Dr Mahathir: Impossible for BN to win back the 5 states PDF Print
Sunday, 30 March 2008 19:47

Regina William

(The Sun) PENANG (March 30, 2008): It will be impossible for Barisan Nasional (BN) to wrest back the five states which it lost to the opposition in the general election, says former prime minister Tun Mahathir Mohamad.

Mahathir said those who voted for the opposition were no longer interested in the BN and would not return to the party.

"If the opposition governments succeed in governing these states well, even the Malays will be attracted and turn their backs on the BN.

"Even Umno members during this elections secretly voted for the opposition, not because they loved the opposition but for the love of the party (Umno).

"They wanted to send a warning to the party leadership but unfortunately the leadership is still in a slumber and in denial about the losses.

"Not only has Umno been destroyed, but also MCA, MIC, Gerakan and even BN," Mahathir said in his speech when officiating at the Persatuan Melayu Tanjung (Permata) annual general meeting in a hotel here today.

The former prime minister was in his element, raising laughter among those present though his speech was laced with hard hitting comments on the present government leadership.

Mahathir said when the opposition won in the many states, police warned that there should not be any celebrations or rallies but practised double standards when it came to Umno members.

"When Lim Guan Eng spoke about the NEP, all he said was he wanted to abolish the corruption as a result of NEP and there were people who demonstrated.

"Police did not do anything about the demonstrators and they too practiced double standards," Mahathir added.

He reiterated his call to Umno members to speak out if they loved the party and wanted the party to remain relevant in years to come. For 450 years we were ruled by outsiders and we still refused to speak out or retaliate.

"Now the Malays are so scared to voice out their opinion and have been reduced to saying 'yes sir' to the party leadership. If we continue to be like this, we will forever be under the rule of someone or other and never be freed from our shackles of colonialism until the end of time.

"The future of Umno is in your hands, if you remain scared to speak out, there is no future for Umno if those who are elected are those singled out by the party leadership," he added.

When asked if he thought former Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim could one day become Malaysia's premier, Mahathir said it would spell doom for the country.

"He seems to be a man of many parts, changing his tune to different audiences. He is only fit to be the Prime Minister of the Israel and he will destroy the country if he is made Prime Minister as he will allow interference by other countries into our affairs," Mahathir said.

Mahathir was also asked to comment on Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin's statement that the 30% quota system for nomination for party elections was introduced by Mahathir to protect his own presidency.

Mahathir has asked for the 30% party support rule to be abolished.

"When we introduced it, it was done to allow only those who had substantial support from party members to contest and not for anyone to do so at their whim and fancy.

"It was not difficult for me to garner that support then and I welcomed those who wanted to challenge me even Razaleigh (Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah) and even someone who is now Prime Minister (Abdullah).

"I never gave out instructions that none should stand against me but you see what happened to Razaleigh when he wanted to challenge Abdullah in 2004?

"He only obtained one vote from his division because the others were threatened not to support him. Even in 2004, Khairy Jamaluddin won uncontested. I know for a fact that people who wanted to stand against him were threatened and hauled up by Youth Chief (Datuk Seri) Hishamuddin (Hussein) to stay away.

"What is this? If he was a shining and outstanding example we can accept but undue pressure was put on Umno members not to contest against him," he added.

He said though there were those within Umno who would make a better president and said they must have advisers chosen via the council and not their own family members.

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by indianputra, March 30, 2008 20:03:04
It is a foregone conclusion that Penang, Perak, Kedah, Selangor and Kelantan WILL NEVER GO BACK TO BN... In fact, in the next GE, I expect Melaka, Negeri Sembilan and Terengganu will be governed by BR.

BN is slowly disintegrating and BR is perking up.
agree 160
written by strupper2003, March 30, 2008 20:05:22
Muhyiddin was right. Dr M is the biggest hypocrite ever to walk the earth.

