Muslims Swallow the Bait….Again PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 March 2008 13:45

If it’s one thing we Muslims can be counted on, it’s to whine and complain when the right cues are given. ‘Insulting Islam’, ‘provoking Islam’, ‘demeaning Islam’ and a myriad of other chants will be yelled out. Some embassies may be burnt, possibly some churches and some people will be injured or even killed.

On Easter Sunday, Pope Benedict, he of the famous non-sequitur comment about Islam, baptised Magdi Allam a convert to Catholicism from Islam. Naturally, there were criticisms from the Italian Muslims about insensitive timing of the incident. The Vatican of course denied that this was an attempt to offend the Muslims.

Unsurprisingly, today a few Muslim voices has already spoken up against the event. One such voice was Aref Ali Nayed, a key figure amongst 200 scholars who are engaging Christians in a dialogue called it ‘triumphalist tool for scoring points’.

Well of course it was just that. Duh.

But Mr Nayed, are you telling me Muslims don’t do this? Please wake up, sir. Google ‘converts to islam’ and you will see the thousands of websites dedicated to displaying conversions to Islam. My dear fellow Muslims, are you guys not also proudly claiming that ‘Islam is the fastest growing religion’ (forgetting about the huge number of children Muslims tend to have, by the way) and that former Roman Catholic priest Benjamin Keldani who wrote ‘Muhammad in the Bible’ converted to Islam?

In Malaysia, it’s even worse. Muslims regularly publish stories of converts to Islam without any care about the feelings of their fellow Malaysians. These converts extol the virtues of Islam and decry the ‘darkness’ of other religions. I’ve even seen the newspapers stories of mass conversions alongside mass marriages of those converts. Do Malaysians Muslims think this doesn’t offend their fellow Malaysians? But if the shoe was on the other foot, like with this incident above, we might find Muslims who won’t know the difference between Pope Benedict and Dirk Benedict coming out into the streets, hoping to defend the ‘dignity of islam’. I wish they would turn their anger towards the gangsters and rapists in their communities. That would at least bring some positive change.

This ‘conversion syndrome’ is a thing with both Muslims and Christians. Both parties love to talk about converts to their particular religions. In my experience, the one thing which sets them apart though, is the dignity of the manner which the Christians display and the Muslims tend not to. Muslims, when they hear of Muslims leaving Islam, have rarely shown the same kind of consideration and compassion towards the individual converting from Islam. We seldom hear of them saying ‘well, its his God given choice’ but instead we hear things like ‘this is a conspiracy’ or ‘if shariah law was in place, he’d be executed’ (proving that sharia law is against the Quran).

Certain parties in the world know well this knee-jerk reaction by the Muslims. They count on this reaction to periodically make world think that Muslims are savages. The Muslims who do show any kind of understanding and compassion (take a look at this website) tend not to be given the space in those media streams to defend Islam from these misperceptions. Of course, the fact that there are thousands of Muslims who will emote at the drop of a hat when shown these events doesn’t help either.

I wish we could wake up to a world in which when an event such as this happens and all the Muslims carry themselves with great dignity and compassion that these media streams have no choice but to report that ‘Muslims are happy for apostate, wish him a lifetime of happiness’. This is the reaction which the Prophet followed, if we believe in the Quran. However, this is a world which is at present, far off in the distance.

Farouk A. Peru

www.peru.name

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by bumi non malay, March 26, 2008 13:55:04
I better not say anything ...otherwise can be banned, lowly rated, deleted.. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif...who cares!!

Prefer to work hard now on PAS to drop Apostasy law in Kelantan, followed by Selangor, Kedah, Perak...... we have problems in Malaysia, no need to Kay Poh / busybody overseas!!

Freedom to choose a Religion is mandated by GOD. How can lowly mankind decide it to be otherwise?? Unless you are God/Allah, do not hide behind your tradition or teaching to display your Bigotary Prejudice!!
smilies/wink.gif
written by huguon jr, March 26, 2008 14:00:09

Thats mostly Muslims malay (regardes those who are pathetic non-open minded people)like to "syok sendiri" when they see TV programme on how Raihan Lead Singer tell his story of his conversion saying there it goes Islam is Great!. If opposite to the story, they would use Syariah and blaming or probably jungle law could be implemented to do execution. As always simple minded their are..

The degree of thoughts and faith depends on person, if he found whats he always wanted to find the truth to religion he converted too well be it. It's between him and God.

Pitty....
written by penang1, March 26, 2008 14:14:54

Reading the article gives me a feeling of freshness ---

Ahhhh....

Islam indeed has people that can think !

