Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Throwing the baby out with the bath water

Throwing the baby out with the bath water PDF Print
Thursday, 03 April 2008 12:57

No, we should not abolish the NEP. We need the NEP. And we need the NEP because many Malays, Chinese and Indians, as well as Natives of Sabah and Sarawak, still need help. But the NEP needs to be revamped while the implementation of the NEP needs to be improved.

This was what NancyL wrote in the blog under my article in this same column, ‘Elementary, my dear Watson ’:

RPK......AUWWWWWWWWWWW.....how could you did that to your baby.....giving her plain water bottle so that she didn’t ask anymore milk at nite ....her stomach was too small then to indulge bigger amount of milk.....babies get full and hungry quickly.....you are cruel!!!!...HUH!!!...MAN!!!...THAT REMIND ME I WILL NEVER EVER AGAIN LET MY HUB LOOK AFTER MY BABY!!!... Since I had my first baby 6 yrs. ago until my third baby which is 3 now...I had....not even once slept for a one whole full nite...not once....well....

There was a story....when a man approached Prophet Muhammad...asking him..."Who does he have to answer first when both his parents call him?"...then Prophet replied...."Your Mum"....and he asked again...."After that?"....answer was again.... "Your Mum"....and he asked again.....for the 3rd time...and it was still his Mum...until the 4th time...then Prophet said..."Your Dad"....
And the love of a mother is soo high in Islam that it said...."Heaven is under the feet of your mother"......mum loves is different from dad's love...the bond is too strong....only women will understand this!!

A mother will only try to stop her baby from crying for milk at nite ..only when she realised that she is big enuff....that is when she start proper weaning....that is when the time is right...she will wake up at nite no matter what until her child no longer need her to...that’s the love and sacrifice of a mother....

I understand why ur mum didn’t give you the bottle but to agree why you didn’t give ur baby the milk that’s a different issue......

I know that the main point you want to make here is that "Your love for Malays is like the love of a father"...that’s what you want the Malays to know ...and that no matter how bad you said of them is actually just like an act of a father to his child....

written by NancyL, April 02, 2008 | 20:21:53

NancyL was referring to my act of feeding plain water to my first-born, my daughter, the first week after she was born. Within three days she no longer woke up at 3.00am for her milk feed and I got a good night’s sleep thereafter.

All this talk about my first-born brings back memories of my younger days. They say if you keep reflecting on the ‘good old days’ this is a sign that age has crept up on you. I suppose, at 57 going on 58, I would certainly qualify to be in the category of dunia kata pergi, kubur kata mari, or, as the English would say: having one foot in the grave.

I was 23 and my wife was 19 when we got our first child within one year after we got married. Our daughter was actually due slightly later but my wife was extremely large because the baby was quite ‘over-weight’ so the doctor told us that there was no danger to the baby if my wife underwent an induced birth. It was already past Christmas and if she were not induced then the baby would have been born in January. We decided that December 30th would be better so that she could enter school a year early. Malaysian schools calculate your birthday as at 1st January so even if my daughter were two days old on 1st January it would still be considered as one year. Therefore, just because of two days, my daughter could enter school a year earlier. And of course my income tax for that year would enjoy a deduction though she was born two days before the year was out.

My daughter spent her entire school years in Terengganu until she completed her form five after which she went to MSM in Cheras for her matriculation. Unfortunately though, after her two years matriculation, all her friends were offered scholarships to the UK while my daughter was not.

Naturally my daughter was devastated. She worked hard but she was not offered a scholarship to go to the UK. Her friends, children of Tan Sris and Datuks, were. My wife and I tried explaining to our daughter that her friends’ parents are rich and people of power and position. Even without scholarships they could afford to send their children to the UK, what more with scholarships. We could certainly not afford to do the same.

Our daughter was in tears at the prospect of having to either take a course in one of the local private colleges or go out and work for a living. My wife is the tough one in our family who takes no shit from the children. As for me, however, I am softer, especially as far as my two daughters are concerned. The irony of the whole thing is, my wife ‘spoils’ our sons while I do the same to our daughters, until today. My wife was very firm about the matter and she told our daughter that we can’t afford to send her to the UK, and that was that.

It broke my heart to see my daughter shattered by the realisation that all her hard work for the last 13 years will eventually come to nought. She saw all her friends happily go off to the UK, US, Australia, etc., while she had to suffer the ‘shame‘ of staying home. Yes, peer pressure does this to you. When all get to go except you that is an embarrassment that is hard to endure.

The argument that all her friends are able to go because they have money, plus they obtained government help, is hard to comprehend for someone who has built up her expectations and worked very hard at trying to meet them. Here you are looking ‘failure’ in the face. How can you explain failure? How can you justify failure? How can any argument be acceptable if it means you have to accept failure as the final option? My daughter could not accept the fact that she will have to be denied her university education in the UK. She looked at it as a failure on the part of her parents. Parents are supposed to guarantee their children an education. Why are her parents not able to do that?

I relented and told my wife we will send our daughter to the UK even if it kills us. I spoke to a friend who was also our family doctor in Terengganu, Dr Menon, and he advised my daughter to take up medicine. But my daughter can’t stand the sight of blood and when she dissects a frog she feels geli and closes her eyes. No way can she perform brain surgery with her eyes closed. The second option then, Dr Menon advised, would be to do biochemistry.

I told my daughter to go to the British Council and speak to the career guidance counsellor for advise as to which university she can go to which offers biochemistry. She had to do this entirely on her own with no help from me. I was not going to get involved and she would have to make her own decision on the matter.

She finally decided on the University of Kent at Canterbury, which was able to offer the course she wanted to do and which had vacancies for overseas students. My wife and I scrounged every cent we could get our hands on. We also sold the few lots of Amanah Saham that, thankfully, we had and gave the money to our daughter. That would pay for her tuition fees and lodging, at least for the first year. We shall worry about the second year when the second year is upon us. We then bought her a one-way plane ticket and dropped her off at the Subang Airport.

That was it. She now had a university to go to and a plane ticket with which to get there. From hereon she was on her own. We will not be able to bring her back every year for her school holidays nor will we be able to escort her to the UK or attend her graduation. We just did not have the money for all that. We will see her back in Malaysia three years later, after she graduates.

We said goodbye at the Subang Airport, told her to take care of herself, and promised to be at the Subang Airport in three years time when she returns. She would be the only student whose parents did not proudly witness their children's graduation. I could see the worry in my wife’s face. “We should have sent her to the UK to make sure she is alright. How is she going to manage?” We then went home and had a good cry. It was the most irresponsible thing any parent could have done. All we could do was pray that divine intervention will ensure our daughter will be okay.

I told my wife that our daughter is a tough girl. She will be okay. She will find her way to Canterbury and in three years’ time she will come home, a biochemist. Her toughness was demonstrated during my ISA detention when she counselled my wife, who was in desperation and at the point of a mental breakdown, to psychologically prepare for the possibility that it may be a long time before I get to come home.

Well, that was a lifetime ago and is all water under the bridge now. At that time I just wanted to mend my daughter’s broken heart and allow her to live her dream of going to the UK for her university education. It was financially painful for my wife and me but is that not what parents are for, to take the pain so that their children can be assured a bright future? And that was what kept me going during my ISA detention when I did not know whether it would be a mere two months or many years. I am doing this and am suffering for the future of my children, I kept telling myself. It makes the unbearable bearable when you can convince yourself that this is so.

I did not think, in all that time, that if the children of Tan Sris and Datuks could get government help to go to the UK then my daughter should have been allowed the same. I did not think, in all that time, that since I could not afford to send my daughter to the UK then the government is obligated to extend help to me. I did not think, in all that time, that since I am Malay then my daughter is entitled to government help to go to the UK. I did not think, in all that time, that the NEP is supposed to help all Malaysians, regardless of race and religion, as long as they are deserving of help. I did not think, in all that time, that political leaning does not count, and even if you are on the opposite political divide to the powers-that-be this does not disqualify you from government assistance. I did not think, in all that time, that the NEP is merely a weapon to ensure that you support the ruling party or else you face discrimination from the powers-that-be. The only thing I was thinking, the only thing on my mind, was that I was going to send my daughter to the UK come hell or high water.

Yes, I would be the worst candidate to convince that the NEP in its present form works. Yes, I would be the worst candidate to convince that the NEP has not been abused. Yes, I would be the worst candidate to convince that we do not need some form of NEP. Yes, I would be the worst candidate to convince that the NEP does not need a major overhaul to ensure that Malays, Chinese, Indians and the Natives of Sabah and Sarawak will get assistance if they are deserving of assistance.

No, we should not abolish the NEP. We need the NEP. And we need the NEP because many Malays, Chinese and Indians, as well as Natives of Sabah and Sarawak, still need help. But the NEP needs to be revamped while the implementation of the NEP needs to be improved. And this needs to be done to ensure that others do not break out into tears like my daughter when they are told they cannot go to university because they have the ‘wrong ‘skin colour or support the ‘wrong’ political party. This also needs to be done to ensure that others like me do not need to pawn everything they own to be able to grant their children a university education.

