STEERING WHEEL and you control the THROTTLE and BRAKE PADDLES in a a seemingly open highway! Dont blame others for your freak accident!
written by apanama, April 03, 2008 21:41:50
PAKLAH. YOUR BIGGEST MISTAKE WAS NOT TO FRY AND HANG MAMAKPUNDEKKUTTY.
THERE IS STILL TIME AND CHANCE TO CORRECT THE WRONGS. IN COMMON SENSE, IT'S THE RIGHT THING TO DO.

FRY MAMAKPUNDEK, HANG HIS BALLS IN PUBLIC.
THEN WHIP HIS ARSE 22 TIMES FOR EACH BLOODY YEAR.
written by jokerman, April 03, 2008 21:44:34
Pak Lah's biggest mistake before GE12: In denial!

Pak Lah's biggest mistake after GE12: Still in denial!

Poor fella...
written by bexe, April 03, 2008 21:45:16
AAB is wasting everyone's time & energy. He said he has learned from the mistakes. He hasn't because he thinks the mistake is only just ignoring the internet. No no no you dumbkorf. It is more than the internet. If you want to tackle the problems, just look at the list written in those poison-pletters. Take any one of them in the list and ractify it NOW. It would take one second each like
1) sack your SIL
2) Release the hindraf detainees
3) Remove your IGP & charge him
4) Remove your AG

all this with the wave of your hand and it will take only one second. Do it and earn back creditabilty. Can you do that? No. Then you are not the leader we want. So please go.

written by cruzeiro, April 03, 2008 21:47:37
" ..... We thought that .....

================

My God!
You actually do think!
written by emirateswenger, April 03, 2008 22:15:03
A case of "spin" (ala diversion) being picked up by others.

Still sleeping, it's not the internet. It's a weak, corrupted and racist Government that had provided the news. Even if BN has 1000 blogs or online media sites, don't count on them being read. Since the main stream media is busy spinning and please... don't think the rakyat is bodoh, alternative media kicks in.

written by Commonsenses, April 03, 2008 22:22:31
Read the latest in malaysiakini, PM warned Penang CM for linking NEP with corruption. Is he blind and sleeping. The fact is as such, look at zakaria mansion which PM himself visit when the latter died. Is AAB an idiot as stated by "little Bird", i am beginning to believe so.
written by Msian 2, April 03, 2008 23:21:52
Biggest mistakes is allowing main stream media reporting half truths, untruths & only so call good news from BN/UMNO. People just got fed up becos MSM is nothing but propaganda -- so simple PM. If U can't see thro this simplicity, you are really FINITO.
written by qitaro, April 03, 2008 23:28:10
Dear Commonsenses

To the idiot, pirate Zakaria is a role model ... a self-made bumi millionaire.

This idiot still shiok sendiri thinking the rakyat still worship him like a real leader he never was.

Probably he's sleep standing!
written by penangite, April 03, 2008 23:32:47
Surat Terbuka kepada Abdullah Haji Ahmad Badawi, Perdana Menteri Malaysia.

Dear Dato’ Seri,

Firstly, if you’re not serious in running this country, please step down.

Secondly, according to Raja Petra, you never filed your elections account in 1999, so please step down.

Thirdly, you’re implicated in the oil-for-food scandal, kindly step down.

Fourthly, you sleep so much and wake up so late that I am following your bad habits now, step down now.

Last but not least, I can’t hear what you’re mumbling in your speech. I only know cemerlang, gemilang dan temberang. Therefore, do resign before you’re pushed out unkindly.

Concerned Malaysian who is apolitical.

written by debids, April 04, 2008 08:53:20
Biggest mistake : to let corruption continue in the form of his s-i-l!
written by DatoSeri, April 04, 2008 23:01:17
exzonerator is correct...internet is just a tool utilized by "opposition" PR, since BN/UMNO had denied them the means of mainstream medias, cut them off completely with lobsided stories of BN/UMNO.

I do not watch TV often, but I remember BN's advertisement screened hourly day in day out in that 13days of campaign where BN's manifesto. The ad asked what do we want, do we want Security, Peace, Prosperity? If yes, vote for Malaysia.

It is because of that, many people realized that they must make good use of their votes. Hey, Pak Lah you ought to be proud that rakyat responded to your ad in MSM!