I thanks God for this feeling, and thanks God again for encouraging people of ALL religion to think !

written by panca, March 26, 2008 14:18:36
Taking in good stride as what a good football game is as friendly as it should be.

they win some they lose some but the right spirit in the match in any aspect of life, "if one loses, never lose oneself" wisdom is lost.
written by Kimm, March 26, 2008 14:21:38
We are to judge, and I agree quite a good % with Petra's comment here. Whenever anything happens in muslim fields even for the slightest there bound to be a big huha and call for jihad. Nothing but jihad. But look at other religions? They displayed patient, meekness and wisdom and cool heads and not acted like head hunters hooligans.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 26, 2008 14:25:42
Those who think their religion is more superior, are fools, because being religious does not make a person more clever, especially if you behave as though the religion belongs to you, and you force others to do things against their will, and you spend a lot of your precious time to pray, instead of to work hard, and to conduct yourself in a respectable manner, and respect others, and mind your own business, and use more of your brain, why should you care even if your own mother choose to convert?
written by Catharsis, March 26, 2008 14:26:14
....................In my experience, the one thing which sets them apart though, is the dignity of the manner which the Christians display and the Muslims tend not to. Muslims, when they hear of Muslims leaving Islam, have rarely shown the same kind of consideration and compassion towards the individual converting from Islam.............................

THE DIFFERENCE HERE REALLY IS- JESUS TEACHES US TO BE LOVING AND COMPASSIONATE AND BE "A "SERVANT" TO ALL IN THE LIKES OF HIM
written by Tan Tan, March 26, 2008 14:28:11
To be honest, since I am young, all my Muslim friends think that Islam is the only true religion and the rest are just fake. They also pride themselves following the right path and I am praying to statute or animal.

But I am sure it happen to all Malaysians. However, very seldom a non-Muslim is angry with such a remark but learn to accept how Malay Muslim "need" to defend their religion and we all still good friend.

I accept my friend's comment that Islam is the only true religion for him and I don't question or compare my belief against his and we are fine. If he make joke about me praying to statute and I will look at him and he will just say...aduh ...joking la...and I just ok with tat.

But come to think of it, if I going to make joke about Islam, he will nag, scold, lecture until I need to say sorry...which is not fair....because I accept him for being a Muslim and he should accepts me for being non-Muslim.

This is why I believe we need more educated Muslim in our country to show what a real good teaching of Islam in Malaysia because I think Islam had been misunderstood here and this always create fear among non-Muslim like myself.

Please don't bombard me later for making this comment because the way most Muslim reacted that create this fear of Islam to non-Muslim. But with education and better communication, this can be eliminate.

Malaysia Boleh, MALAYSIAN BOLEH and Muslim Boleh
written by batsman, March 26, 2008 14:32:28
Sad, very sad. In Malaysia we are doubly cursed. The same phenomenon can be observed when chauvinists swallow UMNO's racialist bait time and again without fail. It is as if this chauvinism that I speak of and UMNO's racialism are 2 faces of the same coin. Again this can be observed with Bush and Osama. They are 2 faces of the same coin.

Now that UMNO is distracted by crisis after crisis, it no longer has the time to spout racialist provocation. Unfortunately the chauvinists, missing UMNO's racist provocations desperately now fill all the blogs and independent spaces with loud racially tinged complaints as if to fill the void left by UMNO.

Sad, very sad. This Stockholm syndrome that the chauvinists feel for UMNO makes it difficult for Malaysia to shake off the curse of racism.
written by temenggong, March 26, 2008 14:34:52
Great honesty Farouk.

Like your link says, apostasy has been confused with treason. In the past a person was executed for treason. That he was an apostate confused the matter.

I go further than say blasphemy was a legal instrument created to act as a firewall to protect the religion. With modernisation blasphemy was discarded but the third world which is still in the feudal agrarian era, has not come to terms with it.

One man's blasphemy is another's prayer! For instance, the daily muslim call to prayer is, well, 'blasphemous' to the non abrahamic faiths! Did anyone realise that?

Blasphemy impinges on freedom of expression and cannot hold anymore. There can be no restrictions on freedom of expressions with the advent of travel and telecommunications.

God cannot be blasphemed, because He is not an object apart from us, rather we are his subjects, and He is within us, closer than our jugular vein. Likewise there can be no treason against god.