Comments (114)Add Comment
written by cklife, April 03, 2008 13:17:44
It simply suck isn't it?
Having bright students discriminated.
agree 172
written by Jun Jan, April 03, 2008 13:18:57
RPK...your life is similar in so many ways to all non-umno ultras life, I salute you, my parents, and those parents who have to bust their ass to see that their son/daughter receive a better education *weep* smilies/cry.gif smilies/kiss.gif
agree 270
written by My2Sens, April 03, 2008 13:25:04
NEP should go. It should not remain under the current brand name of any of it's versions. It has too much negative baggage for a lot of people.

Break free. Start a new plan / methodology. One based on merit and / or need of Malaysians. A fresh plan, with a new name for a new begining. One that would help those who need a helping hand without discremination.
agree 181
written by Democrats, April 03, 2008 13:28:34
That's why many grads and top brains from Malaysia continue to be away from Malaysia. That's why many brilliant non-malay stay away from the government.
Discriminated from days as "Malaysians" in Malaysia, they are expected to come back and serve "MALAYSIA". If they get back here, they are serve with mandatory service to the government (like doctors and pharmacists) with dirt pay, with no real chance of escalating to the top post.

I'm not saying no non-bumis never get government loans and scholarships, but the fact that being just academically the best and having the best attitude does no warrant you security and a sense of actualization enough nor a sense of belonging.

I do not know whether RPK's daughter was a top achiever or not compared to her friends, but I do know that people are being continuosly discrimated in terms of race, political inclination and religious background - not only in scholarships, contract awards, loan approval, business support and even in contests.

It's time MALAYSIA embrace a new dawn, as MALAYSIAN.
agree 205
written by gaman, April 03, 2008 13:29:20
Shame be unto those Tan Sri's, Datuks...that abuse their power to deprive the needy students of scholarships....no conscience whatsoever.....

Your daughter will be very proud of your sacrifice.....
agree 125
written by Umar Rentaka, April 03, 2008 13:32:30
Me think you're a super father for training up your daughter when she was even an infant. Only few man will have the guts to do that.

NEP must go. The BN refused entre for Indians in medical seat in local universities. They then went to Cremia Uni in Ukraine. Then this idiot b#$%*&t Syed Albar went there and saw that all malaysians there was black skinned and came and told that Maha Firaun only only black skin is there. Immediately that Kaka pretending to be a Malay un-recognized the world reknowned Crimea University.

Many many Indians sold off their houses to sent their children there was now in fix.
written by Puchongjoe, April 03, 2008 13:38:24
That will make me vote for the party that implement the NEP without discrimination eventhough my son is only 11 years now. I must think of my children's future. This story should win an oscar for kisah benar. Thank God you persevered through, RPK and it gives us, who are fathers, some hope and strength to see our children through their lifes.
written by rayden chan, April 03, 2008 13:48:45
IT sucks really...seing how all the stupid UMNO malay's breed get to study oversea but came back with empty can.
Just a pain in the ass.
written by gtl, April 03, 2008 13:50:39
yup, Pete, it's suck when you get no help from nobody while you see those rich getting scholarships and other assistance.
written by apa jadi, April 03, 2008 13:54:05

I think what you did to your baby then was right. NancyL has the soft spot of a mother. So, NEP depends on who sees it.

You were lamenting having no money to send your daughter to UK and finally "scrounged every cent we could get our hands on" to send her to UK. Just imagine how the sons/daughters of some of the poor Chinese and Indians who were denied a place locally, albeit scholarship, made it overseas.
written by Raja Petra, April 03, 2008 13:57:14
Dear apa jadi, exactly, I was one of the lucky ones.
written by Tan Tan, April 03, 2008 13:58:27
Exactly for the same reason I believe NEP should be revamp to benefiting only the needy group disregard of race or anything but financial burden.

Same thing happen to my classmate, I got 3rd place in my form and because I am not Malays, since young we are being taught not to expect any help from government which I didn't. However, I was pissed when I get my SPM result, I have a Malays friend who stay in Kampung Lanjan who got better result than another Malays classmate who stay at Taman Tun Dr.Ismail Semi D house with his dad driving BMW and guess who get the Mara scholarship to go USA? Well, it is not my Malays friend who stay in Kampung Lanjan who his dad is only riding on a motorcycle.

If I cannot get a scholarship because I am not Malays, ok. life sucks...but when a poor Malays cannot get scholarship because it was given to another Datuk's son. This is too much.

By the way, I got 4 more As than both of them and my dad is only driving Proton Wira.

NEP should be revamp to target only poor ppls and not race or anything else!
written by indianputra, April 03, 2008 14:01:10
What RPK said is absolutely the truth and facts as they were. Indians and the Indian children suffered under the BN Government. Scholarships were limited, seats in Universities were under a quota system, there was abolutely no meritocracy, sending Indian children overseas for studies was defintely a no-no.

Throw out NEP and create MEP (Malaysian Economic Policy) for EVERY MALAYSIAN CITIZEN.
written by lynn, April 03, 2008 14:05:30
I say get rid of the NEP permanently. And get rid of all the people who caused the less privileged rakyat to suffer these past few decades. Bring in new professionals, set up guidelines, policies & procedures in rendering aid to the needy regardless of race or religion. It's hard or impossible for the gomen people to change the way they operate. There is only one option, we must replace this people through our votes.
written by Mr Smith, April 03, 2008 14:08:33
If a Malay can feel this way , tell me, how do you think we non Malays feel about he injustices of the NEP.
I saw it coming in the 70s and I saved every sen I could so that my two daughters need not look into any PSD Officials face, or plead with any BN Yang Berhomats for a favour to plead for a scholarship.
I prepared them through their school years never to depend on the government for handouts as I refused to join any raced based BN parties. I did not want them to go through the heartaches of being rejected for their preferred choice of course at local universities. Rejection is always painful. I have seen many non -Malay children in tears after being discriminated by the injustice of the NEP.
Neither did I want them to go to any local universities which lacked academic standing with its UMNO appointed Vice Chancellors.
When they finished their secondary education, I had saved enough money to pack both them off to USA.
This explains why I had voted Opposition in eight General Elections.
agree 160
written by Hanzo, April 03, 2008 14:12:23
Electrifying. Never thought we would one fine day see articles like this been publish. ISA would be there knocking on the door definately.
Education is one of the many significant issues. Housing? There are alot natives and non-Malay Malaysians who are so poor they have to live in squatters. Lets all not forget about all the other basic living neccessities.
written by teo siew chin, April 03, 2008 14:13:33
Looks like the NEP was going in reverse gear all these years.
Still so many living in poverty.
Still so many denied proper education.
Don't ditch the car.
Ditch the driver.

Even the word NEP itself seem to connote failure where the rakyat is concerned.
Ditch it.

written by Liaw SY, April 03, 2008 14:14:09
I thought only we Chinese are discriminated! Never knew that some Malays are as well, worse still a Raja.
written by Rozlan, April 03, 2008 14:17:36
did not think, in all that time, that if the children of Tan Sris and Datuks could get government help to go to the UK then my daughter should have been allowed the same. I did not think, in all that time, that since I could not afford to send my daughter to the UK then the government is obligated to extend help to me. I did not think, in all that time, that since I am Malay then my daughter is entitled to government help to go to the UK. I did not think, in all that time, that the NEP is supposed to help all Malaysians, regardless of race and religion, as long as they are deserving of help. I did not think, in all that time, that political leaning does not count, and even if you are on the opposite political divide to the powers-that-be this does not disqualify you from government assistance. I did not think, in all that time, that the NEP is merely a weapon to ensure that you support the ruling party or else you face discrimination from the powers-that-be. The only thing I was thinking, the only thing on my mind, was that I was going to send my daughter to the UK come hell or high water.

Yes, I would be the worst candidate to convince that the NEP in its present form works. Yes, I would be the worst candidate to convince that the NEP has not been abused. Yes, I would be the worst candidate to convince that we do not need some form of NEP. Yes, I would be the worst candidate to convince that the NEP does not need a major overhaul to ensure that Malays, Chinese, Indians and the Natives of Sabah and Sarawak will get assistance if they are deserving of assistance.

Yep.I have similar experiences.. smilies/angry.gif
written by teo siew chin, April 03, 2008 14:23:57
Can Pakatan Rakyat revamp the NEP at state level and this time make it WORK ?
Let us see the result by next GE.
written by grant, April 03, 2008 14:27:06
i like this part.... because right now i am exactly in this stage.... whether i like it or not i hv to push thru it because of my chilren...

"....I am doing this and am suffering for the future of my children, I kept telling myself. It makes the unbearable bearable when you can convince yourself that this is so...."
written by Ranulaw, April 03, 2008 14:28:51
In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king!

I sometimes wonder if the Umnoputras use this to try to social engineer our society. Imagine only trying to educate the Umno cronies but keep the rest of the rakyat ignorant or under educated to be just middle management at best. This way they can be "kings" forever. If that was their strategy, it had definitely failed. They underestimated the human spirit as demonstrated by RPK & I believe thousands of others as well.

Syabas RPK, this was a very moving article & I sensed a tear in my eye as I read your ordeal in trying to give the best to your daughter. I think if the Prophet was around to hear your story, he would have asked the child to answer his father earlier than the 4th calling.
written by Liaw SY, April 03, 2008 14:32:42
Can Pakatan Rakyat revamp the NEP at state level and this time make it WORK ?

