To write comment, please LOGIN at content-page.

Spring Bed
Chambers Translation
 Laser Comb Treatment
The Internal Disputes Of UMNO PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Thursday, 03 April 2008 09:37

The “Umno Post 12th General Election: An Assessment” forum was more like an indictment. It was organised by a pro-Mahathir Umno outfit mykmu.net and attracted 2000 participants.

Under the leading of Mahathir, they focus their condemnation on Umno chairman Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who is also the Prime Minister.

The onslaught came one after another and was endless. It is very rare in the history of Umno.

Umno has always pursued authoritarian leadership culture. The party has a strict class hierarchy. Furthermore, Malay culture emphasises on orderly manner. Therefore, the incumbents are generally being treated politely.

"Mahathir's support towards his former enemy, Tengku Razaleigh is one of the approaches. "

However, when the power struggle is getting obvious, factional confrontations are inevitable. They put aside their previous surface civility.

The setback of Abdullah-led UMNO in the recent elections has no doubt provided a moral basis and a reasonable platform for Mahathir and his son Mukhriz to attack Abdullah without let-up.

In the past, the central party can easily avoid this situation by claiming that it is only the personal dissatisfaction of Mahathir. However, as Mahathir's criticisms are gathering support, the central party feels the enormous pressure too. Once this continues, it will have a snowball effect. It is indeed a crisis.

It is worth noting that Mahathir claimed that he has dropped his support for Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak in replacing Abdullah. He changed his tactics.

Does Mahathir imply that Najib should no longer wait? Mahathir understands that his personal force alone won't be effective in pushing Abdullah down. He needs more support from the people to achieve his purpose. Alienating the party's top management is a strategy.

Another strategy is to combine all the voices of anti-Abdullah from the inside and outside of the party, in a bid to enhance the force. Mahathir's support towards his former enemy, Tengku Razaleigh is one of the approaches.

Razaleigh wants to convene a special party meeting to call for the abolition of nomination quota, so that he can contest for the position of UMNO party chairman. As the creator of nomination quota, Mahathir supports the abolition of the nomination quota. He always fluctuates.

After Mahathir's action against Abdullah, Razaleigh will hold a meeting in Gua Musang this Friday (4 Apr). The UMNO's internal disputes start. (By TAY TIAN YAN/ Translated by LEE MEI NYEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by cble, April 03, 2008 09:45:05
Good for Mahathir Bad for Abdullah = Excellent for PAKATAN RAKYAAT
Votes: +15
written by middleway, April 03, 2008 10:04:07
At the surface, some people might not like this contest and challenge from Dr M or Kuli, etc. However, if you look at this objectively, and look at the successful model in this world, look at the USA presidential campaign, this is democracy process, this is trying time, challenge will make a person tougher, when one person failed or face a setback or defeat, its is important how we face with setback and handle defeat, that will make one stronger and better. As such, if we Malays/bumiputra is serious about moving and facing challenge with the global world stage of competition, we must abandon the crutches, NEP/DEB all those jazz. You need crutch if you are handicap, without leg. if you are healthy with hands and legs, why did the government want to force onto us ? kita ada Maruah ? There are so many of us, doing well, if we continue to act and behave with universal value. Do not get into the trap of the Umnoputra and Umnoelite, they cannot bring along those illegal $ to the graveyard, just like Dato Zakaria, rumah/palace besar dan cantik, bila mati, tak boleh bawa rumah/palace sama-sama, Allah ada mata. Mengapa Dato Zakaria mata umur 62 ? kaya-kaya belaka pun, tak boleh bawa $ pergi sama-sama. Mati kaya, mati dosa !
Bila kah kerajaan BN, Umno akan sedar ? Corruption, rasuah dosa ?
kita mesti membina satu negara yang adil, cinta dan makmur, tak ada rasuah,
we must build a fair, just, corruption free, loving country, not the current state. We Malaysia is Per capita Income is 5x lower compared to Singapore,
our PerCapita Income is about us$5k vs Sinpgapore PCI = us$30,000. We can attribute this to mainly corruption alone & mismanagement.
We are losing out to many country, and more importantly, without the good governance, we all Malaysian are loser, we are not even able to compete with Vietnam, China, Indonesia, we have lose out to them in term of the FDI(foreign direct investment). We are the loser, when we pick the wrong goverment.
# Lim: Another scam uncovered
# Selangor government probes multi-million ringgit cheating cases
Votes: +47
written by middleway, April 03, 2008 10:13:44
http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/4/3/nation/20823274&sec=nation

This above is how we lost our wealth to our BN, Umno politician, just like the Dato Zakaria, how possible s small time municipal councillor be so rich wich such big house/palace ? how about those big shot/big time politician, Najisb, Khaili sob, MM Taib, RafikdahAjiz, etc. semua rasuah dosa. All are very corupt, corect corect corect, all hide behind the NEP/DEB to enrich the very rich, the poor remain poor. Let's give hope to Anwar, Pakatan Rakyat, if the Malays and BN are smart, they should welcome those PR, they will give us the less taxes, how can if you are a normal human being, you not welcome the initiative that PR going to extend to us ? free water of 20 cubic meter from selangor, kedah gov give lower cukai tanah, cukai pintu ? how can we not celebrate ? Umno infighting, they are fighting so that they get power and continue to occupy the seat for personal gain, they are not fighting for the rakyat, BN & Umno = they are Rasuah, dosa type.
We rakyat, love our country, please stay away from those rasuah, dosa type.
Dr M is very worry about Anwar, why ? if you did nothing wrong, you dont have to worry, why the previous state gov destroy all the files ?
so, they BN and umno are just too corrupt !
Votes: +39
written by alan cheong, April 03, 2008 10:25:21
it's too obvious.
has always been about himself, never about the people, never about anyone else BUT himself.

but he miscalculated - God is good, God is real. And His righteous right hand will see that WE get the long-awaited JUSTICE.

When God treads on the grapes in His winepress of wrath, blood as high as a horse's bridle and furlongs long will flow - let the mahamunafeeq continue.
Votes: +11
written by FFT, April 03, 2008 11:46:11
Votes: +14
written by Bennyloh, April 03, 2008 12:30:05
MM's comedy..
http://malaysiancartoons.blogs...nimat.html
Votes: +0
written by FTFoong, April 03, 2008 13:55:22
May I ask a stupid question? If an UMNO presidential election candidate receives 130 nominations does it means that Bodowi won't have enough nominations to defend his presidency? Just wondering..kekeke
Votes: +0
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 03, 2008 14:40:09
We don't want AAB, we don't want Najib, we don't want TDM, we don't want UMNO. and we don't want BN.
We only want BR
Votes: +11

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.