Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The significance of the Monarchy and the two-thirds majority in Parliament

The significance of the Monarchy and the two-thirds majority in Parliament PDF Print
Wednesday, 02 April 2008 16:04

It must further be noted that, according to Shad Saleem Faruqi, as at 2005, the Constitution has been amended 42 times over the 48 years since independence. However, as several amendments were made each time, he estimates the true number of individual amendments at around 650.

For some time now, Malaysians, Malays included, have been talking about abolishing the Monarchy so that Malaysia can be turned into a Republic. Others question the purpose of maintaining a Monarchy that costs money but is of no use to the majority of Malaysians -- other than maybe members of the Royal Family. Others want to retain the Monarchy but they want the Rulers to get off their backs and earn their salary by doing some work. However, when the Rulers actually do some work, these same people will complain that the Rulers should not ‘interfere’ in the running of the country but should instead sit quietly and don’t get involved in matters of state.

Lately, since the 8 March 2008 general election, Malaysians have been talking about the two-thirds majority in Parliament (which Barisan Nasional has lost), though many do not really comprehend the significance of winning or losing this two-thirds majority. And they also fail to understand how this two-thirds majority works alongside the Monarchy.

Why is the Monarchy crucial? Can Malaysia function without a Monarchy? Is a two-thirds majority in Parliament crucial? Can the government function without its two-thirds majority in Parliament? Hey, why ask me? I am not a lawyer. Even lawyers are sometimes lost unless he or she is a constitutional lawyer.

Okay, let’s get serious. Let’s, today, try to understand these issues so that when you post comments in Malaysia Today’s blogs you will not put your foot in your mouth and make a fool of yourself. First of all, Malaysia has a law called the Sedition Act and to make a statement asking for the abolishment of the Monarchy is seditious and a crime under the Sedition Act.

Of course, the Sedition Act can be amended or repealed so that it is no longer a crime to propose the abolishment of the Monarchy. But only a government with a two-thirds majority can do this unless the ‘other side’ will support the bill tabled by a government that does not have a two-thirds majority in Parliament. So, until then, be very careful with what you say because asking for Malaysia to be turned into a Republic can get you sent to jail.

Let us first review the history of the Federal Constitution of Malaysia. From 18 January to 6 February 1956, a conference was held in London to look into the task of drawing up a Malayan Constitution. Britain itself, the host country, did not have a written constitution so it is quite ironical that our colonial master would want to recommend one for us.

The Rulers supported the move to come out with a written constitution and they sent four of their representatives to participate in the conference. The Chief Minister of the Federation, Tunku Abdul Rahman, together with four Ministers also participated in the conference, as did the British High Commissioner to Malaya plus his advisers.

The conference proposed that an independent commission be set up and be given the task of coming out with a constitution for a fully self-governing and independent Federation of Malaya. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as well as the Malay Rulers agreed to this move and with that the Reid Commission was set up and headed by Lord William Reid. The Queen, with the agreement of the Malay Rulers, also appointed constitutional experts from fellow Commonwealth countries to sit in the Reid Commission.

The Federal Constitution of Malaya came into force on 27 August 1957, four days before independence or Merdeka. In drawing up this new constitutional, various factors were taken into consideration.

1) The Federation of Malaya Independence Act 1957, together with the Orders in Council made under it.
2) The Federation of Malaya Agreement 1957 between the government of the United Kingdom and the government of the Federation of Malaya.
3) The Federal Constitution Ordinance 1957 passed by the Malayan Parliament.
4) The State Enactments of each of the Malay States, approving and giving force of law to the Federal Constitution of Malaya.

Invariably, the Federal Constitution of Malaya, with significant amendments included, was used as the basis for the Federal Constitution of Malaysia when Malaya, Sabah, Sarawak, and Singapore merged to form Malaysia in 1963.

