Khaled: Bloggers censoring govt feedback to their sites PDF Print
Sunday, 30 March 2008 08:34

(STAR) JOHOR BARU: Bloggers have been accused of censoring feedback sent by government departments to their websites.

Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin said the feedback was aimed at correcting inaccurate statements and false allegations about the Government, which appeared in some of the cyber articles.

He said the Government was not given a chance to explain certain issues to the people.

There were articles criticising the Government. We also sent in many replies but they were removed by the bloggers,” he said.

Mohamed Khaled said the Government had in the past ignored such articles.

We made a mistake. The blogs play an important role. The people read and believe what's said in the blogs.

Now, we are looking at the blogs to respond to them but are prevented from doing so,” he said.

Mohamed Khaled said he would bring up the issue in the next Cabinet meeting. He was at the SM Taman Johor Jaya 1 Parent-Teacher Association meeting yesterday.

He announced an allocation of RM20,000 for the school’s building fund.

Khaled also presented certificates of excellent performance to Tien See Yah, who scored 10As in the 2007 SPM examination, and a model student, Looi Zhen Siang.

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by miracle, March 30, 2008 08:43:26
dont bother to explain as you claimed.. reply or not .. rakyat are not stupid , we do not believe whatever written whether by the bloggers or the govt mainly for believing sack.. we have brain and use it .. we have eyes, we have ears ..
written by Muachee, March 30, 2008 08:46:56
hmmm... to the Star, how about your paper censoring the voice of Rakyat? biased paper never regret stopping scbscribing... smilies/cool.gif
written by Abu Hassan Adam, March 30, 2008 08:49:46
Datuk Seri Khaled Nordin mengatakan, 'There were articles critizing the government. We also sent in many replies but they were removed by the bloggers"

Ada beberpa perkara yang perlu diperhatikan mengapa keadaan jadi begini.

i. Bukankah kerajaan ada saluran media yang boleh menyampaikan apa sahaja maklumat yang hendak disampaikan oleh kerajaan.

ii. Apakah perlunya segala maklumat mesti disampaikan melalui bloggs?

iii. Kenyataan DS Khaled itu membayangkan media arus perdana (elektronik dan cetak) sudah tidak ada kredibiliti dan sudah tidak relevan lagi kepada rakyat.

Kenyataan DS Khaled itu agak merbahaya kepada kesinambungan media arus perdana.

Pak Abu ********.
written by Flex Tan, March 30, 2008 08:52:20
IF THE PEOPLE ASKED THE GOVT WHETHER THEY HAVE FULLY COMPLETED THEIR 7-8 MALAYSIAN PLAN.... CAN NORDIN ANSWER.

PS. WHY IS BODOWI TALKING ABOUT 9 THEN... ??
written by strupper2003, March 30, 2008 09:12:10
Khaled,

Better get use to it.

Payback is a bitch ain't it?
written by mrgoh, March 30, 2008 09:15:05
Now that the bloggers have stole the votes from the BN, the government is willing to accept the wave of blogs however they are only sensitive to what negative information are portrayed about them. They are only interested to filter the negative connotation on the government.

Until the government readily BLOG-OUT their own wrong-doings would I give them any credit at being transparent. Before that I am sticking my resources to 3rd parties.
written by ultraman, March 30, 2008 09:17:32
Khaled,
If I were to call you a moron, you may not like it.
But I definitely cannot call you clever because you exhibit none of your intelligence.
Why musy you all stupidly clarify any 'false' reporting on the websites. You know that websites are not beholden to BN or UMNO and defintely would not spin any lies.
Did you complain wjen the mainstream media tell white lies to the nation. Did you complain that mainstream media only reports favourably of BN during GE while telling all the 'bad' points of opposition?
This is definitely the case of tasting your own poison!!!
We are following the instruction to boycot the mainstream media now!!!
written by tano, March 30, 2008 09:24:34
instead of taking action against the bloggers, the 'mainstream' should start setting a review of blogger's column in their print
written by FFT, March 30, 2008 09:29:49
Explain this.

written by omarkhayyam, March 30, 2008 09:33:37
is this how he wants to engage with bloggers ? we want to c affirmative action, no time to listen to ur explanantion .... "nanny tales" are better

start with an independant newspaper license .... all the way down to TV and radio licensing

ur a bigger joker than the last one ....