Most of the money (including Petronas) is in the hand of the Federal government, hence no chance, or very difficult. Can we do something on 11/5 ?

written by coolandy, April 03, 2008 14:35:17
No need to shame the Tan Sris and Datuks. Most of them obtained their titles in a SHAMLESS way in the first place.

RPK, I went through what your daughter went through but 10X worse. I am only one of the very few that returned.

Malaysia has discriminated against me but still this is home. I will do my part to creat a better future for our children.

Hujan emas di negeri orang, hujan batu di negeri sendiri......
written by Malaysiaku, April 03, 2008 14:35:47
Can we sue the BN Govt? I was one of those discriminated by the NEP policy praticed by the BN Govt. I was not able to go to University because of this stupid marginalisation policy although I was qualified. Bumiputras with lower grades were given entrance and even scholarships!

If I had been given the chance, I could at least be better qualified and have a better job. It will definitely mean a better life for me and my family! I am sure there are thousands of others like me. So, can we sue the damed BN Govt?
written by RitchieLow, April 03, 2008 14:38:30
what do you say to the NEP and the people implementing it (NEP had to be loose enough to allow such actions) that gives scholarships to TanSri's and Dato's child while a deserving native (I won't even use the B word as it is just a brainwashing trigger word) Raja's child is bypassed ?

Bath water is tainted and dirty, keep the baby in the tub and add clean clear water like the PR MEA and bathe the baby again; don't throw anything just yet smilies/smiley.gif
written by kent chong, April 03, 2008 14:45:12
We must also abolish ISA!
written by malaysianohope, April 03, 2008 14:55:36
Abang Pete,

I glad your daughter and your family managed to pull through despite all the insurmountables, no thanks to the people in power who were supposed to help the ones who needed it most.

Everyone here has got a story to tell about how the gomen had failed the people and I'm glad that someone like you are brave enough to admit it and hightlight your challenges for the sake of future families who may or may not face the burden of raising a family.

Seriously, just re-coin NEP to "NEEDIES ECONOMIC POLICY" if its so difficult to change the mind set.
written by lastoneout, April 03, 2008 15:05:44
i have lingering question about NEP. alot of people said the intention is good but the implementation was not.so if there is a new system for NEP that does not discriminate race, what will the final aim be
ie. to support only poor students with at least average academic performance
@to support only poor students with high academic performance only
@to support only students with excellent academic performance only irregardless of economic status

because if its the later, even if i am a Tan Sri child, if i achieve 50A1, would it not be unmeritocratous (is there such word??haha) to deny me the new NEP type support.

things to ponder, or we could have system for both instances ..the poort and the achiever
written by teo siew chin, April 03, 2008 15:30:51
"Most of the money (including Petronas) is in the hand of the Federal government, hence no chance, or very difficult..."
------------------------------------------------

Let's not try to solve a problem with another problem. Let's focus on the solution(s) even if it means switching off the street lights 5 days in a row.

The progress and development of the state,
the elimination of waste and corruption,
the elevation of the rakyat's quality of life including helping the poor and destitute,
the promotion of good guality education be it at initial or final stages....

All of the above, if not more, require just as great an effort, time and costs.
In unity, PAKATAN RAKYAT CAN DO IT.
It must. period.
written by fandi, April 03, 2008 15:53:36

Luckily you were born with just a title raja, I used a small r because you realized you were a nobody.If you realized that you were borned an UMNOputra than that would have been a different story and we would not know who RPK is now and there would not be a Malaysia-Today Maybe RPK would have taken over as Anwar’s place in the BN and that he would have been a different story.In this country there are plentiful of rajas.Some of my friends are raja too but there are like you and me.The only difference in the rajas are some of them are different liken rajalingam, not the lingam tapes, ha ha.
Well sometimes it is good to be borned differently and feel what it is like to be the outcaste and champion for the outcaste and be rewarded in the next world..Have a nice day RPK and may god bless you for being down to earth, and not being an elite UMNOputra.
written by KwongCK, April 03, 2008 15:56:42
Which NEP are we talking about? The NEP on paper which is suppose to help all needy ones or the one that is practised by UMNO (with the connivance of BN partners)? I am from the most early batches who got hit by the NEP (BN style). Mid 70s and got a scholarship from good old father. The scholarship -the cheapest one way flight to UK. Fees for the year, (68 pounds) and enough survival money for the term. After that, you're on your own boy. Well, I suppose only the lucky (NEP) ones with scholarships could afford not to take up part time jobs and to make real money in summer for the coming year. Well, I guess NEP (BN style) 'quotaed' out of the local Universities and really trained us to stand on our own two feet.
written by Uma, April 03, 2008 16:00:23
Sad story ain't it? I for one, when I was studying at a local university, saw many poor students struggling to get loans to finance their education..at the same time, I had a course mate who was a datuk's daughter who was driving a car, had a hi-fi system blasting the whole of the students block, wore a GUESS jeans and was getting her MARA loan.
Now NEP or no NEP, isn't it more about instilling the right mentality among the malays? To tell them "Look, you needed help 30 years ago and we prioritized to help you. But unfortunately, some of you took home millions but some of you remained poor. The time has come for us to review this policy. That doesn't mean we won't help you, it just means that now, EVERYONE, regardless of race, social status, political preference and religion, gets equal help".

written by choong, April 03, 2008 16:12:21

Just the same, I went on FAMA (Father Mother) scholarship to pursue my further education. I know what the difficulties are like. In addition, my parents sent me during the 97-98 crisis! Though I could work, my dad forbid me and told me to focus on my studies. Yes, I am luckier than a number of Malaysian students (though I did on one occasion decided to distribute pamphlets from house to house to earn extra keep). With little spending money, what I could do to save more is keep extra breads and fruits from the cafeteria in my room...hahaha... all those supermarket branded products also helped a lot...smilies/smiley.gif

Sigh, whether is it NEP or whatever, affirmative action must be here to stay to take care of the poor, weak and helpless regardless of race, religion and creed. No more party affiliation as the added bonus, no more poor implementation to the exclusion of the masses.
written by AsamLaksa, April 03, 2008 16:19:39
It's not a sad story but a story for struggle. It's a common everyday story with a personal touch. When I told my dad what I wanted to be when I was in primary school, he admitted he felt a stab in the heart because it would cost so much money to send me overseas to accomplish it. Well, he managed it.

as to Lastoneout whether it's your option a, b, or c, it depends on the objectives of the affirmitive action.

If the aim is to assist the poor in education, then it should apply to all poor families, perhaps in not such a way as scholarships to UK, USA, etc. but rather bursaries to part or whole finance there tuition fees in local unis. This is more like an entitlement where all you need to prove is that your family has a collective income below a certain number and perhaps even include the number of dependents in the family. There should be no limit to the beneficiaries as long as they fulfil the criteria.

If the aim is to place top students in top uni, then it should be for high achievers regardless of economic background in the form of scholarships. Nevetheless, the rich should be made to understand that they can apply but if possible, the limited resources should preferably be given to those who can't afford it. Whether this is up to the personal values of the rich applicant or the criterias set by the selection committee would is another matter.
written by kenny, April 03, 2008 16:20:19
Hi teo,
I like your optimism now.

In fact all right-minded M'sians who care about the country are much more hopeful now.

I hope the PR state governments would all realign the affirmative policies to the way they should be, whereever possible at the moment. Time will tell.

Cheers!
written by fikri9205, April 03, 2008 17:00:45
What we see here is a case not strange to Malaysians.I believe that with proper campaigning and more exposure on cases like this,where the rich gets the help and the middle and the lower class do not,more people would help at least modify the NEP if not abolish it.People do need the government help.Yes they do.But for those who could afford their children to study overseas, don't menggatal to get help when you do not deserve it.
written by aryn, April 03, 2008 17:01:18
NEP? No thanks. Biased and stunted one's progress. When I was in school, many of my Muslim classmates get scholarships including datuks/tan sris and rich men's children. Non Muslim/malay bumis especially the poor didn't get any despite their academic qualifications.

The results, we non muslim/malays are more resilient than them and we are not afraid of hard work. We learnt at a young age to be independent and not rely on the government. Actually, I pity many of my malay friends who even after they had their BAs, MAs they still look upon the govt for jobs and so on.

But some of them woke up and decided to send their kids to chinese schools. They told me the chinese mind are more competitive and that's why they want their kids to mix with them. hmmn...
written by Kampong, April 03, 2008 17:01:32
We need to start afresh and come up with something just and fair. No more "positive discrimination" crap.

Affirmative action for all in need, and if the Malays are the biggest group in poverty, they will automatically get the most help from a hairly administered program.
written by bumi non malay, April 03, 2008 17:04:59
Well I am sure many Malaysia especially non Malays struggle and suffered more overseas and in Malaysia as each tried to make ends meet both sides trying to overcome shattered dreams.

That was yesterday......today many have thank God & have stayed or are planning to migrate overseas because the Pound, Aussie, USA dollar to ringgit is hard to resist for the same amount of work in Malaysia.... without the bodek, corruption...etc.

Best of all they have found Freedom not available in Malaysia.

Some are on the way home to retire after 10 years of work overseas....but keeping the overseas option open....in case Islamisation goes the Taliban way.

The worst thing for Malaysia is that some of the brighest are leaving the country due to PURE RACISM!!....

Barisan Rakyat-DAP,PKR,PAS needs to work hard to UNDO RACISM & Freedom of Religion in 5 years and time is not on your side!!

