Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow You forgot who voted for you?

You forgot who voted for you? PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 March 2008 18:58

Every candidate, irrespective of political party and race, won because of the votes from all the races. So the Malay, Chinese and Indian in government DOES NOT represent his or her community. He or she did not get into government because of the votes from his or her own community. So, once in government, why do they now talk about representing their community?

This was what one mainstream newspaper reported on Monday:

NGOs 'concerned over fate' of Perak Malays

By HAH FOONG LIAN

IPOH: A group of some 20 Perak Malay non-governmental organisations (NGOs) has voiced its concern over the fate of Malays under the new DAP-PKR-PAS government in the state. The group, which held a special meeting at Tambun Heights here on Sunday, will submit a memorandum to the Sultan of Perak.

Among those who attended the meeting were leaders of the Perak Malay Teachers Association, Perak Gabungan Pelajar Melayu Semenanjung (GPMS), Perak Angkatan Belia Islam Malaysia (Abim), Perak Association of Muslim Students, Perak 4B Youth movement, Perak Council of Former Barisan Elected Representatives (Mubarak), Perak Malay Traders Association and Perak Wanita NGO.

Nonee Ashirin Mohd Radzi, who chaired the meeting, said they could not accept the six-three-one formula to be used in the make-up of the state executive council. Nonee Ashirin, one of the founder members of Perak Pertubuhan Profesional dan Pewaris Bangsa (Prowaris), said the formula did not reflect the composition of the state population where Malays are the majority.

The formula agreed upon by the new state government would see the DAP taking up six exco posts, PKR three and PAS one. “There should be more Malays in the exco line-up,” Nonee Ashirin said, adding that the exco should instead have six Malays and four non-Malays, like the representation under the Barisan Nasional rule.

She said the NGOs also rejected the creation of two Deputy Mentri Besar posts because it was not provided for in the state Constitution. “The two positions are there just to fulfil the DAP's political interest,” she claimed.

Datuk Kamilia Ibrahim, who represented Perak Wanita NGO, said the popular votes showed that more voters supported the Barisan instead of the Opposition. She said the Barisan garnered some 333,000 votes compared to 282,000 that went to the opposition front. Based on this, she said Barisan had a simple majority and should be allowed to form a minority government.

These 20 Malay NGOs and movements are talking with their heads up their ass. Based on their arguments, considering that the three opposition parties garnered more than half the popular votes in Peninsular Malaysia, would it not therefore be correct to say that the opposition should form the Federal Government in West Malaysia while Barisan Nasional should only form the ‘Regional’ Government in East Malaysia?

Since when is the number of votes the factor to decide who gets to form the government? Malaysia practices the first-past-the-post system. Over 50 years since Merdeka, the opposition has been winning a higher number of votes in some states, but because it is seats and not votes that count, it always ends up with Barisan Nasional instead of the opposition that forms the government.

The issue as to who won more votes than whom can be laid to rest. It is pointless to argue this point as every man and his dog knows that the opposition garnered more votes than Barisan Nasional. There were an additional one million votes that were stuffed into the ballot boxes, about a quarter of those in the form of postal votes. If the postal votes system had been abolished, as what the opposition had been clamouring for all these many years, and if the electoral roll had been cleaned up and purged of phantom voters, today the opposition would no longer be an opposition because it would have formed the federal government and the Prime Minister would probably be Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail. And let us admit that Wan Azizah is, by far, more attractive than Abdullah Ahmad Badawi – or even compared to Rafidah and Sharizat.

Let us make one thing very clear. There is only this Houdini and David Copperfield type perception that Barisan Nasional won more votes than the opposition. Barisan Nasional actually won less votes but their votes were padded with one million ‘additional’ votes. That is how they created this perception of ‘win’. And in spite of all that and in spite of the gerrymandering and in spite of the many other transgressions and violations like threatening another ‘May 13’ if Barisan Nasional loses its two-thirds majority, they still got their ass kicked real hard. Imagine what would have happened if it had been a level playing field. Let me repeat that: the opposition and not Barisan Nasional won the 8 March 2008 general election.

And do you know what was one of the key reasons why the opposition won? Okay, there were the rampant and blatant corruption, the arrogance of the Barisan Nasional leaders, the keris-waving, the ‘go back to China’ shouting matches in Parliament, and much, much more, that made most Malaysians just plain nauseous But what really moved the voters was the ‘we-are-one’ campaign of the opposition. The opposition did not talk as Malays, Chinese, Indians, Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, Hindus, etc. They talked in a ‘we are Malaysians’ tone of voice.

Malaysians have just about had it with all this racial slur and rhetoric. Not only the Chinese and Indians have had their fill with racism but a fair percentage of Malays as well can no longer stomach the race politics, which is the hallmark of Barisan Nasional. These people just don’t get it. They still have not woken up to the realisation that it was race that lost them the election. They blame the blogs and the internet. They say it was the blogs and the internet which caused the Barisan Nasional defeat. No, the blogs and internet just played the role of providing an alternative source of news to the voters. The blogs and internet could not manufacture the news. The news had to be there in the first place. The blogs and the internet were just the medium to deliver this news to the voters which would not have been available to them otherwise.

And today they still scream about race and racial quotas. Just read what these 20 Malay NGOs and movements said on Sunday. It is still about racial quotas. Why stop at this? Why not just demand that 100% of the positions be reserved for Malays? After all, this is a Malay country, Persekutuan Tanah Melayu, and the Chinese and Indians are pendatang, as Umno constantly reminds us. So would not 100% of the positions be given to Malays be more apt? Furthermore, the Chinese and Indian parties got wiped out in the last election. The Chinese and Indian parties did not deliver the votes. Without the Malays and the natives of Sabah and Sarawak, Barisan Nasional would have been totally wiped out. So it makes more sense that 100% of the positions go to the Malays with none at all for the Chinese and Indians.