Now, it must be noted that Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore did not join Malaysia. Malaysia did not exist yet, then. What existed was Malaya -- and Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore merged with Malaya to form Malaysia. This means, Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore are of the same status as Malaya, not of the same status as one of the states of Malaya such as Selangor, Perak, Kedah, Perlis, Penang, etc. Today, Sabah and Sarawak are treated as just another of the Malaysian states and that is the bone of contention of these two East Malaysian states.

This was also one of the sore points in the Singapore-Malaysia relationship that resulted in Singapore leaving the Federation. Tunku Abdul Rahman did not agree that Lee Kuan Yew call himself Prime Minister of Singapore as the Tunku did not see how Malaysia could have two Prime Ministers. Lee Kuan Yew, on the other hand, did not agree to being ‘downgraded’ to a Chief Minister like Penang, Melaka, Sabah and Sarawak. Actually, Lee Kuan Yew was right and the Tunku wrong as far as I am concerned, though 99% of the Malays would disagree with me on this point.

The Federal Constitution of Malaysia can, of course, be amended and has, in fact, been amended many times. The Constitution itself has provisions under Articles 159 and 161E on how it may be amended. And the amendments can be made by federal law and in the following ways:

1. Some Articles may be amended only by a two-thirds majority in each House of Parliament but only if the Conference of Rulers consents to it. This means, even if you have a two-thirds majority in Parliament, you can’t amend these Articles in the Constitution unless the Rulers agree to the amendments. This would be with regards to the following:

* Amendments pertaining to the powers of sultans and their respective states
    * The status of Islam in the Federation
    * The special position of the Malays and the natives of Sabah and Sarawak
    * The status of the Malay language as the official language

2. Some Articles in the Constitution related to Sabah and Sarawak may be amended by a two-thirds majority in each House of Parliament but only if the Governors of the two East Malaysian states concurs. This would be with regards to the following:

* Citizenship of persons born before Malaysia Day
    * The constitution and jurisdiction of the High Court of Borneo
    * The matters with respect to which the legislature of the state may or may not make laws, the executive authority of the state in those matters and financial arrangement between the Federal government and the state.
    * Special treatment of natives of the state

3. Then there are some Articles in the Constitution that may be amended by a two-thirds majority in each House of Parliament. These amendments do not require the consent of anybody outside Parliament. (The extension of the tenure of the Chairman of the Elections Commission is one case in point).

4. Some Articles, which are not that important, may be amended by Parliament with just a simple majority. You, therefore, do not need a two-thirds majority in Parliament in some cases. (Not sure what these are until I get elected into Parliament and find out what they are).

It must further be noted that, according to Shad Saleem Faruqi, as at 2005, the Constitution has been amended 42 times over the 48 years since independence. However, as several amendments were made each time, he estimates the true number of individual amendments at around 650. Shad argued that there is no doubt that the spirit of the original document has been diluted. This sentiment has been echoed by other legal scholars who argue that important parts of the original Constitution, such as jus soli (right of birth) citizenship, a limitation on the variation of the number of electors in constituencies, and Parliamentary control of emergency powers, have been so modified or altered by amendments that the present Federal Constitution bears only a superficial resemblance to its original model. It has been estimated that between 1957 and 2003, almost thirty Articles have been added and repealed as a consequence of the frequent amendments.

Okay, that is the history of the Federal Constitution of Malaysia and the role the two-thirds majority and the Monarchy play in upholding this Constitution. If further discussion is required we can always come up with parts 2 and 3 of this piece so that, hopefully, in the end, all Malaysians can become experts on the issue and we no longer require lawyers to tell us how the system works.

But before I sign off, can you now see the logic in not allowing any one group, whether Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, in having a two-thirds majority in Parliament? Giving them two-thirds is like having no opposition at all. Better they rule without the two-thirds and the ‘other side’ supports any bills that deserve supporting while they can oppose anything that should be opposed. If this were the case then the Chairman of the Elections Commission would have never seen his tenure extended and the recent general election would not have been rife with fraud.

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by DezMalaysia, April 02, 2008 16:19:00
Agree ! 2/3 majority power can hurt fellow Malaysians in the long run. It's better off that no one rules with 2/3 majority powers.