Haven't you done enough damage to the country?
agree 217
written by nana tanjung, March 30, 2008 20:05:36
Ini tak boleh pakai....semua orang salah , dia saja yang betul. Padahal dia lah punca kepada semua kekalutan kita hari ini.
agree 168
written by joeawk, March 30, 2008 20:15:51
This old demon is talking like he is so clean and fragrant when he stinks worse than dead skunks. He is the cause of it all and now he is coming out to talk cock as if that he is innocent.

His son must now be staying quietly at home or moving and feeling around the pulse of the people towards his demon father, with his sarong over his head.
agree 133
written by pelukis, March 30, 2008 20:37:10
Anwar will not destroy the country if he is made Prime Minister, but for sure he will
definitely destroy you Mahathir Kutty...and your legacy.
agree 137
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 30, 2008 20:38:32
There will be no more BN, and some of the component parties may even be de-registered, or die a natural death.
written by Mr Smith, March 30, 2008 20:41:46
If I may add. Not only it is impossible for BN to win back the 5 states, it will also lose away the seven states it is currently holding. BN is finished!

To be precise, it was Mahathir who initiated the destruction of UMNO.
He built UMNO on a house of cards viz bonus votes, 30% nomination, money politics, threats from ACA, Inland Revenue and PDRM, intimidation, rewards for obedience, use of AG chambers and the courts to punish opponents, controlling the media -.
A party built on such foundation cannot survive. So don't blame Abdullah alone now that UMNO is collapsing.

agree 124
written by taufan, March 30, 2008 20:43:05
Did this receive a new heart the last time he was in IJN?

He appears to be full of zest, hantaming AAB & SIL like nobody's business.

This leads me to conjure up a joke which goes, "What do you get when you cross a Bodohwi with a Mahadey?"

Well, you will get "BoredoM"
written by Old Man Jasin, March 30, 2008 20:44:19
TDM, You have been very outspoken all your life , especially after the 12th GE.
In Chinese Kung Fu , if its disciple failed to perform well, it was the master who will shoulder and fully responsible for the blame . There is no point for you to fire salvo after salvo at Badawi .It only clearly demonstrate your poor judgement in your selection of the right candidate to govern this country .

Your sworn enemy , Mr Howard of Australia despite having performed extremely well for the country , when defeated by the present PM , he handed over his duty like a gentlement and never open his mouth to comment .

At your age & fragile health , there is no point to bark at every moving shadow . Before you and I kick the bucket , I suggest you spend more time with your family members & help those poor & needy.

You will command more respect , even though during your reign you had offended & neglected many Malaysian longing for your help.
agree 115
written by mikewang, March 30, 2008 21:07:36
When asked if he thought former Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim could one day become Malaysia's premier, Mahathir said it would spell doom for the country.

"He seems to be a man of many parts, changing his tune to different audiences. He is only fit to be the Prime Minister of the Israel and he will destroy the country if he is made Prime Minister as he will allow interference by other countries into our affairs," Mahathir said.

1. I've heard DSAI spoke to a mixed audience during the run up to the recently concluded election. He delivered the same message to all.
2. Israel is a greater democracy than Malaysia with an impeccable judiciary.
It would be an honour for anyone to be a PM of that country.
3. Mahathir would pull the country down with him if that was necessary to save his ass.
written by Harimau Belang, March 30, 2008 21:17:19
TDM you sound like a sore loser. smilies/angry.gif
written by shireen tauffik, March 30, 2008 21:48:53
TDM, what UMNO is today, is what you have raised and moulded them to be. u practically have taken the UMNO balls and put in their mouth for the last 22 years.They are coward,blind, stupid bunch of sore losers who will continue to live in denials.

