Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Mahathir no longer supports Najib for prime minister

Mahathir no longer supports Najib for prime minister PDF Print
Wednesday, 02 April 2008 09:36

By Carolyn Hong, THE STRAITS TIMES

TUN Dr Mahathir Mohamad yesterday said he no longer supported Deputy Premier Najib Razak for prime minister.

At a raucous event attended by more than 1,500 Umno members, he said: 'Previously, I said Najib but I have changed my mind.'

Tun Dr Mahathir had called on his successor, Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi, to resign and hand over power to Datuk Seri Najib the day after the ruling Barisan Nasional suffered unprecedented losses in the March 8 polls,

But the Deputy Premier himself quickly pledged loyalty to Datuk Seri Abdullah.

Last week, it is understood that the Prime Minister announced to Umno's governing council that Datuk Seri Najib would be his running mate at the Umno election in December.

But while he withdrew his endorsement of Datuk Seri Najib, Tun Dr Mahathir stopped short of saying which candidate he preferred.

The most credible challenge to Datuk Seri Abdullah could come from Kelantan prince Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah who has said he will take on the Prime Minister in the party polls.

But observers believe that Tun Dr Mahathir has moved a step closer to Tengku Razaleigh or Umno vice-president Muhyiddin Yassin as his choice for the top job.

And his support can be influential.

Despite the baggage that the 82-year-old still carries from his own years as prime minister, his attacks on his successor over the last two years have caused Datuk Seri Abdullah serious damage.

The former premier, who launched his attacks against Datuk Seri Abdullah two years ago, has again become one of his harshest critics.

Indeed, it was Tun Dr Mahathir who led the charge at yesterday's boisterous event held to analyse the electoral losses.

He urged the crowd, mostly Umno grassroots members, to speak up to ensure an open contest for party president, who has traditionally also been Malaysia's prime minister.

The participants subsequently turned the event into an angry tirade against Datuk Seri Abdullah and his son- in-law Khairy Jamaluddin.

In fact, the event had the air of an opposition rally - except that it was Umno members expressing their disgust with their top leadership.

Shouts of 'Hidup Mahathir' punctuated the noisy event, and calls for the Prime Minister's resignation were met with cheers.

Umno governing council member Mohd Khir Toyo, who defended the leadership by saying that a change of leaders would not help if policies remained the same, was heckled.

An Umno Youth branch leader set off cries of 'traitor' when he called for the return of opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim to the party. He was forcibly removed from the hall by two men.

There was standing room only inside the hall, and hundreds more crowded around a big screen outside.

Such anger at the grassroots is one of the many fires that the Prime Minister is struggling to put out, and his determination to stay in power is stirring up harsh criticism.

'I call on him to resign. Anyone else would have done so already but he is shameless. We must be brave to reject leaders who bring disaster to the party,' Tun Dr Mahathir said.

His son Mukhriz Mahathir also spoke at the event, saying that it was the leadership of Datuk Seri Abdullah which was dragging down Umno.

Datuk Mukhriz, an Umno Youth exco member, is a newly elected MP.

Urging party leaders to shake off their fear of speaking up, he said: 'I appeal to you, stand by me, for us to find a solution.'

MAHATHIR SPEAKS

Former premier, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, in his inimitable style, yesterday ridiculed his successor and here are some of the things he said about Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi's leadership.

'Even his own state (Penang) was captured by the opposition. Never before did we have a Prime Minister from an 'enemy' state. Is he not ashamed?'

'I know the candidate list did not come from the chief ministers. They brought the list to Sultan Abdullah Shah, and the list is taken to the office next door. It is inspected there (by the so-called Fourth Floor advisers) before being sent back to Sultan Abdullah.'

'I admit I was a reason why the BN lost. I cannot support a leader who is not good for the country and party. I couldn't support all candidates but I said they should pick good people.'