written by redcurve, March 30, 2008 09:46:26
Awww, their comments are getting deleted, so what? Maybe the bloggers do not like the tone of voice in those comments or simply no comments have been made and as usual they're spreading FUD. Also I think it it up to the blogger to moderate their comments. Personally I would disable the comment option to prevent spam, flames, and the likes. What a blogger does with his or her blog is up to the blogger. Also what is stopping them from getting an account on MT and comment here like we do? It would also be nice to provide some examples of their feedback and to which sites so we can verify if they statements are true or false. This is yet another un-journalistic report by the star who seem to be nothing more than a sock-puppet for the BN. Any good journalist would've asked for proof, examples, etc, etc
written by mei yen, March 30, 2008 09:51:52
I need to do a double on what I wrote earlier at 'The real issues'......

Romerz’s about asking RPK appealing to the silent majority …. One big problem …. most people who make comments here are of one mentality. It’s like they have to think one way, to be and for everything RPK says … to belong?? You can see the arrows going up when you’re for him and the BR. And see how fast the arrows go down if you have contrary ideas or anything that seems remotely contrary or favoring the BN. It’s like their minds are frozen and cannot be melted even when exposed to awareness.

These “In-the=box thinkers” find it difficult to recognize the quality of any opposing view. In fact, they can be very obstinate to views that are contrary to RPK’s. All the negativity is draining the enthusiasm and passion of the silent majority who could be … for or could be neither for nor against any party, but …. whose only wish is for the country to move forward to a better tomorrow no matter who the governing body. The boxed-thinkers have this stubborn idea that giving the ruling party a chance to solve problems is a waste of time. How can that be? Fact is, we do need the ruling party and state governments to work amicably together to solve the problems of this country for the next five years. Even CM Lim has taken the first step by meeting the PM when he landed in Penang yesterday. He may be damned for this but for me? It’s a good thing! My solution? The election is over, stop all the negativity, we need both sides to work together for our own good. Give credit where credit is due and damn whoever, whenever and wherever appropriate no matter whose party it is.
written by Flex Tan, March 30, 2008 09:53:19
LISTEN TO UMNO BANNING NEW LOCAL REPRESENTATIVES INVOLVEMENT IN SOCIETY !!

Sunday March 30, 2008
D-G: Only ministry officers allowed at school functions

JOHOR BARU: Only officers from the Education Ministry are allowed to officiate at school functions to prevent such functions from being politicised.

Ministry director-general Datuk Alimuddin Mohd Dom said that that the ministry would be sending out circulars to all schools next week as a reminder, but stressed that it was not a new ruling.

According to him, those who were allowed to officiate school events included the Education Minister, the deputy minister, the director-general, and state level Education Department directors and their representatives.

“The school principals have to write to their respective Education Departments if they want to invite anyone outside and obtain permission from the state director.”

He was responding to questions from the media as to whether schools had been told not to invite or have dealings with politicians who were not from Barisan Nasional.

When asked if it meant that all politicians, including the Mentri Besar or Chief Ministers would no longer be allowed to officiate at school functions, Alimuddin reiterated that the approval had to come from the state Education director.

“The approval is subject to the discretion of the director. We have given them that power,” he said at a press conference after launching the national level Gala C-Curriculum celebrations here yesterday.

He refused to elaborate when asked if the Education directors had been instructed not to approve requests for visits by politicians from Opposition parties.

“This is a simple matter, don’t sensationalise it,” he said.
written by Flex Tan, March 30, 2008 10:04:10

Sunday March 30, 2008
Opposition to bid for Deputy Speaker’s post

By LEE YUK PENG and ZULKIFLI ABD RAHMAN
PETALING JAYA: With 82 seats under their control, the Opposition parties want to set a precedent in the Dewan Rakyat by proposing one of their MPs for the post of Deputy Speaker.

Outgoing Opposition Leader Lim Kit Siang said he had written to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on March 25 asking for a consensus on the matter. The Speaker and the two deputies were usually elected by MPs.

He said in return, the Opposition could agree to a consensus on the Speaker and the other deputy.

“More Opposition MPs have been elected, and this new form of balance and political diversity should be reflected in the House,” said Lim, who is the DAP adviser.