Barisan Nasional has to be rudely woken up if it has not already done so. The more they harp on race and racial quotas the deeper into the rut they will go. What’s so wrong if the Chinese or Indians get an extra seat, or vice versa? This is not a number’s game anyway. And, unfortunately, even those in the opposition appear to have fallen for the Barisan Nasional trap by echoing the same sentiments about racial quotas in the government. This is a Barisan Nasional game. If the opposition also tries to play this same game they will lose their pants. Barisan Nasional is an expert at race politics and this is their cup of tea. The opposition enters this gelanggang at its own peril. Rest assured the opposition will lose the race game if it tries to engage Barisan Nasional in its arena.

The opposition has to fight in a different arena. They have to create a new arena and force Barisan Nasional to come engage them in this new arena. And this new arena is non-race-based politics. This is what the opposition is good at and this is where Barisan Nasional will be like a fish out of water.

Hey, I don’t care how many Malays, Chinese and Indians sit in the EXCO. Let it be 100% Malays or 100% Chinese or 100% Indians or whatever. If it has to be 100% Chinese just so that Malaysia can be like Singapore, an extremely successful country that is run by almost 100% Chinese, then so be it. I care a damn about what race is running this country. I just want to see the emergence of the best country on earth. And if we have to go to Mars to find these people then so be it.

Whoever sit as Menteri Besar/Chief Minister and whoever happen to be their ten EXCO Members is not important. What is would be that these people look after the interests of all the races. If we need five Malays in the EXCO to ensure that the Malays are looked after and three Chinese and two Indians to sit in the EXCO to ensure that the Chinese and Indians are also looked after then something must be terribly wrong with this government.

Why must it be Malays look after the Malay interest and Chinese after Chinese interest and Indians after Indian interest? We have only one Prime Minister, a Malay, and is he the Prime Minister of only the Malays who will only look after the interests of only the Malays or is he a Prime Minister for all Malaysians? The Malay candidate did not win this election on just Malay votes while the Chinese won on Chinese votes and the Indian on Indian votes. All candidates, never mind of which race and whether from the opposition or Barisan Nasional, won on a combined Malay-Chinese-Indian votes.

Every candidate, irrespective of party and race, won because of the votes from all the races. So the Malay, Chinese and Indian in government DOES NOT represent his or her community. He or she did not get into government because of the votes from his or her own community. So, once in government, why do they now talk about representing their community? Is this not a violation of the vote that we gave you? We did not vote for you so that you could get into government to serve, represent or protect your community. We voted for you so that you can serve Malaysia. So do just that and enough with this 5:3:2, 4:4:2, 4:3:3, 6:2:2 argument. Even if it is 10:0:0 also never mind as long as you Malay, Chinese and Indian in government know that you serve me and the country and not your own race or community.

Aiyah, itu pun kena ajar ke? Kayu sungguh!

Comments (64)Add Comment
written by kent chong, March 26, 2008 19:38:57
Hi All,

I got a replied from a Malay but sad to know this is what in their mind. Pls read below :-
===================================

Tok Janggut Kini wrote:
Hi kent chong,

Saya rasa terpanggil untuk menjawab soalan-soalan awak.
1) Kalau lah seluruh bangsa Malaysia ini orang Melayu tak payahlah kami risaukan anak cucu kami akan merempat di tanah air sendiri. Nasib kaum kami di Singapura yang di bawah pentadbiran orang Cina lebih teruk berbanding orang miskin cina di Malaysia. Semua tanah telah tergadai. Kami tidak mahu bangsa pewaris kami menerima nasib yang sama.

2) Kenapa rendahnya pandangan awak pada bangsa Melayu?. Adakah dengan ketiadaan orang Cina dan India Di Malaysia, Orang Melayu tidak mampu bersaing dengan bangsa lain di dunia? Adakah selama ini setiap kejayaan Malaysia hanyalah dilakukan oleh bangsa awak sahaja sehinggakan berani awak berkata jika Melayu sahaja penghuni Malaysia, negara ini akan menjadi negara dunia ketiga. Apakah bangsa awak ingat kami ini Orang Melayu tidak berusaha memajukan negara. Apa kata tokey-tokey bangsa awak kalau pekerja-pekerja Melayu mereka MOGOK. Adakah Tokey-Tokey itu mampu berdiri megah lagi. Fikirkan dahulu sebelum bertindak.

3) Memang bangsa cina bukan lanun, Tetapi masa telah membuktikan yang bangsa awak akan membaham semua hak kami jika diberi peluang. Dan apakah mulianya bekerja menjadi Ah long dan penjual vcd cetak rompak jika ianya menjahanamkan negara.

4) DEB itu bukan sahaja hak kami, tetapi juga adalah hak anak cucu kami. Tak payahlah di usik-usik kerana nanti buruk padahnya. Itu sahaja sempadan yang membezakan kami anak Bumiputra dengan yang lain.

5) Tak payahlah awak berharap kami akan berfikiran terbuka jika tindakan tersebut akan menyebabkan kami rugi. Terima kasih atas niat kurang baik awak itu. Dah lama kami sedar akan perkara ini.

==================================
kent chong

HI Malaysian,

Pls ask yourself.. if malaysian now 100% malay and all gain DEB (malay special right) Do you think the govt can support and provide malay everything?
*Another question, if here 100% malay (which is like Indo), are you able to compete with outside world? mahukah kamu jadi Negara Ketiga (Third World)?
*Dont alway think if no DEB then chinese will gain EVERYTHING from malay .. Chinese is not robber or Lanun. Chinese also got poor , Why got so many Ah Long, why so many chinese jual VCD/DVD dekat pasar malam? it's because they are poor but they Work!

