Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Federal govt to work with Penang on Second Link

Federal govt to work with Penang on Second Link PDF Print
Thursday, 03 April 2008 14:09

By DEVID RAJAH

PUTRAJAYA: The Federal Government has agreed to co-operate with the new Opposition-led Penang Government in completing the Second Link or second Penang Bridge project, Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said.

Lim, who met Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi here on Thursday, said Abdullah had told him that the Federal Government had no problems in co-operating with the Penang Government in implementing its planned development projects.

"We in Penang will also do whatever is necessary to speed up and ensure the project is completed on time," said Lim, who spent more than 30 minutes with Abdullah.

He said Abdullah hoped to keep the cost of the bridge project, which had escalated from RM2.7bil to RM3bil, low so that motorists would not be burdened by high toll rates when the project is completed in 2011.

Lim said he had submitted a letter containing suggestions and proposals on more allocations and development programmes for the state to the Prime Minister.

"It is the hope of the Penang people that all development projects by the Federal Government will continue in the state," he said, adding that both of them exchanged views during the meeting.

To a question, he said, "He is my Prime Minister and I have come here for the first time on behalf of the people of Penang (to discuss state matters)."

He said his misunderstood statement on the New Economic Policy issue was also raised during the meeting.

To further clarify and put the matter to rest, Lim said that he planned to act against a particular newspaper for allegedly misinterpreting his statement made on March 11.

To another question, Lim said, the move to introduce open tender by the Penang Government was a directive of the Treasury.

"It is to ensure transparency and when we try to comply we are faulted for it," he said.

written by lynn, April 03, 2008 14:28:43
Honourable CM Mr Lim Guan Eng, From day one, from your actions & words, One can judge that you are a good man with noble & clean intentions, you mean well for Penangites, you are incorruptible, but certain individuals took what you said, twisted it & tried to bring you down. Please refrain from speaking out in public when you are surrounded by "journalists" from certain MSM. You cannot trust any of them. They may report contrary to what you actually said & get you into trouble. Please be careful, your supporters are worried for you!
written by billykbk, April 03, 2008 14:32:32
Oh Yes, Penang govt going to work hand in glove with Fed govt. But not on 2nd bridge. We are requesting that more prisons be constructed not only in Penang but also in other opposition held states as well. The existing gaols not enough top accommodate so many of the BN govt traitors. Maybe, execution will be fairer!
written by IbnAbdHalim, April 03, 2008 14:34:41
Those UMNO goons and their cohorts are out to mislead people by manipulating and twisting facts into fictions only for the sole reason. They can't accept defeat because it's so painful. Defeat means they're going to miss all the gravy they've been siphoning all these years.
written by Raja Gasper, April 03, 2008 14:46:00
Mr Lim don't waste your time with PM Badawi.You can never do the Badawi projects with transparency or open tender.You have misunderstood the PM Badawi projects and how it works.

Better spend more time with the people of Penang to fufill their basic needs first like revive abounded housing projects,buliding more houses of low costs flats,review cheaper water tariff,provide better public bus transport,make the beach and road clean,make more free car parking, display 3 language road signs,review the concept of open market and put back the rich history of Prangin market there,better health care,road service,more jobs in manufactring plants,giving linsense and more etc etc.

These are what the Penang people needed badly and not Mega Projects which benefits the rich and sinful businessman.

If you do not comply the people expectations and just beg PM Badawi for Mega
Projects,it will cause you to loose in the next General Elections.If all the
people wanted for these Mega Projects then of cause they will not vote for DAP,
but have vote for the BN, and does you cannot see that Mr Lim ?

written by drchris, April 03, 2008 14:49:13
Dear Mr.CM

We all know your intentions,which are undoubtedly noble.You have nothing except the interest of the rakyat in your heart.We know that speak from the bottom of your heart.We know you wouldn't mind going to jail for safeguarding our interests.

Your willingness to go and meet Pak Lah whom you say "He is my Prime Minister and I have come here for the first time on behalf of the people of Penang" speaks volumes of your character.Pak Lah is under severe pressure these days and may be you need to give him some time.Imagine you calling on Dr.M if he is PM.

Sincerity and goodness in your heart are the most important ingredients to achieve success but definitely you need to be more cautious in what you say and do.

Remember the people will be with you and we wish you all the luck in your endeavors to clean up the state.
written by Racheljansz, April 03, 2008 14:55:44
This report is quite misleading.
This report is from theStar and do not give the full picture.
In the NST
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/Frontpage/20080403141346/Article/index_html
The prime minister has confirmed that the Second Penang Bridge will not be paid for by Petronas, Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said.
Emerging from a half-hour meeting with Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi here, Lim said the prime minister explained that the national oil corporation had other commitments, such as maintaining fuel subsidies.