I hope muslim scholars like rpk, muftimurtad, admiraltojo, batu brpahat, tiong, ayam and farouk peru write a thesis on 'apostasy, treason and blasphemy, showing how the justaposing and confusion led to sharia and huhud laws on apostasy! It will be an invaluable documents to Pas and muslims at large.
written by batsman, March 26, 2008 14:34:59
I hope people can see the elephant standing next to them and forget about the germs in faraway places.
written by Kuku Burung, March 26, 2008 14:35:43
F. Peru represents a forward, open, and rational Muslim thinker. I like reading his articles and always came away with new understanding of religion. But we have very few such thinkers around, apart from RPK, Farid Noor, Azly Rahman in Malaysia. What we have are half-past-six so-called religious expert who only know how to stir up bad feelings and trouble.
written by aiyomanaboleh, March 26, 2008 14:43:41
Religion is not the problem but the people who practices it that is creating friction with other religions.
written by Mr Smith, March 26, 2008 14:48:20
Farouk is surely ahead of his time. Yes, he is a breath of fresh air.
It is people like him who gives us hope that not all is lost when looking at "matters involving Islamic sensitivities".
But will the world listen to the likes of Farouk?
written by glock17, March 26, 2008 14:59:24
We better not comment....if we do, the whole Amnoputra will used it to inflame violent racist uprising to gain back what they have lost.

As you know, some of this pundits are ready to go auto-cruise of murderous homicidal spree to defend their party honor and dignity.

Maybe Kerishampudding can enlighten us more about it?

Glock17

Glock17
written by Admiral Tojo, March 26, 2008 16:35:02
Temenggong Sir,
you are too kind to even call me a scholar, especially scholar of the Arab Religion. I am just an avid reader, of books, but have focussed on reading critically the Quran, over the past few years (close to 10).

As someone rightly pointed out, one of the most glaring advises in Quran is the absolute freedom of belief. This is the fundamental advise in Quran, without contradiction. However, for those who do not believe, they will use external sources of references (I call Arab Myths) to impose conditions, interpretations and rulings contrary to the above, principally the current erroneous Arab derived laws (syariah) on apostasy. Stoning to death for apostates is NOT in Quran.

Anything that is NOT in Quran, I dismiss to the thrash bin and I suggest everyone else does the same.

Free yourself from mental slavery, as in Religions, put there by Mullahs, Priests, Rabbis, Monks and what have you. Once you remove this box altogather, only then can you clearly see the greatness of the Creator.

Shalom/Salaam
written by mimag2005, March 26, 2008 16:43:56

WE, the present day Muslims are looked upon as "INTERNATIONAL PARIAHS " because we....the Muslims have strayed far from ALLAH and HIS Islamic Teachings contained in the Holy Qur’an....!

..... WE DESERVE THIS LABEL....!!!!!

written by cruzeiro, March 26, 2008 20:02:49
Farouk,
What you say makes plenty of sense to me.
It appears to be more of an attitude problem with those who believe that "God needs to be defended" (in most religions).
But I suppose it is the "silent majority" who fuel this problem, for fear of being stigmatized/ridiculed and the relevant Godmen.
Hope this doesn't bring out the chest thumping "defenders" of the faith, saying that they are "under attack" like those with some funny seige mentality.
Cheers Mate!
written by bn haramjadah, March 26, 2008 21:16:41
YEP I still remember in the 70's when cat stevans converted to islam, how the muslim community felt so boody proud and went about boasting, not withstanding the fact that cat stevans was a drug addict, serial orgiest, alcoholic and a lot of other things, well whats the difference between him and saddam hussein, another muslim, who was a mass murderer of infinate proportions, who not only killed and tortured his own people, but also kuwaitis and iranians. those people were also muslims, use your brains a bit lah, dont be hypocrates, who are the biggest terrorists in the world, don't be apologists, pakai otak sikit lah, if a person is a criminal and does things against humanity than whatever he is, he is still scum of the earth whether he is muslim,christian, hindu,budhist,taosist, atheist or pray to the coconut tree, grow up and see the trees for the forest,what is right is right what is wrong is wrong simple as that.
written by joeawk, March 26, 2008 21:38:55
Come on, let's allow true religious freedom. Allow conversion from one religion to another. Beisdes, islam is such a great religion, therefore Islam can always expect a net gain. What be so afraid to allow free conversion. If allowed, I may also want to sample being a muslim for 1 year and who knows, I might stay on.
written by seek justice, March 26, 2008 21:38:56
Just let's not let emotions give our religion a bad name, which ever religion it is. Ultimately,:

"On no soul doth Allah Place a burden greater than it can bear. It gets every good that it earns, and it suffers every ill that it earns. (Praysmilies/smiley.gif "Our Lord! Condemn us not if we forget or fall into error; our Lord! Lay not on us a burden Like that which Thou didst lay on those before us; Our Lord! Lay not on us a burden greater than we have strength to bear. Blot out our sins, and grant us forgiveness. Have mercy on us. Thou art our Protector; Help us against those who stand against faith." (The Heifer: v. 286)
written by kodoktua, March 26, 2008 22:17:43
My dear fellow Muslims, are you guys not also proudly claiming that ‘Islam is the fastest growing religion’ (forgetting about the huge number of children Muslims tend to have, by the way) and that former Roman Catholic priest Benjamin Keldani who wrote ‘Muhammad in the Bible’ converted to Islam?