The People have spoken for a better Progressive Malaysia!!
written by grant, April 03, 2008 17:31:15
Hey DMH1871... u singing a different tune now... wah..trying to be so noble and holy... just the earlier No Hold's Barred article on Universities and NEP, u commented differently and now u are commenting like an angel in disguise... u make us all laugh... those who didnt read ur earlie comments think u are so farking noble.. but u are just like any other BN politicians!
written by kamwy, April 03, 2008 17:40:32
Dear RPK and fellow readers,

Such stories of struggle are commonplace amongst Malaysians - to put it bluntly - amongst brown, yellow and black. It doesn't have to be this way. It doesn't have to be. While many middle-class Malays have been created through NEP, many many more had abused the systems. Are they better Malays, that their rights are higher" than everyone else? NEP was meant to balance the racial imbalance and overcome poverty. fourty years later...we re still at ground zero.

My family had to sold our house, live on minimal luxury, in order to afford tertiary education for my siblings and I. Now, a fully-qualified professional, I am asking myself this question: " why should my children suffered the 2nd class treatment anymore, when i have the capability and opportunity to provide better for her/him else where?"

time to abolish racial based quota, and establish welfare system that is colourblind, and transparent!
written by malsia1206, April 03, 2008 17:42:39
RPK, you are mow 57 and going into 58. Feel like having 'one foot in the grave'? Make my day and save that expression for some other time. At 57 you should just be starting to live like never before. The young days are back all over again. Remember that funny feeling of 'deja vu' now and again?
written by galadriel, April 03, 2008 18:02:23
My doctor told me once he went to night school and then put himself through college waiting tables in Chicago. He is Malay. Now he uses up all his savings to put his kid through med school. Told me he can only afford to send her to Russia.

My brother went to uni with a little loan from Yayasan Negri Sembilan, that covered only tuition fees, which he has been faithfully paying off.

My sister went to India to study, and my parents had to bergolok gadai to ensure she gets through college. Even I, the youngest, had to kerja kilang to contribute a little.

It was impossible for me to go to college then with siblings already in college and my dad retiring. So I chose to work. cos no way was I gonna afford college.

My childhood friend though, who got third grade in her SPM, went to ITM. Now she is an IT programmer of some sort with a bank.

I'm not bitter about how she got ahead because of affirmative action. I know for sure that I earn more than her today and my learning never stopped.

However, it does make me kinda doubt the quality of graduates that come out of ITM.

As an aside, I must tell you that I know for sure Datuk Mokhtar Dahlan (ex-Selangor Exco) sent his kid to study in UK on government scholarship. Now isn't he a rich man?

Don't you think NEP was abused here?
written by freespeecher, April 03, 2008 18:45:10
NEP...NEPotism
written by notsosmart, April 03, 2008 18:51:12
NEP abbreviation must to be replaced though the system and administration would remain. This 'NEP' have done a lot of damage to the country. And we want to forget about it.
written by tjteh, April 03, 2008 20:10:37
To all parents reading this: do not apply for scholarships if you can afford it. Someone else who needs it more is deprived an opportunity. This has nothing to do with race / NEP but a simple consideration for all human beings.

The NEP was a good solution in the short-term.

However, people behind the NEP were either not forward thinkers or people who never wanted it abolished. There were no short-term goals that would eventually lead to a 'natural' weaning off the system.

More than 30 years on, it has not even achieved what it set out to do in the first place.

We as Malaysians are well known for our 'flowery' ideals but fare poorly on implementation.
written by chin, April 03, 2008 20:16:29
40 years ago, there may not have been many universities in Malaysia and many were sent overseas using taxpayers money.

Today, when we could have as many university we wanted. Sending people overseas to study under-graduates courses is a shameful waste of taxpayers money, it is a luxury. Funding one person overseas is the equivalent of educating 10 locally.

Why is our present government still practising this, it deprives 9 other person the chance to gain a degree, everytime 1 person is sent overseas using taxpayers money. It should be reserved for only very bright students, who are in a position to contribute to the nation when he graduates.

I have been paying taxes for 28 years and I would like to have a say how it is spend. The BN government has been totally wasteful and corrupt, and I didn't even elect these fools for the job.

Ultimately, I have been paying 28 years of taxes without representation. And that sucks.
written by chin, April 03, 2008 20:21:17
BTW, the money I have paid in taxes would have sent all my kids overseas to study but as it is I can't even afford to send one. And none of them could get in to the local universites with the present race quotas.

written by zhanyiyi, April 03, 2008 22:05:19
Chinese around the whole world follow their time-honoured formula whenever they have a brightpark student in the family midst that required money further studies: NOW EMPTY POCKETS for our deserved one(N.E.P Chinese style for the last 5000 years) and it works even it means breaking everybodys' backs to sustain this good scholar!!!
RPK, are you sure you did not copy your story from the Chinese Annals???
Very surprising for a Malay like you. Hats off to you from a Chinaman.
written by sting, April 03, 2008 22:21:43
They abused the NEP to set up a "caste" system, with them umno-butas installing themselves as Brahmins and everyone else beneath them. To join the argument here I myself was denied a place in Science Stream in Form 6 despite having aggregate of 9 (u need 8 or lower) in MCE despite having a couple of As. To rub things in, my Malay classmate, who barely scraped through Grade 1 (and got only 1 A, in Agama)got an instant scholarship to do medicine in the US (i think the Govt compelled him to do medicine), and paid or all his expenses including that of his family when he got married. I do not begrudge him, as he was not from a rich family. But i would not think that any of us would send our children to such a doctor. Not only the NEP robs our country of the best of the youth, but it installs mediocrity up on a pedestal.

Labu, the national school system sucks, that y!!! It was not enough to destroy the main working school system (the missionary schools - ACS/MBS/Convent/VI/La Salle....) in the pursuit of outdoing each other in mindless nationalism. Most of our ministers attended missionary schools, and none of their children are in the national school system. Why? Is what is good for the rakyat not good enuf for them?
written by raverz, April 03, 2008 22:30:16
you just wrote my biography....
written by bumi non malay, April 03, 2008 23:27:21
Malaysians too need to be educated on Birth Control and Affordability.....

One cannot expect to have 6 children and hope the rest of society support your lack of responsibility. On top of that you break your child heart when you cannot afford to send them to higher learning whereas the other family with 1 or 2 can.

Do not think this mentality of having more children of one race gives you political power forever or an upper hand in life. Globalisation and poverty do not discriminate....and do not use these excuse either to deprive others (who are more responsible with child birth) the opportunity to improve upon their life.

You reap what you sow and do not use your lack of wealth as a prejudice against those who are more responsible with their ability to afford!!

No need to mention what race have this loop sided mantra!!! smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif......this is the 21st century......child birth survival rate is close to 95% as oppose in the 60s....of 50%. Don't expect your many children to support you either in retirement, cos they have their many children to look after...and the vicious cycle continues UNTIL someone says STOP!!! Think!!...use your Freedom Wisely!!

The People have spoken!!
written by Ben, April 03, 2008 23:40:02
Praise the Lord for showing us the TRUTH. Even in modern times such as this a family can be fruitful and multiply and HE will provide. HE is the same yesterday, today and forever. HIS blessings will follow us for the rest of our lives.

Truly people with less faith will not dare to start a family nowadays, much less send their children overseas for higher education. The costs are just prohibitive. But those who believe in the God who clothes the lilies and feed the sparrows, believe that HE will provide. Thus, God says that HIS foolishness is greater than man's wisdom. May HE continue to provide for you and other families like you who have the faith and lean on HIM, for HE is forever a God of faithfulness. My own 4 children will be going for tertiary education soon and HE will provide. Amen.
written by Daryl, April 04, 2008 00:01:29
I am one of these poor non-Malay Malaysian that is fortunate enough to go overseas and finish up my education. Is very hard to see every Malay friends you have with SPM grade one and two is no longer with you in Form Six. Either they are overseas or in local universities doing their matriculations.. And I am here in the class with SPM Grade One having to go through two years of so call STPM....

Didn't UMNO/BN ever plan for the future that this one day might come back and haunt them. Obvioulsy not because they still think they can rule the poor Malaysa forever with their scare tactics. RIP BN/UMNO...... your days are numbered as the enemies you created over the years decided they can do better than you....
written by SotPlug, April 04, 2008 00:28:03
Vision 2020

2 for UMNOputras, 0 for you
another 2 for UMNOputras, 0 for me.
written by bexe, April 04, 2008 00:54:46
RKP
Congratulations to you and wife for the scarifices you made for your daughter. You will feel better that you did it. That is enough. Her education waits for no one, so as a parent we had to do it with whatever was available to us at that time.
I did it too and I didn't think of getting help or scholarships; I just worked like hell. 2 jobs; put my head down, went without some things I would have loved to have, but the job was done. 3 graduates - 2 from Australia and one from Cornell and Oxford. Best thing I ever did! Damn nearly killed me, but no regrets, no complains, no blaming. I just feel good. I often tease my youngest who costed the most. I could have bought the Ferrari with your your education. You know her response? "Ill buy you one soon papa"
written by James Loh, April 04, 2008 01:18:27
As a Malaysian, I do believe we need some kind of system to protect the poor, and helpless regardless of race or religion. Hence, I support NEP.

