Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Shahrir: Address Malay issues first

Shahrir: Address Malay issues first PDF Print
Monday, 31 March 2008 11:16

(NST) - Umno's image as the steward of Malay interest has been tarnished and it needs immediate repair, said Domestic Trade and Consumers Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad.

He said the party should stop debating internal party affairs, such as whether or not to reduce the number of nominations required to contest the presidency.

"It is more urgent and important to repair the damaged trust.

"It is not about the post or the elections. Right now Umno has to understand the priorities of the Malays and work accordingly."

Shahrir, whose political career has spanned more than 30 years, said when Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad set the 30 per cent quota of party divisions to nominate a candidate for the presidency, the Johor Baru Division was among the seven divisions which protested.

"We are proud to say that Johor Baru Umno has been consistent in its stand against the quota. I say this not because of my position now but because we stand by our statement."

However, Shahrir said, amending the quota regulation takes time, therefore the most practical solution would be to address the issues with the Malays.

Shahrir, an Umno supreme council member, said this after launching the Kampung Bakar Batu Fishermen's Club annual general meeting at Dewan Raya Kampung Bakar Batu yesterday.

On the call to boycott Dutch products over Fitna, an anti-Islam film by a Dutch politician, Shahrir said it was up to the consumers to express their views by exercising their rights.

written by Mr Smith, March 31, 2008 11:38:28
After 50 years of UMNO (read Malay)rule
After 50 years of proclamations of being protector of the Malay race and Malay interest.
After 50 years of Malay Dominance.
After 27 years of NEP and Bumuputraism,
Sharir is still taking about unfulfilled Malay issues.

Come on Sharir, UMNO has failed its own people miserably. Catch the bulls by the horns and admit to UMNO's 50 years of failures, propelled by greed and arrogance.
written by shamadz72, March 31, 2008 11:43:05
You still didn't get it? The problem with UMNO is Badawi and his SIL. Voters do not want him to continue ruining our country.
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 31, 2008 11:43:29
UMNO failed miserably to address Malay issues and the party is now irrelevant. If it does not reform, the next swing could see the party busted. Right now it's on the right track...... on a self-destruct mode. I think when the moment arrives it's celebration time for all Malaysians who despise racial politics.
written by miwaki, March 31, 2008 11:50:33
Why only talk about single racial issue ? Why can't UMNO goes one step further to address Malaysian issues.Make us all millionaires and we will vote for BN .Simple !
written by densemy, March 31, 2008 12:00:50
Is there anything about Fitna that is untrue or misreported?

Methinks we have another red herring ... Why not divert attention away from the truth by stirring up outrage against the Dutch

... and we have here yet another UMNO minister who is living in the past
written by Victory or Death, March 31, 2008 12:10:37
Let Pak Lah and SIL stay.It is good for the nation's health, though may be bad for the nation's wealth!
written by devious17, March 31, 2008 12:27:36
After so long and the malays still need help.

I really wonder does the malay community really need any of umno's help or umno is merely inducing the thought that malays stil need their help to be relevant smilies/cheesy.gif

Give it up umno, the people has spoken, you have had your chance for the past 50 years!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by kent chong, March 31, 2008 12:29:06
ALL MALAYSIAN issue need to be address!!!
written by temenggong, March 31, 2008 12:48:09
Right now Umno has to understand the priorities of the Malays and work accordingly.

Ah, nice to hear that. The opposition is safe then, as umno still does not get the message of the elections. I hope they all work together and rebuilt the party.
written by Ben Nordin, March 31, 2008 13:10:15
The rhetoric is just another nail on UMNO's coffin.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 31, 2008 13:24:02
"They are born stupid. If you give them another 50 years they will still be stupid."
written by sactyr, March 31, 2008 13:25:34
Opposition parties gained votes from ALL races this time, and UMNO still wants to play the racial card. Well as long as they don't learn and keep doing what they are good at, they are going down.

http://sactyr.********.com
written by Vertigo Cure, March 31, 2008 13:29:37
umno still doesn't get it. The earlier these stupid idiots go, the faster msia will progress.

umno fails to recognize that the mentality of the people has grown. Msians (except some racists) now view all races as one msians. If any of the races is marginalized or bullied, the rest will stand up and protect that race. Race politics will not work anymore.

One of the reasons that stifle umno is the name of the party itself. Like MIC and MCA, umno represents the malays only. Unless they change their party name to be neutral to all races, they will die a natural death. Being the arrogant umno, it's a matter of time they fail. How ironic if umno is dissolved on the same day of Old Fart's journey to Hell.
written by bat8, March 31, 2008 13:32:11
Dato' Shahrir

Aya!..since becoming minister, of all ppl, u now sound like of the them. I admire your guts where in 1988 you stood as independence to thrash UMNO(baru) on ur principle!

