Open Tender Doesn't Guarantee Fairness, Says PM PDF Print
Sunday, 30 March 2008 10:17

BUTTERWORTH, March 30 (Bernama) -- Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi Saturday lashed out at the Penang state government for adopting a fully open tender system as it does not guarantee fairness to those who are financially weak to compete.

He said in principle the proposal by the state government to emphasise on equitability appeared to be good but this would actually result in only those who were financially strong benefiting from the system.

"The transparency, open tender and open bidding approach is certainly good and gives comfort to everyone but we have to remind them that not everything that is said to be equitable is fair. Actually, only the strong and those with financial capacity will derive benefits from it.

"This is our reminder to them because it is our (Barisan Nasional's) responsibility as the opposition party (in Penang) to give our views and we will become an opposition that is active, sensitive and curious about what is happening in Penang. We are not around just to keep the seat warm," he said at a thanksgiving gathering held by the Penang Umno Liaison Body, here Saturday night.

He clarified that the New Economic Policy (NEP) was not merely for the Bumiputeras as it also assisted the Chinese and Indian communities because the policy was not racially biased. He said the NEP was a national approach implemented to eliminate poverty regardless of race, enable equitable distribution to the people including enlarging the Bumiputera Commercial and Industrial Community (BCIC) and ensuring a robust economic growth to be enjoyed by all races.

Abdullah, who is also the chairman of the State Umno Liaison Body, reminded the 11 Umno Assemblymen, who represent the Barisan Nasional (BN), to fight for the cause of all races in the state.

"They have a heavy responsibility not only as the Assemblymen in their constituency but also as the opposition in the State Assembly," he said.

As such, he praised the strategy of the State Umno Liaison Body to give each Assemblyman a responsibility or portfolio to monitor the implementation of state government policies.

At the meeting of the state Umno management committee chaired by Adullah earlier Saturday, it was decided that a `shadow executive council' would be appointed with each of the Umno assemblymen who won in the recent general election being given portfolios equivalent to the state government executive council.

The Prime Minister also gave an assurance to the people of Penang that the federal government led by the BN would continue to give effective service to the people and fulfil the promises contained in its manifesto.

Also present at the gathering were deputy chairman of the Penang Umno Liaison Body Datuk Seri Abdul Rashid Abdullah, Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon and Perlis Umno Liaison chairman Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim.
Comments (83)Add Comment
written by Biztrack, March 30, 2008 10:25:12

Helloooooo, Mr PM .....

If you want to bid for tenders for projects worth more than RM50,000 to be funded by the taxpayer's dollars, you jolly well be financially capable. Otherwise, we going to have problems with delayed and abandoned projects.

Those less "financially capable" (using PM's words) should consider bidding for projects less than RM50,000 and to build one's experience, track-record and financial capability before considering bigger projects. In fact, this helps cultivate financial prudence and discipline.

What is wrong with that, Mr Prime Minister??

agree 211
written by mike1m, March 30, 2008 10:26:18
Open Tender Doesn't Guarantee Fairness, Says PM

Close tender is worse.
agree 167
written by cklife, March 30, 2008 10:26:36
This is silly.
written by Racheljansz, March 30, 2008 10:28:06
He said the NEP was a national approach implemented to eliminate poverty regardless of race, enable equitable distribution to the people including enlarging the Bumiputera Commercial and Industrial Community (BCIC) and ensuring a robust economic growth to be enjoyed by all races
Guess I must have been sleeping all this time not knowing that!
agree 135
written by malaysia devil, March 30, 2008 10:31:51
If one is financially weak how is he going to undertake a project and complete it successfully. Those who are financially weak should be classified as sub contractors and not main contractors.
written by pemerhati1551, March 30, 2008 10:32:24
yet another kamkaze act in oblivion
written by Arum, March 30, 2008 10:33:05
AAB ,Your NEP is all races ? .Your are talking sheet again and again.This NEP policy is the reason for BN downfall.There was a time when in school ,I went in front of the class to collect a form to apply for scholarship.They teacher told me that it is only for malay students.It hit me.Just a form too was not given.

This policy was not for all.It just to enrich the malays.There are times when a mere invoice of RM 2000.00 to govt hospital was asked to be chanelled through a BUMI company.Just RM 2000 order cannot be billed directly by a non malay.

There are many instances.This is just enough.