The real issue about NEP is people with the power abuse the system. If the government were able to implement the system effectively I believe that it would benefit all of us.

For instance, a Malay contractor that makes a lot of profit from his business. This company will hire Malaysian of all races to run his business more efficiently. Also, this contractor will most probably do business with business man of other races too. This will result a healthy trade that benefits everybody. The only problem is if the Malay contractor is a crook. Thus, he’ll not seek to run the business effectively within the law. He’ll think of short cut to make the most money from running a crooked business. Thus, he’ll cohort with crooked Chinese/Indian businessmen to enrich themselves.

In Malaysia, the level of corruption is real high. There is a need for some kind of institution to monitor corruption. I believe we need a strong NGO that’ll lead by respectable people from all races and religions. This people must not have any link to any political party. Only then we can ensure that NEP is running effectively. Also, it needs to have power to uphold the law.

Also, there might be a need to overhaul the system in order for NEP to prevent any races or religion from being sidelined. NEP has been running since the 70s. Even in manufacturing sector, we do a lot of Kaizen, continuous improvements, in order to run the business more effectively. This is the same for the NEP too. We need to measure and monitor the effectiveness of the program.

My dear Malay brothers and Sisters need not worry about us non-Malay. If Malays fall behind other races financially or academically we would definitely not gain any benefit from it too. Why? Just as I explained above, Malay businessmen/women with high caliber would definitely benefits the rest of us directly or indirectly.

Thus, if Proton would have been run by top notch Malay CEO we could have sold cars in China! How would that benefit Chinese or Indian engineers? This is exactly the same explanation as Anwar in one of his ceramah.

Lastly, we need NEP but it needs to be overhaul in order to fully benefit everybody regardless of race and religion.
written by renoir, April 04, 2008 02:24:28
I'd mentioned this before weeks ago, that the name "NEP" should remain because of its emotional power. All we need to do is to revert to its original intention, which is to help the poor of all ethnic groups, and not the UMNOputras.

Most Nordic states are essentially welfare states with a dose of responsible capitalism. There's no reason why we cannot achieve the same standard of living as those states.

written by saintgeorge, April 04, 2008 02:48:25
Putting the NEP issue aside, how parents prepare their children to face the realities of life is of utmost importance. Life is never fair, and if we prepare our children to expect this, then every good thing that comes into their life will truly be a blessing and appreciated.
written by clangan, April 04, 2008 03:23:30
DEAR pETE,
Your stories are very familiar in the Chinese circles, I have a class of almost 40 Malaysians when I studied at London, of which 10 Malays, all under MARA scholarship, on finals, 3 of the Malays failed, 5 passed and 2 went missing. 30 on the Chinese, Indian, Sikh and Mixed graduated (all with BP scholarship - BP= Bapa). So, go figure this out...! Wait some more, that was almost 20 years ago, if you have seen the MARA scholars dancing at London's Bar Madrid holding a glass of Bloody Mary!!!
written by malgal, April 04, 2008 09:58:05
And can our state reps defend our rights as Malaysians regardless of what we are and what race he or she is????? I believe those who sit in state assemblies got there as a Malaysian, voted by Malaysians and ready to represent Malaysians. I dont care what race or colour or fashion style he presumes but I care that he will care for me never mind what my race or colour or hairstyle I have. NEP For All Deserving, represented by those who are called Malaysians and who place nationality above race. Dont let me down now.
written by teo siew chin, April 04, 2008 10:12:02
Dear Renoir

The emotional power you mention is surely not the 'feel good' factor!
So many are gutted, some slutted, by the NEP.
Even the one with a rajahood is not spared!
Nah, the term NEP is too wretched, don't you think?
written by dmh1871, April 04, 2008 10:25:26
Dear grant (the defender of the marginalised SG Malay) i've been cosistent in my standing that NEP is still relevant and benificial, yes i did not benefit from it via sholarship, goverment grant or business contract and yet i'm not envious to other who benefited from it like you to the extend that i cannot think rationally.If what I've said sound noble and holy to you coz it is true. By the way i didnt know there no SG Malay DPP, really thank you for the info.
written by Jarratt, April 04, 2008 11:23:00
wow, i'm sure your daughter must have grown up into a resilient woman that can hold her head up high and be truly proud of all she's achieved. The fact that her family and herself fought for everything using their own hands really cannot be taken lightly.
written by cheekhiaw, April 04, 2008 11:44:36
THROW OUT NOT JUST THE 40 YEAR OLD BABY

A 40 year old baby sitting in a 40 year old tub with the same water for 40 years, I say throw the baby, water, tub and parents out!

What you have is not just a 40 year old infantile but similar parents to boot.

written by azlanm03, April 04, 2008 11:44:54
written by DMH871,

“Stop whining and blaming everything under the sun against the government, asked what we have done to improve ourselves rather than blaming the government for our problem.

from my own experience as non-umno,pkr,pas,dap etc member and or supporter who did not benefit from NEP.

I didn’t get the chance to further my study overseas even though few of my friends did.

That didn’t stop me, best alternative apply to enrol in local university.

I apply for state and federal scholarship whilst in local U, but it was rejected,

That didn’t stop me, best alternative apply for study loan.

Upon graduation, worked for few years and then apply for loan from gov agencies to start my business, but it was rejected.

That didn’t stop me, best alternative re-mortgage my house and start my own business and alhamdullilah I’m doing pretty well now.

The point is :-

a)kalau hendak seribu daya, kalau tak hendak seribu dalih
b)Berakit-rakit ke hulu, berenang-renang ketepian, bersakit-sakit dahulu, bersenang-senang kemudian

Eventhoug I didnt benefit from NEP neither NEP a stumbling block for me to further my study and to make something of myself.

Further even if I didn’t get the benefit from it I’m sure there plenty out there that derive benefit from it.

Easier to put the blame on others rather than blaming our self.

So stop whining look for the best alternative to improve your self”

Sdr DMH871,

Sukar untuk menghentikan rungutan orang kerana mungkin mereka mengalami ketidak adilan dan mereka ini ingin memperjuangkan keadilan supaya org lain tidak mengalami nasib yang sama.

Ingin saya katakan kalau tuan bependapat begitu bahawa usaha alternatif ni mmg boleh mencapai kejayaan di mana di situ ada usaha di situ ada jalan bak kata pepatah melayu mmg benar.

Cuma soalannya kenapa kerajaan ingin mengenakan kesusahan kpd kita sedangkan itulah tanggungjawab kalau menjadi pemimpin kepada rakyat... untuk menaikkan taraf rakyat tanpa diskriminasi

Yang ternyata dan nampak ialah lebih ramai org seperti en DMH dan YM Raja Petra terpaksa bersusah payah hanya kerana tak menyokong parti kerajaan yang memerintah...Maka adakah kerna pegangan kita ni maka kita wajar dihukum sbg rakyat kelas ke-2.

Kita tidak ingin mempersoalkan rezeki masing2 Cuma kita hanya ingin lihat kepada keadilan....

Apabila rakyat merasakan kerajaan kelihatan adil adalah menjadi perasaan semulajadi yang kita akan mencontohi kerajaan dan kita akan jadi lebih patriotik dr segi tindakan kita untuk memartabatkan agama, bangsa dan negara...

Yang penting menjadi manusia ni bukanlaa mendabik dada dgn mengatakan kesusahan untuk mencapai kejayaan adalah kerana sebagai kejayaan individu sahaja, kerana sbg ahli dalam masyarakat dalam mengara tercinta Malaysia ini, ialah bagaimana kita nak meninggikan martabat kita.. dan melihat kpd nasib masyarakat dan bukan hanya melihat kejayaan individu ttp kejayaan secara kolektif

Jadi, isi saya ialah menjadi tanggungjawab org yg memegang kuasa itu kelihatan adil utk menaikkan taraf rakyat.... kerana kebarangkalian utk berjaya secara individu adalah lebih kecil dlm keadaan ketidak adilan berbanding lebih ramai akan berjaya jika adanya keadilan

Sekian. Terima kasih
written by NCantona, April 04, 2008 11:54:56
RPK and fellow bloggers,

I think most of us those who give comments here have undergone or going thru the same emotion rollear coaster that RPK have gone thru. All these because we voted for BN for the past 50 years. And for the past 50 years, there's no powerful opposition. We have a stronger voice in Parliment now. Hope all goes well. Already the BN-UMNO was showing of their power by taking off the tourism fund for all the 5 states. I tot Azalina was a brilliant one. But she too is in the UMNO dillema.

Anyway coming back to NEP, I was affected directly. My father was a state sportsman long time ago n he was good in his studies. But he never got a loan to study. Since my grandparents alredi spent their money on my uncle, the rest of dad's siblings had to go straight to work. My dad often related the story of how he came up slowly in this country of racism and unequality. He told me studying hard and getting good results can help me thru my life.
He worked hard for the family. He worked day n nite. I studied hard. Top 10 student in N.Sembilan during my year of SPM. But whenever i got into a scholarship interview, i came back with sorrow in my eyes n heart. Once even i thought why i had studied so hard to get the result when i'm recgonized in this country. Lucky for me, was given a place in Public uni. Studied hard and later got my scholarship from PETRONAS. Appreciate that. Working for them now to pay their gratitude.