Dont you know, when TDM took UMNO(baru) to sabah, UMNO(Baru) has ceased to be a malay party when it opens up its membership to all BUMIPUTRAS!

So what is this about the malay interest? What about the interests of your non malay bumiptras members in sabah?

written by joeawk, March 31, 2008 13:46:00
Malays do not need UMNO but UMNO needs the malays so that they can continue to bleed the country.
written by mijoan, March 31, 2008 13:58:33
UMNO is hopeless. We have lost total confidence in UMNO for their pride, arogance & corruption. Malays are not ready to support UMNO anymore. UMNO was projecting an image, which ridiculed the Chinese and the Indians. This the Malays themselves were not happy about. My Malay neighbour said once that he feels sad to see that the Government offices were full of Malays. You hardly see an Indian or a Chinese. What an unfair Government? UMNO has failed to read the mind of the ordinary Malays on the streets and in the Kampongs.

Keadilan will replace UMNO in BR. The Indians no longer need a racialist Indian party anymore. The DAP is now sheding its Chinese image and soon PAS will also shed its Islamic image. We the Malays, Chinese and the Indians are now Bangsa Malaysia. We support the BR wholly and heartily. We do not need BN anymore. 50 years is enough. MCA, UMNO and MIC can go to Hell.
written by SamYap, March 31, 2008 14:29:39
This Shahrir chap is applying the same old strategy of Malay (bumiputra) factor. He is clearly out of step. BUT he is very dangerous. Dangerous because he has always been perceived as a moderate voice in UMNO and if he now begins to use this race factor, we might see an emergence of a group of hardcore racists - the ones who promote race supremacy. I am not sure if this will help UMNO in the longer term, but it would be disastrous for the country.

All responsible rakyat - whatever race or creed - must immediately be alert to such foul tactics which will only destroy the country. I am a born-again Malaysian since March 8th, 2008 and I'll fight tooth and nail to stop this sort of ******* whose ideas will only lead to the country to be an international pariah.

All rakyat must arise and speak as One Voice and tell UMNO/MCA/MIC that the age of race-based politics is over. They either become truly multiracial or they can bugger off somewhere else and screw each other's members because they are of different races.

Malaysia is our country and we will not allow such stupid racial ideas.

If anyone wants to help poor Malaysians - then do it without reference to that person's race.

written by wag the dog, March 31, 2008 16:22:49
The Accidental Hero - Lingam Video Guy

www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com
written by Kal El, March 31, 2008 16:26:35
This ******* is praising himself as if initially he claimed to be consistent bout the 30% nomination thing.**** u lah shahrir.
Talk crap only bout malays whereas what happened in WPI?????!!!
You are a joke and as ass licker to SIL & Bodowi.
Are u a Singapore agent?
To forge ahead, SIL & Bodowi needs to be removed permanently and fast!
written by taufan, March 31, 2008 16:33:15
I say, kita sudah 50 tahun Merdeka.

Take an example of a typical Malay man born on Merdeka day. He would have got married already, have children, probably grand children too and probably would have been dead as well.

And you Shahrir (your wife's Chinese right?) are still talking about this archaic concept of looking into the Malay's interest first. Please don't talk cheap politics here. I am a Malay and I feel disgusted with such comments.
written by Daryl, March 31, 2008 22:04:01
I thought he is one of the better leaders in UMNO. Guess not since he is still playing the race card like any UMNO politicians.
written by seek justice, March 31, 2008 22:07:48
Go ahead and toe the line, Shahrir, we understand! ROSAK LAH LU!

The Malays are okay, no thanks to UMNO. You UMNOputras seem to think we are not and that you need to help us. All that you have done is to help yourselves to the rakyat's share of the riches.

Sudahlah, Melayu jadi mundur pasal lu orang lah!
written by kooiseng, March 31, 2008 22:14:47
This chap Sharir has no new ideas. This is the problem with UMNO. No new ideas. Year in and year out, they talk of Malays issues first and then how to marginalise the Chinese. The Malays Leaders have no blue print for the advancement of the Malays. The only was forward for the Malays is to have the perpetual "milk bottle" provided by the government. This man chased out the Chinese hawkers from Jalan Seggett in JB, supposedly to build something there but replaced the site with an open air car park instead. After decades, something is built there finally. The same thing happened to the tennis courts in JCSC, JB. The courts have been replaced by open space. This is UMNO politics in JB for you. I don't expect much from Shahrir. Just another hot air balloon. Why do you think Bodowi chose him? Because he is another bodowi. No challenge to Bodowi No: 1.