Donot advocate NEP is fair for all races.Its just for malays in small valus projects and for cronies for billions ringgit orders.
agree 156
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 30, 2008 10:33:39
It will only be fair when UMNO/BN cronies get the tender whether it's opened or closed. That's what he's implying. What a silly PM.
written by MasterYoda, March 30, 2008 10:33:47
BN's NEP is worse as it has been benefiting cronies who are financial strong.

the weak can band together and become strong. consortium of assorted finacially weak people, can become strong. all races in one group applying in the open tender. Sorry NO BN cronies!!!!
written by PangurBan, March 30, 2008 10:33:56
Hmmm, the NEP that the Prime Minister is talking about here doesn't seem to be the same one I grew up with.
It "also assisted the Chinese and Indian communities because the policy was not racially biased"???? Errrr?
Ohhh!! I geddit!!!! Patrick Badawi!!!!

The PM has such a clever way with words. NEPotismlah.

written by Hakim Abdullah, March 30, 2008 10:35:01
early morning and I read this piece of shitty comment by our shitty 'pm' and it really spoils the day..why can't he says something intelligent or is that too much to ask?..I know he is no 'Chandra' but where is 'pm' brain when he engage it to think?..there is no rational in his thoughts when he continues to pick on Penang.It really sounds like he is mentally bankrupted of relevant response to logical issues!..dollah badawi, please do us Rakyat a favour, kindly retreat gracefully and save whatever nice thoughts some of us still have for you from the old days...
written by akieras, March 30, 2008 10:47:21
There are lots of Malays now who are financially capable to compete in open tender and some even managed to penetrate oversea market. What's the problem to have a healthier competition? Only with open tender, one will know how strong or weak their capability. Are you saying the Malays are still weak despite after 50 years of independence? I don't think so.
written by RichPoon, March 30, 2008 10:48:26
if you are financially weak, why are you in business!..... another crony rm2 company gets the job but pass it on to a genuine financially sound contractor....this is the bn way!
written by Littlebird, March 30, 2008 10:50:44
Can you list out how many Indian got AP? Let me help you.. the answer is zero. And when one indian businessman sued rafidah for APs for Indian the court clearly said that this is public policy. Stop talking cock and stick to playing with it only.
written by macaufan, March 30, 2008 10:51:45
another greatest joke came fr our sleeping beauty Bodhwi: "open tender is not fair"
UMNO/BN regime 'behind door' / 'under table' of contract awarding is d best solution !!! after d contract has been sign & awarded then follow by UMNO infamous chop 'OSA' is d best option to silent off whistleblowers !!!!!
if this UMNO's NEP of abv policy is continue, d only beneficiary is only UMNOPUTERA & CRONIES.
y after >50years d malays is still depend on 'tongkat' provide by umno regime? bcos umno regime wanted to fill malay's stomach but at d same time it'l EMPTY their BRAIN !!!!!
solilah UMNO, d malay has weaken up now & they're demanding their share that has been rob fr them by UMNO regime !!!!!
written by Raymond, March 30, 2008 10:52:19
Let's give our esteemed PM as standing ovation for making "stupid" statements that shows no consideration and lack of proper thought leadership. In his criticism of the open tender and transparency policy sought by the local Penang government. How can he find fault in openness and transparency. This louse have no capability in governance, and is a certified IDIOT. I would have thought that he would get over the loss of Penang, applaud the government for bold steps in the right direction, and hope that other states can LEARN from Penang.
written by woogie, March 30, 2008 10:53:30
if the open tender doesnt guarentee fairness, then your BODOWI's closed door, backdoor tender give even better fairness to the people? all the gov tender, hardly given to other races than Malays (UMNO's cronies).
written by heavenwrites, March 30, 2008 10:54:03
Stupid sleeping ugly is saying open tender not fair to my bodowi without a negotiated tender system i can not sleep says the sleeping ugly Voters, does he sound stupid, brainless, desparate, out of control, loss tocuh, worried No more means no more abuse
written by FFT, March 30, 2008 10:55:12
So, in other words, Dozy the Dumb Dwarf is telling us that an open tender system will prevent the likes of an unemployed nobody like Khairy Jamaluddin from acquiring loans in the millions to purchase shares in a company that then acquires government assets.

written by MsiaCTzen, March 30, 2008 10:58:45
Malaysia BN rule government classification and Bloggers Bias?