... and not forgetting also the 'conversion' of Neil Armstrong (the first man who stepped on the moon) & Michael Jackson. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by mimag2005, March 26, 2008 23:56:48

written by bn haramjadah, March 26, 2008 | 21:16:41

…….. and saddam hussein, another muslim, who was a mass murderer of infinate proportions, who not only killed and tortured his own people, but also kuwaitis and iranians. those people were also muslims, use your brains a bit lah, dont be hypocrates, who are the biggest terrorists in the world, don't be apologists, pakai otak sikit lah……….,

Dear bn haramjadah

Take a peek below...guaranteed Eye Opener, Ear Shattering...Brain Dissecting...!!

01)www.youtube.com/ watch?
v=P_q6j6BZkHQ

02)www.youtube.com /watch?
v=7E3oIbO0AWE

03)www.youtube.com/ watch?
v=JZekosYOmXc&feature=related

Ball in your court..??

written by mrgoh, March 27, 2008 02:19:51
I was born to a Catholic father and a Buddhist mother. At a very young age, my parents told me that I can choose my religion when I am older but while I am still young I shall go to Sunday school. I learned alot about Christianity at a very young age however at the age of 18 I have a tremendous inclination in thinking about things critically, logically, rationaly and unbiasedly.

I have thought a lot about religion and I came to only one simple conclusion:

Religion is merely a tool vested for one to sustain peace within oneself.

I self proclaim myself to be a true Buddhist even though I have done the whole deal of baptism, holy communion and confirmation. I choose Buddhism because I think it is more practical for me - however, I discriminate other religions not. I choose Buddhism because it BEST fits my mentality and not because I see nothing wrong with it. I do in fact find some teachings in buddhism that reckons to be challenge with in my own thoughts.

Call me arrogant for challenging a religion or God. I couldn't care any less because before I converted myself I have choosen to put my mental faculty of thoughts and rationale at a higher priority than my own religion or beliefs. Consider my mind as the tiles that lay the foundation and my religion only fills in the tiny gaps. That is how I tick.

At the end of the day, I say choose the religion that best suits you. My views is that people should choose a religion that its teachings they think can deem functional for them. However, whether you agree on this or not it is up to you.

But this I know this is right:
Religion is NEVER about professing supremacy over the rest, it is NEVER about 'fitting in', it is NEVER about being popular,
Religion is only about yourself and your beliefs. It is about YOU and nothing else matters (in the context of religion).
written by michael chick, March 27, 2008 11:16:13
Dear Muslims Brothers. If the Syariah Law is indeed the Law of Allah,
then why do NO TWO MUSLIM COUNTRIES HAVE IDENTICAL SYARIAH'S?

Contact Sisters in Islam who will give you endless enlightenment on this issue.

Yes, for once I'm keeping it short and sweet smilies/tongue.gif

Truly Asia, contradicting Syariah's
written by panca, March 27, 2008 20:10:32
Walk side by side, do not just follow blindly.
If one falls, the another still walk.

It is one, within oneself that can transform to selflessness which transcend beyond form, words, emotions, universal values, the wisdom mind.
written by panca, March 27, 2008 20:13:57
wise man said,
only fools rush in.....
written by Tompios, March 27, 2008 21:28:02
Madrasah, Kafa, Pusat Islam wilayah, Pusat dakwah Islam, kelas2 pengajian Islam, University2 Pengajian Islam among Islamic centres that really producing so many good worker of defending Islam. Unfortunetly, these centres are not producing thinker-leader Islam defenders!

Manager and leader is not same. These centres cannot produce leaders whom can think by themselves.

written by NancyL, March 28, 2008 07:41:15
Dear Malaysians....
We ..be it chinese, malays, indians or others....have to accept the fact that we will forever stuck with each other....as for that we must respect each others religions.....its more like a marriage isnt it?....any weaknesses that your spouse have the other has to just turn the other cheek....inorder to avoid any unnecessary arguments...i.e inorder to make the marriage works....
We have to learn about each others religion so that we will know what make that persons angry on certain issues....and sometimes ....whether we like it or not....we just have to let it be....

