Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Leaders hedge and posture as Umno looks for direction

Leaders hedge and posture as Umno looks for direction PDF Print
Wednesday, 02 April 2008 20:49

The Malaysian Insider

Muhyiddin Yassin, Khir Toyo & Co caught in dilemma of divided loyalties

KUALA LUMPUR, April 2 — Wanted: Independent-minded person, personality and charisma optional but must seem able to rise above the ashes of Election 2008 and sound like a reformist on one day and a status quo lover on another. And oh yes, it would help if this person is willing to dump some mud on Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his son-in-law Khairy Jamaludin just to prove his credentials.

This is not a fictitious job. Stung by the election results of 2008, troubled by the weight of opinion in the party shifting against the party president and Prime Minister and sensitive to what a political tsunami can do to political ambitions, a growing number of Umno leaders have begun hedging.

For some of them like Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, it is a question of political opportunism. He senses that in this fluid system, neither Abdullah nor his anointed successor Najib Tun Razak is safe. He knows that he is being watched and discussed by the party rank-and-file, who expect him to show “leadership’’.

So there are days when he flirts with dismantling the party quota system

and lends voice to grassroots grievances and there are days when he speaks like a statesmen.

For some of them like former Selangor Menteri Besar Mohamed Khir Toyo, it is a question of political survival. His state was snatched from him by the Opposition and he no longer has the choice job of the Umno state liaison chief.

Craving political relevance, he has started a blog and tried to remodel himself as an independent-minded politician. To be fair to him, he made his move 24 hours after March 8, blaming Abdullah and Khairy for the huge defeats suffered by the Barisan Nasional.

Never mind that he and Khairy were close pals and had formed an informal political pact going into the party election year. He discovered early that his good friend was a major political liability, and will in the days ahead cast more aspersions on the son-in-law’s influence on decision-making in Umno.

When he was asked at a function yesterday if Khairy had any influence on BN candidates in the recent general election, he fudged his answer. He said he gave the names for Barisan candidates in Selangor and this was scrutinised by the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and party secretary-general.

But I will admit that there were some outside influences,” he noted. Hard to blame Muhyiddin, Khir Toyo, Ali Rustam and other members of the Umno Supreme Council for posturing.

They are auditioning for future employment. They understand that the Umno grassroots is in a mood to find a scapegoat for Election 2008. At the moment, it is a short list of Abdullah, Khairy, and the PM’s circle of advisors.

But the list of scapegoats could include Umno supreme council members who do not exhibit enough “independence’’ or “strong leadership”. With party elections in December, some supreme council members are worried about being punished by the ground.

Some of them are torn between allegiance to the party president and loyalty to themselves. As a compromise, their supporters and aides are speaking to reporters and sending encouraging messages to Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

For Muhyiddin, even though he was given a senior Cabinet position, he still carries the wounds of not being consulted enough by Abdullah over the last four years. There have been SMSes floating around about him teaming up with Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah to challenge the Abdullah-Najib team for the top two positions in the party.

This SMS is likely to be the work of mischief makers but no one should write off the possibility of such a pairing. Not in this is the season of hedging and political auditioning.

written by nescafe tarik, April 02, 2008 21:06:51
Pemuda UMNO Potential Candidate:

Khir Toyo - he need to have plastic surgery to revamp for a 'younger' look.
Khairy - definitely a BIG NO NO to him. Total reject!
Mukriz - I squirm in my seat uncomfortably just the thought of his father
written by bexe, April 02, 2008 21:46:07
There has been a quatum shift in our political landscape - all for the better. These potential candidates and aspiring leaders would be better off if they shifted their positions and alligence. UMNO is dead because the idealogy and methodology has run its course. Therefore there is no need for any of these aspirants to stay loyal. What is required is for any one of them to demonstrate that they have the wherewithall to take our country forward. By this I mean demonstrate that they have the leadership qualities to inspire, have a vision, a plan and the ability to carry out the plans to ultimate fruition.

By leadership qualities, lets start by having clean hands, morally & ethtically upright and unblemished, have the guts to take hold of difficult issues such as the judiciary, the law enforcement, tackling corruption by putting some, if not all, of these crooked politicians in jail irrespective of friend or foe, protect civil liberties by doing away with the ISA, institute electoral reforms, enshrine the separation of powers, pick a cabinet with people of the same high intergrity and ability, allow and encourage oversight, have creative but well managed economic goals and policies, protect the nation and its people, be fair to all,etc. Do this and there is no need of UMNO or BN or any political brand. This is what the people want. Give it to us and we will support you.
written by HJ Angus, April 02, 2008 21:49:01
Since UMNO elections will only be held in December and assuming the BN control is not wiped out by then, perhaps the other components of the BN can offer to start the ball rolling towards creating a non-raced based BN.
http://malaysiawatch3.********...y-to.html
written by Raymond, April 02, 2008 22:17:52
This is music ot my ears. Looking forward to the big showdown. Honestly.. I'd rather keep the weak and useless AB clan than have a dangerous Mahathir clan. I pray that UMNO / BN will self destruct.
written by rpkfan, April 02, 2008 22:29:04
There seems to be total lost of direction for UMNO, similarly to MCA, MIC & Gerakan. The internal turbulent will make them not united for a very long period, possibly another year or two or even many years.

Even they could get a new leader to replace the current one, will it change the complete rotten culture deep inside the party? I doubt so unless the leader is from the other planet.

After they lost control on 5 2 states, this gang will not enjoy anymore political projects, privilege, arrogance and we can classify them as redundant useless political guys. Other than politics, they do not know anything on the way to serve the nation. They will therefore have to force the top to give way, hopefully for a better tomorrow. They may also think of jump to a better ship where PR should be very careful in dealing with. Those rotten people will forever be the same as they were if they are in power.

