Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow A Gerakan elder makes case for party joining opposition

A Gerakan elder makes case for party joining opposition PDF Print
Thursday, 27 March 2008 09:26

KUALA LUMPUR, March 27 – Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia faces a watershed period in the near future that might be its most significant since joining Barisan Nasional in 1974.

Based on recent statements in the press, the party that was formed to espouse a multiracial and social democratic philosophy to government has floated so far from its founding ideals that it is now no more than a second-rate MCA that was tasked with securing Penang for the ruling coalition.

Now that it has failed, and failed utterly, to maintain the support of Penangites, what does the future hold in store for the beleaguered party?

There are many who believe that the future is bleak and that if the Keng Yaik-Tsu Koon axis is not done away with, the party will drift into oblivion.

In an article in the New Straits Times, political analyst Khoo Kay Peng (formerly with Gerakan think tank Sedar) believes that it must forge ahead with reforms and a new leadership while Tricia Yeoh (Centre of Public Policy Studies) believes that if Gerakan does not carve out a niche for itself, it may soon die a natural death.

Not much later, veteran Gerakan member Datuk Dr Toh Kin Woon, formerly a state exco member, published his personal views, saying that it must go back to basics, in its effort to move forward. He even suggested that it should leave BN if reforms cannot be pushed through as “more of the same” was simply not an option if Gerakan wants to survive.

Adding fuel to the fire, Dr Choong Sim Poey, a former central committee member and state assemblyman for what was known as Sungai Nibong (now Batu Uban) replied to Toh's statement in the NST by saying that the idea of leaving BN was hardly radical and had been mooted repeatedly in closed door meetings since the party joined BN in 1974.

There were heated discussions even in the '70s as to whether to join BN due to the differing views between us and Umno,” Dr Choong told The Malaysian Insider in a follow-up interview.

When we joined we felt that there had to be mutual respect for each other's points of view as we recognised a lot of weaknesses in Umno. Even then we coined the phrase of being 'the conscience of BN'. Over the years, there was dissent within the party, there were voices saying that we have to put our foot down, even if we did not leave the coalition we had to speak up against some of the positions taken by Umno,” he said.

The personal revelations of these veterans in the party reveal a stark contrast from what goes on in the heads of its senior membership and the idea that finally goes out to the public. Many say the face of Gerakan that the public knows is that it continuously bows to pressure from Umno.

Toh also told The Malaysian Insider that Gerakan had lost its identity as a multiracial party with all its candidates in the recent elections being Chinese, when actually it was founded by leaders of all races.

Gerakan has been assigned a mono-ethnic role within BN, which stresses on an ethnic approach. BN's neo-liberal policies has caused Gerakan to deviate from its proposed social democratic platform.”

Neither Toh nor Dr Choong suggests that Gerakan should leave BN immediately. Dr Choong stated that both Umno and Gerakan are in a state of review and will have to decide on a concrete direction before realising whether their future lies together.

Toh feels that because Gerakan leadership had not been more vocal on issues, it lost the moral authority to demand reforms but it would be to the coalition's benefit if “all component parties sat down and mulled over whether to dissolve into one multiracial party”.

I'm not sure if they'll look at it positively, but by doing so, the issue of disparity between the races won't arise. The reason people didn't vote MCA, MIC or Gerakan was because we were seen to be subservient to the all-powerful, domineering and monopolistic control of Umno,” he said, although he admitted that it would take “a big step forward” for such a merger to happen.

Closer to reality, observers feel that Malaysians are finally beginning to accept multiracialism and that while DAP and PKR capitalised on this, Gerakan was not seen as a viable option towards pushing towards this agenda.

This is where Gerakan could've played a useful role but unfortunately, it didn't lead that movement in its restricted position in BN. We are seen as condoning a racially-based and corrupt administration,” said Toh adding that it was fair that people decided to opt for DAP and PKR since Gerakan had ceded its role as a non-ethnic, social democratic party.