Now u want them to speak up??? for what?? UMNO is DOOM. UMNO is history.
now let us sing Doom Machalay!
written by Bosan, March 30, 2008 21:54:31
This TDM seems like don't know what he's talking about. Before, he said Najib was his choice of pm, now he wants Ku Li to contest. I think one day he will say Anwar is the best to be the next pm of Malaysia.
written by Chaptokam, March 30, 2008 21:55:35
TDm When you were the Prime Minister , UMNO stands for Under Mahathir No Opposition and BN stood for Buang Najib .
written by myke, March 30, 2008 21:58:35
Old cxxk getting a hard-up talking about his own dirty axxhole.
written by densemy, March 30, 2008 22:00:15
For 450 years we were ruled by outsiders and we still refused to speak out or retaliate

... and that one sentence speaks volumes as to what drives Mahathir. He hated colonialism to such an extent that he would do anything to poison their history. But in the process he also allowed his hatred to poison Malaysia

Everything he did was aimed at breaking the ties with the British, and that lead him to make some incredibly stupid decisions for which Malaysians are now paying the cost.
He masked his moves as Nationalism but in reality it was hatred of Colonialism
written by PenangChap, March 30, 2008 22:01:26
Mahazalim is the biggest hypocrite of all time in Malaysia.
He said "When Lim Guan Eng spoke about the NEP, all he said was he wanted to abolish the corruption as a result of NEP and there were people who demonstrated. Police did not do anything about the demonstrators and they too practiced double standards"
Give a fruitcake to him and ask him go fly kite. He is merely trying to get some supporting audience, knowingly that most of Penangites are fully at the back of Guan Eng at this moment. During his time, not only double but multiple standards did he practise. Disregard whatever comes out from this two-tongue snake.
written by oster, March 30, 2008 22:05:55
Beware!

This is Mahathir's Reverse Psychology.

He wants to push the 5 governments into complacency and fire up the fears of BN within those 5 states so that they can win them back.

written by IbnAbdHalim, March 30, 2008 22:08:03
He has a forked tongue. Everything he says is in contra with what he did before. In fact he's the culprit that cause all the ills Malaysia is facing today. Drag him to court and charge him for treason.

Btw we should thank him for his role in the current affairs. In a way it will hasten the downfall of the regime.
written by alienz, March 30, 2008 22:11:16
Mahatiak now wants to be seen as a saint. He now wants to wash his hands off of the mess he has unwittingly started as early as when Musa resigned from being his number 2. Before giving out any statements he should spend at least a full day in his bathroom in front of the mirror. On second thoughts, why not spend his remaining days looking at his oversize mirror...
written by angfaulith, March 30, 2008 22:18:51
we in pas have gained much from the present chaos. we will wait for the right moment to strike and take over. we are the silent majority.... slowly but surely we grow stronger...
written by Jeremy, March 30, 2008 22:24:12
TDM is not worth listening to. He is the World's Greatest Hypocrite, Believe it or Not. BUT what the heck if he can wreck UMNO with his hypocritcal comments- let him talk.
I am still waiting for him to apologise to DSAI and family for what he did to them way back in 1998.
written by Uncorruptible, March 30, 2008 22:24:47
The more this man (?) talks, the more amaze I am at his hypocritical, chameleon - like, and totally shameless qualities. Is he trying to atone for his sins by accusing others of doing evil things that he used to do with unpareleled gusto ???
written by Vertigo Cure, March 30, 2008 22:36:07
Can't wait for BR to be the govt. It's even better if DSAI becomes the PM. The first to go to jail will be the senile old fart. Hope that he lives long enough to go to jail on earth before he serves the Hell sentence.
written by temenggong, March 30, 2008 22:45:25
I agreed very much with TDM, Anwar will destroy this country if he becomes PM.He speaks different tounge at different place.

Don't fret over this!

We know how to deal with Anwar, Mahathir or any other shit!
written by jayenjr, March 30, 2008 22:52:25
"He seems to be a man of many parts, changing his tune to different audiences"
======================================================= ========================

Right. And this coming form the old goat who, for many years had us believe that George Soros was responsible for the Asian Financal Misery of 97. And what did he do last year? Shake hands with Uncle George(the typical Jewish $$ man)and say that it was a misunderstanding - all's forgotten & forgiven.

