Understanding the Terengganu MB issue PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 March 2008 19:14

Let us look at what the mainstream media has erroneously dubbed a 'Constitutional Crisis' in Terengganu. It may certainly be a Crisis of sorts but far from a Constitutional Crisis. It is merely the Ruler rejecting the Prime Minister's choice of Menteri Besar on grounds that the candidate is tainted and therefore not suitable to head the state government.

1. The Rulers can appoint Menteris Besar of their own choice. The Rulers are not obliged to follow the advice of the Prime Minister in this and many other matters as well, as allowed under the Federal Constitution of Malaysia and the State Constitution. In fact, the Agong can even appoint a Prime Minister from amongst any Member of the House who, in his opinion, commands the confidence of the majority of the Members of the House, what more a mere Menteri Besar.

2. His Majesty the Agong does have his reasons why Idris Jusoh should not be made the Menteri Besar of Terengganu. In the event the recommended candidate has committed what can be considered a crime, like in the Shahidan Kassim case in Perlis recently, then the Ruler can reject the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

Sultan has discretionary powers to appoint MB: Ex-Bar president

Former Bar Council president Sulaiman Abdullah said the ruler of a state may act in his discretion to appoint a Mentri Besar, pointing to Section 1 (2) (a) in the Eighth Schedule of the Federal Constitution. The section stipulates that the ruler shall first appoint as Mentri Besar to preside over the executive council a member of the legislative assembly who in his judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the assembly.

"The ruler has the discretion and it is his judgment," the constitutional expert said. "The constitutional theory is the legislative assembly is made up of individual members. The ruler has to look at these diverse members and decide who would command the confidence of the majority."

Commenting on the controversial appointment of the Terengganu Mentri Besar, Sulaiman argued that the constitution requires him to exercise discretion according to his judgment and he has done so. "If the Ruler has made the wrong choice, the test is the first meeting of the legislative assembly when a vote of no-confidence could be passed," he said. "If that happens, the Mentri Besar either resigns or advises the ruler to dissolve the legislative assembly." Sulaiman said the ruler also had the discretion to withhold consent for a request to dissolve the assembly. - NST

Dead end for Ahmad Said, so says Rais

by Deborah Loh

It's a dead end for Kijal assemblyman Datuk Ahmad Said either way, whether he is sworn in as Terengganu Menteri Besar or not. So reasoned Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim, as Ahmad would not get the support of the state executive council if he tried to convene one. "If he tries to convene a state government meeting, the 22 assemblymen (who are in favour of Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh as menteri besar) will table a vote of no-confidence, then he will fall like a ripened nangka (jackfruit)," said Rais today.

"It is best that the majority sentiment of the 22 assemblymen is taken into account, because the language used in the state constitution is that the MB is whoever has the most support. I believe this matter will be tabled by the attorney-general or prime minister to the Terengganu Regency Advisory Council." Rais, who is also the foreign minister, was asked to comment in his capacity as an Umno leader and law expert. He said it was only right that Umno acts against Ahmad if he insisted on being sworn in as menteri besar.

Ahmad went into the bind after he accepted the appointment by the Sultan of Terengganu Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin to replace Idris as Mentri Besar, despite warnings from State Umno leaders that acceptance was tantamount to a sacking. Even Prime Minister and Umno president datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who endorsed Idris, gave a similar warning. However, Ahmad is adamant that his appointment had the support of some of the 22 assemblymen though he won't identify them. He is expected to sworn-in as MB on Wednesday.

In an additional response to the impasse, Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim expressed regret that the appointment reached such a stage. "The attorney-general is the principal advisor to the prime minister and he will advise the prime minister accordingly. I very much regret that it has come to this. How do you get to have the rule of law and rule by constitutional system if we are not prepared to follow the rule of law? It is a sad day for the country," Zaid said.