With or without DEB ( malay, chinese and indian) still need to work. YOu can continue DEB but you see malaysia and Rakyat goin backward. It's just UMNO gain all the profit from our land and our profit . Selangor/ Penang akan Open to all malaysian mean poor m! alay,chinese and INdian will get benefit. For student(Malay,chinese and India) who are smart and get A in the result, all can go local University. Without DEB not mean malay cannot go in local Uni , NOT mean POOR malay dont get govt help .

I hope malay today better think to compete with Modern country like SIngapore/Japan/USA. Because end of the day, we all make Malaysian Modern and all have better life, ALL MALAYSIAN get rich.

disagree 16
agree 217
written by zul4kulim, March 26, 2008 19:41:52
These NGOs are boNGOK, send them to another country

http://1426.********.com/2008/...ogues.html
written by batsman, March 26, 2008 19:50:43
Malaysians of all races who voted for the BR component parties - Your unity must be stronger than the ability of UMNO and its agents to try and split you up with racial sentiments. If not, BR will fall. simple as that.
written by gtl, March 26, 2008 19:53:09
why the malays in malaysia think that malays in singapore are worst off than them? it is all propaganda by the govt.
malays in singapore also gain from the economic growth of singapore just like other races. malays in singapore compete at par and excel on merit.
if you don't believe, pls come and interview the malay graduates and compare with our local graduates!!
we are malaysian, malaysia is our home. we love our country too.
agree 132
written by indianputra, March 26, 2008 19:54:07
An sms I received... destress.....
=================================

Itu Mahalir mali itu klcc naik
menala naik
putlajaya naik
ploton naik
nama malaysia naik....

itu bodoh badawi mali tol naik
minyak naik
bir naik
lokok naik
api naik
air naik
rasuah naik
roket pun naik
sikalang olang punya angin pun naik....

tapi malam malam dia punya batang pun naik
lxxciau punya olang
written by apa jadi, March 26, 2008 19:57:35
RPK, good write.

Why not name the title:

The Ugly Malaysia part 2:You forgot who voted for you?

There are more ugly things to come. So keep the The Ugly Malaysian header.

Ai....apa nak jadi lagi??
written by wongnoball, March 26, 2008 20:01:00
Dear Malay NGO,

If you really want more representatives in EXCO, you can help to woo more Malays to vote for PAS or PKR in future lah.
Itu pun kena ajar ke ? Kayu sungguh lah !!! HE HE .........
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by penang1, March 26, 2008 20:01:52

Barisan Nasional has to be rudely woken up if it has not already done so.

The same applies to the BR too !

To all the politicians, no matter who you are, and no matter you won or lost in GE12,

Please remember that your job is to serve the people, regardless of their race, religion, income level, age, or creed.

Whether or not you got voted in, if you want to become a politician, your boss is the people, not the NGOs.

Do not ever think that you can betray the trust of the people without being punished, and do not ever think that your boss is stupid.

If we are satisfied with your service, 4 years from now we'd give you another chance. Else, sayonara !

written by Iliyas, March 26, 2008 20:05:17
My exact sentiments as well RPK,couldn't have said it better.If it takes a Malay or Chinese or Indian or Iban or Kadazan or Sikh or Portuguese that can make the deference and champion the cause of the people,so be it.

A truly Malaysian society in the making as we patiently await.
written by Mr Smith, March 26, 2008 20:08:49
I blogged on this same issue about race and how this could destroy the country. I proposed how we can kill all these race based parties before they kill the nation. Please give your take on it here :
http://mrsmith2.********.com/
written by macaufan, March 26, 2008 20:09:18
all this 20 Perak's NGO can b united under 1 body name as 'Berak NGO'. they all can call their 1st EGM/AGM @ Jamban to expedite their 'BERAK' mission !
smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Mr Smith, March 26, 2008 20:10:13

http://mrsmith2.********.com/
written by seek justice, March 26, 2008 20:25:17
Aduhai Orang Melayu di Perak dan di mana-mana,

Rentikan le! Udoh le jangan melatah. Daripada mengkome membare-bare menolak En Nizar tu, elokle lagi kalau mengkome berjemaah di mesjid, banyak berdoa negara kite aman dan seksame.

En Nizar mintak 100 hari, tunggu aje le!
written by Commonsenses, March 26, 2008 20:25:27
Rpk, u r right, the opposition is playing into UMNO racial box, its time to think out of the racial box. Think like a malaysian.
written by talk3talk4, March 26, 2008 20:29:50
Spot on.

Malaysians in particular BR leaders must UNLEARNall the racial crap that they have been forced fed with all these 50 years. Undo all the racial profiling systems that was put in placed by UMNO i.e. delete that lousy question that require you to note down your "Bangsa/Race". Avoid referring to one's race at all cost...........

We must start to see each other as Malaysians. If you must, look for a common enemy like globalisation etc etc but never another Malaysian as the bogeyman.