What do you believe?????

http://ourtick.********.com/
written by Rusty Hammer, March 30, 2008 11:07:00
Absolutely absurd statement coming from our PM!
For example, why'd i want to pay RM 3.00 for a brick where else in open tender i might get it for RM 0.30?
Do we still want to let the contractors / suppliers take us for a ride?
written by sampalee, March 30, 2008 11:13:45
The nonsensical utterrance confirm he is silly.By keeping quite,we can only assume he knows little.
written by shireen tauffik, March 30, 2008 11:16:33
OMG...when u will ever learn, huh??? kalau rakyat dah tak nak u, tak nak lah..
written by educationist, March 30, 2008 11:17:51
"He clarified that the New Economic Policy (NEP) was not merely for the Bumiputeras as it also assisted the Chinese and Indian communities because the policy was not racially biased. " Come on, is this fellow for real. At this stage if he has the decency to be honest, I will say there's at least some saving grace to his tenure as PM.
Also show your leadership, reprimand the KPPM and those state education directors in the opposition ruled states for such discriminatory practices. But actually I think it's to the benefit of the rakyat that those state leaders are not invited to officiate at what are purely tome-wasting functions!!Yet it is the priciple of the matter that needs to be addressed!!
written by miracle, March 30, 2008 11:18:36
helloooo... please someone help me ... i tak boleh tahan already... where in the world u can find a such a stupid PM ... please explain what is fairness mean... tender should be awarded to his cronies that`s fair ...

"He clarified that the New Economic Policy (NEP) was not merely for the Bumiputeras as it also assisted the Chinese and Indian communities because the policy was not racially biased."

Correct correct correct! about his statement he did assisted the chinese & indian .. PATRICK BADAWI - mixture of chinese indian & crony ....
written by loosecannon, March 30, 2008 11:23:45
A close tender is better than an open tender? He's off his rocker again.

If a person has no money, he shouldn't tender for any project. He'll only dig himself into a shit-hole. It's a sure way to go bankrupt. Leave projects to those who can undertake them financially and technically. After all, there are hundreds of registered contractors in the state who have the means to do so. No wonder we have so many RM2 companies into in multi-million projects that failed.
written by Msian 2, March 30, 2008 11:31:30
What more can we expect? Some magic .... However I will give him credit for going to Penang. Sore losers mentality, have to have the last word eh.......
written by sonofman0, March 30, 2008 11:32:04
Open tender generates competition.

Competition kills cronyism.

Competition creates lower costs and better quality.

Competition reduces corruption, sometimes eliminating it.

Cronyism kills all of the above except cronysim.

Closed tender is not tender. It is closure behind closed doors!
written by malaysian2008, March 30, 2008 11:34:11
he lok like a leader, he talk like a leader, but he is not a leader.
written by sitiawan, March 30, 2008 11:36:50
A Desparado, uttering RUBBISH!
written by defendermalaysia, March 30, 2008 11:40:53
I really must agree to TDM that this is a half past 6 PM. He even do not know what he is talking. He even cannot have a open debate with any NGO,opposition party or DSAI.He is talking nonsense. Can we have a open debate about his statement between PM and anybody. He is treating all of us voters like a std 3 boys, listening to his statement and accepting all his bull shit. Can he think before he talk? If he cannot rule the country, plrease resign and allow other capable people to run the country. People say " when a tiger dies, it leave behind a skin ". So when he dies his name will rot behind a million years . So it is better to leave a good name behind before one leave the world. same like Zakaria is dead now but he leave behind a name that rot a million years.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 30, 2008 11:52:07
Uttering rubbish, talking cock, showing his stupidity.
written by notsosmart, March 30, 2008 11:53:53
This Pak Lah is a clown. Please don't teach the Penang state gomen what to do, it's an insult. Penangites are one of the intellectual rakyat who have brain. They already have their plan in placed. Open tendering system can be easily categorized. For example, using requirements based on experience, paid up capital, company turn-over, proposal,...etc.

All of you morons in UMNO stop fooling around with the rakyat. We are not as blind as before, so let us makes our own decision.
written by VLeong, March 30, 2008 12:03:51
Tahun 2004, Pak Lah bohong, Tahun 2008, Pak Lah bohong, Tahun 2009, Ko nak dia bohong lagi ke?
50 years of NEP is not enuff, do we need another 50 years? We are 10 years, behind Singapore, another 50 years of NEP and BN/UMNO crap, may be we will be 50 years behind Singapore.

Just reminded me something, you folks still remember where the names of previous Malaysia PM's will complete the word RAHMAN?
R-Tunku Abdul Rahman
A-Abdul RAzak
H-Tun Hussein Onn
M-Mahazalim
A-Abdullah Hj Ahmad
N-? Najis????

