The USD25 million Caper that failed PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 March 2008 14:43

Folks,

Many people ask why UMNO was so blind that it did not see that they had lost contact with the electorate? The finger was not on the pulse, neither was the ear close to the ground.

Mahthir's thin margin and waning popularity was not lost upon him. They knew that the new voters were against him. So before they could register for voting, he resigned and allowed Badawi to take over as PM. Badawi's soft, non-confrontational approach enthralled the Malaysians, sweeping him into a landslide victory. It was not so much a vote for him as a reaction to see the end of the oppressive approach of Mahathir. The question of how well Badawi exploited this overwhelming mandate is now a moot point. He did not realize his romance with the crowd was quickly fading away with all the scandals that came his way. The internet was exposing all that the mainstream newspapers covered.

UMNO was very confident that the Malays would give them the mandate they sought. So confident were they that they even openly stated that they did not need the Chinese and Indians votes to win the election. What many do not know is that UMNO had a USD25 million weapon in their hands to win the hearts of the Malays. They had negotiated with the Russians to put a Malay astronaut in space for a sum of USD25 million and another USD800 million to buy 18 Russian fighter jets. I am not asking who makes how much.

We all knew that having non-Malays in the selection team was just a charade. In the end, they would select a Malay. And so it was that Dr. Sheikh Muzzaphar Shukor went up to space, with the initial noble intention of serving teh tarik to all the other astronauts. On his return, he was given a hero's welcome by Najib. What the public did not know that this was a political PR exercise to parade him to all the Malay kumpongs as the stereotype of the New Malay in the space age. So poor Shukor was overworked like a circus curiosity, going from kampung to kampung, without much rest. UMNO was so sure that this would bring the Malay voters back to the fold. They could not think of a more brilliant idea to galvanise the Malays in one fell swoop. This was second only to making teh tarik in space. It was UMNO's great effort to get the world to recognise Malays as a new scientific force in the world.

What happened is history but I am letting you know: a USD25 million gamble that failed catastrophically.

CH

written by billykbk, March 26, 2008 14:47:48
Simply bcoz the stupid govt thought that the Rakyat are just fools like them!
written by malaysianohope, March 26, 2008 14:55:30
So since umno lost we should then blast the dpm to mongolia in a DAP rocket paid with the USD25 million.
written by temenggong, March 26, 2008 14:55:34
Ground your astronuts and forget about crystal mosques and yachts.

Go build 200 fishermans' wharfs with unloading facilities, repair yards, coldrooms and finance 800 deep sea trawlers with holding capacities, and aquaculture farms. Ini pun taktau! Dumbos!
written by Tornado, March 26, 2008 14:55:54
UMNO mudah lupa.

written by indianputra, March 26, 2008 14:56:49
Juat heard the news that Pak Lah met Agong this morning and HE NOW HAS AGREED TO INSTALL THE PALACE CHOICE AS THE MB OF TERENGGANU instead of his preferential candidate Idris Jusoh!!

ANOTHER WIN FOR THE RAKYAT - Daulat Tuanku.

Pak Lah.. this should cement your end!
written by krising1, March 26, 2008 14:58:23
Shukor, go get a life before you get a kick in the butt for boasting about how you wasted our money! Your space trip is over. You are not going anywwhere after this. Heroes are made of sterner stuff and you have not done anything heroic.

How can UMNO say that they represent the Malays when they do not know what the Malays want. Even the Malays know that UMNO only represents the UMNOputeras. The old Malsys may be illierate but their children are not. They have opened the eyss of parents and grandparents eye.
written by teo siew chin, March 26, 2008 14:58:35
would it have been a resounding victory if the USD25 million was given to 22 million rakyat?
written by penang1, March 26, 2008 14:59:16

Just count yourself lucky -- They haven't bought that spaceship yet !

Or else the price tag would have ballooned again, just like the submarine case.

written by Kimm, March 26, 2008 14:59:21
This russain RM$$deal brought lots reprcussions to Msia. 1st the stupidnaut thing going to space just as a tourist and teaching people how to serve teh tarik, 2ndly Najk got big bugs comm 3rdly he has to kill Athyanthu to cover up.

This is the biggest jokes
written by est, March 26, 2008 15:06:08
Great act! Spend USD25 million at the expense of the bonuses of all government servants. You think the rakyat tak tahu ke?
written by panca, March 26, 2008 15:12:21
najis thought he was like JFK putting a man on the moon in the next few decades by putting a man serving roti canai(russian disapproved that stupid act to please their folks) as to faked his own orgasm for the greatness of malay kampong folks.

The exit of BIG BIG MONIES into accounts....

So they lost happily ever after......
written by panca, March 26, 2008 15:14:36
sorry...oops, teh tarik not canai.
written by rocky, March 26, 2008 15:23:01
malays are not stupid nor are the rest of the malaysians. we all knew it was just a ride like taking a bus ride. Malaysians see it a waste of money more so when they plan to send more people into space just so they can talk big, well talk cock
written by Racheljansz, March 26, 2008 15:26:42
I believe there were no actual USD25 million in the first place to put a Malay astronaut into space.
On paper we may have paid for it, but
actually someone just took less commission.

The 'Malay in space' was done after leaks of USD800 million of 18 Russian fighter jets started to seep out.
They needed to justified the astronomically expensive purchased,
and take the media away from an explosive event.
Since it has been paid for, trust the 4th floor boys to used it and took it out for SPIN as part of BN's GE2008 campaign.
BTW I believe there was no teh tarik but many poor malays feels tarik into dismay at the wanton waste of spending for just one person!
written by FFT, March 26, 2008 15:41:30
The $25 million dollar space monkey was simply a distraction away from the loads of money looted as kickbacks by Mamak's golden boy.