TDM - who's the chameleon here la? Do you still think the rakyat as bodoh folks?

written by future, March 30, 2008 23:11:45
I don't think this old man will ever repent of his misdeeds
and let alone apologize.
Only GOD knows.
written by 1eyecls, March 30, 2008 23:13:00
mahateu is a dictator,he even threatenned the Dong Jiao Zhong Association as terrorists or communists,ISA was about to start,but later pulled-back!

During the 1997 economy crisis,he wanted the rakyat to unite and fight against World Bank,given baseless remarks that our market will be attacked again by foreigners,now,the two countries that received aid from World Bank are much better than us!
He showed his arrogants when confronting Lee Kwan Yew,who is a more highly recpected VIP in the world,ppl dont need this kind of Dato Seri Dr...ships,it's shits,right?
written by Ibnukhuzaimah, March 30, 2008 23:20:56
Auwww.. This budak jahat UMNO speaks again.. This Mahazalim.... Tell u what..... This UMNO is an UMNO baru. It was formed and tailored to fit his Machiavelli's political whim & fancy. The day he's gone is the d-day of UMNO (baru/ barua) Long live Mahazalim, we love to hear more of your lawak jenaka.
written by MyView, March 30, 2008 23:24:53

Because Tengku Adnan is BN sec gen, that is why Mahathir says that.
Put a stupid sec gen, that BN will get a stupid result and remarks.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 30, 2008 23:25:02
The toon is out of his mind with his negative thinking, or is he making a last effort before his time is up, to show his dark character?
written by woogie, March 30, 2008 23:41:59
u set the 30pc quota when u are in power. when u passed down the power, u asked for abolishment? stupid old senile, mudah lupa mamak
written by bn haramjadah, March 30, 2008 23:45:17
how fast old man hypocrate changes his tune, before 30 qouta is ok , now no good, before anwar was good, now anwar is bad, before abdullah is good, now abdullah is bad, before, for 450 yrs malaysia di jajaah,so its not soo good where the penjajah rape, steal, take whatever they want, no proper tender, contracts all given to cronies, under umno also same thing so whats the difference, before we eat rice and a little bit of meat, now we eat grass with a little bit of snails, is that this morons idea of haute quisine, while kingkins entertain the jetset, who brought in the jet set, you mahathir with your lavish parties?, bottom line as long as those parasites from umno are having a jolly good time at the expence of the rest of the country, than thats fair. why never bring DAIM TO BOOK, HE SOUTWITTED YOU AND MADE UMNO ALMOST BANKRUPT?, WHY, STEALING EPF MONEY AND RUNNING UP HUGE LOSES TO BAILOUT CRONIES INCLUSIVE YOUR SON, ****ING UP PERFECTLY GOOD COMPANIES SUCH AS MISC, umbc, guthries, you name it which bumi run company without govt assistance or depends on govt essential service has sucedded, don't talk about petronas, (that also another ali baba shell. exxon, bp, mobil run the actual operations) what are umno bumi good for? calling king BINATANG? BLOODY SWINES
written by miwaki, March 31, 2008 00:14:49
Mahathir is wrong to say we will be colonized when Malaysia is not ruled by UMNO.To the citizens of this land,we do care who actually rule this country so long as the people who rule us are clean,competent and humble.What is the point of being ruled by BN when we have to deal with corrupted,incompetent and arrogant leaders.

Mahathir to me is not a great leader,he is self-centered and with big ego.He prefers Malaysians to be poor and stupid so that he would look smarter since he ever been the prime minister of this poor country.
written by Harbinger, March 31, 2008 00:32:57
A snake whether it changes its skin or grows old , will always be a snake.I honestly wish you'd just stop making comments.You almost make me feel sorry for AAB.You chose him as successor,one who's so bloody weak and useless,he just couldn't carry the burden of your crimes.I guess that's why he caved in and followed the ways of the old master.
Go sing the Bee Gees song, " I started a joke ......."
written by apanama, March 31, 2008 01:50:05
I WILL BE EASIER FOR A CAMEL TO ENTER A NEEDLE-HOLE, THAN FOR MAHATHIR TO ENTER HEAVEN. I WILL BE EASIER FOR MAHATHIR TO ENTER HELL THAN FOR US TO LOSE THE 5 STATES.
written by AlanCK, March 31, 2008 01:57:17
I prefer to place my future with people like Anwar than to a super hypocrite like Dr.M

Seemed that Dr.M is very determined to see a divided and weak Malaysia. All these years he cried and claimed he "love" this country very much... YUK! I feel sick and disgusted
written by jeff pang, March 31, 2008 02:43:12
Damn you super racist, hypocrite and mother f**ker old man,

never admit his mistake.