Then after completing the word RAHMAN, what's next? Dooms day for Malaysia? If we broke the jinx(hopefully we will)... Malaysia will propell and excel! God Willing!!!!

written by whoisthis, March 30, 2008 12:05:41
Whole load of BOOL SHEET. The mis-spelling is intentional. So as not to blame the innocent bulls for all this mess created by the biggest human bull the PM.
written by temenggong, March 30, 2008 12:07:49
Separately,

For LittleBird and others:

Fitna by Geert Wilders

http://truthbeknown.com/fitnareview.html
written by whoisthis, March 30, 2008 12:09:44
VLeong.

I have 2 suggestions. 1) We get DSAI to change his name to Nwar Ibrahim. 2) We consider as Abdullah having forfeited his right to be the A in the formula as he was sleeping throughout and can be considered as MIA (Missing In Action). At least his brain was. Then Anwar can be the next A.
written by truegrid, March 30, 2008 12:11:46
RETARD.
this is how the market economy works, you retard.
when you came into power you yourself as Minister of Finance declared that open tenders would be the rule. Direct Nego by your special permission only. What actually happened? Direct Nego became the rule. Open tender the exception. And you gave your own family the PGCC contract and helped yourself to Trengganu's Wang Ehsan through direct nego.
So direct nego is fairer to the little guys? The weak you claim to be interested in ya? They're the ones more likely to have the money to bribe you and your officials for the contract?

go change your nappies, you retard.
and while you're at it, grow a brain.

when are we going to be rid of this embarrassment of a prime minister?
starting to smell like fish gone bad.

written by Vincent, March 30, 2008 12:29:07
This bodohwi truly an idiot, can somebody knock his head. I think he is still sleeping.
written by rocky, March 30, 2008 12:31:12
not fair to whom? to BN and your cronies? so be it.

It has shown world over that you get the best dealmin an open and transparent tender. so don't BS us with not being fair. we are not stupid. and if you say it is not fair, why the fish you had it in your 2004 manifesto, open tender!!! talk cock la and flip flop as usual!!!
written by benjo, March 30, 2008 12:37:41
He is talking about being the PM for all the races and NEP is for all the races. What a joke? Does he think we are all fools? The Hindraf guys are behind bcos they're Indians and bcos they raised issues related to Indians, India poverty, etc. If he was their PM, he would not have done what he did and still will not continue to give a deaf ears to all the calls to free them. But he admists Indians were marginalized and something has to be done. Then he says he is full of ears. I don't know if he ever remembers anything he says?
written by thumb, March 30, 2008 12:40:08
Stupid idiot! Small timers can join forces and apply all the same. First time hearing open and transparent is evil, how stupid can you get.
written by Mark C, March 30, 2008 12:51:22
What bodowi has said has cemented the believe that he is indeed inept and in a fantasy world of his own.

I reckon he thinks that the rakyat is as stupid and as misinformed as he is. A sad past 4 years that we voted him into power, hopefully it will be a bygone era.

he has in fact driven the last nail into his political coffin.
written by Jan, March 30, 2008 12:52:40
Sometimes I don't know if the PM knows what he's talking about.
By opting for open tenders in Penang the gravy train there for some people is coming to a halt. You can see who these people are, they are the ones complaining the loudest.
written by Oyster, March 30, 2008 13:00:02
"not everything that is said to be equitable is fair
errr... that's like saying ' just becos you wear a snappy suit doesn't mean you have'nt got shit on your underpants'
written by sairam, March 30, 2008 13:11:31
Hello Mr. PM,

Have you gone bonkers or what?Tell to the world that open tenders are not fair and you will see what you'll get? They will say that you are suffering from irreversable 'Ph.D' syndrome.(Permenant Head Damage)

I suppose in your dictionary, fairness means,giving contract to UMNOputras only.You are right in saying that the financially weak will lose out.So,that's what has been happening,giving contract to your cronies who dont have experience or financial capacity and the coolly sell the project to some harworking chinese.By doing so, they make their easy millions! PM, just take a look at the number of failed projects.Just to quote a few,the Maltrade building.The original tender submitted by a non-bumi company was some thing 15M cheaper than the state affiliated company.It took almost 7yrs to complete the building with so much additional cost.The irony of the whole thing is the culprits have all walked out without a scratch.Rest assured that if only the project was given to the original lowest bidder the building would have been completed timely and within cost. Tell us then, who gives you all the right to waste the public money???

I can go on giving other examples like the military camp fiasco,the hospital fiasco ect,ect.

I know that why you are saying it wont be fair,meaning malays in Penang will not get any contracts.I think you are meaning Penang UMNO malays,right!!!not all the malays.