The current climate is the best for rakyat's interests !
agree 163
written by MCA4dogs, April 02, 2008 16:27:22
It is indeed unfortunate that the generations before me were blind not to see the implications of giving BN 2/3 majority and even more unfortunate to have irresponsible leaders like Tun Abd Razak who invoked the May 13 and ISA. It's just as bad to have Hisham, Khairy & other racists who incite hate & division just to keep themselves in power.
written by sickofitall, April 02, 2008 16:27:58
YM, you wrote: "..But before I sign off, can you now see the logic in not allowing any one group, whether Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, in having a two-thirds majority in Parliament? "

I would argue that the converse is true: that we do need to give Pakatan Rakyat a 2/3 majority in the next GE, but upon their undertaking that certain matters which have been taken off the constitution by BN, are restored. What is clear to me with this recent election is that voters are mature enough today to align themselves with issues and not political parties. So, whichsoever coalition can under take and pledge to restore some of the amended provisions in the consittution, perhaps a 2/3 majority to that coalition would not be a bad thing.

On 8 March, 2008, a mental barrier has not only been passed, it has been overwhelmingly rejected, that is to say that Malaysians are now prepared to vote in the opposition. So, let's see whether either coalitions are prepared to restore some of the damage done be BN!
written by mykantree, April 02, 2008 16:28:16
1.A fantastic piece!.The constitution (part thereof) made simple.Come to think of it, it is often lawyers who make things complicated and beyound the comprehension of ordinary folks, to perpetuate the profession and justify their high fee?.
2.RPK, thanks for alerting us on the evil of any political party have 2/3 majority in Parliment.That will allow the ruling party/goverment to meddle with the Constitution at their pleasure. Folks, we must not allow them to ever do that again.Not after 51 years and - 650 amendments to our detriments.
written by quietguy, April 02, 2008 16:38:25
I agree with sickofitall. Pakatan Rakyat needs to be given 2/3 majority so that they can fix the constitution. Knowing the contemptuous nature of these BN folks, they would never agree to any proposal by the other side, no matter how good they are.
written by wongnoball, April 02, 2008 16:43:33
If we want our offsprings to have a better future, make sure we don't give one side more than two-thirds majority in the parliament like before, otherwise the parliament is just like a talking-cock house for the ruling party. Always bear in mind sometimes the unknown angel is worst than the known devil.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by malaysianohope, April 02, 2008 16:49:32
Greetings Abang Pete,

The problem with the thrust of your argument is that even with the 2/3 majority, the constitution has been amended 650 times which is a record of sorts for any country. So why were the Royalties allowing these to happen during all the 50 years or is it the case of who our Agong rules at that point in time. I wish we could have the present Agong or the Sultan of Perak as Agong perpetually.
written by nightcaller, April 02, 2008 17:02:00
It is refreshing to know what 2/3 majority can do....However, after the 8th March Tsunami, I really doubted if Pakatan Rakyat (i like Barisan Rakyat better) can meet the expectations of the people.

The area of concern is the three (DAP, PAS and PKR) parties has not jelled properly as eveident from the confusion that they have in Penang and Perak. Apart from that, some of DAP party members feel that their Makkal Sakhti is the main cause of the tsunami and thus making demands as well as quitting the party (as in the case of Perak) and this reflects the immaturity of the party members.

Therefore, giving or hoping the Pakatan Rakyat 2/3 majority may not be a wiser move for now. In fact, let Pakatan Rakyat prove to us that they can handle the states delivered to them and let their actions be accounted for in 4 years time whether they deserve the chance to Govern Malaysia or not.

As it is, even if Pakatan Rakyat manage to replace Barisan Nasional in governing Malaysia, they need a lot of expertise to run the GLC's, the state run companies etc and right now they are short changed.

With that in place, Barisan Nasional, particularly UMNO needs to reinvent themself fast, even to the expense of allowing AAB to go and replace with another person so that they can undo their misdeed to the people.

