Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Malaysia royalty flexes political muscle after polls

Malaysia royalty flexes political muscle after polls PDF Print
Monday, 24 March 2008 19:27

By Jalil Hamid

(Reuters) - Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was locked in a showdown on Monday with the country's largely ceremonial king over who will lead the oil-rich northeastern state of Terengganu.

Malaysia's royalty is posing its biggest challenge to the government since the powers of the hereditary rulers were clipped 25 years ago, and comes when Abdullah's authority has been wounded following elections that handed unprecedented gains to the opposition

The confrontation goes beyond the division of powers between figurehead rulers and the elected government and is also about the cosy relationships between business and politics in Malaysia, analysts say.

"This is not just politics," said political analyst Rustam Sani. "I think financial interests have to do with it. They (the sultans) are not happy since the politicians are having a free hand in business."

Some of the nine royal families are involved in business.

Malaysia has nine sultans who take turns ruling for five years as king. Their mostly ceremonial duties include appointing the chief ministers of their states. The current king is the 46-year-old Terengganu ruler, Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin.

Other rulers have also begun to speak out on issues of governance. The Sultan of Selangor state last year reprimanded a town councillor for building a house without required permits. The rulers, whose powers were sharply curtailed in 1983 by then Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad, are seeking to reclaim a stake in politics -- along with a resurgent opposition in a more robust parliament.

In the watershed election, Abdullah's National Front coalition was ousted in five of Malaysia's 13 states and lost the two-thirds majority in parliament it had held for nearly four decades at the elections.

CONSTITUTIONAL CRISIS?

The coalition retained power in Terengganu but the sultan there refused to swear in incumbent chief minister Idris Jusoh, whom Abdullah said had the support of the majority of the state's assemblymen.

On Sunday, the palace appointed its own candidate, only to be snubbed by the prime minister who said that appointing anyone but Idris was unconstitutional.

Malaysia's law minister was quoted as saying on Monday that everyone, including the monarch, should respect the law.

"The discretion of the monarch in appointing the chief minister is not an absolute personal discretion," Zaid Ibrahim told the New Straits Times.

Analysts said there were other reasons why Idris fell out of favour with the Sultan, including allegations he had been disrespectful to the ruler and his family.

The sultans have reasserted themselves in other states, too. In the state of Perlis, the Sultan overruled Prime Minister Abdullah's nominee for chief minister and appointed his own candidate.

The Sultans are meant to represent Malay Muslim sovereignty and at one time were a powerful counterweight to the elected government. But in amendments to the constitution in 1983, the king's veto power was abolished and the monarch could no longer block bills in parliament.

Another amendment in 1993 took away the immunity from prosecution the nine sultans once enjoyed.

"After a decline of power and influence between 1983 and 1994, the spirals of history are in motion again," said constitution expert Shad Saleem Faruqi.

"The last few years have seen a discernible upsurge in popular perception that the Rulers constitute a vital check and balance mechanism of the Constitution," he wrote in the local Star newspaper.

written by Ben Nordin, March 24, 2008 19:48:04
Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was locked in a showdown on Monday with the country's largely ceremonial king over who will lead the oil-rich northeastern state of Terengganu.

Can you blame HRH the Sultan, who is also the King, checking AAB's choice for the MB? Since 2004, Terengganu, the oil producing state of Malaysia, still is the 2nd poor state in Malaysia? The one that the Sultan appointed is the one that the Sultan trusts who would take care of his people and not plunder the country just to gratify the greed of a few. AAB, KJ, Patrick Badawi; if you see the light at the end of the tunnel, it's actually a truck coming your way.
written by malaysian2008, March 24, 2008 19:56:20
Malaysia's law minister was quoted as saying on Monday that everyone, including the monarch, should respect the law.
"The discretion of the monarch in appointing the chief minister is not an absolute personal discretion," Zaid Ibrahim.

Just wonder Zaid understand if someone is not suitable for the sultan and his people, can the sultan make a decision to decide to chosse a good one versus a bad one. why not the umno send the sultan 3 candidate names as in perak to choose from, idris had mention in the news he will let the sultan make the choice, it is the bodowi insist on idris, what is the secret agenda ? read MT RPK article on "monsoon wind of change"

By the way ,my dear new law minister, you now seem like Nazri the Ex-minister,always in the lime light, Please acts more and talk less,the rakyat only want to see and not making empty statements.
written by carlitos, March 24, 2008 19:56:41
I am not a Malay but I believe our Agong did this because the Idris guy cannot be trusted, otherwise how can a rich state like Terengganu can be second poorest in Malaysia during his first term.

As Malaysian I respect our Agong, as the head of Islam in Malaysia he won't do anything that will harm Malaysia. UMNO should show show their loyalty and respect to the Agong. If UMNO tak suka, UMNO patut keluar.
written by penang1, March 24, 2008 20:05:56
There has been a lot of debate as whether umno or the Sultan has the right to elect the Menteri Besar. Everything boils down to the constitution. Please allow me to list the section of the Malaysian Constitution that touches on this issues

http://www.helplinelaw.com/law/constitution/malaysia/malaysia15.php

EIGHT SCHEDULE
PROVISIONS TO BE INSERTED IN STATE CONSTITUTION
PART I - FINAL PROVISIONS

Ruler to act on advice

(1) In the exercise of his functions under the Constitution of this State or any law or as a member of the Conference of Rulers the Rulers shall act in accordance with the advice of the Executive Council or of a member thereof acting under the general authority of the Council, except as otherwise provided by the Federal Constitution or the State Constitution; but shall be entitled, at his request, to any information concerning the Government of the State which is available to the Executive Council.

