Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Umno to hear all sides, says Najib

Umno to hear all sides, says Najib PDF Print
Monday, 31 March 2008 16:40

(THE STAR) - Umno will hear the views of its members relating to the proposal to abolish the nomination quota to contest top posts in the party.

Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak who was non-committal on the issue said there were pros and cons to the system.

"I am studying the matter. I see that there are different views on the matter. Therefore, let us study first the effects of the system that has been implemented and the views of party members whether to review it," he told reporters Monday after the launch of Dayang Enteprise Holdings Bhd prospectus for its upcoming listing on Bursa Malaysia here.

However, he said it would be left to the Umno supreme council to make the final decision on the matter.

Najib was asked to comment on Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's proposal on Saturday to abolish the nomination quota system.

The former Prime Minister had said it should be abolished as it was being abused to prevent members from nominating candidates.

Under the party constitution, a candidate needs 30% nomination from the 191 divisions (57 nominations) to be eligible to contest the president's post, 20% (38 nominations) for deputy president, 10% (19 nominations) for vice-president and 5% for supreme council seats.

Najib, who is Deputy Prime Minister, said the system was not meant to hamper democracy in the party.

"We have to go back to the original objective when the system was introduced. There is no commitment to abolish it. We have to listen to the views of the party members first."

He said the system was originally introduced to ensure only serious candidates contested the important posts not those who merely wanted to oppose the party leadership.

Asked about his personal view, he said: "My personal view is not important at this stage."

The proposal has received support from party vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin. However, Umno Information Chief Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib objected to it saying that removing the quota system would mean that anyone could contest, even if the majority of the party members did not support the candidate.

On whether talk that allowing the top two posts to be challenged would mean that people would know the strength of the president and his deputy, he said: "Whether there is a challenge or not depends on party members. If there is a challenge, they have to abide by the party constitution."

written by jayenjr, March 31, 2008 16:45:22
Aisay Najib Bin Letupan - R U sure can "hear" all sides ah....what with all the C4 explosion at the background??

written by Hope4all, March 31, 2008 16:52:57
Najib, are you starting to make your move? That doesn't sound like pro-Pak Lah to me..
written by coolandy, March 31, 2008 17:34:00
Najib is so full of bullshite. Here all sides my foot. If you are that serious, support the call for EGM. Let members decide.

Najib, I hope you will never become PM of Malaysia and you are a disgrace to your dad.
written by thum, March 31, 2008 17:38:45
Load of bullshit...
If they are truly going to hear from all sides, they would notice that the majority of "all sides" demand:
1. release of hindraf-5
2. meritocracy instead of "state-sanctioned racism"
3. openness, transparency, corruption-free, accountability
4. justice

UMNO is all talk no action
bungkus them all in the next election or earlier...
written by little dragon, March 31, 2008 17:43:12
well well. d cracks in d supreme council r beginning to show.

dis means it won't b too long before v start hearing some juicy stories about najib's past.
written by taufan, March 31, 2008 18:12:01
Say, you don't know how to conduct voting ke?

Let me tell you how to do so and in a democratic manner.

Get all the members (with voting rights) in a small kandang (lembu or khinzir never mind). Then tell them loudly and clearly, "Do you want the 30% or not?"
Get the votes by show of hands (has to be one hand only, as the other hand is being used to cover their noses).
written by hiro, March 31, 2008 19:09:57
Najib forever the fence sitter. Obviously he can't say no because that would upset Mahathir gang and if Razaleigh gets the numbers, Najib will not get his place as PM. But he can't say yes because then Badawi will tapau him with Altantuya case. I think we can just write off Najib.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 31, 2008 20:13:12
UMNO has no ears. Najib has 3 mouths.
written by alienz, March 31, 2008 22:17:20
Najib is in limbo... he doesn't know when to move his chess piece for the final killing... but he knows he has to make some 'threatening' moves so that Ku Li doesn't beat him to the tape, after all his ol' mentor has somehow endorsed ol' man Li for the next president of UMNO Baru. However, ol' Ms Rosmah is gleefully rubbing her hands now...counting the days when she will be officially known as the wife of the prime minister of Bolehnesia. Beware all you Altantuyas out there... she means biznis!
written by omarkhayyam, March 31, 2008 22:41:26
hearing ..... listening .... looking into it .... wei u must be outta ya mind laa,

this jargons r as absolute as my grandma

written by artchan, March 31, 2008 22:45:43
AAb must watch out for this fence sitter..Ku LI knows how the Najis guy backstabbed him. Yes..and since you are going to listen to all side..don't forget to listen to your backside.
written by technoboy, April 01, 2008 07:48:13
Hello, UMNO is doomed, not only it did not hear the people's wishes, likewise it is highly doubtful UMNO will hear UMNO member's wishes.
written by chaiksyn, April 01, 2008 07:49:21
Yeah...yeah...all sides will be heard. Go back to Mongolia lah Datuk C4..your poor dead lover is still waiting for you!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Kang Mas, April 01, 2008 08:02:41
Before Najib was allowed to hear from all sides he should go for a hearing test first to ascertain whether he had hearing problem or otherwise. He could not even hear a loud bang caused by C4 that blew up Altantuya to pieces.