Next time someone demand NEP, just simply ask them if they are poor and disadvantaged. If yes, then NEP is still there to assist them albeit under a different name. If they are not disadvantaged then tell them to fly kite. If ever they claim to be the Guardian of the poor and disadvantaged, tell them to fly kite too as you, the new ruling parties are the GOOD GUYS in town and their services is no longer required..........
written by mad topeik, March 26, 2008 20:30:18
Please stop all these talk about racial thing. All that matter is that who ever sits on the chair must be competent to sit on the chair. I am a malay and a father of four and when my children study in the university, I want them to be there because they deserve it not because of their race.
written by Lim Lim, March 26, 2008 20:31:15
RPK,bull's eye!!u are definitely 10/10 right on it..so wake up!!our so called Barisan Rakyat!!u would be no difference at all if u fall into the same racist trap talk of umno/BN!!we hav voted for BR without even wanted to know who was the candidate becos we are ****ing sick of the umno/BN racial divide shit for the past decade!!umno/BN goons were not defeated by the 'kempen siber",infact they were ****ed off by the totally frustrated right minded malaysian,BR's success on 8-3-2008 was built on the fact that they were standing on the 'ceramahs" platform as bangsa Malaysia with no race cards!!exactly as what RPK stated here..so pls watch out..n 5 years are not a long time!!
written by vineeth menon, March 26, 2008 20:34:10
That was a timely reminder by RPK. Some people are having problems in memory & logical thinking. Their brains are shut & mouths open.
written by foresight, March 26, 2008 20:36:42
I hope all parties will read this. I definitely hope that the opposition will not follow BN in flushing the country down the sewers. Be colour blind and just get the job done right and you can be assured that you will be back next time.
written by malaysianohope, March 26, 2008 20:42:09
Greetings Pete,

Those NGOs are just playing with racial sentiments which has no basis because the Barisan Rakyat won the election through the efforts of all like minded Malaysian not just Chinese or Malays or Indians. If they want to have their wish thy should then join umno and stand for election, not we want this we want that macam budak budak.
By sending a memorandum to the Perak Sultan means they do not respect the decision of His Highness in blessing the wakil wakil Rakyat.

Off with their heads!
written by mikewang, March 26, 2008 20:45:29
Timely reminder Pete !
written by songkram, March 26, 2008 20:46:01
Tok Janggut
Ingat tak Langkawi sebelum tahun 90,orang langkawi miskin,seleps lima 90,harga hartanah di Langkawi melambung,banyak yang menjual tanah mereka kpd.pihak tertentu kononnya untong.Untong?pihak tertentu yg tu jual dng.harga x10.pihak tertentu tu siapa?tok takan tak tahu.apalagi orang Langkawi yg telah jual tanah depah tu sampai sekarang berapa yang masih kaya?Kenapa?jawapannaya depah tak pandai urus kekayaan mereka cuma gantong aje pada kerajaan yang mendorong DEP.
Tetapi mereka (pihak tertentu)lah yang untung x10.Tok nak harap mereka ni lagi
mempertahankan hak bumiputera? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
BRAVO!!! RPK BRAVO!!! 1 melaysia 1malaysian.
written by cruzeiro, March 26, 2008 21:10:38
".........This is a Barisan Nasional game. If the opposition also tries to play this same game they will lose their pants. Barisan Nasional is an expert at race politics and this is their cup of tea. The opposition enters this gelanggang at its own peril. Rest assured the opposition will lose the race game if it tries to engage Barisan Nasional in its arena.

The opposition has to fight in a different arena. They have to create a new arena and force Barisan Nasional to come engage them in this new arena. And this new arena is non-race-based politics. This is what the opposition is good at and this is where Barisan Nasional will be like a fish out of water."
======================

I sincerely hope the "Opposition" really understands, and takes this advice .....
written by megahyper, March 26, 2008 21:10:59
WTF? NGO? Those NG(No Good?)....Organisation is linked to BN or UMNO one way or another?

Some, if not most are UMNO member.

Perak Council of Former Barisan Elected Representatives (Mubarak)? wtf?

Barisan Rakyat has the most popular votes in peninsular Malaysia, they should form the government here.

Like RPK said, these are buncha political-linked whiner?
written by zhanyiyi, March 26, 2008 21:15:11
We must drill into the Malaysian minds that there is only one human race and
LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOUR AS THYSELF.
In fact I would recommend a law be passed in parliament as soon as possible by the Govt in waiting: that all racial discriminations, racist remarks must be severely punished, and the person or party doing it shall be liable to be sued, and that the punishment shall be harsh ( 20 lashes in public) and a mandatory jail sentence.
I can understand why RPK is very annoyed WHY MALAYSIANS KEEP ON HARPING ON RACES. RPK, just keep on f**king these idiots who still play the different races cards. Please DO IT MORE OFTEN TO SHOW THAT WE ARE ALL AGAINST RACISTS WHO TREAT OTHER HUMAN BEINGS AS TABOOS.
written by cruzeiro, March 26, 2008 21:19:26

BN is desperately trying to revive the Race game using NGOs. There'll be more to come and they are working real hard at it. Only the infighting is slowing them down.

Mark my words, guys - Next in line is going to be the Religion game - that is really going to test the hearts of Malaysians real hard.
AMNO will attempt to rip your hearts out by playing on these sensitive issues.

I hope PAS, DAP and PKR are ready for it & are loaded to kill 'em ASAP, when it rears its ugly head to fracture the Malaysians.
written by Hockchew, March 26, 2008 21:20:19
Please remember we are Malaysian. One People One Nation.
We have been divided for too long so its time to be reunited.
Hidup Malaysia!

Keep the NEP for all the poor people, malay, chinese, indian, kadazan and iban. Pls do not import poor people. We do not need leaders like Ghazali Safie and gang who became importer and distributor of people so that we become persekutuan tanah Melayu. No its Malaysia!

Exco or MB or CM can be of any race as long as they care for the people and not taking us for a ride.

The Sultan are also for us. Daulat TUanku! Daulat Tuanku! Daulat Tuanku! That's why why chinese malaysian visited Hongkong and China, the local chinese called us Ma-rai-jai or melayu. Yes we are melayu!