Pak Lah to seek audience with Agong over MB issue

By IZATUN SHARI

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi will seek an audience with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin who is also Sultan of Terengganu to discuss the issue of the state Mentri Besar. "I will certainly be meeting Tuanku on this problem," he told reporters Tuesday after delivering his keynote address at the Invest Malaysia 2008 conference here.

The Prime Minister was asked to comment on the position of Kijal assemblyman Datuk Ahmad Said who had already started his first day of work as Terengganu Mentri Besar at the MB's office in Wisma Darul Iman on Tuesday. Abdullah said the issue would have to be addressed quickly.

"I'd like to say that there are ways to overcoming this present problem that we are facing. I don't think that there is nothing that can be done to alleviate the situation. We know that on the ground, people are exploiting this situation for their own objectives and this is creating a lot of confusion. We have to remain cool while not becoming oblivious to what's happening with regard to the particular issue."

Asked whether any disciplinary action would be taken against Ahmad for going against the party leadership in accepting the post, Abdullah said he would leave it to the Umno Supreme Council.

sinar1

sinar2

sinar3

sinar4

sinar5

sinar6

sinar7

sinar8

images free hosted byimageshack

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by zul4kulim, March 25, 2008 19:33:43
And Deris says he does not know why the Sultan murka...bongkaknya dia!

http://1426.********.com/2008/...ekutu.html
written by razzwill, March 25, 2008 20:01:20
The blatant disregard for palace protocol by Idris Jusoh is unacceptable. Had I used the same language with my father, I would have been severely reprimanded. Nothing less than patek when referring to myself, and Tuanku when addressing my dad. And heaven help those whose grasp of royal terms like berangkat, bersiram, bersantap, is non existent!
It may seem old fashioned (and degrading) for some, but we should never forget manners when we are in the presence of royalty.
The unique royal households of Malaysia, together with their customs, language and even music, should be retained at all cost, as they represent one of the last few and true remaining icons of Malay culture.
written by indianputra, March 25, 2008 20:46:56
SAVE MALAYSIA CAMPAIGN.. Pak Lah MUST GO!!!!

As long as Pak Lah is the Prime Minister of this country things are going to get worse. The Terengganu Issue is only the tip of the iceberg. Many more challenges will be thrown at his face and he just won't be able to cope. So far he says he made some mistakes and will take cognizance of those. BUT IT IS JUST RUBBISH statements. He has absolute no clue on how to govern Malaysia.

He has not talked on how he is going to stem the corruption issue. He has not talked on how he is going to unite the races. He has not talked about bringing Indians at par with the other communities. He has not talked about improving the police force. Basically, he just talks WITHOUT ANY ACTION PLANS..

Please people.. Keep telling him to GET OUT!!!
written by Commonsenses, March 25, 2008 21:03:00
In the last election,there were rampant buying of votes by idris and company. So much money from wang ehsan were in their control that PAS just lost because of this. Thinking that buying voters could buy them position in the state of Terengganu, they did not look into our Agong discretionery powers to appoint the MB. During the last election, othman , the johor, MB were supposed to be transfer to Federal but alas, the Johor sultan stopped AAB. All along the sultan chooses the MB, even if Idris got his choice to be MB, if he cannot work together with the sultan, he is going to be ****ed. Its left to sleepy joe to seek the sultan for a compromise candidate cos Idris future will definitely be finished. period!
written by Benut, March 25, 2008 21:29:14
Ampun Tuanku

Perhaps Majesty makes a stand publicly why Idris is not the man. This is to make the issue clearer and of course we as rakyat always right behind you. As thing getting worst day by day, of course the chosen media has manipulated the issue and we think this is the right time Majesty to voice out the issue and this definitely will shut their mouth up.