“I suggested that Petronas fund the bridge if not fully at least partially. Abdullah said it was not possible because of the fuel subsidies and other commitments, that it is running certain deficits, so it is not possible at the moment, much as he would like to.

“The cost of building the bridge, according to Abdullah, has increased dramatically. But we’ll see what areas of co operation we can achieve so that we can expedite its completion,” he said.

“We will give our support. We will do whatever is necessary to hasten the construction process. If both governments (federal and state) cooperate, I think that can be achieved. And the PM is trying to ensure that we can reduce the cost so that the financial burden imposed on motorists, when the bridge is completed, will not be so heavy.”
Lim was speaking to reporters waiting for him outside the Prime Minister’s Office where the meeting took place. Lim requested the meeting.

He said the project was scheduled for completion on Jan 1, 2011, and added that all parties wished to see it met.

Lim said the state government would help facilitate the process of land acquisition for the bridge.

“The bridge project will continue. It is not a project under the state government’s purview. It is a federal project financed by the Chinese government and our federal government,” Lim said.

written by asguard, April 03, 2008 14:57:32
Well... Lim Eng Guan...people Penang of is fortunate to have you as their cm....
written by joeawk, April 03, 2008 15:03:44
Many of my frens and I do not believe that the 2nd bridge is necessary. Rather,we believe that it will be a cursed. So few roads and narrow at that and why do you need the bridge to bring in more cars. It has been years and we are struggling to find logic to having the 2nd bridge.

We reckon that part of the money be better spend to add more kilometers to the monorai which is more urgent. another part of the money can be spent on refurbishing the prewar houses around the jetty area to transform the place into a commercialhub for retain and tourist enclave, whilenot forgetting to upgrade and beautify the Butterworth side which at present is most unsightly.

written by Adrian, April 03, 2008 16:22:40
This new kid on the block is untouchable. Please keep it up and influence others to be like you. I always believe if one do not have personal interest or agenda in any project, the project will run smoothly from inception till hand over, otherwise it will take years to get off the ground - because politicians need to sort out their personal problem first (who get what) - hence it take a long time to get started.

written by SL Chan, April 03, 2008 16:22:42
Dear YB LGE..

You are a good man and you will be a good CM for Penang. Next time when ever you speak in the public you must be extra careful with your words. The MSM will twist what ever you say to bring you down. They are looking for any loop holes that they can take advantage at..
written by wildbil, April 03, 2008 16:41:44
May I suggest to CM of Penang.

Sir,

You should relook into the cost of the project. Request more credible companies, in and outside Malaysia to re-evaluate the costing.

Whoever got the project, ask them to finance the project, with minimum %, 1% or 1.5% tops.

The main contractor have to sub out the work to local contractor with open tender.

The Penang govnt will own and manage the bridge for certain years by charging the motorist. When the cost to build the bridge is pay-off. Penang govnt only charge minimum to maintain and upgrade the bridge.

From the above three points, Penang people will definately got a good bridge and save millions.

Please do not follow what the PLUS, Kesas, NKVE, LDP, SILK, Pantai EW, SMART, and KL-Putra HW did.

We people in Klang Valley is paying up to our nose for all the tols here. Don't follow are mistake.
written by wildbil, April 03, 2008 16:43:26
sorry...

is "our mistake"
written by JulieT, April 03, 2008 16:44:16
Dear CMLGE
We are so happy you are our CM. Your open hearted and fearless nature, your willingness to help the downtrodden strikes a cord deep in our heart. Please don't learn to be corrupt - it is so easy to do that in your position now. We love you as you are.
We don't need the 2nd bridge, the MRR or the PGCC. Please turn Penang back to its former glory as the 'Pearl of the Orient'. The subway is needed - this will ease the number of cars on the road. Conserve the heritage buildings. Clean up Gurney Drive and the beaches.
written by mgeo, April 03, 2008 18:00:43
Penang Island is not the central point of the region as stated by Badawi. If at all, it is Prai. There is no need to strangle the place with more traffic.

The cheapest option is not another bridge, an underchannel tunnel, a ring road or an underground LRT. It is high-tech (energy-efficient low-pollution) buses, good use of existing roads and enforced reduction of private traffic. Look up Curutiba town in Brazil - highlighted by CAP some time ago.

In Belgium, they realize the total savings (in petrol, foreign exchange, health, heat, greenery) is so great that the bus service is free.
written by Tokomitsu, April 03, 2008 19:17:30
I feel the 2nd bridge is unnecessary due to the traffic congestion in Georgetown. Why not a LRT to link mainland to the Island or an efficent ferry service like that of Star Ferry in HK. Within the city centre why not a tram system to be linked to a LRT/underground railway system to serve the suburbs. Tram system will be suitable for tourist to see the city and cheaper to build. Hourly, daily and monthly passes can be introduced linking the bus/tram/LRT/Underground and ferry systems.