Till then...G'nite M'sia...wherever u are...
written by hitam had, April 02, 2008 17:04:31
The Monarchy is certainly playing its part in our so called democratic country in the absence of any effective check and balances in the Parliament and the Senate which rubber stamps all legislation laid before it.

Our appointed Senators have no idea what they should be doing other than making a few uninspiring speeches in support of the Bills before passing them.

Perhaps they should also be elected by the electorate. Even Zimbabwe elect Senators!

Pax
written by GaryK, April 02, 2008 17:07:26
Quite true to deny any government of 2/3 majority so that they cant simply amend the constitution as it pleases them but then again we also need a resposible opposition not to object bills to be pass just for the sake of objection. If this happens then nothing can be done and we can kiss progress good bye for the next few years.
written by optimuz, April 02, 2008 17:07:54
actually, I was more excited at the prospect of YM RPK being in parliament!! hehehe...
i.e.
(Not sure what these are until I get elected into Parliament and find out what they are).
written by chaiksyn, April 02, 2008 17:08:40
Very good write up RPK! Very informative! Keep up the good work! Thank you opening our eyes!
written by picadilly, April 02, 2008 17:14:29
RPK, The Monarchy needs to exist to be a balance & uphold the constitution.
We cannot have Presidents who are chosen by politicians, but instead have Kings who know what is Important for the rakyat.Just look at the current situation where Tuanku Mirzan took charge of the situation, also proud that Perlis King did the same at the right time. The problem with the people is, the comunication between rakyat & the Raja is not direct, so they have no idea hat is going on in the Kings mind. unlike politicians using ceramah, the Mohor besar diraja is not felt by the rakyat. In time this will change and it must change. we have seen arrogant BN doing away with the Kings. We saw how Mahatir single handedly tried to bring down the Palace while BN while teaching children in schools to Respect King & Country. Let the Monarchy prevail, lets not be a faceless Republic.

ps: RPK , does the High ups in Pakatan Rakyat have access to malaysia today officials. How do you give them a piece of your mind? Do they observe MT?
written by Knight, April 02, 2008 17:17:54
"(Not sure what these are until I get elected into Parliament and find out what they are)."

We are waiting for you to stand in Kepala Batas.
written by Richard Lo, April 02, 2008 17:21:48
RPK, finally your article that I have been waiting for.

Cannot agree with you more of the danger of giving one party 2/3 majority power. The right to change the federal constitution (FC) should be given to the citizens of this country and not delegated to any political parties. If the FC is to be changed, the political parties should debate out the pros and cons of the changes. The decision to amend the FC is to be given back to the citizen of this country i.e. we will vote for the change not any political parties or government.
written by apanama, April 02, 2008 17:29:14
WELL, WHEN THEY CAN RAPED THE CONSTITUTION FOR THE SAKE OF EXTENDING ONE-MAN'S CONTRACT JOB FOR ANOTHER FEW DAYS, SCREW ALL.
written by My2Sens, April 02, 2008 17:32:26
I like having the 2/3 rule. I like having a "line" there.

As for voting in an opposition so that no party has a majority, well that responsibility falls to us the voters.

As for voting along party line on bills when it is wrong, I fell that itself is wrong. You should vote according to what is right for your fellow Malaysians and I do not mean what is right for a few M'sians.

I do not see an issue to the the 2/3 or voting in an opposition to break that 2/3 when the political parties are sincere, responsible and are working towards a brighter future for all Malaysians.

It became an issue because of what BN did that required us to vote in an opposition to check them. Too bad we could not vote them out which I feel would have happened if the EC was honest.
written by DezMalaysia, April 02, 2008 17:35:58
YM Raja Petra, hopefully one day you'll vie for a Parliament seat. As Knight had said, I do agree with him. YM's wise voice in the Parliament can bring great changes to Malaysia. If YM RPK can take on PM Abdullah, it will be a great history for Malaysia when YM wins that hot seat. I'll help you carry the flags in your campaign for free.
written by mikewang, April 02, 2008 18:13:39
If I understand the spirit of the constitution correctly, passing a new legislation doesn't need a 2/3 majority.
However, amending any clause in the constitution which was previously passed by parliament needs a 2/3 majority, no matter how minor that amendment is.