And I won't be surprised if some poor Mongolian or two were simply offed for knowing that and threatened to go public with it.
written by MsLim, March 26, 2008 15:46:47
Go build 200 fishermans' wharfs with unloading facilities, repair yards, coldrooms and finance 800 deep sea trawlers with holding capacities, and aquaculture farms. Ini pun taktau! Dumbos!
======================================================= ==========

Above project tidak ada wang masuk pocket. Buying Russian weapons ada wang masuk poket plus some loose change to send one Malaysian to space. This is what you call "Killing two birds with one stone"
written by citizen eye, March 26, 2008 16:07:03
Bn make the Melayu bodoh.
How educate the Malays?
written by Democrats, March 26, 2008 16:41:57
The space participant and the angkasawan project is the biggest joke.
Sheik Muzzafar tagged along for a ride to the ISS, and made and serve tea along the way. That's how we Malaysian are now judge by Russians and Americans. Even the Korean girl going up to the ISS is doing research there for some period of time. They wouldn't even let this tourist do any form of work or research or even touch any buttons on the ISS.

What pride is there? Am I suppose to say, "As a Malaysian, I proud to say we've got a man in space before....." American would say, "Really? we got one up there not long after Malaysian became a country." Russia will say, damn, we did the same thing with a dog many years ago....

Pride would be to construct and build your own shuttle to space. Pride would be discovering new planets and liveforms in space. But most importantly, pride would be saying as I Malaysian, I am proud to say we enjoy press freedom, freedom of expression, freedom from corruption and freedom of choice. And that doesn't even cost 25cents.
written by goman2k3, March 26, 2008 18:14:03
Hey! isn't he a mamak rather than a Malay?? No wonder umno kalah. smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by educationist, March 26, 2008 18:47:40
For the record, I remember that the space project was decided during Mahathirs era. But no matter, UMNO did try ro capitalise on our so called angkasawan. However, UMNO has underestimated the thinkung skills of the rakyat.
written by qwerty, March 26, 2008 19:10:24
Dr.Sheikh Muzzaphar Shukor epitomises the typical UMNOputra.
Free lunch costing USD25 million paid for by the rakyat!

One year later now, what do we get out of the whole monkey business??
Rat turd!

Better for me to spent RM30 fabricating water rocket to teach my kids hand-on about rocketry!

written by bn haramjadah, March 26, 2008 21:28:04
just to show the world we are JAGUH KAMPUNG, umno please stfu, you are garbage
written by colorsinlife, March 26, 2008 22:13:59
Curse you najib and stupid-naut
written by joeawk, March 26, 2008 22:23:19
that is 30,000 low cost flat down the drain and which might have done a better job of buying malay votes.
written by AsamLaksa, March 26, 2008 22:37:16
This is just following the Mahathir formula.

Sepang F1 when Malaysia doesn't even have an F1 driver or a supercar or racing car industry. Would have been better improving public transport system.

Petronas Twin Towers tallest in the world when there are people without a roof over their heads and there's still problems with squatters. Helping poor and displaced first would bring more benefit to the society.

Team Everest using public money. Nice for the participants but really all sorts of people have been up there and some done it multiple times. So really, what's the big deal?

Crystal mosque? Cantik. Does it bring you closer to Allah? If it's built by private funds then it's dia orang punya suka. State funds are held in trust for the peoiple thus are meant to improve the state and help the people and does the mosque fall under this category? Highly unlikely if you apply the concept of proportionality.

When I first heard about Shukor, I was dumbfounded yet I found there are Malaysians who says he is the pride of Malaysia. To me it's pride and joy for Shukor and his family but for Malaysia it's nothing more than a PR stunt with little or no follow up. Does Malaysia have a viable space programme? Does Malaysia plan to expand the field of astronomy? What about Malaysian aerospace industry? Who cares if you can make teh tarik in zero-gravity.

Geleng kepala...
written by Msian 2, March 26, 2008 22:42:00
Spend US$25 million to be a hawker shows the depth in UMNO and its leadership. That kind of money should have gone to help lots of poor Malays. Again UMNO undermine their own people. Fortunately, the Malays are not stupid like those in UMNO leadership.
written by Experienced, March 26, 2008 23:09:03
smilies/sad.gif One is cover the commission. People will forget the commission and say our man is up there. The normal trick. Pocket the major sum and give some to the party. You will get supporters who will say: Good, you see he cares for the party. The game goes on. You scratch my back, I scratch yours. smilies/grin.gif
written by michael chick, March 27, 2008 12:31:45
Do you all know how much RM25 million can feed the needy Malaysians? Let alone US$25 million? This is the people's tax money we are talking about. Anyone else want to pay taxes to a Different Government as Citizens there?

Truly Asia, Truly Retarded
written by teohchye, March 28, 2008 06:03:13
In the 1960's the Americans sent a chimpanzee into space. This monkey returned to earth and spent the rest of it's life in a zoo. Then in 1970's the Russians sent another monkey (or was it a dog?) into space as well. Last year Malaysia also sent an UMNO baboon ( or was it a dog?), but not in our own spacecraft! We piggybacked on a Russian spacecraft for USD25m to serve "teh tarik" and make "roti canai". Malaysia Boleh?