Gerakan blames Umno for polls defeat PDF Print
Monday, 24 March 2008 20:48

Giam Say Khoon

KUALA LUMPUR: Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon yesterday blamed the “arrogance of power” of certain Umno leaders for the party’s defeat in the general election.

After chairing a four-hour central delegates briefing on the elections yesterday, Koh said the party took the election results as an indicator of people being dissatisfied with what they perceived as the“arrogance of power” of the Barisan Nasional (BN).

Certain Umno leaders’ deed, words and actions, in the past two years, have resulted in a feeling of resentment,” he said.

However, we are very critical that we may have not done enough and did not do enough.Perhaps that power had got into our head after leading Penang for 39 years."

Koh said Gerakan would like to play a role of reformer in the BN but has to reform itself first.

The party will also play the role of a constructive opposition in Penang, Kedah, Perak and Selangor, where it has had the administration experience in the past. 

Asked whether Gerakan will be able to survive the crisis, Koh said the party’s future is in the members’ hands.

If we start to do more things that are correct and move on to voice out the people’s concern and to work out viable solutions to many problems that the people face ...we have the confidence to continue to be relevant,” he said.

Despite the feeling of sadness for losing so many seats, he was glad to see the delegates were highly spirited and ready to continue the fight along the party’s principles, which are non-racial based.

Koh said that during the briefing, which was also attended by party adviser Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik, the delegates stressed that the renewal process should start as soon as possible.

There were also constructive criticisms which demand the party’s top leadership to be more vocal in speaking up for the people,” he said.

We admitted that we were too busy with government work in the past and we might have been separated from the people.

”Koh said the delegates also hoped that BN, specially Umno, will introduce renewal that is multi-racial in nature.

He said the party will not be celebrating its 40th anniversary but will do a lot of soul searching and consolidation work.“We resolved to go back to basics, people, politics and conscience and to move forward into the future,” he said.

Koh said the next 10 years will be the most challenging for the party and hoped that by its 50th anniversary, the party will regain its political position.

He said he will now be working full time for the party, while some of the leaders will also devote their time for the party’s rebuilding effort.

His immediate plan is to make sure that all members recovered from the shock of electoral defeat and are remotivated to move the party forward.

Koh said the delegates had also called for early party elections. The elections had been postponed to next year but the party will be re-looking its decision.

The key party leaders and I will be going for nationwide dialogue with the grassroots next week. We will decide on the election date after the tour,” he said.

Asked whether the delegates had proposed that the party withdraw from BN, Koh said there was only one delegate who requested to have a meeting to discuss the matter.

I said we can discuss it in the normal delegates conference or dialogue session. We are a democratic and open party and are open to all ideas,” he said.

On the proposal for an anti-hopping law by Minister in the Prime Minister Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, Koh said that in principle, he agreed that if a candidate is elected because he contested under a party flag and decides to jump ship, it is unfair to the voters who voted him. - THE SUN

written by oknyua, March 24, 2008 20:52:28
Dr Koh, now you know how your youth leader, (what was his name, Paranjothi?) felt when you told him to keep quiet. It is the like of Paranjothi that should have sat on your chair.
written by billykbk, March 24, 2008 20:58:42
In the past, u kiss me, I kiss u. Now, I blame u, u blame me.

Hoi, don't play sing-song with the Rakyat la. We've been fooled 30 over years, not enough meh? How long u ppl want to mislead us?..... TL la!!!

Penangites will support DAP/PKR rule 4ever if they continue their positive agenda. It's CERTAIN. We're saying DOWN with corruption, cronyism & nepotism!

BTW, I sincerely hope all wrongdoers be brought to book fast. The Rakyat yearns for better deal and BETTER LIFE!!!!
written by krepot, March 24, 2008 21:05:41
Koh, how can Gerakan be a "party for all races", if they could not find a SINGLE INDIAN candidate for GE2008?

Ironically, an Indian unseated this racist leader!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 24, 2008 21:08:14
I think Koh is happy that BN lost Penang. Deep in his heart he thank BR for doing him a great favor, for he had wanted to teach KJ and UMNO a lesson. His wish was granted, and he must have felt a great sense of relieve. To him it is a great VICTORY. Thank you BR.
written by omarkhayyam, March 24, 2008 21:19:11
Koh Tsu Koon, i pity you but i can't do much coz ur sitting on the wrong side of the tsunami mate.

ur a nice guy but what to do wrong company.... but ur a gentleman for u have spoken ur mind .... and i respect u for that unlike other power crazy corrupted low down jackasses who "tak tau malu"

written by coolandy, March 24, 2008 22:44:21
Koh SK & Ong KT are jsut the same. All have very small balls, so small indeed that UMNO Youth can easily squeeze them at anytime and the two impotent leaders will be very silent, hiding behind "we talk only in the cabinet & work from within".

Now we know your true color. Gerakan, your days are over. Lim KY overstayed his welcome and you Koh SK, despite being a nice indivisual, is not cut out for the roung and tumble of politics.

You should be smart enough to know that the leaders are the main problems, so QUIT and half the reform battle is done. Too difficult to understand?
written by hkh, March 24, 2008 22:55:08
it is funny that Gerakan had been dumb and blind for the past 38 years and NOW you suddenly found your voice and sight to blast at the real culprits. if you had the guts to mention just a wee bit before 838, you may scrap thru the GE, but now it's too late lah, you are history! Better you tar-pau the party and join BR.
written by notsosmart, March 25, 2008 00:25:37
Too late lah Koh. You should have whack your master long time ago. Spit or even pee on their face even if you have to. Better to walk out with high dignity than to lose your face.

A good example to those of you who's working with a lousy, greedy, immoral and corrupted leader. Better to leave them now than to put yourself into an ugly situation. Stop praying to your S-eleven God.
written by notsosmart, March 25, 2008 00:31:43
If a person don't respect human right of others. They should be treated equally without right in return. Pee all over their body if you have enough volume.
written by miwaki, March 25, 2008 03:49:25
Tsu Koon is wrong,Gerakan's failure in this election is not entirely due to UMNO's arrogance only.The main factor is because Gerakan has no ball to stand up against UMNO's nonsense in parliament.The second factor is people does not like the face of Keng Yaik as this old man has been talking nonsense since he became minister.
written by ultraman, March 25, 2008 09:27:52
Hi Koh,
Now only you have half a ball to speak up.
Name la who those idiots are! Kerismuddin, Khairy, Bocor MP, Najib and many f###up MPs.
Better dissolve Gerakan la!!! Very irrelevant to us!!!
written by khongja, March 25, 2008 10:40:53
Had you guys acted like gangsters and behave like bulldogs when you all got whacked by those umno goats then Penang would still be yours!In this era if you are weak you get what you deserved.When you have leaders like cry baby LKY ,you will be seen to be weak? This is the Gerakan of today! Enough of those abang and compromising with those goats.At the end of the day you are all a bunch of cowards to be bullied.