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by DezMalaysia, April 02, 2008 09:49:03
PM BodohWi yang bermuka setebal tembok tu mana tau malu ? Selagi BN belum hancur, selagi itulah si bodoh itu akan duduk di situ.

BN will be wiped out from Malaysia's map by itself. So let it be...
written by temenggong, April 02, 2008 10:00:18
So its going to be a Badawi-Najib versus Ku Li-Muhyiddin.

Still the Anwar-Kit Siang-Hadi-Dompok alternative sounds much better.
written by Hope4all, April 02, 2008 10:04:33
Criticize Pak Lah is like criticizing yourself.

Never before we had a desperate ex-UMNO president who stood for nomination in the UMNO Kedah state division a few years ago and was not even nominated. Today he criticize Pak Lah for losing his own Penang state.

Never before we had an ex-PM who criticize the current PM for the same things he did when he was in power for 22 years.

Never before we had an ex-PM who selectively apologized for choosing a bad successor but did not apologize for the many wrongs (judiciary, Ops Lalang, Proton, Petronas etc.) he knew he did when he was in power.

Yesterday he supported Najib, today he doesn't.

Yesterday it was ok for the 30% quote to be nominated for UMNO presidential elections, today not ok.

Yesterday, it was ok to be "yes men" when he was president, today not ok.

Yesterday it was ok for PDRM to be double standard allowing him permits to cross from state to state stirring support and emotion to curb the powers of the monarchy through the change of the constitution. Today, he criticize PDRM for not allowing oppositions permit but allow UMNO supporters to protest in the streets.

Yesterday, he said he would stay President of UMNO even if he won by ONE vote against Ku Li. Today he criticize Pak Lah for not stepping down even though UMNO elections is not until December.

Folks, is he doing this for the sake of himself, his cronies or for the rakyat?

What's the difference between the TDM and Pak Lah except to beat each other up for UMNO's money, eventually BN money $$$?!?!?
agree 161
written by Jan, April 02, 2008 10:06:36
Mahathir was disappointed with Najib because he did not seize his chance to challenge Abdullah. What better chance than now since Abdullah is at his weakest. Somehow Najib seems beholden to Pak Lah as though his bolls is squeezed by some invisible hands over some shady deals or even that Mongol girl.
written by sydput, April 02, 2008 10:15:50
Mahathir and ultra UMNo trying to re-create another 69 coup-de-tat. I hope sabah and sarawak politicians join Pakatan for Malaysia to proceed forward into the future. Arrogant rule by UMNO should be terminated. This is good for every citizen.
Abolish ISA/OSA/UCA etc. Let These extremist incite racial hatred. they are history as far as most Malaysian are concerned.
written by cubi76, April 02, 2008 10:21:30
Frankly, I dont see there's any capable leader right now within UMNO itself.

AAB, Najib Mongolia aka C4, Hishamudin the keris-smith, Mohammadx2 Taib the A&Z property tycoon. Muhyiddin? If he's really capable, he should have replaced the C4 or Anwar long time ago. And we are talking about the person to lead the UMNO and hence the country(for a few months), I just dont think Muhyiddin is up to the expectation. Ku Li... seems like the only candidate left to be seen, though there's still a darkside of him.

So where should UMNO go from here? I suggest that Pakatan Rakyat to take over for the moment, and you guys go back to your gangland private room, take a deep breath, overhaul the whole BN system, choose a real capable leader, then only come back and face the people.