When I joined Gerakan initially, the positions that were held in early 70s were very similar to the position held by DAP today,” observed Dr Choong. “We compromised that position over the years, feeling that it was more important to stay within BN but it is very clear that the public thinks that we've sold out our principles and ideology.”

For Toh, the tough decisions that Gerakan must make now are actually fairly straightforward.

If it cannot be part of a reformed BN, then it must look elsewhere for other parties that are like-minded.

Herein lies the crux of the matter. It would seem that the case for leaving BN is simple. Multiracial reforms, or else... but if it were to leave, then where would it go?

Toh believes that, ideologically speaking, it may find that the best course of action would be to throw in its lot with the opposition coalition.

This is potentially the beginning of a competitive 2-party system. Whether it will be realised, only time will tell depending on how the opposition behaves and performs. The potential is there and it's what people want. They don't want to see concentration of power in one party,” observed Toh.

Unless Gerakan can bring reforms in BN, then what PKR, DAP and even to some extent what PAS advocates, seems to be closer to Gerakan's constitution.” - THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by kamal, March 27, 2008 09:31:40
Its time for GERAKAN to withdraw itself from BN and be independent.

Rakyat have LOST TRUST with BN and for sure the next election will be worst for BN.

The BN government has be branded uncaring, ineffective, inefficient and corrupt.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by Naha, March 27, 2008 09:43:36
Time for introspection, catharsis and renewal? Come on Gerakan, do the right thing, and forget the communal politics chutzpah.
written by loosecannon, March 27, 2008 09:45:36
A bit late to jump ship now isn't it? If Garakan had join the opposition before the election, today they would be hailed as heroes and everyone would credit them for the opposition wins. And Koh Tze Koon would still be the CM of Penang, possible Deputy PM even.

The writing has been on the wall for a long time but you chose to ignore it and serve your Umno masters instead.

It's time for Garakan to walk into the sunset.
written by temenggong, March 27, 2008 09:48:13
Just watch for MCA and Gerakan MPs and Aduns crossing over to the opposition.
written by obheng, March 27, 2008 09:52:19
Simple lah, just disband this useless party and tell the members to join either DAP, PKR or even PAS.
written by batsman, March 27, 2008 09:59:27
You cannot take an independent stand in a communist-type coalition. This is just not possible. At least the Barisan Rakyat has proven quite tolerant of differing views so far. If Gerakan values its identity, it must join the opposition.
written by krising1, March 27, 2008 10:04:06
You do not need think tanks ro analyse for 2 weeks and come to a conclusion that Gerakam is kaput. Any kampong boy, like me, knows and knew on Mar 8, 2008 that Gerakan had no more future. You can ride into the sunset and say adios.
written by krepot, March 27, 2008 10:07:56
Dear Gerakan leaders (with the exception of Keng Yaik-Tsu Koon, who screwed the party),

Gerakan is now a dirty word and it is best, you realign yourself with the opposition, either DAP or PKR or part of BA to remain relevant. Hopefully, in GE13, you'll capture back some seats and remain relevant. Otherwise, start drafting your dissolution plan immediately. Same goes out to MCA and MIC! Lets not even discuss PPP!
written by wongnoball, March 27, 2008 10:28:45
Now the poor, cute and lovely Pekinese is looking for a new master.
Is Any body interested lah ??????
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by bumi non malay, March 27, 2008 10:34:01
Just leave Gerakan alone but go individually to COALITION PAS, PKR, DAP....

Why make a Fuss to move whole Party.....Gerakan can Bungkus for all we care. Tan Chee Koon would be rolling in his grave laughing.

want to join en-block, do it 3 days before the next general election in 2012.....we do not need to deal with you snakes and trouble makers.....coalition have enough trouble to deal on its own.....like Freedom of Religion, removal of Apostasy law, songkok prejudice, public transport, balance the budget....etc

Note: COALITION is DAP-PAS-PKR..... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif....opposition UMNO-BN
written by cruzeiro, March 27, 2008 10:44:57

Gerakan,
You must be so totally brain-dead if you don't see how UMNO Baru works after all these years!