That's what I understand by the word "amendment".
written by nathan, April 02, 2008 18:14:14
THE KING SHOULD PARDON ALL,all the ISA detainees in kamunting... some say there are about 60 to 70 of them.... pls let them go... lets start afresh...give them a new begining.... the people would love that...... LONG LIVE THE KING....
written by singam, April 02, 2008 18:15:45
RPK, thank you for this enlightening article. Finally Malaysians have become sufficiently interested in politics to pay attention.

I hold the same view that no single party or coalition should enjoy a 2/3 majority. We are now full of enthusiasm about Pakatan Rakyat, but very few people, especially politicians, can resist the lure of absolute power. Let us not tempt them.

Once their domination have been broken even at the federal level, the BN components may not remain compliant to a whip. We may actually see individuals or parties voting according to their conscience. When their electorate demand it, they may actually try to comply. So let's leave the matter of restoring the constitution to a later date.

For now, let us celebrate our second Merdeka.

Daulat Tuanku.
written by campuras, April 02, 2008 18:27:01
We are making the assumptions the next bunch of politician will be angels. If we are sure and very sure, that is very good for for those who have such faith for me, I won't hold my breat for it. Read the book "The Animal Farm".

If this mob of pollies are really serious about the rule of law and not empty chatter, they should review that piece of paper call "C" and a swag of other legislation, do away with the oppresive areas and finally put in place a real heavy duty lock to prevent amendments that are against the "spirit the Malaysian consciousness" Constitution

The lock is making it compulsoty for all Malaysian to vote and a referendum with 75% (don't reall care if it is higher) of the country's population voting yes for any changes to that piece of paper call "C". Now that is safeguard. Trust the pollies, no way.

I prefer not to get into the details of what should be in or out, let the Malaysian consciousness decide.
written by Tornado, April 02, 2008 18:30:04
Agree..

Our nation would be better if -

1. Prime Minister choosen from it's own election, saperated from parliment election.
2. Important government branch/department/bodies, which is function as "checker" to be put directly under Majlis Raja-raja such as Audit Dept, ACA and Account Dept.
written by megahyper, April 02, 2008 18:46:04
Like i have said before, give strength to opposition (BN/BR/whatever), make it 50% 50%, everything else will fall in place.

please guys, no more giving 90% or 100% to anyone, so as to get a voice in the government (like they want you to believe). You won't get no voice, they would only cut your throat.

See the result? Now they are awake! both BN and pakatan rakyat. 92%? both go back to sleep.

quietguy said:
"Pakatan Rakyat needs to be given 2/3 majority so that they can fix the constitution."

I don't think so. 60% is most you should give anyone. If any constitution fixing is necessary, I believe it is not that difficult to gain 6% support from the opposition with "conscience", if the amendment is for the well being of the nation.

Absolute power corrupts absolutely. Take a look at UMNO.
written by Long Man, April 02, 2008 18:46:41
agree with you rpk about the logic to not allowing either side a 2/3 majority... both parties 'might' become disaster if they have 2/3 majority... bn already a disaster, pakatan rakyat? they might not reveal their dark side yet...

so rpk, when will you'll be chaengging for parliamentary seat?... just kidding....
written by apasalahku, April 02, 2008 18:48:11
Food for thought:

Quote from Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monarch)

# A monarchy symbolizes privilege, greed and exploitation.
# It is a fundamental right of the people of any nation to elect their Head of State and for every citizen to be eligible to hold that public office, and that such a Head of State is more accountable to the people.
# All people are created equal and a monarch born into power, without earning it, is not likely to be the best person to act as Head of State, whereas someone elected is likely to be chosen on merit for their superior qualities.
# Monarchical prerogative powers could be used to circumvent normal democratic process with no accountability.
# A hereditary system condemns each heir to the throne to an abnormal childhood that produces an abnormal individual as Head of State.
# Monarchy is a very expensive system.