I am glad at the rate things is going, I will die as a Malaysian and not as a chinese or chinese malaysian.
written by Clive, March 26, 2008 21:30:44
I totally agreed with your point RPK. However, dont you forget that can every one in Malaysia can accept those practice. I don't think so...try to look at Perak..S'gor.....it has so many resistance to be the local government. In order to reach such state as you mentioned, our elected representative should produce some result in order for the public to trust and being served by the local government. Well....to concluded that, we have to act positive and monitor our rep. performance if those not performing....we will form other Barisan Kita.
People voice.....
some time it's too hard to remove the old thinker...""Hoi Banggun lah"
written by Ben, March 26, 2008 21:37:02
We were invited by the English Bureau of MCA to visit the Youth Ministry and see how power sharing was practised in Malaysia. Our host was the Deputy Minister, Ong Tee Keat.

After the presentation was done, it was Q&A time. One of the better questions was how were the duties shared between him and Hishamudin, the minister? He candidly replied, "He takes care of the Malays only, others belong to me."

Recently, Dr. Wan Azizah said "'I will do my utmost to take this unique opportunity to move Malaysia forward towards a new dawn while continuing to safeguard the rights of all Malaysians under the Constitution,'.

Guess who we voted for?

written by Areka, March 26, 2008 21:37:13
A very well true written article. This thing we called "RACIST" is a propaganda of the damn BN govt. They use this term to control and confuse the Rakyat.

WE ARE ALL MALAYSIANS! Who cares a damn whether one is Malay, Chinese, Indian, Bidayuh, etc. etc.. as long as he/she is a MALAYSIAN? As long as he/she is of good integrity, honest, humble character, he/she has the job.

"IT DOESN'T MATTER WHETHER IT IS A BLACK CAT OR A WHITE CAT, AS LONG AS IT CATCHES MICE, IT IS A GOOD CAT"
written by grant, March 26, 2008 21:39:54
mimag..... where are u?????????????
written by grant, March 26, 2008 21:42:03
these NGO donkeys have been blindsided by BN for toooooooooo long... namesake NGO...
written by Loh, March 26, 2008 21:52:00
///We voted for you so that you can serve Malaysia. So do just that and enough with this 5:3:2, 4:4:2, 4:3:3, 6:2:2 argument. Even if it is 10:0:0 also never mind as long as you Malay, Chinese and Indian in government know that you serve me and the country and not your own race or community.
Aiyah, itu pun kena ajar ke? Kayu sungguh!///

That is the most difficult concept, and it was the result of BN training for the past fifty years.
Government servants are supposed to be neutral to political parties in serving all Malaysians. Good policies can end up with bad implementation when the government servants deviated from the original intention to serve the interest of the political parties, for their reelection. For example, NEP was to dissociate race with jobs. But government servants are almost all Malays now. Had the government servants implemented the policies as intended in the spirit and letter of NEP, the racial composition of government servants would not have come to his extreme proportion. This reaffirmed the belief that the person can only have their interests protected when people of their own kind are in the position to help them. Or alternately, they have to pay extra for the service.
The people have no confidence now that government policies are formulated to treat all citizens equally; some expect preferential entitlement and other expect discrimination. When the government claims to help the poor, it would not fail to mention that it is helping Malays, and other races. With the experience of the past 50 years non-Malays would believe that it might be so only after Malays’ interests have been served. NEP of the past confirmed that after helping the ordinary Malays, the leftovers went to UMNOputras, or more accurately vice versa.
PM AAB threatened that when non-Malays are not elected, they would not be represented in his Cabinet. He claimed to be PM for all Malaysians and yet he declared that the presence of other races is required to protect their interests. It follows that the more people represented, the more benefits the community would gain. PM AAB makes people kayu.
With PM AAB promoting racial politics, one cannot expect that the racist mindset would ever change..
written by malgal, March 26, 2008 21:56:09
If Planet Earth were to come under an alien attack, all earthlings would start taking up collective arms. They would put aside colour,creed and class and come together as earth humans. Of course it should not come to that before we start seeing the bigger picture.
Why is our country called Malaysia with citizens called Malaysians? Why is national pride made much of? Why the celebration of multiculturalism? So stop the anal bantering of race divisiveness. We're not even going as to which of these `races' contribute the highest chunk of taxes. Stop it. Stop it. Stop it. And get going to build this country together.
written by DontPlayGod, March 26, 2008 22:16:06
We have been seeing of late, Malay NGO's, UMNO, and other Malay bodies saying that they will suffer because the Malays are not well represented in Government? Why, why? Parliament has been in the hands of UMNO for 50 years, and the Chinese have not complained, or taken to the streets. In fact, the Chinese and other non-Malays have suffered in silence. MCA and MIC although represented in the cabinet, could not do a single thing to stop the bulldozing by UMNO in their racist and discrimnatory policies. But the non-Malays survived, although many have emigrated, some millions, I think.

In developed democratic countries, it has always been the majority who looks after the interests and welfare of the minority. Why can't UMNO and the Malays look after the interests of the minority? Why can't UMNO and other Malay bodies preserve the cultures and languages of the minorities, as is required in the UN charter. Even China makes great efforts to preserve the language and culture of their minorities. You can see the minorities attending their parliament dressed in the minorities' dress, complete with their headgear.(Here we have to wear the Malay dress for formal occassions).

May we remind the Malay ultras and other Malay NGO's, that the BR was voted in by all races, not just by non-Malays. DAP would not have won based on the Chinese votes only(not all Chinese voted for DAP anyway). DAP and PKR are multi-racial parties. Their common goal is that opportunities and aid should be given to all, irrespective of race or religion. This is something the Malay ultras and Malay NGO's just cannot understand, neither can they accept. They have been used to being given special rights, and enjoy outright favouritism all these decades.