UMNO Baru is like an insecure man with an inferiority complex -
It serves to inflate its own ego, extremism and power, by undermining and subverting its "allies" using your greed and the money at its disposal as weapons.

Look around you - are there any "allies" of UMNO Baru who a really strong and true to their Malaysian Ideals?
UMNO Baru can never really work with "partners", unless they have a weakness (i.e. greed for wealth) and have a penchant for corruption.
Think Gerakan - dissolve and evolve into BR.
written by penang1, March 27, 2008 10:44:57
Don't listen to this Choong Sim Poey guy. He was NOT even in Gerakan at all when Chong Eu merged UPD (United Democratic Party) with "the alliance" back in 1969-70. I know all this because my dad was one of the founders of UDP, with uncle Chong Eu. Them people all come out now and talk cock only. Where were they before 08/03/08? Specifically, where was this Choong Sim Poey guy?? This guy is only interested in his own business, killing babies and charge money for it. Just in case you guys do NOT know, Mr Choong Sim Poey is an ABORTIONIST!
written by temenggong, March 27, 2008 10:51:18
Dr. Toh and all of Gerakan is well aware of what they must do, but none have any sense of leadership. It is up to Dr. Toh to lead by leaving and joining PKR or DAP.
written by Bigjoe99, March 27, 2008 10:53:35
The premise of this is that UMNO cannot reform i.e. go back to its original intent and Onn Bin Jaffar's vision. I don't necessary think its going to be so always or we will be in deep shit for long time.

But I do think that its likely to take a long time before it can be ideal for Gerakan to be part of BN again. So the question really is should Gerakan leave BN while UMNO battles for its very soul or should it remain with UMNO while it do so. Its like whether Gerakan should choose 'tough love' or 'stay in marriage-for sake of the kids'. Well, it really depend on the pair...
written by little dragon, March 27, 2008 10:55:43
remember ali rustam telling d ppp dat they can leave d barisan if they want to.

so, don't worry gerakan. umno will not mourn ur departure. they don't need u anymore.
written by Talisman, March 27, 2008 11:07:03
GERAKAN RAAYAT MALAYSIA

This jewel of the Political crown was formed by the late Dr. Syed Hussein Al-Alatas, TaNSri Dr. Tan Chee Khoon, Dr. V. David. Encik Boestaman, V. Veerapan and Tun Lim Chong Ewe, Dr Wang Gang Wu and a few others.

It scared the hell out of the late Tuangku Abdul Rahman. And it did in style by capturing Penang. Without doubt you present leaders now at the helm of Gerakan knows exactly how and on what ideology this party was founded. But one man, for reason best know to him, decided to join BN and then what happened in the aftermath of him bringing GRM into BN is now well documented and currently manifested in its worst performance since its founding.

All was still okay, until the admission of a former MCA leader who was literally squeezed out of MCA. The philosophy of racial politics ala MCAwas slowly introduced and allowed to grow in GRM. Fast forward to 2008, GRM regrets its joining of BN in 1974.

Helloooooo, GRM leaders, the way I see it, you only have two choices. 1) Not a good choice: Lets say you give ultimatum to BN to disband racial politics and all component parties agree to. How are you former component parties going to agree on leadership roles? Shall it be based on merits or piety or how many member a component party can bring into this new grouping. ? You see GRM leaders, whichever way you turn, it is a no-entry sign. Do you think this new non-racial party with a new body and face bu tthe same brain can succeed?

Itis real sad that GRM with such a beautiful beginning has lost its bearing, mainly because of one man who , in a way, wants to get even with MCA. You leaders saw the writing on the wall from 2006 onwards. Youu thought that the non-malays are politically not interested as long as they can cari makan in this country. How wrong you are maaaaaaaan!

As a member at its inception, I suggest you leaders now at its helm, and that Malaysians still remebers you, get out of BN and join PKR. Remember, GRM, Malaysians have short memory.Do it now and not wait for another election. You may not get a second chance.