Please dont simply pull a guy from the street and push him up to the top posts. If you put up KJ as UMNO leader, I bet in two year time UMNO top posts will be filled by Mat Rempits, and race their RXZ to attend UMNO supreme meeting.

written by Saint, April 02, 2008 10:27:21
Mahathir wants to bring back his style of administration.
It is better to be with Badawi, even with all the faults,
There will be at least some freedom left.
written by dialogue 7, April 02, 2008 10:33:52
Yah, I think you're right about freedom. Mahathir should be sent to the slammer for 6 years to understand what freedom is.
written by Jilo, April 02, 2008 10:42:03
Are we not tired of Mahathir propaganda's of who and who for this and that? Are we not made doubtful and confused by his ever contradictions? How come he is so memory sharp when in the Lingam case where he pretend to forget? Why is he still influential when Badawi is at the weakest?To borrow his own statement,"I wonder why"?A HIDDEN Agenda yet to be materialised.Is it is so,is it a personal one or to the best of our messy nation?
written by bushfire, April 02, 2008 11:18:41
BN is a house of cards with the component parties making up the decks,teetering on the brink of collapse. Everyone seems to be engaged in the blame game, pointing fingers at everyone else except themselves. I speak for my family and friends when I say that I could not care less with their precarious position. They were given the mandate by the rakyat to serve the people but for 50 years BN has fallen short on good governance and short changed us,regardless of race or social and economic makeup, at every turn. No more...Now we vote with our heads, supporting the party/parties that serve/s us best. This should be the basis of the changes that BN should effect if they want to win back the voters. If they can show that they are capable of outperforming PR in serving the rakyat, they will win my vote, when that happens.
It amuses us that TDM has become progressively vocal over time, lambasting all and sundry, trying to settle old scores and revive his past glory, if it can be termed as such. He should just grow old gracefully and not try to undo mistakes which were mostly of his making. He should just leave behind the legacy of his achievements and accept responsibility for his follies while he was the PM. He should not practise selective amnesia and try to absolve himself of all blame and attempt to maintain a pristine image. That is delusional and a sign of senility. Your time is over, TDM. Your credibility is in question and that rules out your role of 'king-maker'.
written by prof, April 02, 2008 11:26:33
Considering his age and the inhumane things he had done to a lot of people in Malaysia people shouldn't be shouting 'Hidup Mahathir' they should shout the opposite!!
written by Jan, April 02, 2008 11:32:33
The implosion of UMNO has started ever since they won GE2004, a massive landslide win which they thought is a licence to do whatever they liked.
TDM is only doing what he's doing to protect his ass. His past is catching up on him and he has to make sure a friendly leader be up there to protect his ass.
Najib is too chicken to challenge Abdullah and TDM may be looking at someone else.
written by Kimm, April 02, 2008 11:39:19
Mahathir must be growing old but neverthless he came to his senses and heard and realized that Najib is involved in Athanthuya murder. Yes how can Msia have a murderer to be PM this must be a joke to the world.

Looks like we dont have a suitable candidate. Even Tengku Raz is unsuitable too pro malay and not for all msians.
written by atsanee, April 02, 2008 12:21:54
Lets face it.
Malays still form 60% of the population and we cant deny UMNO will continue to be relevant.
Oue only hope is they get some visionary leaders in there who will make it more modern and appeal more to all races.
People like Raja Nazrin and Zaid should lesd them and not the Muyiddins and the Tengku Razalies.
They need to be urbanites and make the kampung brained melayus be like them.
Then,they will be a good match for BR.
written by KC Chew, April 02, 2008 12:55:31
He has chosen AAB - Now, wrong choice. Later he said Najib should takeover - again, wrong choice. The difference is, the former is after and the latter, before.
written by said, April 02, 2008 13:09:41
……..Old Man Jasin, 30th March, wrote very aptly-

At your age & fragile health , there is no point to bark at every moving shadow . Before you and I kick the bucket , I suggest you spend more time with your family members & help those poor & needy.
You will command more respect , even though during your reign you had offended & neglected many Malaysian longing for your help………….
Mr 10% MAHATHIR IS STILL UNREPENTANT VICIOUS CORRUPTED BASTARD TILL THE END

What is ****ing wrong with you , Mr 10%. You left your job 5 years ago after 22 years and you are still whingjng and whining like a wounded bull. You have had your time and season in governing LAWLESSLY, with billions ringgit bank scandals and cover-up, threatened and jailed opposition leaders without valid reasons, jailed your deputy, manipulated the shit judiciary for your own crooked means, played race against race, received many millions secret commissions directly or indirectly from armed equipment purchases, Pergau Dam (as reported in a British newspaper), set up your children with multi millions of contracts( without open tenders) and so on. Your Finance Minister Daim Zainuddin was and still is the biggest crook of Malaysia, with about 40 billion transferred overseas. Your ministers and officials around you, were pocketing trainloads of money and land; and you tell us you were clean.