(2) The Ruler may act in his discretion in the performance of the following functions (in addition to those in the performance of which he may act in his discretion under the Federal Constitution) that is to say -

(a) the appointment of a Menteri Besar.

(b) the withholding of consent to a request for the dissolution of the Legislative Assembly.

(c) the making of a request for a meeting of the Conference of Rulers concerned solely with the privileges, position, honours and dignities of Their Royal Highnesses or religious acts, observances or ceremonies,

(d) any function as Head of the religion of Islam or relating to the custom of the Malays,

(e) the appointment of an heir or heirs, consort, Regent or Council of Regency,

(f) the appointment of person to Malay customary ranks, titles, honours and dignities and the designation of the functions appertaining thereto,

(g) the regulation of royal courts and palaces.

(3) State law may make provision for requiring the ruler to act after consultation with or on the recommendation of any person or body of persons other than the Executive Council in the exercise of any of his functions other than -

(a) functions exercisable in his discretion;

(b) function with respect to the exercise of which provision is made the State Constitution or the Federal Constitution.
written by MsLim, March 24, 2008 20:21:19
I remember the "Bersih" rally when the memorandum was handed at the Istana there were comments that the palace is quiet. The king has to move at the right time. The results of the GE showed the King that the time has now come, he knows now the people are behind him. Thank you Tuanku.
written by keep it raw, March 24, 2008 20:31:22
Peringataan Kepada Semua RAKYAT TERENGGANU,

SEMUA HASIL dan HARTA akan dibolot oleh MEREKA yang rakus dahagakan Kekayaan semata mata. Bangun!! Ayuh!! dan berdiri dengan pegangan DYMM Sultan Mizan!! Sudah Sampai masanya kita RAKYAT JELATA..tunjuk...yang siapa berKuasa!!!

DAULAT TUANKU!!!!
DAULAT TUANKU!!!
written by sjtokk, March 24, 2008 20:41:23
I cannot see any reason for UMNO to show disrespect to our Agong and going this far.. By threatening to sack their own member and also to boycott the swearing ceromony is just too much.. Please show respect to our Agong. Unbelievable that UMNO is doing this!!! Nak mempertahankan/jaga orang melayu konon, sedangkan menderhaka kepada sultan!!
written by indianputra, March 24, 2008 20:41:41
Good!! finally the Royalty is showing their muscles.
written by myke, March 24, 2008 22:12:17
This Zaid fella seems to speak with folked tongue. Seems like one moment he advocates the rule of law next seems to hint that the royalty is not heeding the law.

TAK BIADAD KE NI..???
written by shamadz72, March 24, 2008 22:28:20
"The discretion of the monarch in appointing the chief minister is not an absolute personal discretion," Zaid Ibrahim told the New Straits Times.

I guess those of you guys who is quick to praise this chap will realize what I have said earlier about this guys character in other posting. Just be patient and you will see his true colour soon. smilies/smiley.gif
written by YARRACUDA, March 25, 2008 00:35:39
this is not myanmar, not pakistan...you you you u u u reporter come ere say bad about Malaysia..listen listen....OOIII, Respect the DYMM Agong la...He is the ultimate Ruler of the Country, Raja Berperlembagaan..whatdya all mean by telling him he's unconstitutional..He is the Constitution..long live the KING....respect Uncle Lim for having the iron balls to apologize to the Regent of Perak....u buggers have no balls...i think u all might be having cu*t's of which your wives are screwing and not u screwing them!!!
written by miwaki, March 25, 2008 03:20:39
Terengganu is the second richest state but its people are second poorest after Perlis.Shahidan and Idris should be spanked for their incompetency.These two chaps were the first choice of our PM eventhough both are mediocre leaders.Pak Lah should appoint both of them as ministers in his cabinet since both of them are not accepted by theie respective rulers.After all,additional two in his cabinet would not be too crowded.
written by Task Force 101, March 25, 2008 07:58:06
I like our current King.

Finally, a King who not only has the pulse on the politics of this country but also has a hand on his subjects heart.

I am proud to have a King like him.
written by artkejora, March 25, 2008 08:25:47
Mr. Jalil Hamid (your name remind me of our local comedian actor),
First of all, the king/monarchy do not served as a ceremonial figure only,
They are part power structures in Malaysia besides the Executives, Legislatives and the Judiciaries. They are very important wing of country's check and balance system but unfortunately our 4th PM has made the monarchy very impotent. Today the monarchy finally did what there are supposed to do long time ago. It is their constitutional rights no more no less. So it is great insult to the monarchy system by referring them to puppet ceremonial figure only. Daulat Tuanku.
written by alan cheong, March 25, 2008 10:42:50
and zaid ibrahim shows his lalang tendency ...
written by mikewang, March 25, 2008 21:54:57
AAB should thank his lucky star that Tuanku did not appoint another person (like Tengku Razaleigh) PM instead (as what I had suggested in this forum months ago to give AAB the boot after the general election).