How could he relate Israel with Malaysia?

Dr.M is the main culprit who split all Malaysian into racial groups with his 22 years dictatorship rule.

Damn you!

written by Chuang Tze, March 31, 2008 02:48:16
This hypocritical senile old despot forgot that it was he who built such an impregnable fortress to perpetuate his grip on power and his evil rule of Malaysia for 22 years, by dismantling our Judiciary, removing all and sundry who opposed his rule, his methods and his plundering of Malaysia !!

And it was he who passed this impregnable fortress to the current SleepyHead imbecile, and he is using it to his full advantage to stay in power after his debacle at the March 8th elections !!

I am willing to give Anwar a try ... until the next elections.

written by maisur, March 31, 2008 03:04:10
enough said about this senile demented old man... dia ingat semua orang bodoh ke? dia ingat semua orang lupa ke to what he has done to the country? UMNO is rotten!
written by Bigjoe99, March 31, 2008 08:04:12
I think what Dr. M meant that its impossible to win back ALL 5 states anytime soon. There is some validity to this view. Selangor and Penang have a good chance of remaining in opposition hand even in the next GE. All they really need to do is delve into scandals after scandals which there are plenty and voters will be scared of trusting the BN in these states even if they can't bring a lot of development.

The damage to BN is permanent although it can still somehow be patched up.
written by Atheist, March 31, 2008 08:36:49
Let me get this ......

It was not impossible to;

i) send a malaysian to space (as tourist)
ii) send a malaysian around the world in a boat (almost)
iii) get malaysians to climb/hitchhike a hill (Mt. Everest)
iv) get malaysians to go to the north / south pole

but impossible for WHAT AGAIN ????? Get real and stop the political bashing .... the RAHMAN prophecy is in the hands of GOD.
written by taufan, March 31, 2008 09:05:03
Wait, wait folks! TDM actually have not completed his statement. What he wants to say is, "Its impossible for BN to win back the 5 states, and its completely a gone case for BN to retain the other states too in the next election.
written by Hope4all, March 31, 2008 09:25:54
Typical Mahathir when all else doesn't work on Anwar, bring in the Jews... bring in religion, bring in race issues. Stir more emotions because sometimes talking about real facts and self guilt are not that exciting.

UMNO has been following his trademark here all along and now he says it's ok when he did all these in the past, but it's not ok now.

People who were conned for 22 years have been awakened now!
written by idham, March 31, 2008 09:55:57
susah mau cakap...

org tua ni cakap macam reformer pula sekarang..too late ...damage already done during your time by you..
written by Raja Gasper, March 31, 2008 10:31:42
There is No doubt that Dr Mahathir is an Excellent and Charismatic Prime Minister of Malaysia then but NOT all his views are correct too.Every has
faults and non are perfect.Umno today is UMNO BARU and not the same Umno
as of the Dato' Onn era.Look at the register date and know the facts.
written by kc respect, March 31, 2008 14:24:27
ORCS.............. that's the only thing that come out in my mind whenever I think of UMNO. The hooliganism, the dirt, the despicable beruks.... YES, YES....... Ladies and Gentlemen, let assign "ORCS" in reference to UMNO from now on. "United Mendorong Natang Orcs"
written by thebaker, March 31, 2008 15:09:02
TDM

YES.. for once you are 100% correct that there is no way for BN to win back the 5 states. For this particular case I won't say you are "senile"

Hip hip hooray!!!!!