Ampun Tuanku, this is only a piece of thought.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 25, 2008 21:40:49
Surely, AAB is feeling even more tired with this kind of happenings, and if more problems crop up, I am sure he will suffer a mental break-down, and giving rise to another major crisis, because Rose Mah's husband is NOT suitable to lead the country, being implicated with too many scandals to his credit.
written by SUV, March 25, 2008 21:56:07
aaah...there should b reelection in terengganu
written by mikewang, March 25, 2008 22:11:00
AAB should thank his lucky star that Tuanku did not appoint another person (like Tengku Razaleigh) PM instead (as what I had suggested in this forum months ago to give AAB the boot after the general election).
written by dinsmann, March 25, 2008 23:05:39
The rakyat just want their oil's royalty back, and Idris had not done anything about it. Help comes in the form of their Sultan. Daulat Tuanku!
written by malaysianohope, March 25, 2008 23:24:55
G'evening Pete,

The events of the past few weeks as it unfold is truly a sequence of brilliant maneuver being made to checkmate the barisan gomen right from dawn of the lost of their 2/3 majority.

The Terengganu decision by the Agong to appoint someone other than badawi's choice is classical in the sense that not only it is legally binding but there is no possibility of undoing it without the 2/3 majority.

Therefore hats off to our beloved Agong for his Highness is truly without compare.

DAULAT TUANKU!
written by confuseus, March 25, 2008 23:30:20
Oh bangau, oh bangau, kenapalah kau bodoh.
Macammana aku tak bodoh, namaku BODOWI

Ketahuilah wahai ahli-ahli politik yang bangang,
Confuseus dah cakap dulu, berkali-kali
Semua sembilan negeri kesultanan melayu tidak pernah dijajah oleh manamana pihak termasuk British
Negeri yang dijajah hanyalah Melaka, Pulau Pinang dan Singapura
Sebab itu tiga negeri diperintah oleh Gabenor manakala negeri bersultan cuma ada “resident adviser“
Macammana confuseus tahu , sebab confuseus telah dididik oleh seseorang (tinggal beliau seorang yang masih hidup) yang terlibat dalam mengubal draf Perlembagaan persekutuan.
Tulah, lain kali kalau dah bodoh (sejarah pun kantoi) , janganlah berlagak sombong !!!

Satu lagi, kerja PM lah yang paling senang,
Pastikan KSN buat kerja betul betul, yang lain termasuk Jeneral, KPN, PN, KSU akan buat kerja betul – betul. Cuba faham faham sikit lagu “Negaraku’
written by budakindia, March 26, 2008 00:00:32
Saya Perdana Menteri! Saya boleh buat apa saya suka! Kalau saya nak tidur masa mesyuarat ker, masa dalam perhimpunan ker, itu saya punya pasal kerana Saya Perdana Meteri! Surat cadangan calon Menteri Besar adalah watikah perlantikan! Surat itu mesti dituruti oleh Sultan! Kalau tidak, Sultan melanggar perlembagaan! Saya boleh luluskan apa sahaja termasuk peruntukan sebanyak RM 600 juta wang rakyat kepada bahagian UMNO tanpa kelulusan Parlimen dan YDP Agong kerana Saya Perdana Menteri!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by AO Musa, March 26, 2008 02:06:28
I think he might be so stupid and interpreted that "Sultan Murka to him" as "Sultan offering Muruku to him". Thats why he dont understand why Sultan Murka thinking what kind of Muruku Sultan going to offer him!
Tuanku... You are the best ruler that I ever seen in my life! I'm not sure how was the Rulers before i was born but i think you are the best from what i know!
written by doggone, March 26, 2008 03:03:18
On a lighter note, I don't think Sleepy NATO will have a mental breakdown as HARIMAU above projected.

How can someone without any 'mental' get to have the privilege of a breakdown? Until this very moment, he is still only hot air.