Frankly, I dont understand you UMNO guys.Why are you always 'rubber stamping' the malays as a race who always depend on subsidies and that they are 'handicapped'.Let me tell you, I have malay friends who are brilliant doctors,lawerys,engineer,pilots and what else you name it.They are no lesser than anybody else in this world.Let them compete man! They can surely come out winners. There is no doubt about it.

Now you are talking that the NEP is for all races. Are you sure??? Nah! this is another political talk of yours.Do you think the raakyat are all fools to buy this? You say that other races have benefitted from the NEP. Please show us your fact and figures.Dont just talk!Okay?

PM,I may not be a muslim but I certainly understand what is UKUWAH WALTONIYAH,UKUWAK INSANIA.There are godly words such as AQIDAH and AL-INSANIYAH in the holy Quran.

Hello, may be I am talking to the wrong person.

PM, you keep your promise to carry out the fedral projects and let the state carry out their promise to the raakyat.Let's see who keeps the promise and the raakyat will be the ultimate judges.

Dont you all agree fellows?
written by omarkhayyam, March 30, 2008 13:19:08
Bollah .... in Penang and 4 other states we decided the government,

your "fairness" we have seen for 4 years

now let Barisan Rakyat under Abang Anwar show you our kind of "fairness" .....

written by tkahyap, March 30, 2008 13:26:34
sleeping beauty is a genius "lah"..

apparently closed tender is better than open tender..go figure.
written by shireen tauffik, March 30, 2008 13:44:37
i just saw the IDIOT face on TV giving speech to UMNO Penang ..so fiery and full of racial emotions written all over the his stupid face!!!
shit la u old man....never learn ur lesson!!
written by KC Chew, March 30, 2008 13:46:27
What can I say, he is the SILLIEST PM in the history of mankind.
written by kindaeasi, March 30, 2008 13:54:27
Mr PM, since when was NEP for all races.

Amanah Saham Bumiputera gives 12-18% interest yearly, meanwhile Amanah Saham Malaysia and Amanah Saham Wawasan for all Malaysian gives 6-7% interest yearly. Why? Isn’t this discrimination? And there are so many, many, many, many…… such discrimination toward non-bumiputera. By right we are all MALAYSIAN. Our forefather contributed to this land and the generation after them contributed also, without which Malaysia would not be what it is today. Mr PM GIVE us concrete prove in black and white that the NEP helped all races. If you can’t do that don’t say that NEP is for all races.
written by doggone, March 30, 2008 13:57:58
There is no doubt what most of our commentators think of RIP van Winkle regarding his unbridled vengeance toward Guan Eng after losing Penang. However preaching about discrepancies of an open tender system is to shoot down the idea before it could walk.

Since this RIP guy never walk his talk anyway, I suggest he TENDER his resignation and balik kampong to do what he does best.

Forget about open-contracts and concentrate on close-contacts (with you know who).

Forget about close tenders and just sing 'Love Me Tender'(to you know who while doing it tenderly).
written by budakindia, March 30, 2008 13:59:03
As if NEP could! smilies/grin.gif
written by Wisdom above, March 30, 2008 13:59:22
Mr.PM, please don't bullshit.

Before election you bullshit using MSM.

After election you still continue to bullshit using MSM.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

written by tipletoe, March 30, 2008 14:09:27
Pa Lah, please shut up. As a Melayu jati in Pulau Pinang, (this is the land of my birth), I have seen just how much UMNO cares for the Malays. All those years of Barisan rule brought no benefits to the Melayu here in Pulau Pinang. Those who benefitted were the toolocans, mamak tongkang and the Maggi Mee Instant Melayu who can from God knows where. Here in Penang it is the Melayu ciplak who is and has gained from your UMNO and the Barisan Nasional. Your God forsaken coalition has ruled this beautiful for decades and yet we Malays are backward. Why? I am sure you knw the real reasons. So why pretend? Give the DAP a chance, if they do well everyone will benefit, if not sayonara to them in 5 years time. As for you and UMNO and the bunch of eunuchs in Gerakan, Mic, MCA, it is sayonara for keeps. Please go to bed and do Rest In Peace. We don't need you.
written by savemalaysia, March 30, 2008 14:09:58
"He clarified that the New Economic Policy (NEP) was not merely for the Bumiputeras as it also assisted the Chinese and Indian communities because the policy was not racially biased...implemented to eliminate poverty regardless of race"
I think this Idiot PM(plus those UMNOputras) have made this statement not less than 500 times already but is this the actual case????????? If you mention this to the people of Kenya,Afghanistan,Benin or Papua New Guinea, may be they will agree, but hello Encik, this is Malaysia, OK!!!!!!