I am NOT calling for the abolition of the monarchy. Repeat: I am NOT calling for the abolition of the monarchy! hehe
written by fikri9205, April 02, 2008 19:19:23
I was told about the parliament keep 'modifying' the constitution to help Malaysia(Barisan Nasional of course)but could not believe it.So,here,it is obvious there is an existence of hypocrisy in the federal government.They claim the barisan rakyat to be 'power mad'.But now it is obvious that they themselves have to 'modify' the consitution to help their cause so that they can somehow stay in power. So,Pak Lah,Khairy,Najib,Hishamuddin.Who exactly is power mad.?
written by sathia, April 02, 2008 19:27:01
But before I sign off, can you now see the logic in not allowing any one group, whether Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, in having a two-thirds majority in Parliament? Giving them two-thirds is like having no opposition at all.

If Malaysians did not know of this before, then definitely an ignorant bunch!

What is clear to me with this recent election is that voters are mature enough today to align themselves with issues and not political parties

I beg to differ. Many people I spoke to just wanted smtg different, i.e. not BN.

written by red1, April 02, 2008 19:36:50
I agree with the opinion above about checking the ruling party at 60% at the most. Winning over 6% is no problem for acts such as repelling ISA, OSA, Printing Press and AUKU. I m sure the BN opposition wants that repealed too once they sit on the other side of the fence.

Another good idea above is to have separation of powers between legislative and executive. Let the Executive be elected directly by Rakyat and check and balanced by Parliament, instead of colluding all the time.

Red1
http://padi-malaysia.********.com
written by bugisman, April 02, 2008 19:44:27

i agree. greater power creates greater corruption...everyone is human. simple majority will do jus fine for the ruling party, PR or BN. it creates a better checks & balance.

i was studying in a royal school...i don't see any fair practice was displayed...just because he is son of the sultan he becomes the head prefect. and he is allowed to break any rules...being disrespect to the teachers etc...jus becos ppl think he has the birth right to do so...

and for some instances, as the head of the state, head of the religion, i heard they were consuming alcohol openly...im not against consumption of alcohol, to me, it's fine. but what i'm saying is, respect is to be earned not by birth.

I think our current king is a great king that do not bow down to the muscles of umno and did what is right & needed for the people. what we need is more of this type of leader of the people...but i must say, it's a rare gem.

yes, it's good to have the monach to act as a check & balance for the system, but after all, they are still human, human makes human errors, human has own's needs & wants, human has preference..

i'm not against the monachy system, but i'm suggesting that we need to have a check & balance in every system.
written by malgal, April 02, 2008 20:29:47
faham. keep em balancing (on tenterhooks) so the boat wont be listing to one side. any one of the parties with 2/3rds will be set to topple the sampan with goodies they grabbed for themselves. Sort of right?
well, the monarchy may have been somewhat ceremonial before, but now i see some good ones like HRH Mizan and HRH Nazrin pitting their courage and derring do to check and balance. They will be the ones who will go down our history as the good ones, deserving of their titles.
written by SUV, April 02, 2008 21:19:39
did hitler need 2/3rd 2 destroy germany n d world?no..it's not numbers..it the type of people,what type of force that has come into "play play"...check n balances part n parcel of society..ancient kings in india made decisons which didnt screw up society,and if they did,makkals chased out the king n his/her ..makkals no longer have the fear of rebelling..hehe
written by shamadz72, April 02, 2008 21:59:25
I believed it will be good if we can amend the constitution for the last time which take the 2/3 majority right for the Parliamentarians to simply suka-suka change our sacred constitution. I would propose, for any major changes to our constitution, the government in power will need to hold a referendum among its citizen and the changes will take effect only if the number of voters voted for it is very high (say 80% agreed to the changes). This kind of safe guard mechanism should give Non-Muslim some comfort that our country won't be turn into Islamic states overnight
written by SilentMajority, April 02, 2008 23:23:32
dear YM RPK

thanks very much for taking the time to provide us with the gist of the constitution in a "layman-friendly" version. I believe this has been long overdue. I believe the majority of the citizen of this country is quite ignorant of their constitutional rights besides being ignorant of the workings and meanings of our constitution.

i believe in this instance we should emulate the "west" and instill in our future generation from young the awareness and knowledge of our country's constitution and the rights that are enshrined in our constitution.

i'm voting for part 2 and part 3 of this article, i have no particular topic in mind, i just hope to learn more.

thanks! :-)
written by Wisdom above, April 02, 2008 23:35:41
Dear RPK ,

Further positive discussion & enlightenment is required.

