Samy to help seek release of Hindraf 5 PDF Print
Sunday, 30 March 2008 19:41

Llew-Ann Phang

(The Sun) KUALA LUMPUR (March 30, 2008): MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu will meet Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Syed Jaafar Albar to seek the release of the five Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) leaders detained under the Internal Security Act.

After addressing the party’s Divisional Leaders’ Workshop today, Samy Vellu told reporters M. Manoharan and R. Kenghadaran’s spouses visited him last week to seek his help to free their husband, on grounds that Kenghadran is of poor health and that Manoharan is now a Member of Parliament.

Dismissing notions that he was doing this to gain publicity, he said it was done out of fairness and sympathy, adding that had earlier helped four students and alleged Hindraf supporters get their murder charge dropped.

When told that the detention of the five men had sparked a furore in the Indian community resulting in the lack of support for the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition, particularly the MIC in the recently concluded general election, he said: “The real source for this is poverty, difficulties in obtaining loans, in getting placing in (public) universities). All of these reasons are correct. These are the issues against us.

We raised this a long time ago with the government but the government was slow in taking any action. My question is why is it so delayed? I’m not saying the government has not done anything. It has been fair to give us our own university and college and programmes for training and small loans but it is not to value.”

Samy Vellu also lamented the government’s annual allocation of RM3 million for youth training, saying it was insufficient to fund activities for some 400,000 youths.

He said he had written to Abdullah for a special fund for this and that an announcement would be made when all issues have been "ironed out".

Otherwise, the people will condemn us for not doing anything,” he added.

Samy Vellu also commented on the MIC representation in the Pahang exco line-up, saying he had written to Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob two weeks ago. “I am not prepared to beg anymore. If the Pahang government feels the Indians do not deserve an exco, then let it be like that."

Samy Vellu revealed his plans of going on a nationwide roadshow and expressed confidence of working with his former deputy Datuk S.Subramaniam despite their supporters having disagreements amongst each other.

Just because two or three people cannot see eye-to-eye, it doesn’t mean all of them cannot agree."

Samy Vellu also took potshots at the opposition, saying that they were doing what BN was doing in distributing seats in excos.

Why only one Indian (state exco) in Perak, only one in Penang and one in Selangor? There must be three fellows! In one month (since the elections), I learnt a lot about how to tell lies to people and attract them but we do not do that,” he said.

Earlier in his speech on rebranding the MIC, he said among the people’s concerns were employment issues involving the Social Security Organisation, youth training, the welfare of estate workers, the lack of employment for Indians in the government and micro-businesses finding it hard to manage.

He said the MIC will establish an Implementation Coordination Committee (ICC) to review and analyse community needs and requests through divisional leaders’ feedback.

He said the ICC will meet on a bi-monthly basis and MIC will continue its ‘Meet-The-People Session’ on Tuesdays from April.

The MIC has also launched "An Agenda for Action to Address the Socio-Economic Disadvantages of Malaysian Indians’"which is comprehensive and will be implemented with the Federal Government’s assistance, he said.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by gundohing, March 30, 2008 19:45:05
Ayoyo...Samy, why only now Samy?? Would you do the same thing if you won?
written by indianputra, March 30, 2008 19:48:08
KUALA LUMPUR, Sun.:

MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu today asked the government to release the five Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) leaders under detention, saying two of them should be freed sooner because one was ill and the other was now an elected representative.
======================================================= ============
The credit now goes to Samy..

Not Bersih, not HINDRAF, not Anwar, not Lim Kit Siang, not Makkal Shakthi, not the street protests, not Sivanesan, not RPK, not Hindu Sanggam, not all those NGO's.. ... This idiot Samy is now asking for the release of the 5 HINDRAF people..

AND THE CREDIT GOES TO ... SAMY!!! Podah!!
written by feleaz, March 30, 2008 19:50:32
Samy, before the election, you boldly called those 5 Hindraf men as criminals, why now you are asking for the release of these criminals out of compassion ? Whatever you say now is no longer relevant so just shut your mouth.
written by santhiren, March 30, 2008 19:53:10
I hope this is not meant for 8.00 p.m. news to remind the people of his existence. I do not want to get into criticizing mode on his statements, reactions and accusation on Hindraf so far. I'm glad the MIC president S Samy Vellu has finally realized that the arrest of Hindraf 5 is not fair, and they should be reunited with their family immediately, something that's completely contradictory, if one were to recall his bigheaded reactions and statements sometime November & December last year. The MIC president seems to be accepting the message sent by community.