If any of you noticed, he don't look any worse for wear after the crushing lost of 5 states. How can that be huh? Takde rasa ka?
written by rayfire, March 26, 2008 07:42:09
I hope DYYM YDP Agong will not budge from his decision to choose Ahmad Said regardless of what tactics AAB and UMNO use to convince him otherwise.
Daulat Tuanku 3x
Hope the next step would be to choose the rightful PM for Malaysia
written by glock17, March 26, 2008 10:33:55
In the old Sultanante era...Mat Deris drama is something below

The King : Cisss...!!!Deris...berani kau menderhaka pada beta serta semua rakyat Terengganu dengan
kegiatan haram kamu mencuri harta kerajaan aku demi kepentingan kroni dan keluaga engkau
secara tamak haloba!!!

Deriss : Ampun Tuanku beribu-ribu ampun...patik hanyalah sekadah barua Patrik badawee dan
Si Khairy....janganhlah Tuanku menghukum patik yang terhina ini.

King : Kau telah terlanjur Deris..dan membuat beta murka akan sekalian kerabat Umnoputra yang
korup, rasis dan angkuh. Sebagai Sultan Tganu, beta akan menghukum kau dibuang negeri
dan sebagai YDPA, beta menghukum engkau dibuang negara.

Deriss : Ampun tUanku...patik tidak bersalaaahh!!!

(Comentator.....dear Deris..you are so phuck-up tat u ain't gonna see the light of the day...coz
Pak Lah ain't around to save yer dirty corruptive ass...he is to busy trying to save his own ass)

Haji Hadi : Bertobat lah Deriss...kamu dah banyak berdosa...mari...ajak kawan-kawan Umno kamu bertobat dan masuk PAS...sekurang-kurangya...dosa kamu dapat dikurangkan dan kemurkaan Tuanku dapat diredakan, Insya Allah!!!

Glock17

written by picadilly, March 26, 2008 10:38:57
RPK, UTUSAN Malaysia has labelled all Malays who vote for DAP as Derhaka to kaum melayu, whcih includes you as someone who voted for indian man and chinese girl from subang. But My friend shared his grief that Now UTUSAN has even started Kutuk all Malays who voted keadilan in various segments including sms columns.. Awang selamat of Bisik Bisik is menyemarakkan & menagpi apikan sentimen perkauman and sentimen Melayu. Finally all Malays who voted opposition are looked upon as stupid,ignorant,foolish & without Pride or shame, No sense of belongingness nor worth their salt.

They are already working their way to fire up the sentiments to ensure BN wins by the next election.
because their attempt to start a May 13 after last election has become a failure.all sides must be alert and careful. every wrong step will be used for their advantage. We with you RPK
written by Jay Krish, March 26, 2008 10:52:33
"Abdullah said he would leave it to the Umno Supreme Council"

Does he ever decide on anything?

Supreme Council laaa, EPU laaa, EXCO laaaa, SIL laaaa...

"Mai kita semua tido dulu" Bed-awi
written by fromamovingtrain, March 26, 2008 10:53:35
Something is seriously brewing in Terengganu. I for one believe PAS-PKR would have won terengganu hands down if there was not any rampant rigging and cheating during the elections. My believe is that they were so worried about terengganu and kelantan, and had concentrated their dirty manouevres in these two states during the GE so much so that they had let their guard down elsewhere, especially at places they thought they would triumph without too much 'interference'(read: play dirty). Places like Selangor, Perak and the FT. Even with red- alert, they still lost penang ang kedah, that shows how pitifully little they received at the ballot boxes - even much worse if they were playing fair.

I don't know what game these people are playing, but it could just be as simple as tuanku does not like what is happening in terengganu, and is sending a message that he is with the rakyat and cannot tolerate the excesses anymore. Since the rakyat did not get the desired results ie PAS-PKR victory, tuanku has put plan B into motion, which could pave way for another round of state elections. If that is the case, then is goodnight badawi. Even if they manage to rig another bn victory, it will be at a tremendous moral and material cost to the bn, and especially him. So it could be goodnight badawi, every which way!
written by Long Man, March 26, 2008 11:19:35
can't wait any longer for the pm to meet the agong... may agong ask bodola to resign... amin...
written by Bennyloh, March 26, 2008 13:38:01
windy Trengganu...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...ew-mb.html
written by Sutha, March 26, 2008 13:45:14
Besides the Idris fellow being the head of the winning party at the general election, has the Prime Minister got any evidence that his choice for Menteri Besar is much better than the Palace's choice?