Shall we have part 2 & part of this piece .

Hopefully, in the end, all Malaysians can become experts on the issue.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

written by Wisdom above, April 03, 2008 00:30:29

1)Can you discuss Articles 46, relating to 'a limitation on the variation of the number of electors in constituencies'.
( 154 seats increased to 222 seats to stay in power )

2)Article 67(f) grant to any states.

3) Article 71 federal guarantee of State Constitution.

4) Articles 99,100 on Supply bills.

5) Article 109 on Grants to States.

6) Tenth Schedule Part I - Capital Grant.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.
written by jamesksl, April 03, 2008 02:01:18
I agree with you that no party should be given the 2/3 majority. MPs should be allowed to vote 'according to his conscience' on any bill that is good for our country & citizens. MPs must not behold to their party but go back to his constitutency & people for guidance b4 voting.

I wish you stand 4 election as an independant n non-partisan MP when opportunity arises. This way you can help to correct 'past mistakes' better as an MP.

jamesksl
written by informalaysia, April 03, 2008 06:24:29

Thanks for the lengthy explanation about the Constitution. This is indeed a good way to educate the mass. Keep up the good work.

I also suggest you run for parliament in the next GE as an independent candidate. We will vote you in and you can be the critic to whichever side that's not doing their job. This way, Malaysia-Today will also stay as neutral as it can be - which is a good thing for us the rakyat.

Cheers.
written by Capt Siva, April 03, 2008 09:10:27
The constitution has to be brought back to the starus of being an honourable document that protects the nation, the people and freedom, in that order.
We need the coalition of non-BN parties in power with two thirds majority for at least one term to effect the return of the honourable constitution.
We can justly accept that the Barisan Rakyat, who have been in the opposition wilderness for 50 years will not turn corrupt or treacherous in 5 years. Power corrupts but it must be long held power that turns completely evil (as with umno and the bn). After the constitution is returned, the people should maintain a non-two thirds majority parliment in the form of the british house of commons. Members can cross party lines and vote as human beings and not as party drones.

As far as I am concerned, if the Malay Sultans are as well loved by the people, wise and brave like the current DYMM SPB YDP Agung, Tuanku Mizan, I, being a 49 year old Malaysian of Sri Lankan Tamil descent, am all for the King.

Will the people do this...........
Are we clever enough or mature enough to understand the reasoning and the processes................
Can we save our country for our children..........
Can we save ourselves...........

