Stunning incompetence – and proof that nothing has changed PDF Print
Saturday, 29 March 2008 11:54

ALIRAN

If we thought that dealing an electoral blow to the Umno-led BN would serve as a wake-up call, we’d better think again. Far from learning anything from the rebuke, the new cabinet is proof that not one thing has got in those thick skulls, observes Tingang.

First, it would be a normal assumption that there is consultation before announcing a cabinet. But the two instant rejections show the arrogance behind the appointments. The assumption is that people are so hungry for cabinet positions that you don’t have to consult them.

Second, the huge disappointment of the Dayaks in Sarawak pushed even the usually subservient James Masing, disputed leader of the Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS), to voice his disappointment.

Now, if one wants to know what the NEP really means to today’s Umno, Sarawak is a great place to learn about it – and the cabinet appointments only serve to underline that.

This is a state whose bumiputera – a majority non-Malay bumiputera – have seen the favoured grow rich while first the forest and now the land is literally being taken away from them. For these bumiputera, there is no NEP, instead lectures about changing their mindsets while their sources of livelihood are handed over to the well-connected, mostly apparently Chinese companies, but who knows the ultimate beneficiaries.

So, a first-term MP, son of the Chief Minister of Sarawak, is immediately given a deputy ministership, while long-serving Iban, Bidayuh and Orang Ulu MPs are left out in the cold. Now, if anyone is interested in how politics and business are intertwined in Sarawak, just look up the Annual Report of Cahya Mata Sarawak Bhd (CMSB), a company laughingly referred to as Chief Minister & Sons Bhd.

Go along most major roads in Sarawak and you’ll see signs proudly announcing that the road maintenance is under CMSB. The proposed USD2 billion aluminium smelter is a joint venture with CMSB – and we can guess why Rio Tinto picked CMSB as a partner. The concrete and cement and steel for Bakun is from CMSB. CMSB’s tiny Bank Utama was allowed to do a reverse take-over of much larger RHB Bank – but unable to turn a profit out of it, it’s now sold to EPF. CMSB owns the former JKR construction arm. And so on – to the tune of doing business amounting to 10 per cent of Sarawak’s GDP. One company, owned by the Chief Minister’s family – and our Mr Clean had no problems appointing the first-term MP son to the cabinet.

Well, it should be interesting to see Suleiman Taib Mahmud’s asset declarations. But if the government means what it says – who believes that anymore – then it should insist on asset declarations covering the extended family of parents, siblings and nephews and nieces.

But it gets worse. The new environment minister is from Sarawak, as is the plantations minister. Guess which state has done more deforestation in the past ten years? Right, Sarawak. And for what purpose? Right, for plantations. Check and balance? Or, green light to go ahead and further dispossess the bumiputera of Sarawak, handing over the degraded forest to the same people who degraded it with terrible logging practices, so that they can plant acacia and oil palm? Look at the timber companies. Now look at the ones in plantation. They are the same – the Big Five – they call them. And the economy of Sarawak is being handed over to them: forests, plantations, shipping, hyper-malls, hotels, real estate, etc.

Rafidah Aziz deserved to go. But by all accounts she was a competent international trade and industry minister – she deserved to go not because she couldn’t do that job, but because she got too good at some other jobs.

Whover has replaced her, it should be fun. But even more of a joke is the deputy minister, a long-serving Orang Ulu MP, also from the CM’s party, whose only knowledge of international trade and industry is staring at oil palm and acacia plantations coming up all over the Baram. Now this is a man who dare not even talk with his constituents when they want to talk about the land issue. And he is going to represent us in those international forums facing the sharks?

If Mr Clean had appointed him to the works ministry, it might at least be understandable. After all, he is MP of an area where, after more than twenty years, the government road remains unfinished, and is in worse shape than even the logging roads! They used to blame Samy Vellu. Now we don’t have Samy to kick around any more, it would have been good to let Jacob Dungau prove himself and finally get the road completed.