What saddens me is that, MIC president S Samy Vellu has to wait for the families of Manoharan and R Kengadharan to approach him for assistance. This seems to suggest that the MIC president S Samy Vellu was not aware that the arrest was complete injustice, no truth in government's (UMNO) allegations to justify their arrest and it was only politically motivated arrest.

Nevertheless, lets congratulate MIC president S Samy Vellu, for turning to be modest and his tendency to come out from the denial mode which might not has caused him Ministership if Hindraf and its demands was taken seriously before.
Now the MIC president S Samy Vellu if he really means what he says, shall go all out to secure unconditional release of Hindraf 5 1 (inclusive PWM, President Waytha Moorthy's amnesty if he is subject to). After all Hindraf has helped MIC president S Samy Vellu to tell his superiors and fellow politicians that the marginalized groups need support, fair treatment and their religious right is respected and protected. Now the Hindraf 5 leaders and PWM represent the rest of the Malaysians, oppressed under UMNO led BN coalition too.

Finally, Dear MIC president S Samy Vellu, if the PM chooses not to listen to you still, what would be your next action sir, he has not listened to you anyway, has he?
written by Hope4all, March 30, 2008 19:57:50
Hey Samy! This is the same pandi who accused the Hindraf folks to be criminals.

Why the about turn?? Your Kampung Jebong MIC branch had already joined Kelab Penyokong PAS. There will be more!!
written by Hakim Abdullah, March 30, 2008 19:58:29
sam thinks he could pull a tamil movie on this by getting dollah to allow him to get the release thereby in the eyes of the local Indian community he will be a hero......sam, sam, our Indian brothers and sisters are not stupid lah!
written by redaero, March 30, 2008 19:59:24
This numbskull will never learn!! What more does he need to be convinced that the Indian Community in general does not need him or the worthless MIC anymore??
When he was a Minister, NOTHING was accomplished, what makes him think that the BN Govt. would listen to him now, especially when they know that he was one of the main reason for the terrible performance of the recent Election.
This was the same idiot, who came out in full force to whack the Hindraf 5 & all those who were associated with it, and now he is trying to play MGR?
I doubt that that the two spouses mentioned would ever go to this useless prick for help. Can someone associated with Mrs. Manoharan please verify this, and put it out in the open to expose this lying slimeball.
Listening to his bullshit can make all of us puke!! No one should support any of those stupid workshops that MIC is organising. Let's bury Semi Value & MIC once & for all.
written by raj kiran, March 30, 2008 20:07:42
Samy Vellu also lamented the government’s annual allocation of RM3 million for youth training, saying it was insufficient to fund activities for some 400,000 youths.

30 years wat you did lah samy,now oni now going ask gov to increase the fund.you so stupid lah samy.so every youth gov alocated RM 7.50,what a gtreat mic man lah you.30 year quit and wanna ask now.if you going see bodowi,he will ask you who is this .get lost from MIC samy.
written by taufan, March 30, 2008 20:10:31
Talking only will not do dear Samy!

The people who almost toppled BN have already voiced their demand for the Hindraf 5 to be released, but they can't hear it.

Now you, the big 'loser', is telling them to do so?

The only way for you is to 'walk the talk'. Go and organise a "Save the Hindraf 5" and lead the protest march yourself. Then you can feel your adrenalin working, the way those Hindraf Supporters had theirs working. If you are lucky, you will not get water-cannoned, and who knows you may turn a hero, if those detained are released, by your 'bravery'.

Go Samy go!
written by Atheist, March 30, 2008 20:14:40
Samy is very scared that Hindraf will become the next MIC BARU and the MIC LAMA members will leave him. Don't worry ... that is exactly what is going to happen !!!!!!
written by Kent Tory, March 30, 2008 20:17:39
If Samy Vellu calls a press conference and makes Public Statement

- Apology for his past ineffectiveness as the leader of the MIC.
- Acknowlegdes the fact that he has failed as a leader.
- Seeks forgiveness from the Indian Community and Promises to do all within his power to influence Govt policy to address the community's problems.
- And Finally, to show his sincerity, Promises to pull MIC out of the BN if the Hindraf detainees are not released in a weeks time.