The Malays have been thoroughly brainwashed by UMNO that without UMNO, without Malay representation in the Government, then they are "finished". This is what UMNO has been instilling into the psyche and subconscious of the Malays. They have been led to believe that without special treatment, without the NEP and other crutches, the Malays will fall into oblivion.

I don't, for a moment, believe that the DAP or other multi-racial parties like PKR, PSM, will ever discriminate, and I don't believe the Malays will fail without the special treatment. It would be a grave insult to the Malays to say that without all these special privileges, they will fail. This is what UMNO has been drumming into the psyche of the Malays. It is sad that some of the Malays believe these lies of UMNO.

I have a strong feeling that it is UMNO who has been organizing all these demonstrations, protests, and forums to frighten the non-enlightened and rural Malays.
written by Loong, March 26, 2008 22:39:03
Agree. Referring to the comment by Tok Janggut who says that Singapore Malays are suffering in their own land, it is actually not true. If they are really suffering, why dont they move to Malaysia, where they will enjoy special rights. This is because they enjoy a higher standard of living in Singapore and the environment is safer. I know because I have asked some of my Singaporean friends. In fact, they hate, I repeat, they DESPISE and LOOK DOWN UPON MALAYSIAN MALAYS for depending too much on the government and afraid of losing everything.
written by harrbm, March 26, 2008 23:13:05
>

I am sadden by such mentality of my fellow Perak Malaysians. Do you really want to violently kick the government of Perak who was voted by the majority in accordance to the rule of law ?

Are all Perakians like this? What went wrong in our system? Sometimes I wish Dr. Farish Noor be our Minsiter of Education.

To my malay brothers and sisters, we must accept that all Malaysians have as much rights as we are. We need each other. We must love each other. Sure enough there will be unreasonable people among us but it's not the reason we must be unreasonable too. We all fight against injustice and equality. So in the name of justice and equality, please uphold it for ALL malaysians.

If the Perak government is not upholding what we believe is justice and equality, well... you vote them out in the next GE. Is that difficult to understand?

>

written by nowinnofee, March 26, 2008 23:42:13
The question you must ask to those idiots who are stupidly instigating the issues of Malay quota, is this:
How must has UMNO promised you.....RM 50k? RM500 K?....or promises that they or their husbands will be made the next MP or State Assemblymen or women?...or....they will be given 50% instead of 5% off for the next purchase of their house...bodoh..bodoh..bodoh..........clearly mutton brains
written by Argonaut, March 26, 2008 23:45:33
Aren't those 5:3:2, 4:4:2, etc proportions based on political parties rather than the race of the individuals? It is DAP, PKR, PAS jostling among each other for seats. I think that is perfectly understandable and expected. They do want the chance to serve and prove themselves as individuals and as a party. You might argue that perhaps they shouldn't view themselves as coming from either the DAP,PKR or PAS party but as a member from the DAP_PAS_PKR alliance. But, we haven't gotten there yet. Sure they share the Manifesto, but how it will be carried out is not yet certain, i.e, will it have a secular approach or a religious one. If viewed as an alliance then the proportions don't count, but as parties, they do. It was other entities that point out that the individuals of the parties form racial or religious proportions that make the entities uncomfortable. That is the poison. I hope BR can deflect them well. Besides the pro BN ngos , there are also other ngos that make inconvenient claims. Malaysiakini did report about The Malaysian Associated Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (MAICCI) wanting representation. They want representation, but did not put themselves up for election. To reject them would seem a slight against the Indian community. How should BR handle this?
written by malaysian2008, March 26, 2008 23:56:39
ooop ! dear RPK, your statement
" All candidates, never mind of which race and whether from the opposition or Barisan Nasional, (won on a combined Malay-Chinese-Indian votes.)" sound raciast too, Do you mind if I suggest to change it to {won on the MALAYSIAN votes).

We are the Rakyat of Malaysia -MALAYSIAN - where got malay/chinese/indian/dayak etc etc lah.
written by FFT, March 27, 2008 00:09:02
Nonee Ashirin Mohd Radzi, who chaired the meeting, said they could not accept the six-three-one formula to be used in the make-up of the state executive council. Nonee Ashirin, one of the founder members of Perak Pertubuhan Profesional dan Pewaris Bangsa (Prowaris), said the formula did not reflect the composition of the state population where Malays are the majority.

Just so y'all know:

PROWARIS is a Tun Mahathir outfit.

Now you know who is playing the racial card here.

The first order of the day for any new government in Malaysia is to sentence the Mamak Godfather-wannabe to swing from the gallows.

written by Leon, March 27, 2008 01:08:28
I sense Tok Janggut Kini and Kent Chong must have grew up in a cocoon, nested far away from the actual Malaysian reality. The problems facing Malaysians today are a direct product from centuries of British divide-and-rule policy. By compartmentalizing our society along the racial lines, the Mat Sallehs assigned different jobs, settlements, education, etc. respectively to Malays, Chinese, Indians, and so forth. This was a clever plan to perpetuate their dominance over non-Europeans. It happens elsewhere in the world. That's why ex-colonies of the Europeans in Africa, Asia, Indian subcontinent, tend to be more volatile.