May be the Prime Minister has to publicly announce, in what ways is Idris superior!
And why should not Ahmad Said be given a legitimate chance to head the administration of the state government, when he too is a member of the same UMNO party within the same BN coalition?

I am sure the Palace has taken sufficient consideration in not wanting Idris as the menteri besar.
written by Milo, March 26, 2008 14:56:43
Legal or not, we let the constitutional legal experts sort them out. The fact is, people are fed-up with the race-based politics of the UMNO-led BN. That they have massively abuse of their power in ruling the country is an undisputable fact. That they have abuse the constitution is also a fact. That the people and country has increasing been made to suffer under their hands is another undeniable fact. That the Terengganu election has element of being massively rigged by the UMNO-led government is probably a fact. For all these reasons, the rakyat should stand behind the Agong agasinst UMNO-led government on the MB appointment case. If we are still blur and not clear of the issue, WHEN will we clear up? If the rakyat do not make a stand now, WHEN? If because we fear a trap and said this is not the time, WHEN?
written by Mamamia, March 26, 2008 16:54:14
Dear borneopeteliew, do some homework/research about the Terengganu State Constitution. You can read it in one of the postings in No Hold Barred by our dear RPK. Search it for yourself (article posted a few days ago) so that you will be enlightened about the whole issue.
Please provide us a historical example when a crisis between UMNO and the palace cropped up, UMNO won. Also please do provide us your source of information regarding such UMNO victory against the royalty.
I hope by now you get to feel what message I actually want to extend to your myopic view of this whole politician verses the palace saga.
written by merlin2001, March 26, 2008 17:52:55
Is there anyway we could pin down the bus loads of Banglas who went to Terengganu
to vote for the Barisan National.Find them and kick them out for messing around with our elections.
It is these foriegners that gave total support in Sabah to the BN. Had it not been for them we would have a new true Malaysia today.
written by rimaukl, March 26, 2008 18:08:31
YM RPK has published the constitutional rights of the Royal Rulers over and over again and yet, UMNO boys continue to create a ruckus that DYMM Agong's decision is unconstitutional. Since they control the media, it's obvious that they're trying to bulldoze their way through misinformation to the general public. I can only pray that the digital divide will narrow quickly in the rural areas so that they can have access to the truth behind UMNO's farce.

UMNO's insistance that the PM has executive rights over the Ruler goes to show that they have not learned from their errors and they are still as arrogant as ever. The very same people who so loudly denounced DAP's suggestion to boycott the Perak MB swearing in as bersikap biadap had so quickly not just boycotted DYMM Sultan of Terengganu, they even staged a protest! I guess it's another case of Executive Rights because not just the PM but UMNO can act above the Rulers? And polis approved this gathering of protestors??? When will the general public open their eyes and see that there is NO DEMOCRACY in UMNO? There's just an Executive Decision.

Barisan Rakyat until Rakyat Malaysia!
written by DontPlayGod, March 26, 2008 21:13:26
Why is it the PM is not aware of all these going ons? Has he been sleeping, or is he a party to all this? Can someone answer this RM64,000 question?

Its frightening that our country has such a PM. UMNO cybertroopers, please reply!
written by cancan, March 26, 2008 22:32:14
A Letter To The Prime Minister

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by JohnQ, March 26, 2008 23:42:27
GREAT, then let the state gov dissolve and hold fresh election.

YM RPK will then contest as DUN and won and become MB. BN will lost another state. UEAH

written by Beautiful Mind, March 27, 2008 04:46:00
It is obvious that Idris Jusoh is only thinking towards preserving his own image and ego at he same time enriching his own pocket and that of his cronies. Leaders are chosen by the rakyat to work for them and politicians are supposed to be those who are given the task, the trust and the responsibilities to try and make life better for the needy and the under-privilege...not for the privilege and the rich. They already have enough!.