Then, ..... maybe ..... only then....... will I ever want to listen to this guy again.
written by farah, March 30, 2008 20:26:02
Go ahead.... and get the HINDRAF 5 release! we'l be overjoy to see them!!!but not you 'jijik man' yek.. we the RAKYAT still prefer PKR, DAP, PAS, DSAI, RPK.......YOU NEVER.
written by ekt tan, March 30, 2008 20:31:16
Samy,

The Rakyat don't need you anymore you lowly creature. You sat on your fat ass and did nothing as MIC president. Now you come out fighting to support you 'cause'. How fake can you be. Your God will not forgive you for your past deeds. You are such a pathetic fool trying to win back the hearts of your community.
written by PekaTegasIkhlas, March 30, 2008 20:37:24
Hey.... I need to see my name in the newspapers... but why no one comes near me... ???sob.. sob... OK OK I got their attention now. see everyone is aware that I am (still)around and (shamefully)alive.
What shall be the topic of my next drama... mmmm. Ah looks like I have to cook something every week to see my name printed.. aiyoohh penatlah..
written by budakindia, March 30, 2008 20:49:33
after all these years? come on samy ! trying your luck on cheap publicity! how cheap! smilies/grin.gif
written by ray111, March 30, 2008 21:03:03
sam velu in the first place who do you think you are? you think what comes out of your mouth is gold? lets be honest. What comes out of your mouth is shitttt. who do you think you are now? in the first place you should not be leading mic now. only thick skin ppl like you will stay on to lead a cancerous party when yoor party lose so badly in the GE and yet you still got to be around and want to reinvent and restruct the party. Mic has lost its significance at BN and you and that is why Pahang refuse to appoint any indian exco. Stubborn head like Adnan will not entertain you. You can write 100 letters to him or you can kiss AAB ass to beg AAB to talk to adnan lets see whether mic can get the pahang exco seat. eelek tambi! after losing so badly now only you want to seek the release the 5 hindraf heros? isnt it a little too late. LKS has started the ball rolling. i dont think AAB will entertain you. come on tambi lets face facts.
written by mypanida, March 30, 2008 21:47:15
dye your toupee white and we might not laugh at you..... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

zzzz
written by NRR, March 30, 2008 22:01:40
The Indian community has made known their displeasure over your performance and promises. So please retire and let someone else take the lead. You said the govt gave the Indians their University and College. Do you honestly think that any smart Indian from an average family can get into AIMST? not unless they are very very rich. so what is the use of the University in name only when not many Indians can enter. Everything you said has been there ever since you took office. Nothing done and you say that you have been demanding from the govt but govt was slow in reacting. Yes, 50 years too slow.
written by marcusg, March 30, 2008 22:30:56
A drowning Samy clutching at straws... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif. This serpent is the most cunning of all!
written by qitaro, March 30, 2008 23:06:06
This bloody ugly fat pariah pundek is sooooo pathetic ... using such lowly trick to earn credits for himself.

He think Malaysians are really that stupid meh? To fall for his cheap trick again?

Aiyoyo ... you are well past the point of redemption la ... just ... PODAH!

written by bigben, March 30, 2008 23:10:14
to samy and mahatir. these comments about you guys will be recorded in our history for your future generations to read. can you imagine the shame it will bring upon them? i suggest you guys stay out of the lime light and avoid continuing to antagonise the rakyat as it will only bring out more of the truth. we just hate you guys. can you understand that?
written by woogie, March 30, 2008 23:18:24
Hypocrite..
Buat wayang..
don't you remember Samy is the one who condemm the HINDRAF rally??
don't you remember, Samy, you are the one who said those involved must be put into ISA???
So now why now there's sympathy inside your heart?
One word - HYPOCRITE
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 30, 2008 23:21:23
Dissolve MIC and throw all your support to Hindraf until the next GE.
written by benjo, March 30, 2008 23:24:10
Why must the 5 Hindraf leaders be released on compassion? They have done nothing wrong. There is no proof whatsoever until today that they have been security threats and linked to the tigers. They should just be released as of right. Whatever they stood for or fought for has been proven to be right and a worthy cause. Practically, every BN leaders and component party leaders have directly or indirectly admitted to the issues raised by Hindraf regarding the Indian community. Samy velu is admitting to it even now. Samy can say the government is not doing it or delaying but others can't. It is just a matter of time before they are released and this guy is trying to get some credit for it. Samy, just hibernate with Subra & the others.
written by MyView, March 30, 2008 23:26:53
Samy wants to see these Hindraf 5, youre the causes of all these MIC defeats.
I want to punch you.
written by nowinnofee, March 30, 2008 23:30:16
let me tell y0u what is sad, that old man is using many of his chairmen to undertake his kuli job and do the despatch boy work in the promise that he will give them some important positions. I feel sorry for this old men who still are blinded by this cunning and persuasive speech.
I know this for a fact...he now has no one and he is slowly going back to people whom he took for granted and ignored them when they needed him the most and what is pityful is that these people are loyal employees of him.
he will burn in hell for all the sins and unjust he has done to the indians
written by Kedahan, March 31, 2008 01:12:44
Headline is incomplete, should have read:

"Samy to help seek release of Hindraf 5, which he had condemned in the first place, in hope of saving his own sorry ass!" smilies/cheesy.gif
written by wood, March 31, 2008 01:21:34
Datuk Seri, glad to hear you are trying to do something for the five Hindraf leaders. Hopefully what you are saying can be heard and make sure it is heard! Not think it is heard!!!!!
Wish you all the best and hope they can get out soon to join their families and join the rakyat who have elected one of them.
We could do with more love in this world.
written by AlanCK, March 31, 2008 01:26:39
This old man is up to his old tricks again but who are you kidding la. What make you think that now those in UMNOputera will listen to you? Why suddenly now you appear to be championing human rights?

You refuse to and you will never learn, so just shut up la !!!
written by omarkhayyam, March 31, 2008 01:45:53
even in death he seeks recognition smilies/smiley.gif

lembu punya susu samy nama dapat

written by Wakeupmsia, March 31, 2008 02:03:24
THAMBI!!! You can fool some at all times. You can fool all at some times BUT YOU CANNOT FOOL ALL AT ALL TIMES!

You live on borrowed time, Hoi Sami! Wakeup-lah!. Quote and unquote-Your mock coffin has been displayed and awaits you in London by Hindraf.

In short - SAMI, YOU ARE FIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In short - You 'murdered Malaysian Indians for far too long."

In short - You are no longer the 'leader' of Malaysian in particular Malaysian Indians.

So, POREK! POREK! POREK!
written by Iliyas, March 31, 2008 02:23:45
And the Academy Award for best Actor goes to SAMY VELU.
written by donplay, March 31, 2008 02:27:27
...and one fine day Dracula said, "if you remove this stake from my heart, I will build a blood bank for you all!"

machan, just FO gracefully lah. we don't need you, and that's forever! it looks like even if we shove a burning missile through your body where the sun don't shine, you still won't get the message. sigh! help RPK!!
written by artchan, March 31, 2008 06:40:23
Only now Samy? **** you..I remember in Prai..when confronted you were asked to seek their release..your reply was that they are criminals..you can't simply release criminals.

Go to hell
written by bugisman, March 31, 2008 07:00:25
someone is trying to be savaji now...remember your advertising line?

"bear the consquences if you dont vote for us"

now bear the consquences and stuff your toopee to the toilet bowl..buang shoi~
written by bugisman, March 31, 2008 07:03:25
someone is trying to be sivaji. remember your advertising line?

"bear the consquences if you dont vote for us"

now bear the consquences, stuff your toopee into the toilet bowl, buang shoi~
written by chaiksyn, March 31, 2008 09:18:58
You should be detained under ISA Sammy....you liar...you crap..you..you..go to hell!!!!
written by KM Wong, March 31, 2008 09:33:15
This spineless creature is beyond all help. Let's not waste our time on him. Like Zakaria Deros, if no one on earth is willing to curb him then it will be left to higher authorities. Don't worry he will be roped in very soon.
written by Raja Gasper, March 31, 2008 10:41:05
Let Sammy Vellu do this Good Job so his SINS are forgiven.Let make no mistakes
that Sammy Vellu is the culprit who orders the arrest of the 5 Hindraf leaders
under ISA for his own benefits.Thinking good PM Badawi just follows the advice.

After the release of the 5 Hindraf leader from ISA,then Sammy Vellu also should
returned back the MAIKA shareholers Money to the Indian Community and they will
FOREGIVE and FORGET all your wrongdoings as bad karma.

written by anniyan, March 31, 2008 12:00:35
Is this the same Semi-Value that talked in the News and Paper on Dec-14 a day after the Hindraf 5 detained under ISA ? Its prooven clearly a Political Gimmic to divert Indians attention back to MIC ! Semi-Value knows now Indians are 100% behind Hindraf movement as the result of his personal survey around malaysia and to win them back to MIC is to act as a saint !

Hahaha nice try dei !
You cant play with the force of Makkal Sakthi ! We have shown u the exit door at the 12th GE !