Tough week ahead for Abdullah from tomorrow PDF Print
Sunday, 30 March 2008 08:58

(The Malaysian Insider) KUALA LUMPUR, March 30 – It will be a tough week ahead for Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. This is the week he tries to pacify Sabah Barisan Nasional politicians and braces for more attacks from his rivals, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah.

BN Sabah component parties have been agitating for more representation in Cabinet since the line-up of ministers and deputy ministers was announced. They are upset that despite the stellar performance of their candidates in delivering the state to BN, Sabah was not allocated more representation in the Cabinet.

Datuk Shafie Apdal, the Culture and Heritage Minister, said that the call for more representation from the state was “pertinent” and that it was from the grassroots. Abdullah has met a stream of Sabah MPs this week and they have given him a laundry list of complaints, from the lack of financial support (read:  projects) to the way the state is being managed by Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman. They also believe that Sabah has not been given due recognition by Abdullah.

The PM will have to make a trip to Sabah to hear all the BN component parties out and soothe their hurt feelings. He may also need to sort out a couple of the agitators.

Closer to home, he will have to contend with another blast from Dr Mahathir.

The former prime minister, who is making a comeback of sorts, will be speaking to an Umno gathering on Tuesday. It is likely that he will continue to press all the pressure points of the administration – the standoff with the palace over the appointment of the Terengganu Mentri Besar, the need for Abdullah to take responsibility for Election 2008 and the push to change the constitution and make the party president answerable to a presidential council.

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, who has indicated a willingness to challenge Abdullah for the Number 1 position in the party, will be meeting more Umno division leaders to convince them to push for a special assembly on May 11. This special assembly has become even more important now that the party’s supreme council has decided to hold election in December.

If Ku Li manages to get enough divisions to push for a special assembly, it could provide a platform for some constitutional changes, including removing a clause which states that anyone wanting to contest the party president’s position must have the support of 60 divisions.

written by krepot, March 30, 2008 09:34:43
I think it is a tough week ahead for ABB because Kalimullah and the 4th floor boys will be using their backside to think and advice him. This circus will continue till ABB falls!

These clowns in MSM and the 4th floor have been providing us constant entertainment, for that, we thank you!

As for Malaysian Insider, you have not proved your worth yet! There is something very fishy about your news reporting! BTW. I believe most of us read Malaysian Insider news on Malaysia-Today and not directly at their website. In other words, if RPK cuts them off, its history. ;-)
written by omarkhayyam, March 30, 2008 09:36:27
Heard he has not been sleeping well in the corridors of Putrajaya too smilies/smiley.gif

did the voters give him such a tough time ? did UMNO itself did it to him ? or he did it to himself ?

written by shireen tauffik, March 30, 2008 11:22:41
UMNO, please continue your clowning clawing act. after all laughter is the best medicine!!
written by Counterpointer, March 30, 2008 11:36:08
The former prime minister, who is making a comeback of sorts

When this old dog lifts his tail, we know that he going to let his mouth piss all over the place.

His reason for doing that?

Simple.

The 1988 sacking of the judges issue is coming at him hard and fast. And with that his whole skeleton collection in his closet would most likely be tumbling out.

He is just doing what he had always known how to do best; SELF PRESERVATION at the expense of anybody else and attack the threat first before it has a chance to harm him.

Nobody in the present gomen really dares to PIN anything on him because he has loads to PIN them back. He has to put himself back in the limelight to show that his old dog tricks are still potent to scare off his attackers.
written by sedan, March 30, 2008 11:52:32
What can Badawi do? His main advisory line-up includes Kalimullah Hassan, Khairy Jamaluddin and Karim Raslan, and these guys carried on Dr Mahathir's legacy of viewing the public as dumb and stupid, capable of sallowing every crap the mainstream media pukes out. They thought their handlers in the British and Singaporean intelligence services were able to launch a putsch in case anything went wrong.

It shows how much Britain and Singapore had shot itself in the foot over this debacle, and if history is any indicator, they will make one mistake after another, get one bad advise after another.

So be it. After, one of their main sources of information was Brendan Pereira, a serial plagiarizer who got his "information" from the manufactured rumors of some of the most inept elements in Malaysian journalism.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 30, 2008 12:20:43
PM is busy defending himself, DPM is lying low, all the other HP6 monks are bracing themselves for more "bad weather", and preparing for the awakening of their sleeping beauty, and waiting for Prince Cool Lee to come and kiss him.
written by truegrid, March 30, 2008 12:27:27
Sedan, Malaysian Insider is controlled by the same fourth floor linked guys, lah. Ask any journalist. It's controlled by Kalimullah, our very own Minister of Propaganda. Malaysian Insider is a PR agency for Abdullah Badawi pretending to be an online newspaper, so don't get taken in.
written by sedan, March 30, 2008 12:37:17
truegrid,

Ask what (local) journalists? Tell me one who has not prostituted his soul?
written by sonofman0, March 30, 2008 12:38:00
Dear Abdullah Ahmad Badawi,

I don't think you need worry about your so called opponents.

Just read the articles "Ku Li Gets Mahathir's Support to Challenge PM", and "Mahathir: Election Provision Being Abused to Prevent Opposition to Leaders".

You position is quite safe.
written by sonofman0, March 30, 2008 12:50:44
Sorry, that should read, "Your position is quite safe". Also I'm only referring to these two opponents. There doesn't appear to be anyone else on the visible horizon for the time being.

But hey! look at Barack Obama! He wasn't visible too until now. Politics has no guarantees!
written by Bunda, March 30, 2008 14:30:53
You mean only a tough week?

Hah, the sleepy Bodowi will have a tough time until he resigns. The longer he stays as PM, more people will be baying for his head. And, this only from the normal rakyat.

Already, I hear more and more people cursing him for staying as PM. He still doesn't get the message the people sent him.

written by doggone, March 30, 2008 15:35:07
I can tell you one thing I am sure of. This pm don't have one single tough day in his life. He doesn't care if he is still the pm tomorrow. He would rather be out of this hellhole and enjoy life to the fullest before he kicks off. He is staying because he is trying to 'safe face' for himself and for the devastated UMNO that he brought to its knees until they can salvage some form of respect in whatever form from its members.
written by malgal, March 30, 2008 23:22:55
We all think its a tough week. It should have been a tough 5 years for any national leader for does any real work.
His spin doctors are still prescribing their special medication that is to deny any sense of reality. So he lives in their grand delusions of power and wealth. They'll trot him out in his freshly ironed batik/baju/baju kot whatever, train a beatific smile and wave to what they imagined a fawning rakyat. His tailors are fashioning yet another wondrous emperor's new cloak, weaving at their burning ends of candles. Now people, have we seen through the emperor's new clothes ?
written by farah, March 31, 2008 01:24:07
PM, Life is not always full of roses.
As you have 'refused roses!!!' once
now take the 'thorns'.
written by miwaki, March 31, 2008 01:54:42
If PM is smart,he should just sit back and enjoy his last few month of being PM of Malaysia as he has to give up the position anyway regardless of how busy he will be.People are talking about forming a new BR government !Is he still sleeping or what ?
written by Kedahan, March 31, 2008 02:14:27
the headline should have read:

"Tough week ahead for Abdullah from tomorrow.. till FOREVER!"