But how many of them like me are lucky enuff to get thru the uni. Course of your choice..no chance. I saw one of the bloggers wrote why sponsor student to foreign country when we have our own....but do we have quality in it. Very rare. Some of our degrees are not even recognized outside the country.

NEP is always been for those who are connected with top of BN, or better to say UMNO. Not for us. Not for even the grass roots of UMNO-BN. NEP is a failure. NEP is just a make up to make more money and entertain the cronies of BN-UMNO. But looks like the cosmetics is gonna wear off soon.
written by Sagaladoola, April 04, 2008 11:55:01
I etch these proverbs to my heart :

"Smooth Seas do not make Good Sailors"
"When the going gets tough, the tough gets going"

I was at my lowest confidence before PRU12. I was shocked that my efforts materialised in PRU12.

Yes, NEP needs to be revamped or be replaced with PKR's Malaysian Economic Agenda. NEP should be for all. NO DISCRIMINATION, (be it sexist, racist, political) please. It is part and parcel of the endorsed "People's Declaration".

Otherwise, if NEP is still destroying the nation, then we throw it into the sea, it is time for the sailor to go a-sailing by his skill and instincts.

"Smooth Seas do not make Good Sailors"

written by joeawk, April 04, 2008 13:28:44
The NEP or NAP stinks. Come up with a new plan so as not to be associated with that which stinks.
written by michaellmy, April 04, 2008 15:09:24
I am married and the consideration of having an addition to the family has always been my ability to ensure a good education for my child. And I am not convinced I can depend on my government to provide the necessary skills required to make it in this global village today. Hence my conclusion has always been the need to save that money from today. The amount of money lost to foreign university must be a substantial amount reading from all the comments above. I would be grateful for a first class education system more so than any scholarships from our government. And imagine how much of a multiplier effect if all the foreign school fees were consumed domestically?
written by densemy, April 04, 2008 15:25:34
Its so strange. You had sufficient confidence in your daughter to have her research the courses available and to send her off to Britain to fend for herself. Yet you wouldn't allow her to make the most important decision... that of her vocation
written by East Highlander, April 04, 2008 15:30:51
My Sarawakian and Sabahan brothers and sisters, you have seen the tsunami wipe out BN in several states here. When the tide hit your shores, join us in riding this wave to a better Malaysia which is just and equitable to ALL.

Be preapred to take the leap (literally).
written by mountainking, April 04, 2008 18:19:47
all this NEP, MEA and whatever P is a legacy of BN. if the govt is really interested in helping and having a caring society, you don't need all these buzzword to make your party sounds so sophisticated. learn from other countries to have enough healthcare facilities and subsidised bill.
from the perspective of education, learn from the US whereby they have many govt owned uni and they local is only required to pay USD1000 for a semester.
we can use more tax payers money to fund education and later on, they will contribute back in the form of tax for later generations. govt to build affordable houses for those who are eligible, free education, money to pump in for more research and development, develop skills in various industries and above all ....... NO CORRUPTION.
written by DontPlayGod, April 04, 2008 20:39:55
Now, I get it, the NEP is for UMNO Malays only, and not only that, it is for the UMNO dato's, dato seri's, and tan sri's.

So, this is to make sure the Malays join the "right" party.
written by renoir, April 04, 2008 23:17:19
written by teo siew chin, April 04, 2008 | 10:12:02
>The emotional power you mention is surely not the 'feel good' factor!
So many are gutted, some slutted, by the NEP.
Even the one with a rajahood is not spared!
Nah, the term NEP is too wretched, don't you think]]

Dear Teo: we all know the sheer waste, corruption, and nepotism that have become synonymous with the NEP. But we also know that a better implementation would benefit vastly more people, and a return to its original premise would erase its communally divisive nature. For all its weaknesses, the NEP has, partly because of its longevity, benefitted a significant number of people. And generally these people - the successful ones - will see it as indispensable for the Malay community. Nothing is more convincing than their own success, which is why I referred to the NEP's emotive power. WE who out of it might see it as a wretched thing, but WE are not the beneficiaries. So, if the NEP is used for all instead of some, for the poor of all races instead of just UMNOputras, what's wrong with using the same label??? What's wrong with not ruffling the feathers of those who feel attached to it? What we want are tangible and measurable benefits for the deserving poor of all ethnic groups. A rose by any name would feel as sweet. The name NEP cannot destroy the good intentions of the framers, if we implement it properly.

written by KwongCK, April 04, 2008 23:24:31
LChuah,
It's like saying Deng should have kept the name Cultural Revolution for his reforms. Do you realise that it's that emotive?
written by cutejams2004, April 05, 2008 00:03:43
Well i think ur daughter's situation wasnt so bad...Unlike mine where all i hoped for was a place in matriculation or teaching college and even that, i was denied a place..At least u could scrap all ur cents to send ur daughter to uk but my parents had to scrap all their cents just to put my bro n me in local private unis n even then, all they could afford was to send me to a private uni with the lowest tuition fee...My aims from young was like ur daughters..i wanted to go abroad n f a good education..N i spent all my 10 years of schooling working hard to obtain good grades and i managed to get out of school with a good track of results and involvements in other activities...Too bad things didn't turn out as i wished...Of course there was a time i put the blame on my parents for not being able to provide me with an education that i desired for, but then i resorted to hating the government for denying me n all my friends a scholarship or at least a place in local unis for our tremendous results just because we are off the 'wrong colour'...and trust me, this caused us to not only detest the government but at one point we detested all those gaining from NEP though now i realise at times its not the fault of the ppl who r within the help of NEP but rather the fault lies within its unfair and bias implementation....even till now its pain to see those datuks n tan sris kids being offered scholarship overseas(at times 2 diff scholarship) when we have to struggle to even obtain a local degree..n thankfully i had come to realisation that my parents could only do what they could afford .However, the abhorrence towards the gov-still remains n will remain!And one thing i can say for sure is, many of whom i knew had gone thru this painful 'tragedy' at their teen years that were supposed to be a joyful one, has plans to go overseas one day and do not want to be in a country that looks at ppl based on their colour, status, and so on...But deep down my heart, i do hope that one day the anger within us would calm down and my friends would not be drawn away in all the brain drain tactics as Malaysia needs young ppl like them to rejuvenate into a new Malaysia which is equal and fair to everyone..
written by EYFF, April 05, 2008 00:08:46
What will the bimbo be??

Well RPK what else is new. Under the much abused and maligned NEP you can expect your daughters to be mistreated all their lives under an UMNO dominated BN Govt. That I know from personal experience.

Well I worked with the PWD in Sabah after my Senior Cambridge. Then decided that I could better serve my Country if I was an engineer: which was sorely needed in a developing country. So in 1962 went to Australia and obtained my engineering degree. Return to Sabah in 1969 and eagerly reported to the Central Office (KL “colonial” Office in Sabah) to continue my service with the PWD which was re-labelled as JKR .

They need my service badly. But no, they did not want me as I am a Chinese and would be a danger to filling up the top post in the Sabah govt services: which should be occupied by Malays/Buminputras? Where were those needed Bumi engineers? Still many years before they would graduate! Well in the mean time the govt would fill the posts with contract engineers from overseas!

When I asked the officer what I was suppose to do then. Well I was told I should look for job elsewhere as Govt posts were reserved for the Bumis! What a let down for a young returned engineer eager to serve his country!

So I worked in the private sectors and became as a consultant. Then 30 years ago I was told that I need to have a Malay partner if I want to be registered for Govt projects. Then 25 years ago I was told that 30% of my workers must be Malays. Then 20 years ago I was told that the majority of my company shareholding and workers should be Malays.

Then 15 years ago I was told that all Govt projects were reserved for Bumi consultants including the Govt linked corporations!

And 7 years ago they informed me that I was not allowed to practice as a consultant: after having completed over 330 projects for the country!

Well UMNO Malaysia does not want us! They do not want the competent and enterprising people of other races that could put Malaysia on the world map and give Singapore a run for its money! They do not want other races that could filled the top post in the country. Yes, Singapore, Australia, USA, etc can have them!

No the UMNO run Govt only need Malaysian of other races as donkeys to be ridden on by their corrupted and incompetent cousins!

Well RPK for the sake of your future grandchildren, please encourage your daughters and their friends to be actively involved in politics if they want to change the present system and boot out those misbegottens of the present UMNO dominated BN Govt.

We the older generations of other races built up the country in spite of great odds and prejudices. It is now up to the younger generation of all races to make it a better place for our future generation or else all our sacrifices would be for naught and Malaysia would corrupt its way into being a third world country!
written by Wisdom above, April 05, 2008 00:58:01
Shall we analyse Federal Constitution Article 99 on Annual financial statement.

Then we will know we have RM billions available for education for all Malaysians.

Use Article 102 to help all deserving children.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.
written by KwongCK, April 05, 2008 07:27:08
Dear R020998,
I have worked with three MNC’s in major cities and all the HR depts are controlled by Race X. And guess what, the Malays and Indians are being discriminated! Same fresh entry level, but the starting pay will be according to which race you belong to.

I'm sorry I cannot agree with you. I'm afraid these MNCs are doing what they think is most efficient for their operations. Can you tell us which MNC failed because they wanted to be efficient. Certainly our GLCs fail because efficiency of operations becomes secondary to NEP and racist policies.
written by Wisdom above, April 05, 2008 09:12:32
NEP is dead.