Further to the Matrade Building scandal that is mentioned By Mr.Sairam above, I heard from Matrade staff that the person in charge(the crony)of Matrade at that time was the BROTHER of our Muhammad son of Muhammad(Ex-MB)and now he may be enjoying good life in Australia.If this is the case, pls forget about bringing this crony to justice under present government.
written by Bunda, March 30, 2008 14:40:42
Now, more bullshit from the sleeping PM. Must be the first government official in the world who is not for open tenders, transparency, and honest contractors.

Only a thief and a liar like the sleepyhead would be for closed tenders. Surelah, all his cronies now cannot benefit.

What a load of kok and bull from a sleepyhead who is now living on borrowed time. Too stupid to know when to quit, and daily receiving curses from the rakyat.

written by Kcc, March 30, 2008 14:53:14
...as it does not guarantee fairness to those who are financially weak to compete.

Tell me, Mr PM. Where in the world can everything that you do be GUARANTEED to work all the time? What Penang is doing is to reduce the possibility of unfairness. There can never be a TOTAL guarantee that things will work out 100¾cause there will be HUMANS who will ruin things. At least Mr Lim GE is doing something about it to ensure some kinda fairness. What about you, Mr PM? Can you guarantee that BN will provide fairness to all?
written by Naha, March 30, 2008 14:54:14
Haiyah, Bernama got the title of this article all wrong mah - go, go sack somebody quick. Title should read:

"Open Tender Doesn't Guarantee Fairness, But Closed Tender System to Patrick Lim Does, Says PM"
written by bayan, March 30, 2008 15:29:42
Kata Dollah tender terbuka tidak adil, jadi untuk berlaku adil mesti tender tertutup. Baru boleh bagi 2 untuk menantuku, 3 untuk anaku ,5 untuk Patrik Badawi bapa saudara menantuku ,baru fair. Kemudian baru bagi kepada ketua bahagian , ketua cawangan ,ketua JKKK yang semua ini sebatang cangkul pun tak ada .Pengelaman tak ada , bagi Ali Baba buat ,jadilah projrk Ali Baba .
written by nescafe tarik, March 30, 2008 15:33:47
"We are not around just to keep the seat warm,"
-------------------------------------------------

Helooo...the BN/Umno have been seating warming around until it gets too hot to handle. dah lah jadi lapuk and outdated and worst still nothing has been done properly at the interest of rakyat...stop manipulating the rakyat as if we have no brain of our own.
written by billykbk, March 30, 2008 15:57:00
smilies/wink.gifMr.Bodowi, I think I'm the only one here who's supporting you; at least to Dec this year.

Why?

At least you can remain an "impotent' PM & UMNO Prez for another 9 months to do irreparable damage to UMNO, and consequently make UMNO so irrelevant that the likes of KJ, Najis, Nazi, Zam and other Zombies will be ditched into M'sian history by next year. Shouting curses and profanities at you is a pretty waste of time and effort. Right, Bodowi?
written by stormcloud, March 30, 2008 15:57:06
Hahahahaha ... this Bernama article takes the cake! smilies/grin.gif I'm just amazed at the stupidity of the statement. What an oxymoron. Thanks for almost making me spit out my tea for chuckling out loud. Even if I had, it was worth it. Lol.
written by billykbk, March 30, 2008 16:01:15
One more thing, it appears that he's encouraging UMNO to vent their frustration, and probably take to the streets again. Try again!!!

This time, the boycott will be much worse. It'll not be Nasi Kandar restaurants only, it will encompass all UMNO-related businesses.
written by carlitos, March 30, 2008 16:39:02
Open tender will allow those with ability to rise up and one day become rich because of their hard work and ability.

Close tender always keep the rich to continue to stay rich because of their connections.

With open tender a clever Malaysian can rise from a class D contractor to a class A as he/she gets more and more contracts based on his/her ability.

It gives a level playing field to start with and allow everyone who is capable to rise up and be successful.

Furthermore, open tender will ensure the people get the BEST deal for their money. We pay tax not to make some political cronies rich. We pay tax to get the best development that our money can buy.

This Mamak obviously only want to give his relatives and cronies the projects and not based on Malaysian ability. How is Malaysia going to compete internationally if we don't allow the best business brains in our nation to grow? Only when there is competition based on ones ability will you get the best solutions at the best price possible.

