Home arrow The Blogs arrow Face To Face arrow FACE TO FACE: Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam

FACE TO FACE: Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 March 2008 12:54

Pak Lah should continue the fight to do more for a better Malaysia. Nothing comes easy and on a platter. The more responsible and active the opposition is the better to keep the govt on its toes and to fight abuse including corruption. We need more checks and balances to improve our quality of life and good governance!

Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob is a trained lawyer and Malaysian political commentator. He writes for numerous international newspapers and online journals as well as hosts Face to Face, an interview segment of Malaysian/regional issues and personalities hosted on Malaysia Today. He also serves as Foreign Correspondent for foreign news organisations.

Ramon Navaratnam, prominent political economist and chairman of the Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute (ASLI), Center of Public Policy Studies. He is also president of Transparency International (Malaysia). With over forty years of experience in government and now in the private sector-driven by relentless empathy with the less fortunate, he shares his forthright perspectives with Face to Face on the dawn of a new Malaysia.

1. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Should Abdullah Badawi resign? Will he be able to hang on to power under the circumstances?

Ramon Navaratnam: Why should Pak Lah resign? Is this the norm in well-developed democracies? He still has a strong majority even if it's not a two-thirds majority. But why should we hang on to the outdated notion that a government must have a 2/3 majority for stability? Pak Lah must in fact be highly credited for his more open style of government that has enriched our democracy. I hope he stays on to do much more for the country's progress.

2. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Abdullah Badawi says that he will continue the fight. Realistically, can he deliver the goods now with increased opposition presence in both state and parliamentary legislatures?

Ramon Navaratna: Pak Lah should continue the fight to do more for a better Malaysia. Nothing comes easy and on a platter. The more responsible and active the opposition is the better to keep the govt on its toes and to fight abuse including corruption. We need more checks and balances to improve our quality of life and good governance!

3. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: A number of Umno top level members have apparently voiced their support for our beleaguered PM. Many believe that this is just ‘wayang kulit’. Comment?

Ramon Navaratnam: Politics all over the world indulge in some wayang kulit - don't you think about it. As long as the PM can deliver a better life to all Malaysians regardless of race, he will enjoy majority support.

4. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Assuming, Abdullah Badawi keeps to his job; do you anticipate any further impetus in the momentum to get PM to relinquish his post?

Ramon Navaratnam: It all depends on how much he delivers and how fast he does it .If BN has learnt the lessons from the elections and the message from the people of all races , especially the majority Malays , he will do well - and the pressure on him to fade away will diminish. But he must do more good faster.

5. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Kedah was a devastating blow. Umno bastion in the Malay heartland. Many there are livid with the present political scenario. Can PAS make a difference there?

Ramon Navaratnam: Yes, why not. PAS has some good leaders with no political baggage like abuses and corruption.

PAS has the opportunity to show that it can lead with fairness and equity to all especially in terms of religious understanding of all Malaysians . They have been made out to be parochial and even extremist before by the mass media . Now let them prove themselves and the people will watch their performance and make their judgements in 4 years time again .

6. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Many fear that the loosely-knit opposition parties may not be able to deliver their promises, or that eventually the deuce-ace of DAP-PAS-Keadilan will collapse over ideological and religious world-view differences. What do you think?

Ramon Navaratnam: Don't be unduly pessimistic . Whatever happens the press cynics want to cast some gloom. Lets see as we do for other democracies and have an open mind. Don't prejudge with prejudice.

The great issue is that we have a more lively and active democracy in Malaysia today than we have ever had. History will give Pak Lah more credit for this than he gets today for being more liberal.

Most Malaysians have also become more race neutral in terms of elections. The best candidates won and the voters showed their growing maturity.

We are going through exciting times in Malaysia and most of us are encouraged by the developments although many may be reluctant to express ourselves openly.

7. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: This election was against the popular belief that race was an issue. In fact, all races were united on many issues with Muslim-Malays voting DAP and Malaysian Chinese voting PAS as well as mixed races voting for Keadilan- in some parts. Will this phenomena or spirit transcend say for example the anticipated practical abolition of parts of the NEP by Keadilan for example in Selangor?

Ramon Navaratnam: I don't think there is a desire to abolish the NEP as such. What is meant is to eradicate the abuses of the NEP. Who wouldn't want to get rid of abuses that have discredited the NEP?

8. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Do you foresee a crippling witch-hunt from hereon end by all sides of the divide?

Ramon Navaratnam: Please give Malaysia some credit . Is this what happens in some countries you know?

9. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: The business communities’ confidence is eroded. The KLCI’s plunge/downgrade of blue chip stocks may just be the beginning. How bad is it really?

Ramon Navaratnam: This is a normal phenomenon when there is such a major swing but the volatile sock market will return to its normal trends as in all countries. We should be alarmist .

10. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: The world economy, in particular the recession in the U.S. will certainly have an effect on Malaysia. Published reports point to the fact that 2009 will be a harder-hit year for Malaysia. What’s your assessment?

Ramon Navaratnam: Yes we are a major trading partner - 18th in the world. So we will be affected . But not adversely as we have more and more diversification and decoupling going on with the west. Their collapse won't affect us as badly as in the past.

11. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: What’s your greatest concern for Malaysia in light of this new political scenario?

Ramon Navaratnam: The opposition must learn to govern in some states and to exercise their opposition role with greater responsibility since they are now quite formidable.

The govt too will have to learn how to deal with this powerful opposition.

There has to be a more healthy and mutual respect for each other. Then the Malaysian democracy can develop for us all to be proud of its progress.

12. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Any message for Malaysians?

Ramon Navaratnam: Please give the new winds of change a chance (it's the title of one of my books too). We all must monitor the performance of all political parties carefully and make sure we continue to vote wisely for leaders who will look after our long term prospects for national unity, peace and prosperity, please!

May God bless our Malaysia!

Face to Face interviews are conducted by way of e-mail unless otherwise stated.

written by Mr Smith, March 26, 2008 13:20:49
Ramon is a worthy candidate for Face to Face unlike Mustapa Ong. He is straightforward and calls a spade, a spade if necessary. He has character.
written by Bigjoe99, March 26, 2008 13:33:24
Well, Badawi should not go only because there is no one better yet to take his place. He should put Zaid Ibrahim as next PM instead of Najib. Then he can go.

Otherwise, really he should deck it out. UMNO wants him to resign despite the fact he is doing all he can to hold back the forces that are lashing against UMNO. Actually he is in this predicament because of UMNO. So if anyone should resign it should be all of the people in UMNO and not Badawi.
written by temenggong, March 26, 2008 13:35:46
I don't want to say anything about Ramon.

Just compare what he says with, say, Param Coomarasamy or Lim Teck Ghee.
written by aykf9439, March 26, 2008 13:45:42
Tan Sri , do u seriously think that our PM do hv the consistency and the energy required to turn the country fate around ????
written by aykf9439, March 26, 2008 13:52:59
He would hv get done hundreds of things b4 if Pak Lah chooses to , Bcoz he is the PM of this country but instead he chooses the most simple way out by just ignoring the negative facts that r circling this nation and by hvg some ill advised bastards around him as his close aides . . .

I sincerely believed that Pak Lah looks a decent and pious as a Muslim scholar but as a PM , he just fails us again and again or shall i put it this way , he's UNQUALIFIED AT ALL FOR THE BIG POST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A Good example of a LEADER type is being shown by the US billionaire , Mr.Donald Trump on his TV show " Apprentice " , whereby he just wants his future apprectice winner candidate to be not only a respected Leader but also a Leader who leads by example or else he'll just says directly to his face
" You're FIRED " !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by indianputra, March 26, 2008 14:33:31
I do not know if Ramon is in the payroll of Pak Lah or the UMNO. He is really talking rubbish. We all know Pak lah is an incompetent leader and he cannot rule Malaysia because he has too many baggages on his shoulders like his Son In Law and his own children. Just because he admits to certain mistakes he made as a leader NOW does not mean he is going to change. He will not be allowed to change (even if he knows or wants to change).

Firstly, today after 18 days into the GE, he cannot settle the Terengganu Issue. He still have not said his plans on how to eradicate rampant corruption in the BN. He still has not decided on how to take action against those like Samy, Mohd Mohd, Taib, Rafidah, Toyo etc. who was corrupted during his administration. He still has not found a way to release the 5 innocent HINDRAF detainess in ISA. Although he talked big about eradication of poverty, there is stll not a single ACTION ITEM.

Everybody can talk lah... everybody can wish and everybody has ideas. But these ideas must be put into action. THIS PM OF OURS JUST CAN'T DO IT!!!

He has lost support of the majority of the Non-Malays and after the GE he is loosing most of the Malay support as can be seen by several Malay organizations and individuals asking him to GO!! So, who is Ramon telling us the Pak Lah must remain to do much more for the country's progress.

Come on Ramon, I thought you were proactive. Look at the man, Pak Lah.. Within 4 years, he has brought Malaysia to the lowest ebb and had made this country a laughing stock of the developed world. AND YOU STILL HAS FAITH ON HIM!!!?? Get a life man
written by rakyatmalaysia, March 26, 2008 15:22:43
hmm. i dun see the reason for ramon to give support for pak lah. What pak lah did for the country ? where is his previous election promises ? and please..i had enough of his weird and overbudget coridors. its absurd to hear all this and yet ramon is givin his good view of pak lah. Damm.. pak lah should resign gracefully. macam tikus baiki labu. smilies/angry.gif
written by citizen eye, March 26, 2008 15:43:11
Tan Sri gave his personal view not judging.
About Badawi as PM,not the opposition want him to step down, but
the UMNO idiots are voicing out.
written by mountainking, March 26, 2008 18:18:35
say no to NAJIB and kerismudin.
written by caxyz, March 26, 2008 21:32:11
Since March 8th, this is the strongest support for Pak Lah, unfortunately it has to come from ramon.
written by Chuang Tze, March 27, 2008 14:46:57
The fact of the matter is, UMNO is facing a severe shortage of capable people who can take on the post of PM, and although Pak Lah is unworthy, he is a lesser of the 3 evils - what are the alternatives ?? Najib & Ku Li.