At the same time, a new parliamentary convention could be set where parties from both benches could work together on certain matters, he added.

DAP chairman Karpal Singh proposed Kepong MP Dr Tan Seng Giaw as candidate for deputy speaker.

“It is fair to have an Opposition MP as one of the two deputy speakers with so many Opposition MPs in the House now.

“Dr Tan is very conversant in Bahasa Malaysia and he does not create trouble,” he added.
written by Biztrack, March 30, 2008 10:18:21

From our HIGHER EDUCATION Minister ???? Has he still not understood and comprehend that people nowadays don't just read from one source, be it the MSM or the blogs, and believe whatever they read. We will analyze, consider before making any informed decision and/or views. Give your fellow Malaysians some respect, ok? The rakyat is now more intelligent than what you give them credit for.

A reminder for you, my Mr Minister ...... "THE MAJORITY OF THE MALAYSIAN RAKYAT IS NOT LIKE YOUR UMNO MEMBERS. WE ARE NOT MINDLESS, UNTHINKING IDIOTS!! LIVE WITH IT, DUDE!!"

written by Saint, March 30, 2008 10:26:47
Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin needs to know the difference in reporting especially in using words like "approved", "already given", "work completed satisfactorily". To BN "approved" means "work completed". For us "approved" is just "hearsay".
written by myke, March 30, 2008 10:31:32
I doubt MT will do censor any constructive responce to anything put up here.
But i doubt what the minister said.

Dear RPK, perhaps u can put a title for us to debate it out with this Khaled guy. Clear and straight forward for Khaled and us, the public.

After all he did not even mention what was censored or what topic was he refering to.
written by Sagaladoola, March 30, 2008 10:43:37
That is the stupidest statement I have ever read. The internet is a free forum.

1) You do not have Printing, Presses and Publications Act. You do not have to have annual renewal or have to have some body to give you a license to publish anything.

2) You can open any blog anytime to "explain issues" . It is as easy as A, B, C . It is free. You do not even have to pay for it.

3) You can easily register as a commenter in ********.com . There is no restriction from the site to disallow Barisan Nasional people. There is no such function.

That is a very stupid statement, dear Khalid. I am really shocked. Have you surfed the net before? Maybe you should write something more profound. With people like you, is that why the status of our Higher Education Institutes go from bad to worse?

Is this your face, Khaled?

written by Hakim Abdullah, March 30, 2008 10:44:40
Khaled, higher eduction minister?..NOT...higher moronic *******....Definitely!..when are you bunch of BN bastards ever going to learn?
written by heavenwrites, March 30, 2008 10:48:52
Another kurang ajar's statement smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif you denied voters' 50 years right to speak and you can't even wait for few months smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif what a joke smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif don't tell me nobody is buying Star, Utusan Melayu, New Starits Times smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Can you all morons of BN/UMNo read, see, feel, smile and touch the power of Voters??? smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif It is the power of Voters now morons and wake up morons don't sleep 24 hours a day morons smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by macaufan, March 30, 2008 11:04:57
hello H.Edu.Minister, nama awak Kalid ke...? atau Kayu? if d bloggers censor ur statement, wat's ur comment on d censorship of opposition news by umno regime control MSM? di MSM, opposition don even hv d luxury to publish their own newspaper to sell to public BUT here in cyber-world, umno regime can set up ur own blogs to counter d opposition news if wat u say d bloggers censor ur news, rgt?
d question here is, do blogers will buy ur news or it'll become yet another an UMNO BASHING blog? kakakakkakaaaaaa... smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by sonofmalaysia, March 30, 2008 11:11:48
Since the BN governemtn controls all the media, the BN government can easily use the MSM to rebut all wrong accusations leveled against them , no need to worry about bloggers censoring you if that is really true.
written by macanhitam, March 30, 2008 11:20:54
oh what silly!?
you can censor us but we cannot censor back in return? Hello, read back Newton's 3rd Law of motion lah - every action has an equal and opposite reaction!
written by shireen tauffik, March 30, 2008 11:25:10
hahahha..bodoh! bodoh punya minister..hahahhaa
written by Rusty Hammer, March 30, 2008 11:44:32
To Khalid Nordin ... kalau dah gian sangat nak balas blog-blog kat sini, pakai la common sense sikit ...
If you really want to counter all these allegations, start your own blog and reply all these so called false accusations against your BN government!