Come to think of it, maybe we should present the whole cabinet with pillows. Things might actually be better if they all went to sleep.

written by Krazee, March 29, 2008 12:15:03
we all already know that Bumiputra is of no consequence already.
Afterall NEP is history.
Umnoputra is the reality. Don't be hoodwinked...!!!
written by KL Dude, March 29, 2008 13:14:49
I do agree with the writter to a certain extent... on the situation in Ulu Baram Sarawak or even Sarawak and Sabah as a whole in terms of development.

Though I'm from KL, but from my business trips there to Sabah (or even Sarawak) for the last 10 years, have openned by eyes to realize that the Sabahans/Sarawakians are actually about 20-30 years behind as compared to their counterparts in Semenanjung.

Well some of you guys here may disagree with me if you have just been visiting KK, Kuching, Sandakan, Miri, Tawau which are the so call urban areas there but if you've gone to the remote parts like Sukau or Ulu Baram, you may start to believe me.

Many villages in Sabah / Sarawak do not even have proper basic ameneties like water, electricity and proper road access or even clinics with proper MO and yet BN can proudly bullshit in the MSM about how much development they have brought to the people of Malaysia. You'll be surprised to see the MP of these areas are all from BN, who so call talk cokc and scare the locals that only they can bring development and prosperity, peacefulness and stability (whatever that dumb BN election motto). The question is, where are the results though millions was said to have been allocated for the rural development of Sabah/Sarawak ? Out of naiveness perhaps, the locals have been voting this BN scumbags into power, without realising that they are voting for them to give them license to cheat them under their own noses.

One can never deny the level of poverty here is quite bad and go visit yourself to the villages here and see their living conditions. The program "Bersamamu' in TV3 highlights about the cases of hard core poor in Sememnanjung mostly but some of the cases highlighted in the program is just 'chicken-feet' if compared to the living condition in some of the rural villages in Sabah/Sarawak. But all these have not been highlighted by the TV program or even in the MSM why ??

Another pertinent factor to ponder is on the NEP as mentioned above, and also regarding Bumiputera status. This NEP thing is supposed to help the local Bumis, everyone knows that but why still many in Sabah/Sarawak still living under the poverty line ? Most Sabahan/Sarawakians are Bumis in fact but how come then the NEP does not have any effect on them ? The writter has pointed out correctly on the effects of NEP there.

I also asked this question myself to some Sabahans / Sarawakians and they told me off this straight to my face...those Bumi status privileges is all crap in Sabah/Sarawak as it only helps the '1st' class Bumis from UMNO or Muslims only as those Christian Bumis are deemed '2nd' class Bumi it seems so they don't get much in fact and are just about the same like the Indians and Chinese in Semenanjung. Is this true, Wildman ?

Actually there's much more dirt in Sabah/Sarawak, but its just that we in Semenanjung don't know in depth or perhaps don't bother to know because it doesn't concern us. All opposition blogsites as well so far mostly have been highlighting the issues mostly in Semenanjung only as you can see and very rare on East Malaysia. So you can't blame the Sabahan / Sarawakians for voting BN because even they have alternative media, those who're very naive actually may perceive the problems highlighted by oppositions in blogsites is a "Semenanjung" issue, and does not really affect them.

What is needed now is that the tsunami that hit the Semenanjung shores last 8 March should now head towards Sabah / Sarawak to wipe out all those corrupt and good for nothing BN scumbags there out once and for all.
written by Sarawak Headhunter, March 29, 2008 14:54:20
Please see my blog Sarawak Headhunter at http://sarawakheadhunter.********.com/, especially the very first post http://sarawakheadhunter.*****...d-to.html the sub-heading of which is "Why is Sarawak Still 30 years behind Malaya?". No objective observer will fail to see the stark difference between Sarawak's rural areas (which comprise the bulk of the State) compared with the rest of the country, especially Malaya. The majority of the natives of Sarawak may not even realize it because they cannot comprehend the enormity of the State's wealth that is controlled by Taib Mahmud and his family AND also of its petroleum wealth that goes to and is squandered by the Federal (BN) government or spent mainly on the development of Malaya.
written by Chuan, March 29, 2008 16:06:46
NEP is a marketing tool, and the term "Bumiputera" is used as the bait.