DON’T PISS ON RAKYAT AND TELL US IT IS RAIN FROM HEAVEN. DON’T BERAK ON RAKYAT AND TELL US IT IS FOOD FROM HEAVEN.
THE CORRUPT MONEY YOU SIPHONED OFF IN ONE YEAR ALONE IS WORTH AT LEAST 3,000 YEARS OF A LABOURER’S SALARY. AND YOU LIVE 20 TO 30 YEARS LONGER THAN A LABOURER.
YOU HAVE TAKEN FOOD AWAY FROM THE MOUTH OF ALL RACES AND THE ROOF OVER THEIR HEADS.

Up till now, no one in Barisan has the ****ing guts to bring these people to justice and get the money back. Because every one of you was and is involved in the massive massive massive robbery from all rakyat.
You, the Godfather of the biggest crooks, showed how corruption is done at the top down to the office worker.
By clawing at Badawi, you have the motive of pushing up the ladder your cronies Razaleigh Hamzah, Yassin and your son, Mukriz and indirectly protecting your family’s illicit assets against the honest PAS,DAP,PKR state govts. You are shit scared of Anwar Ibrahim because when and if he becomes PM, he will expose the ways how you, draculas sucked the billions from Malaysia.
Your 3 sons had done very well while you were PM. They are directors of about 200 companies and have interests in at least 100 companies.
Compared to Badawi, you are an obnoxious, unremorseful, cruel arsehole.
Rakyat are happy you are not PM otherwise, by now, you would have put leaders of PAS,DAP,PKR, BERSIH, HINDRAF and bloggers under ISA and give them black-eyes, create racial riots with the excuse of using the corrupted police and army to hang on to power to satisfy your psychopathic nature.
Of all the PMs, you have done the most damage to Malaysia.
You had 22 years of limelight, so **** OFF.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 02, 2008 13:12:31
TDM macam orang gila..."makin tua makin bodoh"... macam budak...otak rosak
written by panca, April 02, 2008 13:15:39
najis cannot escape the mongolian haunt, he has to back off and back up sleepy head.
TDM will cotinue to want to play shadow pm even whoever becomes pm from umno as he does with his current successor, that's TDM. like the cynic bridge, get it! Mugabe is waiting for you in africa, probably out of job(OUT OF ARICA).
written by chin, April 02, 2008 13:29:22
I see a Muhyiddin-Kerismuddin partnership going up against the Badawi-Najib team. Already Muhyiddin is positioning himself as the moderate UMNO leader. A Ultra-Malay Kerismuddin will please the Ultra-Malays. Good guy/Bad guy team.

Muhkriz will run for the Youth leader position. TDM happy and UMNO can please the Ultra-Malays and its component partners. Business as usual.
written by shireen tauffik, April 02, 2008 13:44:09
dear UMNO, keep up the gud fight!!
written by maverick, April 02, 2008 13:49:33
fight UMNO FIGHT!!!! it's good to see you tear yourself into pieces.
written by artchan, April 02, 2008 14:11:06
UMNO needs Malays..Malays don't need UMNO
written by tcutcutcu, April 02, 2008 14:23:01
of all the pendatang who have come to our country, mahadey should have been sent back to india.
written by ribena ice, April 02, 2008 14:51:04
what does dr m have anything to do whether najib will be the next pm or not?
what does he have to do with the current govt anymore?
go play golf with ur gang and drink afternoon tea.
of coz he doesn't support najib anymore. why should he? when he probably have plans for his son to be the next pm!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 02, 2008 15:11:10
He is like a dying old man asking for the last screw.
written by AsamLaksa, April 02, 2008 17:09:57
TDM don't support Najib or is it really Najib turn down his support? It seems like TDM would support anyone just to oust AAB. If Najib don't play ball, then he can go take a hike, eh? AAB flip-flop, TDM also can. Such actions only show that TDM doesn't have any long term plans for the survival of UMNO. In fact I'm inclined to believe AAB's side now that TDM is really trying to kill off UMNO.