Strike while the iron is hot!

I-still-love-GRM.
written by Jan, March 27, 2008 11:09:56
In my opinion Koh Tsu Khoon is not even equal to that UMNO Youth Head. See how that youth leader step all over KTK with impunity. After that Gerakan has lost my respect. If Gerakan wants to regain its former glory SPEAK UP for god's sake or leave the coalition. Never again let anybody especially that no-good son in law to step all over you again. Give him a tight slap if necessary.
written by borneopeteliew, March 27, 2008 11:33:00
Gerakan is Penang base. It should just concentrate to take Penang back. To do this Gerakan should walk out of BN and its race base politics. Try to bring back the lost glory of Penang which you Gerakan is responsible to have eroded over the years. Bring back the old Penang Road, the old Georgetown, the char koay theaws and the old dens in Chulia Street and all the old, old...

Oh how i miss the Penang which is going, going....gonnnnnne
written by penang1, March 27, 2008 11:34:29
All was still okay, until the admission of a former MCA leader who was literally squeezed out of MCA.

Who are you alluding to? Chong Eu, or that guy with so much foam at his mouth? Both Chong Eu and that foaming mouth guy were squeezed out from MCA.

It is real sad that GRM with such a beautiful beginning has lost its bearing, mainly because of one man who, in a way, wants to get even with MCA.

Aaahhh... you mean that foaming mouth guy! But please do not place all the blame on him. GRM's defeat in Penang has NOTHING to do with that guy. It has EVERYTHING to do with KTK, the despicable eunuch. The despicable eunuch is the root cause of the March 8th Massacre in Penang.
written by hiro, March 27, 2008 14:00:44
It's actually too late. Gerakan should have used its leverage and threat of quitting Penang to fight for the middle ground when it was in BN instead of playing silent politics.

Now that DAP has taken over Penang, Gerakan must examine whether it can play a more relevant role in BN or BR. For the time being, on the face of it, it would seem that Gerakan still has some worth in BN - it provides a secular check and balance on BR state governments, has the chance of reforming the next state government if DAP fails to manage the state properly, and at least the Cabinet still have some kind of representation.

But if it joins BR, what would its use be? Would it help the Opposition make further inroads into BN strongholds? If there is, then it should be welcomed into the Opposition. That would be best because clearly, its principles are not consonant with that of UMNO.
written by Loh, March 27, 2008 15:43:07
The Barisan Rakyat will take sometime before it would ever be merged into one party. The three-party BR coalition allows non-racial policies to be implemented.

On the BN side, UMNO took the subsidiary parties for window dressing only. The leaders of the coalition non-UMNO parties are compensated while their communities suffer at the excess of UMNO. Now the people have spoken. The Chinese do not think that MCA serve their interests, so are Indians about MIC. Gerakan is meant to be multiracial. The people feel that race-based political parties are outdated, and that the country should not be run on divide and rule basis. UMNO has been able to champion the cause of Malays even though their leaders utilised their position more for personal gains at the expense of the interest of the nation.

It should be clear by now that MCA and MIC would not be able to protect the interest of their communities, and hence they cannot receive their support at the voting booths; the scare tactic does not work among desperate citizens. The people are sick of MCA and MIC serving as junior partners in the game of race politics. MCA and MIC should quit politics to allow the current organizations to continue with programmes of self-help for their communities. They should work with Gerakan on a new political structure for a reincarnated Gerakan; call it R-Gerakan for the present. The membership should comprise of all members from the three parties. The party organisation could follow those of either the Labour party, or the Conservative party of the United Kindom which is different from the bureaucratic structure of MCA and MIC.