My point is, for generations, we Malaysians have been taught to believe this dogma of racial supremacy. Ketuanan Cina, ketuanan Melayu, or ketuanan India or whatever it may be, are absolutely rubbish! The dogma that shackled our forefathers should be broken after 50 years of independence. Sadly, the reality is that the in the first 50 years of our nation, we are still "colonized" in our minds. It will take at least another or two generations to dispose off this "cancer" in our society. But it will only happen if we are adamant to take the first step. Please be sensible while discussing these issues, as much as it provokes, at the same time it heals the rifts among us. Don't forget, we are one nation; as such, we are brothers and sisters.
written by bn haramjadah, March 27, 2008 01:30:42
like i have said a hundred times before bitch, NGO stands for NON-GOVERMENTAL-ORGANISATION, THAT MEANS NOT INVOLVED WITH GOVERNMENT,no funding from government, no fockall involvement with government, so WTF IS THIS SHITE CALLED
'Datuk Kamilia Ibrahim,(umno member) who represented Perak Wanita NGO," THE ONLY SHITE WANITA I KNOW BELONGS to umno and BN..who the last time are checked is still the government so where did these scum come from, most probably they form all these associations (ada register tak) to get extra funding lah, guys lets form NGO-ANTI-UMNO-NGO and than lets see whether we can get funding from umno or not?
Please lah go get a job, DO YOU NOTICE SOMETHING, THE TERM NGO IS BEING HIJACKED BY BN MONGRELS, HAIYAH JANGAN CAKAP TAKDE MARUAH, sooo thick skinned innit smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by bn haramjadah, March 27, 2008 01:37:17
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif to the malay ngo's and kaki ampu, balls and arsehole buddies of umno read my lips, WE HAVE MAJORITY RULE, THE PEOPLE VOTED FOR US, IF YOU NOT SATISFIED NEXT ELECTION GO AND VOTE FOR YOUR CHOICE, IN MALAYSIA we practise majoritism, so shut the fock up.... THOSE WE THE ROUGH TRANSLATION OF WHAT NAZRI TAXI AND HAIRI JAMBANLUDIN SAID ON AL JAZEERA, so to these ngo's i say go fly kites or get a job, no freeloaders needed in perak smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by freespeecher, March 27, 2008 02:21:16
tsk tsk tsk why this people still have so immature mind !
written by asil, March 27, 2008 03:54:36
It's a simple formula,

It's all about RAKYAT. YOU serve RAKYAT, WE'll vote you back.

Let's RAKYAT share the wealth of nation, and YOU'll ensure that. WE'll pay YOU and WE'll vote YOU again.

written by NancyL, March 27, 2008 06:39:12
haiyaa....what happen to Malaysia now?.....I think the new govt now should do the following so that Malaysians will be happy:

1)increase the tax in the individual earning....the higher they earn the higher will be the tax...this is to ensure the equal distribution of wealth....maybe up to 40%..then should give allowance to the poor...in accordance to the number of children they have....

2) the govt must build as many universities as possible so that the quota issue will be abandoned as there will always be enuff place for students infact enuff to bring in foreign studenst that will inturn put money back into this country....and more works in the learning institutions will be created...thus increase the number of professionals needed.....

3) the early stage of education in Malaysia must be totally changed....they should adopt the montessori system....because going to school is just not about books but knowledge of how to be a good humanbeing.....this system will indeed increase the confidence of these young children no matter what race there are....this will produce quality future malaysians rather than quantity...it is important to install confidence and humanity in young generation inorder for this country to succeeds.....

I dont want Malaysia just to be the most successful nation in the world one day....the most successful doesnt really mean the best nation.....WE NEED TO CULTURE GOOD HEART TO OUR YOUNGSTERS...NOT JUST HOW TO BUILD SKYSCRAPERS OR JUST TO BE DOCTORS OR POLITICIANS ETC ETC ETC....THEY ARE NOTHING IF THERE HEARTS ARE COLD AND EMPTY.....they are basically just zombies that hunger for the thirst of the life on earth when earth is actually nothing...if your heart is nothing..and your identity is zero
written by NancyL, March 27, 2008 06:56:20
p/s....I mean....as for the distribution of allowance ....the new govt should make a proper rate as accordance to the salary compare to that of the household earning ..so that to ensure the right amount of money is given to the right people..... smilies/smiley.gif
written by nafis, March 27, 2008 09:07:46
Tok Janggut had written "membaham hak melayu"

interesting

who allowed it in the first place? Yes, i think this 'membaham' scenario is already happening, and do you know who allowed this to happen? AMNO-PUTRA! in the facade of? DEB!

I pity these ultra 'malays'....they tend to blame other races for their woes but they fail to see that it's the amno-melayu who had done the job

And now the amnoputra is so hypocrite about "semangat Muhibbah" - makes me want to puke everytime i hear that word - they ain't seen the REAL MUHIBBAH in spirit and effort when we TRUMPED them in GE smilies/grin.gif
written by Ken Liew, March 27, 2008 09:18:38
If you ask me, Malays in Singapore are the poorest of the Singaporean?.... I would answer, Yes.

But go ask the Malays in Singapore, are they willing to give up Singapore and live in Malaysia??

Go ask the Malays who work in Singapore. Why work in Singapore??

The point is:
Malays are to scare of changing. The Umnos have used the NEP to brain wash most of the Malays. OK! Maybe I was wrong on the 'scare', But for the changing, IF we do not change, we will surely left behind.

For I must also thankful to those Malays who did not vote for the BNs. But if you are vote to make Malaysia better. We must accept to change and improve the WHOLE MALAYSIA SYSTEM NEP included.
No changing = No improvement.
written by KwongCK, March 27, 2008 09:36:51
Now this shall test the mettle of the leaders we have voted into power. Are these leaders going to lead the country out of these racist politics or succumb again for reasons only known to them. We still have a lot of hard work ahead.
written by tcng, March 27, 2008 09:59:12
Kent & RPK

NEP was originally quite a sensible concept even though it was only for the Malay/Bumi.It was necessary to narrow the gap between MalayBumi and 'pendatang at that time, for the sake of social stabability, it is also necessary to create some MalayBumi millionairs/billionaires just to prove the point. Unfortunately, NEP was abused by the greedy politicians and the way it was implemented in last 30 years was like taking drug. There would be serious withdrawal syndrome if stop immediately. The 'drug pusher' had caused more harm than good to Malay community. There are some Malay 'thinkers' (probably including RPK) who recognises this problem, but the number is still very small. Many Malay in West Msia voted for opposition in GE12, but they did not vote for total elimination of NEP. Take education as example : If starting 2010, we make STPM as the only route to entry to local U, and entrance is base solely on STPM result,I bet the number of Malaybumi students in local U would be less than 30% and most of the 'elite' courses such as medicine and law will be dominated by ethnic Chinese and Indian.... Just imagine the consequence !! On the otherhand, if we do away with (7 or 10%) discount in purchasing high end houses, the Malay masses may support it.