Otherwise you get pencil sold to government for $1000 a piece at a profit of $999 going straight to some idiots who know nothing except he is related to some dumb politicians who sleeps all the time.
written by Food Thought, March 30, 2008 16:48:32
"Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi Saturday lashed out at the Penang state government for adopting a fully open tender system as it does not guarantee fairness to those who are financially weak to compete."

"He clarified that the New Economic Policy (NEP) was not merely for the Bumiputeras as it also assisted the Chinese and Indian communities .."

God Almighty! Can anyone shut this person up? He sounds dummier and insults our intelligence all the time when he stands infront of the mic. Does he understand the meaning of the word OPEN TENDER? Oh I forgot, he doesn't like to read books. Oh well, next stop, New government, new PM. I think Malaysia is really in need of an intellectual, brainy and knowledgeable PM.
written by ultraman kite, March 30, 2008 16:51:15
mengapalah paklah cakap "Open Tender Doesn't Guarantee Fairness"??? Takkan close tender guarantee fairness kot? lagi lah teruk!!!

udahlah suka tidur, cakap pun tak berkarisma langsung! patutlah ahli umno sendiri pun tak suka dekat dia.
written by hakuna, March 30, 2008 17:30:15
this is what one calls STUPIDITY IN ITS EXTREME.
A PM who indirectly says that you can waste tax payers money deserves to relinquish his post but if he does that then he will not be making "STUPID" statements.
written by densemy, March 30, 2008 17:49:18
There he goes with his 'Fairness' concept again.

Everything with Badawi is Fair this and Fair that. Only trouble is the word 'fair' is the most subjective word in the dictionary and he has used and abused it at every opportunity

Hitler probably said the Jews were being treated fairly as he shipped them off to Auschwitz. As Badawi frequently tells us the non bumi's are treated fairly.

He still thinks all Malaysians are fools... Well, at least one is
written by densemy, March 30, 2008 17:53:26
You read this statement and you realise he doesnt mean a word of what 'he' wrote in his letter attached to RPK's article The Real Issues

You cant teach an old dog new tricks!
written by Ben, March 30, 2008 18:43:14
Please go peacefully, the Rakyat have spoken. Accept it and don't waste anymore of the Rakyat's resources by forming a "wayang kulit" exco. If they can fulfill their promises to the Rakyat you should have won handsomely. Respect the Rakyat as we had respected you the past 5 years as pm.

Instead listen and learn how the BR can resolve the issues created by numskull politicians bent on hanging onto power instead of serving the Rakyat. Support BR honest desire to restore integrity and economic strength to their respective states. Acknowledge now that depriving the Rakyat of the nations treasury is criminal in nature and against best practice of good governance. If you do all this, you may live to see Malaysia regain its lost glory.
written by myke, March 30, 2008 20:16:22
Hey u'll shut-up.!! This PM is right.!!!

I'm one of the contractors who cannot afford to finance a 10 million contract but i want that contract...!!!

To be fair to me, i'm meeting PM to advise me how to get that contract. Now listen u fellas, i want that money, don't mess with me with open tender.

I'm hoping PM will loan me 9.99 million or pay me a downpayment of 80% for contract amount, or let me delay the contract 10 yrs max obtional 5 yrs min.

Don't spoil this for me you fellas!!!!

written by stillnotproud2bmsian, March 30, 2008 20:23:39
It is just The Idiot that is doing the talking now.... smilies/grin.gif
written by jokerman, March 30, 2008 20:32:30
This bugger has no idea what he is talking about! UPK and PKK licenses are classified into different classes for different reasons. One of them is classification of financial capabilities of its license holders accordingly!

One needs to pre-qualify to UPK's or PKK's requirements before even eligible to participate in these tenders, therefore it is defined clearly here if you are financially or technically strong for each class of tenders.

This bugger must be too used to giving out projects to Ali Baba's aka his cronies until he himself felt its an injustice to have an open tender!
written by azmay, March 30, 2008 20:47:48
"...as it does not guarantee fairness to those who are financially weak to compete"

aiseh man...wht bodohwi means was...first give it to patrick lim...than kamaluddin...than patrick again...than scomi..and follow the sequances again...
written by macaufan, March 30, 2008 23:06:17
iyoyoyo...... Bodohwi, cukup dah.... pls stop talking & it'll help u stop embrassing urself & ur family. mana ada orang yang akan setuju dgn kenyataan awak "open tender is not fair BUT ur 'close door tender' , 'behind door tender' &/ 'under d table tender' is d MOST FAIR DEAL kah !!! huh !!!!!
better u announce m'sia is govert by COMMUNIST !!!! huh...?
written by Johan Mohriz, March 30, 2008 23:11:13
Sorry, but open tenders are really the best, fairest andmost effective way forward. All Malaysians can benefit from this and teach those of use who are too comfortable with the current system something about being competitive.