R-Gerakan can negotiate with UMNO on the formation of a new government. Failing which, they can join the opposition for a new Barisan Bahru government.
written by CPY, March 27, 2008 18:03:18
Aiyah, Gerakan must reinvent itself .smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by grant, March 27, 2008 18:06:17
gerakan, talk so much for wat... dont be like NATO.. No Action Talk Only... just join Barisan Rakyat la... drop a huge bombshell on BN and that guy whose name is Bodowi! and after u join opposition, u can merge with DAP and call urselves gerak-dap..
written by defendermalaysia, March 27, 2008 18:11:12
Gerakan is going to be no more revellent after this election. I have already predicted Gerakan will have the same ending like PPP before the election and it is true enough. Unless Gerakan emerge with a strong leader as president, then you may have a chance to come back. Looking at the present leaders, no one is suitable. So bye bye.
written by SikhWarrior83, March 27, 2008 20:27:02
“When we joined we felt that there had to be mutual respect for each other's points of view as we recognised a lot of weaknesses in Umno. Even then we coined the phrase of being 'the conscience of BN'. Over the years, there was dissent within the party, there were voices saying that we have to put our foot down, even if we did not leave the coalition we had to speak up against some of the positions taken by Umno,” he said.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What utter rubbish...when has ever this party taken mutual and 'conscience' strides in dealing with UMNO...it has lost its foot hold in politics a long long time ago...it is now only a 'running lap dog' of UMNO..It was never questioned of repelled any action of UMNO of even the coalition.I would say the current opposition although not 'formerly' together have a conscience and speak what is in their mind thoughtfully.

Now that is a conscience!!

Regards smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Raymond, March 27, 2008 21:09:04
Gerakan, looks like the engines have stopped. Disband, that would be the bets course of action. For elected members, convert as independants and serve your constituents (dunno how to spell it). If you seerve it well, then u may join the next government.
written by penang1, March 27, 2008 21:38:50

Gerakan, looks like the engines have stopped. Disband, that would be the bets course of action. For elected members, convert as independants and serve your constituents (dunno how to spell it). If you seerve it well, then u may join the next government.

Dr. Toh is one heck of a good guy ! Although he is from Gerakan, Dr. Toh truly deserves the respect of all Penangites !

If anyone from Gerakan should continue to be on the leadership circle, Dr. Toh is it.

Go for it, dear Dr. Toh !!!

written by DontPlayGod, March 27, 2008 23:18:11
In BN, Gerakan is like a fish out of water. It is neither here nor there. Gerakan was founded by the main races in Malaysia, but the moment it joined the BN, it lost its multi-racial character, and with it, its ideals.

To go back to its ideals, as envisioned by its founders, it has to get out of BN which has virtually been a front dominated almost completely by one party. I would advise Gerakan to merge with PKR. Let the race party in MCA, MIC, and UMNO remain as the alliance or BN.
written by zizjaa, March 28, 2008 04:30:54
GERAKAN is misguided and they have forgotten what they are fighting for. I think the wanted to work from the within, but please la, be realistic. So many smart docs in the party yet cannot foresee the outcome. Cannot even summ up the whole chemistry with UMNO inside BN. This is so ironic that GERAKAN has to wait until the outcome of pru12, then talk cock. What? All the docs don't know how to be proactive?? I wonder how you treat patients this way if you are practising medic. People already talk about Six Sigma and beyond and yet in political parties, they do not even analyse problem scientifically or at least use the same approach.
written by artchan, March 28, 2008 09:38:25
Ask any penangite in the coffeshop..talk about gerakan..most often you get this response "boh lam par".

Gerakan is bullied in UMNO..even the UMNO division heads in Penang can threaten KSK...UMNO always say Gerakan CM is becos we give you. So Gerakan always kow tow..they kow tow so low..that they now are so good at licking asses.

written by Kapsiow, March 28, 2008 20:25:41
It's all about balls. LKY has spitballs and KTK has iceballs; both don't last under heat. Maybe they can both borrow one each from the lady ex-Minister from MITI with the iron-balls since she may not need them anymore.
written by Lim Lim, March 29, 2008 00:56:12
gerakan leaving BN??are we talking for real or jus kopitiam talks??koh tsu koon n all their leaders are still looking for that lost ball on the green,,lah!