Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Majority ethnic Indians voted for opposition in Malaysia

Majority ethnic Indians voted for opposition in Malaysia PDF Print
Monday, 31 March 2008 16:18

(The Times of India)  - An estimated 69 per cent Indian settlers voted for the opposition in this month's general elections in Malaysia, severely restricting and denying the two-thirds majority to the ruling coalition, Barisan Nasional, a study said on Sunday.

The vote swing in favour of the opposition was as high as 42 per cent in the case of the Chinese, who constitute 33 per cent of the 28 million population.

Ten per cent of the local Malays, mainly in the cities, voted with the opposition.

Ethnic Indians, most of who came to Malaysia during the British era, number over 2.5 million. Majority of them are Tamil Hindus, but there are also large pockets of Punjabis and other north Indians besides other language groups from south India.

Ibrahim Suffian, director of programmes at the Merdeka Centre, an independent polling agency, said dissatisfaction was most evident among Indian voters.

"We heard so many stories of how Indian voters and youths volunteered to help the Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party (PAS) in many places throughout the country," he said.

Suffian said that the economy was the predominant factor feeding into public discontent in the run-up to the election, the New Straits Times reported.

"But ultimately, the tipping factor was the perception that the government was not doing enough to solve problems like the rising cost of living, curbing the high-handed behaiour among some civil servants, particularly in cases such as (former army commando) M. Moorthy's religious status, temple demolitions and insensitive remarks and gestures by politicians.

An Islamic court had last year ruled that Moorthy, who died, was a Muslim and should be buried. The ruling had raised a controversy.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi opted for early polls, cutting short his five-year tenure. The 10th general election on March 8, however, saw the BN losing its two-thirds majority advantage and the emergence of 82 opposition members in parliament.

BN lost power in five of the states as well, yielding ground to Democratic Action Party (DAP) and Parti Keadalan Rakyat (PKR), besides PAS.

Among the ethnic Indian winners is M. Manoharan, the jailed legal advisor of the Hindu rights Action Force (Hindraf), a body that claims to speak for the Tamil Hindus.

Manoharan and four others Hindraf leaders are serving a two-year jail term. Despite his poll victory, the government has refused to release him.

Mohammad Agus Yusoff, head of political science at Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, said that apart from feeling marginalised, the Indian and Chinese voters were unhappy as the government seemed not to think of their livelihood.

"They felt the government had failed to care for their 'stomach'. The rising cost of living made it difficult for them to live comfortably.

"They believed that if the BN was given the majority of votes, the cost of living would go up and this would impact their quality of life," Yusoff said.

Silent voters, he said, accounted for 40 percent of swing votes. These silent voters were people who never openly criticised the government but instead took their grouses to the ballot box.

Perhaps, the swing votes would not have been so high if the government had given out bonuses to government servants, he noted.

"The salary increment for this group was last year and the culture of every community in the world is that they only remember rewards given at the 'last minute'.

"There are more than 120,000 unemployed graduates in the country and next year the number could reach 150,000," said Yusoff.

written by krepot, March 31, 2008 16:28:56
When you have been bombed with water cannons laced with chemicals, called traitors and accused of having far fetched links to LTTE, plus have your places of worship torn down in front of you, just before a religious festival - A fool could have told you that!!!!

But our IDIOT PM and his MORONIC SIL didn't know that!!
written by indianputra, March 31, 2008 16:35:24
The entire developed world including Malaysia knows for a fact that Indians voted for the opposition. Malaysian Indians who were so faithful to the MIC and BN has had enough of polarization and poor treatment. The only way they knew was to use the General Election to kick the butts of the Lords Of The Land - UMNO/BN!!! The lethargic, egoistic and self centered rule of Samy Veloo was brought down to earth.

And yet, have they learnt a lesson??? NO!!! The Home Minister Hamid still maintains that the HINDRAF 5 are a threat to national security. BN until now is refusing to release these 5 who had to suffer in Kamunting under trumped up charges and laws.

BN and HAMID, let me tell you something!! Don't play with Indians.. Please.. don't play with their emotions, their rights and their requests. History has shown that when Indians get violated they become demonic..

We the Rakyat want peace in Malaysia. We don't like street protests, rallies and paint being thrown at your house.

We the MALAYSIAN RAKYAT is sincerely asking you to release those 5 IMMEDIATELY. This unresolved issue is heating up the Indian blood.. Please be warned.
written by batsman, March 31, 2008 17:01:52
krepot, indianputra - the BN has just taken the next step. It is buying away your elected wakil rakyat. The ball is in your court.
written by shamadz72, March 31, 2008 18:43:19
Ten per cent of the local Malays, mainly in the cities, voted with the opposition.

If I am not mistaken, I have read some where that the number of Malays voted for Opposition is around 45-48% in the last 12th GE. The 10% statement is probably true for the total number of vote swing among Malays compared to the last 11th GE, since if I am not mistaken, the total number of Malays voted for Opposition is around 40%.

The higher number of vote swing among the Indians towards the Opposition was very significant in the latest GE considering that in the past election before the 12th GE, nearly 80% of Indian voters voted for BN
written by Chaptokam, March 31, 2008 19:15:40
(The Times of India) - An estimated 69 per cent Indian settlers voted for the opposition in this month's general elections in Malaysia, severely restricting and denying the two-thirds majority to the ruling coalition, Barisan Nasional,

What a great description of Malaysian Indians refering them to as INDIAN SETTLERS and not as Malysian Indians or the Indian community in Malaysia . So they are not citizens but merely settlers which means they can opted to leave and resettle in India . Ha Ha sorry lah even the Times of India thinks of Indians here as such .
written by babakl, March 31, 2008 21:52:38
Where are those umno arrogrant that scream taht they do not need those chinese and indian votes? ali roastom, bloody kj, krissham,and others. I request that you do it again. Love to hear from you. Btw, smelly no value, podah balik tidur sama pm ok. RIP.
written by omarkhayyam, March 31, 2008 23:32:30
not only indians the entire nation voted against any donkey BN fielded

written by middleway, April 01, 2008 07:35:23
BN and Umno, please do no do anything different, please do the same thing all over again, please show us the Kris, please PM listen to KJ and dont listen to Dr M, naik harga barangan lagi, naik, dan ask the rakyat cuba tukar gaya hidup, jangan peduli rakyat, continue to be corrupted, this is your last term anyway. Please do not change, so that you will fullfill your wish, get booted out of malaysia politic, BN, and Umno RIP.