Call it Malaysian Social Benefit Policy.

MSBP for short.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.
written by Rhan, April 05, 2008 10:48:18
KwongCK,

But Deng did say "Socialism with China Characteristic", the very capitalist China today don't tell they are not communist. Same as our Pas, they will preserve the Islamic State slogan. Give everyone some time.

As for cultural revolution, i still think China need one.
written by Rhan, April 05, 2008 10:50:04
R020998,

You can do whatever you believe is right. DAP will not stop you. Go ahead.
written by teo siew chin, April 05, 2008 12:01:59
Dear Renoir

Indeed a rose by other any name - just so long as no monkey pluck it!

I am saddened by the comments here which indicated that many sufferred through being denied assistance via NEP - and many are still suffering. And the blame is on 'race'. 40% of the poor becos of 'race' will have no help from the government? Perhaps the figure is higher?

The 60% who are 'race' qualified - where are they? Did they genuinely get the help entitled?
I doubt it becos in all honesty, many many of the poor ARE malays.
Granted, many are given opportunities for higher education but 80,000 become unemployed thereafter so what is the point!
The malays have been short-changed by the government every which way.
The NEP failed them, the NEP merely conditioned them to accept pittance, if at all, with gratitude.
That the NEP are the crutches of the malays is perhaps merely an illusion - it's like they've been told to wait for a train, though real, never actually arrived and probably won't. We ALL know where the train went!

Pakatan Rakyat better have pow-wow over this issue cos the rakyat need assurances of (1) delivery (2) through fairness (3) across the board.
And a new upgraded 'brand' don't hurt smilies/wink.gif
written by RitchieLow, April 05, 2008 12:51:57
Dear R020998,

I'm race X and I emphatize with you. I just can't see it the way you see though, are you sure those MNCs has polarized color vision or just based their decision on qualification papers and experience. Take them to task if they are because discrimination is illegal.. arg.. we are not there yet. Hope we have such rulings someday.

If we have a more transparent gomen and MNCs, i.e. how decisions are based, we could alleviate lots of this race problems.

written by anallu, April 05, 2008 16:26:28

It seems unfortunate that when, after setting up the page correctly, and typing a fairly long comment, the comment is not uploaded, only with a message saying that I must be registered. But the fact is that I am registered and all the time I had taken to type in the comments is wasted as the comments seem to vanish with no chance of my recovering it!
written by renoir, April 05, 2008 16:42:29
Dear Teo, Rhan, KwongCK and all:

About the Cultural Revolution, it might surprise people here that Deng and his group not only mentioned "socialism with Chinese characteristics" but also insisted that, with the new international situation at the time, "Mao would've approved the reforms." It was Mao, they said, who started the reapproachement with America. Those assertions could be sincere, or perhaps were partly made to reassure the vast majority of Chinese who were still peasants. Make no mistake: today's development was based largely on the sweat and tears of the peasants, many of whom became migrant farmers. It's only recently that the Chinese government has realized the injustice done to the farmers, and steps taken to correct them. I'd written about the Cultural Revolution here before, as Rhan knows. And as he says, China really needed one. Those interested in huaren affairs and wish to participate in discussions can access Huaren.org, ***** General, then Forum. I will touch on these topics again later on that site (I'm moderating the forum with a friend).

Regarding the NEP, as I said above, we all know it's a failure for most people. But there WERE a few, besides the UMNOputras, who also benefited. These few would probably have succeeded even with no NEP, but the fact that the policy did help them makes many think it's indispensable. And though few in proportion to the numbers of those who needed it, decades of the policy have churned out a sizable number of beneficiaries (in absolute numbers). It doesn't matter whether they're "real" Malays or not - lets go beyond race and think of class. If they were poor, than it was a good thing that they were helped.

Now, these successful ones were often co-opted into the UMNO and government machinery (the two - UMNO and government - have often been treated as one and the same thing). So they tend to be influential and insist on retaining the NEP. Why not let them BUT, from now on, implement the policy for all groups irrespective of race, creed, etc? Surely those left out wouldn't mind if they were now given part of the pie? Can we rise above a term that no longer has its relevance under Pakatan Rakyat's administration? If not, and if Pakatan Rakyat thinks that a new "brand" is needed, then by all means go ahead with it. Before that could be done, however, PR must explain carefully the new policy to the rakyat to avoid the misunderstandings bound to be caused by UMNO's disinformation.

written by anallu, April 05, 2008 17:06:12
Dear YM RPK,

Referring to my previous comment, the message I failed to upload relates to my daughter in law in whose case, a reverse action seem to have been applied. My daughter in law, a Malaysian Tamil girl who lived in a rural area in Masai, south Johore enrolled and studied in a Malay school as there was no Tamil school within convenient distance from her house. At that time there was no NEP but only Mara Junior colleges. Whe she had completed her lower secondary classes, she was nominated to join the Mara Junior college as she was one of the top students in her school. She was offered a place and entered the Mara Junior college in Seremban. The girls were not interviewed before selection. In course of time she finished her studies at the Junior college and in response to a call by the Government she was nominated for a scholarship to study at the University of Western Australia. At the interview, the Board members realised that she was not a Malay girl. The members were also aware that the girl had not in anyway contributed to this mix up, and that it was all due to a misunderstanding by the Education authorities. Being 'gentlemen' the Members decided to offer her the scholership, even though she was not a Malay. She read for a double degree in Civil Engineering and Mathematics. On her return to Malaysia, the government was not 'able' to offer her an employment and released her from her committment on the scholarship. Subsequently, she married my son and they both migrated to Perth in Western Australia were she joined the Australian Education Service as a graduate teacher. She is now a mother of three children, two of whom are now students at the Western Australain University. The whole family are now Australian Citizens!

Can any one tell me whether our Malaysian authorities have exercised any common sence in the way they have acted in the case of my daughter in law?
written by gorshan, April 05, 2008 18:50:42
written by East Highlander, April 04, 2008 | 15:30:51
My Sarawakian and Sabahan brothers and sisters, you have seen the tsunami wipe out BN in several states here. When the tide hit your shores, join us in riding this wave to a better Malaysia which is just and equitable to ALL.

Be preapred to take the leap (literally).

dear east highlander, fat chance of that.whereas west malaysia may be just about to give up the bottle,sabahan and sarawakian are still at the breasts suckling stage. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by andywongkch, April 05, 2008 19:10:25
well, folks, what we need is to create more professional jobs. I have come across significant number of Malaysians who graduated from the States with Master degrees but have been jobless in various times for years. Guess where are they now? Australia! There are just too many malaysians who wuold never come back unless there is a huge change in how the government runs the country. Otherwise, more brain drain!
written by Vampiress, April 05, 2008 22:52:46
R020998, agreed! Like this batsman (aka buttsman) and Milo-o (aka boy blunder) say, many ppl now become 'brave' and simply say silly things especially on M-T. No need so cryptic wan, race x = chinese, rite? no need hiding hiding lor. I know, my own race is kiasu and only think themselves (race x).
written by kinistau, April 06, 2008 01:43:24
In the era when thousand dollars high-tech gizmo turns obsolete in matter of months, there is one 40 years old product that is still considered New.

It is still in operation because the manufacturer and the operator claim it has not perform its intended function..

The American has gone to the moon and back when the product was created.. and there are talks of plan to concur Mars.

For something that is not performing to the intended function after 40 years, Are the manufacturer to be blame or the operator?

...say we buy from other brand and fire the operator or at least change the product.. for god sake...

what do you think.
written by KwongCK, April 06, 2008 07:37:48
Dear LChuah,
My simple mind tells me that the very term NEP carries too much baggage for its own good. It only carries positive feelings for UMNOPutras. To the masses it has already been categorised a failed program. It would be good to put it into a shelf somewhere and classified as such. The masses need a new beginning. It may be re-branding but marketing is also a tool. If the government can spend millions on spurious advertisement, a new beginning will not be difficult especially if it shows positive results.
But I agree with you,
PR must explain carefully the new policy to the rakyat to avoid the misunderstandings bound to be caused by UMNO's disinformation.
written by sathia, April 06, 2008 15:45:02
No milk when young, really... we couldn't afford milk.
written by kasmoh, April 06, 2008 22:54:32
Dear R020998,
Can't blame you on that. Since government sector is control by race-Y, you can't race-X in controlling MNC and private sector. Even with these our MNC is losing its competitiveness nowadays. Do you think we will be even compete at current level, if we have a same composition of management staff like the government sector. Please think again, its purely meritrocracy, they only choose and plan to retain the best for the benefit of the businesses. They have many best people from race-Y as well, but at the end they left for government job. Why becoz' they wanted to follow their brother , cousin or sister, to live in a better and less turbulence life with high pay. So, being a season HR recruiter, you should know why they act in this way. I may be wrong, I agreed that race-X is racist (being refer other than their own race as "kui") but the one that will be loosing out is certainly race-Z. They neither controlled private or civil sector. They are the one that we should help. But not by putting 5 of them in jailed.

Ciao
written by tbsbidayuh, April 06, 2008 23:46:38
We have in our midst nationalists, socialists, royalists, Islamists, republicans, democrats, and everything under the sun. So we choose to follow the party that stands for what we believe in. And because of that we have Umno, PKR, DAP, PAS and much more. But are they the enemy if they subscribe to what we do not subscribe to?