There is no better time for Idris Jusoh to give way for some-one else to take over. And rather than leaving with grace he left it in dis-grace. He opens himself wide for more and more bad publicity which will do more harm than good for his already tarnished reputation. His datukship has been stripped of him and he is losing popularity and losing support from the people for being dis-respectful to the DYMM ruling.

Kepercayaan kepada Tuhan, Kesetiaan kepada Raja dan Negara. Keluhuran perlembagaan, Kedaulatan Undang Undang, Kesopanan dan Kesusilaan. Always remember that.
written by teohsh, March 30, 2008 16:19:12
Do you know that the TOTAL Monsoon Cup Prize Money is only RM1 million? Source: Wikipedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monsoon_Cup. And I quote "The Monsoon Cup for the 2006 now offers the highest prize money in the world (RM1 million) for a match racing event with the sponsorship of Mr Richard Mille of Richard Mille Watches. "

So, the cost to Terengganu State is less than RM 1 million, since there is sponsorship from Richard Mille Watches!

So, can someone explain to me why the Monsoon Cup costs RM $300 million to run? Where did the other $299 million went to?

In most contests, I feel it is only right that the majority of the expenses should go to the prize monies. Why is only 0.3% goes to the prize monies? Where did the other 99.7% go to?

The Terengganu Rakyat should demand an URGENT and Immediate Public Enquiry into the Monsoon Cup!
written by Henry, March 31, 2008 12:20:26
In jest, UMNO under Mahathir means "under Mahathir No objection". Now UMNO under Dollah means "D U M N O" (saya tahu). Ifr Badawi is a honest and religious man then why did he appoint Mohd Mohd Taib as a minister ? I was taught birds of the same feathers flock together, how apt.
written by atsanee, April 03, 2008 10:08:12
Theres more to this than meets the eye.
AAB seem to have lost.
The Palace seem to have won big time.
The important thing is the Constitution seems to have been overruled because though I hate to admit it, the Palace acted unconstitutionally.

What is more important is a precedent has been set and AAB must take responsibility for whatever follows and histort will judge him accordingly.

Whether the rakyat of Terengganu won anything out of this crisis,remains to be seen.
written by Raja Petra, April 03, 2008 10:42:03
Dear atsanee, please quote which ARTICLE in the Terengganu State Constitution that has been 'overruled' by His Highness the Sultan of Terengganu?
written by atsanee, April 03, 2008 18:05:54
To be frank,I have not read the Trengganu state constitution.
But from what I have read in various places,it is not that different from other state constitutions (like the one in Perlis of which I have a copy).
If I am wrong,then I stand to be corrected but does it say the Sultan shall appoint a member of the state legislature who he feels enjoys the support of the majority of the appointed legislators ?
Didn't Deris Jusoh have the support of 22 assemblymen who form the majority of the assembly?
written by atsanee, April 03, 2008 18:28:31
Shahidan Kassim was linked to all sorts of scandals and treated both the Palace and the common people with contempt right throughout his tenure as MB.
There was really no love lost between him and the present as well as the previous Tuanku Raja.
They also hardly saw eye to eye on state development projects and actual businesses that both were involved in.

Just do a study on what actually happened to the University Utara KUKUM project and why it has not off the ground after all these years and you will know what I mean.

They also had their run ins on mundane things where more respect should be accorded to Tuanku and his family.

However, Tuanku Raja did not let any of these influence his decision when it came to appointing a new MB.

He simply asked both candidates to present their supporters and Shahidan had 4 or 5 and Mhd Isa was able to produce 9 or 10.

So the choice was obvious and Tuanku Raja, to his total credit, adhered strictly to the State Constitution.

Did I miss something to feel that this was not also the case in Trengganu?