MY ADVICE IS....

IF YOU ARE A CHRISTIAN...THEN BE A PROPER CHRISTIAN....IF YOU ARE A MUSLIM THEN BE A PROPER MUSLIM....BUDDHIST,HINDUS,ETC,ETC,ETC....BECAUSE THERE WILL COME A TIME....maybe not now...maybe during our children's time that faith is important...that believing in GOD is important inorder to survive when nothingelse can help them.....
written by sonofman0, March 28, 2008 11:42:04
THE TEST

Give the muslims of the world a "test" by insulting Islam and the Prophet. This is done by insulting for the SAKE of insulting and then
hiding under the protective cover of FREE SPEECH. Worst still, the insults have no basis in fact! Even free speech can be HIJACKED!

I don't think anyone of ANY RELIGION will react kindly to such a "test". I also don't think anyone who does such a thing is civilized.

The purpose is to provoke and then raise the banner of free speech.

THE SOLUTION

Demonstrations and rioting have been tried. They did not have the desired results. On the contrary, they produced some destruction,
injury and even death. The cartoonists were not impressed. They returned to their studio and repeated the "test".

Court action is fraught with complications, the chief of which is FREE SPEECH! Besides, courts tend to be slow, very slow. This
brings us back to square one: more time for more cartoons.

The best solution is one by the INDIVIDUAL. Every muslim should boycott the products of any country that allows its citizens to insult
for the sake of insulting. There is nothing more effective than giving the economic underbelly of a nation a good WHACK.

The last solution is best. It is non-violent and should get the message across.

It will not offend nations because it is the quiet effort of individuals across the globe. Who do you point the finger at?

No nation can shout, "Free Speech" because no nation is shouting "Free Boycott". It is the individual who is doing the boycotting.

Any nation which says, "I can't stop my citizens from practizing free speech", can be given the answer, "No nation is involved in
boycotting your product. It is an action by a collection of souls who don't like their religion and their Prophet being insulted".

Peace.
written by mimag2005, March 29, 2008 04:38:49

written by michael chick, March 27, 2008 | 11:16:13
Dear Muslims Brothers. If the Syariah Law is indeed the Law of Allah,
then why do NO TWO MUSLIM COUNTRIES HAVE IDENTICAL SYARIAH'S?
_______________________________________________________ _______________

Dear Brother Michael Chik,

You have indeed posed a vagued question without any specifics….dont know whats really on your mind.

Anyway this involve deep knowledge in Islamic Jurisprudence. Pls state your enquiry and I will do my best to get an interpretation for you from the concern experts.

Meantime I am giving you specifics where you are able to give a response.

The Holy Bible as claimed by Christians are the INSPIRED WORDS OF GOD.

Pls clarify the following

01). THE EARTH IS FLAT....?? !

Isaiah 11:12
12 And he shall set up an ensign for the nations, and shall assemble the outcasts of Israel, and gather together the dispersed of Judah from the FOUR CORNERS OF THE EARTH. (KJV)

Revelation 7:1
1 And after these things I saw four angels standing on FOUR CORNERS OF THE EARTH, holding the four winds of the earth, that the wind should not blow on the earth, nor on the sea, nor on any tree. (KJV)

The Earth has Edges?!
"that it might take the earth by the EDGES shake the wicked out of it? (From the NIV Bible, Job 38:13)"

THE EARTH IS A CIRCLE ? !
"He sits enthroned above the circle of the earth, and its people are like grasshoppers. He stretches out the heavens like a canopy, and spreads them out like a tent to live in. (From the NIV Bible, Isaiah 40:22)"

Question No1…Can this revelation be GOD’s inspired words…??

02).....BEGINNING OF CREATION.....

GE 1:3-5 On the first day, God created light, then separated light and darkness.
GE 1:14-19 The sun (which separates night and day) wasn't created until the fourth day.

GE 1:11-12, 26-27 Trees were created before man was created.
GE 2:4-9 Man was created before trees were created.

GE 1:20-21, 26-27 Birds were created before man was created.
GE 2:7, 19 Man was created before birds were created.

GE 1:24-27 Animals were created before man was created.
GE 2:7, 19 Man was created before animals were created.

GE 1:26-27 Man and woman were created at the same time.
GE 2:7, 21-22 Man was created first, woman sometime later.

QUESTION NO 2…Is it GOD’s inspired words or BAFFLING CONTRADICTIONS ????

Over to you....???