Let us have a better & stronger opposition (PR is still the opposition) and hope this will bring total change for our country, on positive side.

Cheers, Steve
written by sting, April 02, 2008 22:30:18
Let's fact it...these guys are as loyal as only to themselves. As long as the current system allows them to get ahead, they will posture and tell ya what ya want to hear. If there is an opportunity to potong jalan to jump queue ahead, u think they will be gentlemenly to stay n line???? As the song goes "ITS ALL ABOUT MEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!"
written by coolandy, April 02, 2008 22:48:14
When is UMNO & MIC going to hold their own GENUINE internal inquiries? Gerakan and MCA have done so right?

I found the need for UMNO EGM 1 week overdue now.
written by InEffective, April 02, 2008 23:02:27
politicians still harboring hope of their former glory days - nice.

So are we the rakyat ready and prepared to handover our (and our children) futures to these politicians whose primary objective and goals is their self-interests?
written by exzonerator, April 02, 2008 23:23:38
It seems that the reality of the present situation has not sunk in yet into them. The Rakyat has shown them the door in the last GE and all that was discussed is who should resign, who will contest for which position, who supports whom, and so on...They have not learned their lesson, preferring to shift blame on individuals, instead of recognizing the real faults plaguing their party. Cronyism, nepotism, corruption, arrogance of those in power, losing touch with the plight of the Rakyat, and so on...all these are the factors of their rejection by the Rakyat. Plain and simple!
written by KKchan, April 02, 2008 23:43:17
Bexe is correct in his (her) assessment.UMNO has inded run its course and it will implode (famous last words?) By the way did anyone remember what Rais Yatim said about Ahmad said's appointment as MB? He said it was a dead end. That's famous last words!
We just have to look at our region and see for ourselves how big and mighty political parties have gone onto the wayside, rejuvenate themselves and come back, more relevant to their consituents. I need to mention only two here. The Indian Congress Party and KMT in Taiwan. Unless UMNO can do that in the most dramatic fashion, we will all be invited to its wake soon enough. That's means a drastic overhaul of the NEP (is it not aware that even among the Malays, the policy is seen to benefit only the well-connected?) and a change from race-based politics to idea-based one. KMT has done the unthinkable in Taiwan and it won the Presidentail and legislative elections. It is advocating closer ties with China, including direct air links and talks. Can we imagine this would the case if the old guards were still in control or if Generalissimo Chiang were still to helm KMT?
written by malgal, April 02, 2008 23:49:14
toyo's losing was not so much the opposition snatching away his votes. he lost on his own demerits.
toyo distancing himself from the fracas makes him and all others like him, turncoats. in war, losing side turned their coats so as to ingratiate themselves with the winners. of course it is a despicable act. what is happening in the ranks is clearly losers swinging over to the other side - like monkeys but worse, because monkeys swing for their own pleasure but they swing because they are losers. And worse, they are despicable pretenders. losers leave the field, lick your wounds and stop swinging.
written by mypanida, April 03, 2008 02:53:10
all of them umno are pathetic insects.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 03, 2008 03:22:21
KJ says they are all monkeys
written by truegrid, April 03, 2008 07:54:24
Notice how all these MALAYSIAN INSIDER stories are written from a perspective that is sympathetic to the PM. As RPK reveals, MALAYSIAN INSIDER is really controlled by KALI MULLAH Do you think we're stupid and can't see through your so-called online newspaper? You get exposure in Malaysia-Today, where you pretend to be something you are not. But would RPK's articles appear in your pages? I think not. You lost the war in mainstream media because nobody believes your shitty NST anymore, and now you're trying to BS your way via internet? Bro, go take your two bit spin back to Singapore where you belong. You've already sent your money out kan? Take your NST and your pretend-newspaper Malaysian Insider with you.
written by Hope4all, April 03, 2008 07:57:32
There are NO loyalties in UMNO.. kalau ada peluang untuk terkam demi kepentingan masa depan SENDIRI, TERKAM!!
written by truegrid, April 03, 2008 07:58:01
I TURNED THE NST INTO BULLSHIT and you people stopped buying it.
So now let SCREW you suckers with MALAYSIAN INSIDER

KALI MULLAH
written by Bigjoe99, April 03, 2008 08:17:15
The only way Muhiyiddin can come out smelling like a rose if he can bridge between Razaleigh and Mahathir. Its a tough move.

Najib can kiss his PMship goodbye unless Badawi survive. There is no turning back for him now. Even if he want to, no one will trust him now and put him in no 2 now. He got to make his move for no. 1 now if he wants it.
written by tcutcutcu, April 04, 2008 12:31:20
CHECK OUT THE FREAK LIST OF THE UGLY MAMAK NAZI ORGANIZATION:
1) TUN RACIST MAHADEY MENGELE AKA TWISTING MAMAK
2) KU LI @ HAS-BEEN @ S46 LOSER @ NO PRINCIPLES
3) NAJIS C4 IBN ALTANTUYA @ NUTJOB
4) BODOHWI
5) KERA JAMBANLUDAH
6) ZAM ZAM MAIDIN
7) HISAP-KERIS-PUDDING
smilies/cool.gif MUCKRIZZ SON OF TWISTING MAMAK
9) AZALINA LESBIAN
10) TEKSI NAZRI AKA WITNESS PROTECTOR

WITH SUCH BEAUTIFUL LEADERS LIKE THESE, AH-MENO SHOULD JUST DO US ALL A FAVOUR AND HARA-KIRI THEMSELVES!!!!!