Mahathir called it 'crutch' mentality, i.e. you have no confident to walk without the crutch. I call it 'drug addition'. Once addicted to it, it is very difficult to kick the habbit.

Well, there are some Malay holding the view that the country is 'MALAY-sia', Malaybumi are the owner of this country, ethnic Chinese & Indian are pendatang. Hence, Malaybumi should continue to enjoy special privileges no matter how RICH and how SUCCESSFUL they already are. Anyone who championiong this can easily find a lot of supporters, probably including many Malay/bumi who voted for opposition in GE12. To this group of people, I say GOOD Luck. But don't expect any respect from others.. because no matter how well you do, the whole world would assume that you got where you are because of special privileges, not because of your capability.
FYI... the Red Indian in USA enjoy special privileges for years... see where they are now.

In summary : NEP today is a drug addition problem.Cold Turkey is not the solution.... It is a can of worm, and neither UMNO/BN or PKR/BR has solution
written by southallman, March 27, 2008 11:22:42
Empty vessels make the most NOISE, that is this 20 Perak Malay non-governmental organisations (NGOs), surprised re the number, thought it will be at least 10 fold more
written by panca, March 27, 2008 14:15:27
What ngos do they belong to besides the name it carries? Who is behind them? bn is better? It's history, MDM Ngos for racial lines!

The other days there were loud barks in the neighbourhood, trying to catch the wrong attention of those sleepy heads.
written by panca, March 27, 2008 14:21:49
written by grant, March 26, 2008 | 21:39:54
mimag..... where are u?????????????

--------------------------------------------------

grant is looking for you, yo!
cheers.
written by bukitkuda, March 27, 2008 15:33:41
Pelik bin Ajaib.sekarang sudah ada NGO ikut race pulaks............macam-macam lah UMNO RACIST NAK BUAT..........hopefully dalam bulan June kita ada Kerajaan Federal Baru....
written by matdeboq, March 27, 2008 16:46:30

What ever it is..!! They are trying to remind themselves that you are one the force's to be dealt with !
They will try all means to stop you..but so far .."Tak Bercalaq Pon"
BTW ..they're making you more and more famous every time ..RPK name is on air..!
And I'm not suprise if they Wish to 'Altantuya-C4'you!!...If they has the chance!!
Thank You RPK.
written by matdeboq, March 27, 2008 16:57:38
Correction..!!!

What ever it is..!! They are trying to remind themselves that you are one of the force's to be dealt with !
written by Vampiress, March 28, 2008 02:46:46
Aiyahh! Look what happened to the former Yugoslavia.

It's not only Malay NGO lar, is the M'sia way, brain oledi program like that. Chinese ppl and Indian is the same. If I marry Indian, my chldren is Chindian, if I marry Sihk (bayi)? not good word right? why malaysian think like this? don't like ppl to mix?

SO its' only talk lar, this one malaysian. NATO!

RPK say the Malay NGOs in Perak make noise. How to solve? Have more Malays in DAP lar. Same for PAS, if Chinese scared of PAS, have more Chinese in PAS lar. Is so easy, no need think so hard. If still NGO complain, then confirm is UMNO puppet.
written by NancyL, March 28, 2008 07:15:30
Just let teh NGOS voiced what they are not satisfied .....I thought we should practice the freedom of speech.....Democracy .........thats not big deal...anyway I think it is understandable why they behaved that way after all their lives they were under UMNO and now suddenly changed.....takes time to accept new things ....
written by nathan, March 28, 2008 11:43:54
To all those who won... remember.. the people are watching... we will not be fooled again and again... irrespective of race.. if you dont perform... OUT YOU GO.. in the next election.. hereafter this is how its going to be.....WE THE PEOPLE PUT YOU THERE..... REMEMBER THAT......
written by faisal, March 28, 2008 12:16:58
I'm malaysian first..and malay second.. and admit the NEP has done more harm to the Malay than good..Why? I can say 80% of the Malays only enjoy less than 20% of the NEP benefit.. the rest is enjoyed by the "you know who". But as tcng said, removing NEP totally might be too drastic.. but I'm all for a policy that benefit Malaysian regardless of race and religion. To me, as long as the government, the PM, the MB.. can guarantee my freedom, my religion - i dont really care if he is white, black or even pink.
written by murthy3372, April 08, 2008 12:33:18
MALAYSIANS,

Think as bangsa MALAYSIA.Enough with this Malay,Chinese,Indian,Iban,Punjabi,Asli,Kadazan etc mentality.
written by PR Msia, April 11, 2008 11:27:40
NGOs behaved racism. I think we have to respect the RAKYAT choice.

The NGOs should bring up issues and cases as to when and where and what. Now the PR merely 1 month old. Already making huha. Not fair to PR and Perakians.

I believe PR government will look into NGOs claims if Malay are marginalised.
Issue on 6-3-1 should not be an issue at all. These NGOs seem to me will cause chaos to stablility of state and country.

I hope police should take action against such seditious remarks made by NGOs.