Long Live My Country
Long Live Malaysia

Daulat Tuanku
written by SUV, April 03, 2008 11:16:51
ancient times,it was the kings.now,prime ministers,presidents.same function,differnt names.bottom line is society,state,nation,people must be in harmony.history shows,whenever principles of justice,equality betryaed,society becomes choitic.so,it's not 2/3 rd,or who dominates..
written by padhma, April 03, 2008 13:46:19
Daulat Tuanku! Daulat Tuanku! Daulat Tuanku! First of all let’s not forget that under the constitution the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong is the supreme head of the country (See Article 32 and other related Articles in the Malaysian Constitution). The Agong has all the right to make sure that the elected representatives do not abuse their powers. Even in the Rukunegara its stated "Kesetiaan Kepada Raja dan Negara". In the spirit of the Rukunegara and being Malaysians, genrally speaking, and our loyalty is first and foremost to the King and the Country and not the political leaders and the parties.
It is said that Parliament needs 2/3 majority to amend the constitution. That 2/3 can be supported by any Member of Parliament and it’s not necessary for the 2/3 to come solely from the ruling party. Therefore if the amendment is necessary and for the good of the country, then, even if the ruling party does not have a 2/3 majority mandate it may still be able to get the 2/3 support needed through the support of the opposition members. If something is done for a good, then there is no reason for it not to get the support required. That is of course on the pretext that the elected representatives are mature enough and have a working brain.
However in Malaysia, elected representatives, instead of working for the betterment of the people and country, they tend work for their respective party. By doing so they are actually insulting Parliament as an institution; but elected representatives hardly thinks rationally. If we think rationally, the reduction in the 2/3 majority is not a bad thing because this will curb one party from amending the constitution at its own whim and fancy. By not giving them the 2/3 majority mandate we take away their power to amend the constitution at their own whim and fancy; and we could also gauge the level of maturity of our elected representatives. If they fail to show a certain level of maturity and if they tend to forget that they are there to represent the people and not mere puppets of their respective parties, then people can remind them by voting them out the next time around.
The reason we hear people talking about the 2/3 majority mandate here is because it’s the first time the ruling party has failed to achieve that. But now the time has come for Malaysian political system to develop into a more mature and reputable institution. This is only the beginning, a small piece of a yet completed jigsaw puzzle.
written by anallu, April 03, 2008 16:43:51
The Constitution as it now stands, has been hoplessly shredded. Future parliamentarians have to find some way of restoring the constitution to its original state. This will need the cooperation of the ruling and the opposition members. If the present mentality of the BN members persist, they will not agree to or support any amendmets to the consititution brought in by the PK members!
written by brahmmah, April 04, 2008 11:51:45
Well, accoording to RPK, "Shad argued that there is no doubt that the spirit of the original document has been diluted. This sentiment has been echoed by other legal scholars who argue that important parts of the original Constitution, such as jus soli (right of birth) citizenship, a limitation on the variation of the number of electors in constituencies, and Parliamentary control of emergency powers, have been so modified or altered by amendments that the present Federal Constitution bears only a superficial resemblance to its original model."

If indeed the constitution has been diluted to such a level, then, don't we have any other recourse to correct this? May be we need to give a 2/3 majority to any government that replaces the present one to undo the damage done to the constitution. Or are the changes made to the constitution permanent and irretrievable? May be RPK would want to explain this to us. Thank you.
written by cheekhiaw, April 04, 2008 12:20:37
PUTTING BACKBONE TO STRUCTURE

The monarchy may be a welcome additional so-called check and balance. Some call it the 4th estate.

We can have as many structure as we like, but our history only proved to us that all the structure is of no use if the men holding it up has not got the backbone for it.

Royalty included.

written by densemy, April 04, 2008 15:47:05
I still think that its too easy to change the Malaysian Constitution.

Constitutional changes should be decided by the people at referendum.

Allowing decisions like this to be made by the Government no matter what majority is required is leaving the system open to abuse
written by densemy, April 04, 2008 15:53:23
Suggesting that you should limit the size of the ruling party makes a total mockery of the electoral process and gnaws away at the very roots of democracy

A ludicrous idea!!!
written by Century Patriot, April 05, 2008 14:10:46
The present system of 2/3 majority even only with the consent of the Monarch can amend or repeal important clauses in the Fed Constitution is definitely open to abuse as BN has been doing all along.

Today BN has no 2/3 majority, next GE can we assure BN or PR has no 2/3 majority?? Obviously we CAN’T unless the process is rigged !!

In view of this, I strongly recommend that provision be made in the FC whereby certain IMPORTANT ISSUES eg freedom of religion and others [ to be determined through research or public opinions] CAN ONLY BE AMENDED THROUGH REFERENDUM AND INITIATIVES. And this clause CANNOT be amended.
written by tcng, April 07, 2008 14:39:58
9 Royal families in a country with 25m population !? A Royal family in a tiny state of Perlis with tiny population.... If we think out of the box, is there really a need for State Assembly? May be elected Mayor for all major cities and town is more efficient. Anyway, this is just academic discussion