I can just see the faces of those arrogant people who are so used to getting easy projects now scrambling having to learn how to get their tender applications in order.

May I add here that the tenders should not only be open but the previous administration had this trick of including specifications into tender documents so that only the company of their choice can qualify for the project. Once specifications are set into tender requirements it is really unfair. PLS MAKE SURE THAT ALL OPEN TENDERS ARE FREE FROM SPECIFICATIONS!
written by AsamLaksa, March 31, 2008 00:29:20
What AAB said is technically true. There is no such thing that can guarantee fairness even with the best intentioned laws and regulations. What really disappointed me with AAB's stance is that once again he has failed to provide any credible alternatives. Come on, now BN is the opposition in Penang so if you want to do better than BR you need to come up with sound ideas, not just being all cynical. Publish your ideas to make Msia a better place and see how the people view it. Simple... unless you don't have any ideas and need to resort to more rhetorics.

Another sily thing... trying to pull the wool ver the eyes of Msians about NEP being fair to all races. What is this 'fairness' you are trying to imply here? Perhaps AAB's version of 'fairness' is not the same as how large portions of Msians view it thus BN lost 2/3 majority. AAB, come downlah and feel the pulse of the people on the ground.
written by miwaki, March 31, 2008 01:06:37
Yes,I agreed with the PM,open tender doesn't guarantee fairness because with open tender,my company will not get any tender since my tender price is the highest.50% more than the second highest bidder.However,with direct negotiation,my company will get lots of tenders because I know lots of government people.

When I get the projects from the government,I also can provide kick-back to officers who are in charge of these projects,in management,we call it win win situation.You are ok,I'm ok.

This is Pak Lah's economics theory,we call it Badawinomics.A product of UMNO School Of Economics,Kepala Batas,Malaysia.
written by miwaki, March 31, 2008 01:15:41
Tender price should be published for all to see,name of company should also be published so that people will know who got what and at what price.
written by Kedahan, March 31, 2008 01:24:28
wait a minute,

I think I read somewhere that Ministry of Finance has paid directly/indirectly to some company with Paid-Up-Capital of RM2 to the tune of millions.. pls correct me if I'm wrong. so RM2 companies are trusted with millions yah! well done BN!

during the economic downturn during late 1990s, my Chinese friend's scholarship to study in UK was withdrawn after completing her A levels locally. only Malays from her A level scholar batch were allowed to continue their uni overseas. she was instead put in UM, which she abandoned after 1 semester. after that, she has got full scholarship from National University of Singapore for her degree and now she is pursuing her PhD under scholarship in Princeton. Thanks so much for the NEP!!!
written by Wakeupmsia, March 31, 2008 01:44:24
OMG! What kind of mentality does he have? Losing the four states and 2/3 majority - he still says " we are still strong!". And Now he says "Open tender does not means to be fair" Just keep you mouth shut and nobody will say you're an *******!!! Truly, unfit to govern. More so, the "so-called pm". I'm ashamed to have a 'pm' like you. Even my kids knows what a moron you are! SpAre me the agony, JUST KEEP YOU GAP SHUT! YOU MAKE ME SICK!
written by Chuang Tze, March 31, 2008 02:24:04

This idiotic SleepyHead is talking with his forked tongue !! Open tenders guarantee transparency in the award of the tyender and the evaluation process thereof, much much better than close negos where all proceeds go to KJ, Bodohwi, and cronies like Patrick Lim !!

Also, if the project is for the RAKYAT, the companies bidding for the job had better be qualified enough to do it right, and financially sound enough to complete the project as promised !! This imbecile of a PM has got all his priorities backwards !!! What an utterly hopeless Moron !! We, the RAKYAT are NOT going to suffer any more PKFZ's etc. you lunkhead !!

For once this Moron PM got it right when he said the NEP was not only for the Malays but helped the other races as well. It sure helped the Chinese & Indians and Ibans, Kadazans, Mamaks, Eurasians, people like Anandan Krishnan, Ling Liong Sik, Semi-Value, Vincent Tan, etc. all benefitted from the NEP as they are the BNputras !! The plunderers of Malaysia, and the NEP was designed specifically for this purpose of helping them !!! Shameless hypocritical SleepyHead Moronic excuse for a PM !!