In Sarawak, the case is slightly different. That is why they gave 30 seats out of 31 to BN blindly. We have no chance to choose the party that stands for our right. The party chooses us and force us to believe in what they believe. That is why the aborigines could not unite themselves.
written by R020998, April 07, 2008 09:21:18
Dear KwongCK,

I’ll give you one example of my experience.

Big Boss A (BBA) is Race X. BBA was brought up in the UK since he was 3. Then his parent decided to come back to Malaysia.

When BBA joined the company Senior Exec B (SEB) is already in the company. SEB is Race X. SEB reports to BBA. 2 staffs reports to SEB. I was hired by BBA and I report to BBA. My title is Exec C (EC). I was hired by BBA to assist him with ad-hoc and special projects.

When I first joined the Company, SEB acted like a “big boss” and start monitoring my movement. Scrutinized all the little insignificant things like what time I go out for lunch and what time I come back. After 1 month working there, I was confronted by SEB on one Friday because I came back 10 minutes late due to unusual heavy traffic.

I strike back (I was brought up in such away that I don’t take shit from anyone.), I told SEB “Hey, I’m not reporting to you! Besides, I work longer hours as compared to you. I even came back to the office over the weekend.” (SEB did stayed back in the office once in a while, and used the Company phone to talk to her friends. Huh….)

SEB report this incident to BBA, thinking BBA would support her. BBA called us and told us not to fight over small petty things and he doesn’t care about lunch time etc, the most important is to finish your assignment on time. I like to work for BBA. When he gives me an assignment, he would tell me the desired end result but never prescribed the methods.

After a few months, it’s beginning to show that SEB can’t cope with BBA style of managing. So SEB would always be lambasted for not meeting deadlines and also deliver the wrong end result.

SEB realized that she can’t “makan” me. So she decided to make friend with me instead. Every now and then, I learn about SEB job and task even though they are not directly related to me. SSB then asked for my help to vet through her work. I vetted through each and every reports prepared by SEB before she submit them to BBA. I did all these sincerely, corrected every mistake she did and NEVER set her up.

BBA somehow found out that I was doing this charity work for SEB. He called me in and told me that “You are very keen to learn and you learn fast, there’s a bright future ahead of you.”

I was rated beautifully for my Appraisal. Thanks to BBA.

Then come the year after that, BBA told me that he intended to promote me. He proposed to HR but was rejected. HR wants to promote SSB instead and even asked BBA if it is possible to place my function under SEB’s unit..and make me report to SEB.

BBA told me that 90% of the higher posts in HR are Race X. The Company is only for Race X. I laughed and asked him, are you not Race X? He then said “I am a different Race X.”

BBA advised me to leave the Company and look for better opportunity, which I did after 3 months. I joined another Company. Recently, BBA called and told me that he had joined another Company and offered me for a post. I am still considering the offer.

I was contemplating to leave current Company because I’m currently employed with the biggest Company in our industry and my office is very near to my house; 5 minutes drive. It’s bloody convenient. I can go back to my house during lunch time and take a shit. Hehe

However, this Company was run more or less like the previous Company. But I am at different playing level now. I speak my mind and don’t give a shit to anyone. If somebody try to kills me. I will kill him openly, in front of every one.

There is a time when I was spearheading a project and one manager who is also involve in the project called for an extraordinary meeting as he had found some flaws in the project. The manager criticized my idea. I walk through the details and mopped the floor with him. In the end, I prove that all his “concern” are covered and taken into account when I plan the project.

I then ask him, “Are you short sighted or are you trying to kill me?” Since then, I have almost 90% of people working on the project on my camp and gave me full support.

In my current Company, many of the Malays hate me because when they come and tell me their problem, being discriminated etc, I will F*** and screw them. Stop whining and start living on the edge!

Conclusion:

I salute BBA. BBA is a true Bangsa Malaysia. But how many BBA do we have out there?

If we don’t have enough BBA out there, then the Malays will still depend on NEP and government job.

p/s: I hope there will be many more BBA out there. In my current company, many of the younger generation of Race-X are like BBA.

written by R020998, April 07, 2008 09:50:03
Dear Annalu,

I symphatize with your daughter-in-law.
written by KwongCK, April 07, 2008 09:50:14
Dear R020998,
You are one angry soul. I empathise with you. There are company politics around you know. Everybody at some time is a victim of such company politics, including myself. Please don't make this kind of company politics a racial issue.
written by R020998, April 07, 2008 17:25:34
Kwong CK,

If the rakyats are not angry, BN will still be in power.

Company politics? Company politics is everywhere. But if the politics is leaning more towards racial discrimination, then how can it not be a racial issue?
written by KwongCK, April 07, 2008 17:38:54
Dear R020998,
Well company politics and office politics are just that. In the private sector, Chinese, Indians, Malays, Portuguese and whatever will always get sidelined for promotion by Portuguese, Malay, Indians, Chinese and whatever bosses. There's only one position but there is always more than one candidate.
But if you insists that it's a racial issue, what more can I say...
written by R020998, April 07, 2008 18:27:23
KwongCK,

That is just my view and believe. You are welcome to have a different view and I respect your view.

I am just telling you how many of the Malays feel about this whole private sector thing.

They may be wrong, but if we don't address this issue, it might later turn out to be a monster and 5 years later, the votes will swing back to BN.
written by R020998, April 07, 2008 18:33:46
Referring to my earlier post

As far as I can remember, I was raised by my father, hating the Barisan Nasional. When I was 6 years old, I used to cycle around the Taman with my friends. We will pretend to be “traffic police” and tied Malaysian flag at our seat. All of my friends will put the Malaysian flag but I’ll put PAS flag.

My wife read my post and commented that the place I was brought up is not a Taman, it is a ghetto surrounded by kampong cina. My wife was born with a silver spoon and the whole families are Umnoputras. So for her, the place where I was brought up is a ghetto.

Yes she is right, I was brought up in a ghetto indeed.

When I said it’s a ghetto, I mean it. The police have labeled my area as “Black Area”. People sell drugs everywhere. I was once stopped by police at a road block in Kedah. After looking at my IC (the address) they did a body search on me!

When I was 6, I used to play “pondok-pondok” with my friends. One day we found some green leaves in packs in our pondok. I later learn that it is a ganja.

Most of my friends grow up and turn to be drug dealers. Some of the better ones grow up to be Umnoputra and earn their living through small government projects.

So for them, it’s either drug dealer or Umnoputra. Imagine if they have no NEP to rely on?

I don’t agree that NEP should be there forever neither do I agree that NEP should be implemented as it was under the BN. If BR comes into power, the NEP should be revamped and operates on the “NEEDS” basis, not meritocracy.

For now, meritocracy should be practiced by the corporate and private sectors.

If everything goes according to plan, the NEP will only be there for 10 years for Race Y and Race Z to catch up.
written by KwongCK, April 07, 2008 20:03:53
Dear R020998,
I believe you have done quite well in the competitive private sector. For that respect is due and certainly an achievement to be proud of.
Addressing the issue of job discrimination we must, but addressing it from a racial angle is I think putting us in a wrong footing before we start. If many of the Malays feel this way, I guess more Malays like you should step forward to enlighten them.
The Chinese may rant and shout about NEP but mostly they're ranting and shouting about the way it's being implemented.
written by R020998, April 07, 2008 21:50:48
Dear KwongCK,

Can I safely assume that we have agreed that NEP should not be abolished but rather revamped and implemented base on "NEEDS"?

At least, one problem solved.
written by KwongCK, April 07, 2008 22:01:31
Dear R020998,
I think we're in agreement but it would be better to drop the term NEP (as I have mentioned elsewhere) because the term carries too much baggage for too many people.
written by R020998, April 07, 2008 22:54:29
Dear Kwong CK,

It does not matter, put a different brand on it. It's not the "kulit" but the "isi" that matters.
written by Avanza1, April 08, 2008 07:44:23
>>>written by Democrats, April 03, 2008 | 13:28:34
That's why many grads and top brains from Malaysia continue to be away from Malaysia. That's why many brilliant non-malay stay away from the government.
Discriminated from days as "Malaysians" in Malaysia, they are expected to come back and serve "MALAYSIA".

Even the posts of MB and PM are discriminated. We will still have to wait for awhile to see the real Malaysia for Malaysian.
written by RitchieLow, April 13, 2008 05:16:42
De-polarisation
--Palden Jenkins

The poor don't have to live in dire circumstances, just for us. We don't have to live in privileged circumstances to compensate their poverty. This is a state of extremity and imbalance - we need to adopt a middle way.

Comfort and security charge their price: colourless, passionless and stultifying, they spread suffering thinly, making it quiet and insidious. At least with acute pain you can identify and grapple with it. But pervasive, surreptitious pain - the pain of wealth, false security and worry - is difficult to pin down. We call it stress.

From the viewpoint of the soul, it is debatable whether comfortable people are happier and poorer people are unhappier. The soul doesn't judge, it just experiences and bears witness.

Today, humanity has reached a zenith of polarisation, indifference and separation. It doesn't have to be like this.

It arises from a collective paradox in which peaceable people suppress their mutual differences and conflict-ridden people suppress their mutual understanding. Yet the value of such polarised extremity is that it makes us aware of the value of balance and re-bonding in the human family.