Kalau tak tahu nak start blog, ambik kursus ngan RPK ...
Enough said ...
written by Msian 2, March 30, 2008 11:49:01
Hahaha Khaled. Ever heard of 'Your Cheating heart will call on you'. You may walk the corridors of power, but we the bloggers its 'happy birthday' everyday to catch you guys when you slip....isn't it great to have some check & balance.
written by wannabepatriotic, March 30, 2008 11:49:03
If you visit my blog and don't like what you read, or how your comments are being 'censored' you boleh BLAH dari blog saya!! Nobody asked you to visit pun... Also, don't bother visiting it again, and no, i won't reply your email.

The same goes for the MSM - We don't like what we read, WE BOYCOTT all the newspaper-la. Simple to understand MrKhaled? Don't cry for being mis-treated this way, double standards a biatch, no?
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 30, 2008 12:30:56
Higher a-dog-cat-tion minister talking cock.
written by Oyster, March 30, 2008 12:49:35
IMHO the only people on this planet worse than Bush and Co are Badawi and the evil UMNO hoard.
somebody please finish them off now!
written by asianguy, March 30, 2008 13:28:44
After censoring the MSMs, now Khalid thinks that he can censor the bloggers? Think again (assuming you can think)...
written by tkahyap, March 30, 2008 13:29:03
this is so stupid because how on earth does a blog know you are government?

aduhaii......
written by Talisman, March 30, 2008 13:31:24
Helloooooooooooooooo Khaled!
Now, you are the minister of Higher education. Today's communicating methods and styles should be written at the back of your hands.
You lament that Bloggers erased gomen's message. You know what? The Gomen for the last 50 years is like a beautiful german shepherd dog but taken care off by people who do not know how to rear a pedigree dog; let alone a pariah dog.

A pedigree german shepherd, if well groom, would be very loving to anyone who loves it, but would bite if threathen with harm, to itself or to it's owner.
But you Baruah Nationalist dont know how to rear this beautiful dog, has grown up and just bite anybody that walk faster than you"".

This pleasure of simply biting anyone has make people hate this BN dog; beautiful to look at, but waiting for a day they can kill this dog.

Now, this dog is is old and getting wiser, because it has lost its fangs and NOW WANTS TO BE FRIENDLY. It is beginning to wag it's tail. Yes, wagging it's tail dont guarranttee that this mad dog do not bite again.
So you see, people just do not rust you BN dog anymore. That is why , your reply to bloggers are now erased.

HELLO, WHY NOT START YOUR OWN BLOG???????????
written by Jan, March 30, 2008 13:42:00
By saying this goes to show he's either an idiot or liar. How on earth can they put such a person in charge of our children's education. Is Barisan so farking bankrupt of talented people?
written by Godfather, March 30, 2008 13:57:48
Now, we are looking at the blogs to respond to them but are prevented from doing so,” he said.

Mohamed Khaled said he would bring up the issue in the next Cabinet meeting

It is really SAD & SCARY when a Higher Education Minister voiced his opinion is such a manner.

Education is a forefront of the dynamics & progress of a country, If the Country is in need to propel itself then the Education Policy must be formulated,emulated and executed by leaders who are credible, academically inclined, resourceful and highly experienced & renowned in education field.

Just a small piece of advice:-

Agenda setting in news media is set by news editors. Locally this is done by politicians who have not undergone any training or even have any idea or clue what on the definition of media itself.

Maybe MCA Life Long Free Education can be extended to all these Jokers including MCA President & Brother himself. Courses to offer including Mass Communications:- PR, Advertising ( otherwise MCA will be talking about only on OKT's achievement on prime time advertisements); Broadcasting; Sciences; Business Management; Social Sciences etc etc; Just imagine the costs of advertising in Prime Time Media & major news paper the funds that can be channeled to help our Poor Malaysians Indian,Chinese, Malays, Bumiputras & all Malaysians at large.

Perhaps for a START influencing 5 years old in Kindergarten as practice will have better leverage where every child is subject to all sound proof BN propaganda.When they grow up they can recognize & programmed with only one SYMBOL.