Now, the result is clear, the NEP has been a ploy by UMNOPuteras to gain economic gains and electoral support.

I must admit this strategy is very useful for the past 50 years, but with the Bumiputera starting to show "enlightenment" in the political arena, the marketing department in UMNO, or BN for that matter, must come up with some new gimmick before they become totally irrelevant to their "consumers".
written by Hope4all, March 29, 2008 17:34:30
To replace Taib Mahmud (Peh Mor) are many times tougher than removing the current PM. He's a minority Melanau and the fact that he manage to hold the other majority races/tribes Dayaks and Chinese together under his rule while still keeping UMNO out of Sarawak, one must take notice.

He serves longer than Mahathir, Samy Vellu and others. Sarawak is his kingdom. I don't think Pak Lah can touch him.

He was one of the negotiators from Sarawak with the then Malaya PM Tunku Abdul Rahman on the terms for Sarawak to join Malaysia. Malaysia exists after 1963, not 1957.

I foresee him to leave politics on his own accord.
written by teohchye, March 29, 2008 19:49:15
There are still some good and experienced MPs from Sabah and Sarawak and even in Peninsula, but this idiot has to scrape the bottom of the barrel and drag out some scumbag criminal like 2 Muhd's and old has-beens such Rais Yatim, etc.
written by jayenjr, March 29, 2008 20:41:26
Rafidah Aziz deserved to go. But by all accounts she was a competent international trade and industry minister – she deserved to go not because she couldn’t do that job, but because she got too good at some other jobs.
======================================================= ========================

Hmmm...if the same logic was applied accross the board, then Nixon wouldn't have resigned from office.

Good or no good - holders of public office must be held accountable. Rafidah was sacrificed for political expediency - we all know that. But she is still running around without being called to be accountable.

written by joeyhuang, March 30, 2008 02:39:09
NO WORRY about this as May 2008 is approaching soon.
Guess all their ministerial seats will all be Non issues.
written by educationist, March 30, 2008 11:37:19
When the new cabinet is dissected in that manner, yes, the conclusion is a valid one. But still, it is the PM's perogative to be so stunningly incompetent.
Let's just hope the opposition ruled states do a better job compared to their previous administrations. Then come the next elections in 5 years time, the people's cry for change will be louder!!
written by densemy, March 30, 2008 18:07:10
Its beyond me why anyone in Sabah/Sarawak apart from the chosen few would vote for BN

Its also beyond me why those same people dont want to secede
written by nescafe tarik, March 30, 2008 22:10:53
KL Dude, you are absolutely correct. However, let me explain about Sabah's dilemma. The reason why Sabah is still way behind development was because of the clash between TDM and PBS(then opposition)in the 90s. As a result, TDM squeezed and tighten the state fund. Sabah have no choice but to extract its own very precious forests for survival. While TDM used the people's money(taxes on the forest extraction) to build KLCC and KLIA airport; Sabah was deprived from its development for 10 years! The situation is getting worse when the current Sabah leaders are selling the souls of Sabahan in exhange of development with the influx of illegal immigrants as PR and UMNO/BN from west m'sia to sit in the state government.
written by batsman, March 31, 2008 16:20:41
We in West Malaysia are praying we did not jump from the frying pan into the fire. You in Sarawak chose not leave the frying pan. OK, so the opposition in your state was not fit for purpose. They contested 3 way fights. You guys need to be patient. Either wait for the next GE, or if you cannot, then jump! Join us in prayer!
written by aboo, April 01, 2008 13:36:28
No, no, we shouldn't present the whole cabinet with pillows--- we should instead present the whole cabinet with cyanide pills, and a double dose for the sleeping idiot