Najib is steeped in Mongolian shit, and Ku Li will have massive problems commanding the respect of all of the UMNO members.

There is one viable candidate, but he is in the Opposition - Anwar Ibrahim of the PKR and BARISAN RAKYAT !!

It's OUR turn to rule and rule we shall, of the RAKYAT, by the RAKYAT, for the RAKYAT !!!

written by densemy, March 28, 2008 12:15:19
I think Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob is an odious egotistical little prick

First he introduces himself BEFORE the man being interviewed. The place for his CV is at the end of the article. We are NOT interested in what he has to say but what Ramon Navaratnam has to say. A good interviewer excites and stimulates his subject... you have tried to overwhelm him with long. boring and irrelevant questions

Then he puts all his questions in BOLD... as tho the questions were what we want to read

His questions are pathetically unimaginative and badly phrased. For example why ask Ramon Navaratnam about the future of the Malaysian economy. Is he an expert?? And why the endless questions about Pak Lah... does he have inside information. Ramon Navaratnam is a man who has a wealth of experience to impart and yet you have hardly touched on that aspect of the man

Lets move on and stop naval gazing
written by Kal El, March 29, 2008 22:21:10
written by densemy, March 28, 2008 | 12:15:19

I think Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob is an odious egotistical little prick

First he introduces himself BEFORE the man being interviewed. The place for his CV is at the end of the article. We are NOT interested in what he has to say but what Ramon Navaratnam has to say. A good interviewer excites and stimulates his subject... you have tried to overwhelm him with long. boring and irrelevant questions

Then he puts all his questions in BOLD... as tho the questions were what we want to read

His questions are pathetically unimaginative and badly phrased. For example why ask Ramon Navaratnam about the future of the Malaysian economy. Is he an expert?? And why the endless questions about Pak Lah... does he have inside information. Ramon Navaratnam is a man who has a wealth of experience to impart and yet you have hardly touched on that aspect of the man

Lets move on and stop naval gazing
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You got that right!
Even though i may respect him for what he did during the interivew with Al-Jazeera (Nazri Taxi King & Kera Jantan) which was citing Bersih's Rally as peaceful, he has lost it.
This mama's boy wanted to hog the light for himself by doing the above.
Wanted soo badly to get mommy's attention is it?
Stop being a prick & move on to other more important matters lah.
written by inspirasi, March 30, 2008 00:23:30
has ramon given us any real insights?

we know which way his bread is buttered...NOT our way...

dear imtiaz...pls interview candidates who have got something to contribute...ramon and ong r really not the sort whose views we the rakyat care too much for...

if we did we just have to read the NST...UM...Star...and other BN linked media

ps.what would have been real interesting would be ramon divulging where malaysia stands in the global transparency tables!!!! (only if he is not its unbiased author!!!)
written by Malaysian Abroad, April 03, 2008 04:35:06
Be the Example

As much as we do not agree with views that are opposite ours, we must respect the views of anyone that contradicts ours. We must also allow them to express those views freely as we would also expect them to listen to our views reciprocally.

The Tan Sri may have his personal reasons for saying what he said. What we must do is to engage in and present our own views in an objective manner. We must agree to disagree.
written by Hades, April 03, 2008 10:35:29
I think Tan Sri is right with the following statement, "The great issue is that we have a more lively and active democracy in Malaysia today than we have ever had. History will give Pak Lah more credit for this than he gets today for being more liberal."

written by Whichdoktor, April 07, 2008 20:02:17
"Dr Bridget is not only pretty but intelligent." Mr. Smith! Ah well, I suppose beauty is in the eyes of the beholder! Never mind.
written by harryo, May 25, 2008 13:45:30
He is a tin kosong, all talk and nothing achieved.
written by wargasetia, June 27, 2008 08:56:51
errrr..... this is how people changed.... once get the title dato, datuk, datuk seri, tan sri, or wat ever... they sound like farting thru mouth.
written by joeawk, August 03, 2008 00:34:06
So long as Najib does not bcome PM, it is already good> Either Razaleigh or Anwar, so long as there is real changes and reforms, malaysians will be happy.

Still, UMNO has to be made irrelevant unless it can be cleased totally, which I doubt so.

The IGP n AG must go, put to jail if the law allows.