Otherwise; Forensic Science ( CSI ) can help our politicians by spreading open their brains to examine what is actually hampering their mental faculty.

Power to the PEOPLE ! GOOD WORK BOYS! Remember REVENGE taste better when is COLD. Do not be easily swayed by so called half baked Cyber Troopers.
written by budakindia, March 30, 2008 14:03:16
oh yeah! the government trying to "explain"! more of intimidation! The line always starts with "You are liable or chargeable under section X of the Sedition Act or you can be detained under ISA". How revealing! Why do you think we are blogging anonmymously? smilies/grin.gif
written by joeawk, March 30, 2008 14:10:27
Just as the main stream media censored opposition views and tell lies, the aletrnative media were just returning the courtesy. Why complain? Idiot.
written by Bunda, March 30, 2008 14:37:20
And, this is supposed to be the Minister of HIGHER EDUCATION? He doesn't even understand how blogs work.

Hahaha!! What a joke of a Minister.

By the way, does he mean the cyber troopers comments were all deleted? Or that they were blocked from commenting? In any case, sounds like a sore loser and sour grapes coming from this guy who shouldn't be helming the ministry.

written by nafis, March 30, 2008 14:50:15
there there there...poor little 'baby' boy smilies/grin.gif
written by CPY, March 30, 2008 15:03:31
This is what u called u reap what u sowed! U censored opposition, v (self)censored explaination. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by kksam, March 30, 2008 15:16:16
what reply. NIAMAH when you stupid BN MPs said look BN so good we are better than burma, and all sorts of shits that was you reply is it. and the fact was BN controlled all the medias, you can reply whatever shits you want, but did you all really look at the issues. When people march peacefully, ****ing Najib said heavy police presence and the need for acid laded water to disperse the crowd because afraid of racial riots. NIAMAH remember this man, vote him out next election just like how Zainuddin lost when he talk bullshits!!
written by doggone, March 30, 2008 16:03:52
Dear Mohamed Call-it Noth-ing.

Please start your own blog and kindly invite us to participate in your commentary box. Do not censor any of our comments however crude it may be. Please hentam us when we get out of line and we of course do likewise. Walk the talk and not talk the cawk.
written by LACOBRA, March 30, 2008 17:05:57
Hey Khalid, U really insult our intelligence! You guys are really sore losers with no sportsmanship quality! No wonder the country can never excel well in sports with nincompoops managers running the show. Want to entertain and amuse us? Feel free to join the Royal Circus! At least you would get your money's worth when we watch the trainer which is probably an Orang Utan training you.
written by taufan, March 30, 2008 17:48:32
Oh no! This chap is supposed to be the Higher Education Minister. By the way he reason things out, may god bless all the college/university students.

Why be too concerned about bloggers wiping out replies from 'the government'?

You have strings of 'bloody' pro government newspapers. Pluck out the blogs you like and have these printed by these papers with your replies, if you dare!!
written by bushfire, March 30, 2008 21:42:05
It is ironical that Mohd Khaled has talked about the inaccuracies of some of the statements and articles which are posted by bloggers. Perhaps he, like his other fellow ministers and government officials, has just woken from deep slumber. Does he not realise that bloggers provide what the MSM does not i.e. providing accurate information and news (which the MSM does not or cannot). If he is worried about the alleged "inaccuracies" it would be logical for him to use the MSM to rectify this. But the government has shot itself in the foot by using the MSM as its mouthpiece and thereby killed whatever credibility such media should have. It just shows that the alternative media (blogs} is widely read and trusted by the majority of its readers. Perhaps the said minister should use whatever grey matter he has between his ears to figure this one out. The government did not allow the MSM to cater to those who were critical of the government. Why should bloggers now have to allow themselves to be manipulated by them??

I just hope this is not the beginning of some shady strategy by the government to initiate action to control bloggers on the grounds that Malaysians are misled by blogs and therefore are detrimental to the racial harmony and well-being of the people. One can never take for granted anything uttered by the government through its agents. They have conned us before so let's be alert to any skullduggery by BN.
written by mgeo, March 31, 2008 19:53:59
Blog webmasters, please apply their own beloved OSA to any statement or reply from BN and Mahathir.