I wish people would wake up to the dangerous game TDM is playing. He's all talk of UMNO this UMNO that without much talk of actually making Msia a better place. Msia is trying to go forwards and TDM is trying to hold it back, back to the corrupt ways.
written by clangan, April 02, 2008 19:17:30
Who is a better person;
1) Robber that robs a country of 25 million people for 22 years
2.) Murderer of a Mongolian?

hmmmm....Both devils, wonder which is worst...!?!
written by batsman, April 02, 2008 19:56:06
Lee Kuan Yew could not make up his mind either until he settled on Goh Chok Tong. Still looking for a caretaker TDM? or is Mukhriz now ready for the big time?
written by Jengking, April 03, 2008 08:27:09
At last they (including TDM) realise that Najib has no more future in Malaysian politics. Continuing to promote Najib will only erode support for UMNO and BN which is already dwindling.Thats the true fact.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, April 03, 2008 15:10:08
TDM = Old man playing child's game...ha ha ha hee hee hee heeeeee!
written by SUV, April 03, 2008 15:42:37
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif @ tun cukoo iblis kutty...man,dia betui betui marah,gelisah..gerenti tiap malam dia kencing dlm tidur..tolong kasi dia pampers ya.. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by biker979, April 03, 2008 19:38:41
Pak lah coba bunuh Anwar..Anwar cuba bunoh Pak lah. Dua2 nya dari satu kampong. Apa terjd skrg? Yg dapat kampong mereka org laen !! Waakakakaa. Character Anwar yg full of vengenance tak ubah2. A leader who use his emotions tend to bring down the country.

Dulu sering tuduh TDM banyak cronies. TDM as PM set his policies. The implementor is the Minister of Finance who controls the state coffers. Who was the Minister of Finance then? THe DPM kan.

Look at the Putrajaya and KLIA projects. Who are the contractors that were involved in those 2 projects that runs into billions of RM. Whose cronies were they? Itu baru Putrajaya dan KLIA. Gmana yg laen2?

Bro..I pegang duit.I Menteri Kewangan tau.. You nak project tuh? Camne? Takde apa2 ke?
written by apanama, April 03, 2008 21:46:32
PAKLAH. YOUR BIGGEST MISTAKE WAS NOT TO FRY AND HANG MAMAKPUNDEKKUTTY.
THERE IS STILL TIME AND CHANCE TO CORRECT THE WRONGS. IN COMMON SENSE, IT'S THE RIGHT THING TO DO.

FRY MAMAKPUNDEK, HANG HIS BALLS IN PUBLIC.
THEN WHIP HIS ARSE 22 TIMES FOR EACH BLOODY YEAR.

report abusevote downvote upVotes: 0
written by FTFoong, April 04, 2008 11:10:31
TDM knew the truth that Najis personally shot Altantuya and ask Baginda to sort out the mess. Why do you think Baginda reacted so lividly when his father convey the message that Bodowi wants him to tell the truth and incriminate Najis. Whatever it is, UMNO is doomed as there is no credible leader left in UMNO.
written by Bluechip, April 04, 2008 22:45:42
Dalam organisasi Umno/BN masih lagu wujud satu situasi yang masih berakar iaitu situasi "senyap, bisu, dan diam," disamping "Pak turut". Tun Dr Mahathir menganggap situasi ini akan berterusan dan boleh membawa bencana kepada Umno/BN.